Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Worldwide Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Embry Riddle is a great option for ambitious dreamers who want to be a part of the future of aviation. If you are one of the honorable prior service members or veterans who have an aviation background, Embry Riddle is the school to take you father in the aviation field than you thought you would ever go.

    Bang for the buck

    With any degree you choose to persue with Embry riddle, whether it be Professional Aeronautics, Aviation Management or Aerospace Engineering, you will be able to work with almost any aviation company that you want to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    I am currently taking online courses.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently taking online courses, so I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only had the pleasure of taking Aviation Pre-calculus with Embry Riddle Online. So far, it's challenging but not at an overwhelming pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pre-calculus is definitely a common prerequisite for Embry Riddle's degree plans. You may have taken pre-calculus in high school, but if not it will be highly recommended by the academic advisers to be able to get into the degree plan program that you desire.

    In three sentences

    I am currently in the Professional Aeronautics degree plan with Embry Riddle Worldwide. Although I plan to change my degree plan to Aerospace Engineering which is not offered online, I am glad that this great school has the Worldwide and Online program. It gives students, like myself, who aspire to do big things an opportunity to get their foot in the door of Embry Riddle Aeronautical University.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and internet security are a high priority focus, even though this is distance learning you will still get regular internet safety and security updates and as a student will be enrolled in thier emergency warning system to notify you of any emergency prepardness events or threats.

    Greek Life

    Not so much by distance learning but you may meet a Greek or two in your online courses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Distance learning is more like social networking, you have the opportunity to meet folks from many different backgrounds, as such most of the clubs and activities grow from meeting those with similar interests, however there might not be local clubs or activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in getting into the aviation or space industry should definitely look into ERAU. They have many different degree specialities and can even tailor dual programs to suit your interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual at the worldwide level.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to the highly technological studies and the costs needed for ERAU to attract the right instructors and professors with the best skill sets this university is a tad bit more expensive than your community college or state university but not near as bad an any ivy league school. Employeers give serious consideration to ERAU graduates.

    What to do for fun

    There can be any number of academic technological challenges open for worldwide students but primarily this is distance learning so the fun is in your own neighborhood so to speak.

    Food and Dining

    The worldwide campus has no cafeteria or food courts, you get your own nutritious home cooked meals everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Depends, there are 2 campuses with dorms, however the Worldwide campus is by distance learning and has class locations across the country or you can join online from home. Worldwide you live at home so no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    There are no free ride classes here, you might be sweating bullets through each course, but in the end you WILL know, you either earned that grade or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    A love for aerospace, and anything that flies or you want to work on the bleeding edge of the aviation industry.

    In three sentences

    The worlds most respected and foremost academic leader in the aviation industry. Widest selection of aviation majors of any university. All instructors are required to have aviation speciality backgrounds, they teach more experience than books!

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a good campus safety record for the most part. Only thing that has happened on campus is when police chased down a shoplifter that was trying to escape on campus.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and Sororities all up for accepting new brothers and sisters. All are professional.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too much to talk about. If I did it would take a few weeks!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those looking to become Aeronautical engineers and Aviators in the military and commercial world. Big dreamers are extremely welcomed!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some awesome traditions here at riddle. As far as the games go sometimes there is a skydiver that delivers the game ball to start it off!

    Bang for the buck

    getting every penny you spend back as long as you put the work into the academics.

    What to do for fun

    If your going to the Daytona Beach Campus there is a ton to do. There are clubs all around, a waterfront amusement park, your 3 miles from the beach, there's free skate parks around, you could skydive in Deland near Daytona Beach, I personally practice (and lead) the local parkour community here in Daytona, there are clubs for almost every interest. Marksmanship club, paintball, skydiving, sailing,swimming, crew, anime, martial arts, etc. There are over 150 clubs on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Food qualtiy good be better, but some places are open till 1AM in the morning and compared to other universities its pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. It is what you make it. You can either have a good relationship with a roommate or a bad experience. Some dorms are available so its just you if you really want that.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very challenging. Be a good note taker, pay attention to everything, study study study, and when you think you got it, review review review! Classes can take up most of your time. Some can be hard to follow, but the good news is there are tutoring centers throughout the week on campus that can help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    One big piece of advice I can give to you is make sure you are ready to commit to this. Every year gets harder and more challenge so make sure that you are able to step up to the plate. not to scare anyone away just speaking the truth. After my first year most of the people I had made close friends with here couldn't come back due to not making sufficient grades because of how challenging some of the engineering courses were. Another piece of advice is get ahead of the game on scholarships and financial aid as soon as you can. Embry Riddle is the best Aeronautical university in the world and to go to this school costs alot of money so get as much help through scholarships as you can. Also while there are some parties that go on throughout the year this isn't a big on campus partying kind of university so don't expect too much partying at first when you get here. The university itself does throw a few late night parties on campus that are fun though. Free food, blaring music, dancing, lights, volleyball, and a whole bunch of other awesome stuff!

    In three sentences

    Embry Riddle is an amazing university for those that have big goals or are dreaming of becoming one of the best aviators/ engineers the aeronautical universe has to offer. The academics are rigorous, but they prepare you for an even more rigorous world so that when you get your degree and get out to find a job an aviation company will know your ready to handle what they can throw at you. The best part about Riddle I believe is the intellectual stimulus along with the fun that you get throughout your years here.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I waited over ten years from my High School graduation to begin taking college level courses. My first five courses were taken in Europe on an Air Force Base. These courses were accelerated, which means I attended class on Friday, Saturday and Sunday for 3-4 weeks. This schedule allowed for many Airman to attend class during Operation Allied Force.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors at Embry-Riddle are great! Having had prior military experience and thorough time in the field, the information is very practical and geared precisely to the course content. Students will be challenged and will finish the courses with a wealth of knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    This most important issue is to talk to the staff at the school. Settle on a desired area of study and stay with it. Make sure the requirements of the degree are well understood at the beginning of the year. Also, a long range schedule of upcoming classes will come in handy.

    In three sentences

    From a military member's perspective Embry-Riddle is an excellent choice. Many times an individual must deploy or change shifts during a given semester, at Embry-Riddle instructors normally have prior military experience and are more than willing to work with students. Also, Embry-Riddle routinely deploys instructors to deployed locations which enables students to continue their studies while away from home.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Embry-Riddle has an outstanding campus security system. The system is doors that are opened by a identification card process. The University also has campus police that monitor the parking lots as well as the campus. This University is a safe haven for the student body.

    Greek Life

    The University has many sororities that are available for students to join, as early as their freshman year. This allows students the opportunities of a lifetime to give the students and opportunity to give back to the community and learn more about themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    Embry-Riddle has so many clubs and activities that everyone has the chance to get involved with their interest. Whether it is academic or physical activities, there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Embry-Riddle is a school for the engineered and science minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Embry-Riddle is associated with NOAH and NASA, which makes it a great opportunity to meet people in an exciting field.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the most interesting part of being a student at Embry-Riddle is that I have meet students from all parts of the world. No matter where the students are from, we have the same goal in mind, our future.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities at Embry-Riddle. The University has a swimming pool and a list of on site games and recreation activities available.

    Food and Dining

    At Embry-Riddle there is a variety of different kinds of foods. Embry-Riddle has a buffet, bagel shop, and Chick-fil-a. There is also microwaves and refrigerators in the dorm rooms, in case you prefer to cook your own.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is like being part of a big family. I enjoy dorm life and spending time with other students. At Embry-Riddle there is always activities that involves everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic goals are to put forth my best effort. At Embry-Riddle there is always staff and other students there to lend a helping hand. Whether it is studying in a group or for moral support, there is always someone to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend for prospective students is to get involved as much as possible with the activities of the college. This is a great opportunity to meet other students with the same expectations.

    In three sentences

    Embry-Riddle is a University that has the highest technology available to meet my goals of becoming a meteorologist. I currently attend Embry-Riddle University and it has meet all my expectations. I rate this University at the highest.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play with my son and spend time with my family. After two deployments in the Army, I have missed them a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown. See above entry.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown. I am an online student through Embry-Riddle Worldwide.

    Academic Rigor

    Embry-Riddle strives to be at the forefront of all things related to Aerospace and Aviation education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can give is to make sure Aviation is what you are passionate about before enrolling.

    In three sentences

    Prompt in all responses to my inquiries. Help and friendly student advisers. Professional in all aspects and steps to aiding students.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Close to the Air force base and therefore close to every other restaurant in Jacksonville.

    Dorm Life

    There are no campus dorms here so no rating.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very very difficult but the faculty will make sure everyone understands the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should keep your evening schedule free unless you take online courses.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very helpful. The professors are generally very knowledgeable.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are everywhere! Great for safety. Key card access and ID badges keep people out of where they do not belong. No problems yet that I have heard of.

    Greek Life

    Have yet to venture .

    Clubs and Activities

    Never have I seen so many options available to me. I am experimenting in new ideas and interests. I just joined the DJ club. Lets see where I will go next!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a hard one when just starting. I believe this is the best opportunity for me to succeed. The up front expense is higher then my friends schools but the activities, food, support staff, and class sizes makes all my other friend jealous!

    What to do for fun

    Even though I am new here, I enjoy every day. There is always some kind of activity every moment. Never am I bored. Whether sponsored events or club functions, I am connecting with more people then ever before.

    Food and Dining

    One word.... DELICIOUS!!!!! Great variety, flavors, and convenience. Best place to socialize and meet other upperclassmen.

    Dorm Life

    The first few weeks can be hard to adjust. Friendly neighbors and helpful staff make it easier. Still not use to sharing bathroom though. Security is tight and I feel safe here.

    Academic Rigor

    You are pushed with cutting edge tech and modern teaching methods but the student support is incredible. So long as you are not shy, there is always more help available then you will need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expand your ideas and realize that you can make your college experience greater by dreaming larger. Start in high school with public service. The people you meet will be future contacts after graduation.

    In three sentences

    A place where dreams are realized. A place where the future is achieved. A place where legends are taught.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people with no social lives, people with social lives who like fraternities, nerds.. you will fit in regardless, ERAU is really diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nope

    Bang for the buck

    You will get a top quality degree with a name that EVERYONE in the aerospace world knows, but you will pay dearly for it.

    What to do for fun

    Join some clubs! there are lots of clubs that do fun things (also, the crew club has great parties).

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad, but eating out is always better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here are old.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to study, it will help.

    In three sentences

    Embry-Riddle has very few girls, and everyone is very into their selected major (almost everyone has decided their major). Because it is an engineering school, there are not many parties, but you will get your homework done because of this.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student's that have minimal time and want to peruse an education that will get them some were in life.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you can not beat this school. The price is a little steep but the education that you will receive is the best in the business. You will not find an institution that will provide great material and helpful instructors any were else.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hunt and fish and play a lot of video games for fun. Hunting has been one of my new interests that has allowed me to provide for my family.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure you know what you are getting in to with each class because they are all different and you may end up a little over your head with the class work.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school that I have attended. I am in the military and have to balance my work and my school and they have been able to work with me in order to get this done. The online learning environment is one of the best because of the in depth courses and ability to learn with the course layouts.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attend school events for free

    Food and Dining

    average

    Academic Rigor

    tough but manageable

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the school

    In three sentences

    best aviation school in the world. for anyone who wants to be a pilot, engineer, air traffic controller or aviation professional. expensive tuition

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is not a campus. There is a ERAU campus in Daytona, but I am using the Worldwide campus on a military installation.

    Greek Life

    This is not a campus. There is a ERAU campus in Daytona, but I am using the Worldwide campus on a military installation.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is not a campus. There is a ERAU campus in Daytona, but I am using the Worldwide campus on a military installation.

    Great for these types of students

    ERAU is great for working adults. The Worldwide campus classes usually start at 5pm and last 4 hours. This allows you to finish your degree faster.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is not a campus. There is a ERAU campus in Daytona, but I am using the Worldwide campus on a military installation.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of bang for the buck. This is a faster paced academia. If you want to finish your degree fast, this is the place. But don't think you will sacrifice quality for speed.

    What to do for fun

    I work full time and go to school full time. This is not a campus. There is a ERAU campus in Daytona, but I am using the Worldwide campus on a military installation.

    Food and Dining

    There are no food services with the Worldwide campus

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms with the Worldwide campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are engaging, and you have to stay on top of your studies to make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about completing your degree. Two classes is considered full-time. You can take a heavier load to complete it faster, but you will have to stay on top of things to do so. The academic counselors are top notch. ERAU is Regionally accredited.

    In three sentences

    Embry Riddle is fantastic for the working adult. Classes are short in length (9 weeks), but cover what most schools cover in 16 weeks. The nicest thing about ERAU is that people are serious about their degree.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I dont eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think one of the best schools to follow my degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to follow an aeronautical degree embry is the place to go. They have every major related to aerospace and cyberspace

    In three sentences

    I am attending in Clovis, Nm. Its a small facility but they have everything that you need to succeed.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Don't attend school on campus--Worldwide student.

    Dorm Life

    Don't attend school on campus-Worldwide Student.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging. I know that I am receiving a high class education because the class work challenges me. I can't just skip through classes expecting an A+ if I don't put in the effort.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school to receive a degree from as many of their classes are challenging to most individuals. It ensures that you will become the best professional you can be once you graduate. Most professions know how prestigious your education is, just by hearing that you graduated from Embry Riddle.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    online student

    What to do for fun

    online student

    Food and Dining

    online student

    Dorm Life

    online student

    Academic Rigor

    love the online option

    In three sentences

    they have been wonderful communicating with me. they have helped me to get enrolled I give them a 9 out of 10 overall

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students who can only take evening or weekend classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Using the both the VA during active duty and the Post 9/11 GI after separating the costs are minimal. As an undergraduate the classes were in residence and learning was solid, and relevant. The graduate classes allowed the use of the Yellow Ribbon Program eliminating out of pocket expenses but the class quality varies tremendously as in residence are great but many degrees primarily are taught as online or virtual classes, leading to concepts and principles being hit while methods and understanding being skipped. The general concern over keeping the school accreditation is so high that instructors luff classes to meet hour requirements without adding useful content. Blended learning accounts of student participation in their web based Black Board to make up class hours to this same purpose reducing teacher/student interaction even further. Unfortunately as many colleges do not recognize credits from other universities, a student is left to finish out their degree program unprepared and unsatisfied.

    What to do for fun

    None due to remote campuses

    Food and Dining

    None due to remote campuses

    Dorm Life

    None due to remote campuses

    Academic Rigor

    Student aptitude and education path are great factors in how much effort is required. In residence classes are often hard work but virtual classes are usually taught by instructors who are teaching multiple classes. This leads to an increase in student self teaching and term papers to meet the increasing research requirement from the home office. Many classes have no exams. Often instructors are more worried about APA 6(American Psychological Association) than content of the papers. Some classes require only attendance and token effort while others will drive 10-15 hours a week of student work outside the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for self education and enhance your research skills to learn concepts and write term papers. Take advantage of as many in residence classes as possible. Talk with current students to prepare for different instructor teaching styles/direction.

    In three sentences

    Undergraduates classes in residence are limited but actually useful and relevant, graduate classes less so as very few if any are taught in residence. A nice idea with remote teaching via Eagle Vision virtual video class rooms (to allow students to get degree that the local campus has no instructors for) that has fallen by the way of mass teaching, leading to teachers that are out of touch, poor interaction and student feedback, deteriorating comprehension, and poor technical structure leading to remote locations falling out of the class. Teachers seldom review lesson plans and syllabi leading to confusion and teach death by power point leaving students to glean concepts from the texts. Format inconsistencies lead to the same class being taught with different direction of the majors and students lacking understanding when needed for subsequent classes. Class /instructor Surveys are eyewash and never indicate any response from Program Chairs or Center Directors.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    The instructors are awesome, very knowledgeable and understanding to workloads and schedules.

    In three sentences

    Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University has been wonderful. The student advisors have helped me tremendously to reach my goals for furthering my education. Being in the military, ERAU has allowed me to attend classes and be flexible with my schedule and responsibilities.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My Campus is located at our local International Airport. Safety is the number one priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not at my campus

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of students I see come in and go are Air National Guardsmen, or retired Air Force. A lot of young pilots as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -none-

    Bang for the buck

    I'll rate this as neutral because really you are paying for your degree. Like I mentioned before, the teachers get paid for students passing. They will not fail a student.

    What to do for fun

    Really? It's a private school, and we're all adults. It's classwork and get out. The classes are set up to run from 4-6 hours. Nothing says I wanna be here till 10pm like a lecture from a teacher who obviously loves chatting.

    Food and Dining

    Our campus has a lovely selection of vending machines. Nothing fancy.

    Dorm Life

    I presently take online classes at what is know as the Embry-Riddles Worldwide Campuses. I have my own home, and go to one of the campuses once a week for class.

    Academic Rigor

    It's def. a challenge. The thought of homework bothered me- coming out of the Marine Corps. However, the challenge wasn't in the books. It was how much time school took from my life. A lot of papers-

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Take it for what it is. 2) A lot of math classes involved. 3) The teachers get paid for passing. THEY WILL NOT FAIL YOU. 4) Great education.

    In three sentences

    I respect the university for all of it's hard work in getting students the information to succeed. However, at Embry-Riddle- overtime, you may feel as if you're just a number. The reward though of being an Alumni is gratifying.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Skydiving Club

    Tips for prospective students

    Aeronautics is great for aviation minded students. Not so good if you're not planning on being a pilot.

    In three sentences

    Amazing university, great instructors and great material!

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes here are very reasonably priced. It is a top online school and compared to an actual campus, these prices are very very fair.

    What to do for fun

    This section does not really apply because it is an online/ worldwide campus. As far as academic fun is concerned there is always extra work for you or opportunities for you to get ahead in class. Also there is easy access to everyone else in class.

    Food and Dining

    Your food and dining again, is your home. I take class at home, so I have constant access to food and drink while I take class. It's very convenient to get a drink and snack during breaks.

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm is your home. You can take classes from anywhere you have decent internet access! This allows the school to really work around your schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class has provided me ample knowledge and experience in the given field of the class. You get all the tutoring you need from peers and teachers through the online blackboard and email. Classes are challenging enough to learn but not unfair.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great online school for you if you are working or out of the country. You can take classes from hundreds of locations around the globe. Take advantage of the different learning styles and faster classes.

    In three sentences

    Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University WorldWide is an outstanding way to get your education online. The online classes are set up to give you an exceptional experience and plenty of attention from your Professors. With multiple versions of classes, they make it easy to fit around your schedule.