Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Emmaus Bible College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People desiring a small, private college that has a strong emphasis on the Bible and a Christian and family environment.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a small and relatively inexpensive private college, but the education that you get in excellent.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college has a feeling of family. We all know each other by sight and name. The dorm floors are often close knit, and have lots of fun together. The faculty take an interest in the students both in and out of the classroom. They are always available to answer question regrading assignments or to be a mentor or friend. They often have groups of students to their homes.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are harder than high-school or community college, but are designed for the student to put effort into their studies, so that they can get the most out of their classes. They are well thought out and planned. Anyone who puts reasonable effort into the classes will learn many things.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we are small school in a fairly quiet town and have had very few issues with safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    it has a small selection because it is a small school but there is always room to get more activities approved! currently, we have groups that do sports together, pray together, sing at a nursing home, work with awana, work with a kids' bible club aimed at inner city kids, plan student government activities, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    emmaus is great for people who are here to learn. it is great for people who are willing to follow the rules as a way to honor god. it is great for people who are serious about their christian faith, especially if their doctrine is similar to emmaus's (see www.emmaus.edu for a doctrinal statement).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    winterfest is an annual emmaus tradition featuring competitive activities and a delightfully long weekend. we have chapel (required) every weekday. for locations on campus, people like the coffee bean, our on-campus coffee house. and i hear that our marble chapel has some of the best accoustics in the country.

    Bang for the buck

    for me, it's expensive compared to going to school locally, but if god provides the finances, it is totally worth it to get an excellent education from a christian perspective.

    What to do for fun

    there are often concerts or movie nights or floor parties to get involved in. ministry is a major source of fun, too, from kids' clubs to singing at a nursing home to student missionary fellowship meetings featuring missionary speakers to participation in chapel choir. basketball, soccer, volleyball, and intramurals are among the sports available.

    Food and Dining

    meals are provided as part of room and board. the salad bar is great! the rest of the meals are okay, but not something you miss when you go home for spring break. i don't mind the cafeteria food, but a lot of people complain about certain meals that show up every so often. everyone loves friday's homemade chocolate chip cookies though!

    Dorm Life

    the community of emmaus tends to be much like a large family because the school is so small (250 students all together). there are strictly separated dorms for guys and girls and as a general rule, members of the opposite sex are not allowed on the dorm floor. each dorm does fun things together, fostering needed support. my favorite part of dorm life is that since most of the dorm rooms are so tiny, students get their own rooms and do not have to have a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    compared with the community college i went to previously, emmaus has high standards of academic rigor. some classes and professors are easier than others, but all of them intend to equip you practically. i have not had a professor who does not care. in fact, they care about each student in a way that larger colleges cannot.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should come to one of our fun discover emmaus weekends, live in the dorm with a current student for a few days, talk to people, and get a feel for the college. you can also visit www.emmaus.edu to see if emmaus's goals for your education match yours.

    In three sentences

    emmaus bible college is unashamed of christ. from what i have experienced, i think emmaus's goal is to honor yahweh while preparing its students to be not only well-equipped as lifelong students of the word, but also men and women of character who serve christ regardless of their chosen vocation. everyone at emmaus studies bible (our one-year bible certificate program is popular), but as an accredited college, the school also offers four-year degrees in a variety of practical occupations such as business and elementary education.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small and very safe. Students need card access to get into the dorms and each floor has their own security codes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Emmaus has Student Government, Student Ambassadors, Ensemble, Choir and several activities available throughout the year. We also have Boys and Girls Basketball, Soccer, Volleyball and Intramurals.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to study God's word and learn to apply it to your life this is the place for you! If you have a heart for missionary work than this is the place for you! Emmaus also has many Academic Programs that will fit just about anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a true Christian College and want to get into the bible than Emmaus is for you! Your journey at Emmaus will bring you closer to God and deeper into His word.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of intramural sports available throughout the year along with the regular athletics. There are also lots of fun activities planned for students. The staff open their homes to the students too and invite them over. There's many churches in the area and they are all very welcoming to the students.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining room and the meals that are provided are exceptional. Not many students will miss mealtime if that tells you anything. I think we have the best chocolate cookies in Iowa!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone has their own room which is great! The girls and guys floors are separate and they are not allowed on each others floors. We have lots of activities for each of our floors and we have lots of camaraderie and team building.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic load is tough and you will probably study harder than you ever have before. But it is so worth it and you learn so much! Again the Professors are here to help you in any way they can to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Emmaus is a Christian College and it has tougher rules and requirements than you might find at any other college. The staff are amazing and are there to help you with everything! There are plenty of things besides academics available to keep you involved and motivated.

    In three sentences

    Emmaus is a no nonsense bible based college with an emphasis on the bible. It is a great place to learn more about the word of God and how to apply it to our every day lives. It also has a small student population which is great for getting to know one another.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I think the food is great. I have only been to Emmaus a few times but each time I'm there the foods delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I love that we have our own dorm room because you can have the time to hang with your friends but also get time to be by yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    I know a lot of the teachers at Emmaus and they all care deeply for God and our education.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe while I was there, however the school is in the middle of the city and anyone can come on the campus grounds. Only persons with ID cards can enter the buildings (unless let through by the main entrance's receptionist) and only persons with the codes can enter the dorms. Men do not know the women's dorm codes and women do not know the men's codes.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Emmaus has Student Government, Student Ambassadors, Choir, Ensemble, Basketball, Volleyball, Soccer and others. I think they could use more, and the great thing is that the school is open to proposals for new clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian men and women seeking a Christ-centered atmosphere, curriculum and people.

    Bang for the buck

    A great education, great community and long-lasting friendships! If you go, you'll never want to leave!

    What to do for fun

    Even though the school is small it usually has something going on. Intramural sports occur nearly year-round; basketball and volleyball seasons are close together so there's usually a game to go watch. If you're not into sports you can get a group of friends together to play games in the Coffee Bean. If you want off-campus, Downtown Dubuque is only minutes away and it has loads to offer. Also there are plenty of shops around the city and a great movie theater close by.

    Food and Dining

    Day-to-day food isn't the best I'll admit, but when there is a special event the food is fantastic! The best thing on the menu is Friday's Chocolate Chip Cookies! The menu is not very conducive to persons with special diet needs, however the kitchen does offer special meals for said persons but I don't think they are the best.

    Dorm Life

    Best part about it: you get your OWN room! If you're someone that needs to concentrate on homework and likes to study alone this a great dorm situation for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but as long as you remain on top of your homework and study hard for tests, you shouldn't have any issues. The professors are friendly and love helping you out as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would visit before you go and get all the information you can! A great time to visit is during the Discover Emmaus Weekends. For more information visit http://www.emmaus.edu.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic community and academics! If you are looking for a school that equips you for a career while helping you to grow your faith in Christ and has a home-away-from-home feel this is the school for you! Absolutely loved my time there and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those wanting to learn and maybe don't know for sure what they want to do,

    Bang for the buck

    Good price for a private school, the things you'll learn will stick with you for life. And many times change it altogether!

    What to do for fun

    Many coffee shops in Dubuque, lots of parks and bluffs that are beautiful! Really cool downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Hanging out with people over a meal can be so wonderful! Food is hit or miss sometimes though.

    Dorm Life

    All students get there own rooms! (Except some boys dorms) but its also like having 17 roommates. There are always people to talk to!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not too difficult but very rewarding, loved everything I've learned so far!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check it out, schedule a visit! Its very small and you won't be able to just sneak through, its not for those who don't want to be challenged.

    In three sentences

    Great learning experience through not only great classes but also other students. You cannot leave Emmaus without at least a few lifelong friendships. Staff and faculty will also be a tremendous help and very encouraging

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, and you really don't need to worry about any intruder's threatening the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    POP (People of Prayer), intramural's, Student Government, banquets, and christian concerts and campus wide vocal and instrumental concerts.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for Christian believers that are wanting to make a difference in there community should attend Emmaus Bible College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since it's a smaller college, we basically know everyone. We sing happy birthday during lunch, have campus wide banquets, and bascially have a family type of atmosphere that will make

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges, it's fairly cheat. It's only about 21000 which includes Tuition Room and Board, and other fees.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the time we stay on campus such as basketball, ultimate Frisbee, intramural,play video games in the dorm lounge, and watch movies at the Pollard Field House. However, when we do go off campus we go the Riverwalk near the Mississippi River, go to the AMC theater for movie premieres, ice skating, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    We have theme meals, and a famous tradition at Emmaus with milk and cookies for dessert on Fridays.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is almost perfect. You will meet people that will encourage you, and exhort you to be the best person that you can be.

    Academic Rigor

    Whatever you learn in the classroom, will be applied outside of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a current student I've gone through the ups and downs. For future students, study hard, and study consistently otherwise you will get lost. However, that doesn't mean you will have fun, you will be able to get to know other students in the dorms that will inspire you and lift you up and even give you constructive criticism when needed.

    In three sentences

    Emmaus Bible College's can only be described in a few words. Lives Changed, Character shaped, Purpose found is the key phrase that is said about Emmaus Bible College. You will go beyond what is required of you as a Bible scholar or in any other degree that you will get at Emmaus Bible College.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and there is plenty of it :)

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great, RA's truly care about you and want to make your college experience the best it can be.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but they are well worth the work. You will learn things that can be used well beyond college!

    In three sentences

    Emmaus is a great school for students who are looking to strengthen their walk with The Lord. The professors and staff truly care about their students. There is also a great sense of community within the campus!

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is good here, and safety has never been a worry of mine while here at Emmaus.

    Greek Life

    None here, but dorm life is good enough as is.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intercollegiate sports are men's soccer and basketball, and women's volleyball and basketball. There is also a men's club volleyball team, and there are other clubs in the school such as People of Prayer, SMF, choir, ensemble, intramurals, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get a degree while studying the Bible, this is the place for you. It is small, but the people here are so wonderful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The coffee bean, study center, and student center are some great places to hang out and get to know others.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable compared to most colleges, and the business office is pleasant and easy to work with regarding finances.

    What to do for fun

    There is actually quite a bit to do for such a small college - intramurals, hang out at the cafe, games in the gym, StuGov events (WinterFest, Labor Day volleyball tournament, etc.), Winter and Spring banquet, etc.

    Food and Dining

    If you do not like what is on the menu, there are plenty of other options for food that you can make in the dining hall. The lines for food are short and go by quick. The dining hall is a great place to socialize.

    Dorm Life

    My favorite part about Emmaus! There are lots of events on campus (intramurals, StuGov events, etc.), and it's nice to be so close to everything. Also, most people get their very own room!

    Academic Rigor

    Our professors challenge us both academically and spiritually, which is great. The academics rigor is not too great, but it is just right, and it will cause a lot of growth in you as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply! Apply! Apply! Schedule a visit at least, or attend one of our Discover Emmaus Weekends (D.E.W.) to find out more about the Emmaus experience.

    In three sentences

    Emmaus is a wonderful place to attend college, and I would highly recommend it. It is a great place to grow spiritually, academically, and socially. Though it is small, it is nice because everyone feels like one big family.