Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Emporia State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes, like to get to know classmates and teacher, like small college towns. However it may sound like everything is smaller in Emporia but we have some big fun! It's not what you think, Emporia is so much more than meets the eye!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are attending Emporia than get ready to meet some great people! I am not sure how Emporia is based on other colleges, but if you want to have smaller class sizes, get to know people in your classes and your teacher, and have a small college town atmosphere than Emporia is for you! There are a lot of on campus activities and things to get involved in. I am involved in my Towers Complex government and plan awesome FREE activities in my residence hall. There are so many activities such as movie on the lawn. The town also has fun activities such as when they shut down commercial street and all the college students get free food and prizes. We have smore cookouts and there are always things to win or do in the memorial union. There's many clubs such as UMC or KNEA which is a teachers club I am involved in. I think the best choice I ever made was to stop following my friends choice for college and look for myself. Although I did not know anyone attending Emporia from my high school, that didn't stop me! I love it, I feel like I am actually on my own and not running with the crowd any longer. Choosing a college was one of my hardest decisions and Emporia was one of the colleges I thought I would never attend. Come to find out, it was my best choice I ever made and I am so happy I did. Don't take it from me though, maybe Emporia isn't for you. Though what ever you choose make sure you choose the college that's best for you not what anyone else says or because someone you know is going there. It's your future take the bull by the horns and make the best change of your life! Go Hornets!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and prices are a little more expensive than I had hoped but, I don't regret spending the money it is worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Emporia! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. I feel as though it is almost a big family even though it's a large college campus. Everyone smiles when they walk by. Teachers are helpful and classes are not bigger than forty if even twenty. The school really prepares and cares about their students. The freshman swarm program really helped me to become outgoing and meet new people. A great icebreaker! The city of Emporia is also great for college students, some shopping and some unique and great places to eat. It's so much fun to go out with friends and spend a night out on the town. There are many places to volunteer or be apart of. I volunteer with a girl scout troop which is lots of fun and it doesn't take away from my school work or down time. Big Brothers big sisters and youthfriends are always happy to have college students help out and it's a great program to add to a resume. Emporia is the best! Go Hornets!

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are pretty easy! Though I am learning a lot of new topics. It is like a continuation from what I learned in high school! But classes are more fun and there is a lot more down time.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love a having a good time, but at the same time learning and taking care of business this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Emporia State University you will have to attend swarm. Swarm is a very well organized freshman orentation which will allow you to view the campus and get a feel for the place. They will inform you on everything you need to know. As a freshman if you will be living in the dorms bring plenty of soap and towels.

    Bang for the buck

    The tution cost is relatively low compared to the level of teaching you will recieve. Emporia State university is among the top best teaching schools in the nation. Allowing for more bang for your buck. Taking advantage of the low prices to attend will land you in great classes allowing you to get everything you need to excel.

    Am enjoying being here

    As far as enjoyment goes I have never been happier in a town. The people of Emporia are friendly and outgoing. The nightlife is awesome. Coles, beer 30, and despoes just to name a few are great places to hangout during the weekend. As a freshman The dorms are the place to be, you can get a suite or a two person room. living in the dorms is like a big party all your friends are a few steps away. The campus is beautiful. You will never have a dull moment at Emporia state university

    Am learning a lot

    Attending Emporia State university has defiantely improved my learning abilities. The programs they offer to help aid in studying and learning are endless. You have every chance in the world to learn here at Emporia State. When I came to college I had a 2.8 After just one year here I now have a 3.52. The classes are fair in size, therefore you have more one on one time with your professors leaving you in a better enviroment to pick up and retain the material. If you have problems learning Emporia State is The school with the utilities to help u utilize your skills and better yourself.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is from a mid-sized or small school will enjoy Emporia State. Even in my large lecture classes, my teachers know my name and take initiative to answer questions from everyone. It is a small campus, so you're able to walk from once side to another in less than ten minutes. You see the same people every day, and people recognize you and say hi, so it's really nice in the aspect of not being surrounded by thousands of strangers like you would have in a bigger school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to live in the Towers Complex. They're a bit more expensive than the Singular/Trussler Complex, but that's because they were recently renovated. They have floor lobbies so it allows you to be social and meet loads of people. Also, don't get the Unlimited Meal Plan. The cafeteria food isn't that great, so even though it's the best deal, you probably won't want to go there enough to make it worth the price.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny. For a state university, it is relatively cheap also.

    Am enjoying being here

    To be concise, I am having the time of my life right now. I'm learning new things, I'm active in several clubs, I am meeting awesome people, and have a great educational program. It's so nice having the independence of being in the dorms also, but not having to worry about bills like you would have living in a house or apartment.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very explanatory. When I was in high school, I took advanced courses, so I'm taking classes that I've sorta already taken right now (I've only been here a semester), but I'm still learning more about them and remembering things better. The teachers are also very willing to help outside of class, and work with your schedule to do it. Also, the majority of the teachers relate to the students very well and use teaching techniques that will keep your attention.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    esu dining is a great place were you can find all your favorites at once. in addition to the cafetiere we have a shop that is called the hornet express that has snacks when you are on the go, a sub and sandwich bar, a burrito and nacho bar, and last but not least a smoothie station.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms here are spectacular, the staff consists of many students which makes it easier to adjust and they make sure your time in the dorms are comfortable and fun environment with many events that brings students together.

    Academic Rigor

    here at esu the school focuses on the power of teaching and learning. this schools meet students where they are and help them by bridging any gap to gain higher achievement in all students academic goals.

    In three sentences

    emporia state university is a great school, it is a very student driven campus with lots of opportunity's to get involved with the community and different clubs. the teachers and staff are very welcoming and go out of there way to make sure all needs of the students are met. the class sizes are perfect and the teachers actually make sure to get to know the students.

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who may need a push to meet new people(like me), students who aren't really sure what they want to major in, and even students who just need to get away from home. I like it here, and Emporia isn't as small as I thought it would be. Being from Wichita, I was a little afraid it would be boring, but it's definitely not!

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that if you are going to live in the dorms here, you should definitely try and get a suite in the Towers complex! Having the extra space is nice, and it doesn't feel as small. In regards to classes, just make sure you stay organized! The more organized you are, the less overwhelmed you're likely to be. Also, some professors like to give pop quizzes, so go over your notes before class just in case!

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel as though I am getting my money's worth! Emporia was really great about making sure I got enough loans, grants, and scholarships to attend here! The tuition rate here is a flat rate, and it is the best thing ever! I love being able to take as many hours as I feel like, and know I could take a silly class without having to worry about exceeding my financial limits!

    Am enjoying being here

    I just love it here! I think that it is a great place to be, and a good change of pace for me. I enjoy being here, and living in the dorms is great. I have met a lot of new people, and for not being the most outgoing person, I feel as though I know a significant amount of people here. It's super!

    Am learning a lot

    My classes right now are easier than I expected, but it's good! I feel as though I'm learning a lot, and it all feels relevant to my major! I definitely feel as though the teachers here know their stuff, and I can understand them all very well. They all seem highly knowledgeable too!

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education majors! People who don't mind a smaller campus & who want a personal connection with professors rather than being one in a lecture of 100+ students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Actually go to floor events. Go to football games! Best restaurants are Peking (Chinese), La Hacienda (Mexican), & Pizza Ranch (great buffet on Mondays).

    Bang for the buck

    ESU is the cheapest 4-year university in the state of KS and you get an awesome education for the price you pay, especially if you're an education major. ESU was recently ranked in the top 4 teaching schools in the nation.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm a Resident Assistant in the dorms, so I obviously love being on campus, seeing as I hardly ever leave. ESU has a gorgeous campus and while Emporia is definitely a smaller town, it has a ton of great stuff to do around town, such as the Granada Theatre, UAC events on campus, and nightlife.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm still taking a lot of general education classes that are similar to my high school classes, but my more major-specific classes are INCREIDBLE. The professors are awesome for the most part and I feel like I'm getting a great value for what I'm paying.

  • 11/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is okay to be unsure what you want to do for the rest of your life. I changed my major two years in and I'm still on track to graduate on time. Explore all your options!

    Academic Rigor

    Each class I have taken have played such an important role. I learn a lot in all of my classes and enjoy the teachers. They are willing to explain subjects and help with questions you may have.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Flat rate tuition is amazing! Especially at Emporia, you will get an amazing educations for very little cost!

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere is laid back, and the people are always so kind. The only thing that stinks is the fact that as a town, Emporia can be quite boring.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I really enjoy being at Emporia and I encourage everyone who attends college to get involved in all campus activities becuase it reall helps you meet new people!

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    esu is great for any type of student. it is the place to go if you are focused on achieving and learning. it is also great for those who want to have fun yet still be successful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    two buildings on the campus were former schools. roosevelt hall used to be roosevelt high school and butcher used to be an elementary school.

    Bang for the buck

    emporia has a great tuition price and is less expensive than the bigger state schools with the same quality education and experiences. they also offer many scholarships that help with financially needy students.

    What to do for fun

    the union activities council always has monthly events that are super fun and free. the residence halls also have monthly activities for residents to enjoy. there are also a ton of clubs and organizations to join and be a part of. in the community there is also a mini mall area and a movie theater, along with a lot of local businesses on commercial st. for shopping.

    Food and Dining

    esu just remodeled their memorial union and the dining hall is completely new! the pizza is great along with grilled in front of you hamburgers, waffle makers, tons of cereal, an omelette bar and a ton of other choices.

    Dorm Life

    the residence halls offer great community and friendship. the ra's are friendly and caring. many of the programs in the halls are engaging and educational, demonstrating emporia's pursuit of quality education experiences. there are also many different room layouts and amenities offered in the dorms. for example, one hall has access to a full kitchen, every hall has prepaid washers and dryers, games and recreation areas.

    Academic Rigor

    i am most familiar with education department. the classes that i have taken have ranged in difficulty from high school levell to i must study every night to pass. over all it is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to get involved on campus; it is very easy to do. make sure to make connections not only with your peers but also with professors. and of course actually go to class and study!

    In three sentences

    emporia is a welcoming place where teachers actually learn your name. classes are challenging yet students are still able to achieve. emporia also offers many great opportunities for students such as leadership roles, community service development, study abroad programs and quality internships.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    my friends and i spend most of our time hanging out playing video games or watching movies. the bars/clubs around emporia make for a fun night of dancing with friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food at emporia is good but can get very repetitive based on your meal choices.

    Dorm Life

    the towers complex, where i currently live, is amazing. the people are very friendly and you aren't greeted by a random person working the front desk.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes at esu are challenging but i haven't found a professor that isn't willing to help out when you get stuck or just simply don't fully understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    live in the dorms, it's the best way to meet people fast and make great friendships.

    In three sentences

    i really like emporia state university for three main reasons; the staff and students are all very friendly, you can meet new people every day, and the campus is very compact so it is easy to make it to class without running across campus or having to drive your car all around.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we were just rated one of the safest campuses in kansas

    Greek Life

    not a member

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of activities for people to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is a little drab, but they are in the middle of renovating the entire student union. . so i'll give it another shot next year. :)

    Dorm Life

    i love the dorms. every girl on my floor has become my friend. and 3 out of the 4 best friends i have here are from my floor. you meet so many people in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    not to bad.

    In three sentences

    i love it here. the campus is beautiful and i have made so many friends. i love my coursework as well; its just the right difficulty.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    esu campus have emergency phone in many locations throughout the campus and esu police are available 24/7. however, the city of emporia is a quite town itself.

    Clubs and Activities

    all clubs at esu are active, they have great members that love to enjoy live!

    Bang for the buck

    12 credit hours is full time at esu, any additional classes are basically free! esu is a flat-rate college so you can take extra classes without increasing your tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    esu host many event on and off campus, movies, dances, and games! its a great way to meet and get to know the faculty and other students.

    Food and Dining

    the campus offers a wide variety of food and dining. the cooking is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    lived off campus so i don't know how the dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    professors at esu are always available to provide extra help and answer questions you might have about their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask questions, take the tours that are offered, and enjoy the searching process.

    In three sentences

    esu provides excellent opportunities for all individuals. faculty members at esu care about their students, you are not just a number. esu is more than a teachers college, they offers many other degree programs (business, psychology, art, etc.) that are nationally recognized.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is taken serious at esu. whether it's in regards to personal information of physical well being. there are emergency phones spread strategically throughout campus along with marked crosswalks and a variety of other safety features.

    Bang for the buck

    for those of you trying to get the most for your money, esu is the way to go. with a very competitive flat rate tuition coupled with small town living expenses, it is hard to ignore the savings.

    What to do for fun

    for fun i usually hangout with friends, watch movies and like the majority of college students; i eat.

    Food and Dining

    the food at esu it's comparable to that of a high-school cafeteria but a much larger selection. aside from that there is a very flexible dining schedule which allows a lot more freedom when compared to the of previous schooling.

    Dorm Life

    not, speaking from personal experience. the dorm life is the epitome of the college experience. it is for many, the first step into adulthood. with it comes many responsibilities but also allows students to really discover themselves and make life-long connections.

    Academic Rigor

    classes that are similar to courses in high-school are vastly different. the work load is significantly harder and you are expected to perform at maximum potential rather than with an average individual. the courses are aimed to thin out the unmotivated students in order to let driven ones excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    go in with an open mind and be willing to try new things. things such as studying will most likely need to be revamped in order to keep up with the fast paced learning often associated with college.

    In three sentences

    emporia state university is a culturally enriched school. the small classes offer students the rare opportunity to develop personal relationships with their teachers and truly get the most out of the college experience.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've heard stories about emporia state university, but so far the safety seems good and safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    christian challenge (and fast-track group): it's where followers of christ gather, worship, and hear the message. in addition, if a participant of christian challenge wants to do a small group with some of the other participants, then they'll sign up to be in a group. i signed up to be in the freshman bible study group (fast-track).

    Great for these types of students

    students who want a smaller university/college to attend. also those who don't like a big class, and are looking for friends. these types of students may be good at emporia state university, because the campus is small enough to see other students almost everyday (or everyday) and since the student population is smaller, the classmates will be smaller.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's an old one school building on the campus. the one school building is really small and it was actually used back then. it's only has big as an average classroom and can only hold one classroom of students.

    What to do for fun

    emporia state university offers $4 movie nights. there are also free tickets to events such as a performances, at the theater nearby. the clubs/organizations at esu will also hold events for the esu students to attend. example, the international club holds events that allow esu students (and others) to have a taste of international food.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is better than i thought.

    Dorm Life

    it's better than i thought. at least i know someone on my floor. it's also easier because i know that i have at least one friend from school.

    Academic Rigor

    an academic rigor will be my classes. some are a little challenging and harder to understand (because there's so many vocabularies).

    In three sentences

    emporia state university (esu) is a beautiful campus. the students, faculty members, etc are also all friendly--which makes the place even more warming. although the campus is not as big as any other universities, esu is a great place to meet and make new friends.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The flat fee rate is the greatest for non-traditional students.

    What to do for fun

    Many of the clubs on campus offer things such as movie nights, game nights and also there is a student recreation center that is outstanding.

    Food and Dining

    The university offers many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a nice way to create friendships

    Academic Rigor

    Emporia State University's academic rigor is held to a high standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should take advantage of the small class sizes and get to know their professors.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Emporia State University as a school that offers small classes, at a very affordable rate. ESU's campus is the right size for students that may find other universities too big and intimidating. I would give Emporia State University a 9 out of 10.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt in danger here on campus. Completely safe!

    Greek Life

    Alpha Kappa Lambda, Kappa Sigma, Phi Delta Theta, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Sigma Pi, and Sigma Tau Gamma are the fraternities. Alpha Sigma Alpha, Alpha Sigma Tau, Chi Omega, and Sigma Sigma Sigma are our sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs and activities for EVERYONE. If we don't have it, create it!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wooster lake is relaxing, as is the fountain at the front of the campus. As far as unusual traditions go? Well, we have a fascination with Corky the hornet. Everyone needs a picture with Corky!

    Bang for the buck

    There is a pottery shop on campus in the union. Go to the shop, pay anywhere from 5 to 10 dollars on an already made pottery piece (cup, plate, picture frame, coaster, light switch covers, teapots,) and you can paint it how ever you want, take as long as you want and it is fired within a week. There are 4 words that would make everyone happy...FOUR DOLLAR MOVIE NIGHT! With the ticket prices reaching almost $9 here, $4 movie night is GREAT. You can purchase your tickets in the union (2 per person) and it is a great date. Football games are free to those who have student ID's

    What to do for fun

    Bowling at Flint Hills Lane, go to Natashas, Rollers, Wild Wild West, numerous events held by groups on campus

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great. They give you plenty of choices for what to eat. You can choose from Italian, home style, burgers and fries, healthy foods, and an AWESOME breakfast selection. They also have an awesome chocolate milk machine, and there are your usual soda(with flavors like cherry, vanilla, blue powerade and for that extra shot of energy, volt), coffee and teas. But, if you don't feel like going through the cafeteria, you can go to the Hornet Express where you can grab a freshly made smoothie, Mexican food, sub sandwiches, fruit, snacks, drinks before class.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is AMAZING. They really try to make you feel like you're at home. With frequent floor events, pool tables, tv's, and wonderful people, the dorm life is great. Just beware of the 3am fire drills!

    Academic Rigor

    I find a lot of the classes here to be pretty easy. A lot of your classes like general Biology and Algebra will prove to be challenging, but they are easy to over come. My professors have a sense of humor making classes bearable, with the exception of my Biology class. If you're willing to put in the effort then classes will be easy for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your professors if you are having trouble in a class. They are always and will always be there for you. NEVER put off studying for a test-- I know this seems like common sense, but there is a force that takes over you when you get to college. Social life, good grades, and sleep... you can only choose two.

    In three sentences

    Emporia State is home. I never had a problem with Emporia State until recently. If you're looking for a place that is big enough but still has small class sizes, Emporia State is the place fore you!

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is a huge Greek Life population. Anyone looking for a good brother or sisterhood will be set at ESU.

    Great for these types of students

    Education, Nursing, and Psychology

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus woods are great for exploring and finding a cozy place to escape for a little while.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition goes up each semester but it's usually used to improve the campus and make students want to spend time there instead of at home.

    What to do for fun

    Spending time with the people in your classes and creating friendships to get you through the toughest years of your life. Friends will make or break your experience in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient and persistent. Don't let the instructors walk all over you and make sure you speak up in class. Relationships with teachers are everything and letters of recommendation are essential for graduate school!

    In three sentences

    Emporia has potential to be an amazing school. The Psychology department is top notch and I wouldn't change much of anything. Admissions and Financial Aid offices are incredibly difficult to work with though.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I was looking for a completely on-line program for Health/Physical Ed/Recreation. I found that at ESU. Some people think that on-line education is cheating. It absolutely is not. If anything it takes more self control and focus. The assignments I have received have been both challenging and educational.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be to know what you want early and follow through with it.

    In three sentences

    ESU is a wonderful school. It was very simple to register and enroll. I like the opportunity to participate in on-line education at an actual university.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greeks have a ton of fun if you enjoy alcohol and strobe lights.

    Food and Dining

    The food was pretty great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, but had many problems with the fire alarm in the middle of the night.

    Academic Rigor

    I had 3 unrelated classes all with similar curriculums and assignment. The PT program is a joke and is only a biology degree and has nothing to do with anything related to PT.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here for Physical Therapy, it's a joke.

    In three sentences

    This place is filthy, and has a roach infestation. I recommend not coming here, because it's disgusting and constantly smells like putrid carcasses. On the plus side, the brick work is pretty.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    White, straight, closed-minded bible-thumpers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The KKK meets on the back country roads.

    Bang for the buck

    Discrimination and judgements

    What to do for fun

    Kick rocks or if you want to spice it up, kick dirt AND rocks!

    Food and Dining

    Mcdonalds

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are disgusting.

    Academic Rigor

    SUCKS

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are gay, don't go here. Well, I guess only go here if your straight, christian, and white.

    In three sentences

    This school and town is full of closed-minded, conservative homophobes

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emporia is a small town and campus is pretty safe with an officer around all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs for students of all interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a small town atmosphere and one on one time with the teacher would love ESU.

    What to do for fun

    The student recreation center has great equipment and the student government has a great recreation comity.

    Food and Dining

    The new Union has some great dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Fellow students seem to be pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone seems to have a great attitude.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask anybody questions.

    In three sentences

    Emporia State has a great personal atmosphere. The library is really nice. The teachers and staff are willing to work with you.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Great way to get involved with the campus and it also opens more doors than it would for some.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out at the dorms with my floormates, whether its our floor lobby or the main lobby.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take an online class make sure you pay attention to deadlines. Also get involved with your campus.

    In three sentences

    I think Emporia State University is a very good school to attend. The teachers are very knowledgable in their fields,

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This places is so beautiful. It also has just the right size of student body. I can't wait to go here it looks like everything I'm looking for.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emporia State University's security places the student's well being as a top priority. Anything that happens on campus is dealt with in a efficient manner that leaves no doubt in anyone's mind that the campus is a safe place.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Emporia is great. You have a variety of options to fit whatever you are craving.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is geared toward incoming students to get connected, and to not feel isolated. The measures taken to achieve this goal makes students feel welcome and engages them in the campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards that teachers as well as students place on themselves is great. Not only do you have teachers interested in you doing well, the students make a huge effort in making their experience at the University matter. This effort is recognized and is what allows the teachers to go that extra mile.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, i encourage you to find something on campus and get involved. Rather it be a academic or extra curricular activity is up to you, just get involved. Making new connections and friends will expand your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Emporia is growing in student diversity that allows for a experience that will last a lifetime. The quality of teaching and the atmosphere of the classes will engage students from all backgrounds. My time here has been worthwhile, and it's because of the teachers, the environment that engages students, and the cultural diversity.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have lots of security for your safety they make this a priority on campus.

    Greek Life

    Lots of options if you want to go Greek

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone from religious to hobby oriented. The Union Activities Council has lots of events for students that are free.

    Great for these types of students

    Music education majors , Elementary Education , Art majors, Nursing , Business

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bridge in the middle of Wooster lake is to be magical for couples if you kiss the person you love on midnight in the middle of the bridge you will be with them forever.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is flat rate so you don't pay for credit hours. Cheaper Lots of local business has discounts for college students.

    What to do for fun

    The fun zone is right down the road from campus. They have mini golf and go carts. Plenty of parks with sand volley ball. The zoo is free also the movie theater is in the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has lots of options for every kind of eater. Lots of restaurants within walking distance of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are newer and are suite style. Upperclassman are in the older Morse hall has lots of character

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be hard depending on major. The professors are willing to help and expect questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early for scholarships Campus visit during the fall you get to experience the football games. Walk around downtown see the town visit the boutiques Go to the student union and hang out with other college students. Gives you a inside look.

    In three sentences

    A great school for creative minds with small class sizes. The teachers are wonderful and understanding. A great place for future educatorss best teaching program in the Midwest.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a high maintaing organized group of security. It is very safe and I feel comfortable walking around without any worries

    Greek Life

    Lots of different fraternities and amazing groups of different ethnics and religions

    Clubs and Activities

    sports

    Great for these types of students

    ESU is a big athletic and educational organizations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I spend all my free times working out and on the field. I attend school functions as long as they have to do with athletics functions

    Bang for the buck

    My main purpose for school is too complete my education and continue growing in my desired field. I am trying to better my life so I can help my family

    What to do for fun

    I am an athlete, I am trying to focus on school only. I play football on my off time from school. I life weights and try to stay focused on school.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is great. They allow you to have enough needed to survive. The meal plan is enough to eat 3 time daily

    Dorm Life

    Dorm living is amazing, they provide the student body with alll necessary tools. All of my need are met and anything that is needed it is provided

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars to the academic staff. I feel the professors are very well preparred to teach this student body. I feel I could learn and further my education in this school

    Tips for prospective students

    ESU is a great opportunity to further your education. ESU is a great establishment I would recommend anyone to this school.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying the opportunity that ESU is offering me to further my education. They have a great teaching staff and students. I am an athlete and love the organization

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and dining here reminds me of a all you can eat buffet with the way it is set up. Students can have anything from pizza, to salad, to omelets, to burgers. The cafeteria has plenty of options that can be mixed up to keep you from getting bored of college food.

    Dorm Life

    There are two kinds of dorms for incoming freshmen, Singular and Towers. I live in a room in Singular, the cheaper of the two options, and I love the amount of storage space I have. Also, if you just follow what they recommend to bring to the dorms at the start of the year, you'll have a very comfortable room despite what seems to be a small room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here on campus keep you actively learning. Students can take a variety of classes at once, depending on their major, and the teachers help keep students up on learning sufficiently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't count this out because it's a small college, you never know what you might like about this university until you take a look at it.

    In three sentences

    Emporia State University is a great college that provides great opportunities for more than Teaching majors. The college is affordable and the class sizes are small in comparison to other colleges. ESU also gives lots of opportunities to be involved and make all sorts of new friends.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We do have a lot of clubs it would take forever to name, but we have, gamers club, computer club, HALO, christian club. All the clubs put on some fundraisers in order to collect money for activities or field trips they would like to do.

    What to do for fun

    Students usually like walking around campus just to hang out, but during the spring they play some volleyball outside, to get all their stress out. There are also some events like football games, theatre dramas, art exhibits, music concerts.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus isnt all that bad, we have an express sub shop, we have a cafe, and a cafeteria in the form of a buffet, which they have mostly everything there. it does become a little pricey though the cafeteria is around 8 bucks. But it is pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    Ive heard dorm life is all that great, i which students miss there home, their bed, they even get tired of it.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is mainly for teachers, but its become an really good experience for me, and the assignments are just what i need to understand the material. The teachers will really try to help, even after class hours which is really nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be a procrastinator because it does catch up with you, and it becomes a bad habit. Always study throughout the course and not at the last minute. Always be in class because its hard catching up with assignments. And always have an awesome attitude, because thatll really help in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Its a very nice, laid back campus, its a perfect place to sit back and study, wether its at the library or the union. The teachers are also amazing and are there when you need them.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many types of clubs at Emporia State. They always have flyer's around campus so student know when and where the meetings are. Also, if you are scared to go to a new club, take a friend along and see what the club has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your friends, go to the movies, or go out workout together.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Emporia State is pretty good. But there is always the same option, which may get boring sometimes. But the food is always great!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always fun. You meet so many new people and form lasting friendship that will last for a long time!

    Academic Rigor

    Emporia State is a great school to go to receive higher educations. The professor and advisories are there to help you to reach your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with campus life!

    In three sentences

    Emporia State University is a fun and great college to go to. There are lots of opportunity to get involved with campus.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    prospective teachers

    Bang for the buck

    ESU is a great institution for education

    What to do for fun

    Clubbing, bowling, eating, drinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions. Someone will answer it or find someone that can.

    In three sentences

    They are very worth attending. I am doing an online course and I don't ever have to be on campus. They are very helpful.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much in this small town, but they have some great little spots like Beer 30.

    Academic Rigor

    They work you hard, but understand there is life outside of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Online courses are great and the teachers help you step by step.

    In three sentences

    Emporia State really helps you through the whole process. They even come up with an education plan, that way you know what classes you are taking at every step. It is a great school to attend and they treat you like they care.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall the Campus its pretty safe i havent heard of anything dangerous happening ever.

    Clubs and Activities

    I still need to find out.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a place for students that like small sized classes, and students that wants to get to know the proffersors.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall I think Emporia State is the place to be according to my friends, but i will find out in two months.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go the the gym and workout.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten once there, and let me tell you its delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live there, but I have had friends there and they said they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard its challenging, but thats the reason you go to college right?

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a lot of fun!

    In three sentences

    I am so thrilled to come to Emporia State University. I have heard so many great things about this great facility. Everyone is welcoming and friendly and is your money's worth.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Emporia State University lacks on things to do for fun. There is always something to do but there isn't a lot of advertisement about certain events. Emporia doesn't have a lot to do for college students in the community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay although there is a decent amount of food to choose from. The cafeteria has many different dining selections to choose from. The food is prepared well and everything is served hot. The cafeteria is clean and newly renovated.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun and lots to get involved in. They have lots of activities for students to participate in and do. You meet a lot of new people that become great friends. The dorms are clean and cozy with cable and internet.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very helpful and willing tot help students. There many classes and majors to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, the more people you know the better!

    In three sentences

    Emporia State University is a beautiful school, very quiet and safe community. I would rate it about a 3.5 overall.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just the feel of the campus is safe. We do however have 911-Help police poles all over campus if anyone ever does think their safety is in jeopardy.

    Greek Life

    We have a handful of fraternities and sororities at ESU. All of them help out a great deal with the activities the college hosts and they host a lot of their own events. They are every active within the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for about every major and just other random clubs. If you can think of it, it is probably already a club and if not, start your own!

    What to do for fun

    Go to athletic events, join clubs, make new friends and hang out. There is endless fun here at ESU!

    Food and Dining

    I have only ate in the cafe a couple times but it was excellent food. There are so many items to choose from and it's pretty cheap.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms but everyone talks about how they love the dorms. Free laundry!

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone succeeds with the help of their instructors, faculty, and other students. Everyone was you to succeed and accomplish your dreams!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Emporia State!!! Get involved in any and every club. They also have fun courses to take and all kinds of activities year around to enjoy.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are always willing to help students inside and outside of class time, they want to see them succeed. Beautiful, spacious campus with tons of clubs and groups to get involved with. Great athletics program, the students are encouraged to stay on top of their grades and their coaches are involved in their academic success.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe environment, always police and safety around (and parking guys! Always check your meter and pay your tickets... boots on your car are embarrassing , it's a small enough place where everyone knows your car!)

    Clubs and Activities

    Good bar scene, movies are pretty cheap!

    Great for these types of students

    Good party school, good academic school , good for small town people! Not a large town, so unless you had small town experience , you would hate Emporia if you are from a large city.

    Bang for the buck

    Flat rate tuition is THE BOMB!

    What to do for fun

    Bar scene is pretty much it.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, Emporia only gets a 4 because of La Hacienda and Pizza Ranch. La Ha , as the college kids call it, has amazing and cheap Mexican food! Pizza Ranch has good Pizza and they have fried chicken and mashed potatoes too! A great buffet to go to, and they offer student discounts!

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms were alright, they are plenty nice and there was always lots to do! However, the upper class dorms are awful. They are not well taken care of and the people are a bit strange... get an apartment after freshman year! If you budget right, it will actually SAVE you money!

    Academic Rigor

    The Teacher's College was tough. You have to work really hard to get through , but it is all worth it in the end! General education classes are a joke, but I'm sure they are at every college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check with your adviser before enrolling in classes , you don't want to be a senior in a general education class because you enrolled yourself wrong!

    In three sentences

    Emporia State has a friendly, inviting and warm atmosphere about it. The professors and advisers care about you and the teacher's college is full of some of the most kind and understanding people you will ever meet. I loved it here, and was said to leave the college I had grown to love.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's so easy to find things to do on campus, there are announcements sent out daily that include all of the different activities that are being held the following day so there is never a dull moment. From ultimate Frisbee to Associated Student Government, there is always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Aside from the Hornets Nest (cafeteria) there are plenty of other options. The Hornet Xpress offers a wide variety of food for students who want a change of pace; there is also a Starbucks on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is incredible! With the help of the amazing Residential Life Staff, students are able to get to know one another and form long lasting friendships because of it.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what kind of course load you are looking to take, Emporia State University has exactly what you are looking for. From advanced classes to general education courses, there are opportunities to better yourself academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and meet with potential professors or counselors to learn more about the opportunities that are offered. Also, talk to students you see during your visit because we are all willing to answer any questions you might have.

    In three sentences

    Emporia State University is a wonderful college to consider attending. With friendly staff and students, everyone feels like they belong on campus. There are also endless opportunities for students to become involved

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I regularly go running around campus after dark and always feel safe. Not only does campus security patrol but the local police keep an eye on the campus as well. There is rarely sketchy people lurching about and when there are crossing the street does wonders!

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is the learning commons in the library that is open 24/7 as well as the student union which are always great places to hang out. There are sports events, theatre productions and random events throughout the semester such as bonfires, decorating christmas trees, and game nights. Off campus there is roller skating, bowling, a zoo or coffee houses if you want to just get off campus to do some homework.

    Food and Dining

    The food is above average for a college cafeteria. There is always the options of pizza, pasta, salad bar, and hamburgers (for lunch and dinner) with a daily special. There is also a coffee shop that serves Starbucks coffee.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other. They can be annoying and they can be a lot of fun. Freshman rooms are small but as long as you remember to communicate with your roommate it is not a problem. There are activities and competitions that go on through out the semester and it is always fun to watch a movie in the common areas.

    Academic Rigor

    I transferred from a community college and was slightly unprepared for the difficulty of the classes. While they are not hard all the professors expect a certain level of commitment and with 18 credit hours and two science classes that commitment level definitely took up a lot of my free time. However, I took advantage of the resources provided - tutoring, professors, and other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My top tips for prospective students would be to get to know the professors in your intended major. They are all friendly and ready to help you succeed. Never hesitate to email them or drop by there office. Get involved. There is no better way to make friends and feel at home then to get involved. There is a wide range of groups active on campus find something that suits you and get invested.

    In three sentences

    ESU is an amazing campus. The professors and staff are friendly and always willing to help. There is a broad range of activities and groups.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. You can usually see a patrol car driving around when you are out at night. There are also safety phones around campus that will automatically call Police and Safety if something were to happen.

    Greek Life

    Emporia State University does have Greek Life. There are several fraternities on campus and four sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've been at Emporia for two years and I'm still learning about all of the various groups on campus. There are cultural clubs, gamer clubs, Greek Life, clubs that host activities for the campus, and so many more. There are tons of options for getting involved. I think that the activities and social organizations present on campus truly make Emporia special.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a smaller school, Emporia is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Price-wise, no other Kansas school can beat Emporia. You can get a quality education for an affordable price. Emporia may not be the best school ever, but it's still a good deal.

    What to do for fun

    Across the street from the university, there is a strip of fun stores to explore. The local bowling alley offers various specials different nights, such as Ladies Night on Fridays after 11pm where ladies can bowl for free. The University and various clubs often host various events and speakers for students and the community. To be honest, having fun in Emporia requires friends and creativity. There is not that much to do around town most of the time.

    Food and Dining

    Emporia offers three types of meal plans: all-access, 15 meal block, and 10 meal block. All access meals plans have an unlimited number of meals each week and can be used multiple times in a single meal period. 15-block can get 15 meals per week and 10-block can only get 10. Emporia has two main eating areas, the Hornet's Nest and the Hornet Express. The Hornet's Nest is the equivalent to a cafeteria. It is buffet-style, so students can eat as much as they want. They have pizza, pasta, cheeseburgers, and grilled cheese sandwiches offered daily. There is also an omelet station, a deli station, and a salad bar. Each meal a different homestyle meal is offered, such as meatloaf or grilled chicken with vegetables. There are various different soups available each day. The Nest also has a to-go station. The food at the Hornet's Nest is alright. It tends to be better on days when prospective students are visiting. While the food might not be amazing, it is certainly not bad. Some meals are just better than others. The Hornet Express, or the HX as we call it, has 3 different fast food type stations, such as a mexican food station with burritos, quesadillas, and nachos. There is also a deli sandwich station and a station with burgers, chicken strips, and fries. The food at the HX tastes better than food from the Nest, however it costs more money. Students with 10 and 15-block meals plans may use meals at the HX. Students with all access may only swap 20 meals at the HX per semester.

    Dorm Life

    Over the last few years, Emporia State University has been working on remodeling the freshman residence halls. One was completed this year and they have begun work another. Some of the upperclassmen dorms need to be remodeled, however, they are still fairly nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education courses are fairly easy for the most part, but do require time and effort. They serve as a nice transition of students to adjust to college life. The classes do get harder as the class level rises. However, all of the professors are understanding and willing to work with students. Many of my professors have specifically stated in class that they understand that things happen or that students can get overwhelmed. Overall, the classes are appropriately challenging while still remaining manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come for a campus visit with your parents and eat at the Hornet's Nest, do not let them be fooled by how wonderful the food is. While the food is never terrible, the meals are always better on visiting days.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Emporia State University is a school that provides a quality education for a more manageable price than other Kansas state schools. The student population is small and the faculty truly care about the success of their students. Most people are extremely friendly in this close-knit community.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always people around if anything happens, and cops close buy at the police and safety building on campus along with patrol cars driving around to make sure everyone walking around is okay! A really neat thing offered for saftey is free taxi service to students at night so they don't have to walk home in the dark.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ussually pretty tasty! Unfortunatly after a few weeks it gets pretty old eating the same foor over and over. The have the same food in the cafe all day everyday with little variety. The best thing is we recently got an ice cream machine!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting and fun. Everyone is so nice and friendly. I would suggest staying in a dorm even if you don't have to just to make connections that you can keep for a lifetime!

    Academic Rigor

    The academice life at ESU is fantastic! You can get a real quality education. I feel smarter everyday after class because we learn so much and have great teachers that make learning interesting!