Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Essex County College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/15/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students who do not have any aim in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    have fun!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    certain books are cheap. many students sell their used books for a very low price. its not worth your money.

    Will enjoy being here

    if you prefer a crowded and unsafe campus,where you can constantly hangout and have fun, then you will enjoy being there.

    Will learn a lot

    although some professors are very thorough, the environment is not productive enough to motivate a student.

  • 02/17/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that want to succeed and are ready to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, READ (i cannot emphasize this enough so READ!), network with the professors, join the wonderful engineering club.

    Bang for the buck

    Most students here go for free, but for the ones that have to pay (me), it is definitely cost effective. DO well here and you can get a scholarship to the next. When you graduate, while all your high school friends who went to those expensive schools are busy paying their loans, you can buy yourself a nice Porsche. Good Trade off!

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed my time being there. Great institution. There's more than meets the eye.

    Did learn a lot

    Studying at Essex County College can produce a roller coaster of emotions and thoughts. Upon first arriving, everyone seems to feel different. The environment is very different from high school, the students are all doing their own things, and you are basically on your own. However, in order to succeed and get peace of mind, slowly through your classes you will make new friends. The school has a small student population compared to many other schools and the campus is small so you will start to see the same people. The roller coaster of emotions are produced the first semester or during one of the last two. You need to keep peace of mind and know your purpose for why you are in the school in the first place. You are basically going to school to learn, get a degree, and hopefully continues your education elsewhere. You are NOT going to socialize and think everything will be easy because even though it is a two year institution, it can be quite the challenge. If you keep this consistency, study and do your work, you will be fine. When you take the higher math classes, like calc I, I, II, linear algebra, differential equations, etc., you must learn to teach yourself some topics. The instructors are very good but the classes go fast and you need to be disciplined enough to go and study the material. Remember MATH takes PRACTICE! Second, this roller coaster is produced academically because the work does tend to build. As the semester progresses you may have exams for say calcIII and linear one after the other. This is not high school and the material is no joke so this turns to be a very big challenge. All that information is extensive and quite intricate to fill your head with. As a result, developing good habits is key! Start studying a week earlier and keeping up with your homework. Don't leave it until the last minute. I guarantee you will fail! Overall, this school has thought me many wonderful things. I have integrated into an environment i never saw myself in, i have developed time management skills, i have become very disciplined, and i have learn so much from the professors and students. There used to be a sign by the math classes on the second floor(dont know if it is still there) but it read Gateway to college. This basically defines this school to the last detail. If you keep up with your work, learn the material, learn from your professors, learn from the tutors and students, and most importantly learn to read to understand, YOU WILL go to a better college. At that college, you have nothing holding you back and with ECC's study and foundations you will have a great future ahead. Trust me I know. Best of luck to you. Read, practice, and you will do great!

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Essex County College is great for people who want to start off paying cheaply, or for people who didn't do well in high school and want to start off with a clean slate. It's also great for people who haven't been in school for a while and need to relearn a few things to start getting a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a decent place to start at for a cheap price. If your GPA was bad in high school, you can start fresh here with a better GPA and then get into the honors program which pays for your whole tuition. The STEM program, pays for your math 100 class if you need to take it, and a science class; plus, it has really great tutors from the nearby college like NJIT and Rutgers to help out too. There's also math professor Carlos Castillo who can explain math especially well and can get anyone to understand math. He wont quit trying til you get it, so taking a math class from him is a really smart choice. For English classes, professor Acacia Cochise is great and all her students agree that she's one of the best. She keeps us interested in the class by telling us unusual facts about authors and having class discussions instead of writing essays. Also make sure to carry around your ECC ID, or at least remember it if you do decide to attend this college. There's random times where they'll ask for it at the entrances and you'll need an ID to enter. The lines for the financial aid office are almost always super long, so it's best to get there early in the morning or when it's not the beginning of a semester because the waiting time can be 30 minutes or up to an hour. The line at bookstore at the beginning of a semester is also extremely long, even to get in the store. The time in the book voucher line after you find the books you need can also be up to an hour so if you need a book between classes make sure you have time.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition compared to other schools is really cheap. My spring and fall semesters were only around $4000 together, and I didn't have to pay for anything except for my $54 bus pass each month. Filling out FAFSA got me a $3900 Pell Grant, $800 from HESAA, and $1000 something from the STEM program here, so my tuition and books were pretty much covered. The books both semesters were about $400-500 each.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being here because even though people just say coming here is not a good choice, I feel it was a great choice. There's so many opportunities here that I have to get me jobs, a high GPA, and diverse people to make friends with. Also it's very safe on campus, but once I walk off campus for a few blocks, there's creepy old Newark men who call out random things to me. But at least the bus stops are around the campus so I only have to walk for two minutes to get to the bus.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned alot here, especially from my math and science classes. Well, all of my classes actually. The professors certainly know a great deal about the topics they teach, and since they're truly interested in it, they can explain it all really well, and even the students can relate to the stuff they talk about. The tutors at the MESA center and especially the ones from the STEM program helped me out a ton because they're always available.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people that want some kind of help to go into a special program at another institute.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a lot of scholarship in here. If you never have a C in the time that you will expend in this school, the dean of this school can give you money for the four year university. Moreover, the association and some clubs also give you scholarships. A lot of opportunities + a lot of scholarships= full tuition in a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a lot of help in this school. We have EOF and financial aid to help pay for you classes plus if you don't want to buy the book in the voucher you can find someone to rent you one or share they book with you. Moreover, some of the teachers are willing to load you a book.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many events where you can take a break from your studies and relax. In addition to this there is a center called dasher center where you relax yourself when you must need it. In there you can play video game and board game. Also there is a TV where you can watch anything that you want. In short is pretty much cool.

    Am learning a lot

    Essex County College has every class of professor. From the one that give you every day note and the one that explain the entire classes without note. If you like to pay attention rather than write you can easily get an A. However, there are classes that you need to study a lot like math and biology. No problem if you know how to study you will fine, but if you need help there are a lot of people that are willing to help you. For example, we have two centers where offer free tutoring for any class that you need. Plus the professors are very nice and are willing to help you in anything that you need.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, looking for a good 2 year college to transfer to

    Tips for prospective students

    When you are ready to enroll make sure you have the money ready upfront. Making friends there is very easy, especially if you join a club.

    Bang for the buck

    I gave this 4 stars because this is a two year college and it is affordable. However, the payment options are not that great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I gave this 5 stars because I very much enjoy attending this school. The students are friendly, the teachers are helpful, and it is just a wonderful environment,

    Am learning a lot

    I gave this 4 stars due to the fact that I am learning a lot, however some of the things I am learning I already have known from high school of before.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards and police always present on and around campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a smaller class size, students that cant afford a four year university, students more comfortable in a smaller environment

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable education and some very dedicated professors and faculty

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs to join. School is located in the lively downtown area, lots to do. Game room in the student center. Basketball, track and soccer

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty good and there are a lot of places to eat in the area

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Has a very intense honor program

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the general education courses first if you are not sure of a major. Try to join at least one club that you know you'll be active in. Dont be afraid to ask your counselors questions whenever you need to.

    In three sentences

    Essex County College is a very diverse environment and a great place to start for those who have been out of school for a while or cant afford a four year.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for first time students that are willing to achieve and move forward in their carrer.

    Bang for the buck

    I've been in school for 2 weeks now and I'm enjoying and learning every minute of it. Just a tip if you don't understand don't be afarid to ask for help. The teachers are willing to help you and accommodate a good timing for a one on one if is needed.. Always be prepared and on time.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy and participate in some activities and be involved in school.

    Dorm Life

    Not staying in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher are there to help you in every way . Don't bbe afraid to ask for help..

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to tell the students to focus in your career. Put your time and effort in 100%. Only you can fail.. You have all the resources in order to achieve your goals..

    In three sentences

    I will rate Essex County College with a 4 1/2.. This school haves a lot to offer. Also their services is great and they have the you need..

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    feel safe 100%. The security is all over school. If you have school at night and are on your way to the parking lot but feel unsafe, a security member can actually walk with you to your car.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a community college, it is affordable. Only problem is the payment methods which are not great choices to help students.

    What to do for fun

    Be part of clubs/school activities. Have the Dasher center where you can meet new people, be part of the school and de-stress.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of foods to choose from.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If your interested in attending ECC you will need to know. Score high on your placement test so you wont have to waste semesters on remedial classes. 2# Have an open mind and try to be diverse as much as possible. Diffrent is always better. 3# Work your butt off!!!

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt insecure while on campus neither have i seen any comflictation between anyone.

    Food and Dining

    their cafeteria has a variety of choices and good tasting.

    Dorm Life

    i dont know anything bout their dorm life because i commute to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know which semester each corse is offered and their pre-requisites and plan them out this way you dont fall behind on your graduation.

    In three sentences

    essex has an excellent technology/ engineering program with excellent professors. they show interest in their students and their academic progess.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    essex county college is completely save and welcoming. for extra security and/or safety measures essex county college have security guards patrol the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of club activities to chose from, there is also a dedicate building for students to relax, read books, lounge, cyber cafe and room for student could do meetings.

    Bang for the buck

    essex county is worth every penny for a student to starts their race towards success.

    Food and Dining

    there are a variety of food selections to pick from.

    Dorm Life

    i'm currently not a dorm student

    Academic Rigor

    any college expects its student to come in with the interest to learn and to better themselves. in essex county college the course are above average but are easy if the student is determined.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is always advised to start at a 2 year community college before a new and/or fresh prospective student starts at a four year college. because four year colleges tend to believe that students are mentally prepared and also tends to be pricey. its best for a new student to take basic classes in a community college for a lower price instead of taking the same classes at a four-year college such as njit for a higher price. community college credits are usually 9.5 out of 10 transferable , always do research before taking any course.

    In three sentences

    essex county college is a good college for new jersey students to start from before one enters to a four year college; as a result, nj students receive many benefits in essex county from scholarships to helpful programs. essex county also supply: finical advisory, tax filling and good transferring guidance. essex county also supply residents outside of nj with benefits as well; essex county is a good place to start for a freshman student.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    gym, sports, dances, and parties

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your homework and attend class regularly

    In three sentences

    Essex County has good teachers, that teach well. Located in a good area.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It has been challenging for me, but I have a 3.5 GPA so I have been performing well. I would like to have a scholarship to help me in school. I need assistance to help me excell.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't had any incidents while attending. I feel pretty safe. Security and campus police and sometimes city police officers patrol the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name

    Great for these types of students

    All are ages, nationalities and types welcomed. The college is very diverse and the environment is comfortable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If there are any I am unaware, but there definitely is school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is very affordable compared to some other colleges. They offer payment plans, but I think it's broken up into only two payments.

    What to do for fun

    Not too sure, but there are always a lot of activities and parties going on.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not bad. Many choices available

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are very engaging. The professors are very down to earth and easy to talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your books online, they tend to be very expensive. There is plenty of reading.

    In three sentences

    The environment is not all bad, but tends to be a little crowded at times. The campus is pretty safe and I attend day and night classes. There is sufficient parking for students which save me money feeding the meters and getting tickets.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY TIGHT AND EFFECTIVE SECUIRTY TEAM

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE CAFE

    What to do for fun

    WE HAVE ALOT OF CLUBS TO JOIN THAT WILL HAVE YOU DOING FUN THINGS WITHIN THE SCHOOL AND OUTSIDE OF THE SCHOOL

    Food and Dining

    THE FOOD IS VERY GOOD AND I WOULD GIVE THEM A 10 STAR RATING.

    Dorm Life

    WE DO NOT HAVE DORMS, THIS COLLEGE IS A COMMUTE FOR THE STUDENTS.

    Tips for prospective students

    IT IS A NICE COLLEGE TO ATTEND AND NICE PEOPLE THEIR TO HELP YOU WITH ANYTHING.

    In three sentences

    I LOVE THE SCHOOL PRIDE. I LIKE HOW WE HAVE MANY RACES IN THE SCHOOL AND WE CAN ALL GET ALONG. THE SAFETY OF THE SCHOOL IS THEY KEY, AND THEY HAVE A REAL GOOD SECUIRTY TEAM.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    great ...

    Academic Rigor

    accounting

    In three sentences

    West esex location is small and quite love it, not too crowded great location

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's cops patrolling the campus as well as security.

    Greek Life

    ECC just started a sorority and a fraternity on campus and they are legit, they are linked with other frats and sororities around NJ.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student life at Essex County is very active, students can partake in clubs ; the clubs present themselves on Club day in which they all come together and promote. There's monthly African-booths that come around selling jewelry, lotions, incense, and clothing as well ! Its a great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The affordablity rate at ECC has to be the best part, everyone knows college is very expensive however if you live in Essex County the tuition is not a lot compared to Bergen or any other community college. Financial Aid as well as EOF are provided at this college, work studies as well.

    What to do for fun

    One can join many clubs at ECC they provide a lot of activities for students due to the fact that it is a community college and many students have breaks in between their classes they set up mini raffles etc. There is a gym open for all ECC-students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at ECC are very good, it's buffet style with Pizza available everyday. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner for all students. Plus there's a lot of eateries around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics depend on your professors I feel, the professors defy what the average person may say about Essex County students - they dispute the slander and make sure what they teach is above and beyond !

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for students that will attend ECC, don't let anyone tell you that this college is the 13th grade, if you focus and dedicate yourself into your studies you will find yourself on another level than those who attend major universities. The professors in the African-Studies Institute are very intelligent men and women and will enlighten you on things that you never would have thought you would care about. Free yourself when you come to ECC, don't stunt your own growth.

    In three sentences

    Essex County College has opened up many options for students who may not believe they can actually go to college. For me, the school revealed that you can continue with your education no matter the circumstance they have powerful professors that will challenge you if allow them too. As a whole this college is a great gateway to more educational means.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can play sports. The track team at E.C.C. is very good and the track coach Mr. Smart is very good.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are very, very high. it is not enough choices in the cafe. The food is too salty too.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm, so I can not speak on it.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, study and study. If you come into the tutoring center only when test time, do not expect to pass the course. It is a hard process and you have to put a lot of time into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring all of your documents, be on time, have patience, go to the learning center to get tutored, if you do not know the material in your class. Always sit in the front of the class, that way you will learn and stay away from the people in the back that do not want to learn.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good College. The people are very nice and the tuition is very cheap. I wiil rate it on a scale of 9 out of 10.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you could go to Gym, Recreation Centre .

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Essex County College to many people seem local but the truth is, if you want a strong foundation on your academics Essex County College is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    I give Essex County 9 of 10

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very secured!

    Clubs and Activities

    awesome trips!

    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    all kinds of traditions are there

    Bang for the buck

    school is very affordable. you wont regret going there!

    What to do for fun

    lots of activities in the school

    Food and Dining

    delicious!

    Dorm Life

    we don't have this at Essex county

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    be focused and determined

    In three sentences

    A future builder

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Greek Life

    ihni

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know much about them

    Great for these types of students

    excellent should go for it

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and get involved in sports teams

    Food and Dining

    alright

    Dorm Life

    no dorming

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Good place to get a get A.S. and very affordable. The education quality and the teachers attiude and determination towards students are really outstanding.

    In three sentences

    it's been a great so far, I like the classes that I'm currently taking and the setting is just very exceptional.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    read

    Food and Dining

    descent food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantages of the college professors, they are there to help, at least some. don't fall into unnecessary drama, you get what you put in.

    In three sentences

    College isn't very challenging, if you're looking to slide by in life, this is the place to go, as least with some of their courses offered.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the lounge area near the technology building

    What to do for fun

    join a sport or club

    Food and Dining

    never ate here, but looked at the prices and i think that its decent

    Academic Rigor

    they give you busy work but you don't learn much from it

    Tips for prospective students

    waste a day to know the campus and if you could take a College success seminar class take it, because it inform you on most of the problems you might encounter. also If you need to check on your financial aid look online on their web site and bring the document they ask for if not your going to have to wait in the same line on another day

    In three sentences

    Essex county college might be a great way to start, but with my classes I have taken so far I haven't learn anything. There is a long line for financial aid and to talk to counselors. Also they don't answer your question they keep sending you to other people which send you back.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As with any urban environment, use common sense and be aware of your surroundings.

    Great for these types of students

    Full time, part time, commuters, and those working full time. Lots of Saturday and evening classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for county residents and not too bad for out of county either.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, shopping, sports and concerts at Pru Center ( the Rock) NJPAC

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food. Downtown restaurants and food trucks are nearby.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm. Lived at home>

    Tips for prospective students

    Very diverse campus in the heart of downtown Newark. All ages and ethnicities make it a comfortable environment for everyone.

    In three sentences

    I attended for a year before going to school in Florida. I plan on going back this year. Great place to take your core classes before transferring to a 4 yr school.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    use the gym, watch basketball games, be innovative

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    managable

    Tips for prospective students

    make good use of the student learning center

    In three sentences

    has dedicated professors

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    a great college for students that are unable to afford to go to a 4year college.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Abide by all the campuses rules

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    They have multiple activities and clubs for students, but that's if the students are willing to join them

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't usually cost that much but its all worthed at the end

    What to do for fun

    Interact with all the other students

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria for all the students during breaks

    Dorm Life

    No dorming at the college but Commuting is a must

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus more, want your education, be at the college to not only have fun but get what you need to get done

    In three sentences

    This college is Full of many different brains.Everyone at the college are all there for the same education.There maybe different ages at the College but it's never to late to got to college.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cafeteria or the dasha E center

    What to do for fun

    I hang with friends when I'm in between class with my friends at the cafeteria or the Dasha center

    In three sentences

    the college is a well build college with resources for helping you academically with 1 to 1 help on your subject .

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of great activites

    Great for these types of students

    African Americans Like to be close to home learners

    What to do for fun

    Gym and dance room

    Food and Dining

    lots of Fatty food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I dont really like the people

    Tips for prospective students

    Be opened minded

    In three sentences

    Active Organized busy

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go home.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not my cup of tea.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any.

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention and make it to every class appointment.

    In three sentences

    I like this college. I wish they were a little more resourceful, but overall, the learning experience is impressive. The professors are wonderful and really do care.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You'll always feel safe on campus. I always see a police officer or security guard in most areas of the school.

    Great for these types of students

    -Commuting students -Low income -Want diversity

    Bang for the buck

    Essex County College is a community college and it is very worth the price of in-county tuition. The people that work there are helpful and friendly and there is always access to resources that can help a student succeed.

    What to do for fun

    The Newark campus of Essex County offers a Gym, basketball courts, pool, computer rooms and lounge areas to hang out and relax. The West Caldwell campus is near many food places and is in close proximity to a few malls.

    Food and Dining

    The West Caldwell and Newark campus of Essex County offer large cafeteria spaces to relax, eat food and study. You can also meet with people in these places and let loose. There are snack machines and drink machines all over the school and there is easily accessible food not far off campus,

    Dorm Life

    I commute to the West Caldwell campus of Essex County College and I am not sure if the Newark campus has dorms or not. Regardless I do not have any experience with the Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    At Essex County, the teachers and professors want you to succeed. They will offer any student tutoring and help if they need it. The school also has hours where students can go to assigned tutors who are either exceptional students at the school or teachers that have free time. It is a great place to learn a good environment.

    In three sentences

    Essex County College is a very diverse and interesting school. You will meet many different people from very different backgrounds. The faculty is well equipped for teaching the students and are friendly and easy to contact.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The campus Cafeteria food is decent but if you don't like it, there is a variety of food restaurants nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not too difficult as long as you do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you network. It can be very helpful, most students could give you better information than the teachers. The teachers can sometimes provide you with help outside of the school, like scholarships or a place to get cheaper books.

    In three sentences

    I would give Essex County College a 6 out of 10. Some of the teachers are nice and flexible when it comes to the work. The admissions and financial aid is pretty rude.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    ok school

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clara Dasher Center Gym computer lab comedy shows dances pb&j day trips cruises ny club trips

    Food and Dining

    Incredible dining area and staff

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at ECC

    Tips for prospective students

    NETWORK IS EVERYTHING!!! WORK HARD IF YOUR MIND CAN CONCIEVE IT, YOU CAN ACHIEVE IT! ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE

    In three sentences

    My Essex County College Professors are the best. The entire staff at ECC is caring and understanding of your personal situations and needs. Because of the many kind and compassionate mentors I have acquired at ECC I am now able and equipped to transfer into a four year college and prepared to enter the work force.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think there are nothing unusual. Maybe I can mention cafeteria. There are always a lot of people and many of them just waisting time in school every single day, so maybe we can consider this as something unusual for college.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't understand what question means.

    What to do for fun

    It depends what is fun for you. For me fun is a lot of studying so I have fun in school every day.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not complaining about food. Prices are not bad compare to other higher level schools.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what professor and class you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    At first, new students should think well what major they need and who they want to be in the future, after they finish their studying path. In other words, they need focus so they won't loose their time. Then they need to make exact plan what classes they going to take each semester and they need already know to what school they going to transfer (if they going to) and they need to know requirements to that school. To select classes in ECC they need to know right professors.They can find feedback about them in Rate my professor site.

    In three sentences

    This is a good college. There are many fabulous professors who help you accomplish your goals in studying. Besides, this college is good opportunity to transfer to 4-year college.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Lots of options around there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything done before you register for classes and study study study for your Accuplacer test

    In three sentences

    I loved it here. Everyone was very nice.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many vending machines on each level. The cafeteria serves Starbucks coffee and there is also a Wolfgang Punk Coffee vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen the dorms of Essex County College

    Academic Rigor

    I am starting in Fall 2013, so I cannot really speak about the classes as of yet. I will however come back and update at a later date

    In three sentences

    The tuition is affordable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The school is very well maintained and clean.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is noticable at every entrance and there are even some undercovers walking around, I definately feel safe at ECC.

    Greek Life

    No greek life to my knowledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    I havent been able to find any clubs that I am intrested in, they seem limited because most people are in and out right after class because they usually have to go to work.

    Great for these types of students

    ECC is great for students who wither want to save money so they wont have a huge debt after college and for students who think they could have done better is highschool. This is a great oppertunity to get your GPA up for the 4 year college you want to attend. Its only two years, which is nothing compared to the long and life you're about to live.

    Bang for the buck

    YOu definately get a bang for your buck here. The first two years of college are essencially the same no matter where you go and ECC offers that for about two thousand dollars a semester which is great compared to about twelve thousand a semester at most other in state public colleges. Take advantage of this oppertunity.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a variety of clubs, I mostly hangout in the gym and weightroom area when I get out of class to keep my mind and body strong. Lifting really releives alot of stress for me, which can really get you down around finals time. It s hard but everyone's doing it so its definately not impossible.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. There is pizza, a hot and cold sandwich shop, and a small mexican food kiosk. The cafe is huge so expect to meet alot of new people there.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately this is a commuter school so dorms are not available. But many buses come through the college so it isn;t hard to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Essex County College isn't the most difficult school in the world but it can be challenging, just focus. Professors will not go out of their way to make any course more challenging than it has to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Focus on class and extracurriculars only and in that order. - Guidence counselors are there for you, don't be afraid to ask for help with ANYTHING - Keep moving forward. If summer classes are available to you then take advantage, you won't regret it. - Make friends and have fun, college is more than what is taught in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Essex COunty college is the perfect school for students who want to save money in the long run. The professors here really motivate you and want to see you succeed and will do everything they can to help you move on to a four year school. My best advice is to take advantage of this money saving oppertunity for the first two years of your college career, Essex County College is really helping me out alot because I am about to graduate and I have yet to apply for a student loan.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    1.Recognize the environment 2. Adjust to the changes in the academic requirements 3. Create your solid friend group 4. Always manage your time 5. Be prepare for exams and tests 6. Always Study whenever and wherever you are

    In three sentences

    The College is great so far i just starting this week I'm excited i change from High school to College so I can learn a little bit more about everyday life in College and now taking classes to complete my degree. The School overall has an clean environment and persuasive teachers who are here to help us learn and become someone in the future

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The have several clubs ,games, students activities ,and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is pleasant the food take go and does not cost that much. They have a variety of foods to select from to accommodate everyone.

    Dorm Life

    this is a community college so it has no dorms but they still try to give students the feel of sororities.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at ECC vary some are very driven and care about there students and others not.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Essex County College with a 8 because though many look down upon it, its a successful college. It helps students get a degree in a field they enjoy. They are also know for having a high transfer rate which is good they help there students get to where they need to get in life.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Responsible, and able to get things done alone.

    Bang for the buck

    Feel out your teacher from the start of semester. Ask questions about what they expect, and how test will be.

    What to do for fun

    Student Center/Gym

    Food and Dining

    Haven't ate in dining hall in years.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Network!

    In three sentences

    Overall Great school, but some of the financial aid staff at the Main Campus, could be more helpful. Talk to everyone, and network. Know what the teacher expects upfront.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always clubs, events, activities, and teams to join.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety in the café ! The food tastes great !

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful and are always trying to make sure you get the best grades possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep focus and look for advisors who are always there to help

    In three sentences

    Essex County College is the ideal community college. The campus is diverse and has the most friendly students and staff you will meet. There is always a way to come together as a community and strive for success.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs you can join, get some information during the clubs' drive at the beginning of the semester.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room in the Clara Dasher center.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There are all kinds of professors but remember it is up too you to waste your time or learn something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get in and get out, don't spend more than three years here and be sure to figure out what credits will transfer if you are planning to go to another school. Try hard, dint take education for granted

    In three sentences

    Excellent place to get your associates it is cheap and convenient. The school is not that big but it has multiple resources.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    ECC contains a lot of resources for students such as computer labs, a library and a bunch of activities. It's more affordable for students who can't afford to go to a four-year college. On top of that, the professors are dedicated to giving the student an education to use in the world.

  • 07/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit the student life center for activities and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There are great selections of food and beverages in the cafeteria. The food is fairly affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and commute to school. I don't know how the dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many excellent professors who are dedicated and expect their students to perform at their own academic standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study the majors offered at the college and take classes that are required for the majors.

    In three sentences

    Even though the college has an average reputation, the college has a great range of dedicated and excellent professors. There is a great range of classes offered. The college's physical therapy program is the best in the state.