Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Emmanuel College - Georgia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/11/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EC is best for those who truly want a quality education. Small class sizes and caring professors make EC a wonderful choice. Christians looking to grow in faith will also enjoy EC. Peer encouragement, classes, chapel, volunteering, and mission trips are all components of the school to enhance character, not only academics. Students looking for a more exciting, party-type atmosphere will not enjoy EC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships...EC is a small, private school so it is more expensive, but there are many alumni scholarships as EC is a place of strong tradition. Also bring your own car to EC or you will feel stuck. Transportation is needed.

    Bang for the buck

    Dorms were adequate, but not amazing when I was a student. The rooms were remodeled in 2008, but I have not seen them. The majority of classrooms were built in the 1940s. The building is old, but beautiful, and has been renovated. Newer, smaller buildings are also on-campus. Getting out is a problem, though...you must drive 20 minutes for a medium-sized town and 45 minutes to Athens. On-campus events such as the Sadie Hawkins Bonfire and the Dirty Pig Feast are really fun, though.

    Did enjoy being here

    Campus life was wonderful. The atmosphere was Christ-centered but not oppressive. I made many international friends during my time at EC, which was a learning experience in itself.

    Did learn a lot

    I was one of the top prepared new hires of 2007, according to my employer. I had a job lined up at graduation, thanks to the help of my advisor at EC.

  • 02/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like the small town college feel in which you still get a quality education then hey, Emmanuel may be just right for you. Students are even welcomed to get one on one time with professors at which larger schools, this opportunity is scarce. Not to mention the big city, Atlanta, is about an hour and forty-five minutes away as well as Athens is not to far up the road either. And if your looking to go somewhere on the weekend you might try heading to South Carolina which is less than half an hour away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. If the school appears to be bland to your taste then join clubs and organizations. Believe you me, there is plenty here at the school in which you may get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    Most folks would love to get a great education for cheap. And with that said, I do wish the price would be lower to attend the school. But each student does receive an awesome education and opportunities to relate to their professors more. The classes are typically small so students have exceptional time to be able to approach the teacher. So in summary, yes you do get your money's worth if you take advantage of all that the school has to offer. From the free counseling, which is not free in the real world, to the great educational programs offered at the school, you do get bang for your buck in some degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    Okay so I am not going to lie. Emmanuel College is literally in the middle of no where or at least it feels like it. Franklin Springs, Georgia is a cozy small town but if you do not like seeing cows then you definitely do not want to consider this school. On the bright side, Emmanuel has much to do on campus. There are many student organizations to get involved with as well as the college sports to play. To name a few, there is an on campus Broadway music theater group, an acting group, singing ensembles, and plenty of sports ranging from tennis, basketball, and volleyball, to cross country, softball, and baseball. Moreover, the school is expanding with the construction of a larger dorm, as well as brand new athletic facilities. So it is clear to say that they are making their mark fast.

    Am learning a lot

    To be truthfully honest, I really am learning a lot here at Emmanuel. At first, I was kind of hesitant coming to the school because I had my heart set on others colleges in the United States. Schools such as Harvard and Pepperdine were on my high school senior list. However, the staff at Emmanuel is well equipped to do their job. For example, my English professor is an editor for a magazine, and my Communications professor has worked with many of the theorist we study about today. Even other professors I have, have taught at or received degrees from the following schools: Penn State University, Oklahoma State University, and Ball State University. So am I learning a lot--yes. Emmanuel does provide a quality education that is underestimated by many.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian/Methodist/Baptist/ and basically anyone religious since the school is Christ-centered. BUT it's great for just about anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out where things are before the first day of school. Don't skip Tuesday Convocations....I think that's what it is called. Your attendance is mandatory and counted. NEW DORMS HAVE BEEN BUILT!!! They look pretty awesome! Have fun, and know what you're planning to study before you get there! Your advisors can only help you so much!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a bit pricey for my taste, and for the programs since they aren't 5 star. I would check out cheaper colleges, but if you're into this one, go for it!

    Will enjoy being here

    There isn't much to do in Franklin Springs or Royston, so you have to drive to places for shopping and such. It is a very small campus, and everything is within walking distance. I guess if you meet friends, you'll find things to do and will enjoy it better.

    Will learn a lot

    Depends on the program, but one good thing is that the professors know their stuff. Most of the professors are centralized within their studies only, so you have to go to a certain department's teachers to figure out about the department. They seem to have a good system of teaching, but you may not learn all that you want. For example, classes like history and english are designed for not everyone, but for those majors specifically. Best thing is be prepared for anything.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you dont want to go to a large college, if you want the teacher to student ratio to be small, small town but growing

    Bang for the buck

    It might cost a lot but you are getting your money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    You will enjoy being here if you don't like going anyway, but if you have a car you will be fine. You have curfew.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities taking place on campus. Open dorm night and basketball games are a hit!

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely delicious! There are so many options!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are a good size and provide a desk, a bed, a nightstand, a closet, drawers, and cabinets for each person. Beware of spiders !

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are open to one-on-one help and the Student Success Center is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the activities that take place on campus!

    In three sentences

    Emmanuel College is a great school for those looking for a small, Christian community. Emmanuel College offers great ways to get involved. This college also provides great advisement and counseling.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    It is a difficult school. They challenge you on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, don't miss convocation, and enjoy school.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a very formal school. It holds students accountable. It also has high expectations of all of its students.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe but there are no Emergency Blue Lights or official campus security

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students seeking a degree in Christian ministry and students who like to chill inside

    What to do for fun

    Not much in the town only fun is about 40 minutes away in Commerce GA or Athens GA, but a bowling alley is being built nearby by the school

    Food and Dining

    Only one dining hall and the choices are very limited. Closes early

    Dorm Life

    Dorms have curfew and frequent room checks. Built a nice new dorm recently.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not that hard and requirements except for Bible classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college many times to make sure you life it because many students transfer. Make sure you want to have a strict life style because the college prides itself in its policies.

    In three sentences

    Faculty with a warm and generous spirit. Lackluster facilities but the college is working on increasing them

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If your into sports you can join one of the many teams, along with the intramural teams that play such things as freebie football,basketball, soccer, and many other games. There is also shops in the towns around the campus that you can go to, and if you become friends with the locals there is hunting and fishing as well.

    Food and Dining

    Ever since getting a contract with Chartwells, the food has really come up. They use fresh produces everyday, and as of this coming fall will have a papa johns on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a little out of date, and they don't always have enough room, but they do their best to fit everyone in comfortably.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd have to say it ranges between majors. School of Christian Ministries is by far the hardest of them all and requires the most dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because its a Christian college does not mean its a Christian campus. You'll find many people of all levels of faith that makes just about anyone feel welcome. One other thing is don't expect to find a lot of excitement here, because this place is very remote.

    In three sentences

    Highly accepting school with great forgiveness and understanding. Very Christian based and excels at trying to give students a focused environment that will allow them to learn with distraction. Also considered a small school, but with great potential to grow.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It great for Students seeking to strengthen their faith and relationship with God and that they have an open mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do our last chapel service on the quad at end of April.

    What to do for fun

    We have commerce 20 minutes away. Then the quad is always fun with people hanging around.

    Dorm Life

    I liked my dorm girls.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and do not underestimate this small college cause it has a lot of unexpected surprises.

    In three sentences

    I love the fact that when you walked on campus and people say hi to you. It feels like you are a part of a family. Love meeting people with different backgrounds.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't had any problem with campus safety. Every time something comes up, they are quick to fix the problem and work towards it not happening again.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs to be involved in. There's music, dance, drama, math, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that no matter what kind of student you are, you can find a place that you feel like you belong in at Emmanuel College because there is so many activities you can be involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday afternoon, the Campus Activity Board (CAB) has a mini-celebration for the end of the week call Fantastic Friday.

    Bang for the buck

    It's well worth the cost, and getting better.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with friends and we do anything from having a Bible study, to playing games, to just chatting.

    Food and Dining

    The food could definitely be better. While they are working to improve the quality of the food, there are still some foods you need to avoid, but it doesn't take to long to realize what you don't like and what you do like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Everybody knows everyone else and it feels like a big family.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but totally doable. At first, it seems like you can't handle the class, but once you adjust to the way college works, the classes really aren't that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try something new or to be yourself. There are so many people at Emmanuel who are friendly and eager to meet someone new, and even enjoy differences in personalities.

    In three sentences

    Emmanuel College is a great school! I love the classes, which challenge me to think in depth about the subjects presented, spending time with fellow students, and have after class discussions with my professors. Emmanuel College has made me a better person than I was before.