Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Elmhurst College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/31/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music students, Physical Education Students, and Students that would rather party than study.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a challenge or are looking for an active campus life you shouldn't go to Elmhurst College. If you plan on commuting and consider yourself an average student you should be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely not on the expensive end, as far as colleges go and it has great financial aid. If you really need it, go here.

    Did enjoy being here

    At Elmhurst College you have to know how to pick your community. There are several pockets of school and large pockets of students (As the school Chaplain called them) that did not appreciate the idea of having a diverse campus and made it very clear that, that was so. Also Elmhurst is set in a very small, sleepy sort of town, which can be nice but is not very stimulating. I liked my friends and a few (3) of the teachers but that's about it.

    Did learn a lot

    I came to Elmhurst College from an exclusive private school and I found most of my gen-eds (including a 300 level course) extremely disappointing because I was not challenged in the least.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who are undecided of what their major is, those who are sure of their major, and anyone interested in Nursing, Psychology, Music, or any Social Science majors. This college is great if you live close enough to commute. If you enjoy traveling to Chicago this college is great for you because there are a lot of field trips to Chicago :) (depending on the classes you take)

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved as much as possible even if you commute so you can enjoy your college experience. Take advantage of getting to choose your own schedule don't overwhelm yourself with too many classes. Also, Try taking four classes per semester and one during January or take the whole January month off.

    Bang for the buck

    They give a lot of financial aid here there's grants, scholarships, and jobs on campus. You just need to know where to look. After filing your fafsa that's where most of your financial aid comes from. But if you still need to pay money you don't have, you can take out loans or contact the financial aid office and they can assist you with advice on what to do. Compared to other private schools it is a lot cheaper and even more cheap if you commute.

    Am enjoying being here

    Honestly, I am not enjoying college as much as I thought I would. Being a commuter makes it difficult to meet people if you don't get involved on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I really am learning a lot in this school. I'm not just learning things for my major but also things that I can apply towards life in general. Going to a liberal arts school helps you learn many things that can used for many majors.

  • 10/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuter Anyone majoring in Education, Nursing, or Music. Those who want a small school (Population~3,000 students) Those who like to work one on one with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into your major quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but they work with you for financial aid. & since it is a private school, they have a lot of scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm pretty involved on campus, which is great. Since it is such a small school, it gives a lot of room to get involved, however, it is a primarily commuter school.

    Am learning a lot

    My freshman year, I did not enjoy the school all that much, the gen eds were kinda lame, and I just didn't want to be there..but this year I have gotten into classes that are primarily for my major (English & Secondary Education) and I LOVE it.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say this college is good for people who aren't too into the the hard core party scene and a more professional chill atmosphere. I would also say this is a great school for commuters.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip that I would give to prospective students is do the overnight visit before you come, this is how a lot of students here decided whether or not they really liked it here. I would also suggest that when u have a question about the college that you directly call the school, it helps you get to know the staff really well, i called my adviser all the time to talk about things and we created a friendship which made me even more comfortable in my decision in going to this school.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm going to say it is pretty expensive here. The food is a little over precised but decent. The facilities are pretty nice though, the bathroom and halls are cleaned everyday. The campus itself is very well maintained. Although a tiny bit expensive, there are many thing we receive that other colleges have to pay for separately. I will say though that for a private college Elmhurst is on the lower side when it comes to pricing. On top of this the college is genuinely interested in having you as a student here. This means they are very generous with their financial aid. I am not an over the top student and I received a generous scholarship and a nice grant on top of that. So overall I would say that if you receive a scholarship then the money is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I will say this college is not one for everyone. It is a small college with many commuters, but it's all in what you make it. There are many many opportunities on campus, you just have to look a little harder then usual. I like seeing some of the same people over again and I enjoying knowing that I'm not a number and my professors know my name. I know almost everyone in my hall and we do things together frequently. Although it is considered a reasonably quiet campus, you can always go to the city where there are millions of things to do. I find that most of the time I enjoy the calm atmosphere over some colleges loud party all the time dorms. The community is small, but there is every kind of business you could ever need right in walking distance.

    Am learning a lot

    This semester I only took Gen Eds. Although I did not find these classes particularly challenging, I learned new things and really got a feel for what college courses are like. One of my classes was a level 300, which I really enjoyed even though it was tougher then any other class I'd taken.

  • 02/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, Education/Music/Nursing Majors, Leaders, People who like to get involved in activities, People who like to participate during class

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on visits and get in contact with as many people as you can from the school. Gathering information and learning more about the college will be the best way to see whether or not you see yourself fitting in at this school. EC isn't for everyone, but most people can find something they like about it.

    Bang for the buck

    There is great opportunity to earn enough financial aid to attend this school---especially as a commuter. Between the FAFSA and communication with the Office of Financial Aid, most families should be able to find a reasonable price for attending this school. I will say, however, that the tuition does seem to be increasing every year. While financial aid usually increases simultaneously, it never completely covers the entire value of the increase. On campus vendors--like the Bookstore and the Cafe--are too pricey for what they are selling.

    Am enjoying being here

    Definitely. EC upon face value does appear to be a commuter school--especially since housing has become more difficult to attain for upperclassmen. However, if you truly work towards trying to get involved in ANYTHING, you soon learn that Elmhurst College is so much more than a commuter school. The small campus makes it really easy to take on leadership roles in any extracurricular activity. I say all of this being a commuter myself.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a liberal arts school, there are many gen ed courses that you need to take. While taking them does tend to feel annoying, you do learn some meaningful content in each. However, in regards to major requirements, you definitely get a worthwhile education here. As a secondary education major, I enjoy being taught by professors who all have been in the field for multiple years. The small class sizes do help to create great teacher-student chemistry which assists the amount of learning I make.

  • 10/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who like smaller schools and aren't the typical partiers. i have found that it is easy to get work done on weekends when a majority of the campus goes home.

    Tips for prospective students

    take the time to be sure a school is everything you want it to be. if you can see yourself waking up, walking out the door, and going to class feeling confident and satisfied, you know you're making the right decision. elmhurst provided me with the small-scale college experience that i wanted in a location open to adventure and exploration.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is a lot higher on the expenses, but they do provide a quality education and are generous in scholarships, which is why i chose elmhurst.

    Am enjoying being here

    My roommate and I get along very well. I like the school and it's really pretty in the fall. However, the dining selections are repetitive and there are not many cheaper restaurants within walking distance of campus if you wanted to go out to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    i enjoy the curriculum, the opportunities i have for internships and studying abroad, and the fact that i can take classes for my major sooner than i thought i'd be able to.

  • 03/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Elmhurst offers very nice scholarships for hard-working incoming students. Of all the schools I applied to (which was like, 10!), Elmhurst gave me the most in scholarship money.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many student organizations for all people of all walks of life. I like the small classes and teachers who care. Downtown Elmhurst is just a couple blocks away. We have a couple nice restaurants (a really nice cupcake shop!), and movie theater, Wallgreens and Jewel, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    Elmhurst emphasizes the Liberal Arts experience. Now that I have declared my major, I am working on a healthy balance between my Major classes and my Gen. Ed requirements. Not only am I learning a lot in the classroom, but the school encourages me to branch out and attend the lecture series (there's usually a lecture every week!) or other events on campus. Elmhurst also emphasizes service learning, and some classes even go on a service learning trip incorporated in the curriculum. It's a very great school to become a well-rounded human being.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and participate in campus activities. You'll really see the benefits there are to being a part of a smaller school.

    Bang for the buck

    Though it may look expensive on the price tag, the financial aid the school offers makes it really affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus has a lot of ways to get involved - your experience here is what you make of it. It's a small school but if you choose to be involved, you can always find something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The school has great professors who really will go the extra mile to help you out. I am a nursing major and I don't think I could have picked a better school for that area.

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want the full college experience but not get to distracted by all the rowdiness of big colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying and writing your essay always write from the heart that's what gets you noticed.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit pricey, but they definitely help you a lot with grants, scholarships, and loans that you can qualify for. And if you keep applying for scholarships through out your time here it helps greatly.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school and campus is so beautiful that you can't help but feel peaceful and ready learn when your here. The faculty and students are very welcoming and nice. And the facilities we have access to are great too, the library, theater, cafeterias, lounges and study areas. Also the campus is literally walking distance from downtown Elmhurst, which is also beautiful. There's all kinds restaurants, a movie theater, clothing stores and salons and even a really cool bowling ally. The metre train is a block away which you can take to see the amazing Downtown Chicago.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at this school not only in class but out of class as well. The professors are very helpful and try to work with you as much as they can. There is a lot of diversity on campus and a lot of different organizations to join and people to learn from.

  • 08/17/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those only looking for an educational experience will be well served. Those looking for an overall experience will be highly disappointed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com!! This saved me from most of the terrible professors on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    More expensive than a public college, but cheaper than most private colleges. I will warn you, you get what you pay for.

    Did enjoy being here

    I was miserable at this college. It is very click-ish. There are about four or five groups you have to fit in, or you will be hard-pressed to find many friends on campus. There is not much going on on campus either, you will definitely have to go into the city to find something to do. Also, the weekends are horrible on campus! The food is nothing but leftovers and there are only about 100 people on campus at a time.

    Did learn a lot

    I had a few phenomenal professors here, but I also had a couple who had no business teaching. Overall, my professors were my favorite part of the college. If you are going for a good education and thats all you care about, this school will most likely be a good fit for you.

  • 03/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education, Nursing, Music

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into your major early, especially for education and nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    It is fairly expensive, especially with the recent 4.9% increase in tuition but they also do give out a lot of scholarships so in the end it evens out pretty well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here so much. I have gotten really involved on campus and I just love being there. I've started calling the campus home.

    Am learning a lot

    So far I have been at Elmhurst for less than a year but so far the classes are decent. I've been taking mainly gen ed classes so far and they interesting. I mean, not all the classes I've taken are super exciting but I don't know of anyone who has ever liked every single one of their classess.

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Seeking a great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit! Apply and see what happens!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but I received enough scholarships plus financial aid that considerably made me accept admission.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's 15 minutes from where I live. I know the area!

    Will learn a lot

    I have many Alumni as friends and they loved it there.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is definitely for students who are hard-working, friendly, compassionate, adventurous, and who are leaders. Elmhurst offers many opportunities for students to get involved, be a leader, give back to the community, and even see the world!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you already know what major you want to get into, I would really look into the program that the college has for you. Don't be afraid to ask questions and wonder how their program will benefit you. Or if you are undecided, there is more than enough help from faculty and many facilities on campus to help you through your decision. Elmhurst College is big on having a liberal-arts education, so you will get to experience every subject.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school, so do not expect it to be cheap. It is pretty expensive, but the college compensates by giving out several scholarships and grants. There are many job opportunities on campus and the college is an a convenient area where you can even get a job off-campus. But as my mother always told me, You got to invest in yourself. Education is something that will be beneficial to you in the long run.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though Elmhurst can be really cheesy about getting involved and becoming a better student through participating with the extra-curriculars on campus, they just mean well. I am very involved with a sorority, the student newspaper, and the National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association. I am more than ecstatic that I got involved, it really helped me feel comfortable and make new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    If there is one thing to brag about Elmhurst College, it's their faculty. Since my time here I have not had a problem with any of my professors. All the professor's are extremely helpful and are willing to set appointments with you if you are having a difficult time understanding the material. The typical ratio from professor to student is about 14:1. So if you are a more personal learner and are extremely nervous about attending to a huge lecture hall of about 300 students, Elmhurst College is where you need to be.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like to be involve and like small classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involve and do not be afraid to open up to anyone. The library is your best friend and learn to find your time and favorite stop to study.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but if you look in the right places they can help you alot. The people in the offices help alot and are willing to find a solution to pay the bill.

    Am enjoying being here

    Definitely for a person who is looking for a small community. You can get to know a lot of people if you are willing to open up. Everything is close by and its quiet and homey. A big commuter school thought.

    Am learning a lot

    My first year has been challenging, yet you learn what works for you and as you learn to study, it get easier. I found it interesting to find that my professors taught me about themes that I could use in other classes and everyday life too.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join a club.

    Food and Dining

    the food is delicious. always something different. but only like 3 places to eat. and one is a cafe... but the other 2 are amazingly yummy. the meal plan is expensive

    Dorm Life

    i dont live on campus.. but my friends like it. well the ones with air conditioning. lmao

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be hard but just study and you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    live on campus. get involved.

    In three sentences

    a welcoming environment. sometimes really empty and eerily quiet. very safe neighborhood.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    they greek life is very nice

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students who are very open minded individuals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they are a very religious school

    What to do for fun

    elmhurst has many clubs and fun things to do when you don't have class. oh and there always a party.!!!

    Food and Dining

    i food was amazing they have all you can get and a great meal plan for students.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life was pretty good you meet lots of people and you get to know how safe you are while your there.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to pay close attentions and have fun on the tour. also learn asmuch as you can about the school.

    In three sentences

    i visited this school back in 2011 and i found it to very academicly strong. the school offer a varity of sholoarships ans programes, and it was a good experience for me.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    take hate crimes seriously

    Great for these types of students

    great for any social sciences, music or nursing majors

    Food and Dining

    there are lots of options for food. there's healthy options as well as fast foods. however the food can be pricey.

    Dorm Life

    i commute

    Academic Rigor

    it's not easy school but it is not like other schools where people don't sleep. but also it depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get involved early on so you can get to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    i feel safe here and i am glad it is more diverse now.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    off campus activities, close to downtown elmhurst. tons of coffee and food shops.

    Tips for prospective students

    be involved. be responsible and get your studying done.

    In three sentences

    elmhurst college has a great atmosphere. elmhurst college has many opportunities to be involved. elmhurst college allows students to be them selves and get to know their teachers and peers.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Chartwells

    Academic Rigor

    Hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework

    In three sentences

    Great education

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. Campus security is extremely helpful, and the area is pretty safe in general.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large amount of clubs to join - two of the biggest being Habitat for Humanity and Campus CRU. There's student government as well as many other ways to get involved with campus administrative life.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small, quiet school. Good for commuter students and adult students as well. People looking for close proximity to Chicago and a nice little safe, interesting town.

    Bang for the buck

    Elmhurst College really is a bang for the buck!! They have GREAT scholarships and financial aid, and they have lots of opportunity for work study and jobs on campus. Also lots of great internship opportunities and resources.

    What to do for fun

    There are some things to do around downtown Elmhurst, but the real treat is the 30-40 minute train ride into downtown Chicago. Elmhurst College really is in a great location!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good, considering.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great during the week, with lots of RA programming and events. Everyone does leave on the weekends, however.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are interesting, and not overly difficult. Most professors are easy to understand and easy to work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Elmhurst offers great scholarships - so get your applications in early! It's also important to get involved in clubs and activities since many of the students are commuters.

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst is small, but has very nice faculty and great resources. The classes are interesting, and there are many fun events on campus. Elmhurst College hosts dozens of interesting lectures throughout the semester, and offers many ways for students to get involved.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent variety, excellent quality, I greatly enjoyed it.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed on campus for a semester, and enjoyed the experience. I left because of financial reasons.

    Academic Rigor

    I also attended College of Dupage, and I feel the academic rigor is a little more at Elmhurst. It is a lot of work, but in the end it is definetely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend it because of it's great reputation, and private atmosphere. However, it is expensive, so getting this scholarship will certainly help.

    In three sentences

    One of the best in the midwest! My experience has been great, everybody is dedicated to making the Elmhurst Experience better. Beautiful campus, great reputation.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Playing in the mall, or working out. Or the simple playing games with some friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study it works

    In three sentences

    It is great school for certain majors. Not as good food here, but overall a great environment. Plus Chicago is only a short train ride away.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Elmhurst is located in an excellent environment, where one is provided with a vast array of opportunities in which to seek out tremendous food and dining choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an experience that can only be expressed through an individual's own personal experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenges you'll face at Elmhurst is worth the time, if the individual is going to put forth the effort in order to be successful.

    In three sentences

    Based upon my initial observations of Elmhurst College, I have concluded that Elmhurst has a tremendously well maintained and friendly environment. Overal, Elmhurst has numerous alternatives on how to provide funding for tuition, or any other fees pertaining to Elmhurst admission costs. The staff at Elmhurst is very friendly and helpful toward all of my Elmhurst questions.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a time when I did not feel completely safe and secure

    Greek Life

    Not my personal choice but there are many different opportunities for those who are interested

    Clubs and Activities

    Every sport, dance teams, choirs, bands, etc

    Great for these types of students

    Elmhurst is great for students who like being an individual not just some number. Students who dont want to attempt to memorize all 100 people in your biology class

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dog walk and the first snows snow fight

    What to do for fun

    Take a stroll around town, watch a game, or hit the Roost with a few friends

    Food and Dining

    Elmhurst has some of the best food I have ever eaten at any college or university

    Dorm Life

    Its so much fun yet the perfect place to relax and study

    Academic Rigor

    The science program here is amazing. Its challenging but theres always someone there to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Elmhurst and compare its campus to any other school

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst College is a beautiful campus located in Elmhurst, IL. Everything about the school feels very much like home and the people are all generally friendly and open. Elmhurst is a smaller school but your so comfortable youll fall in love with it.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards always there to help. They are walking through building and on campus. In the past year there was nothing major that required security.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of greek life. All of my friends who are though love it and the friends they have made through it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities for everyone. Whether you are a computer geek, religious or just want to help the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone looking for a small intimate school. Everyone is friendly and always willing to lend a hand.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After the first real snow of the year, at midnight there is a huge snow ball fight in the mall.

    Bang for the buck

    Paying for housing really worked well because I always have a place to go to study and just relax during the day between classes. For tuition your money goes to so much you never even realize and different free activities through out the year make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can take a 30 minute train ride into downtown Chicago or head to downtown Elmhurst for restaurants and activities such as bowling. There are always events going on on campus to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The hours dont always work with peoples schedules but the food itself is your typical college food.

    Dorm Life

    The building are all good and have mini kitchens. Dorms are full of new people to meet and always have night activities going on hosted by the R.As. Definitely a good choice to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are more challenging and others and some it just depends on the professor. You will have homework and tests but you get enough warning to be able to complete everything on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for debates and speaking up for what you believe in. Elmhurst will challenge you to reach your full potential.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Currently 3 fraternities and 3 sororities. Greek life is expanding greatly. There are a large number of academic fraternities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus-wide snowball fight on the first snowfall of J-Term

    Bang for the buck

    Wish the school wasn't as expensive as it is, but its a great experience

    What to do for fun

    Hanging around in the roost. Fraternity and sorority functions are a blast.

    Food and Dining

    The roost is the place to be! Although the food is not amazing its a better alternative.

    Dorm Life

    2 out of 6 of the dorms have A/C. Rooms are by far bigger than most other college dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd give it a 4.5, some of the teachers are difficult but most are willing to take the time to work with you one on one

    Tips for prospective students

    Never buy books from the school. Cafeteria food is not that good.

    In three sentences

    Great school for majors in sciences and healthcare professions. Very personable.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on campus. The school is in the middle of a wonderful community. The only time I have been nervous was when I was walking back to campus from downtown Elmhurst at night. But as long as you have someone with you, you'll be fine. You can always call campus security for an escort if you get worried, though I've never used it.

    Greek Life

    We have a small Greek community, with only seven social organizations. But it's a great way to get involved, especially for commuting students. Though it can be a time commitment, as well as a financial stress, I recommend it to anyone willing to try it out. Definitely go through recruitment!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs on campus. Check out an activity fair, usually held at the start of each semester, and you'll see all your options cram their booths into the cafeteria, or out on the mall if it's nice out. There are also plenty of Honors Greek Organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for above-average students who like to get involved. There are so many opportunities on campus, from hosting a radio show on the school's station to joining the Quidditch team. It's also great if you want to make a difference. We have a pretty green campus, and there are always awareness weeks and fundraisers going on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've heard that, during finals week, if you run through the Gates of Knowledge with your books over your head you'll get A's on all your finals. There's a campus-wide snowball fight in the middle of the college mall the night of the first snowfall. Also, some buildings on campus are said to be haunted, especially the Mill Theatre.

    Bang for the buck

    Elmhurst is a bit expensive. But no one at the school pays full tuition. They give out a ton of scholarship money to students. However, for the amount of money you do pay, some people would expect the facilities to be a bit nicer or more up-to-date.

    What to do for fun

    Most residents are from the surrounding suburbs and go home for the weekends. And there isn't much to get the commuters to stick around after class. Some clubs are pretty active. There's always some sporting event. And Greek Life provides some excitement. Otherwise, it's a lot of just hanging with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells food isn't the best but you can usually find something to eat, even if it means eating the same kind of sandwich for every meal. The cafeteria usually has some good options, but there's always the Roost if you don't see anything good. The real problem is the hours.

    Dorm Life

    Only three of the dorms have air conditioning and only two have elevators. The community bathrooms can get kind of gross but usually aren't too bad. Each hall organizes activities for its residents. It may not always be the best, but as a former commuter I can tell you that it's better than living at home!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on your major and what classes you take. Most Gen. Eds usually aren't too hard. Major classes get more difficult and can be challenging. But as long as you're interested in the classes you take you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely make sure you visit for a tour. That's what got me hooked. Don't buy or sell your books at the campus bookstore, they'll rip you off. Live on campus. I commuted for a semester and it wasn't bad, but living on campus is so much better. It gives you many more chances to be involved. And I highly recommend going Greek!

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst College is a small, suburban school. It's great if you want to be near the city, but not in it. I love it here and couldn't imagine myself anywhere else.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have those little blue emergency phones everywhere and to get into any dorm on campus requires a pass. Feels very safe to me.

    Greek Life

    I think there's about 6 or 7 sororities and fraternities. They seem very welcoming and fun. They always have activities going on. I have friends in them, and they seem to love it. Great way to meet awesome people.

    Clubs and Activities

    At the beginning of each semester, there is a club fair. Hockey, animal activism, habitat for humanity, QUIDDITCH, the list goes on. Plus about 6 sororities and fraternities (I think. I'm not in one, so I don't know the exact count.)

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small campus, small class size, but lots of people and close by a big city and infinite possibilities, this is for you. All my teachers know my name and are willing to help me if I need it. Plus, it's a liberal arts school! Don't like your current major? That's fine, they have about 50 others to choose from, so don't stress too much.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The food in the roost is outstanding. There are always cool lectures going on at the chapel and in founders lounge, and the sororities and fraternities do know how to throw (on campus, completely sanctioned) parties.

    Bang for the buck

    In the end, my college choices were in IL and CA. Elmhurst is pricey if you don't have finaid (though most people do), but it beats the hell out of the no-scholarship situation I would have found myself in if I had chosen CA.

    What to do for fun

    Elmhurst (the town) is 2 blocks away. Movie theater, dining options, cvs, and of course the train station which goes right into the heart of Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    You hear bad things about food at other school. Elmhurst is not one of those other school. It's a running joke that food costs an arm and a leg, but it is well worth the variety and quality of the food. And the roost is always good for a burger or mozzarella sticks if the food upstairs isn't what you want one day.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, I HIGHLY recommend living in Niebuhr Hall. It's all freshman, so you can get the hang of school together. Other dorms are fine, but Niebs is a real community :)

    Academic Rigor

    I was terrified of the work load my older friends had at their colleges. If you're willing to spend a few hours a week writing one or two short papers, its a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a friend group, but don't be afraid to branch out. Meet people in your classes and participate in social activities (especially freshman orientation. It was a blast!)

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst is everything I wanted out of College. Small class sizes, but always a bunch of people around and fun social life. ;) About to start sophomore year, and I can't imagine going anywhere else.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is really safe. There were rarely events that happened on campus involving someones safety. Elmhurst is one of the safest and most quiet suburbs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide range of clubs to join. If there is something that doesn't exist, you can find a sponsor and start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    its good for students who are looking for a small close knit school. You get to connect and know a lot of people and interact with them more as opposed to a large university. Its also great for those who aren't looking for a party school. Elmhurst isn't the liveliest school. Its very quiet and small in the middle of Elmhurst.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is really worth it. It is expensive but its also one of the best schools and has become widely recognized for things. Its one of the top ranked in the Midwest.

    What to do for fun

    The sports games are most fun. In the roost, they have TVs and games to play. Off campus are movies and different restaurants to choose from. On the weekends, the shuttle buses take you to target and walmart and oak brook and Yorktown malls on Saturdays.

    Food and Dining

    The food is OK. It gets old and kind of repetitive but there are so many different restaurants in the downtown Elmhurst area so you can always walk and go.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms arent that bad. They are a nice size with decent amount of space. I didnt care for the community bathrooms but they were cleaned daily so it was fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Its challenging but because its a small campus most of your professors want to connect with you and help in any way they can. There is a lot of support on campus, so when it gets difficult there are tools to help you.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice campus. Its quiet and has alot to offer. For students looking for a small campus, it defly is a good fit.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    What I learned is that Elmhurst doesn't want commuters to just go to their classes then go straight home, which is why getting involved on campus not only is beneficial, but is very fun at the same time. Also, the college offers scholarships and job opportunities to students to help make college affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved on campus which leads to meeting new people; attend lectures from spokespersons and gain a different perspective; hang out in dorms, etc. Take advantage of the opportunities presented and you will enjoy this college!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria in the basement (also known as Roost) is fresh and quite enjoyable. Fruits are fresh, and there are so many desserts to try!

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter but I've met a few students who dorm and are happy to let me spend a night or two. Some dorms look nicer than others, and there are some students who will just introduce themselves to you.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college so take your work seriously and get your work completed. Follow the rubrics given, ask questions because everyone has them, and know that there are tutors in the learning center if you need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are several people to meet and places to go! You just have to take advantage and get the information! For instance, every day when college is in session, Elmhurst sends out daily emails about what activities are taking place on campus for that week such as individuals who are coming to campus, free dinners, etc. This is a magnificent way to meet new people and becoming involved which can be difficult when you're starting new and fresh.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful place to be. I enjoyed my freshman year even though I'm a commuter, and I'm proud to say that I love being involved in campus activities and being a student at this school.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focus, welcoming, caring, fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    putting your books on your head the night before your finals and running thru the campus gate making a magic 8 for all A's.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! if you want something that they do not have, all you have to do is tell them in advance and they will make it!

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst College makes everyone feel welcomed. It is a beautiful campus. And the best thing about Elmhurst is all the wonderful people.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs at the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Music, Teaching, and Business majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gate there that people will run around with books on their head that will allegedly get you good grades if you didn't study.

    What to do for fun

    The school is within walking distance of a train station so it is easy to get to the city. There are also plenty of malls around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst College has a beautiful campus with a welcoming environment. The price is a bit steep. They are supposed to be able to help their students get good careers upon graduating.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always feel secure in this college. There is campus security at the college at all times. They make you feel safe yet not intimidating.

    Clubs and Activities

    Elmhurst College offers a lot of different clubs and activies. They have something for everyone. You will definetly find something you'll enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food their is great. All the cafes are very modern. They have great food selections. There are also great dining selections outside of campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms, but have seen them. They seem very comfy for students. There also seems to be several quiet study places for the students that live there.

    Academic Rigor

    Elmhurst is a school that really focuses on academics and excellence. You have to work hard and exceed at all times. It is great for students who are really dedicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student who plan to attend to this college should maintain a high GPA. They should demonstrate motivation and dedication. They should try their best in everything they do.

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst College is an excellent school. The moment you walk in you feel welcomed by the staff and students. The location is very nice and calm making it the... Perfect College.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NO HOUSES. They consider houses with people with 4 different last names a brothel so there's no fun in that.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, musicians and people who like to walk around the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight snowball fight on the first big night of snowfall.

    What to do for fun

    Find the right people to have a good time. But the athletic teams here are always doing something.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is okay, but it's overpriced and undercooked half the time......

    Dorm Life

    Unless your room has A/C, expect sweaty nights and freezing mornings.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I've been here the class difficulty is based on how hard you want to work here.

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst is one of the great small institutions in the suburbs of Chicago. This school has really shown how much you can grow throughout your time here and EVERYONE helps you out no matter what the situation.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    its Elmhurst. but luckily there is the train soo close so if you are looking for a good time, find some friends who will go downtown

    Food and Dining

    You will get sick of the food and the prices sooo fast

    Dorm Life

    Terrible dorms. Bad bathrooms and no AC

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your course and make sure to check ratemyprofessor.com

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can picture yourself in such a small town, small school setting

    In three sentences

    Outstanding orientation week but quite a few professors are not organized, helpful, or clear. Wish the dorms were nicer and more updated too

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is awesome. They provide assistance for those late night walks around campus if you need it. Their response to any situation is very quick.

    Greek Life

    I am not in a fraternity but I hang around some of them. From my observation, these groups are very close, social and fun to be around. They have many events to get the campus involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about all of these NCAA teams are at the top of their game. From the golfers to the Runners. This may be a D3 school but the competition is nothing to overlook. By joining a club, sport or activity, you start to connect with many others who share your passion.

    Great for these types of students

    Elmhurst College is great for those students seeking to challenge themselves to go towards that next level.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the best spots on campus during the fall and spring times is the Mall and Patio area, the Roost and Founders Lounge. Sitting on the Patio you can watch others as they play sports on the mall, join them or just get a bite to eat and sit and talk. The roost is the place to go to watch different Sports games, play pool, ping pong, video games or board games. If your looking for a place to study or just chill around the fire place, the Founders Lounge in the Frick center is the spot your looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    Elmhurst College can be a bit pricey but what college or university isn't? Even though it can be expensive, financial aid and scholarships are given to meet or cut the cost thats best for you.

    What to do for fun

    The down town Elmhurst area is full of excitement. You can walk to York theater for the movies. Buffalo Wild wings, Chipotle, Subway and a host of other restaurant are all within a couple of feet away from each other. If your feeling adventurous, you can ride the Metra to down town Chicago or go to the zoo.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Chartwells is a bit pricey so spend wisely! As long as you always choose something different then there should be no problems.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Elmhurst College is amazing! Just be social and say hi to everyone who catches your eye. As long as you become good neighbors in your dorm everything will be alright. The weekends can be dull if you have not planned for it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor can become difficult and overwhelming if you begin to fall behind. These classes are made to challenge you and push you to start thinking like a college student. All it takes is constant studying and no subject should come out to be extremely hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone should take advantage of the many opportunities that are given for academic help starting from your peers, to the tutors and academic advisers.

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst College is the place where all can be one. This is where true growth begins to present itself with great opportunities from start to finish. Elmhurst college is the place that makes you step outside your comfort zone and be enlightened by thinking outside of the box.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't mess with the security lady. She will find you. She didn't just hire security guards, she actually hired real police officers. You are safe here.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities like Alpha Sigma Phi and Phi Mu. Every semester has rush week for new students who want in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list. A few are Greek life, the quidditch club (they have a bring your own broom policy when they play), video game club, the African American society, other clubs, and if your club isn't here, it's easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Music majors, pathology majors, and everyone else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this archway that people will walk figure eights around right before finals. They hold the book of the class they want to pass while walking it for good luck.

    What to do for fun

    There is a room we call the Roost where they have another small cafeteria with food like burgers, wings, pizza, and tons of other stuff. Then there is another section for ping pong (can rent the stuff), pool (stuff to rent), x box (you can rent games and controllers), karaoke. Besides from that, downtown Elmhurst is 5 minutes away from walking so the movies, BWW, and other things are easy access. It's a blast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour and see if this is the college for you. If you are big on music or pathology then this is a good school to attend. However, I'm a math major but I still find this place welcoming.

    In three sentences

    The campus here is absolutely beautiful. It is a small school, but that just makes it all the easier to connect with every student and faculty member. We aren't a party school because we take education seriously.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek life is great. i joined sigma kappa this year. we do a lot for the community and it is a great way to meet new people. everyone is very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    offer a lot of activities and clubs for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    the education is great and the reputation of the school is good. the classes are good.

    What to do for fun

    greek life is an option to meet people. activities and events are going on. (they hold concerts) many clubs.

    Food and Dining

    food is good but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are okay. most are clean but small.

    Academic Rigor

    each teacher wants you to successed. classes are challenging. tutoring is available for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    very chill school. a lot of major options. many classes. give you scholarships.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are all helpful. class sizes are small. campus is easy and great.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is all over the place. I feel completely comfortable walking around campus alone during the day and at night. The campus security office is open 24/7 so if there are any problems, they are just a phone call away. We have a very small crime rate, and I have never felt unsafe on campus. The campus security officers are also very friendly and fun to talk to.

    Greek Life

    While I'm not involved in the greek system, my roommate is in a sorority and she absolutely loves it. She says it was the best decision she ever made. Our greek life is centered around service and raising money for certain charities. It sounds like a lot of fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options for all kinds of people on this campus! No matter who you are, there will be something for you here. If you can't find a club that you want to join, you can even easily start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who are outgoing and willing to try new things will thrive on this campus. It is a very social campus and because we are so small, everyone knows everyone. This is also a great school for any student who likes dressing up for 8 am classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week, many students will run under the Elmhurst College arch with their textbooks on their heads while spinning in circles. It is said that if a student does that routine, they will get A's on their finals. I haven't tried it myself, but I know people who have done it!

    Bang for the buck

    The school has many free opportunities on campus. We have a free Wellness Center where you can set up an appointment and receive certain medications for free. They have many free activities throughout the year as well. The dorms are large and the food is great so I think we get a lot for our money here.

    What to do for fun

    This campus has many clubs and organizations that love getting new members. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming. There are also many campus sponsored events. In 2012, the school brough FUN. here for a concert with discounted student tickets. The school is also very close to Chicago so there are many fun options in the city too.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is wonderful! While most small schools don't have many options, Elmhurst has it all! There are two main dining locations, the Caf and the Roost. The caf has many options just in itself! There is always delicious food served and the staff is always friendly and willing to answer questions. The Roost serves more fast food type food. It also has many options and even a convenience store located in it. The only reason I didn't give the category 5 stars is because the food locations aren't always open and on some days it is hard to find food if you want something to eat not at a meal time.

    Dorm Life

    There is a great sense of community in the dorms. It is very easy to meet people and there are usually activities going on somewhere in the building. They have above average facilities for our use as well. Overall, I really enjoy living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    While the difficulty level does depend on the class you are taking, I would say overall that Elmhurst College does make you work for the A, but that top-notch grade is definitely in reach at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of my biggest tips is to visit when school is in session so you really get a feel of what it will be like when you are taking classes. Try the food, walk around by yourself, see if you can picture yourself there in the future. I also highly recommend looking at the dorms before committing. Remember, you have to live there for 9 months out of the year! I would also try to sit in on a class if possible. That's the important part right?

    In three sentences

    At Elmhurst College you will find great community, classes, and opportunities. This beautiful campus if full of positive energy and bright young adult minds. The food is great too!

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    expensive!

    Tips for prospective students

    visit lou malnatis!

    In three sentences

    great

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe when I am on and off campus. There are always security guards patrolling the campus and there are light posts that one can press in an emergency. And all students, faculty and staff have access to contact information if need be.

    Greek Life

    From what I hear, it is an amazing experience. Unfortunately, because we are a small, private school we do not get enough funding to support separate housing for the sororities and fraternities that we do have.

    Clubs and Activities

    The experiences that I have had, taught me how important it is to take part in and be a part of clubs and activities. They help you do what you love to do in your free time and make friends all at once.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that learn better in smaller settings, and/or that want to attend a private, liberal arts college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week, some students run underneath the gate with our college name on it, in a figure 8 with their books on their heads for supposed good luck.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is walking distance from downtown Elmhurst which has all sorts of activities such as bowling, a movie theater, restaurants, etc. And Elmhurst College provides discounted tickets for students to see plays, lectures, events, and concerts on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Some meals are better than I expected and anticipated, while others are not. I really appreciate how the cafeteria charges a-la-carte style, that is one of the many reasons why I chose this school; however, I do find the prices to be a bit steep.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms themselves are decent in size and quality when compared to other schools that I have seen. And the atmosphere is fun and exciting because there are always events going on.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, the courses that I have taken have given me an outside perspective on the topic at hand and have challenged me in one form or another. I hope that the courses that I take in the future will do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school, this is the place for you. Although we are affiliated with the United Church of Christ, we are open to students of all religions and/or beliefs. The average class size is typically 25 students, so you will be able to work one-on-one with your professor, only if you want to that is.

    In three sentences

    Elmhurst College has a very friendly and safe environment. There are many ways to get involved on and off campus. And the professors truly want you to succeed; they will do anything they can to help you become your best self.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If you think nothing sounds 'cool', dive in on something random. there's definitely something that'll catch your attention, if not, make if yourself!

    What to do for fun

    I'm super involved, so my activities are what I do for fun. Women's Chorus Librarian, Student Council for Extraordinary Children Secretary, among random things I do.

    Food and Dining

    Try new things and food selections won't get old (like most students tend to complain about.)

    Dorm Life

    It depends on what building you get. Niebuhr Hall, AVOID IT! other ones, they're not as bad. Cureton and West, in my opinion, are the best.

    Academic Rigor

    It truly depends on the student. It can be easy if you work hard, and Difficult if you suffer from procrastination. I had a hard time keeping time, so it was a bit difficult for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved from the get-go and keep priorities straight. There's absolutely no excuses for not doing well at Elmhurst (anywhere, at that) unless you're dead.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus. Whether you're a loner, a friend bomb, or something in between, there's always something to do! Also, the help provided at Elmhurst is incredibly helpful.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe. It's an open campus but all students and staff receive, swipe cards and a set of keys to get inside the dorms and other buildings.

    What to do for fun

    Visit downtown Elmhurst, walk around campus, work out, join a club, go to the library, or just sit in your dorm.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! Their is a sand-which, two different hot food stations, dessert station and a salad bar. (Lunch and dinner) if breakfast is your thing the have a fruit bar, cereal bar, waffle make, coffees & teas, oatmeal, other drinks, and a hot food station.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful and secure. Each student get a swipe card and a set of keys to get through out the buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes might be hard but since it is a small school most of the teacher try to make the class more entertaining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vist as many places on and around campus to get a feel for the school.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and filled with wild life. The dorms are nicely sized and the students are incredibly helpful and nice. The cafe has a wide range on delicious food.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Elmhurst College has it's own security force. Each dorm floor has an RA (Residential Advisor) and the neighborhood is incredibly safe. My sister lived on campus for 2 years and never had any problems with her personal safety or the safety of her vehicle.

    Greek Life

    I have not experienced this aspect of campus life as of today. I am told by others that there are many nationally affiliated fraternities and sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    No matter what your interests are there is something for you to get involved in on campus. Sports, Music, Theater, Green Activities, Greek Life, Religious organizations, ethnic organizations and the like.

    Great for these types of students

    Elmhurst College is a great school for those seeking a quiet, supportive school to attend. The smaller campus equates to smaller class sizes, while offering a wide variety of courses. Excellent for those interested in the arts, sports, or medicine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a Black Box Theater on campus and offers music and theatrical productions at that location. But there are smaller (and larger) venues located on campus. Check out the roost, for special happenings on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a highly regarded school with an excellent staff. It is located in a relatively safe environment.

    What to do for fun

    Elmhurst College offers a wide variety of free or low cost events on campus, including concerts, plays, sporting events and lectures. The town of Elmhurst IL has a movie theatre, a bowling alley, a fabulous library, a model railroader's club and a host of free events throughout the year. When you get tired of exploring the local business attractions, you can walk to the train and take it to downtown Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food service offers a nice range of edibles. However, because this is a small college the selection is limited, prices are a bit on the high side and hours of operation are not really convenient to campus life. There is a wide variety of choices in town which is just blocks away.

    Dorm Life

    I am about to embark on my first experience with dorm life at Elmhurst College. I am blessed to have a sibling who attended this school, so I have some additional insight into the who, what , when , where and how of this campus. Being a small school, has no bearing on the comfortable accommodations for students living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Elmhurst College offers a varied course selection from basic gen eds to challenging course studies. It is recognized for it's nursing school and has recently added a criminal justice curriculum. The school also offers an excellent music and theatre program as well as journalism.

    Tips for prospective students

    Off campus housing is available and if worked the right way, (private housing) can be VERY affordable. The college is located in a well established, low crime, family orientated neighborhood. Within walking distance to the trains (which are reliable and affordable to Chicago). If you plan to live on campus your freshman year, and have a bike, it would be advisable to bring it with you.

    In three sentences

    This is a small school, but a well recognized school. Each of the meetings I have had with staff has been informative and welcoming , thus far. Beautiful, setting, religiously and ethnically diverse, with a great course selection .

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Semi-hard working Go-getters Average student who wants a degree Social people who love hanging out with thier friends

    Bang for the buck

    The school isn't on the cheap side. But the finacial aid will help you. Remeber to do finacial aid early.

    Food and Dining

    The food is crazy good! The chiefs there are professionals and they can cook almost anything. Plus the menu changes weekly so their is something new to try every week.

    Dorm Life

    I hear that the dorms are lovely and quite the sight to behold.

    Academic Rigor

    It's quite scary to do college work if you are fresh out of high school. But here is a tip, if you change your study habits to the college level sooner it will give you ample time to studying for the material. Also form study groups, they are the best idea since canned cranberry sauce.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the homework. NO JOKE. Also keep track of your grades and know where the professors offices are they will help you in the long run. It's a tough place to learn sometimes but there are many facilities open everyday to help struggling students in almost every subject.

    In three sentences

    It's a very nice place here and the staff is very welcoming. It's best if you know where to go before you come for a visit. Plus the college gives a good vibe everyday.