Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Elizabethtown College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a close-knit community, this is the perfect place for you. Almost everyone lives on campus, so it's easy to hang out with friends anytime. With an enrollment of about 2000, you'll end up walking down the sidewalk or getting lunch in the Marketplace and seeing loads of familiar faces. It's a great place for anyone social; although we don't have fraternities or sororities, we definitely don't need them - there's always enough going on around campus. And the proximity of Harrisburg, Lancaster, Mt. Joy, and Hershey means that you will never be bored. Students here definitely need to work hard, however. Many classes require a lot of work - especially the science classes like biology, chemistry, and physics - and certain majors like music education and music therapy will leave you with very little free time. Overall, if you're looking for huge parties every night of the week, stick with Penn State or the University of Delaware. But if you're fine spending some nights working in the beautiful High Library and watching movies with friends in the lounge of Myer, and waiting til the weekend for some ridiculous shenanigans at the senior townhouse quad, go ahead. Etown is definitely the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very expensive school, but it is most certainly worth it. Elizabethtown provides a fantastic quality of education, especially with programs such as music, occupational therapy, allied health (pre-med), and education. There are connections and opportunities that students at much larger schools would never get. And the close work with the faculty is priceless. The chance to work closely with professors is great, and advisors truly get to know their students and help them make the best choices for their future. All in all, that $40,000 a year is completely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely gorgeous. It's great spending time after a theatre class just laying out on the Dell sunbathing and catching up with friends. Everyone here is extremely friendly and helpful; you'll never feel alone.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who enjoy having close relationships with professors and peers. Etown is the right choice if you like having a home away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college it expensive to attend, but hunt for the right scholarships and it will be well worth the effort!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's such a small college, so I compare it to being in a small community. The students and professors there are very polite. Since it's a small school, the professors can give the students more one-on-one time.

    Am learning a lot

    Their core program is allowing me to become a well rounded individual.

  • 11/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for business, sciences, or occupational therapy Active students with positive attitudes and a go-getter mentality.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go for a campus tour and have an overnight visit to get a feel for the campus. Make sure you're comfortable living in a rural setting and go in with a positive attitude. Do your research on academic programs and financial aid before going.

    Bang for the buck

    Some programs are definitely better than others, and you should do your research to compare your prospective major with that of other schools. The IB program as well as the sciences and occupational therapy are exceptionally well-run at Elizabethtown. It is a very expensive school, but academic scholarships are available, and a degree from Elizabethtown should eventually pay for itself.

    Am enjoying being here

    I quickly met my closest friends at Elizabethtown shortly after arriving on campus. Since the campus is so small, it is extremely easy to get to know people--the first-year program allows students the ability to form a close-knit community right away. Since classes are small, I have found making friends easy. There are plenty of clubs from which to choose on campus and the campus is within easy access of Harrisburg, Hershey, and Lancaster. Some students do go home for the weekend which can be a downer, but my friends and I remain on campus almost every weekend and manage to have a good time.

    Am learning a lot

    The International Business (IB) Program is extremely well-run and is an excellent program with its study abroad, modern language, internship, international studies, and business componens. I have been able to double major in IB and Spanish as well as have a minor in Asian studies. As a liberal arts college, students are required to complete a Core program of studies, which definitely makes them well-rounded; I was able to complete most of mine through Advanced Placement tests from high school.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are looking for both academics, but still want to be apart of sports and other organizations. It is also great for students who are looking to have small class room sizes, professors that will take the time to know who you are and a sense of community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Etown offers some great services, so take advantage of them. They offer free tutoring and much more. Do not be afraid to get a personal tutor, or to attend your Professors' office hours. They offer many types of support help in order for you to be successful.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for tuition is very expensive, but you get a great education. It cost makes it hard for students that have a passion to attend this school nearly impossible. I knew a few students who really want to attend but they just simply couldn't afford it. So get as many scholarships as you can!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Elizabethtown. There is always something to do, and something going. There are many student run events. This college has a great sense of community and friendliness. Many students can leave their personal belongings and do not have to worry about theft. This school is not only about education, but integrity and respect.

    Am learning a lot

    While attending Elizabethtown College, you certainly learn a lot. This institution offers a great education program for many types of different majors and minors. You always have something you could work on.

  • 04/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It may be expensive, but with the right job after college, you'll have those college loans paid off in no time! Remember, you get what you pay for!

    Will enjoy being here

    It has a tight-knit community feel. You will not get this any where else!

    Will learn a lot

    I have had the opportunity to spend the night twice on campus, both of them one year apart. It's a lot of fun, but this most recent time, I had the opportunity to attend classes, and I can tell that I will learn a lot. The professors are really nice and care about every single one of the students.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a small campus, a close-knit group of friends, and small class sizes, Etown could definitely be for you. There's almost always something going on on campus, and a lot of the Etown students are experts at finding something fun to do. The classes are well-balanced, interesting, and the teachers really do want you to do well. They take an active interest in your learning, and are always willing to give advice or help.

    Bang for the buck

    Etown is expensive, but I think it's worth it. Because of the small class sizes, the beautiful scenery, and all of the programming that goes on, I really do think that the students get what they pay for. My two main issues would be the food, and the school store. The food is okay, but there are times when the vegetables have started to go bad, or the desserts are stale. For the most part, I enjoy the food, but I think that for all the money we pay we deserve to have good food all of the time. The school store is way overpriced, and because of this I didn't buy any Etown paraphernalia until the very end of the year, when it was 50% off, which brought it down to a reasonable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've met some pretty amazing friends here, due largely to the Peer Group program, which matches a group of incoming first years (usually between 14 and 18 students) with two upperclassmen. The kids in the group have a class together, that's just the Peer Group, call the First Year Seminar. The bonds I formed with my Peer Group are really strong, and of the 15 other kids in my group, I still talk to eight on a regular basis, and I consider three of them to be my closest friends at Etown. It's really easy to meet people and make friends at Etown, and I love that about it.

    Am learning a lot

    Thanks to the core programming at Etown, I'm being exposed to a little bit of everything. My high school education was focused mainly on reading and writing, and most of the exposure that I got to other subjects was a product of reading. I just ended my first year, and I've already taken classes in Science, Psychology, Japanese, Humanities, and Neuroscience. I feel like I'm getting a well-rounded education, and there are lots of ways for me to continue to pursue a subject if it really interests me.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never felt unsafe walking on campus at night by myself. the campus walkways are lined with campo phones so that you can call and get a ride if need be.

    Greek Life

    there are no fraternities or sororities on campus, so if you're looking for greek life, etown isn't for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs, and the members of those clubs are all really committed. when a club hosts an activity, there's always non-members in attendance which is great to see.

    Great for these types of students

    for students who want to have a place that becomes their home and their friends become part of your family. also for students who want to form bonds with their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    too many to share, but they're all fun and random and they're what make attending etown so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    truly, etown knows that they are not a cheap school, so they really try their best to provide excellent financial aid! the people at the business office are also really nice and helpful if you have any questions.

    What to do for fun

    since the town is pretty much dead, the campus does a pretty good job of keeping everyone entertained.

    Food and Dining

    really good in the beginning, but the food definitely gets old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    all the dorms are pretty good and the ra's do a good job of creating a community atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    the hardness or easiness all depends on the classes you take and how willing you are to seek help. the core classes are pretty straight forward while your major classes can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    etown is trying to gather more kids with a diverse background, so if you're from outside of pa and surrounding states, you've already got an advantage above everyone else.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security does a great job, as long as students are smart with their decisions as well.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at elizabethtown.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are millions of clubs and activities on campus. there's a huge fair at the beginning of the year.

    Great for these types of students

    those who like to have fun and get involved in the community, but also work hard on their schooling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during orientation for first years, we did a parade around elizabethtown where there were two girls to every guy and we had to hold hands. it was really funny to see all of the upperclassmen so pumped up. we also got a lot of free stuff from the shops in town.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a very expensive college, i will be honest. however, the teachers give you one on one attention and there is always an opportunity for extra help. they really care about establishing a face to face relationship with every student.

    What to do for fun

    there are activities all of the time. we get emails about what's going on for the week every monday and tuesday. there are speakers, movies, dances, concerts, and other exciting things. or go into town to the coffee shops or ritas. of course there's hershey's chocolate world down the road as well.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great and there are a lot of options. it is just a matter of making the time to get to the marketplace before it closes.

    Dorm Life

    there is not a dull moment in the dorms. there are many opportunities to make friends, but like all schools some of the buildings are older.

    Academic Rigor

    i am an honors student; therefore, i find that i do schoolwork all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    just because everything is close in proximity, do not wait until last minute to wake up to get to class. being early pays off. also, as always work hard on your schoolwork.

    In three sentences

    a small campus brings together a small group of people; needless to say, we are one big family. everyone holds the door open for others and they all greet each other. this includes students and faculty.

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for liberal arts students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The people are really nice. Don't be afraid to talk to them. They'll show you around.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive but I think that the money is worth the education that is given.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The scenery is beautiful and it is a nice small school.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of classes, but a lot of them are really interesting and are a lot of fun.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adult learners

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should research how much school will cost and the course work for classes.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College is a great college. Etown College has a great program. Etown College also has very helpful teachers.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is constantly driving around. We're located in a small quiet community. You may happen across an occasional towny from time to time but other than that it's safe.

    Greek Life

    None existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Circle K, Ed Org, S.W.E.E.T,

    Great for these types of students

    Students that can afford dropping $45,000 a semester. Not so much for hipsters. There's not many here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have TGIS every Spring semester which is a 3 day party over a weekend near the end of the semester. It's a lot of fun and a great way to hang out with friends on campus. We also have campus musical groups performing on campus often.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, I think it's now a tad over priced considering the living conditions and the things we do not get here on campus.

    What to do for fun

    You're 30 minutes from Harrisburg, Lancaster and York. Park City mall is about 20 minutes away, which is a great mall. There is plenty to do, just not in Etown. There are some cute shops on the Market St. but not much other than that.

    Food and Dining

    For a college, we have a pretty good selection of food here. Our menus are designed by private chefs here. But the menu gets a bit repetitive even after 1 year. Nothing beats home cooked meals!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, out dated and fairly dirty for the amount of money we pay to go here. And there is no wireless internet in the dorms, only in the public and academic buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but cause you to expand your learning horizons.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you know that you want to go here. It is an expensive school and the prices increase by $3,000-$5,000 every year. I paid $37,000 when I started and am now going to be paying $45,000 for my senior year. If you are struggling financially, I wouldn't suggest coming her. If you live on campus, get involved in activities.

    In three sentences

    The education is wonderful. As an education major, I have learned so much about becoming a teaching. And few other schools will offer the opportunity to gain experience working in the classroom from your first year and on.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an alert system for all the students that lets them know if something has happened on campus to make them more aware. There are also blue emergency lights in multiple places on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is the first year walk when all the first year students walk around in town and are lead by different current students.

    What to do for fun

    I sing in multiple groups on campus as well as direct for one of them. There are also plenty of movie nights and dances that are available to go to. A few of my friends and I occasionally go to the local coffee shops also.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll know if Etown is the right school for you as soon as you step on the campus. Whether it be for a tour or on Accepted Students Day.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very welcoming and open to new and current students. They take into consideration how people are feeling when they first come to college and help you get out there and meet new people. There are also plenty of activities to become involved in on campus.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security works hard to keep the campus safe and open.

    Clubs and Activities

    The possibilities are endless and ones can be created through the right channels.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Dell is perfect for a nice sunny day of play or rest. Lake Placida is great for fishing. Traditions go along the lines of events on campus and service involvement.

    Bang for the buck

    Etown is expensive but it is worth every penny. I could go to cheaper schools but the experience would not be the same.

    What to do for fun

    The possibilities are endless. Hang out in the dell if its nice, take a stroll through the town, go to Folklore for some coffee, catch a movie in town or on the weekend in the one auditorium, meet up with friends and do whatever makes you happy!

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food with a great staff. Students work in dining as well as full-time staff. The director really cares about the quality of the experience.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. Some are up for renovations soon but others are newer on the inside. The college makes sure the student is happy. Work orders for broken things get filed and fixed asap.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but in a good way. There are also plenty of easy classes to take if you choose to. It is what you make it but the college strives for academic sucess.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many great things to do on campus and awesome people to do them with. Talk to professors. They are there to help you and can become great mentors (and future recommenders).

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love going to college here at Elizabethtown. The campus is gorgeous, the community feeling is great, the food is delicious, the professors are fantastic, and I would not trade any other college experience in the world for it, even with the expense (it is worth it). Definitely consider this college.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    To be in a program that will challenge me in just the right way, I have the satisfaction of knowing that I will earn my degree and so far it has been worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    I play golf, am on a seasonal bowling league and volunteer as an elected official at my local American Legion Post.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to earn your degree. The value of your education is up to you.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic school and the accelerated adult degree program is challenging, yet very rewarding.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is EVERYWHERE.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Music, sports (no football), religious activities, diversity clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for serious students who like professor interaction, small classrooms, and don't like to party that much.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We play soccer against Messiah and throw marshmallows at them at the games. I have no idea how or why this started.

    Bang for the buck

    For my fie;d, it is definitely worth it because Etown is known for occupational therapy. If you are coming here for something else it may be a little pricey for what you get, but it depends on your major.

    What to do for fun

    S.W.E.E.T. plans a lot of really fun activities with really cool prizes. I won a Kindle Fire one time!

    Food and Dining

    There is a great deal of variety, heathy choices, and accommodations.

    Dorm Life

    There are pros and cons to every dorm you can choose from. The one I was in this year had frequent fire alarms due to the showers setting them off. The water also smells like sulphur, but not in all of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are harder than others. I am in occupational therapy and it is definitely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Interview for a Presidential Scholarship because it really helps to pay for school and you can't get one without an interview. Come and visit as much as you can so you will see what it's like. If you belong here you will know because everyone always says it just felt right.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College is an extremely friendly college. The students are trustworthy and you can let your belongings anywhere and they will not be stolen. The professors are caring and always willing to help you learn.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students

    What to do for fun

    Elizabethtown is equipped with over 100 clubs that keep students involved in every aspect of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please put forth all effort in academics wise and ignore other activities that will not contribute to your success.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College is an amazing college with so many opportunities available for all its students. Professors are always available to help and are eager lend a hand. Students become a part of the Etown family in no time and students keep in touch over the summer.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Elizabethtown is in a small town and it has a very secure feel to it. Campus Security is really friendly and always ready to help anyone in need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for people of all intrests! We have an anime club, game club, clubs for most academic disciplines, a huge dance club called Emotion, and if there's nothing that you like, you can petition to start something new. The campus provides many activities for students such as on campus movies, game days, dances, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    People willing to try new exciting things and anyone who loves to get involved in many things while enjoying the comfort of a small community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an annual (hilarious) competition called Mr.Etown where males representing each housing option compete to win the title of Mr.Etown.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a little expensive, but there is a good deal of financial aid available. Facilities and oppertunities on campus are vast, so the price is pretty much worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Elizabethtown is really close to Hershey which means you can enjoy Chocolate World, Hershey Park, and even some cool concerts in the area. Elizabethtown has some wonderful performing groups on campus such as theater, improv comedy, and several fantastic musical groups. There are also many fun ways to be physically active, such as going to the campus gym, attending some free workout classes like yoga, or running around the scenic campus.

    Food and Dining

    Elizabethtown has tons of food options from healthy to home-style. There is a buffet style cafeteria with delicious all you can eat options, a small coffee shop, and convenience type store with sandwiches, salads, and sushi. You should never worry about going hungry here!

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms are conveniently located near all the important buildings on campus. Some dorms might be a little older, but they are still are comfortable to live in. Etown has the option of living in living learning communities, which are places where you will be living with people with similar academic interests.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors do their best to help students to learn as much as they can. Some give research based projects or papers, while others prefer to use reading based assignments. Though some material may be challenging, you can find help by talking with professors or fellow students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to come out of your shell at Etown. There are lots of fun activities, study abroad opportunities, clubs and organizations to be involved in. Don't be afraid to take courses that you think may be difficult or strange, because you might really enjoy them.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College has small campus with a huge amount of opportunities. You really get to know your professors and fellow students and there are plenty of things to be involved in. It is literally a sweat place because there are some days when the campus smells like chocolate.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe as it is a small school

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind living on campus for 4 years and like community sort of feeling.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school but they help you out with grants and scholarships. Also the counselling and one on one action you can get if you take advantage of it are a big plus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good here, it is an all you can eat various foods style of cafeteria. Kinda like Golden Corral.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms look pretty good. Not much more to say it is your typical college dorm. All dorm halls are co-ed.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing campus, with professors who really like teaching and helping their students.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's enough clubs and activities at E-town for everyone. Sports programs, dance clubs, student government, musical groups, science clubs, stand-up comedy routines, etc. I guarantee there's a club for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    E-town is centered in a small town in rural Lancaster County, but it's close to Lancaster city, Harrisburg, and Hershey, and not too far from Philly and Baltimore. Students can experience a relaxed, country feeling, but also have the option to enjoy city life. Students like to go into town, visit parks, see movies at the local theater, visit Hersheypark, see concerts, and plenty other activities. There's also always plenty of stuff to do on campus: dances, musical performances, sports games, poetry readings, lectures and parties. You will never be bored at Elizabethtown College.

    Food and Dining

    The food at E-town has a reputation for being top-notch and you will not be let down. The Marketplace is open 7am-7pm and it's a buffet style dining area. There's a pasta bar, a salad bar, pizza, an entree bar that changes every day, a sandwich/wrap station, a huge desert bar, and plenty of other options. There's also the Jay's Nest which is a convenient store and cafe area where students can get snacks and order fresh food. For late night snacks, there's a food truck that drives around campus offering various meals.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter student which is a different experience, but my visits and stays at the dorms have always been pleasant. The people are super friendly and disruptions are few. You'll always be meeting new people and making new friends. Dorm rooms are the size you'd expect of a college dorm, but there are plenty of ways to save space. Learning to live with other people can be difficult, but being open-minded seems like the best way to get used to it.

    Academic Rigor

    At E-town, you will have the opportunity to challenge yourself at whatever level is best for you. Professors tend to challenge students with thought-provoking questions and projects. Don't be concerned with academic overload, though. No class is the same and most professors are understanding when it comes to workload. Ultimately, your academic level is up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend as much time on campus as possible so that you can really get a feel for the campus and the lifestyle. Choosing a college is a big decision and there's no better way to understand what college life will be like. Also, don't be afraid to ask questions. The people at E-town are friendly and would love to help you with any questions or concerns you might have

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College is a friendly place that prides itself on educating its students to make a difference in the world. Be prepared to challenge your beliefs, learn more about yourself, and meet wonderful people. The goal here is to open students' minds and prepare them for all aspects of life.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As a young adult learner who was struggling to pay bills and going to school, the Elizabethtown CCEDL program was just right for my needs. I personally suggest anyone who is struggling with the down economy and trying to attend as a traditional student, or someone that believes it is impossible to go back to school to finish their degree, that switching to Elizabethtown CCEDL program is a great option.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Elizabethtown College, truly challenge your mind and and help to educate you with the best methods possible.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College offers a great educational experience to those who want to further their education. The outstanding academics that Elizabethtown College offers will give you the knowledge you need to be successful in your future career. This small town campus allows more interaction with your professors and classmates.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Here's the touchy-feely part, literally. We HAVE had some incidents last year about girls getting, more or less, intruded upon last year. However, this really only happens late at night on a weekend with stupid, drunken girls. If you want to be safe, just don't be stupid at night.

    Greek Life

    There are SDLC's (Student directed learning centers). Not really sure if that classifies as Greek Like!!

    Clubs and Activities

    About 100 clubs and organizations? Always something fun to do every weekend? I'd give this a 5-star. Visit our student commonplace to see the overflow of signs and banners advertising the multitude of clubs and events.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a challenge, who are very involved, and who are very well-rounded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Carrot cake is our specialty! We will give a free carrot cake to all students who go on individual tours!

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive, but not as expensive as an Ivy League. It's only the bang for the buck if you take advantage of your four years. Passing your classes and partying every weekend will not get you your bang for the buck. You have to join clubs, attend the various activities around campus, and GET INVOLVED!

    What to do for fun

    Homework. I find productivity enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    Can't complain. The food is always amazing, although some people do not think so. I just wish they had healthier foods!

    Dorm Life

    Some of them are falling apart, but overall, it's not bad. There are nicer dorms for the upperclassmen though.

    Academic Rigor

    I cannot compare to other schools, but I think it is decently challenging. I was capable of applying to an Ivy League school, but I came to Elizabethtown College. I get very little sleep at night, because I am always trying to manage my schoolwork, jobs, and extra-curriculars!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are friendly, you love community service, you want a very well-rounded school, and you want a challenge, then come here!

    In three sentences

    Very well-rounded college! Challenging, overflowing with service, leadership, and organizational opportunities, and filled with friendly people!

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly campus security officers driving and walking around campus 24 hours, 7 days a week.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a dell! This beautiful, well-kept, open field on campus is where students are inducted as freshmen, and also where they graduate as seniors!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and sports teams on campus. There are also intramural sport's teams that anyone can join! Every other weekend their are club-sponsored dances that students find as a fun alternative to partying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college and even stay over night! Before you are even a student here, when you are on campus you will be treated with the respect you deserve.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown college is an extremely positive and welcoming place to call your home away from home. Everyone here is always polite and eager to do what they can to help anyone who crosses their path. I strongly recommend Etown for any student looking for small, private college to attend.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Everyone here is so friendly. When I visited, they all made me feel at home, and they even gave me a free carrot cake just for taking a tour! I could see myself going here.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe. There are occasional problems but there has not been anything too serious. Campus security is on duty all night.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is no greek life. However, there are houses around campus that have events.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for people who want a liberal arts degree and like fair weather. The people are extremely friendly which allows many people to fit in at the school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a fairly expensive institution. I feel like it is slightly overpriced but the education is definitely above average. I have enjoyed my time here and believe it is a good institution.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities and groups on campus. The athletics for a small division three school are pretty entertaining as well. If you want to find something to do, you just have to look around.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty good. It has a nice variety of food and the hall has different kinds of food everyday. The cafeteria features a pasta bar, salad bar and a dessert bar.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living with the variety of people on campus. However, most of the dorm rooms are a little snug and if you do not like your roommate it could be a little hard.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging school. Most of the students are highly dedicated to their work and strive to be active leaders in the business world.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe that they should try to find a place that they would be comfortable at. It is a big decision and one that needs to be taken seriously. You could spend four years of your life here.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent academic liberal arts school. The teachers are dedicated to their students and the classes are small. Also, the people here are very active in the school and enjoyable to be around.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We all feel extremely safe here!

    Greek Life

    None at etown

    Great for these types of students

    Academic, friendly, introverted or extraverted

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First-year walk, holiday meals where the faculty serve the students dinner

    What to do for fun

    Socialize, go into town, play games outside, attend events organized by student-run groups

    Food and Dining

    Good options available for healthy eating or for good home cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    It is a wonderful community in the dorm buildings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Elizabethtown is a great place to come to if you are serious about your career or major. It is the place where you will become prepared for the rest of your life in all aspects, not just education. It also will be enjoyable for you if you like nice people, because the campus is stocked full with them!

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College is a wonderful place to spend 4 years of your life. The atmosphere is the warmest and friendliest of all college campuses that I know of. It is also the place to truly receive the best education in PA because of the dedication of the other students and the efforts of the faculty working here.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I could go on and on about the number of clubs and activities at Elizabethtown College. I've said it once and I'll say it again-- there's so much to do! You can dance your heart out, take Zumba or Kick Boxing classes, try your hand at an intramural sport, hang out with the dogs at K-9 club, or help run Relay for Life. There's something for everyone here.

    Great for these types of students

    Etown is great for many students, but especially those who are come from very small hometowns. The student body is not very large, and you will recognize faces every day! Your professors know you by name, and the feeling of home is ever present. Etown is also great for students who just want to branch out, meet new people, and try new things. With the amount of clubs and activities on school, and with the ability to experience new things, Elizabethtown opens up even the quietest of kids!

    Bang for the buck

    School is expensive, we know. Especially a private school like Etown College. However, the experience I'm getting from attending a school such as this one, and the academic power is definitely worth the loans at the end of your four (or five, fellow Occupational Therapy majors!) years. There are so many opportunities that arise when attending such a small-- but definitely well-known in the area-- school like Elizabethtown.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun on campus. Many people spend their time dancing with the school's dance club Emotion (it's the largest club on campus!) Other people play sports, join intramurals, play a round of water basketball in the pool, or lay out in the Dell when the sun is shining! If you plan on having a car on campus, Hershey Park is only 20 minutes away and Park City Mall is close as well. Don't worry if you won't have a car though-- Etown is always hosting comedy nights, outings like to New York City, and other activities to keep the student body entertained.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Elizabethtown is that of a typical college. Nothing fancy, but there are always healthy options like the salad bar and the omelet station. For those who prefer awesome desserts though, the dinging hall here is for you! Desserts never disappoint at school-- there's a self-serve ice cream station and there are always plenty of cakes and cookies to choose from. The Jays Nest, our school's quick mart/quick food stop is great for your late night snack or mid-day lunch break. It's open late so many students will spend their evenings there studying with friends or grabbing a late night quesadilla!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty nice at Elizabethtown. There are multiple dorms to choose from, and although freshman do not get to request a specific dorm in their first year, each of the buildings is home to students of all years. Freshman may be mixed right in with sophomores and juniors. Each of the buildings is updated with heating and air and wi-fi access, and the Residence Assistants are always willing to help you solve issues and create a fun living environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Elizabethtown prides itself on its small classrooms and excellent professors. Some classes will challenge you more than others, but professors are always will to meet with you outside of class and will help to ensure you feel comfortable in their classroom and with the material. The classes are enjoyable but put your knowledge and study skills to the test!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved! Joining clubs and trying things that you have never done before is not only a fun and exciting experience, but it is the easiest way to meet some truly great people who share the same interests as you! Elizabethtown offers so many different clubs, volunteer activities, and events that sometimes it is hard to choose! But don't sweat it-- Etown is a great place and your first year of college will be amazing.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown College is a school that feels like home. There are so many ways to get involved and meet people on campus that there is never a dull moment. I love Elizabethtown because of the excellent academics, wonderful fellow peers and staff members, and the opportunities it provides to succeed!

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Amazing dance program.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small and close-knit school.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and sports and a giant dance program. Also hold events almost every week.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's kind of in a remote area so a car would be nice to go places. It is a very small school.

    In three sentences

    The students and faculty at Elizabethtown were very welcoming when I visited. I really enjoyed the size of the campus and the classroom size. Overall, Elizabethtown is my top choice for a college.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Office of Student Activities, or OSA, keeps the campus busy with exciting and fun ways for Etown Blue Jays to spend their free time. Posters are hung near the cafeteria to show students what is going to be happening that month. During mid-terms and finals weeks, OSA hosts events meant for relaxation to help students take a break from too much studying. One weekend out of every month shows movies and guest speakers are always coming to give talks and presentations on current issues. Most activities have free admission for students and often include nice prizes.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Etown is nothing short of delicious. There is a wide variety of options available every single day, with a different main entree of lunch and dinner. From burgers to salads to the famous carrot cake Etown is known for, no student ever goes in want for food. Vegetarian and vegan options are always available. While weekends tend to consist of nothing more than brunch and leftovers, the rotating menu offers enough choices to satisfy everyone. There is a lot of seating but tables fill quickly during rush times, so it is recommended to eat at an off-time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms at Etown are typical of most colleges. Depending on the building, some rooms are slightly bigger or smaller, but all are comfortable and feel like home. Students are free to decorate their rooms however they want and can rearrange the furniture inside as well. Founders, the building where the majority of Freshman are placed, has convenient side lounges on every floor to promote group studying, movie watching, and other activities with friends. Living and Learning Communities are one housing option available to all students; every LLC has a specific theme that unites its members together. There are several to choose from, including ones relating to geology, physics, honors programs, and Japanese anime/Asian culture. LLCâ??s help students reach out and make friends who share similar interests.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Etown have so far proven to be the perfect blend of fun and difficulty. Some, naturally, are more challenging than others and require additional time spent studying. No matter which of the wide variety of classes a student chooses for their schedules, they will find that the quality of the education is second to none. In some instances professors are flexible with deadlines, allowing every student to maximize their time to get assignments done.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip for any prospective student is to visit all colleges before applying. While factual information is available online, students do not get the true feel for the school as they would if they were physically there. The student-led tours at Etown are as fun as they are informative; not only does the prospective student get to see the typical life of a college student, they are also able to sit in on a class and see what it is like to have such small, one-on-one classes with the amazing faculty.

    In three sentences

    Etown had become my second home just a few months into my first semester. My classes were challenging yet engaging, so while I did need to brush up on my notes from time to time, the friendly professors left me feeling confident in my academic abilities. Overall I have loved my first semester here and cannot wait to graduate a proud Blue Jay.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of events on campus including singing groups, movies, dances, cafe nights, and much more. There is never a dull moment here during the week or the weekend and there are tons of clubs to join for every type of person.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small schools this is a number one choice for you! The occupational therapy program is outstanding and you will go into your masters program feeling fully competent.

    In three sentences

    Very personable professor and students work and attend here. The professors go out of their way to extend your learning outside of the classroom. I always feel comfortable inside and outside of the classroom.

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because Etown is a small school in a small town, everyone feels very safe. There are occasional incidences of course, but I feel fine walking alone at night because of the safe feel of campus and how it is very well lit. A good example of the atmosphere is how everyone leaves their wallets or phones on the table in the cafeteria to save seats, without worrying about them being stolen. Campus security is still present, though, and there are emergency buttons spread throughout campus. Campus security patrols pretty well and are always available to be an escort.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Etown, but I don�t think that anyone misses it because there are enough other activities to be a part of.

    Clubs and Activities

    As an athlete, I think the sports teams are great to be a part of. Also, at orientation freshmen are put into peer groups of 15 or so freshman with 2 upperclassmen to help you adjust to college life. I really enjoyed getting to know people in this way and I met my closest friends through my peer group, people I wouldn�t have met otherwise. There are also many other clubs and activities from a dance team to clubs attached to your major to music groups and others. Most people enjoy being a part of several groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Because it�s a smaller school, Etown is good for students who want to get to know the students and faculty and build strong relationships. I think it�s especially good for less outgoing students who wouldn�t feel as comfortable in a larger university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a part of orientation, freshman participate in the First Year Walk, where the first years hold hands, two girls for every guy, (the ratio of boys to girls is around 60-40) and walk into town as a fun way to see the area around campus. Along the way, the peer mentors and staff cheer and joke around with the freshmen. Also during orientation, the first years participate in Induction in the Dell, a grassy area on campus with a gazebo that is also where graduation is, so you start and end your time at Etown in the same place. Another fun tradition is the Marshmallow Game, when Etown plays their rival Messiah in men�s soccer and all of the fans thrown marshmallows at the players during the game. Finally, in the spring, Etown has TGIS weekend (Thank Goodness It�s Spring), where they have a mini carnival and other fun activities to celebrate spring.

    Bang for the buck

    Etown is definitely on the more expensive side, but the school realizes this and most financial aid packages are generous and in the end most students don�t seem to pay too much more than students at less expensive schools. The financial aid counselors are also very helpful and willing to work with families, and I think the extra money is worth it to go to a school that is the right fit for you.

    What to do for fun

    The school is in a small rural town so there isn�t much to do around town other than go out to eat or go to the movies, but Harrisburg, Lancaster, and Hershey are only a short drive away if you have a car and they have more options for off-campus activities. Because the town is small, Etown does a good job of hosting on campus activities. Each semester there are a few game show nights like Minute To Win It or the Price Is Right where students can actually compete for smaller cash prizes and there�s also a movie shown every other weekend. There are some parties, especially in the townhouses and apartments, but there are also plenty of activities if parties are not your thing. Although it�s only a D3 school, most of the sports teams are pretty good, and going to games or playing is fun if you like sports. I play field hockey and I found the team to be extremely welcoming to new students and I hear other teams are much the same.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all pretty good, especially for college food, but it tends to get a little repetitive as the semester goes on. There are 3 meal locations on campus; the main cafeteria, which has many options like a pasta station, grill, and a deli as well as a main hot food line, a smaller place where you can take food to go or sit down to eat, and a caf�© for mostly breakfast foods like coffee and muffins. Thereâ��s also a food truck that comes to sporting events. Overall, most students eat in the main cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    At Etown, everyone has to live on campus for all four years, with only a few exceptions. Most people don�t seem to mind this rule, especially as the apartments and townhouses that juniors and seniors can apply for are very nice. The dorms otherwise are fine, kind of old but in good shape. I think an advantage of having everyone live on campus is that it�s really easy to go hang out with your friends (or go study with them) because you all live nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    I think Etown is probably average in academic rigor, but it definitely depends on your major. The Occupational Therapy, Education, and Allied-Health (pre-med) majors are definitely more time consuming than others. Otherwise, I think the workload is manageable. As long as you plan your time, you can participate in other activities and sports without too much trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a campus tour and even have an admissions interview to show you�re serious about the school and to get a good idea of what it�s like. I think getting the feel of the atmosphere of a school is really important in making a decision. Also, once you�re at Etown, take advantage of the benefits of close interactions that come from a small school. As an undecided student, I think meeting with career services was very helpful and Etown also offers free tutoring by students who have achieved an A in that class.

    In three sentences

    Etown is a small, rural, liberal arts school where students can really get to know each other and the professors. While the small size limits the spread of majors offered, I think the sense of community that everyone gets from the small size is really valuable. The professors and staff really care about the students and there is much to be gained from small groups and class sizes.

  • 06/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols a lot but there have been a few incidents.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety but some clubs don't really do anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't like big cities or crowded areas and prefer individual attention.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really worth the 50,000 dollars you spend for the dorms you live in but the education is pretty great.

    What to do for fun

    You can hangout with friends around campus, walk into town, hangout in the Jays Nest, attend club activities or off campus activities set up by a student organization. There are trips to NYC or even laser tag.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus options are very limiting and don't have variety so it gets boring. The quality of the food varies and can be pretty bad.

    Dorm Life

    The buildings are old and need to be remodeled but some buildings are newer but tend to be farther away from classes.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't too difficult to get good grades in general courses but the honors program is difficult as it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you positive that a small school is good for you and that Elizabethtown has both your first and second choice majors.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school so you really get individualized attention. However, the buildings are old and the location doesn't have great shopping. But the Japanese program is amazing.