Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Eureka College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kids who genuinely want to learn, but still like to have fun. It's not a party school - word gets around about everyone's business. It's definitely a family atmosphere. You will know everyone at least by sight.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus! You get to experience so much more that way.

    Bang for the buck

    They are great at finding money for people who truly want to go there.

    Did enjoy being here

    I learned a lot of valuable life and social skills from attending Eureka and joining a sorority. I would not have succeeded in my internships and grad school interviews without them.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers are fantastic and really committed to educating their students. You will never have a class of more than about 25 people (and that's for a gen-ed requirement) and you will never be taught by a TA.

  • 02/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    it's definitely a small school (approx 800), but regardless of whatever college you are looking at, go visit!

    Bang for the buck

    you definitely get your money's worth with the attention you get from your professors

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for These Types of Students: People who really like to learn. People who really like a home-style atmosphere (but without YOUR parents). Downside: You have to be willing to tolerate the small town mentality that it is literally possible for every other student to know who you are & everything that you are doing during your time at school. Good news though, we are all adults here & most people are more interested in themselves, their homework, & their social activities so they will leave you alone. Ironic note: This school is affiliated with a specific church (The Christian Church--Disciples of Christ) which means you actually get to have a Christmas concert at Christmas (instead of a winter concert) & there are no hypocritical statements about being non-denominational while clearly preferring to celebrate one particular religious tradition over all the others. As a non-practicing Jewish-Mormon-Humanist with many non-traditional LGBT, Muslim, Buddist, Atheist, LARP, & Vegan friends, I find this very refreshing. And the religious affiliation at Eureka College strikes the perfect balance: It is there to support and honor those who wish to pursue a ministry-related education in its chosen religious tradition, but for the rest of us it truly respects & tolerates our differences & doesn't try to convert us or even engage us unless we seek it out ourselves. Welcome to Eureka College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for Prospective Students: (1.) Don't be like me: I went to college for 4 years and ended up dropping-out. I put social activities ahead of homework & ended up running out of financial aid before I could complete my degree. I then had to go back to my hometown & get a real job meaning minimum wage. For 11 years. I am now dropping-back-in & WILL be finishing my degree this semester (finally!). I hope you can learn from my bad example & do a better job for yourself. (2.) My advice: If you are capable of getting an A or a B in a particular class, do it. Don't settle for the easy C. You never know when the next class will actually be hard for you & the best you can do won't be good enough to make the GPA requirements. That will put you in a tough spot when you have to re-take a particular class and won't be able to fit all your other classes into the same schedule. (3.) Don't feel bad if some things at college are easy for you and other things are hard for you. That's life. Just do your best on the things you can do well & become excellent when you can. (4.) You know how James Earl Jones stated If you build it, they will come? Well I have another adage for you: It is never too late to get it right in life. Never. I am living proof that if you don't give up, you will succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the Buck: The onsite campus cafeteria is yummy & excellent. They always have 2 warm meal options, including vegan options, and 4 cold meal options available for EVERY meal time. (Most students underestimate the importance of a good school cafeteria before choosing which school to attend.) You are paying for the actual professors to who -Love- to teach & never get a teaching assistant. All of my professors know me by my 1st name & notice if I attend class or not. Other students take an active interest in helping you succeed too. The campus is tree-lined & compact, so no car is needed to get between classes. I like the architecture of several of the classroom buildings. Downside: Some of the oldest buildings are not handicapped-accessible (and 1 has no running water because it was built when Abe Lincoln was alive & its now on the national register of historic buildings). The on-campus housing is hit & miss. Some dorms are amazing & others are run-down, but new ones are under construction this semester & the old ones are about to be renovated, so hopefully all housing will be good quality soon. The tuition is a little pricier than most, but you definitely get more personal attention than a state-run university which translates into more of your homework making sense to you more of the time.

    Am enjoying being here

    Enjoying Being Here Because: Every activity is open to any and every person who would like to participate, no matter whether it is related to your major or not--no matter whether you are a full-time student or part-time, no matter your age. That means that a Accounting major could get the lead in the play, an Bio-Chem double major could be the star of the softball team, & a Vocal Music major could be the college bowl team captain. Same goes for student politics, publications, & social organizations. That means I end up making friends with every kind of personality & outlook. (But if a recruiter asks, I claim that I am trying to expand my horizons by trying things I've never done before in life & find out what I like.) Most of these activities are free, too!

    Am learning a lot

    Learning a Lot: My brain actually hurts from learning new things. But in a good way.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Sodexo food services provide the campus with our food. There is a variety of food to choose from, with something new each day.

    Dorm Life

    For incoming female students, new dorms were just build, officially making all current living conditions on campus up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you prioritize your time and stay on top of work, things will be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest taking a visit to Eureka while you look into schools. The tour guides are amazing people and lots of fun to listen to.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love my college. The other students and the professors treat everyone with care and respect. I believe to look past Eureka College as an option would be a poor choice.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an officer on campus from 5pm-1am Sunday-Thursday, and 7pm-3am on Friday/Saturday. All of the students have access to the cellphone that the officer carries and can call even if they need an escort back to your dorm room late at night.

    Greek Life

    We currently have 6 Greek Life houses on campus. Fraternities- Delta Sigma Phi, Tau Kappa Epsilon, and Lambda Chi Alpha. Sororities- Delta Delta Pi, Delta Zeta, and Phi Omega.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you apply yourself and put yourself out there, then there are tons of opportunities to get involved on campus. From Greek Life, Student Senate, Up 'Til Dawn (St. Jude), to Campus Activities Board. There are numerous sports available as well as cheerleading and dance team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ronald Reagan went here- we must hear that phrase numerous times per day.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Eureka is very small with only a Hardees, Subway, and Pizza Hut to eat at. For places to go we can either go to Bloomington or Peoria, both a half hour away.

    Food and Dining

    We have the Commons, a buffet style dinning service open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner Monday-Friday; and brunch and dinner on Saturday and Sunday. They switch up the options everyday, but could use a little more variety. The Burgoo is open for extended hours and has a grab and go style so that students can grab a bite to eat late after work or in-between classes.

    Dorm Life

    We have just recently built a brand new dorm, complete with its own laundry facilities, kitchen, media center, and electronic swipe cards to ensure the highest safety possible. There are plenty of options for both genders and age levels to live. Almost all of the dorms have been updated in the past year, or are under construction now!

    Academic Rigor

    Each head of division is very knowledgeable in what they are to teach, how to direct students and different options each student can do. The Education Program is one of the most popular majors on campus, and is a very vigorous program to complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to visit the Records Office right away and plan out each class for the next four years, you be thankful later! Get involved right away, it will help with meeting new people on campus and open up new doors. Get to know you Resident Advisor, they are one of your biggest resources.

    In three sentences

    Eureka College is one big family, the professors, faculty, and staff want to be of assistance and always make themselves available. There are so many different opportunities to get involved on campus. Ronald Reagan graduated from here!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe here. It is a small community and there are always police officers on campus just in case.

    Greek Life

    I am in a sorority and I love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs or activities for students to get involved with.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school is pretty small, one gets to know the other students. For fun. one can find many students either at the Reagan Center (Gym) or at one of the three fraternity houses.

    Food and Dining

    Since it is a smaller school, there are only 2 options for food. Neither are the best. but one certain days, it is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly big and very nice. One also feels very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not too difficult but it is challenging enough to make one think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor. He or she is there to help you and he or she could be very beneficial to you.

    In three sentences

    Eureka College is small enough so each student gets personal help. You really feel like you're one big family. You don't feel like just another number.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Eureka College campus is very safe. With new technology of security in dorms makes the students feel more safe in their halls and rooms. Police patrol campus daily at all times of the day. Rules and regulations are strictly forced and discipline is enforced when needed.

    Greek Life

    Eureka College has 3 sororities and 3 fraternities. The 3 sororities include Phi Omega, Delta Delta Pi, and Delta Zeta. The 3 fraternities include Tau Kappa Epsilon, Lambda Chi Alpha, and Delta Sigma Phi.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student organizations, clubs, and activities that students can join and be apart of. If a student has an idea for a new club they can present their idea to the student senate and possible have it become a new organization on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student is great of Eureka College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an Ivy ceremonies to welcome incoming freshman and when graduating seniors leave. Ivy is representative of Eureka College's characteristics of strength, flexibility, and tenacity. Faculty and staff try to instill these qualities in students. Freshman add their piece of Ivy to the collective basket symbolizing their joining of the Eureka community and the joining together to form this community. Former President Ronald Reagan attended this college so we have many dedications to him. The most interesting locations we have on the college campus are: The Peace Garden which holds an original piece of the Berlin Wall and also a statue of President Ronald Reagan. Many of our buildings are historic and are placed on the United States National Historic Registry.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a liberal arts private college Eureka is more expensive then most colleges. Financial Aid is offered. I believe that Eureka is well worth the money that it costs to attend.

    What to do for fun

    We are located between two major cities. We can go to either one and be able to do just about anything. The college also puts on sponsored events that students are able to attend for free!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the worst in the world. I would prefer to have my own food everyday over our dining hall food.

    Dorm Life

    I love being able to experience living in a dorm with other students. I have met and become close with many new people since I have been at Eureka College. I would recommend dorm life to every college student so that they can at least have the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Eureka are great. I am challenged everyday to get better at my studies and I have a lot of support around me to get help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be able to work hard and put in the effort that the faculty is going to give back to you. Have respect for everyone here and know that we all have to work together to make a college like this be the best that it can be.

    In three sentences

    Eureka has a very hands-on education that allows for lots of assistance in the classroom. The faculty, staff, and students become close almost like family, and you get to know almost everyone. You are challenged in many aspects of life to make you a better person.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe!

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities, two of which are local and I am an active member of one, Delta Delta Pi. Also, there are three fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over fifty clubs and organizations on the college campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since the college is so old, there are many traditions that we do. Around Homecoming Week, we march through the city with huge sticks of fire and then throw them into a pit. That was one of my favorite parts of freshmen year.

    What to do for fun

    There are always some kind of activity offered to the students of Eureka College. Also, just about every weekend, the Greek houses throw parties that are accepting to all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on Eureka College campus has to be the worst part about attending the college. Unlike other schools, food is not offered anytime of the day and there are so few options too. Also, the food is not that good either.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one thing about Eureka College that I really love. There are some great people at this college, and everyone is so friendly so it is really easy to make friends. Dorm life does really complete the college experience, in my eyes.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at Eureka College. There are also many opportunities if a student needs help with school work, such as tutors and a learning lab. Teachers are also very accessible, and make sure they are there for their students, if help is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eureka College has a really good academic side along with a great social scene on campus.

    In three sentences

    I really like Eureka College. Looking past the few flaws the school does have, I could not imagine myself anywhere else. I am happy to be a student of EC.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a police officer on campus walking or driving around and you get his cell number at the beginning of the year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bonfire during Homecoming, Greek Games, Skit Night, Concerts, etc

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper than most private colleges and they offer several scholarships that are more than $500- $1000.

    What to do for fun

    Get Involved!! Do Greek Life if it's for you. Find an organization or two that you like. Meet new people. Go to the sports games.

    Food and Dining

    College food is college food. it wasn't awful but it is not the best food I have ever had. Some students say its the best commons food they have had.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in the newest dorm this past year so I was very much spoiled but all the dorms have been updated recently.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't have much to compare it to but it was about what I expected: not too much but not so little to where I was bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like most colleges, classes fill up fast and not many people drop very many classes, so register early and make sure you know what you want to take.

    In three sentences

    A small campus that makes a wonderful home for students. The professors know your name, what activities your involved in, etc by the time the semester is over, which shows they truly care for you. The class size is great; they say about 17 people per class but most of mine are about 10-12.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always available is one needs am escort across campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Eager to further their knowledge with a great liberal arts education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bonfires during homecoming, and celebrations of Ronald Reagan's Birthday!

    Bang for the buck

    Great opportunities available!

    What to do for fun

    CAB hosts events and there are various groups that host other events and parties.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not rule out a small school, they are a great place to learn!

    In three sentences

    Eureka is a great environment to learn and flourish. There are great opportunities for all students on and off campus. The faculty and staff consists of caring individuals willing to assist any and all students.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come on a visit, stay the night, and ask questions. We want to help you in any way we can, and we want to make your college search as easy as possible.

    In three sentences

    Eureka College is like a family. The professor to student ratio is great, and I love that I am able to ask my professors questions at any time and they are always willing to help me. Everyone on campus is so friendly, and I am extremely happy with the decision I made to attend Eureka College.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    EC (as of spring 2013) has changed their food options for the better and are still working to improve it. It's not fancy by any means, but the food is food and there are healthy options. A lot of the food is greasy, though.

    Dorm Life

    Resident Assistants (RAs) are very helpful and the Residence Life staff helps people get used to life in college.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm sure other colleges have this problem but at EC there were some teachers who were incompetent at getting information across to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go somewhere big in your career, such as being part of Vogue Magazine or , then definitely do not go to Eureka College. This is a nice place but the connections just don't happen the same way here as they do at bigger and more current colleges. Eureka College is a little behind the times in terms of tech so don't expect a lot of amazing stuff to see. The whole place needs updating so be aware of that if you are a techie or looking for a tech-related career.

    In three sentences

    The people (staff/faculty and students) are generally very nice and helpful. It's a small town college of about 700 students but that is not at all a bad thing. It's not a college with all the cutting-edge technology but you can get a good education there.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has had theft problems the one year I have been here

    Greek Life

    Greek life could be the worst in the nation

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic clubs and fraternities that have no house

    Great for these types of students

    Students who only care about there school work

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Eureka administration will fight tooth and nail in order to get students to stay in their dorms and will put a hefty fine to those who attempt to stay off campus

    What to do for fun

    Administration at eureka does little to assure fun for students. Since there is no off campus living there are no parties other than the 2 or 3 that the one faternity has per year. Most of my days consist of me sitting in my room doing nothing. Eureka is not the place to go to have a good time

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at eureka has bland food with little quality. Also, the times you can go for a meal are short and often don't cooperate with ones schedule

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the only option at eureka if you are not a commuter from your parents house. The dorms are rather boring and they have police walk the halls frequently

    Academic Rigor

    Eureka has good teaches but does not have the best resources such as classrooms and materials

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come to Eureka if you plan on having any type of fun Eureka is not a good place for athletes because they put no money into the teams and there facilities

    In three sentences

    Eureka College is a very boring college with little to do on your free time. Eureka is a good learning environment but has bad student rights. For example the school will not allow adult students to stay off campus if that is what they want to do.