Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

El Camino College-Compton Center Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In my point of view this college is for any type of student who really wants to be successful in their future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips are apply and register early becasue classes do fill up quickly. Also apply for resources such as EOP&S, CARE, etc. This programs help students with books transportation, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Now at this college the Financial Aid office does really help you a lot because they will tell you if you qualified for any of the aids available, if you don't then they will tell you to apply for lots of scholarships available that will match your criteria.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first I thought I was not going enjoy being here for the reason I thought that this college was not for me because it was in my own community. But fortunately that change. After few weeks that the Fall 2009 semester started I got to meet new friends in my classes, and they are very kind. So I change my point of view of this college, don't judge something by it's cover. Now I do enjoy being here at Compton College.

    Am learning a lot

    Compton Center is a place you can really learn because the professors go every single objective and if you can understand they can really help you or if not there is a building just for students who need extra help in any subject. Yes, I am learning at this specific college because every question I have my professors are there to help.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I attend school in the evening ant the campus police is always patroling when I arrive as well as when I am walking to my car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student life has plenty of clubs for student to be involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    There are evening classes available for students who work full time or are busy during the day. The school also offers online classes for some of the subjects so there is no excuse for not at least trying to make it work

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student life activities to get involved with where you can bond with fellow students and at the same time give back to your school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is what I guess should be expected, I wish that it was an opportunity for the students to work there instead of it being contracted out to a third party.

    Dorm Life

    El Camino is a jr. college so there are no dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say, go in with a positive attitude and be willing to ask questions if you do not know something. Remember, they are there to help YOU and they want you to suceed so have confidence in yourself and go for it. If I can do it and get good grades I know anyone can.

    In three sentences

    El Camino has been a great school for me. The staff is always willing to help to find the best fit for me. The financial aid department is very patient and really want you to succeed.The professors have all shown that they really care about the students and are always available to discuss your concerns, they have made going back to school a lot easier than I expected.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wonderful Compton pd doing a great job.

    What to do for fun

    here at Compton we have a kick it night where a group of us go bowling at K.D.PS downtown we Love $2.00 Tuesday's

    Food and Dining

    each month is a different theme me xi night is bomb

    Academic Rigor

    At this point i was shocked that i am able to get aid for being into nursing i was able to receive a scholarship and financial aid

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a career that you are not sure about yet , going to ECC compton center will give you a wonderful prospective on your goal. the staff there will help you set your educational goals

    In three sentences

    positive areas of learning they have they own way of helping you to finding your way through learning. there is wonderful labs and staff there is there to assist you

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety here is very nice. Although it is Compton, not many bad things have happened here since I registered. The only thing that I remember was a flasher running around, but they caught him right away.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not that many clubs or activities here, but there are a few. They offer tutoring for many math and sciences.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want to do nursing, since the nursing program offered here is good. This college is also great for people who are into sports.

    Bang for the buck

    There are better school out there, but if you really need classes it is an okay school. I just wish there were more caring teachers here.

    What to do for fun

    What you can do for fun is to hang out and exercise at the front of the school. There is a mini gym there that is located outdoors. Another thing to do for fun is to go hang out in the library if you have gaps in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch here is pretty good. I have no complaints for the food. The cooks and cashier are respectful here and there are plenty of choices from Mexican food to burgers.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Very few teachers actually care about your education here, they just want to teach. If you want to just take classes and pass that is fine, but if you really want to learn you might want to think twice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get a lot of help when going through the registration process, the admissions office does not really help you much. Also, make sure to have your own laptop, because the school's technology is limited.

    In three sentences

    I rate this school as an okay school. The teachers vary from non caring to helpful. The good thing is that registration does not get to full here. The worst thing about the school is the low funding for supplies.

  • 11/14/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth every penny.

    Did enjoy being here

    One thing about this school is you have to remember its very DIVERSE. Meaning you have various ages,various ethinicities,and different backgrounds.

    Did learn a lot

    El Co Compton is GREAT. There are some not so nice professors but every school has the professors. As long as you be respectful,do you classwork, and take notes you should be fine.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria is pretty good, although it is rather expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are fairly easy. Of course if you are taking rigorous courses like Trigonometry, or Bio-Chemical Engineering, or something like that, then of course there is going to be some difficulty. Overall, the professors are understanding and not hard to please.

    In three sentences

    El Camino College-Compton is a decent school to attend. It does not necessarily pass the eye test for how an ideal college campus would look, but it isn't a bad place to attend. Especially if you are in need of classes to receive your AA degree, then El Camino College-Compton would be a good spot for you. It is fairly easy to get classes, so there isn't much stress for trying to get into classes.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join the clubs

    Food and Dining

    Its okay not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a very good school

    In three sentences

    El Camino College-Compton Center is a very good school. The counselors are very nice and help you as much as possible. This school will help you choose the right career that best suits you.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is always there

    What to do for fun

    to participate in weekly activities and sports

    Academic Rigor

    most of the teacher are very rigorous in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy with the first year experience!!!

    In three sentences

    El Camino College Compton Center is the first step to start your carrier. The teachers encourage students, and also they are very helpful. Everyone is like a big family!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campus I've been on. Campus police patrol constantly and are friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price compared to other places it is the best hands down.

    What to do for fun

    During my breaks I usually hang out in the student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus but the student services make up for it.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here really know how to challenge and make you think about what your studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply early and seek out help!!!

    In three sentences

    El Camino Compton Center is one of the best colleges I have attended. The teachers here are some of the best in the state. All of the staff and administrators or very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very economical if you are trying to pay less than the average CSU

    What to do for fun

    There is a park next door with a beautiful pond, a golfing club and the mall is only 5 minutes away. The beach is withing 10-15 minutes from school so the area is perfect

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but pricey if you're buying on a daily basis.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the work is hard, make sure to get teachers who explain it their own way. That is very helpful when it comes to learning the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start with a positive attitude and you'll be fine. It isn't anything you cant handle

    In three sentences

    A variety of classes are available and all of the teachers i've had have been great. Beautiful environment and people are very helpful and friendly. However, parking is a hassle.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    learn

    Food and Dining

    food is excellent but fatting

    In three sentences

    excellen school to attend.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It was a good experience, you get out of it what you put into it.

    What to do for fun

    Not much, they need to work on that department.

    Food and Dining

    Average, nothing special. But when I attended the cafe was under construction so I they had a food truck serve the students.

    Dorm Life

    Community college for commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    Good! I LEARNED SO MUCH.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if your looking for flexable, caring teacher. I wouldnt suggest going here if socail life is super important to you.

    In three sentences

    This is a really nice school with great teachers and staff. I really felt like the school was my family! As for the social aspects, I never participated in any.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police campus is well enforced.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, the best thing to do is go out with college friends that have the same dream as you, which in my case is to progress.

    Food and Dining

    If you are a low income student, you are eligible to receive meal cards.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Compton College are not very difficult, just make sure to ask many questions in class, specially if there is something you have a doubt about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be an outgoing person, make friends that will help you academically. Visit teachers office hours every other day.

    In three sentences

    El Camino College Compton Center is a great school one should consider. The teachers are very helpful, as well as the students. The school is culturally diverse so you can receive help if needed. Also, the school has many programs for low-income students.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it really safe because it a small campus.

    Greek Life

    no we dont do that dumb stuff. but we still party.

    Clubs and Activities

    not so much clubs. but they do a lot of activites.

    Great for these types of students

    i guess music student. because the music teacher really know what they be talking about.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it not an unusual school. the area dont matter because student from compton dont even go.

    What to do for fun

    i go to the music department and play the guitar. or just talk to the student.,

    Food and Dining

    i guess that they give the same food from your high school. i just be going to micky dees or panda express. there right next to the school.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm. so you get to stay with your family.

    Academic Rigor

    it good. it all depends on the student if to want to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep going. one can hold you back but yourself.

    In three sentences

    it a good school. needs more people that care and want better the student lifes. i like it.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We can call campus police if we have night classes and they will take us straight to the parking lot without charge. They are always around to make sure everything is safe.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a variety of cultures. Great for those that don't want to be left out or stand out to much.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For those that like mariachi. They come every year for any Mexican holidays and perform for us.

    What to do for fun

    We have a transfer center where student workers can help with adding or dropping classes. There is also G39 that has tutors in very convenient hours for their students to get help. There is also a shopping center in Alameda which is about a 8 minute walk from the school. And there is a park right outside the Greenleaf entrance for those that would like a quiet place and not really be to far away from school.

    Tips for prospective students

    This College has great opportunities for our future. The fact that the classes are so small, we as the students get to interact better with our professors. We are one of the few campuses that offer winter session.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college and is looking even better with all the construction. Great opportunity to get starter for a brighter future is to attend El Camino College Compton Center. The student workers are great help for all the prospective students that walk through the college doors.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police on campus makes it very safe and you see them all the time, which is fine with me. Their friendly also.

    Greek Life

    not at compton

    Clubs and Activities

    I sing

    Great for these types of students

    Needing a little extra help and directions and hands on, this is the school to come to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People usually hang around the lunch area alot

    Bang for the buck

    History 101 Mr. Evans, great teacher and visionary. Geology Mr. Clark, great class, very interesting

    What to do for fun

    keep studying and trip off your teacher. hahaha(really)

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, no matter what you order

    Dorm Life

    none, we have not dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    singing, football, basketball there's all kinds of sports to get involved in

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this school to get your grades right and get extra help from tutors and teachers,.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful with information. Their transferring to a university is very smooth. Moving from class to class is a breeze and the students are cool.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply and pursue your career.

    In three sentences

    Has great professors that are excellent teachers. So far I've been at this campus for a year and a half.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. campus police has a great respond time, and there are many blue poles where you can contact campus police incase of emergency.

    Greek Life

    honors programs like Alpha Gamma Sigma

    Clubs and Activities

    first year program which is F.Y.E, we also have many extra curriculars like band, theatre, music, film, fashion, you name it we have it.

    Great for these types of students

    fun loving, relaxed, ambitious, and goal driven. also for unconventional students who took some time off

    Bang for the buck

    El Camino College Compton Center is a great place for students who did not reach their goals right out of high school. We have many people here who want to help their students succeed. We are also obtaining many of the utilities that bigger colleges have acces to. We now have touch screen computers and a new huge library for your research. The professors are very helpful with any topic whether academic or personal.

    What to do for fun

    me personally I love the game of basketball and that is all of the fun I need. We also have feilds for soccer and football a track for running, we have any thing you might need for physical fitness. if you just like quiet to read books then we have student study rooms where you can either go alone or with a group of friends

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food has a wide variety, is low priced and delicious. the campus is also surrounded by many food places from McDonalds to El pollo loco. there are also restaurants very near like T.G.I fridays

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    classes are exactly as deribed as in the coarse description. you will learn about everything your class covers and more. i think the more you sit and pick your professors brain the more you learn about them, yourselves, and any topics you have questions about.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused , meet and network with many people as possible, the posibilities are endless there is no telling who you can meet and help or recieve help from. * Make sure to make good use of our Student Succes Center *

    In three sentences

    El Camino College Compton Center formerly known as Compton College is a school deeply rooted in the community. the teachers have been here for a while and it has a very rich history and so do the professors.