Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Estrella Mountain Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hate crowds, tutoring, young, and like a mixture of age and race

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay motivated!

    Bang for the buck

    I am going to transfer my credits to a university in Arizona. From my checking and resources of counselor, my credits are transferable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is starting to grow more and becoming more interactive with the students. There are many resources close by and many events that occur for help and programs.

    Am learning a lot

    I started college the summer before my sophomore year in high school. I was 14 years old and the professor astonished me, I was learning so much!

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Take advantage of the free tutoring that is on campus. Also, some of the teachers have you keep a journal for the class, but not all of them. I recommend all students keeping a journal for all classes, it may seem like extra work but rewriting your notes every night in your journal allows you to retain more of the information from class than just studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to take your science classes if you are planning on transferring to ASU, because EMCC using modeling to teach its science classes. Modeling is a self discovery way of learning and it is what ASU uses, so by taking your basic sciences here you get a feel for how you will be learning at ASU.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are cheap compared to universities and other community colleges and you really feel like you get your moneys worth from each class.

    Am enjoying being here

    All of the teachers are very kind and helpful, plus there are two centers for free tutoring. One in the NASA center for math and sciences, and one in the library for English and other classes.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small, they keep them around 24 students per class. This allows a lot of student teacher interaction and allows you to ask all the questions you need.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I chose this school because I graduated a year early and was barely seventeen when I started. The University would have been a little overwhelming for me. This a great way to start your education in a smaller environment, with teachers that actually know who you are and care whether or not you are in class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to current students about their favorite teachers/ classes. I have had some excellent professors, and some that could have been better. There are definitely choices, so put some time into your selections!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. An excellent way to get all of the basics out of the way for a third of the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying the instruction I am receiving, but I am really longing for the whole college experience. I live over an hour from the school which makes study groups, and social activities a challenge.

    Am learning a lot

    Class sizes are small and it is easy to build relationships with your teachers. This adds so much to the learning experience.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be in a classroom with a small amount of people. As well as for those students who want to get an associates degree at an affordable rate (unlike the prices at universities).

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Estrella Mountain and ask for a tour. They are very nice and helpful people.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable price. As well as the books.

    Am enjoying being here

    Small campus with lots of resources. The teachers are very friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    This college is a nice, well maintained, small campus for those students who like to learn in a classroom with few students (maximum of 30 students). I have had a great experience with this college and there resources are very helpful.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want small class sizes Students that do not want the anxiety of a big university Students who want campus events Students who want affordable classes Students who want a variety of major options (they had more then I had thought they would!) Older students Young Students Students who want their campus in a close normal city setting. (I mean this compared to a big university, EMCC is set around residential and across the street is a Fresh and Easy, down the street is an Albertsons and some fast food places, but compared to say ASU where it's just big city, big confusing buildings etc. for new students)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want the actual or stereotype college/ university experience this might not be the best place. However, I really do recommend it for Seniors to look into just because it will be WAY cheaper to start off here and the transition will not be as over whelming or dramatic as if you wen straight from HS to say ASU. Also study before the placement exams, everyone has to take them. If you get these scores or better you will get a presidential scholarship and your tuition will be paid IN FULL for if I remember right your 2 first years! Placement into: Honors English 101 Exempt from Critical Reading 101 Math 121 or higher (aka 74 or higher on the ALEKS test) Try to take it before summer, and get registrar as soon as you can, summer is VERY busy. There is NO appointments to see advisors only walk ins. Expect at least an hour wait, even if you get there right as they open, you might cut down a few minutes but not too much. Seriously, I 110% finished HS July 30th, getting me enrolled was horrible. TONS of waiting and basically just took what classes were open my classes all have an hour wait time in-between. Also if you take the test while your in school you're a lot more likely to have the information fresh in your mind, so don't wait until like July when 1/2 the information has escaped your mind! Otherwise a class might be more of a boring review then learning mostly fresh new material! ALSO do not be afraid if you are an older student. I was shocked at how many were older then me and had kids, etc. I new I was younger but in reality only a small group kids in all 4 of my classes are my age. A lot of people who hadn't been in school for 10+ years are in all your classes, don't be surprised if at your placement testing you see some older students!

    Bang for the buck

    $71 per credit hour in county. Generally around $223 per class give or take a few for the usually small extra class fees. Usually like $5 for an English class or $10 for a computer lab fee. The most expensive i have seen is a $40 one for exercise classes and mostly those are only 1 credit classes anyways, so they are very cheap! They are constantly adding new things to the school. Recently completed the new Mariposa building and either by this spring or fall this fire/police training like building should be done. There is the skill center for the nursing and other few medical fields, and of course the campus for all the other. They are close together as well, no worries about the Skill Center (nursing center, etc) being clear down the way from the actual campus, it is right there everything is the actual campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I graduated HS a year early, barely turned 17 in Aug. I did not want the big crowded campus setting of a university just yet. i live directly across the street so the campus s close for me, but really is small class sizes I don't think they have many over 28 students per class. I can easily choose a class schedule that fits my fancy! On top of it a lot of events are held by student. Ex. This month (Oct.) it is all about domestic violence, every week or every day something new is going on raising awareness. Right now T-shirts are hanging in the main center grass area made by staff and students who know or have been effected by domestic violence. Also donation boxes are throughout the campus. Very cool.

    Am learning a lot

    I love my classes. Of course sometimes you might not get the greatest teacher, that is just life but for the most part I love my teachers. My favorite has to be Mr. Turner one of the 2 I believe EDU teachers. He is BEYOND amazing. Every morning we start of w/ some corny, fun jokes and he really makes you think about what you are learning. He constantly is changing his own teaching styles and always reading and keeping up to date with his class and new ways to teach. Definitely dragging out my EDU courses just so I might have him for one class a semester!

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are just jumping back into the flow of school life or prefer more intimate settings with faculty and peers.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everything is very close and easy to find and the faculty is always extremely helpful and sincere.

    Am learning a lot

    Class size are small, allowing students to be able to ask questions and participate in group activities that strengthen understanding of various topics.

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are tight on money, want a head start on college, want to live near home, unsure of what they want to do in college/life, or those who have a busy schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and register for classes early, the important ones like sciences fill up very fast. Look in the book store of used books or books that are for rent. Take your placement tests in English, Math, and Reading so you can apply for the Honors Scholarship this scholarship pays for everything, if you are a full time student.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an in-state student here is great. The credits for in-state is $71 per credit and that is bang for my buck. The classes that one can take here is great for the prices that are offered because, in Universities, these classes can cost up to a thousand dollars, including books and materials. A new feature here, you can rent text books that you are allowed to write in!

    Am enjoying being here

    Many people think being at a community college is boring and not eventful; they are wrong. At Estrella Mountain Community College, the environment is peaceful and calming. There are many student groups and clubs that are highly involved in this college and it is enjoyable to see them around. I enjoy being here due to the ease of grasping the surroundings and the overall environment on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    With the small classes, individual attention is highly valued. The teachers are very focused on helping students and making sure that the students understand the material fully before continuing on with the rest of the class. Also, for new students, professors and teachers here help the students find their way around and also get comfortable with the way college works.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come and check it out for yourself they have the best teachers in AZ!

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are cheap! They are defiantly money saver!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here! There is so much things to do for ex go to the library go to NASA center go to the restaurant.

    Am learning a lot

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE my History teacher he is the best he knows how to teach! You will want to let everyone know what you are learning!

  • 11/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like the suburbs People who like hot weather People who like to pump iron

    Tips for prospective students

    As below, keep a journal for all classes. Have fun, and plan your time wisely.

    Bang for the buck

    Decent tuition, no real problems.

    Did enjoy being here

    The amenities on the campus are fantastic, including a pool and a fitness club. Plus, it's very small and easy to learn.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes are really indepth, and the usage of journals helps.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Casual but serious Nose to the grindstone (like me!) Smart, savvy with computers

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep being the best you can be and you will do fine.

    Bang for the buck

    I love what I'm learning at this college. I've found, though, that this college is more liberal than the one I came from -- I don't like a teacher to push a particular political agenda upon me, and there were two I had this last semester who did. I'm there to learn, not to hear them spout their political ideologies.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm an Honors student and part of Phi Theta Kappa. There's lots to do on campus and people are very friendly, even to old girls like me!

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers are worth their weight in gold, with exceptional experience and great attitudes. There are a few, however, that are set in their ways and don't provide a structured classroom environment. Their online classes are A+++.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe with all the police around.

    Bang for the buck

    easy classes most times.

    What to do for fun

    hang outside in the shade.

    Food and Dining

    food is kind of expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    good teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for financial aid early.

    In three sentences

    the campus is beautiful and clean. the staff and teachers are nice and friendly. i like attending classes at estrella mountain community college.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    estrella has its own gym in walking distance from all of your classes. you have some sports teams like tennis and art, fairs, festivals, luncheons and much more!

    Food and Dining

    the food is delicious you would rather eat at estrella than at home. you have a variety to choose from whether you just want a snack or a full meal.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    at estrella, the teachers motivate you to go beyond what you think your limits are. you learn so much and your teachers will always encourage you to push farther.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips i would give to prospective students is to be motivated and have a vision for yourself. at estrella your counslers will help you and always be organized. know what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    estrella mountain community college is an amazing school for students who are graduating high school because the classes are small and you have more opportunities for help. it is a friendly beautiful campus where everything you need is at reach. the teachers are always available and you feel right at home.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 13 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    get of the computers. there is a student life section so you can play video games and chill with other students.

    Food and Dining

    it's expensive and there is not a big selection on food

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i don't understand the question.

    Tips for prospective students

    figure out what classes you need.

    In three sentences

    the staff is rude, besides the professors. they make you feel dumb for asking questions and are not nice. they are not professional at all, especially the ladies who work on the front desk. the classes can be challenging, however some are easier than others. the students are nice.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, and events that happen here at the campus. Student Life tries to make opportunities for events on a wide scale, and clubs such as Sports Club, Christian Challenge, and PRIDE are always meeting.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are difficult depending on the class. Science classes are more self-teach, and Math classes are more group work/book work, so become accustomed to these styles if attending this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Go to class! Some teachers are very strict about attendance, and the EMCC policy is as well. - Your syllabus is your friend! It has the contact information you will need just in case, and it usually has assignments listed and due dates. -Become aquainted with Blackboard. EMCC is going more green, and using less paper, so the majority of assignments are via internet.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College is overall a very welcoming and postive place to get an education. I have had many great professors and always have help available to me at writing centers, the library, and NASA center. This school is a good starting point if you are new or getting back into college!

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College Safety is really good about watching the campus and parking. They staff is friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Administration of Justice club has a lot of fun activities through out the year. They have had quite a few interesting activities

    Food and Dining

    I've only used the coffee shop area, it's pricing is reasonable and the students are helpful. Coffee isn't so bad either.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, I have learned a lot here and look forward to pursuing my education. I feel that I will always be able to reach out to my current instructors as resources if needed in the future

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in expecting to receive a lot of valuable information.

    In three sentences

    I have been very pleased with my experience here at Estrella Mountain. The Administration of Justice staff really cares about your education and future and the class work load is manageable. I have learned a lot at this institution.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never witnessed the need for security or police officers on campus though I do see them around. It is located in a good part of town and is very quiet.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners, high school graduate, high school students.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is smaller but they have lots of room to grow. In fact they are building a few new buildings right now. Everything is easy to find and there is plenty of free parking. The grounds are also landscaped very nicely.

    What to do for fun

    There always seems to be something fun going on around campus. Different clubs sponsor activities year round.

    Food and Dining

    The Regions Cafe has some tasty treats and they are very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the academic rigor is good. I feel challenged but not to the point where I feel like I can't succeed and excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Things seem to go smoother when you talk with the guidance counsellors. They can help you get on the right path and take the right classes for your degree or transfer degree. They are all so friendly and I always feel like they have my best interest in mind.

    In three sentences

    I like attending EMCC because I feel that the instructors really care about what they do and how they teach. They take the extra effort to make sure everyone understands the curriculum whether it be in the classroom or after class, they are there for the students. I always recommend EMCC to my friends and family because it is affordable, close to home and focused on students.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Estrella is amazing. There are campus police officers who are always readily available in the case of an emergency and are extremely helpful. The school also has a text message alert system in case students need to be aware of any hazards on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at Estrella. There is a Veterans club, art club, photography club, culinary club, and many more. There is also an Honor's Society which I am a part of because it is a great way to feel like a part of something bigger than yourself. I suggest checking int the various clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Estrella Mountain specializes in the nursing program for Arizona. If a student is interested in going into the nursing field, then I highly suggest this school because they take pride in their nursing program. The one downfall is that the waiting list is quite long, so hurry!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are traditions on campus for those history months such as Black History Month in February or Women's History Month in March. During these months when there are events commemorate the months there will be student speakers who go to the commons area to speak out about how they feel for this particular commemoration. Some students become very passionate and it is always fun to watch or participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has a great bang for the buck because it is a junior college and is not expensive when compared to universities. However, even though this school is less expensive it does not lack in education. I guarantee that this school will prepare you for any future endeavors you have planned.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a ton to do for fun around Estrella Mountain, but if you are willing to drive twenty to thirty minutes there is a great night life in Tempe or Scottsdale. There are beautiful parks and great fitness centers in the area that are similar to resorts. Hiking is always a great activity close to the school because the Estrella Mountains are close to Estrella Mountain Community College.

    Food and Dining

    There is an extremely cute cafe on campus for all students at Estrella Mountain. The cafe is actually ran by the culinary students and on certain the students will prepare full feasts for people to rate their cuisine. I highly recommend checking out the cafe on campus because the food is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    Considering that this is not a university there is no dorm life at Estrella Mountain, but there is plenty of close living to the campus. If money is an issue then there are always people going to Estrella who are looking for roommates. Do not let the dorm life deter you from this wonderful school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Estrella Mountain is more difficult than some might anticipate. I have had courses that included so much work I did not think it was possible to be a full-time student and still maintain my GPA. I made myself prevail through all the college work I have endured thus far.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to always come to class prepared and to be as tech savvy as possible. Success is contingent upon being prepared and without the proper tools such as textbooks or computer access, failure is quite possible. It is important to be tech savvy because it seems that many of the courses and materials offered are all through or a part of technology.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College has greatly changed my life. Despite the fact that Estrella Mountain is a junior college I have learned an immense amount at this school. Most of my teachers have been extremely helpful and full of knowledge which I needed to be successful in my courses.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafe was okay.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    plan ahead. Get to know the campus and stay motivated.

    In three sentences

    I've been attending on/off for the past 5 years, I've seen it grow, and I really like it.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 19 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security vehicles roaming the campus so you feel really safe at all times of the day. The sidewalks are well let at night as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    The honors programs here really open the door to future opportunities when you transfer to the university.

    Great for these types of students

    This school seems best for the mid twenty somethings to the baby boomer aged individuals.

    Food and Dining

    There are no quick fast food places around campus. The soda machines seem to be way over priced.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and as far as my knowledge there are no assigned dorms for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience, more than half of my instructors seem really brilliant in their field but are lousy at teaching. Most of the staff on campus are adjunct faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your own research about what courses you need to complete your degree. The advisors here all give different information so it's really difficult to figure what classes you should take next.

    In three sentences

    The school is now implementing a smoke free environment so this is quite nice! The instructors all seem to be fairly pleasant. The enrollment process is quite painless and seamless.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This Emcc campus, is very safe. They use technology to to alert students in case of a situation happens either in the rode or in the to campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    At Estrella, they have a variety of clubs and sports which allow the student to earn scholarships and prestige.

    Great for these types of students

    The student's at Estrella, are helpful and very willingly to help incoming or transferred students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Estrella has many different unique locations in which students can relax and go for help with any course taken there. They have one on one Tudors. For example one of the many places I go for additional help is,

    What to do for fun

    Estrella has a place where students call relax and socializes or just have fun is called The Student Lounged.

    Food and Dining

    During the summer they have a cafeteria whee students can go to purchase food drinks and snacks. They help students with eating healthy by offering the healthiest foods. There are many vending machines around the campus making it easier for the students.

    Dorm Life

    unforchantly, there are no dorms since its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an adviser and make sure to have your paper work done before talking to them. It will make it eerier for you and your adviser.

    In three sentences

    Being a student at Estrella has been wonderful. I enjoy going to class because they are small and i have one on one time with my instructor. I like that it is a small campus and that its flexible with my schedule.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 21 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Estrella Mountain Community College offers over 26 different clubs that meet different peoples interests. Since Estrella is fairly new, the only sports it has to offer are cross country and swim but it is about to offer soccer.

    Food and Dining

    Estrella offers a lot of lunch and dinning stores including a Start Bucks cafe. The Grille has delicious food and a special every day for breakfast and lunch. There is also a restaurant that offers some of the best food you can possibly find. The Star Bucks cafe is a good addition to those who need a wake up before classes.

    Dorm Life

    Esrella is a small community college and does not offer dorms. Nor does it offer of campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The biggest difficulty while being at Estrella would probably be focus. Often, at times, there is a lot of construction and noise which can cause students not to have full focus while in class. Even when one is trying to complete homework in the library, the sound of construction is often a disruption.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should really take advantage of the programs offered. The clubs really help build friendships as the learning enhancement programs are of great use to students. Nasa as well as the Learning Enhancement Center are great programs that can tutor students who need help.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College is a small community college that is excellent for those who prefer smaller type colleges. It is easy to get from place to place and the employees and teaching staff are excellent. Learning at Estrella is one of the best experiences possible with up to date technologies.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While the Public Safety office is separated from the main part of campus by a parking lot, it is staffed with people who are dedicated to making sure students are safe. Drills are conducted on a regular basis, and you can sign up for a text-messaging system that will keep you updated on campus happenings.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life maintains a record of several student run clubs, although many of them have limited resources and struggle to recruit new members each year. However, Student Life hosts several activities for students throughout the year, including once-a-semester talent/karaoke shows. For those more academically minded, Student Life also celebrates cultural heritage by putting on several programs relating to African American History Month, Hispanic American History Month, etc.; the Honors Program and the local chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society joins in many of these events, which are fun as well as enlightening.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    EMCC has a beautiful campus that is continuing to expand as the college begins its twenty-first year of operation.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for full-time student is about $1000 a semester, much cheaper than at a four-year university. The personal support of college staff and faculty combined with challenging classes mean a high quality education. I've heard former EMCC students say they've gotten a better education at EMCC than they have at the four-year schools they have transferred to.

    Food and Dining

    EMCC's Cafeteria is rather small and a bit overpriced. However, the culinary students run a restaurant on campus (reservations required) and EMCC's location just off I-10 means there are many fast-food and sit-down restaurants within ten minutes of campus.

    Dorm Life

    As a community college, EMCC does not provide student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    EMCC is one of the top community colleges in the country. EMCC classes are the highest quality, and while challenging, students will find plenty of support to help them succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of faculty office hours, and take the time to get to know the senior administration: they're always looking for student involvement on campus. Make sure to stop in at the tutoring centers, which provide resources and quiet places to study in addition to tutoring. Print out a degree check sheet and match your classes with the four-year school you want to transfer to; when going to see an advisor, make sure to make an appointment with the one who specializes in your area.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College has a small campus atmosphere and is dedicated to student success in all areas, in and out of the classroom. The classes are academically rigorous, but the faculty members are always available for assistance and questions, and EMCC has free tutoring services for writing, languages, math, and science. The campus Office of Student Life puts on several programs throughout the year that are free for students and supports EMCC's mission as a Learning College by providing opportunities to learn and grow in areas such as leadership and community service.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food made by culinary students, not to bad.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    Class sizes are respectable which allows more time for each student. Had an excellent time getting to know the faculty. Tons of events and programs to get involved in

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do around Avondale but always good to go out to the east side of town.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply on time and always transfer to a university to complete your BA

    In three sentences

    good, educational, clean

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Your there for school.

    Food and Dining

    Great snack bar

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    If you took AP classes in Highschool your more then ready.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best and dont fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Estella Mountain Community College is an excellant starting college.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Estrella is great for students just out of high school looking to ease into college or go to college cheaply. It is also excellent for non-traditional students going back to college later in life, as there are many options for working around your life schedule.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing on campus to do for fun, but nearby there is hiking.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus, so I don't know how the food is. I do know, however, that there is a culinary program that runs a food establishment, and I would guess the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived on campus, and in fact I don't believe there are dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Estrella are nowhere near as difficult as those I took at a university ten years ago, but they are as rigorous as I would expect at a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Estrella is a fantastic place to take care of basic credits before transferring to a university, as the courses are much less expensive and are still quite well-conducted.

    In three sentences

    Estrella has great online course offerings. Most of the professors are professional and helpful. There are excellent student resources available on campus.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheap for in county residents. couldn't ask for more

    What to do for fun

    There is a program called engage estrella, basically it gives you the chance to job shadow someone, be a mentor/mentee. All of this prepares you for your future job

    Food and Dining

    Everything is nearby, you have a in school restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It gives you the chance to experience rigourous subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend, as long as you put your 100% effort in anything at estrella , you will get so much in return.

    In three sentences

    So far i really love it, it is close to home. The classes are small and very easy to understand. Estrella has done so much to keep me updated and involved with school.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a night student, I have gotten a slight feeling of vulnerability walking through a dark parking lot to my car. However, I quickly look around and remember there's trained security guards roaming the grounds and city police units patrolling the parking lots. I have complete confidence in my safety and have no doubt I am in the eyes of capable officers.

    Great for these types of students

    Estrella Mountain Community College is great for any type of student. In my time as a student here, I've met a diversity of students looking to excel in a variety of majors and are doing so on the same campus. I'd say, if you're looking to expand your education and open more doors for yourself in the future, EMCC is the college to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    I must admit I am extremely impressed with what EMCC returns to the students for the tuition fees. I couldn't imagine attending anywhere else and everywhere I looked, offered the same educational skills at a higher price. Estrella Mountain Community College is the ideal college to invest your time, focus and money in.

    Food and Dining

    All over campus there are various snack food and beverage vending machines to ensure students make each day, efficient and productive. Also located on the EMCC campus is a cafe, which is the ideal place to rest a bit and have a quick bite to eat. For the obnoxious inconvenience of thirst or hunger, EMCC has a quick solution always close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Estrella Mountain Community College is quite progressive. In my experience, it is on a rare occasion that an instructor will stray away from the point at hand, but this shouldn't be taken as an educator being distracted. This is always to further explain the subject of discussion, so no matter what may appear as a speed bump in the learning process will reveal itself to be another stepping stone deeper into a steady learning process.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would offer future students is to refrain from thinking the worst of college. I began feeling nervous and unsure of myself but soon discovered I had the wrong interpretation of a college education and found that faculty are always delighted to assist students. I advise any potential students at EMCC to walk into class with a head held high because you are not embarking on this journey alone.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Estrella Mountain Community College (EMCC) highly enough to recommend it to anyone wishing to further their education. I never have experienced a moment of loss of concentration or misunderstanding at EMMC. The professors show no hesitation to reach out to all of their students in assuring they are progressing along and becoming deeply knowledgeable in the class studies.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Estrella is a great place to go if you want to get a good education, but not pay even close to the amount a University costs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee shop and a little restaurant type thing on campus that I know of and they are very good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered to students.

    In three sentences

    Estrella is a great school, especially if you are planning to get an Associates Degree there or transfer to a University. All of the instructors I have had really care about making sure the students get the best education. At Estrella there are several services provided to students for free that are there if you need help, for example the writing center.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs attend meetings meet great people!

    Food and Dining

    Good food options to buy something made or the chef can make something of your choice. The pricing of the food are very reasonable!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is definitely a great place to start your career. It offers a variety of classes and programs which help you get to your goal. The campus is small so it's easy to get around; you don't need to walk more than a couple of minutes to be across campus.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College is the place for me to start my education. Estrella provides with all my needs including tutoring in math. Estrella is very well structured and has great and friendly staff.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have pretty much everything from yoga to football. I all bepends on what you like doing

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy to ask someone or a teacher for help.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes so better one on one with my professors. Easy to find things around the campus. Have a lot of different things going n so you have things to do.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the dining on campus is very limited but there is a lot of places to eat around campus.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    it is a good school academically wise because the teachers help in every way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to register early and online because if a student is late to registrate they will have limited choices to none to get classes.

    In three sentences

    Estrella has professional teachers with friendly staff. The school has many resources for students. It is a clean campus that is tobacco free. registration is easy.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is around campus and they have an alert system to where you can get a text if something is wrong on campus. You can register your car to help ensure its safety and help them keep if safe.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes will save you money for university life and you will get a good education as long as you try.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs you can join and the student life building is a good place to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food in kinda expensive and not that great. The breakfast foods are probably the best here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are reasonable knowledgeable and are willing to help you if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and do your work. Put in extra time outside of class and you will do fine.

    In three sentences

    This school is a good stepping stone onto a university. It has good instructors and it provides support services for the students such as free tutoring. You have to explore to get information and get pushed into the right direction.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For anything that happens in campus such as a fire drill you will get notified either by email or by text.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lobby for students and one can play cards, video games, watch movies and we also have a gym there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teacher and don't skips any classes.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to study, teachers are nice, we have a computer for every student if needed and there's almost programs were you can get a personal tutor of you're having trouble with any of your classes for no cost. Whatever you may need EMCC has it.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus in a great area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I didn't participate in clubs, it has clubs for all areas.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for students who need to get their general education completed at a reasonable price. It also has many certificate programs.

    Bang for the buck

    I think for a community college it has everything you need for general education and more at reasonable tuition rates.

    What to do for fun

    There are different things to do in area from dining to golfing. College in near Phoenix where there's clubs and many others things such as sports.

    Food and Dining

    They have multiple areas for dining and everything is local to college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the path you choose, it can be achievable with a fair amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would meet with an advisor immediately to make sure you are on the correct pathway for you education. They are very knowledgeable.

    In three sentences

    EMCC was a great choice for me in getting my general education completed as I get ready to transfer to a university. They have pathways that match education with state universities. The campus is friendly and the teachers are wonderful and helpful.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is usually a campus event going on sometime during the month. There is also many attraction around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a smaller cafeteria but it has good food. There is a restaurant on campus that is run by the culinary students for practice.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics start from high school courses to get the students up to par. It ends in the honors program with the honors courses. The academics are able to be challenging but it does go with where the students are.

    Tips for prospective students

    A main tip I would give is to find a solid club or organization to be a part of. I am currently in EMC2 which is a mentee and mentor program and it helps me stay on track and invested in my school work.

    In three sentences

    EMCC is a wonder school to start out with. It does not have all the distraction like a major university but it still has the college like classes to help adjust. It also has a smaller campus, so it is a lot easier to find a class and to get in touch your professor.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's usually two *armed* security officers on duty everyday on compus, and always a police cruiser/ biker. So, i'm not concerned what so ever about any 'shootings' here at the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    As far as clubs and activities goes, there's always something going on every other week on campus, but there's more happening off campus with clubs as i've been told.

    Bang for the buck

    Free food and coffee and also hot cocoa at the Student Union, go there often for free pizza occasions and also presentations.

    What to do for fun

    EMCC has quite a few spots to relaxe and mingle with other people, but most of them are outside, it get's to hot during the summer time to enjoy the scenery outside.

    Food and Dining

    The chef's at the school cafe are truly skilled, anything they make makes everyone's mouth water, and they're worth every penny for the price, also, not expensive. *Go in the mornings and order the cheese crisp with bacon inside it, tastes awesome!* Plus, we have a Starbucks here that serve drinks quick and tasteful, it's truly great here. And as for vending machines goes, they are not 'too' overpriced like how you find at other public places, and they're pretty new, most of the machines can take your debit/credit card if you want.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm's i'm aware of, but I know the school post fliers around saying where to find great priced apartments and rent a room places.

    Tips for prospective students

    Best i could say for new students or returning if that's the case, is to get your desired classes right away, the very day class sections are released for the following term, and review that teacher online from the school website, to make sure that, that teacher is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College truly is a wonderful school. I hear comments and complaints from GCC from my friends who went there, and they all wish they could attend my college for it's awesome, non-crowded classes and neatness. Also, this school is constantly trying to improve itself and make it a better place for students, they're almost done with newest part of Estrella hall, a truly beautiful addition to the school.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves delicious and affordable food which is great for college students who have no time for a job.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It would be nice if there were, I am 30 minutes away from the school and it is the closest school.

    Academic Rigor

    There's an honors program but I didn't think that there would be so may students involved in it. It's encouraging to see students that try as hard as you do and even harder at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Just because it's community college doesn't mean that they don't have anything to offer you. Most importantly, ask questions. anything that comes to mind there is someone to answer that question.

    In three sentences

    I though community college was gonna be boring; I thought there were not going to be any events or opportunities for students to grow and become involved. It was completely opposite of that. There are so many opportunities for students to grow there, and the faculty is actually interested in the students success!

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not really much to do for fun. Tons of clubs are available though.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. Not a huge variety but the quality more than makes up for that.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't have on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    It differs based on the teacher. Some teachers expect a lot of the students others do not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize rate my professor before signing up for a class. This could make a world of difference.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school with tons of options on obtaining an education. Student life does a great job of bringing students together that have commonalities. The only issue would be the inconsistency in the faculty.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a police officer roaming around in the parking lot and the campus. The security and college public safety officers are always alert for anything that is out of the ordinary.

    Greek Life

    I do not know about that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities to part take in. Also it is a great way to make friends and meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to try new things and explore new areas of thinking. It's great for students who like the relaxed vibe of college and meeting different types of people ranging from all ages.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there are any unusual traditions or locations here. It is a typical community college.

    Bang for the buck

    You for sure get your money's worth here. I know I have definitely gotten my money's worth here at Estrella. The professors are well rounded in the subject or subjects he or she teaches.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and a few sports to part take in. Also in the student union there is always something exciting going on and the campus makes sure the students know what is happening.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very tasty. The chefs cater to students every will in order to make the students and staff happy. It is a little pricey but it is definitely worth it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors know the subject he or she is teaching. Each professor works with the students in order to make them successful in life. Overall the professors are really nice and helpful to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a relaxed environment then this is the school for you. The class sizes are exceptionally a good size. Also if you do not mind having older adults in your classes then this is the school you want to attend.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent school for people who want to get the prerequisites out the way first. The staff here is extremely helpful and pushes you to reach your academic goals. It is a very relaxed environment and the students and staff here are very friendly and helpful.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellant and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I have participated in many volunteer activities through the college while I am waiting for my next class to start which is always fun when you give back to your community. They also have a track and golf team so that could be fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    The college offers a wide variety of healthy foods from their cafe as well as various locations of vending machines. Don't worry you won't go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I cannot answer this, but it is a community college so I don't believe there is a dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found the academic rigor to be very through and right on track with the current topics. I believe that this college strives to succeed and pushes each student to learn a little more than normal. I have learned so much more than I have ever imagined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for people whom are looking to go here I would have to advise them to go to the campus and take a tour so they can make sure they would be comfortable here. I would also advise them to go to the admissions office to make sure they will be able to get financial assistance for this particular college. Other than that, enroll and experience a life changing moment.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain has been my choice for college because they have a wonderful staff, an immense amount of resources, and they offer an array of different programs. I have had only positive experiences at this college and plan to graduate from here. This is definitely a college to go to.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always there whether or not you want them to be there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pre-Medical Society Phi Theta Kappa (CC honor society) Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Popcorn Thursdays Honor Forums

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not that much (compared to universities). Finish prerequisites at a community college and spend the big bucks for classes you can only get at universities. (Make sure credits transfer over)

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs on campus, get involved, many opportunities to volunteer. The new library and Student Union is also available for those wanting to go on facebook and tumblr between classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe area and Starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    What dorm life?

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the instructor the class can be simple or really difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent your books from Chegg.com unless you plan on reading the text again. Show up on time some instructors have sign in sheets but not all.

    In three sentences

    Smaller classes gets you one-on-one time with the instructors. The campus is expanding due to how many students are attending (new library). Financial Aid is always looking for ways to give money to deserving students.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always occasionally see security driving around in carts or the occasional police officer setting up somewhere in the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    They always have something going on every month, from student life lunches to unique guest speakers. Definitely worth checking out.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working people who want to pursue another path in their careers. Or new college students who want to get their Associates out of the way cheaply.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some older parts of the school, but they recently opened up an entirely new library complete with a unique architecture.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't really complain for the learning and options for events you get here for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Some dates there are student life events and interesting facts displayed in unique projects.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafe cooked up by culinary students, or a coffee shop on the other side of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, so there is no on-site living areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers pile on lots of work for you and make you earn your knowledge. Others are very relaxed and simply let you cruise through the course with an A despite no work done. If you're looking to really learn, consider the teachers you study from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay dedicated on your work, but don't worry about feeling trapped in your current major. Low tuition gives you room to reconsider your path as you take your general course credits.

    In three sentences

    A straight learning school. Some of the teachers drive you hard with work. A worthy experience.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you are really serious about your education like I am, I suggest telling your advisor (upon your FIRST meeting with him/her) that you wish to get your associates in two years or less. Be prepared to take on a full load of classes, be prepared to take summer courses, and be prepared to graduate in two years because these are some of the best advisors ever and they will tell you exactly which classes to take and when to take them so that all of your credits transfer to a University. All of my credits transferred to ASU without any problems! :)

    What to do for fun

    There are a couple of different off-campus places to study, like the drive thru Starbucks that is just down the street from the school. It's nice to sit on the patio and study during down time. There are also some really nice secluded areas in the new Estrella Hall library where students can get comfortable and watch movies on their laptops between classes. Lastly, the school hosts a couple events on campus that are fun, yet informational and provide information about transferring to a University! I would recommend going.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria-like dining hall at Estrella, but it is extremely pricy! I would recommend going to the bookstore where they sell chips and other snack items that are just past the expiration date for less than half the price! This college is also very good about offering vending machines in each building on campus.

    Dorm Life

    They don't provide dorms at a community college, but the community surrounding the school is awesome! I myself lived two minutes away, so I didn't have as much trouble getting to my 7am classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much in the past two years here. My professors have really helped me out, and guided me in the right path so that I would be ready to make the transfer to a University. The summer courses are very challenging, but they are worth the extra work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate on due dates, weather it is an assignment in class, enrollment, or a book return date, the policy is strict all across campus, and teachers won't tolerate laziness.

    In three sentences

    This college is outstanding on all levels of academic rigor. The fact that it is a community college allows for smaller classes, which makes it easy to get in touch with professors, create close-knit study groups, and park right next to your classes! This campus is also very clean, and well staffed; professors really care for your success.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The location of the campus is in a good and quiet place. There are police and security guards that roam around the school the whole day. There are also cameras in every corner of the school - especially in the parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who are financially savvy. Also, students would do well in here because of the small class sizes which enables the teacher to focus more on each student's needs.

    Bang for the buck

    If you do well on the entrance exams, you may qualify for the Presidential Scholarship which covers the tuition for two years. It is really very helpful for students with financial needs.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, the school has a Student Union where students hang out while waiting in between classes. In there are computers, free coffee, and free popcorn.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good! It is cooked after you order it. The downside is, the food is pretty expensive (although it is like that in almost every single college in America).

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in Estrella Mountain Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Different teachers teach in different ways. Some instructors will push you really hard, and some instructors are easy going. My tip for people who would register for classes is to go to www.ratemyprofessors.com. In that website, you could see reviews from different students regarding some of the teachers at school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should register early in order to get classes that would fit their schedule outside of school. Future students should make sure not to buy books before the first day of classes because some teachers does not require them. Lastly, when taking the entrance exams, make sure to take your time because you could have a chance to get the Presidential Scholarship.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College has a really good environment. The school is fairly small, which is why it is easy to navigate around the campus. It also has everything that a student need to maximize one's learning needs.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is everything and at Estrella, being too safe is never an option to look down upon. There are Avondale police officers on campus, as well as EMCC certified security who actively are on the lookout for a possible threat. Patrol cars search the parking lot repeatedly to ensure that everyone is safe. Citizens in the area know that their city is safe, as do all the students who attend EMCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    See WHAT TO DO FOR FUN section.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone knows that the economy, unfortunately, has taken a downfall the past couple of years. Tuition has rapidly increased due to this series of unfortunate events. Luckily, Lemony Snicket does not need to change the title of his series due to the savings students can gain from EMCC. Classes, believe it or not, are only $254 per semester, and monthly payment plans can be arranged. With prices like this, anyone can honestly get the bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Students need a way to engage in activities that can give the cerebral cortex a period of rest. There are many activities and sports that Estrella Mountain offers. Around the campus there are stations set up for searching up clubs that may interest students. With the enormous amount of options available, everyone will be able to find their passion.

    Food and Dining

    Estrella Mountain offers many places to relax and enjoy a warm meal. After visiting Regions and seeing them cook an appetizing pizza whose cheese screams as the tomato sauce is split from it's fellow, delicious friends, they will be screaming themselves at how delicious and affordable the food is. If students are just interested in grabbing a cup of coffee to start up their engine for the day, Starbucks is also available in Mariposa. Whether they want a chilling frapp���������������© or a classic home-brewed coffee, they will enjoy the authentic taste of what true coffee is meant to be.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, the dorm life of EMCC is not what a student would come to expect. In fact, there are no on campus dorms. However, many apartments, luxurious and affordable ones in fact, offer amazing discounted prices for students who attend Estrella Mountain. Newport is a great apartment complex that is only 2.09 miles away, offering rent for students at a rate of $524 on studios. The idea of living off campus is flawless.

    Academic Rigor

    The intensity of Estrella may cause the average student to quiver in fear. However, do not succumb to the idea of this because it can be achieved. Aristotle once stated, The roots of education are bitter, but the fruit is sweet. This is perhaps the best stated quote about EMCC. The classes can be accomplished with a set mind and help from instructors. It may not be ideal, but in the end, the accomplishments received will complete goals and accomplish dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is definitely potential for students who are serious enough to buckle down and learn but there is advice to be given. Every student who attends EMCC should definitely take time to work in the study hall located in Estrella Hall. By using the study hall, you will be able to comprehend your previous information from classes in a quiet environment. Another tip would be to always ask for assistance if it is needed. There are academic counselors and professors who can work out solutions on topics you may not understand. They are even available up to ten o'clock pm.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College is the ideal institution for receiving the knowledge that college students, such as myself, thrive for. The beautiful and quiet environment releases an aura that places students in a ready-to-learn mood. The professionalism of the school truly assists on students achieving their goals.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food offered at EMCC. There is a little bit of everything to satisfy everyone. There is even a Starbucks on campus for those who need a little pick me up before class!

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, EMCC does not offer any dorms for students to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Estrella Mountain Community College has some of the best professors that take the time in answering student's questions, making the learning experience easier and more enjoyable. Therefore, there are no real challenges that cannot be overcome with a visit one of the many various tutors on campus

    In three sentences

    Overall Estrella Mountain Community College is a great school! Not only is the campus itself beautiful and well kept but the faculty and staff are very welcoming and helpful.The educational experience this school has to offer is perfect for all types of students.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    does not live in dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Use resources to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    EMCC is very student success orienated. Very helpful with school tutoring and direction for career paths. Excited to begin my future here.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Estrella has police officers on campus as well as a station right on the other side of the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Estrella provides hundreds of clubs such as the Christian group, and the athletic club.

    What to do for fun

    Estrella Mountain is always looking for ways for the students to have an amazing college life although only a community college. Estrella offers millions of after school activities as well as clubs and free food.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is expensive but excellent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great School.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard it will pay off in the end; literally.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College is one of the best community colleges in the Maricopa district. Estrella is full of fun teachers who care about you and your learning as well as resources to help you achieve greatness. Lastly Estrella Mountain has hundreds of classes to chose from such as Voice, Jazz History, And theory.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has excellent safety personnel. They patrol the campus during school hours and off hours. Our campus has a good safety record.

    Bang for the buck

    Our school is small enough that it offers small class sizes where you're going get the best classroom experience. You won't feel lost in a sea of 150 students in a class. Our instructors care and they will help you any way they can. Come check us out!!

    What to do for fun

    Our school clubs have activities. If you have interests that we offer look into it. You're sure to find something you like.

    Food and Dining

    Our school has a diner. Food is good and will get you through your day at school. Prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Course material is appropriate and good organization will keep you current with your assignments. Our school library offers tutoring where tutors are friendly and patient. Take advantage of help offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read your course catalog. It has every kind of information you will need to get you started.Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College is an excellent school to attend. I am currently enrolled in a Biology class and have found my instructor to be a very good instructor. She cares and helps us if we are struggling.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my experience, I have felt safe on campus and I think EMCC does a good job trying to make sure their students are safe.

    Great for these types of students

    EMCC is great for students who are there to learn. Students that like a smaller community. Students that are on a budget.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the best part about attending Estrella Mountain Community College is the bang for the buck. I strongly believe I am getting a quality education at a fraction of the price. I have really learned a lot here and most professors are more than willing to do what they can to help their students learn the material and pass the class. Why would anyone want to go to a university and pay many times more for the same class? This is a great option for all types of students.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried any of the food here.

    Dorm Life

    Estrella Mountain doesn't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    So far the academics have been great. I haven't found anything too difficult, however, that could just be me. For the most part, the homework is manageable. It is mostly about how you manage your time. I have found that a lot of the assignments can be done fairly quickly if you just focus. Most professors here give you enough time to complete their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would strongly recommend to register for classes early because then there are far less to choose from and you can end up taking classes you are not interested in at all. Another thing I would suggest is not taking too many classes you find difficult at the same time. For example, if you don't like writing, don't take English 101 and a journalism course.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Best tip I can offer is to apply for classes early before the times you want are full.

    In three sentences

    Estrella Mountain Community College is convenient and wonderful! I have enjoyed the classes offered and the instructors have been very helpful. I just wish they had more classes.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Our campus is close to the freeway, so there are plenty of restaurants close-by. My personal favorite is the Wildflower Cafe a few miles away. We have one on-campus cafeteria, an Eco-Cafe and and a restaurant run by the culinary program (but it only does reservations!).

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, since it's a community college!

    Academic Rigor

    My first semester here was not as rigorous as expected. I took 17 credits and expected to be swamped, but I held up okay and made it through the semester with only one all-nighter and a couple late nights. Honestly, I could have had a part-time job and a normal sleeping schedule if I had adhered to strict time management. However, I'll see how I fare with 200 level classes!

    In three sentences

    A good place to start. Wonderful resources and dedicated teachers. No excuses to push back your education.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they'll put you on cops

    Clubs and Activities

    I wish they had chess club

    What to do for fun

    people watch. dance classes

    Food and Dining

    there's a couple of starbucks, a little caf�©, and a small restaurant that ive never been to

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    its alright, not super fancy

    Tips for prospective students

    register for classes early, they go quick. do not look for your soul mate here

    In three sentences

    Estrella is a great college to get a degree quickly and easily. They offer great scholarships. The instructors are cool, and the classes are pretty fun.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love the safety it is very under control

    Clubs and Activities

    The club is always having something and is always inviting new members to sign up and to also get involved. They are always running some community drive and helping out others who are in need.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes very it is great for anyone who would like to go to a community college who is also like a small family in a sense.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    don't have one.

    Bang for the buck

    YEEESSSSSS!!! IT REALLY IS IT IS VERY AFFORABLE AND THEY ALSO HAVE A PAYMENT PLAN FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO CAN NOT PAYY THE FULLAMOUNT BUT THEY ARE REALLY AFFORABLE, ESPECIALLY FOR FIRST TIME STUDENTS.

    What to do for fun

    I like to read and write, draw and have family time with my two boys

    Food and Dining

    The food is the best I eat breakfast and lunch and it never fails how delicious their food is. I can always count on having a good meal when I arrive at school any time of the day.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They are really a high performing school with sports and academics as well

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay focus and do not let anyone ruin or rain on your parade. In the end you are all you have so you have to make sure you stay focus and maintain good grades so you can keep your G.P.A because if not it will hunt you in the end. Just stay focus and positive and determine.

    In three sentences

    They are very attentive. They are suitable. They are affordable.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Plenty of food around campus within walking distance, and even great foo do n campus without having to leave.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but local apartments and housing is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are very thorough, but a few select are lacking with the teachers.

    In three sentences

    Estrella is a fantastic school, and is very clean and friendly all around. The campus size is relatively small but still has a wide range of courses at many times form the early Morning to late into the evening. Estrella is a great school to start attending college at for a smooth transition to the college life.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Estrella has many after class clubs such as art or music.

    Food and Dining

    5 start

    Dorm Life

    Estrella does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    The first thing you should do is speak with a counselor. You don't want to start taking classes that later on you didn't need.

    In three sentences

    Estrella college has been a great school. They have a lot of learning opportunities, such as a lot of resources. The teaches are all always helpful and there are great tutoring programs.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station and fire station right on campus. you rarely see incidents of safety on campus. The staff, and the policeman are nice an personable. There are job opportunities offered to students pursuing a degree in criminal justice.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have several clubs on campus and huge amounts of leadership opportunities. the office of student life and leadership is great at offering development opportunities for students in terms of leadership. For example, they allocate money to sponsor students that want to participate in the Leadershape Institute a value of about 5000dls. They pay for students to advance in their leadership skills. If you want to be involved and connected being part of a club on campus will open great opportunitites.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students, fresh out of high school students, students looking for affordable quality education.

    Bang for the buck

    The faculty that work at EMCC, are constantly updating their knowledge. Professors that truly care for the students success. The college is expanding and renewing their buildings to offer the best services to their students.

    Food and Dining

    there is a Starbucks, a grill and a restaurant on campus. you can get a full course meal for about $10.00

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms and the possibility of living on campus is not offered.

    Academic Rigor

    The upper level classes offered at EMCC will definitely challenge you and your ability to be a successful college student, but there is a great support system like an Academic Success Center for tutoring and Counselors as well as Mentors able to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources available. Work hard and get involved.

    In three sentences

    The best place to get your education started; a college philosophy focused in learning and student success. Caring and committed to student success faculty and staff. The best community college in the Maricopa area.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel like the campus is very safe,I have never had or heard of any issues.

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    unfortunately haven't had much time for clubs

    Great for these types of students

    I have seen a large range of different students. It is what you make it to be!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I enjoy the different area with water. It is different because you can sit near them and enjoy the turtles, fish, and lately the 2 ducks that have enrolled there.

    Bang for the buck

    I have gotten a good education and I feel that I am ready for the next step. Worth what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, events, clubs, student union, workshops.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty pricey, bring your own lunch there is a place to heat it up. Way more cost effective.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on what classes or teachers you take. The higher the numbers the more is expected of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    * Find out what clubs will benefit you the most and stick with them. *If you qualify for honors sign up and make sure to finish what is expected of you. * Always, Always research your teachers before taking them, and find who works best with your learning style. * Come open minded * Don't just hang out with one group, get to know as many people you can. * Get teacher recommendations. * Find a really good adviser, and when you do, hang on for dear life. They are few and far between.

    In three sentences

    Overall I am quite satisfied with EMCC. I have enjoyed the teachers and other staff. I am leaving this place with a little more open mind and ready for my next step.