Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Emory & Henry College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    likes small classes where you get more attention likes country like atmosphere doesnt mind the sound of the train likes a friendly enviroment

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard maintain good grades get involved in extracurricular activites

    Bang for the buck

    its a very pricey school but they are very good with Financial Aid and giving out grants and scholarships at this school to help you out!

    Am enjoying being here

    i love it here!! it is soo peaceful and so beautiful between all the changes of the seasons.

    Am learning a lot

    i love this school because it is a small college located in the appalachia part of virginia. its very exclusion and the class sizes range from 6 to 24 people, which is relatively small compared to most colleges, but the one on one attention is great and i feel that i learn more here than i would ever learn anywhere else. the professors love to be your best friend and they are always welling to help and have one on one sessions with you!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emory & Henry is one of the safest schools in Virginia. I have never felt threatened or unsafe on campus (even when a bear was loose!). Campus security does a great job responding to issues in a timely and appropriate manner.

    Greek Life

    Although I never thought I would do it, I pledged a sorority my sophomore year. However, Emory's Greek life is nothing like larger schools. All chapters are local, meaning they only exist on our campus. Get that image of the typical fraternity or sorority from the movies out of your mind; Emory's Greek organizations are very diverse and interact with each other with little or no tension. One of my favorite Greek-sponsored events is Airband, which brings together everyone on campus for a night of great fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The church bells often take on a life of their own! It's a mystery to who's behind it, but often you'll hear the bells going off at odd hours of the night. They also play Christmas music around the holidays! A unique spot on campus is the Holston Cemetery, where you will find hundreds of Civil War graves. The cemetery boasts marvelous views of the college campus and the surrounding rural area. It's a great place to go for a run or for some peace and quiet.

    Bang for the buck

    Emory & Henry offers a wide array of scholarships, so please don't be afraid of the price tag. No one ends up paying anywhere close to full price. If you qualify, you may have the chance to join the Bonner Scholars Program, where students volunteer to receive full scholarships. The quality of education you will receive at Emory & Henry College is outstanding, but only if you're willing to go the extra mile. The things I have learned at this institution are invaluable.

    What to do for fun

    Emory & Henry does not boast a downtown area. However, a new restaurant will be opening its doors where the old campus deli used to be located. Hopefully this will bring a better nightlife to the campus. Because of its location, there are also numerous outdoor activities to participate in. Whether you want to get involved in the Outdoor Leadership Program or just spend time with friends down by the river, there is something for everyone. If you're just not the outdoorsy-type, there are fun shops in Abingdon and downtown Bristol. Kingsport and Johnson City in Tennessee offer a larger nightlife scene with clubs and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    The college is renovating its two main dining halls this summer and we are very excited about that! While it ain't your momma's cookin', Emory tries its best to answer to student suggestions and comments. They truly take student needs into account. If you have allergies or food restrictions, they will be sure to prepare your meals specifically. They have also been improving their vegetarian section, often incorporating vegetables from the campus garden. While I'm not a vegetarian, I always find myself in that line.

    Dorm Life

    Emory & Henry is currently in the process of building a quad area on campus. With one dorm complete and another in progress, the college is aiming to draw in more students with sustainable living options. Even the older dorms on campus are suitable living arrangements, even if many lack air-conditioning (I swear, it's not that bad!). The college tries to keep up with renovations and almost always takes student suggestions into account. Light bulb burnt out? Maintenance will be there. Want new shower curtains? Housekeeping will be there the next morning.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a member of the Honors Program, which allows me to increase the difficulty of my classes. Some classes are certainly more difficult than others. However, I have found that all professors push their students to go above and beyond what is expected of them. Anyone can cruise through their college career. Why not actually make something of it? You'll find that hard work pays off in the form of graduation honors, respect from others, and strong relationships with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a student tour on campus! Many current students lead tours around campus. You'll find that they can offer great insight into the questions you're dying to know the answers to. If you have the chance, stay with a current student. The college is eager to set prospective students up with current Wasps! Try to sit in on a class during your visit; professors will be excited to see you're interested in what they are teaching.

    In three sentences

    Emory & Henry College (yes, it's an ampersand!) is a small liberal arts college nestled in Appalachia. With less than 1,000 students, there is a tight community feel that is difficult to find at other colleges. The college prides itself on its community involvement and service which is incorporated in extracurricular activities and in the classroom. Emory & Henry has some of the best professors in country and they demonstrate their capabilities consistently. Leaving Emory & Henry after graduating will be the hardest thing for students to do.

  • 10/08/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Likes a small learning environment. Likes a very diverse atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit it!

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive but there are plenty of scholarships to get. I have a several friends who go there who have a full ride.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the atmosphere! There's plenty to do on campus as well as things to do in the surrounding cities. Bristol has nice shopping. There is a club close bye that is pretty fun.

  • 01/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is perfect for those interested in the public - Emory and Henry greatly emphasizes helping those in need through volunteering and service learning projects (which incorporates volunteer work with learning). The college has great programs (extracurricular AND programs within a major) for students interested in public policy, outdoors, sports, athletic training, drama and theater, and business. It is a quieter school but very friendly, with all stereotypes represented in the school population - it's a place for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do absolutely everything you can to get scholarships. Loans seem like the easy solution to how you will pay for college, but once you are actually in school and the loans start adding up, you will wish you had more financial aid. Even though it is time-consuming, the best piece of advice is absolutely to apply for every scholarship that you can and CONTINUE to apply for them even when you are already accepted, enrolled, and/or attending college.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is clearly higher than some, but keep in mind it is a private school and that Emory and Henry is GREAT about helping with financial aid and scholarships. There are small class sizes and several options for on-campus housing, including one new co-ed dorm that feels more like a classy hotel than a dorm. However, if tuition is going to continue to be high, I would prefer more updates in the older dorms - the school is a historical landmark but I'd prefer if there was some modernization in the dorms.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is small but very friendly. For freshman, there are several days of orientation activities that make the transition into college much easier. The campus is beautiful, quiet, and seems very rural, but city activities are only about a half hour away. However, if you don't have a car the campus can be a little too small and unexciting after a while.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small and the professors are intelligent and easy to work with. There are plenty of opportunities for study sessions with a student instructor, and the professors are available outside of class for additional help. Instructors also demonstrate good depth of knowledge and enjoyment of the subject.

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Emory is great for people who can enjoy the slowness of life. It's a small campus built for an individualized learning experience. The people here are going to be leaders in their respective communities and many people here are very devoted to community service. You don't have to fit any type of mold to come here, but know this. You come to Emory & Henry College as a student. But you leave this campus a changed man or woman; ready to impact the lives of others for the better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply - I applied to this school as an afterthought, and when I got accepted it piqued my interest. The rest, they say, is history. Get Involved - This school is a very tight-knit community willing to care for one another. The more you're involved, the more likely you'll be offered opportunities that you couldn't get anywhere else. Attend Classes - The school is very strict on class attendance, and with the money you're paying to go there I would be too. Professors have individual attendance policies for their classes, and it pays to show up to class, lest you come one day to find your name removed from the class roll. Be Open - Coming here I had no idea what to expect. This school is seeped in tradition and if you choose to open yourself up to the experience, your time here will be some of the best years of your life. I know I enjoy it here, and if you choose to attend as well, I know you will too. Emory & Henry is famously know as being one of the colleges that changes lives. It's changed professors lives. It's changed lives of members of the community we service. It's changed my life, and countless others before me. Let it change yours.

    Bang for the buck

    Emory & Henry is an expensive liberal arts college, but the exchange for the quality of education is worth it in my eyes. When you apply online, you are automatically entered into consideration for several of their merit scholarships. When I received my acceptance letter, it also came with letters notifying me of my substantial scholarship awards. If these are not enough, the Financial Aid office is more than willing to help you find outside scholarships that you may be eligible for.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Emory & Henry campus is unique, to be certain. With a mix of buildings built in the 1800's to the most recent addition built in 2010, a walk through Emory & Henry is a walk through the college's history. The housing options are varied, with most Freshman living in the First-Year Village (a grouping of buildings on the main campus close to all of the main academic buildings) and upperclassmen having choices of living in The Village (house-type dorms ranging in age) located across the ever present railroad tracks. The extra-curricular activities are always well advertised and to be honest, just a trip to the duck pond to view the beautiful Appalachian scenery should be enough to make you want to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    Since coming to this college two years ago, I have learned so many things that have changed my world perspective. From the small class sizes (ranging from thirty to six; possibly even lower in some senior level classes) which offers a unique one-on-one type of learning, to the extra-curricular lyceums (lectures) offered in a variety of subjects almost every night, this college has opened my eyes to a brand new way of seeing things.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You call, they'll be there.

    Greek Life

    Emory greek life is great. There are quite a few greek organizations for the size of Emory which gives students lots of choice. Freshmen are not allowed to rush until second semester which is nice because it lets them get to know each group individually. None of the greeks are nationally affiliated also, so your brothers or sisters at Emory, are your only brothers and sisters, and you are brothers or sisters for life. It also means that you don't have to pay large national fees.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Swim in the duck pond, get kicked out of school. All freshmen have dinner at the President's house with the President, Roz, and her husband.

    What to do for fun

    There's stuff to do in the local communities, but nothing super exciting. You can always find a party if you want one.

    Food and Dining

    It's the caf... Cereal is good.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the time it's fairly quiet. RA's are always there if you need them and not there if you don't want them to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard, but if you do the readings you're golden.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend the night, it will really help you understand how Emory works.

    In three sentences

    I love Emory & Henry. Everyone is really kind and welcoming. This is more than a school, it is a community and family.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have campus police and campus security. emory is known to be one of the safest colleges in the nation.

    Greek Life

    there's many different fraternities and sororities on campus to choose from. if you don't want to be involved, you can still do things like watch the running of the bulls where they go out and pick who can try to get into their frat or sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities to get involved in. if there are some clubs or activities emory does not have, you can make your own if you really want to. emory & henry college is very open to students trying to make a difference.

    Great for these types of students

    it's a liberal arts school & 75% of the school is athletes. if you like the outdoors and just hanging out with friends, you'll like it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everyone has their own traditions depending on your class. every year new traditions are formed.

    What to do for fun

    not much to do for fun. there's a little movie theater and a little mall about 20-30 minutes from campus. there's trails and different outdoor activities to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    the caf food is increasing every year, it's a buffet so you can eat as much as you can. there's a few other places on campus that can provide food. there is also a macado's opening by the beginning of next school year.

    Dorm Life

    most of the dorms are old, but there are brand new dorms about to be built because of the increase in students. when it comes to the dorm life, the students usually find ways to have a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    academics is very important to emory & henry college. emory is ranked every year in the nation for different liberal arts achievements and all around college achievements.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to have an open mind and be ready for a change. the work is tough but not impossible, and it's worth the degree. emory & henry college is always ranked in the nation for many different categories. not much to do in the area, unless you love the outdoors.

    In three sentences

    emory has a high success rate once you have your degree from emory & henry college. the professors are able to have a lot of one on one time because of the size of the school. emory has a beautiful campus and is in the middle of an outdoor community.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    pricey. still, you could do a lot worse.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs or be bored. unless you're fine just watching movies and stuff with buds--which some of us are.

    Food and Dining

    has stepped way up this semester. still, not much in the way of options--there's the regular cafeteria, a snack stand that closes early afternoon, and a grill that's open til midnight.

    Dorm Life

    not all the dorms are heated/air-conditioned. some of the plumbing in the older houses are dodgy.

    Academic Rigor

    depending upon the major and time of the year, it can get fairly hairy.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class! with classes this small, professors will notice if you skip.

    In three sentences

    great if you learn best through discussion and want to build a rapport and relationship with professors. as for weekend life, though? not so much. the school is fairly bubbled off from everything--if you want to do anything friday night, expect a good half hour drive.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never felt unsafe on campus. campus security is easy to get to and come pretty quick when they're needed.

    Greek Life

    greek life is pretty popular here. the groups are smaller in size then your traditional sororities and fraternities, but they have a bond stronger than you can imagine. they get really into it too, so it's a lot of fun for those who are looking into it.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a lot of intermurals and football is big here. besides that there's always a club to sign up for. there's plenty of them to look into.

    Great for these types of students

    its a small school, so if you like that, then this is perfect for you. you get to know everyone pretty well, if not everyone a majority of them. we're like a family at emory.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have ghost tours in the beginning of each fall semester. it is said that mawa, the theater and byars are all haunted! there are plenty of good ghost stories to go around, but they're all fun nothing scary.

    Bang for the buck

    it can be pretty expensive here, but if you make the most out of it, it's worth every penny. plus they are really good about financial aid and give out a lot of scholarships to incoming freshman.

    What to do for fun

    there's plenty of on-campus activities. clubs, intermurals, greek life, etc. as a freshman, your ra will also throw hall activities which can be really fun.

    Food and Dining

    it's cafeteria food so it's not going to be gourmet or your moms homemade food but they aren't bad at all. you'll always find something you like and it's a great idea to stop at home town for lunch. its really good there. they do have really good holiday dinners, and they have to-go stands which is your basic grab and go and its pretty good. they also have the hut, which has your basic grilled foods and the best curly fries!

    Dorm Life

    there is a new dorm, and another one coming which are really nice. some of the building are also very old, but they aren't too bad and are livable. they are cleaned everyday and if you ever have problem maintenance is pretty quick about coming to fix it. they are a lot better then some of the dorms i've seen on other campus's.

    Academic Rigor

    can be very hard, but there is always help for you if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    read! most of my classes have a lot of reading, but if you don't read you'll regret it terribly. stay focused. this school is as hard as you make it, and as easy and you want it to be. there are so many resources for the students here to only help you. get involved. the more you get involved the more fun it is. getting involved in intermurals and clubs helps you make more friends and it's fun.

    In three sentences

    emory & henry is a challenging school with a lot of great professors. the professors here care if you understand the subject and give you every opportunity to succeed. this is a place were you'll grow great relationships and build great character.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the campus is absolutely stunning. the atmosphere of the school is what sold me. i absolutely adore the small feel of the campus and community.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, Security police will ticket you in a heart beat.

    Greek Life

    Really don't participate in the Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Whooowhoo

    Great for these types of students

    Ghost seekers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very old dorm which have some ghostly stories behind them.

    Bang for the buck

    You will receive a great college education and you do get the best education for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Softball, however, due to the new coach I prefer to stay and away and have a adventure.

    Food and Dining

    Great, although you do become tiresome of it. But hey it's college life.

    Dorm Life

    It's come a long way baby!

    Academic Rigor

    Medium

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are from a City, you may want to consider E&H, this University will take you away from the every day rat race that is found in the city.

    In three sentences

    Best lil University this side of the Tenn border. No, such beautiful countryside and landscaping that is hidden right off the main corridor of Route 81. Enriched educational values, that have remained with me for 2 years, you get the most out of this college.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great at Emory and Henry. Everyone feels safe while attending Emory.

    Clubs and Activities

    Different clubs and activities include; Spiritual Life group, various academic clubs, Media groups, special interests groups, service groups, and multicultural groups. At Emory and Henry, students can create a group if they cannot find one that they fit in with. There is something for everyone at Emory and Henry College.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do on campus while not in classes. There are various sororities, fraternities, and other extra curricular actives on campus. These include; clubs/organizations, Spiritual Life group, and different events held on campus held by the certain clubs and organizations. Students can also go to different sporting events on campus. Emory and Henry sporting events really bring students together.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining at Emory and Henry College is incredible. Many students say it is the best they have had in the college setting. Emory and Henry is now completely renovating two of its major dining facilities.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Emory and Henry College is extremely fun and safe. Emory and Henry is currently building new dorms and renovating old ones to further their wonderful dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Emory and Henry cares very much about academics. Classes are hard, but not impossible and professors are amazing at meeting individually with students to make sure we excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and visit Emory and Henry. You will see just how amazing the campus and its people are. Call and set up a private visit to campus. This is an amazing way to see how the school is on a normal basis. You can even sit in on classes of your choice to see if you would fit in well.

    In three sentences

    Emory and Henry is a small, private Methodist School in Emory, Va. Emory and Henry on average has 1,000 students. There is something for absolutely everyone at Emory and Henry College.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police can be found very quickly, and are quick to respond. Also, you have to have a key to get into the dormitories. The campus is small and very safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very important to students at E&H. There are many different fraternities and sororities, including honors. Freshman must wait until their second semester to rush, but you can get involved in honors frats your first semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    I cannot even name all the activities and clubs there are. There are so many things to do around campus. At the beginning of you first semester, and during orientation you get a taste for all there is to do.

    Great for these types of students

    E&H is great for all types of students! There are many different areas of study that should fit everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the running of the bulls to kick off pledge week for Fraternities and Sororities. Also, it is very traditional for freshman to be woken up to multiple fire alarms throughout the year. The best tradition though, is ghost hunting since the main freshman dorm is haunted. There is also the tradition of student activities such as quiditch.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a steep price at E&H, but it is worth it! I would say that the cultural experience you get with Southwest Virginia, and the academic training you get as a student is well worth it. E&H also has wonderful financial aid opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    For fun? Students usually go out and hang out in nearby Bristol or Abingdon for fun. There are also many different lakes for the warmer months. E&H has an outdoor program that is also wonderful. They go hiking, boating, fishing, rock climbing, and many other things. Me and some of my friends go hunting and caving for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the cafe is usually hit or miss. Sometimes its good, especially if there are visitors on campus. But, there are other places to eat. The hut is a wonderful fast food place on campus, and the hometown is wonderful as well. Across the street is Macado's which is fabulous.

    Dorm Life

    College dorm life is amazing. E&H is no exception. The freshman dorms are air conditioned and heated, and have a fair amount of space. There are two new dormitories one of which is already open and the other should be opened next semester. It is awesome living with your friends and being able to hang out. And most of all, not have parents to listen to.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at E&H challenge students very hard. Although there isn't as much homework as I expected, I am very challenged in classroom conversations (which most professors grade for). I also find the tests to be extremely challenging. However, professors are always available to talk to if you need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should come and visit campus before hand. Email admissions about staying a weekend. They should be able to hook you up with a place to stay. When visiting sit in on some classes you are interested in. You will find that the small class sizes give an opportunity to participate and hold educated conversation easier. You will also get to experience the fun of college life!

    In three sentences

    Emory and Henry College is a great place to get an education. It is a small Liberal Arts College in rural Virginia. The faculty challenge students daily to become a better person, student, and productive worker in the career path they are choosing.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is rated as one of the top safest schools!

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy being around people so me and my friends will just hang out or watch movies! Plus, there's tons to do in the local cities/towns.

    Food and Dining

    There's so many choices to choose from - Macados, Hometown, The Hut, The Caf, etc. And it's all so good!

    Dorm Life

    LOVE MY DORM! You have all your friends around you so it's no problem whenever you want to hang out!

    Academic Rigor

    The classrooms are great! They're very comfortable and the teachers make you enjoy being in the classroom!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visiting the college is what won me over - it's small and breathtaking! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming! I never felt like an 'underclassmen' either.

    In three sentences

    Emory and Henry College is truly a great experience! I love the campus, faculty and the friends I've made here! Emory was definitely the right choice for my future!

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security focuses more on parking tickets than student activities. Security needs to take a closer look at underage drinking issues.

    Bang for the buck

    Emory and Henry College is a very expensive private college! More offerings need to be offered for dedicated students with good GPAs leaving high school to help with costs. It is unfair that your parents work hard and make a decent living and because of it, you cannot get aid!

    What to do for fun

    You have to drive about 25 minutes to go to a movie or a really good restaurant.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining areas is absolutely wonderful! They offer a good variety for all tastes! The college needs to consider looking at opening a food area inside the King Center.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are in bad need of updates, repairs and definitely some paint! Some dorms are very loud!

    Academic Rigor

    I love my professors! They are more than willing to help! Academic course offerings are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the scholarships that you can. Emory and Henry College is quite expensive!

    In three sentences

    Emory and Henry is a beautiful campus. The professors are very caring and intelligent in their areas of study. You will have no problem making friends here.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small school and even with no campus security I would not feel in danger to walk around at night.

    Food and Dining

    I also do not eat on campus often, but there is a restaurant on campus and the cafeteria has a good selection.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I am majoring in Biology and the majority of the classes I have taken have required effort to do well in.