Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Erskine College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Erskine is located in a very small town, Due West, South Carolina, and often students must make their own fun. However, Erskine does have seasonal and other events that make being a student worth the tuition. If you are looking for other kinds of fun such as shopping, Anderson and Greenwood, South Carolina are nearby with Greenville being only one hour away.

    Food and Dining

    With its own on-campus restaurant and cafeteria Erskine offers different choices for meals! The food is good and there is room for student input as to what the students would like to see offered. Students are given a meal plan and a declining balance so no out-of-pocket money must be spent.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm at Erskine is expensive. However, Erskine college is a residential college in which all students are strongly encouraged and required to live on-campus. The dorms are very clean and up-to-date with the necessities to live.

    Academic Rigor

    The level expected of Erskine students to perform and succeed is one that surpasses many colleges and universities in the area. With a liberal arts core education a student receives instruction from a wide variety of subjects and in your field of concentrated study. There are programs offered that can help students succeed academically but a personal commitment must exist.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of attending Erskine College it is important you understand that it is not for everyone. Erskine has very high standards and wonderful opportunities, but the academics can be very challenging for some. However, if you choose Erskine you will not regret your decision because Erskine has a wonderful reputation and will help you in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    Erskine College has wonderful opportunities that allow all students to achieve their goals. With rigorous academics and many opportunities for extracurriculars everyone can find their niche here. Professors and faculty are always available to help making this a wonderful experience for all who attend.

  • 06/04/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    focused.

  • 05/04/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer small classes and want to engage with their teachers (who are professors, not grad students) and higher learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider attending Erskine College. Don't be afraid to contact admissions with questions. They are the nicest people in the world, and they want to help you in any way possible, even if you decide not to attend Erskine.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to attend, Erskine will make it financially feasible for you.

    Will enjoy being here

    Beautiful campus with constant outlets for involvement

    Will learn a lot

    Erskine has one of the highest acceptance rates to graduate school in the country.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academic oriented Like making close bonds people who like to ask questions in class

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY EARLY! Money goes to the students who first apply. Tour the campus- its so pretty. but its small! make sure you like it!

    Bang for the buck

    You are paying for a great education. A lot of academic and athletic scholarship money is awarded, which helps with the cost. Almost everyone i know is on some sort of scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    Erskine is in the middle of no where basically. But we do make our own fun. If you get involved in an organization, you rarely have too much free time. I would recommend having a car, or making friends who do though!

    Am learning a lot

    This school is unbelievable on the academic end. It challenges me in ways i could never imagine. I attended a high school in the top 1% in the nation, and i still am being challenged here. I am also an athlete, and it teaches me how to manage time.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, Christian students who don't like to party too much. This is for those of us who are at college to learn for their future. It's not for the crowd of those who just want to get away from home, as the academics are quite the challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a car (or someone you know who has one) and a bike to ride to classes. I would think having a fridge is also a must, since there is only a Subway and Mexican restaurant in town with the school cafeteria. Make sure you can entertain yourself before attending this school and that you are certain to want a quality education, because it's not easy.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm on athletic and school scholarships, along with freshman scholarships from high school. Next year will be a challenge, but feel like the school does a good job of helping out and it's a quality education.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a nice school, with good people teaching and attending. The town is small, but there are things within 30 miles to do. Having a car or a friend there with one is a plus.

    Am learning a lot

    They are a strong academic school, even though they are small. It's a quality education with personalized service to the student.

  • 02/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Erskine attracts those who love the small town atmosphere and the classroom environment where some of your major requirement classes will only have 2 or 3 other kids including yourself. If you want the individual attention and the desire to succeed then Erskine is the right place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Main thing is to work on time management because once you get to college everything seems to be a blur. Also try to get involved in campus activities and this is pretty at Erskine since there is only 600 students here; you will definitely be noticed. Another thing, don;t get stressed out about college or the process of picking a college because once you tour a place you have that feeling that this is where my second home and family will be, that's how I felt about Erskine.

    Bang for the buck

    Erskine is not cheap but it does have quality, and that should be one of the factors in deciding which school you want to attend. I was blessed to have the Erskine Financial Aid Department on my side because without them I wouldn't have received as many grants, scholarships, and other means of aid as I did if it weren't for their efforts.

    Am enjoying being here

    Erskine is a great place to be a student for the simple reason that you are surrounded by others who care about you and your growth as an individual. I love the small town atmosphere and all the opportunities to be myself.

    Am learning a lot

    Erskine has a pretty prestigious academic reputation. Coming here I've learned time management is your best friend. I am a Special Education major and I think Erskine has one of the best of Teaching Programs in the state of South Carolina. I've heard that potential employers crave Erskine graduates for their school systems. The best thing about the teaching program is the amount of time you get In-Class Experience meaning field placements at elementary, middle, and high schools in and around Abbeville County. You also get the opportunity to be a part of many seminars, conferences, and workshops which benefit your professional development.

  • 05/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like small towns, people who want to get into MUSC.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. It's small, so you have to be creative with activities. 2. Don't sign up for every group that sounds cool, or you will overload your schedule. 3. Either have a car or gas money, because you will often make late night runs for food or fun in Abbeville and Greenwood.

    Bang for the buck

    It does cost a little more to go here, but as mentioned before, the academics are excellent and Erskine grads have a good reputation. Also, our Science department has many connections to MUSC and a great graduate track for science majors.

    Am enjoying being here

    For me, the small town setting is nice. If you don't like a small town setting, though, I would recommend that you seriously think about whether you want to go here or not. Erskine is not the place for a city-lover.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are superb. My classes challenge me, although some too much. To make up for that, though, the faculty are very friendly and often have students over for dinner in addition to being helpful during office hours.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Erskine is great for students who want a small school, who have a good work ethic, who are willing to learn, and who love to be involved in more than just their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep track of your hours and if you are on time to graduate. Erskine, as well as every other school assumes it will take students five years to complete a degree not four so make sure YOU are paying attention to your Degree audit.

    Bang for the buck

    While Erskine is expensive they also offer more financial aid than a larger public school would. I also believe the value of my Degree is worth the money I paid for it simply because of Erskine's reputation and because you really do learn so much while you are here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Erskine is not for everyone. It is a very small school and everyone knows everything. It is a lot like high school in some aspects and very different in others. Most of your time is filled with doing homework or projects and extra curricular activities. It all depends on what you make it, but that is every college.

    Am learning a lot

    Erskine has a reputation for academic excellence and it lives up to it. Erskine forces you to work hard for your liberal arts education and expects great things from every student. The professors are understanding and strive to make you a better, student and person.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unknown as I attend the Columbia Campus and live at home.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown as I attend the Columbia Campus and live at home.

    Great for these types of students

    Students desiring to grow in their love of and knowledge of God and Christ Jesus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown as I attend the Columbia Campus and live at home.

    What to do for fun

    Unknown as I attend the Columbia Campus and live at home.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown as I attend the Columbia Campus and live at home.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown as I attend the Columbia Campus and live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work.

    In three sentences

    Overall, the seminary is a good seminary. It challenges believers in their growth and provides sound academics.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are great. Get to know them.

    Greek Life

    there are literary societies that are great to get involved in!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty activities that you can go to on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go the the events that they have on campus. If there are things that you want to do go to student services.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best ever. There are times that something is great. Snappers is a great alternative. So is subway.

    Dorm Life

    This is awesome. This is where you make the awesome friendship with others. Always go and talk to the other students in other dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know the little details about different things. They might help you in the long run. Always go to student services if you need something of find someone that has already done it.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus. The people are great. The classes are challenging

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Erskine's campus is in Due West, which is a small college town. It feels safe to me.

    Greek Life

    Erskine's Literary Societies are amazing for creating sister and brother relationships. they are active on and off campus and are a great way to bond.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different varieties. Everyone can find somewhere to fit in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to be in a great christian environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When girls are engaged, there is always a candle light ceremony put on by their friends.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is expensive, a lot of financial aid is available, and it is worth the money because of the percentage of success that comes out of Erskine.

    What to do for fun

    At Erskine, because it is in such a small town, you find stuff to do. This, however, brings you closer to your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is good compared to other places.

    Dorm Life

    At Erskine, everyone in your dorm is like family. It is a great atmosphere and a chance to make great friendships that will last a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    Erskine is tough, but well worth it for your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Erskine isn't easy, but if you have the mindset that you can do it, you can. You have to remember that you are doing all the studying for a reason, because it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Erskine is a great school, both academically and environmentally. The education you get there really counts more than other schools, especially for graduate or medical school. Classes are small, hands on, and professors are close to each student, willing to help, and out there to listen.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of places to explore on campus. They offer a variety of activities including fine art events, concerts, intramurals, greek life, Division II athletics, and a variety of faith-based organizations.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafeteria option at Erskine. They do a good job of providing a variety of options. There are also two other dining options, java city and snappers. Snappers is more like fast food dining and java city is a coffee shop/deli.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are absolutely beautiful! Hardwood floors and big lobbies! Full kitchens and there is an option between sweet style bathrooms and community living.

    Academic Rigor

    Erskine is known for it's academics. The classes are difficult and yet the professors are great at presenting the material in a clear, concise way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of all your financial aid. Also, your professors WANT to help you succeed! They are so many helpful resources offered at Erskine if you will only be proactive and use them.

    In three sentences

    Erskine is a community of students who are dedicated and motivated. It is a faith based school and that fact shines through. It's an amazing school and I am going to miss it.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town is soooo small that we have really good police coverage.

    Greek Life

    I'm a member, but it's very limited and again, there are no houses for these. More or less a club at this level of small school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in a sorority that I love, but it's not like the big schools. We don't have a house or anything. We do community service and some school activities, but that's it.

    Great for these types of students

    People who really want small class-sizes and can live without much to do. Must be good students for this type of school, or willing to work hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a small homecoming celebrations and parade, which is funny because it's not much (considering we have 600 students). There are the ping-pong tables in Watkins, but that's it.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is $40K per year and give very limited scholarships unless you live in SC and have access to the state funded ones.

    What to do for fun

    Travel to another town to go to the movies or eat. Due West has one Subway restaurant and that's it.

    Food and Dining

    You have to use the dining plan if you live on campus and everyone is required to live on campus. The food is not good and the cooks don't really seem to care. Very little selection, so if you are picky, this is not for you.

    Dorm Life

    They are old buildings and heat/air barely work correctly. The rooms are small and hard to work with in planning.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a tough school and has the reputation for being tough. The teachers are personal since it's small class sizes and they want you to succeed, but don't give you a grade - you have to earn it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and track your application. Be sure you really want this small of a college because most think they do, but then find they miss big campus activities - which we have none of.

    In three sentences

    It's got a good reputation for find jobs after graduation. The work is tough and challenging, and there isn't much partying going on. It's a small, christian-based college.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Erskine does not have Greek Life. There are Literary Societies, which are similar.

    What to do for fun

    Due West is tiny - not much to do here except participate/observe college sports and be a part of the clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study!!!

    In three sentences

    I could not imagine myself at a different college. The class size here is usually small, which I like. The professors are very interested in their students and want them to succeed.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around and helpful to ensure student safety. They are located by the women's dormitories to help provide extra security.

    Greek Life

    Erskine has literary society's. Each society is friendly and eliminates the usual discrimination that most colleges have with sororities and fraternities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a barn that students go to on Sunday evenings. It is off campus, and all students are welcomed. At the barn, students worship and form a bond in the Christian community.

    Bang for the buck

    This school will work with you financially. It is a private college, so the tuition is more. However, the school will help you find scholarships, and do their best to ensure that you have less debt when you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Due West is very small with little to do. Despite the small town the students find ways to entertain themselves. There are plenty of activities like Rock Climbing, Tennis, Ultimate Frisbee and so much more to keep students from getting bored.

    Food and Dining

    There are two locations for dining, as well as a coffee shop. Both dining facilities are exceptional. Whatever they don't have you can suggest and they will add it to the menu, because this school tries to please the students any way that they can.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is so nice and friendly. The students are like a family. Each dorm has their own SLA and dorm parent to help students be more accustomed to college easier.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging. However, with hard work then you will succeed. Just make sure to STUDY!

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you work hard and put effort into your work then you will do just fine! The classes aren't easy, but the teachers are exceptional and are more than willing to help you. The small environment allows for students to live in a close-nit community.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are fa-nominal! They will work with you, and want you to succeed. The school is so small that it is honestly like a family.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Erskine is located in the small town of Due West, South Carolina, and is not for students who enjoy being in the hustle and bustle of the city. There are bigger towns a short drive away. Erskine has plenty of organizations to keep students preoccupied to be such a small school. There are literary societies with pretty much an organization for every interest you may have. If not they allow a lot of freedom for the students to start new clubs if one that meets your interest is not here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not looking for a challenge, don't go to Erskine. The professors are wonderful, but it is meant for students who want to over-achieve.

    In three sentences

    Erskine has a beautiful campus that makes you feel right at home. It makes you feel as if you are a part of a great history and legacy because it is so open and historical. The student body is so close.