Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Elmira College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want a college campus that feels like home, but has always has events going on, small class sizes, and a beautiful view.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the workload get you down. After a while, you'll come to realize that all your hard work will pay off once you get into graduate school or the workforce.

    Bang for the buck

    The money you pay for this school is well worth it. You get classes that you wouldn't get at any other college, professors and staff that actually know your name and are willing to work with you, and free tutoring.

    Am enjoying being here

    Between community service, encore, and instrumental ensemble, I stay pretty busy. Of course I still find time to hang out with my friends and have dinner together or watch a movie. There's always something to do here. Some of these things are: bowling, movie nights, bingo nights, karaoke nights, trivia nights, sporting events, clubs, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot through the required freshman courses. Freshman writing has taught me a lot about writing that I didn't learn in high school. Encore has helped me to broaden my view on music and performing arts. Community service has taught me that helping others can be very gratifying.

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are motivated (trust me, its a plus), willing to take constructive criticisms, and who want a small campus where everyone basically knows everyone and who want a place that is willing to become a part of your family and don't abandon their own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for a lot of writing and sleepless nights. Also I hope that you love TONS of purple.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing is that this college is EXPENSIVE. However they do offer AMAZING scholarships and pretty much everyone here is on some type of scholarship. The quality of the education definitely matches the amount you pay for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Elmira College is my dream college. I fell in love with it just by looking at it online. In my opinion that's how you can tell if a college is the perfect fit for you or not. The administrators, the students, the professors and in general everyone is kind, social and real. You really won't ever find another college that feels more at home than here.

    Am learning a lot

    There is never a moment in which you are not learning something at Elmira College. Whether you are learning something academic or something about yourself, you're mind is literally always working. The professors not only want you to learn about the subject but how to apply it to everyday life and how it benefits.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come In ready to write and write a lot. Have an open mind, Volunteer all you can, and read, read , read.

    Bang for the buck

    I do think I am getting the bang for my bucks because i love all the classes i am taking, the professors are really there for you if you have any problem and the English classes are really enjoyable. The only problem i do see it's that tuition is pretty expensive but the financial aid department is really good and they try everything so that you can attend the college

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being in this college. I have a found a group of friends with whom I share many things like favorite movies and books. There's also all the clubs available to the students, there's the harry potter club, the red cross club, circle k club, dance clubs, A Capella groups and many other clubs. The food is pretty good, and not repetitive like in high school.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learn so much in just one month of school, most teachers are really good and know what their teaching. I am actually becoming a better writer because all freshman have to take a year long writing class and its been really rewarding and it has made me a more stronger and convincing writer.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious student will thrive here. Academically, having a degree in nursing, business, education, accounting and criminal justice from Elmira College can open doors for you in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Elmira College has a high price tag. One of the best ways to trim down that cost is to have a high GPA. A student with 3.2 GPA and 1150 or higher on their SAT's can get a $20,000 a year scholarship. Usually the scholarship provided by the school in combination with Federal and state financial aid usually makes EC's price tag comparable to a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    Elmira College has a high price tag. I'm paying $47,000 a year in tuition and room and board, and that number is climbing for incoming students. Yet, with that said, that $47,000 a year includes tuition for all 3 trimesters, a dorm room that is larger than most other colleges/universities, money for meals, unlimited tutoring sessions and visits with campus nurses, doctors, therapists and physical therapists. Let us not forget the weight room, pool, an on-campus bowling alley, weekly entertainment, cable TV, internet access, access to on-campus sporting events, money that is used to fund on campus clubs and intramural sports and much more That's a lot of stuff right? Well, here's the best part. No one ever pays full price. Thanks to donations provided by Alumni and Parents, the school is able to provide deserving students academic based scholarships that range from $10,000 a year to a Full Ride. Elmira College is one of the best schools in the region, and has one of the best nursing programs in the nation. Elmira's teaching, business and criminal justice programs are also very strong.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I walked onto the Elmira College campus it was love at first sight. Granted, there are no huge buildings that are architectural marvels like there are on some campuses, but at Elmira you feel like you are at a place of higher learning. All of the building are made of red brick and are accented with white sandstone and green ivy. It is cohesive. Most large Universities have building from different decades just thrown together. Elmira is a cohesive and pleasant looking campus. Aside from how aesthetically pleasing the campus is, the food is great. There are four different places on campus to grab something to eat. When that is combined with the two grocery stores and several restaurants within walking distance from the school, there is always something new to eat. Although I would never call Elmira a Party School, there is always something going on, either provided by the school or a party thrown by students, everyday. The Student Activities Board(SAB) provides movies, comedians, musicians and other forms of entertainment on campus for no cost to the student. There are three clubs/bars near the campus that actually host Elmira College only nights to provide a safe place for students to have fun and a few drinks without having to worry about the town crashing the party.

    Am learning a lot

    Being here at Elmira College is teaching me a lot. Whether it is what I am learning in classes, from my friends, or from the clubs and community service I participate in, I am learning more and more about who I am and what I want to be. Elmira College is full of Professors and short on students, so there are plenty of opportunities for one-on-one tutoring with your professors. There are also tutoring services that are incorporated into your tuition that cover every class provided on campus. There are also international students hailing from over thirty different countries, so learning more about other cultures in a context outside of the classroom is almost unavoidable.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    elmira college is located between two prisons. elmira is a poorer urban area, and students are not advised to leave campus. the security guards are great, but only about 6 service the entire campus.

    Greek Life

    other than honor societies, there is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus, and they suit a range of needs. senate is the governmental body that allows interaction between clubs, as well as serving as a platform for students to voice their concerns to administrators.

    Great for these types of students

    elmira college is great for nursing majors, english majors, psychology majors, and education majors. many of the requirements are writing based, and there is little emphasis on science and math. students looking for close interactions with their professors and ample study abroad opportunities find elmira college a good place of study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during term i students camp out in front of the president's house and sing to receive mountain day, which is where the president cancels classes for the day and fun events are held. we also have a private, free bowling alley on campus where students can bowl with purple and gold shoes, balls, and pins. the mark twain study was relocated onto campus as a constant reminder of mark twain's roots and history in elmira.

    Bang for the buck

    elmira college is very expensive, the rates keep going up. they have us pay a whole bunch of fees for activities and events that not everyone participates in. however, and i am satisfied with the level of education that i am receiving, so i will continue to pay for my education here.

    What to do for fun

    the college tries to sponsor fun events over the weekends, like movies and comedians, and there is also the big event each year with a big-name performer. most weekends students drink and party in the dorms because the surrounding town is too dangerous or boring. if you have a car, horseheads and ithaca are great weekend or day trips.

    Food and Dining

    dining tries to have options, and there are four dining places that students can choose from. they really try at the beginning of the terms to have interesting food options, but by the end of the term they're serving the same food three nights in a row. they also close earlier than the library closes, and so trying to get food after that time is impossible.

    Dorm Life

    the freshman dorms are split up into social groups and stereotypes for the most part. towers is the loudest building on campus, especially on the lower floors, and dorms like towers tend to run high damage fees. meier, the brand new dorm, is a beautiful building that most upperclassmen try to get into.

    Academic Rigor

    freshman year was difficult, but it prepares students for coursework later on. professors have high standards for students here, and they aren't afraid to express that. even though the course-load is rather heavy, i feel like i'm getting so much out of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    students looking to come to elmira college should know that traditions are very important, and students are expected to participate in them. freshman year is difficult because of the programs that are required, but students learn to work with others to accomplish goals. elmira college is perfect for getting close attention to student issues, because with small class sizes the professors can pay attention to individual students.

    In three sentences

    elmira college is heavily based on tradition and community. freshman year is intense because of the traditions that students endure, such as the freshman writing program and core program, but they train students to think critically and write efficiently. mostly, students either love ec or leave it.

  • 09/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Elmira has a beautiful campus, and with a small student body, it's easier to be noticed and to get help if needed. Plus, their scholarships really help to pay for tuition.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has its own security staff that watches the activity of poeple both on and off campus. campus security are readily available and respond to calls from students who feel uncomfortable even if it is simply to escort the student at night.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a variety of different clubs and activities on campus. generally, clubs meet once a week and host activities for students to paticipate in on weekends. two to three weekend events are usually offered.l

    Great for these types of students

    elmira college is very big for majors in biology, chemistry, and teaching. it also offers political science, and theatre, and other majors and minors as well. students looking for a challenge and a more personal college experience with their professors would enjoy attending elmira college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    elmira college has the candle light ceremony for all incoming freshman and there are a few songs that the college students learn that are sung at events and ceremonies. each dorm has its own lounge area and the campus center and library can also be places to hang out and study with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    elmira is a more expensive college and scholarships or any kind of funds is helpful for a students attendence. the college keeps an individual very busy on and off of campus; although, the quality of campus life and certain requirements could use improvement, in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    many events are held every weekend in which the students can escape their studies and participate in activities. there is a fitness center and poll and many various clubs on campus as well. parties are occasionally held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is found in the campus center and there is quite the variety. in the campus center a main dinning hall, a cafe, a restaurant, and a smaller dinning area can be found.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are well-kept by the campus staff and are not in need of serious repairs; however, some small things may be damaged and are replacable.

    Academic Rigor

    1. freshman writing consists of a twenty page research paper, a ten page research paper, and over twenty four-five page papers. all papers correspond to a book read. 2. encore is a performing arts class in which all students must watch eight performances and then write an essay refering to those performances on a topic provided. 3. sixty total hours of community service are required of all freshman 4. core is a literature class and ranges in difficulty by professor 5. your academic major classes must also be taken while taking the freshman requirements. 6. twelve credits must be taken per semester to remain a full-time student 7. a low gpa may result in the loss of a scholarship from the college

    Tips for prospective students

    1. be aware of which credits are and are not transferable 2. make sure to ask any and all questions about cost, and budget money wisely 3. writing, core, community service, and encore are required for freshman 4. science lab and clark health center are $500 and $300, respectively 5. a $300 confirmation fee is paid each year to confirm attendance 6. course books are sold on campus and are a separate cost from tuition 7. the college will provide students with medical insurance 8. the campus is almost it's own separate community within the city 9. free black and white printing and internet use in the library

    In three sentences

    elmira college is a small institution and is a liberal arts college. students can easily navigate the campus and can pick up on the traditions at elmira very quickly. elmira college, ec, is a nice college for a student to attend if he or she can afford it.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great security and I almost always feel completely safe. Be smart and you will be fine.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Elmira College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join! I could never list them all, but everyone finds something they are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Elmira College is great for any student that likes traditions, community, a small campus and/or caring faculty.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Elmira College has a large amount of traditions that you will not find on any other campus. Summer Registration is the first tradition that students experience, and they have the opportunity to meet people and learn about what to expect when they move in during the fall. When Fall Orientation rolls around, a number of traditions occur including the Beanie Ceremony, the Candlelight Ceremony, and the Academic Banquet. Traditions continue throughout the academic year, and truly add to the sense of community on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Elmira, as do most of my friends. I am receiving a great education and I am gaining a lot of experience in my field. I believe it is definitely worth what I am paying. What is great is that most everyone receives a scholarship to Elmira so it is more affordable! Of course, most people still need financial assistance, but it is not impossible for most people to make a plan and attend Elmira without risking financial troubles.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of ways to have fun at Elmira. Of course, hanging out with friends in the dorms and around campus is a great way. But joining clubs is the best way to meet people, keep busy, and have fun. There is a large assortment of clubs for students of all backgrounds. The Student Activities Board also offers movies, bands, comedians, and game nights for you and your friends. There is always something going on at Elmira.

    Food and Dining

    Elmira College has three places in which students can enjoy a variety of foods. There is Mackenzie's, which is a pub-style restaurant that has sandwiches, salad, pizza, chicken tenders, pasta and more. The 1855 Room is a wonderful place to enjoy burgers, hot sandwiches, calzones, and the coffee bar has Starbuck's coffee. The main dining hall has more options than I could ever list, and everyone can find something that will make their mouth water. It is definitely possible to eat healthy on campus, but there are also opportunities to treat yourself to something not-so-healthy but delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms range from older buildings to practically brand new, but they all offer the classic dorm life situation. You will have a resident assistant on your floor to help you with whatever you need. The school is very accommodating regarding any problems with your room, and will have any broken items fixed promptly.

    Academic Rigor

    Elmira College will challenge you in all the right ways as long as you are a serious student. Take classes that you know will challenge you, and complete all assigned work and you will definitely learn more than enough for your future career goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Elmira College, you should definitely visit the campus. It is a beautiful place and you will love the beauty and warmth of it. Completing an interview will also be helpful in getting all of your questions answered while providing that personal touch to your application for admission. Have lunch with a Gold Key (tour guide) if you get the chance, because they will be able to offer a student's perspective and answer your questions as well!

    In three sentences

    Elmira College is a school for students looking for a small, private school with a welcoming spirit and a tight-knit community. The professors will know you by your first name, and you will soon realize that you are an important asset to the college as a whole. Elmira College offers strong academics as well as a wonderful place to gain the full college experience.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing/Science Majors, Business, and Speech & Hearing.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is very helpful. they're always there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of activities and club there's always something to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    great for all majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unusual tradition in elmira is that they never change their tradition as a freshman is enrolled in their first term they have to wear a purple and gold beanie hat for the first week. their also mountain day, is rewarded to the school as a day off classes, if we the student sing the school song loud enough to show our school spirits.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely, every dollar is worth in elmira. elmira college is a breath taking school, as soon as you step foot on campus you see beauty. also elmira is very dedicate to their school color purple and gold, there no other school who is dedicate to their color as this school.

    What to do for fun

    theres always something to do for fun like bowling, movie night, concerts, parties, ects. this campus is full of entertainment. i guarantee you will have fun in all the events in elmira.

    Food and Dining

    great food, something new everyday day.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is very fun, you meet the friends you going to spend your four years with. everyone is very friendly. one tip be outgoing.

    Academic Rigor

    study a lot, read read read. it might be stressful at first but is manageable to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepare to read and write a lot.

    In three sentences

    this school was my first choice since i was a junior in high school. for me to get accepted here is an great honor. even though the classes are sometime hard theres alway tutoring and office hours from your professor willing to help you all the way through the term.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are located on the all inclusive campus 24/7 to ensure the saftey of each student.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the cost of this college is quite hefty, their scholarships and financial aid make such an education obainable. When all is added up, Elmira is definantly worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has its own bowling ally, golf course, pool and gym. The library has movies and games to rent for nights in with friends and there are many parties, concerts, and shows provided on campus for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The amount of choices of food and places to eat is overwhelmingly delightful with fresh delicious meals wherever you go.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed overnight in a dorm with some of last year's freshmen and loved the experience. the rooms and accomidations wer clan and comfortable and all were welcoming and eventful.

    Academic Rigor

    From the responses of the students I have interviewed the courses are realistic and push the students just enough to reach the peak of their ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there are any questions you have, feel free to ask anything! They will make you feel comfortable and at ease as they help you.

    In three sentences

    This beautiful college was my first choice the moment I set foot on campus. The students, staff and faculty assisted me with any questions with smiles on their faces. I cannot wait to join the Elmira family!

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With RAs and an RLC on duty all not, along with great security officers and available people to call to escort you if you do not feel safe, the Elmira Campus makes sure people feel comfortable.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at Elmira College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities that everyone can find many things that they can enjoy. It is a great way to meet new people and make great friends that otherwise you would have never known about, despite the small size of the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to get a really good education and don't mind working, especially for science majors. Students looking into nursing get a very good program especially, and education majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Elmira is on a trimester schedule, 12 weeks for the first two and only 8 weeks in the third, so the third trimester is the most fun and relaxing. It also offers and travel abroad program every third trimester with so many places to go and for a great price. There are also traditions this school does such as May Day and Mountain Day where students get the day off and there are fun activities to go to such as racing cardboard boats in The Puddle, which is like a cute pond on campus. Also, there is a beautiful fountain on campus which people just hang out in and around on beautiful days.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit expensive, but it is about the normal price for a private school. Since it is a good school and private, so out-of-state people do not have to pay more, a wide diversity of people go to Elmira College. They also offer very good scholarships to help students get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus that you can never be bored. The Student Activities Board and Big Events club brings comedians, movies, bands, and more to the school, providing a great time every week and especially on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Vegan and gluten free options are not as abundant as the growing population needs them to be, but the school is becoming better at giving more options.

    Dorm Life

    RAs and RLCs make sure to make the dorm buildings close, clean, fun, and safe environments.

    Academic Rigor

    The studies here are very good. The are difficult and challenging but manageable if you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have major dietary needs, such as being vegan or gluten free, check out all of your options meal programs. Elmira's program gives you a lot of money to eat and many options on campus on where to eat. Unfortunately, vegan and gluten free options are not that big here, but they are getting better.

    In three sentences

    Elmira is academically and aesthetically pleasing. It offers great one-on-one with teachers and has wonderful academic, sports, arts, and more programs. Many changes are in the way right now, making the school to be even better very soon!

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards available 24/7. If you feel uncomfortable, you can call one of the guards to escort you across campus to make you feel safer. There are also call boxes outside of every dorm in case you need help and it is an emergency.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sports at levels from Intramural to Varsity, and a variety of clubs for everyone. If we don't have a club that you want, you can always create your own. It's easy and possible!

    Great for these types of students

    Elmira is great for people who prefer small colleges and more personal connections. People who like more crowded, populated areas will probably not enjoy the small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Elmira is obsessed with school spirit. You will see purple and gold everywhere on campus...even with the purple rock salt that covers the walkways during the winter. The bells that keep time play the Alma Mater at 6:55pm everyday because we were founded in 1855 and in military time, 6:55 is 18:55. Some people think this is tacky, but it shows how spirited and united the college is.

    Bang for the buck

    Some people come to Elmira expecting to love it, but do not get the atmosphere that they want so they choose to transfer the next year. However, it is hard for the credits from Elmira to transfer. However, Elmira is such a great fit for most of its students. With the great financial package that Elmira offers, it is beneficial to go here.

    What to do for fun

    There is a free bowling alley on campus and the SAB hosts events every weekend. Events range from comedians, to movies, to concerts. You will never be bored as there are always options to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and you have 4 choices in the Campus Center, but the repetitive menu gets boring at times. There is the main dining hall with a salad bar, hot food line, and deli line. You can also order from the grill. There is a restaurant-style room downstairs where student workers will wait on you. Next door there is a late-night venue with pizza, fries, and chicken tenders. Upstairs is a more expensive restaurant to eat at when you have extra money on your meal card. There is also a convenience store upstairs in the Campus Center where you can buy most drinks and snacks with your meal card.

    Dorm Life

    All students are required to live on campus. There are three freshman dorms: Alumni, Anderson, and Columbia. Alumni is co-ed with quiet hours one hour earlier than the other two. Anderson is considered to be the party dorm, and it is also co-ed. Columbia is all girls, and while it is next to the parties and not in it, it faces less damage charges.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on which major you pick, but you will feel challenged. We have a big Nursing program, and naturally, this program required a lot of work and studying. We also have a good Speech and Hearing major, and while the work load is average during the Freshman year, it gets heavier as the years go by.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing to do would be to try hard in school and do well on your SAT scores. Elmira gives out hefty scholarships based mainly on grades and SAT scores. No student here pays the full tuition.

    In three sentences

    As the student to faculty ratio is 16 to 1, you are able to feel more connected in the classroom. The people are all friendly and the school spirit is high. If you want the professors to know you by name and help you when you need it, this school is for you!

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    0 greek life which sucks

    Great for these types of students

    Very Low Achieving Student. Students who do not like to drink or smoke

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Induction is a colt too many traditions

    What to do for fun

    there is nothing to do for fun at Elmira. You have to make your own fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very careful if your going to select Elmira College.

    In three sentences

    Elmira is a great place to make friends. Elmira is a very very small school. Invest too much money in foolish things.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are visible on campus, friendly, and available on call.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of different types of clubs and ample opportunity to start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Students used to a small school or interested in a small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day-day off from school in the fall after singing for it several days in advance.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has great scholarships on tuition, but charges excessively for everything else.

    What to do for fun

    SAB events every weekend. If you take advantage of the free events planned by the Student Activities Board it can be fun, but otherwise there is not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    I am a picky eater, so I do not care for the food, but for cooking for so many students day in and day out, the food is not that bad. The hours of food places being open are bad though.

    Dorm Life

    Very good. The new dorm has nice facilities and all the dorms on campus are maintained well.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very challenging others are not. Ultimately it depends on your major and professors.

    In three sentences

    Good for education and nursing, but noticeably weak for science majors looking to move into a PhD program. The science major offered is not very rigorous and lacks the experience opportunities.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The city isn't very safe or pretty, but campus security is very good, and they are always available with student escorts at night.

    Greek Life

    None, which really helps make the school feel more friendly and less clique-y.

    Food and Dining

    There's no excuse for going hungry. There are four places to eat on campus, but if you really can't find the right food for you, they will help you to spend your meal money at the local grocery store instead.

    Dorm Life

    There's a dorm for everybody. Having to live on campus can have its monetary downsides, but it's a great way to stay involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely tough, but you learn so much every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit and talk to the students. Everyone is very helpful and willing to give you advice and information.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    frequent rounds by safety / security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Encourages participation in campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    any student !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Orientation V E R Y painful. Had to wear a purple and gold beanie hat , singing got old quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    Great scholarships !!

    What to do for fun

    Make friends. Able to go bowling, see movies on campus. A lot of opportunities for students, radio station, college newspaper. Sports. Music. A small campus where everyone knows everyone !

    Food and Dining

    4 dining areas available and an on campus grocery store. Food lacks variety.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms small !! A good variety of dorms offered. Am in new dorm last yr. and this yr. MUCH better :)

    Academic Rigor

    A variety of classes offered / variety of styles of teaching. Very liberal arts college. Requires community service, CORE, reviewing campus musicals, plays, theater, band performances.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of writing. Orientation very L O N G. Good medical department. Great travel abroad programs for many countries.

    In three sentences

    1. Away from home, but close if you need something. 2. Able to study abroad 3. Good scholarships.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe even on my late- night library runs for printing homework assignments and essays.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life! just Greek words/names for the Academic Honor Societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs form harry Potter/ Magic for Muggles to math club and the pre-law group.

    Great for these types of students

    The self-motivated student who wants a liberal arts education. You will get into just for major course work but there is a lot general electives as well. You will get the education that you want based on how you work for it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day!!! We sing to the President in the hopes of earning a day off from classes and lots of free food accompanied but fun activities. It is like Christmas morning when you find out it is mountain day and you go have fun rather than head to class.

    What to do for fun

    Elmira is a small town but Student Activities Board, always has fun stuff on campus. From weekend movie showing, maydays carnival and dance, to comedian weekends, if you want to go out for fun there is the opportunity.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't endless choices but there always something I want every meal.

    Dorm Life

    No air conditioning and when summer hits, you know it. However I love my dorm room desk and closet.

    Academic Rigor

    I am constantly thinking about the new lesson in my math courses or how to formulate the next argument for my essays. You need to be able to deduce form evidence, no answers are given. Then I have learned to enjoy research.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep ahead of the deadlines and take Full advantage of professor office hours. There is a lot of homework (true with most colleges I'm sure) SO it's important to put any assignment of because they build up. Also plan and steadily complete your community service hours. You don't want to the stress of doing them all int he last weeks.

    In three sentences

    If you want to talk in class and build interpersonal relationships with your classmates and professors, Elmira facilitates that. I f you like to write and research, there is also plenty of that. Elmira college is for the all around curious.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always a phone call away. They are always on patrol and it's a small campus so they can get to you quickly. There is always an R.A on duty in every dorm at night so if there is an emergency the R.A may be able to get to you before security.

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities or fraternities but I like that, it makes for a less separated community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of different clubs for people with all kinds of interests!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a party hard kind of student it might not be a good idea to go here, because there are always a lot of awesome parties so it may be hard to avoid them when it's time to crack down on schoolwork.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Mark Twain study which is a big tourist attraction, where he wrote many of his stories. We have Octagon fair every year which is super fun and it's open to the community.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive to go to school here, but it's a really great school. A lot of nice people, the architecture is beautiful, and the history and traditions are one of a kind.

    What to do for fun

    Stay on campus!!! Don't go off campus unless you have a car or are going to the mall or something. Campus is located like right in the ghetto. So midnight walks are a bad idea.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but a lot of it is unhealthy and upsets peoples stomachs.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Columbia, an all girls dorm, but i have friends in other dorms. The RA's are wonderful, i love mine. The environment in my dorm is awesome, we are all friendly and try to be friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I have one of the most difficult majors (nursing), and it's been pretty okay so far. As long as you study and go to class it shouldn't be difficult to keep at least a C average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scholarships and grants are important if your parents don't have money put away. So apply for as many as possible, don't waste time!

    In three sentences

    The environment is great. People are very friendly and welcoming. The teachers are well educated and established in their fields.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Given its terrible location, the overall safety within the campus is great!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are seriously SOOO many clubs and activities! There is definitely something for everybody, and if there is not for some reason anything you are interested in, at Elmira you are given the opportunity to actually start your own student club!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Elmira is FULL of unique little traditions on campus, from mountain day festivities, to may days, to octagon fair, parents weekend and so much more! It's these traditions that really give Elmira the comfort appeal. As far as locations, my favorite location that is unique to Elmira college would probably be the fountain =)

    Bang for the buck

    Elmira College is absolutely on of the most expensive undergraduate colleges I have seen. However, your tuition includes so much that it really is worth it in the end. Once your cost for the year is paid, there is pretty much no other charges that you should have to worry about.. including free entertainment, free laundry, and free printing. (very important)

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something going on on campus. Whether it is a comedian, a concert, pub trivia, or even just a movie, there is something usually sponsored by SAB to provide students with free entertainment and a nice break from studying and coursework.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining services are actually among the better of the options I have seen at other schools. There is always plenty of options to choose from and the dining hall staff is very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms are kept in excellent condition, obviously the newer the dorm the more accommodating it is. The rooms are very generous in size in terms of typical dorm rooms. Overall, very good!

    Academic Rigor

    I think this varies depending on the courses you take. As a freshman, the writing program was pretty intense, but I've heard that they are getting a little more lenient with that program. A lot of the courses are quite challenging, but the great thing about Elmira is the availability of tutors here, for any subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work out any difficulties you have with time management as soon as possible. Don't be afraid to seek out help or get your questions answered, whether it is through your adviser, your friends, or even just an older student. Remember that you are no longer in high school anymore and your responsibilities just doubled, but also remember to have fun and aim to obtain the ideal 'college experience'.

    In three sentences

    Elmira is an overall great college to attend if you are looking for a small and comforting campus. The majority of the people (students, faculty, & administration) are very friendly and willing to help with anything you may need. While the course work is often fairly difficult and really tests your knowledge as a college student, you can always rely on something being held during the weekend to help alleviate that stress and to just have fun.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Elmira college maybe very small but there are lots of things to do for fun. Elmira always has activities going on during the week and on the weekends. Having comedians come and perform for us is one of my favorite activities to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing is better than home cooking however, Elmira does a fine job in supporting everyone's needs. For example, my roommate is vegetarian and she is able to find lots of different variates for her to choose from. There is also four different places on campus to get food from, which gives the students a wide range to choose from as well.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has a different life style. For example, our freshman dorm Alumni is very quiet and people who study for extended hours usually live there. Other dorms such as Towers and Meier are more of party dorms. However, I find that people usually have great experiences in their dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Elmira Academics can be very challenging. We do have a great nursing school program that is very difficult but helps students develop skills that they would need in the field. Overall Elmira pushes students academically, which is useful for when students go to graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you maybe interested in Elmira I would recommend that you come for an overnight visit. This way you will be able to experience how this school functions by going to one of our classes, dorm life and campus life. The best way to make a college decision is to go out and experience it!

    In three sentences

    Elmira College is a wonderful small private college that is a home away f from home. This maybe a small school but everyone you meet becomes a part of your family. The experiences you will have will stay with you for a life time.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its private

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am interested in joining the ice hockey team.

    What to do for fun

    The bowling and weekend life sounds great.

    Food and Dining

    Sounds great.

    Dorm Life

    It sounds like a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Sounds like its tough, but I'm up for the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    In three sentences

    Elmira sounds like a great college. I am very interested in playing ice hockey at Elmira. I can't wait to begin.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great campus security, with officers around 24/7 if you need anything from being locked out of a dorm to being walked across campus late at night to any serious needs. They are prepared.

    Greek Life

    We have none! Because our school is so small, there is no need for Greek Life at Elmira College.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many clubs and activities to participate in. From Student Activities Board to the Cigar Aficionados Club to the Gold Key Society (Student Tours) to Circle K (Community Service) to the Red Cross Club, Republican/Democrat Clubs to the Fire and EMS Club, there is a lot to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    - Do-gooders - Community Service is highly valued - Individuals looking to participate in student government, clubs, organizations - Those who grew up in a small town

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school is filled with unusual traditions. When freshmen come in for Fall Orientation, they are presented with beanies, which are worn throughout the duration of orientation, and must sing traditional Elmira College songs, some of which have been sung since the inception of the school. We also have Mountain Day, in which students gather around the Presidents home and sing for days until he gives us a day off from school for a day of fun-filled activities such as a pancake breakfast, hike, and lawn games.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a part of such a small school means that all the help you need is right at your fingertips. It's easy to get a job, go to class, and participate on a sports team. With help from numerous counselors, you are able to steer your life in the right direction.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Board is constantly serving up fun things for students to do during the week as well as the weekends. Trivia is typically offered every two weeks or so, there are school trips (Philadelphia, New York City, Washington D.C), movies offered every weekend (fresh out of the box office and before they hit DVD), dances, and concerts in addition to plenty of other miscellaneous activities throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining options have rapidly progressed from my freshman year to my senior year. We have a typical dining hall complete with a salad bar, a subway-style sandwich bar, a taco bar at night and pasta bar at dinner, a smaller late-night type food area, a small grocery store, and a higher-end restaurant within the dining hall. They offer a good variety of foods throughout the week and are always looking for student input.

    Dorm Life

    Because Elmira College is so small, you must live on campus all four years. Although some students may complain because they want their own apartment, I found that living on campus was very helpful because certain amenities such as food and the library are VERY close to where you will be. Dorm life also cultivates friendships within each dorm, and it's so easy to hang out with friends when they all live in the same area as you do.

    Academic Rigor

    I guess it depends on what major you're in. Some majors seem to be much harder than others, such as nursing. However, each major certainly requires a lot of work. In addition to major and minor requirements, you must do community service and an internship while attending school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Again, this is a REALLY TINY school, so you have to make sure that it something you want. This means small classrooms, smaller dorms, etc.I loved my time at EC because I enjoyed knowing everyone in my class in addition to knowing my professors on a personal level.It really is a great environment to be in in order to grow and to learn.

    In three sentences

    Going to Elmira College was a really great decision. Obviously, there are ups and downs to going to such a tiny private school, but I kept a positive outlook throughout my four years here, This school has a great support system and the administration really strives to keep each student active within the college community.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on top of things. The don't bother student body at all unless you are unsafe or pose a danger.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from, and you can start your own if you want to with approval.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with social skills

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bells are going off NON STOP! (every 15 minutes, from 8am-10pm)

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends there are a lot of parties. But during the week you are busy with either classes, homework or campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, its not terrible but its also not fantastic. Dining services is good for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are clean and the resident life is cool too.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are alright. Student-professor communication is pretty great, their doors are always open for students who need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Do not get sucked in too much. -Don't go to bed until after 10pm if you live in Anderson or Columbia or any upperclassmen dorm.

    In three sentences

    Elmira is a great school.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always there, you can call them if you feel unsafe walking across campus. The campus is also very small so it only takes about 7 minutes to get from one side to the other

    Greek Life

    None sadly

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus serving a variety of interest including, Harry Potter club, Nursing Club, Red Cross Club, and if there isn't a club that you are interested in you can create your own and get it funded by the student activities board.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall within a 10 minute drive as well as many shopping centers (Target, Walmart). It is about a 45 minute drive to Ithaca where there is another college, shopping, hiking. It's close to the Finger Lakes wine trails, Walkins Glen where there is trails for hiking, and a raceway.

    Food and Dining

    It is not that bad, there are different types of dining areas to eat that provide a variety of foods. They allow for you to purchase food from a close grocery store if you have a specific eating choice (vegetarian or gluten free).

    Dorm Life

    There are a variety of living arrangements on campus which allows for people to choose where they want to live that is more suited for them.

    Academic Rigor

    Mainly depends on your major, the freshmen have a tough start with the writing and core programs but it prepares you to be able to write papers in no time at all. In all seriousness don't go to college just to drink and have fun because your grades will be jeopardized because of it and it will take a lot of work to get them back up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are aware of the price of this institution and how much you may be taking out in loans, because it will later bite you in the butt if you don't think about it ahead of time. Also the scholarships are great but keep in mind the certain GPA you have to maintain in order to keep that scholarship. Overall its a beautiful campus with great professors and people on it.

    In three sentences

    Made great friends while at this college. The professors in my major, as well as many others, are really helpful and willing to work with you if you show the will power. The main downfall is the price and sometimes the run-around you get while trying to get information about different things.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is good, but there is alot of townies who walk around campus at night and is a little sketchy if youre alone.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs on campus and the school makes it easy to get involved. It is also easy to start a new club as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is for people who want a very small environment. The small class sizes and small community really make it pretty.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Elmira has a lot of traditions, including the Candle Light Ceremony, Finals Breakfast for Dinner, May Days, and Moutain Day.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price that Elmira charges, it is a bit ridiculous for the output. They don't spend their money to fix internet services or anything like that, but instead to make the grounds look more beautiful. On top of that for the amount you pay the college makes you take part in Encore and volunteer work which is ridiculous when you pay 50 grand.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing really to do in the town of Elmira, the majority of it is just a ghetto. Although there is a mall not too far away it isn't very big and all there is is a movie theater there.

    Food and Dining

    When I first started at Elmira, dinning services seemed like a dream, but as I have stayed here it has gotten worse. Over breaks the Orkin man constantly is making a visit. Mice and cockroaches have been here and Elmira College is known for having the worst infestation in Chemung County. The school also has raised the prices of food dramatically, meaning that people are out of money weeks before the end of the semester, finding their own way to get food. But on the brightside Elmira does allow you to use your meal card at Buffalo Wild Wings and a local resturant.

    Dorm Life

    Dormitories here are okay. The dorms are old and keep the history of the place, but however you are forced to stay in them every year. There are options to have single rooms, but you probably won't have that option until you are a junior or a senior. The dorms wifi is absolutely terrible, it is impossible to stream anything and sometimes can't load homework.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty is great, they really strive to help you with all of your classes. Labs are small and teachers really help you if you are struggling. The small class sizes also make it good for you to pay attention and be apart of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of this school for sure, the campus is beautiful. Make sure you are going to this school with a good scholarship or you will be paying a ton of money to attend. Also it is important that you understand that this campus is so small and you are stuck on campus(meaning you have to live on it all four years), and that everyone knows you and you know everyone.

    In three sentences

    Elmira is a good school, small, and the people here are very friendly. Elmira gives you a close personaly relationship with faculty and students, but the amount Elmira does is not worth the money you have to pay to attend.

  • 10/01/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Independent, in need of peace and quiet

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have Mark Twain's little study nook on their campus, for any English nerds out there!

    What to do for fun

    The college doesn't really get involved with the surrounding area, which is a shame. There are a lot of good clubs and organizations though.

    Food and Dining

    Some good vegetarian options

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty much what you'd expect; small.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely a solid school, as pretty much all schools in NY state are, but not one of the top ones academically.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, but has some very nice newly renovated buildings. The surrounding area is urban and depressing. The people there are nice, though.