Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Elizabeth City State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't become a victim due to someone else's ignorance, be your own leader!

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Other than the fact that I will be homesick, I think it will be a pretty comfortable setting.

    Will learn a lot

    I am hoping to do the Pharmacy program and since it is provided through UNC then I am sure that it will be accurate....Hopefully.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discourage! Be your own leader and create your fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, ECSU is the only school that has help uplift the spirits of Northeastern North Carolina. The tuition is the least in the state, and you would think that the quality in education is low but it's not.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are some slow times but overall I love being there. And I really now call it my second home which in time has became my number one place.

    Am learning a lot

    ECSU is a fantastic school and I'm really learning a lot that will def help me improve my outlook.

  • 07/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ECSU is great for any student willing to make something out of themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Elevate Higher, Emerge Stronger.

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely. I would recommend anybody to come join the ECSU family. Viking Pride !

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at ECSU. ECSU has so many events for students and their friends and families. There is an unlimited number of things to do around campus, whether academic or social. There is one time when ECSU is dead accept when students are putting their minds together to think of a new master plan.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning here shouldn't ever be a problem. There as plenty of resources and people here to help you. Even if you don't want to go to your professor, ECSU has many different peer tutoring sessions. The only way to fail at ECSU is from being lazy and not doing what you have to do to get yours,

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    as they will make it in life

    Tips for prospective students

    those committted to persue excellence in their studies and life in general

    Will enjoy being here

    truely iwill enjoy since i will be able to make friends and interract with them in different occasions.I do believe that elizabeth city state university is a fertile ground for making friends through out the world thus its the best place to be.

    Will learn a lot

    about different people in the world as i will persue my career course.i rate elizabeth city state unniversity among the best in offering quality education that will make a person to the best skills in life.

  • 01/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain boots !

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere and ready to take action.

    Greek Life

    We have a lot of different sororities and fraternities. They all et along really well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different kind of clubs from dancing to french, from french to math.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great if you like one on one attention from professors because this is a really small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The complex dorms are where students always go for a great party and drinks. No doubt about it!

    Bang for the buck

    The school may over charge sometimes. Financial aid seems to not always have their information correct. Some people may be left with no financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on. The school always has things or us to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is great its like our own all you can eat buffet.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, the school tries to protect us as much as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has a steady curriculum that mainly anyone should enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    always visit the school first before you make final decision on where to go.

    In three sentences

    Elizabeth city cares about its students. The faculty are always ready to help.The students are very satisfied.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is awful, it's like they experiment with new foods there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and clean, the only issue is the visitation rules that are very strict.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers go out their way to make sure you understand, some don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    This isn't a good school to come in as a freshman, maybe a transfer student. This school rarely gives scholarship money and is terribly organized.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful school with luxurious buildings, new and old. It's not as great as it looks. Admission and counselors working in admission don't go the extra mile to help students stay in college.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secured by Elizabeth City State University Campus Police. There is a police station located on campus towards the entrance of the campus. They are traveling the yard at all times of the day and night. They can be seen on foot, scooters, cars, and or bicycles. Located by every building is a emergency help button which leads directly to the police department.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at ECSU is awesome. They have the Divine Nine. The Greeks all help make the school what it is and host a lot of events that take place on the campus. You can help Greeks with community service events. They always approach you with respect and give ECSU its' name when traveling off campus. Focus on your school work and then consider Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities at ECSU. There are clubs and activities for all cultures. Whatever you enjoy doing, there is a club for you. There is poetry, modeling, writing, singing, dancing, community service, and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    ECSU is great for students of all kind. Whatever you are trying to study, ECSU can start you on your way. ECSU focuses on the STEM (science,technology,engineering, and mathematics), pharmacy, and aviation majors heavily. ECSU has its own aviation program where you get the opportunity to fly ECSU's own airplane. The Pharmacy Dept is also connected with UNC-Chapel Hill

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of ECSU's unusual traditions is Vikingfest.Vikingfest takes place in the spring semester of each school year. During the week of Vikingfest there are numerous of activities for all ages. The are parties, concerts, and chances to win gas cards, gift cards, prize baskets, and money.

    Bang for the buck

    ECSU is one of the cheapest, most affordable universities located in North Carolina. Students that attend this university get what they pay for. There are a lot of opportunities at ECSU and they are provided for free.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of actiivities that take place at ECSU. There are events for all cultures, majors, and ages. To be informed of all the events that take place on campus, students should pay attention to the flyers and emails. There are activities like open mic night, talent shows, Lyceums, and etc. The amount of fun you can have at ECSU doesn't stop until you drop !

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafe located on ECSU's campus which is Bedell Cafeteria. There are four different sections of area you can choose from. The way food is served there is buffet-styled. The is also a Checkers located in the New Student Center. Students may use their Viking Bucks to purchase food from Checkers. Others may use cash or credit card.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at ECSU is what you make it. As a freshman you may not be able to stay in a Co-Ed dorm but it is for the best of you. The dorm life helped me to gain friendships and learn how to be independent. Majority of the dorms at ECSU supply you with a lounging area where meetings are held and or you can just talk to your friends. There are also computer labs that you can use to get your work completed. My dorm life experience was good.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the recent focuses at ECSU is writing. The have a new system called QEP. All majors and professor focus on the quality of each students' writing skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    When beginning your adventure at Elizabeth City State University stay focus. Keep your mind on the reason you are attending college and don't stray from your path. Achieving your dream is the reason you chose to be in college, so make it happen

    In three sentences

    Elizabeth City State University (ECSU) is one of the best schools in North Carolina. It is affordable. Your experience here is one that you will never forget!

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as possible and always come to class.

    In three sentences

    I love ECSU! Everyone is so helpful, and all the teachers are awesome. I feel like I am actually on the road to completing my studies and earning a degree there!

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. Elizabeth City is a very small city. Students go to bowling/pool hall mostly.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining could be so much better for a college. There is that much of a variety. There should also be other food places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a great experience. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. I couldn't imagine staying off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life could be better in multiple ways. The library should stay open later because students are always up trying to complete online work. I also think there should be more available computers inside the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say come in with an open mind. Make sure your school work comes first before anything. Most importantly enjoy your college years.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this university a 3 out of 5 stars. The campus life and student life is great and welcoming. However, it would be better if more things were available to students other then academic centers.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food at ECSU is absolutely divine. I find it hard to stay away from the cafeteria. The food choices range from all types of cultures to all types of meats. Walking into the cafeteria, you never know what food you might get to taste each day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is outstanding. There is always a get together and there are constant chances to meet new people. Everyone is friendly and the environment is warm and welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at ECSU is fairly challenging. There are classes to both challenge and build character. Classes are not too easy, nor are they too hard.

    In three sentences

    ECSU is a great school located in the small town of Elizabeth City, NC. The town is peaceful and there is always something going on both on campus and in the city for students to participate in. The faculty and staff will make you feel at home and do everything possible to accommodate any needs or wants you may have.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police rides around constantly making sure no trouble is happening on campus or making sure no one is having any troubles

    Greek Life

    We have the Divine 9 and numerous other little side greeks. Greek life is very known on our campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the president and founder of ECSU Green Council but their are tons of clubs and if their isnt a club that fits you, you can start your own club

    Great for these types of students

    All students would love it here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The waterfront in Elizabeth City, students from school ride their bikes or walk to the waterfront and have picnics and sit and talk

    Bang for the buck

    Walmart is the best place for college students...super cheap and you can get everything you need

    What to do for fun

    Its fun being in college, you have meet and greets for freshman and alot of the classes you will take will be with other freshman so you will make friends. when you have friends it doesnt matter what your doing because your having fun

    Food and Dining

    The food isnt as good as I would like but thats why its called the freshman 15 because you live off junk food

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is like I stated before what you make it. You make friends you have to share a room and bathrooms. College life is fun and I loved it

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are as hard as you make them, the teachers at school are willing to help by holding tutoring sessions and giving extra credit

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you like small towns because this is surely a small town. Make good friends and study hard

    In three sentences

    I loving being a Viking, I love everything about my school except the food which is typical of any college student. I love the scenery and that I am in a small town. I love how everyone is so friendly and kind

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of campus police. Although their crowd control tactics can be a bit extreme and unnecessary.

    Greek Life

    ECSU has all of the Divine Nine organizations plus four others. There are also band and academic greek organizations

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities students can get involved in. There are honestly too many to even name on here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to attend an HBCU, need or like individualized attention from professors and staff, students who enjoy campus events anc activities/parties.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have three homecomings. Fall, Winter, and Viking Fest.

    What to do for fun

    Virginia Beach and the Outerbanks are not too far from school. We have parties, forums, and community service events happening throughout the year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should focus on class first, then the parties and school events. Students should also join some of the various clubs and organizations we have on campus. It is the best way to make friends.

    In three sentences

    ECSU is a very nurturing and close environment. The small classes allow for a lot of individualized attention. The administrative staff could be more responsive to phone calls and emails regarding important things like financial aid.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Elizabeth city is a small city, so really there is no entertainment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everybody knows everybody, so basically watch who you hangout with.

    In three sentences

    I give the campus a grade B, the cafe a grade B-, professors a grade B, and things to do in Elizabeth City a grade C. This school is perfect for students that wants to be well known, love the slow-pace environment, and love to have a class that is no more than 30 students.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been weapons on campus, but nobody has ever gotten hurt. Campus Police is pretty good about notifying students when a danger is on campus. I gave it 3 stars because it is easy to get weapons on campus, not because people have gotten hurt.

    Greek Life

    I would never recommend Greek Life. The things that they participate in are questionable. It has fallen far from what Greeks should be. It is all about popularity and being cruel to outsiders.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus, they can be popularity contests at times, but otherwise they are decent.

    Great for these types of students

    ECSU is good for more mainstream African American students. It does not offer a lot of diversity for varying interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    VikingFest in April is a major event. There are concerts, step shows, and parties.

    Bang for the buck

    The school offers little for what it costs.

    What to do for fun

    Either get into clubs and organizations or make good friends, because the city has little to offer. Virginia is 30-45 minutes away. That's where most people go for fun. There isn't much shopping or life in town.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is horrible. They have good days. There is a Checkers (fast food restaurant) in the New Student Center and a meal plan for it, but eating that everyday gets old fast.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are what you would find at any university. I would say that SOME of the buildings have the worst RAs and visitation rules. People lose visitation over everything. There is a curfew on visitation, even on weekends, which is crazy for us to be so old.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not difficult if you show up, at least for my major anyways. Be aware that many schools do not take ECSU credits, so if you plan to transfer, do not stay for more than a year or two.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of financial aid. They are not the most efficient people in the world. Get things done ahead of time, because most students wait until the deadline and end up in hour long lines.

    In three sentences

    Elizabeth City State University is in a pretty rural area, but it has developed a lot in the last few years. Its is an HBCU but it has become more diverse. If I had prior knowledge of the school, I likely would have chosen to attend a different one.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    divine 9

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleading

    What to do for fun

    Interact with other students and join clubs and orginozation

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students would be stay on top of your studies at all times. Do not allow the other distractions to bring you down.

    In three sentences

    ECSU is a great school. Every student feels special at all times. The staff always makes sure I am well taken care of with everything no matter what it is. I love ECSU and I am glad I choose that school.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attrnd activities planned by the SGA and SAC. If you like to party, then go to the parties on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of financial matters. Study for tests and quizzes. Go to class everyday.

    In three sentences

    ECSU is a good place to succeed. They offer a variety of Majors/Minors. The Social Work department is amazing.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University Police, and Security are always on duty, and always doing their job and then some. They are approachable and courteous! do your paperwork! They will kick you out if you aren't supposed to be there!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone, and if you think there isn't you can create your own! Check out the Student Life section on www.ecsu.edu it will tell you a lot!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not easily distracted. Students who learn visually, kinesthetically, and aurally. Students who are not afraid to engage the professors.

    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely get your money's worth, but only if you apply yourself and make the most out of what you have...

    What to do for fun

    Explore the area! ECSU is roughly 30 minutes away from Norfolk, VA or the Hampton Roads area. If you can't find it in Elizabeth City, you can in Virginia or another city in North Carolina.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria could be better (this coming from a 5 year veteran student)... There is an alternative on the campus and plenty of restauarants in the city!

    Dorm Life

    Having a room on campus can be a blessing and a curse. There is nothing like it though...

    Academic Rigor

    They will challenge your ability to think and express your thoughts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that you are responsible for your education and act accordingly. Always pay attention to the details! Do NOT let your advisor do all of the work when it comes to your schedule!

    In three sentences

    ECSU is in a good location. Has great teachers and staff who are always willing to help. ECSU will make sure you are ready for the world.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The best part about attending Elizabeth city are the student body meetings. They are a great way for the students to communicate and decide on what clubs, greeks, or organizations they want to be apart of.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Elizabeth city is always good. There is always a variety of foods to eat in the cafeteria, you don't have to worry about eating the same thing over and over.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at ECSU are fairly nice. As well as any other the school the higher your classification the better the dorms. Not saying that all the dorms aren't exceptional.

    Academic Rigor

    ECSU is very big on academics, your gpa is what determines the kind of college life you're going to have. The lower your grades the the harder things will be for you. The teachers are always willing to help do there is no reason your grades should be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I have for prospective students is to just be yourself. A lot of students get to college and try to be something they're not. ECSU has a broad variety of students, you won't have any problems fitting in and still remaining the same person you were before.

    In three sentences

    ECSU is a great school, it's a good place to start your life off. With all the activities going in you'll be sure to find friends. Not only is it an easy place to find friends but it's an awesome place to further your education.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are checking the premises ever hour on the hour. Their are lights placed around the buildings and residence hallls to ensure you know where your going and so others can see you as well. The police are at every party on campus to ensure no one gets hurt or no fights break out.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is one of the most important organizations at Elizabeth City State University because of the respect and interset the students have in joining. The sororities and fraternities have their own section within the university displaying they symbol of the sorority of fraternity their in. Many people respect them because they make the school look good but also brings a sense of pride to the school as well. Their is an no hazing policy which prevents the sorority of fraternity of performing an acts of abusive toward the pledgee. The sororities and fraternities are not hard to join and once you cross over you enter into a sisterhood and brotherhood no one can replace.

    Clubs and Activities

    For every major offered on campus their is numerous amounts of clubs for them to join. Most of the clubs on campus is opened to all students and require no fee to join. The clubs are between and middle to large group size which allows to you be social as well. The activities are always free and very fun. Activities hours are long and very flexible to your school schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    Their is an activity and club for every type of person at Elizabeth City State University. This University makes sure that no student feels left out or out of place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Entering freshmens attend the Freshmen Convocation and Candlelighting Ceremony which takes place in September. This ceremony is inducted and welcoming freshmens to Elizabeth City State University its a great way for students to interactive with others. The book store is a location in which has alot of other activities and movement happpening all the time. It has various rooms in the building such as dance room, theater, meeting room, and Checkers.

    Bang for the buck

    Elizabeth City State University offers work study which helps students earn money while in college. This program allows you to work on campus and also gain an education. Work study is very flexible with work hours and with helping you find a job on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Their are alot of activites on campus to do such as bowling, gym and activity rooms in your residence halls. The gym is a place where a lot of students go to because of the workout equipment and the swimming pool. The bowling alley is another place where alot of students hang out because their the pool table , tvs, hockey table, computers etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is busy but the service is very quick and the staff are very courteous. The environment makes you feel like your eating dinner with your family at home. The food is hot and cooked very well and the lines seem to move quickly while waiting for your food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice and has a pretty nice size to it. The residence hall building it self is very presentable and safe. The rooms come with a mircowave and refrigator which is great because it allows you to save money on not buying those items.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic department is great when registration begans the counselor helps you personally. Elizabeth City State University offers you many majors and a varied of academic organizations. The counselors really make sure your making the right choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tutoring is offered for every class so if you are weak in a area get help. Study, Study, Study, Study Focus on your work going to parties can wait Dont be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    Elizabeth City State University is a very clean and friendly school and has approved alot since my last visit. The University allows you to embrace yourself and some of your hobbies. It has a great enivronment and the people make you feel welcomed.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    i quess

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    have nothing to say about this

    What to do for fun

    i really don't do a lot of things on camps, just go to home games.

    Tips for prospective students

    just trust in the teacher and remember why you came to school, it has nothing to do with finding a boyfriend or girlfriend they will come, i see a lot of young lady that drip out behind boys and other things.

    In three sentences

    my school is a all black college and i like the teacher at the school, if you needed help they are there for you, looking me going back at my age they have help me in my time of needed with my work and understand .

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bowl, swim, workout.

    Food and Dining

    food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but my friends love the dorm life.

    In three sentences

    Very organized and polite employees.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police work hard to keep everyone safe, but there is always going to be a little crime anywhere you go.

    Greek Life

    The divine nine are on campus and other Greek's. All around campus there are all the plots.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from and they really shape your college social life.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classroom sizes and close-knit communities.

    Bang for the buck

    ECSU has a great tuition price compared to many other universities and there are great professors here to ensure you earn your degree.

    What to do for fun

    Different clubs like the Greek organizations, band, and SGA and there's always something going on at the new student center.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly avoid the cafe at all costs. The only meal I enjoy from the cafe is breakfast which I often miss. Some lunch/dinner foods are alright but fried chicken Wednesday gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on where you live. I recommend University Suites or New Res., Viking Towers.

    Academic Rigor

    Taking into consideration that I am a current freshman, my classes aren't that difficult right now other than my major class, biology. I think its all about time management.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or organization. Its a great way to meet people and spend time away from studying.

    In three sentences

    ECSU is a good school depending on what you make it. The small community vibe and the personal professors is what does it for me. I love my HBCU, ECSU!

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the bowling alley is pretty much the only thing to do. The bowling alley doesn't always open when it supposed to, but when it does open it is pretty much the only thing to do on campus. There are parties to go to sometimes, but most of the time they get shut down.

    Food and Dining

    The food is sub par at best. It seems as if most days the use the same food, they use it in a different way.

    Dorm Life

    Wamack Hall seems to be the absolute worse dorm to live in. Also, freshman can't move out of the dorms they are assigned to, so if someone is unhappy about where they are living they can't move somewhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers will try to get you to the academic level you need to be at to succeed in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    The big events are great experiences for the students of this campus, but other than that this school has to get better.

    In three sentences

    Elizabeth City State University is is not as good as I thought it was going to be, though I did not expect it to be a anything close to a North Carolina A&T. It shouldn't have been this bad of an experience.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do for fun. The university will never have you bored, there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember, college is not all about partying, its about your education. Take the time out to study and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The school has many funds to offer. The staff here is wonderful. The ROTC program is the best program at the school.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies, go out to eat or go to parties. There are also a lot of on campus events and clubs that you could go to or become a part of. There is also room to express your creativity and fun places close by to go to as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food isn't all the great and the cafe hours could be a little better, but it is manageable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is cool. It is a little tedious at times but surely something that can be taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    I do my absolute best to stay on top of my classes and making sure I do what I need to in order to receive my desired grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay true to yourself and don't let anyone tell you what you can't do. Make sure you stay on top of everything from school work to deadlines. Time management is EVERYTHING!

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and quiet. The people are very polite and inviting. A good place to find yourself and excel.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Average.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is closed minded, there should be more Greek organizations that cater to different types of people.

    Bang for the buck

    Above average.

    What to do for fun

    Chesapeake, Virginia Student Activities Committee events Virginia Beach, Virginia Community service Extracurricular activities involvement Establishing a brand & a new lifestyle/advanced lifestyle

    Food and Dining

    Below average.

    Dorm Life

    Average.

    Academic Rigor

    Average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always plan ahead, whether if it's your financial aid, your school supplies, dormitory room supplies, academic classes, etc. Set goals high and achieve them as closely to the goal as possible, if you don't meet the goal. Obtain a relationship with a few faculty and staff members, who you can trust, they'll help you later on. Don't take any opportunity, person, place or thing for granted!

    In three sentences

    Above average on the opportunities available.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security has recently been beefed up.

    Greek Life

    The greeks can be cool if they wana be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Activities Committee is the best!

    What to do for fun

    Make friends with some amazing people ,and party hang out turn up. Va beach is a hour away if you have access to a car.

    Tips for prospective students

    loyalty is key when it comes to friends, and go to class!!!

    In three sentences

    This institution is small so you will get acquainted with people fast. The professor are amazing if you take full advantage of them. the town is slow and the people can be very closed minded.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At night they have cops and security patrolling campus, and they are willing to help a lost/scared student and/or person.

    Clubs and Activities

    I really love the band, not to be biased, because the people their are just so accepting of all kinds of people. They know how to have a great time and they play some really unique music. Also, they put there own flavor into making popular songs their own.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe that this school is great for people in high academic standing that also maintain a good social life.

    Bang for the buck

    We are located near a lot of dollar generals and family dollars, so we can get our necessities at a great price. As well as, many gas stations that generally have lower prices than further upstate.

    What to do for fun

    Well, my time for fun is spent with the marching band and talking to my friends. Everyone is so friendly there; so in retrospect, it's easy to get along with a lot of people.

    Food and Dining

    They have good food, but it reminds me of home which can make people miss it. But all in all, its really good. Great quality and great taste.

    Dorm Life

    I actually like the dorms. I live in University Towers which is a dorm for freshman girls and it is pretty nice. Each room has room for 2 people to live comfortable, plus you share a suit style bathroom with 6 to 8 girls depending on your room location. Which, I think is way better than sharing a bathroom with the entire floor.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I saw it looked like they are willing to challenge their students for the better.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend Elizabeth City State University you should make sure that your grades are up to par and that you are committed to do your best.

    In three sentences

    Elizabeth City State University is a very welcoming school. The staff, students, and even the community are willing to help those not from around the area. It is also its own little town, which I like.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a party almost ever weekend, there is a bowling alley with pool tables and table tennis. The gym is open every day for people who want to place basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Elizabeth City State University is ok. But there is never nothing new on the schedule. And we do have a Checkers in our student center. overall I would say the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm are ok. The rooms are not that big but is big enough for you to move around. some have dorms with roommates and other do not. And you could find a true friend in those dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the academic's at Elizabeth City State University is good, the teachers really do want to help you and see you succeed. And there are a lot of places on campus for you to do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    For student looking to go to college I would say Elizabeth City State University is a good place to get a real college experience. The teachers are very good at what they do and will help you if you do not know something.

    In three sentences

    from a scale from 1-5 I would rate Elizabeth City State University as a 4. It is a good place to learn and make friends. I had some good experiences here and met people from all over the United States.