Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Elizabethtown Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ECTC is a wonderful school for students who are trying to decide what they want to major in, just wanting to pick up a few college classes or students who don't want to move far away from home. It is part of the KCTCS college system so there are many campuses all over the state of Kentucky. They offer many online classes which are convenient for those who work full time, and want to attend college at the same time. ECTC also features a Western Kentucky University Regional Camps and provides students with a WKU degree while attending class through ECTC! ECTC also has classes throughout the Central Kentucky area so students can take classes in their hometown if classes are available! There is truly something for everyone at ECTC!

    Tips for prospective students

    ECTC is very affordable, but so are most Community Colleges. I am attending to get my basics out of the way and to completely make up my mind on what I want to major in! The staff in the Financial Aid Office are extremely nice and willing to help you in anyway possible!

    Am enjoying being here

    For it to be a Community College it is a very plesant atmosphere. Everyone is very friendly, the Factually and Staff are always willing to help you in anyway possible, weather if be from getting the best teacher for your needs or to helping you find a class on campus! The first days of school the staff can be spotted all over the campus to help you in finding your classes, parking spots or to answer any questions you might have. It is a really nice benefit for the first year students who might be a little apprehensive. The school also has different seminars throughout the year (that are free!), I attended two in particular because they caught my attention. One was on Mental Health Awareness, this one in general provided us with information on how to reduce stress and to manger anger issues. It featured different speakers throughout the area that shared personal stories and tips on how to manage your stress. The other seminar was on Child Abuse. This one was put on by local ECTC students, it provided us with lots of signs to look for in Child Abuse, how to handle a Child Abuse Case, and who to report to if you suspect a Child Abuse case! ECTC also had a Spring Fling during the Spring Semester where the different clubs on campus set up booths and games, free food, live music and games. It was really fun, and allowed you to talk and get to know some of your fellow classmates! Plus is made you feel like you were at a Big College Campus!

    Am learning a lot

    It is a very good school, I am getting ready to start my second semester. I have learned quiet a bit of information, but it has not been easy. You actually have to attend class (shocker I know) and do your homework. All of the teachers are willing to help you if there is something you don't understand. If you attend class, do your homework and ask questions when you are unsure of things then you should do very well at ECTC!

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the campus within the first week or so, the new parts are the most confusing. Become friends with the professors to keep up good standing within the classroom. Do NOT underestimate the college simply because it is a community college, the college is actually better than most universities when it comes to subject matter because the professors coordinate with each other and take pride in their classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition here is awesome and extremely affordable for the average student with a part time job and living at home. Books are, like everywhere, a little expensive, but it is only because of the professors since they like to take time into choosing their book because they know what each student should learn. The food prices are not bad since it is the local restaurants where people usually eat at, and there are no fees to go anywhere as well. Great prices for everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is always friendly and they offer a lot to the students from a well equipped library to nice relaxing areas to the college. With it being located in the hear of Elizabethtown, there is always something to do on ones down time between classes.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are extremely knowledgeable and know what they are teaching. They are nice and dependable and will give the student all the opportunities to succeed in their class, as long as the student shows potential. Overall the professors are a good quality of the college and should be known for what they do.

  • 10/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for students crunched for cash and want a good bang for their buck. They also have one of the best and cheapest nursing programs in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take 15 credit hours each semester. It's the only way to stay on top of credit hours that way you graduate on time. Also, if you need to drop a class you're not doing well in you're still a full-time student. Also make sure for yourself that the classes you take will count towards your degree and transfer to your prospective school. The professors here often do not know.

    Bang for the buck

    You really can't beat the value of this school. You will get a good education here. Our nursing, automotive, and fire rescue programs are nationally recognized. If you were a good student in high school you will get a scholarship. I had a 3.86, 25 ACT, and I even missed the deadline. My full tuition is covered by their scholarship alone so I get about 3K back each semester that I can save for when I go to a university since my family has no money and another kid in college too.

    Am enjoying being here

    My teachers are pretty fun for the most part. I've only had a few that were just plain dry. The have plenty of clubs that are a lot of fun. I go to a poetry reading once a month. There's also student government, Phi Theta Kappa (honors program), SIFE (business club), guitar club, and many more I'm sure. There are also dances and festivals pretty regularly.

    Am learning a lot

    It can depend on the teacher somewhat, but for the most part if you work hard and come to class you'll find yourself learning more than you thought you would. One teacher in particular, Mr. Coyle, that teaches English, he got his PhD. from Vanderbilt University and has been teaching at ECTC for well over 50 years. He is the best teacher I ever had and he completely changed my previously negative opinion of ECTC. Community college means nothing, this college is the best college around for their price and programs.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for freshman, and anybody who wants to work and go to school.

    Food and Dining

    the culinary program provides cheap meals every day, and there are vending machines in every building. other than that, there is nothing to eat unless you leave campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel that ectc is quite safe for their students.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few, but none that i am involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are from the area and have to watch your money, (or just don't wish to leave home right now), ectc is the perfect school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    you can obtain a 4-year degree in certain areas alot cheaper that at a traditional 4-year college.

    What to do for fun

    there is not alot of on campus activities that i know of.

    Food and Dining

    the student center has a grill.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel that the intensity and demand of my classes and schedule would rank right up there with larger universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are not sure about your major or if college is right for you, then check out ectc. you could take a few classes and maybe find your major along the way.

    In three sentences

    attending ectc is perfect for a first time student. though it is not as small as some colleges (with approx. 8,000 students), it has a friendly atmosphere and a helpful staff.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm not sure how it is after dark. But Elizabethtown is a very nice area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several different clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    One's who are wanting to get there basics over.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't really had any.

    Bang for the buck

    I would suggest finding books off campus if you want the bang for your buck. The book store is over priced.

    What to do for fun

    There re several clubs available and I think thy are working on getting sports available.

    Food and Dining

    There is a new coffee shop and vendors sit up in the hall. I have not tried them.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Elizabethtown Community College has a great academic program. What they don't teach at the school can usually be found online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to talk to your adviser. It makes a huge difference.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school as long as one takes the right teachers. It seems most of the professors really care about the students. I do think it needs more business classes.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A student doesn't have to look far to find security, especially in the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are constant emails coming through with an assortment of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    A community college is great for students with limited income. When I've compared the academics with four year universities to community colleges, the academic is just as challenging.

    Bang for the buck

    After talking to other students who have attended both a community college and finished their degree with a four year university, they believed community college was just as challenging and less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Since I'm older, I don't get involved with a lot of fun things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The staff in the dining area take pride in the food they serve. A menu is sent out on regular bases to inform students what is being served.

    Dorm Life

    ECTC is a community college and doesn't have dorms. This is the issue I have now. I'm trying to find scholarships to help pay for housing while I finish my four year degree. As far as rating, I had to choose one to go on, however they do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some degrees are more rigorous than others, however every degree has a class or classes that are difficult. Your performance depends on the time you put in and taken advantage of the resources your professors has made available. Some of my professors have communicated, the biggest issue with students is they do not following directions. Five stars

    Tips for prospective students

    If you'll give your best and work hard, the administration and professors will help you succeed and open doors of opportunity for you.

    In three sentences

    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College has changed my life for the better. My professors have challenged me and invest time for my success. The administration part of ECTC has always helped resolve issues.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The whole place is well lit and very open

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over thirty clubs and a newspaper.

    What to do for fun

    There are over thirty clubs and a newspaper at ECTC.

    Food and Dining

    There are many vending machines, and Chik-Fil-A. You can also buy food from the Restaurant run by the culinary arts majors.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy and well placed. The schedules are arranged so that students do not lose interest and so that they can get the most out of their experience.

    In three sentences

    Ectc has a small campus and small classrooms. The buildings are nicely kept and so are the grounds. The college is cheap and close to home.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Rating: 0. I have not eaten the the food at my college. I usually go to my classes, then go to the library to do my work when my classes are over, and finally I go home.

    Dorm Life

    Rating: 0. There is no dorms on campus. I have no campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    Rating: 10. My Academics are actually good right now. I have no problems with them. I thought it was going to be tough at first, but it is looking easy right now.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focuse on the dream you want to acheive. You will succeed in everything if you do it and keep going.

    In three sentences

    I give Elizabethtown Community and Technical College a 10. It's a good place to develop college lifestyle.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This doesn't apply either.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate the food on campus

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply

    Academic Rigor

    This applies to the online classes that I have taken. Online will be a lot different than a classroom setting. Online you need to be able to follow a strict syllabus and you better to be able to learn by reading. If you cannot, I do not recommend this type of setting, even though it is more convenient in a time aspect as well as economic cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions. If you are not certain what you need to be asking, state that. I would not try to do everything at the last minute when everything is a rush on campus because then you will feel like you are unimportant and you will be unimpressed and stressed.

    In three sentences

    My experiences are primarily as an online student for this college; in two and a half years, I have taken only one on campus class. As any community college, drop out rates are high, tuition is cheaper, and there are a lot students on campus. If you are looking for an Associates degree, or are uncertain of what you are looking to do, I highly recommend starting at the community college level.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are never any issue at ECTC (springfield campus).

    Greek Life

    I don't know of any greek life at ECTC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sports events at the Elizabethtown campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any student who are dedicated to their work and determined to do great things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For Halloween my school had a pumpkin decorating contest. It was great to see everyone's talents.

    Bang for the buck

    All the people, students and teachers are extremely friendly at ECTC. I love that.

    What to do for fun

    I use the computer lab for work and fun occasionally.

    Food and Dining

    I mostly eat at home. Although, the school does have a vending machine. I normally just eat before class.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and drive to school. There are dorms available at the campus in Elizabethtown, Ky. I've been considering touring the school.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my classes are very laid back with professors who are willing to help every student. I, also, like it that I can speak with my advisor, Sarah Ballard, whenever I need to. I've learned plenty this semester and so far I haven't really had to stress too much over homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Order books as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    I currently attend Elizabethtown Community and Technical College at the Springfield campus. I enjoy all of my classes! I will definitely be attending in the Fall semester.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus is regularly monitored and personally, never heard of safety concerns.

    Clubs and Activities

    Elizabethtown Comm. & Tech. offers many clubs and activities for their students. There are more and more offered every year.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to attend college close to home and have no academic financial assistance. And for students who want to attend a smaller scale college before transfering to a unversity.

    Bang for the buck

    I wanted an education without being thousands of dollars in debt and spending most of my life paying off my student loans. Elizabethtown Comm. & Tech. is allowing me to do so. I can earn my college credits that will transfer to many other university's.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is a student center with a piano, TVs, video games, pool table, fitness center, est. Off campus, Elizabethtown is full of activities. Close is a movie theater, mall, bowling, est.

    Food and Dining

    In the student center, located in the middle of campus, has a Chick-fil-A that is always open for business. And there are many vending machines throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no, on campus dorms, however, there are many apartments and rental houses directly across the road from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This college prepares you very well for your career or continuing education. This small town college has high standards and is respectively challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your wanting a college degree without the big price tag, Elizabethtown Comm. & Tech. is for you. You can complete your associates degree and transfer to a university without already have a large student loan.

    In three sentences

    If your looking for a college that wants you too succeed, Elizabethtown Community and Technical College is for you! All their staff are overwhelmingly helpful to help you accomplish your dreams. ECTC is perfect for that in-between step, of high school to university, with a reasonable price.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt personally uncomfortable or unsafe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is fair and the classes are challenging, but not impossible.

    What to do for fun

    It is important to get involved to have fun in college.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria at this university, but the vending machines have a variety of options that are suited for snacks and meals.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Basically, what you put into your academics is what you will get out of it. If you do not try, do not expect to learn or succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are willing to work hard, you will be able to succeed at this school. With dedication and some time, it is possible to

    In three sentences

    This College has aided in my preparation for my future career through challenging material and professors with experience and knowledge in their individual fields.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of anything happening.

    Greek Life

    Only one group as far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very few.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to earn an Associats degree and transfer. Or nursing students, we have a great program here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just the Oak tree I study under!

    Bang for the buck

    I think if you are looking to get an assoicates degree it's great. This school is one of the cheapest in Ky and it used to be part of University of Kentucky. Can't get any better than that!

    What to do for fun

    There are some school groups, but you will make new friends in your classes especially with the small class sizes. Everyone is a family.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here. Strictly commute.

    Academic Rigor

    It is by far not a Ivy League school but I believe it is much harder than some of the private schools in this area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and believe that you have what it takes to become who you want to be.

    In three sentences

    It is a good starter school for the first two years. It has small class sizes and the teachers really do care how well you do with your classwork. There are some great teachers here.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great place! All of the teachers and staff are amazing.