Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Elms College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Elms is great just about any type of person form any background, because it has so much to offer. Just because it may be a small Division III school, we have a lot of pride and heart. If you are a student looking for a more one-on-one learning environment with teachers, staff, faculty and friends that really care, then Elms College is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The goal of Elms College is to Educate Reflective, Principled and Creative Learners. So for any student who is considering The Elms, I would highly encourage them to look online and look through the Elms College website. There you will find so much more information on the Elms, the Sisters of Saint Joseph, admission deadlines and who to contact if yo have any questions. I would also highly encourage you to visit the campus during one of their open house days. On many occasions you will be on campus with a lot of the students you may see next year! There is so much to do around campus and the town of Chicopee, that the opportunities are endless.

    Bang for the buck

    Granted the college is a private institution, Elms financial aid services has made it possible for my mother and I to afford to go there. (Not to mention the hard work that needs to be put in to get the scholarships that are offered.) Nonetheless, as long as you are a hard-worker, can keep up a respectable GPA, and display a need for financial aid, there should be very little that The Elms can't do to accommodate you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Every school environment has its ups and downs, but The Elms is genuinely a friendly place to learn, live and grow as an individual. I have learned so much in just one semester! I knew that being away from home would be difficult, but the friends I've made, clubs I've joined and activities that I have been apart of has made the transition that much easier for me. Not to mention, the smaller college environment, is just what I needed to adjust to life as a college student.

    Am learning a lot

    The staff and the faculty at the Elms are more than willing to help students with anything they may be having trouble understanding or just if they need someone to talk to. On many occasions I have gone for help from my professors and they have been very gracious in sitting down with me and helping me with any little problem that I may have. The small class sizes and the one-on-one attention that students have with their professors is something that definitely drew me to Elms.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Because i get tolearn more about things that i havent learned about

    Am learning a lot

    About OCmputer Tehcnology which is my major in High school.

  • 01/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that likes to have small classes and wants a small college, this is it. It's perfect size where you will not get lost and the class sizes are never really big which lets you be more open to asking questions and admitting when you're a little confused!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out the campus before you decide to come. Meet with plenty of professors, administration and current students to get the feel of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but get some scholarships and you'll be okay. Elms has such a good reputation for getting an amazing education so any job application that says Elms College on it will definitely get looked at!

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a diverse campus which I love. You never get bored because there is always something going on. The fact that it is a small college is great because you get a chance to know so many people, you're not spread out over a huge campus. The buildings are also closer together than on a university campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Elms college are really helpful. They understand that you pay to be there and are there for a great education. A lot of them are willing to help you outside of the classroom and have many different techniques to help many different students.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the good thing about elms college is that they always bring activities to campus. activities that develop some skills and other that entertain you as well. elms college is a very create full college they don't let their students get bored they have always something to make for their students.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dinning in elms is quite good. it have all the necessary food and variety of for every single student taste. also not in every college make good food and a very wide menu for you to decide.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life in elms college is very relaxing and comfortable. you have everything near of you're dorms so none student have an excuse to get late to class. they have very wide dorms with quite space for every students luggage.

    Academic Rigor

    elms academic rigor is very strict. they don't like students that come to college to waste their time and with the idea of partying all the time without attending to classes. in elms all teachers and personal in general want their students to achieve their goals becoming professionals person and dependent too.

    Tips for prospective students

    futures students have to consider that studying in elms college require a lot of effort and money. the education that elms college offer you is a high one that build a bridge for their students to be able to study in other prestigious college or university.

    In three sentences

    elms college is a very good college with many nice people that encourage and motivate their students to be professionals in the future. not every college take from their time to dedicated to the needs of their students and how they are doing in class, but elms college do. i would encourage everyone to take a chance and try this unforgettable experience of being in a college that they treat you well and they dedicate time on their students.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Elms is located in a rather safe area of Chicopee. In addition to location, Elms has their office of security located in the center of campus. Here you can find a security officer 24/7 whenever you need help or assistance. Security officers circle the campus all night long watching for strangers or intruders. Since Elms is a rather small campus, the reassurance of safety is rather high. Additionally, to enter any of the dorms, you must first have a key and second your college ID card which has a chip in it that scans you in. Additionally, during night hours, there are security officers at each dorm entrance making sure all students entering are students or accepted guests. Furthermore, in each of the parking lots there are numerous call boxes in case of emergency and extra lighting around campus. Overall, at Elms, I do indeed feel very safe and rarely ever question my security.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is not applicable to Elms College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Elms has many clubs and activites for their students and has been open to any new ideas for clubs as well. Some of their already existing clubs I personally am familiar with include ProLife club, NCAA division III sports, fitness clubs, club sports, food for thought meetings, and culture@lunch meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    Elms College is great for all types of students! Being the home of students full of a vast diversity of ethnicities, talents, and hobbies, Elms has found ways to incorporate them all while making them feel welcomed and supporting each of their ideas and desires.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A couple unique features Elms has to offer is their Irish Cultural Center, Convocation traditions at the beginning of the year, a student body created night called Elm's night, and one hundred days. Each of these traditions brought me much excitement as a freshman and was all part of the charm that made me fall in love with Elms.

    Bang for the buck

    As said earlier, I would highly recommend early action and applying for FAFSA as soon as possible. Although private schools can initially be rather pricey, financial aid upon request is easy to get and in the end, costs thousands less than a state school. Also the sooner you apply, the more you are likely to get since financial aid is awarded on a first come first serve basis.

    What to do for fun

    Any student can tell that Elms has put much thought into activities to offer their students during down time. All year round they provide the students with a game room located in the same building as the cafe which holds pool, foosball, and ping pong tables, and game consoles including Nintendo Wii, PlayStation 2 and PlayStation 3. The environment is friendly and very entertaining. During fall, spring, and finals weeks, Elms also offers and assortment of other activities such as an electronic bull, bounce houses, pumpkin painting contests, cake baking contests, caricatures, air brush painting, and learning Chinese calligraphy from visiting students from China. Furthermore, Elms also offers discounted trips. Some of the past have included seeing the Blue Man Group, going to New York City, Boston, and to ski slopes, amusement parks and whale watches. Additionally, some students have gone on service trips to West Virginia, New Orleans, Jamaica, or Honduras. Also located on campus is a newly renovated fitness center and the option to participate in a large variety of NCAA division III sports.

    Food and Dining

    Elms has made their food and dining plan affordable and easy. They have set up a new program which includes all you can eat meals. Upon entering the cafeteria, the student is required to scan an ID card given to them at the beginning of the year. This grants you unlimited access to the cafe for the rest of that meal period, be it breakfast, lunch, or dinner. You can purchase a bundle of scan points or there is now also an unlimited option. These points also come with guest passes and coffee cafe dollars. As far as taste and selectivity of the food I am extremely pleased and wouldn't change a thing. ElmÃ?Â?s cafeteria features a grill, salad, sandwich, soup, and home style dining section every day. Additionally, they have meals featuring different ethnicites such as a Japanese sushi day and Indian cuisine day. They also include free events such as midnight pancakes during finals week and ice cream socials.

    Dorm Life

    There are three different dorm options at Elms. One is mainly dedicated to freshman, is fairly new, and characterises a stereotypical dorms. This dormitory is called Rose Williams. A second option is O'Leary. This is where most upperclassmen reside. This dorm is very old and in my opinion more apartment like. They have recently renovated this building by repainting each of the rooms, replacing the wood floors, and renovating the bathrooms with new sinks, toilets, and heated floors. The last option is a substance free dorm called Devine. This is the newest building built of the three and a great place for students who need a quiet and peaceful environment for studying where he or she can meet other friendly and responsible students.

    Academic Rigor

    At Elms, I have found being in the nursing program is both highly competitive and rewarding. Clinical experiences are diverse and located at admirable sites such as Mercy and Baystate Medical Centers. Being a liberal arts private school, Elms students are given an advantage when looking for a job after graduation. Furthermore, Elms expects dedication and drive from their students. Although it isn't easy training to become a nurse and continuing to fulfill the reputation Elms has created for their students, the reward of hard work and dedication is most beneficial.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend interested students to apply early and file for FAFSA as soon as possible. By doing so, I have found that the financial aid benefits most definitely pay off with early action. If you are looking to pursue a nursing or education major, Elms has excellent and highly admired programs.

    In three sentences

    Elms College is best described as a friendly, tight knit family. Being a smaller college, students quickly become familiar and comfortable with their professors and fellow students. With a diverse population of students, a beautiful campus, and numerous activities or clubs available, it is easy to see why I find Our Lady of the Elms College a blessing and privilege.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Nursing students -Students who like small classroom environments -Students who don't want to be a number, but to be known by name by all their professors

    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE FRIENDS. There are less than 1,000 students on campus and sometimes it can get a little boring. Don't be afraid to put yourself out there, it'll be worth it in the end. Also, TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OFFICE HOURS AND THE ARC. Your professors and the tutors are there to help you when you're struggling. If you want someone to look over a paper for your English class, bring it to the ARC and they can read over it and help you edit it, and some professors even give you extra points for doing it.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Elms is worth the almost $40,000, especially if you are a nursing student. The campus is nice, O'Leary Hall (which is a dorm) was renovated recently and is beautiful. You learn a lot and there are a lot of good professors. Nursing is the most prominent major and what the school is known for, and they have an excellent program for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Elms College is in Chicopee. The part of Chicopee it's in is decent, but if you stray too far away you get into a not so good area. The campus is pretty dead on weekends (a lot of people go home), but if you have a few friends you can usually find at least something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a freshman at Elms College, and I've learned a lot during this first semester. The professors seem to really know the material and most of them teach it well. I've learned more and retained more information at this college than at my high school. If you need help understanding something, the professors are always there to help you learn the material. You can also go to the Academic Resource Center (ARC) and there are tutors there to help if you're struggling, as well.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its a really small campus so the safety is pretty good.

    Greek Life

    sorry no frats here.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a ton of different sports teams and there's always some sort of thing going on in the cafe.

    Great for these types of students

    people who are really focused on school work and dont mind there not being a lot to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at the beginning of every school year we have a commencement and elms night. its nice because we have a mass and the whole school comes together, then later the students meet each other.

    Bang for the buck

    again depending on your major.

    What to do for fun

    as a nursing major i don't have a lot of free time, but when i do i try to get out of elms. i go to surrounding towns like northampton or amherst

    Food and Dining

    we just recently got a new cafe, but we have alot of the same things all the time. be prepared to eat a lot of chicken and pasta.

    Dorm Life

    its pretty boring living at elms. there is not much to do on campus or off. and there are not many people who dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on the major you have. the main majors like nursing, csd and education are a lot more rigorous than the others.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would definitely visit the school for applying. make sure you the major you pick is worth the tuition.

    In three sentences

    i believe it has a good nursing program, but i don't believe its worth the tuition. the school needs a lot of work. and classroom and dorms are not what we are paying for.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety always comes first. The security department is available and visible to whom ever needs them. I have never felt unsafe on campus or off.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an older student with a full time job and a family to care for, I don't walk onto campus and feel like an older woman. I feel accepted and treated like one of the students.

    What to do for fun

    Being right near the highway, you are close to all local attractions. There is always something to do right on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    The variety in foods on a daily basis is vast. You don't feel like you have 2 choices. The quality and taste brings you back for more.

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing program at Elms College is challenging as well as rewarding. When you start your clinical rotations you feel prepared to work in any care setting with having the feelings of having experienced similar situations in their simulation lab.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus and breathe the historical knowledge and success just walking through the hallways.

    In three sentences

    I have found Elms College to have an excellent Nursing Program with well qualified Nursing Professors. The Professors expand your knowledge base while allowing your thoughts and ideas flourish.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, there is always a security officer passing by.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few clubs here like the international club and bloom, the writing magazine which I was a part of and liked.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is expensive. During my freshman year I had to buy a $200 book and when I tried to return it at the end of the semester they said they wont be using that book anymore so I recently sold it on amazon for 7 bucks :/ food isn't terribly expensive but tuition is about 30k a yr.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, not much. There's a club called max cap not too far from here and that's what most kids do. I'd usually chill in the library as i'm of the nerdier variety and just hang out there. If you have a car Northampton is not too far away and Chicopee borders Springfield so you can go to the museums there and restaurants there.

    Food and Dining

    I ate most from the cafe and the hot cocoa is delicious!! It can get a tad expensive though. The inside cafe has quite a lot of food variety and I had a good experience everytime I ate there. On fridays they have a $5 all you can eat for during lunch time so it's beneficial to us poorer students.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter so I don't know much about dorm life but there are 2 main dorms. It's not a party school but you do have the occasional beer pong parties and what not to spice of catholic college life ;)

    Academic Rigor

    I took some english 200 course and they were kind of a joke, it was not writing intensive per-say but you did read a lot. Other than that it's as rigorous as highschool for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well in highschool so you that you're able to get grants, mine in total were for about 8k from the college. Be kind to your professors, its likely that you might have them again!

    In three sentences

    It is a small-sized school and you really get to know your professors (who are usually very friendly). However, because of it's small campus body there are not all too many courses offered there, like I took french there and there weren't any classes past novice. As it's a private school it also pretty expensive so UMASS would have been way easier on my pocket.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always campus activities to get involved in such as clubs, sports, and academic groups to be a part of. And if you want to start your own group, it is possible.

    Food and Dining

    With the different variety of food, anyone can be happy eating here. It has all types of things; letting everyone know that there is something for everybody.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is very nice and the dorms are well kept. Everyone interacts with each other with kindness and there is always something fun to look forward to.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good with amazing professors who take the time to actually get to know you as well as help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for an amazing time. I was able to make some new friends very quick and meet some great professors I now can call friends. It's an amazing atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Elms College is full of loving people as well as a hard working environment. With the smaller vibe of the campus, you are able to interact with your fellow peers as well as professors. Elms College provided me with a great experience and I definitely recommend this college.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful school. The professors are very nice and helpful

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is not cheap but I think it is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    I do archery, ballroom dance and spend time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good but could have more variety.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I am mother of two young children and I commute daily.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the accelerated Nursing program and have been challenged to think critically and budget my time appropriately.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to succeed making a schedule for study time and not getting behind on the material is crucial. Doing assignments last minute will never give you the results you want and will add more stress to your life.

    In three sentences

    Elms college has given me the tools I need to excel in my nursing career. It is a small Catholic University with inspiring professors who truly care about the students. I feel at home there and would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Exceptional

    Great for these types of students

    Religious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have prayer groups that are extremely helpful and great!

    What to do for fun

    Alot of Student Activities, Free Food, Free Bowling Trips, Political Debates, and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Learn to spread your time wisely. Be independent.

    In three sentences

    I love this college! It is very indepent and a great learning environment. It has a Catholoic base to it, which is very great!

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and activities. Most importantly do things that you enjoy. Do not be afraid to try out for any of the sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. They always have kind people working and are patient when making your meal. There are always little snacks like cookies, ice cream and etc.

    Dorm Life

    It is a very interesting experience. You get to know and learn about people that live on campus from totally different places. Make a lot of new friends and bond rather quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Elms is awesome. You get to have one on ones with your professor. You are not just a number and a seat on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be kind to everyone and others will do the same. Do not be afraid to go out and join clubs. Be active on campus and I promise you will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    Elms College is a great environment to be in. Not only is it a school but I feel as if this were my second home. I feel completely happy and safe with my choice of college.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's very good college and i like the structures of the old buildings they have. I hope i get accepted to this college.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I plan to get involved this semester and I have been told that there are a lot of opportunities to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    It is more expensive than a lot of other school I looked at, but I was able to get some scholarship money to help out.

    What to do for fun

    They have a great gym, pool and indoor track.

    Food and Dining

    While I do not have the meal plan, they do have a Starbucks on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but those I have talked to claim it's a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    I just started in this semester, but so far, the work seems to be challenging but attainable. I really feel like I will be learning real skills that I can bring with me to the job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for scholarships early! I got a lot of support as a transfer student and they accepted more of my credits than any other school. Every time that I needed help from a department, I was able to get them directly on the phone or given an appointment immediately, even on that day if I wanted! Everyone is very nice and very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I am very excited to be going to Elms because it has a great reputation for preparing their students for the professional jobs they wish to have after graduation. It is also not so big that you get lost.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at Elms College is very safe I may say and I think thats due to the fact that it a very small school and that have control over their students.

    Clubs and Activities

    AT this college there are a lot of clubs and activities, like cheer leading, dance, girls and boys basketball, and many more. But I may say that I have never joined any of these clubs or activities, but I do have friend that have told me that the clubs and activities are very good and have a very good environment.

    Great for these types of students

    I think it great for the types of student that want to go far in life and want to be focus, and also wants to be in a very small school.

    What to do for fun

    Around elms college that fun things I do will have to be going to that game room and spending time with the people that I have met here.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is very good, but is also not a five star either. The food are very diverse and well cooked.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good, very quiet and calm. Very big if it for you and a roommate.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not a lot to do, but if you open up and take other people we will find something to do and you will enjoy your self while attending Elms College.

    In three sentences

    Elms College is a very good school, that has a very small body of students and is great for staying on top of your work. Another good aspect about Elms College is that the teachers are willing to help you with any situation you're in. Last but not least Elms College is a place that very open minded and will make anyone feel at home when they are here.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. You can call Public Safety at any hour. They will walk you to your car or help get you into your dorm if you lost your ID. They always patrol campus at night. Campus is also well-lit, even in the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here. Parties are usually held in off-campus apartments, though people do *celebrate* in the dorms. If you would prefer a substance-free experience, Devine Hall, located near the chapel, may be the best option for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Elms has a list of clubs, but I have seen very few of them around campus. The activities can be really fun, but sometimes student interest and attendance varies. I would recommend going on at least one of the day trips, which are held on Saturdays.

    Great for these types of students

    -People who prefer a calmer college setting, people who are nervous about being away from home, and people who aren't necessarily the partying type (no on-campus ragers)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a campus-wide Easter egg hunt for various prizes (primarily different gift cards) each year. Some people get really into it, even starting before 8 am classes.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a nice place to be. You don't get too much of the go crazy vibe, but it is a great school to attend. You will meet some really genuine people here. The financial aid office tries their best to make attending this private college as affordable as possible.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Board hosts on-campus events and day trips regularly. There are also popular school traditions (Elms night, 100 days, and 50 days). Chicopee itself is home to a minimal amount of nightlife, but livelier towns like Amherst, MA and Hartford, CT are only a moderate drive away. Enfield, CT also has a mall, restaurants, and movie theatres. There is also the option of attending events at any of the plethora of nearby colleges.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be good. The grill station, known for its philly cheesesteaks, curly fries, and quesadillas is the best option when other stations are closed/other stations don't look appetizing. It's your best option. There is also a miniature Starbucks/deli if you don't have time for a sit-down lunch. The Starbucks/deli stand closes around 6:30 pm, but the cafeteria has coffee, too. The entrees are hit-and-miss, but the dessert counter, multi-flavor ice cream cooler, and salad bar are always there. You can get omelets and waffles at breakfast and weekend brunch. They have vegan and vegetarian options at each meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little on the small side for two people, but the singles are spacious. There are community bathrooms. The shower water gets warm, never actually hot. You have to take the stairs, and the laundry machines are expensive and inefficient. If you go home often enough or have a car, you'd be better off doing your laundry off-campus. The RA's are generally easygoing; just use common sense. Guests have to sign in. Living on campus keeps you close to everything of course. You can cross the entire campus, from one end to another, in about ten minutes.

    Academic Rigor

    The class work is not too hard, but you do get your money's worth. Professors are willing to help, provided you try. Find out which teachers are good at explaining class material. The school also has a tutoring center with peer and professional tutors for nearly every subject, including nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a car, feel free to bring it. Parking is free for all students, you just have to register and make sure you get there early for a decent spot. You will meet people fairly easily; most students and faculty are friendly and encouraging. Albeit small, the student body is diverse.

    In three sentences

    Elms College (College of Our Lady of the Elms) is your quintessential small college. It is relatively easy to make friends here, and the campus has all the standard items students look for (library, athletic center, student events, sports teams, etc.). You have a better chance of finding your niche here.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see a safety officer around, for those who commute the walk to your car isn't too far, but if you like you can ask an officer to walk you to your car. There are emergency poles in the walk path from the commuters lot to the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something going on for every season, every holiday, and everything in between.

    Food and Dining

    For those who like to eat, Elms has a buffet style cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard, but not impossible. They help you with every task, rephrase any weird question that you don't understand and make time to help with any paper. I've had professors who gave the students copies of their class notes so everybody has all the notes for the test to study, I've had professors who care more about your quality of essay instead of giving your paper on time, but sloppy. Professors work with you, so you can attain your best grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know more than just your roommates. Your professors can be a great asset to your career.

    In three sentences

    The college is just the right size. The faculty and professors know exactly who you are. The school provides awesome networking, with security of where you'll be heading after your degree and if I don't know, they'll give you support and direction.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    After my homework is done i usually go to my friends campus and hang out there.

    Food and Dining

    Do not really eat on campus, but Starbucks is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but I've heard its fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of tutoring. Teachers will inform you if your grade is low and then work with you to bring it up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for more one on one than a larger group of students, Elms is the place for that. The teachers are willing to work with you if you put in the effort.

    In three sentences

    Small school, small campus,not many distractions. Very good college! Very peaceful and clean also.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is what it is.

    Greek Life

    I am not familiar

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities available, but I just don't partake in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Individuals who are looking for a slow paced academic environment, which for some may help them develop their skills and knowledge because of less distraction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual here.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but the financial aid guy TJ is very helpful with his resources.

    What to do for fun

    My role as a parent and student is my life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent and they provide you with that all you can eat buffet plus the salad bar along with the sandwich section and the grill. EXCELLENT and Jane the cashier is AWESOME!!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    The availability of tutors and study groups are a plus for those who are really determined to make it through college.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for any student that attends this college would be to remain true to self and stay focused on your goal, and that is completion to the best of your ability.

    In three sentences

    Elms College is a small campus filled with extraordinary positive atmosphere. The location is in a nice area of the city. The staff encourage students to participate and they help those who are shy or social phobic individuals to come out of their shell, by providing them with the extra support.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is many trips orgenized as well as great gym.

    In three sentences

    I like to be a part of Elms College. The classes are small, and I feel like profesors have a lot more time for students. Everybody on campus are friendly and very helpful.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Elms is 100% safe. Within each dorm lies a security officer who checks all residents and/or visitors before walking to his or her dorms. On each floor there are security cameras to target any strange behavior that needs to be corrected. Locked out of your room, call Public Safety and they will come to open your door.

    What to do for fun

    Right next to the elms cafe is the game room. A couple games they have are pool, majorleague baseball, air hockey, table tennis, and Wii Sports. Just about every week, the Elms Student Activities Staff will have fun events such as road trips to NYC, North Hampton, snowboarding, or taking silly photos and even comedy night!

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent. Sometimes it could get a loss of taste because it serves the same food. However, they try to switch it up by having special foods on certain occasions.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are okay. Can't really control how much heat yo want in your room when it gets cold outside. waters in shower tend to get cold at times. The common room is the most sociable area for people to mingle with friends and make new ones.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers always have a positive attitude and are eager to help you out when needed. Try not to be late to class as much or it will affect your grade. It is almost impossible to fail a class due to the numerous amounts of tutors that are offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. Ask as many questions possible, even if you don't understand the subject at all. If you like small quiet colleges, then this is the one for you!

    In three sentences

    Nice, quiet area where you can focus strictly on academics. They also have several activities to keep you busy after your classes. Excellent place to work on your future goals.