Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Evangel University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -If you want a smaller environment where you get to know many people on campus -If you are a Christian interested in developing a deeper relationship with God -If you are interested in small class sizes and professors who know you by name and are available to help you. -If you want to be involved on campus, there are many opportunities and it is easy to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! Evangel host EU 24 in the spring and bed and breakfast opportunities year around. Find information at www.evangel.edu Study for the SAT/ACT! The better you do, the more scholarship money you will be elligable for.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming from Seattle, the tuition at the other schools I considered was the same or more than the tuition plus room and board at Evangel. It is about 20,000 a year for tuition, room and board. Which makes it one of the most affordable private colleges. In addition, Evangel has many scholarships that students can apply for and a helpful financial aid team that will quickly answer any questions.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many activities, sports, and ways to get involved. Living in the dorm provides a sense of community and there are always things going on. People are friendly and it is an easy adjustment from high school to college.

    Am learning a lot

    There are more than 100 graduate programs and with an average class size of 25 (many of my classes are smaller) you are able to have a lot of interaction with the professors.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Evangel is great for everyone! I am a music student, and the music here is wonderful. But, Evangel offers many fields of study, and is simply a great place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you're a freshman, five right in! Don't hesitate to be involved. Getting connected right away makes for a very smooth transition.

    Bang for the buck

    College is always expensive, but Evangel is well worth the money. The atmosphere here is fantastic. It's worth the extra cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Life on campus is lots of fun! There is a lot to do in Springfield, and the people are great.

    Am learning a lot

    Evangel professors are wonderful. They are willing to work with you and put in extra time to help you.

  • 05/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is a dedicated learner, loves small town gatherings, and has a heart for missions would no doubt enjoy going here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up all work. Really try challenging yourself. If you don't do it now, you're not going to be prepared when you go to EU. The professors really enjoy stretching the student population in a variety of ways so - BE PREPARED!

    Bang for the buck

    Big bang... big buck. I suppose that both are quite equivalent. If you are willing to spend the buck, you will most definitely receive a bang.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small, but the friend net is wide. There's plenty of small things to do for entertainment. It's an absolutely wonderful place just to chill.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at EU are incredible! They really have a grasp on what they're teaching. There's passion and if one is a dedicated learner, then he/she will fit right in. Actually...because there is such a great push towards learning, sometimes it's hard to take it all in.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who really wants to get a good education. It would not be good for someone who just wants to goof off in college. If you are looking for a party college this is not for you. But if you are looking for a great education and a chance to further your walk with God this is it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are lots of opportunities for service and for almost any activity you can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition is over 20000, Evangel offers numerous scholarships and grants that really help with finances.

    Am enjoying being here

    The dorm life is awesome! I was able to make friends and get connected easily. It has been a tremendous blessing for me.

    Am learning a lot

    I came to Evangel because of the excellent academic programs and they have not been a disappointment. My teachers are very knowledgeable and really want to help me learn what I will need in the future

  • 12/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a college that will bring you closer to God, where everyone is so deeply in love with Jesus that you can feel it when you walk across campus, or if you're just looking for a place to make some lifelong friends and take some extremely worthwhile classes, EU is for you. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    -Buy your textbooks online. -Be prepared for temperamental weather. -Get involved right away! -Don't skip chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    I know I flinched when I saw the $20,000+ price tag, but it's totally worth it. I don't regret paying a cent of it, and from the state of the grounds and everything that is offered to students to the quality of education that we receive, I wouldn't think of going anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely love EU. I have made so many great friends, and they are all so spiritually mature and such great people at heart that I have no problem going to any of them. There are also tons of activities to participate in and different groups to join, so I'm never bored! I'm also loving Springfield right now. So many cute shops and places to go in and around downtown, and who can beat the Palace? (Movies for 3 bucks? Awesome!)

    Am learning a lot

    Evangel has over 100 fantastic degree programs, and anything that you take is definitely relevant to your life. When I first began at EU, I was frustrated at the fact that I had to take so many general education classes (Bible classes especially), but now I am so glad I had to take them! I've learned so much, and I can say that I truly have a well-rounded education. The classes specific to my major are also up-to-date and extremely informative, and I feel well prepared for any future career in my field. The professors are also spectacular and are always willing to help if you have a question or even if you just want to chat or need some prayer.

  • 08/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Evangel is a great school for all kinds of students. Motivated, passionate, and enthusiastic students who manifest intellectual vitality will thrive at a school like Evangel.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't hesitate to take full advantage of all that Evangel has to offer. Involving yourself will help make friends and help you find purpose during your college years. Because Evangel is a liberal arts college, there are many different programs to pursue. Choose a program you like and will enjoy. That way, your interest will keep you doing well. Lastly, on a more personal note, learn how to manage your time and to say no to going out when you need to study. I kind of made that mistake, and saw both my grades and sleep suffer haha.

    Bang for the buck

    Evangel University is a private, Christian college. Since they are a private school, it will obviously be somewhat expensive. However, Evangel offers great financial aid packages that are competitive with most other schools. The financial aid office works with students to give them the best package possible with combinations of grants, scholarships, and loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy Evangel, but it's kind of up to you to dictate whether or not you'll enjoy the school you're at. I didn't really get involved much my first year at Evangel, which is why I only rated this section 4 stars. However, once I realized all the opportunities and organizations to become a part of, I really felt a sense of purpose and excitement in what I was doing. I am very excited to see what opportunities avail themselves to me this next year!

    Am learning a lot

    I think the learning environment at Evangel University is great. Small class sizes increase the personal attention each student receives. Professors know students by name and are very good to help them outside of class. Each professor enjoys what they do, making learning a lot of fun.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    evangel is located in springfield, mo. there are many coffee shops and restaurants in the area. there are movie theaters and bowling for students to participate in. there are many parks in springfield and hiking trails not far from town for students who enjoy outdoor adventure.

    Food and Dining

    there are two locations to eat at evangel. there is a cafeteria and a cafe style dinning room called the joust. the food would not compare to mom's home cookin', but there is a variety of options at evangel.

    Dorm Life

    residential directors and assistants are available for students whenever a need arises. many dorm activities occur so that students have the opportunities to get to know one another. students complete a personality survey before moving on campus so that they are placed with similar roommates. the only downfall is that students are unable to live off campus until the age of 22 which can be costly at times.

    Academic Rigor

    professors encourage students to do their best. there are many opportunities for students to receive the help they need through tutoring of academic advise.

    Tips for prospective students

    students need to balance their time between academia and social outlets. evangel provides an atmosphere ideal for building relationship while encouraging studies.

    In three sentences

    evangel is an uplifting community that fosters growth and education. not only are students able to build strong relationships with classmates, but smaller class sizes give professor more opportunity to invest in their students. it is clear through the actions of many of the leaders at evangel that the student body is truly cared for.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always on the move 24/7. they are constantly roaming the campus parking lots and the dormitories. evangel is mostly activated by the use of a scan card that allows you to get into certain places after hours and into your dorm after hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    at evangel all kinds of campus clubs and activities are available. the most popular would be intramurals. the most popular of the intramural sports would be flag football and basketball. one campus clubs and activities are p.r.i.d.e for african american students that attend evangel. there is always something called fashion fever that always takes place at evangel in the spring. it is for the ladies of evangel to come out and dress up, see a fashion show from ladies among the evangel community, and win amazing prizes; ranging from make up, haircuts, and etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at evangel, we always have something called harvest fest and spring fling. harvest fest is where the males asks the females to the event and spring fling is where the girls asks the boys to the event. both events are based on a theme selected by the student activities board and you come dressed according to the theme. there is always fun entertainment, games, and contests!

    What to do for fun

    evangel university is located in springfield, missouri. because there are other universities or colleges in springfield, there are a lot of activities for students to do. there are plenty coffee shops that students can go to to study and relax. one can watch missouri bears hockey games. there is the jordan valley ice park, downtown springfield which offers you a monthly art walk, movie theaters, and other fun things to do!

    Food and Dining

    food at evangel is okay. it is not the best food on campus but it is livable!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at evangel is a fun place to be. it is also the social hub of campus life. evangel has three all female dorms, two all male dorms, and one co-ed dorm. despite only having one co-ed dorm, evangel's dorm life is never boring.

    Academic Rigor

    for a christian school, evangel has one of the best academics it can offer you. because evangel is small in size, the classes are much smaller. so you can definitely expect a one to one help with your professor. your learning environment at evangel is much friendlier and your professors and peers are always there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your looking for a great christian school, evangel university is the place for you. evangel university is not huge in size, so you get to meet and know everybody; you feel like your home. evangel is also a school that caters well to both your spiritual and academic life. so if your looking for a place to go that will give you both, evangel is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    evangel university is my home. evangel university caters to both my spiritual and academic life. evangel university has amazing professors and students that make you feel like family and not just another student.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe living on campus with the security we have. I always see them walking around and driving around at night making sure everything is safe and secure.

    Greek Life

    There is not necessarily sororities or fraternities at Evangel, however each floor within the dorms in like a sorority or fraternity. Each floor hosts events and goes on outings. They also are involved in community service and other volunteer opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to get involved in on campus, such as a church impact team and intramural sports. Also, many departments offer mission trips throughout the school year and summer time.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally think I am getting the most of my money because I make the most of everything. I put in every effort possible toward my major as I do toward everything else within campus life.

    What to do for fun

    The Activities Board is always planning something on campus, which I always look forward to. They host events such as Movie on the Lawn, and DVD Bingo. Also, there are the social events of each semester, which are Harvest Fest and Spring Fling. The student body classes also get together for Freshmen/Sophomore and Junior/Senior banquets.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining really depends on what kind of food you like. They do offer all types of food and if you do not like what is prepared you can always go to the salad and deli bar. I personally prepare my own meals within the dorms, which we are allowed to have a crock pot along with other listed items on the college's website.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Evangel is what keeps me going half of the time. I love when I come back from my classes and have all of my friends around. It really is one big family. Each floor within the dorms has their own events and outings, which is always fun to plan and look forward to.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on what one's major is. As I advance into my years at Evangel I do notice more and more students buckling down and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an understanding of what you want to major in and the amount of dedication required.

    In three sentences

    Evangel University is a great college to attend not only for educational purposes, but for a family like environment. It is a great place to maintain and gain a greater understanding of one's spirituality and relationship with God. You will definitely feel at home here.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security on this campus is on a ridiculous power trip. you can be fined for anything and everything by security. prepare to be questioned by security if you are doing anything remotely suspicious near or on campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs for every academic department.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is for students who don't mind a lot of rules and policies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this campus is small and everything is known to everyone on campus. no secrets or crazy traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    if you are looking for an academic challenge and christian education, this is the school for that type of student.

    What to do for fun

    there are student activities every so often. the school is small, and rules and policies prevent students from doing a lot of student activities around town.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food here is bland with little variety. the food is overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    there are a lot of rules. curfew is strictly enforced. room checks are often and annoying.

    Academic Rigor

    professors will challenge you and prepare you for your future career. they will encourage you to grow in your faith while pursuing the major that god leads you to.

    Tips for prospective students

    anticipate for teachers to challenge you academically and morally. there are a lot of rules, so prepare yourself to be under a quite a bit of supervision.

    In three sentences

    this school truly prepares students for their future. there are many rules and policies to uphold. there is not a lot of diversity at this school.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Evangel is very good-they are on it!

    Great for these types of students

    Evangel is a Christian school. If you love Christ and want to learn more about how to live according to His plan, and get a fantastic education at the same time- this is a great choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prayer in class

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said before, if you seriously want to learn-go to Evangel. If you are in school for other reasons, Evangel may not be suited for you.

    What to do for fun

    I attend classes at night-so I really don't participate in any school functions.

    Academic Rigor

    If you really want to learn, Evangel is the place to go. These instructors cut no corners. I feel like I am getting my moneys worth because I have learned so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    I can only comment on the adult Professional Studies Program. These are 5 week condensed classes that you take one at a time. I love this because you attend one night per week allowing you to work a full time job-as most adults have to do. The classes are intense, but they are doable.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are fantastic; the campus is beautiful; I am learning a lot here.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love downtown Springfield and Commercial Street. There are a lot of fun stores and coffee shops! We also have some really great parks. Lots of variety as far as restaurants goes-especially Asian.

    Food and Dining

    It honestly isn't too bad. Granted, it isn't home cooking, but it is pretty good. There is the main cafeteria and the Joust which has longer hours, but the same thing most every day-there are specials a couple days a week.

    Dorm Life

    Your floor, many times, becomes like your second family. I have a bit of a different experience, given I am local; I go home every weekend. It can be kind of loud at times, but that is to be expected. Living on campus is really convenient!

    Academic Rigor

    There is a decent amount of work for the classes I am taking (I am not in all freshman level classes). It takes a decent amount of time, but not so much that I feel like I can never do other things (I also maintain a part time job). Most of my classes are engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very specific when you're filling out housing forms. Do not overload yourself with classes; see how things go first semester, take time to make new friends. Learn how to communicate, especially with your roommate(s).

    In three sentences

    Great Christian liberal arts education. Lots of options, things to do, and connections for after graduation. There are a lot of really cool people-students and staff-here.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs to get involved in. You're sure to find one that is just right for you! There are many opportunities to get plugged in and use any of your special talents whether it be musically, socially, or athletically.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Springfield is always fun. There are cute stores to shop in and many coffee shops for fellowship, homework, or just a time for peace and quiet. There is a $3 movie theater which is always fun and convenient since being a college student usually means you're broke! There are lakes to fish at and caves to go caving. It's all about what you make your experience out to be like.

    Food and Dining

    College food is never as good as a home cooked meal but our cafeteria and joust meals are good enough. In the cafeteria, there are several selections to choose from. There is a salad and sandwich bar. There are two different sections serving hot meals. There is a pizza bar and a section where food is cooked right on the spot.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms, except for one, has been remodeled. The one exception will be redone this summer. The cafeteria and the joust of the student union are also being remodeled this summer. The dorms are quite large in comparison to other colleges. The floors of every dorm are highly connected and involved with each other to create long lasting friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Getting a good education to further your future career is very important here at Evangel. Depending on the level of your classes. you will find yourself working hard to stay on task with your classes. The professors are very helpful and are there whenever you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is an Assemblies of God Christian school. It will encourage you to grow in your faith while leading you on the path to completing your educational goals.

    In three sentences

    Evangel University has dedicated teachers who are willing to go the extra mile to help their students fulfill their goals and dreams. The school is surrounded by a positive atmosphere and has plenty of opportunities for campus involvement and outreaches. I have been here two years and have made wonderful friends as well as enjoy my education.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is excellent, and there are lights all around campus. The neighborhood around campus is safe during the day, although students should use caution at night, like in any city.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs, including clubs for specific majors, and the Activities Board of Student Government plans activities throughout the year. There is always something going on, and some fun event in which students can be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student that is motivated to learn and make the most of their college experience!

    Bang for the buck

    As a private school, the tuition is costly, but the quality of the experience here is worth it. The academics prepare students for future careers and the professors invest in students to an incredible degree. The chapels help students grow spiritually, and even in classrooms, Evangel is all about preparing students to live out God's call on their lives in any field or major.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, students hang out in the student union. In warm weather, there are almost always students playing volleyball on the outdoor court, and this year a Frisbee golf course was installed. Local coffee shops are some of the most popular places where students spend time hanging out. There is also a movie theatre, a dollar movie theatre, many parks, a downtown area, many restaurants, ice cream shops, and other things to do for fun off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides many options, including many healthy choice foods. There is also a food court that is a great alternative. While students sometimes complain, the food service here is relatively very good compared to many other colleges. In addition, this summer, the cafeteria and food court are being remodeled!

    Dorm Life

    The community at Evangel is amazing, and the dorms provide an excellent chance to part of that close community. Rooms are shared between two people, with every two rooms having their own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Evangel are rigorous, and there are high expectations in every major, although expectations of specific professors vary. The academic programs at Evangel are praised locally for their excellent quality and recognized around the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come expecting to be challenged both academically and spiritually. The environment here at Evangel is one in which you will grow in so many ways. Take advantage of the many opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Evangel University engages students in a high quality education with a full range of major options and numerous opportunities outside of the classroom to enhance learning. The student body hails from around the country and around the world, which allows for a variety of perspectives. The professors are experts in their fields, and they care about their students.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are constantly security guards on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    due to the fact that it is a small university not all clubs and activities are available. but the ones that are offered are awesome.

    Great for these types of students

    all. anyone can find their niche on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the slip and slide on scott second north and there is also evangel zombified (a huge game of tag with nurf guns)

    Bang for the buck

    totally worth it! (although it is pricey)

    What to do for fun

    there is so much to do for fun! from Frisbee on the lawn to basketball in the gym to board games in the lobby. there is always something to do and someone to do it with.

    Food and Dining

    the caf is not amazing but the joust is a very nice option.

    Dorm Life

    if you find the rite dorm to fit your personality dorm life is the best!

    Academic Rigor

    this is college. if someone wants a school that they can just sit and breeze their way through evangel is not the place for them

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved. there is so much to do on campus, find something that you enjoy and go do it.

    In three sentences

    the student body is amazing. the staff and administration are welcoming and very willing to help. Christ is kept at the center of the education process

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officers on campus 24/7 They are armed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are around 60 different clubs and organizations for everyone. All kinds of academic clubs to environmental to humanitarian.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are Christians and want to live in a Christian environment. There are required Bible classes for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private university so it is a little more expensive than state schools; however, this would mean the cost is the same for everyone, even out of state students.

    What to do for fun

    There are pool tables, ping pong tables, disc golf, basketball court, racquetball, tennis near by, TVs, and our Student Activities always has some fun activity planned for students such as DVD bingo.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. We actually just got a new director of the food and it has made a big improvement. There is an area for quick lunches and stuff to go, and a all you can eat cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome! All the dorms will have been renovated by the fall of 2013. They are nice with the option of having your own room for a fee of course. They are suite styles with one bath. So, two bedrooms with a bath and shower in between that they share. There is no kitchen area, but most people eat in the Cafeteria. It's a great place to build relationships and meet new life long relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    Academia here at EU is average, at least from what I gathered. I mean I have not studied anywhere else. It just depends on how much a person likes what they are studying. If they don't like it and don't pay attention then they are likely to not do so well. If they like the area of study, then they will likely spend more time and effort into it. I feel like it is like that with anything and anywhere one goes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an understanding that there are certain guidelines you have to live by when coming to Evangel University. Although there are certain guidelines, they are really not that bad. If you are a Christian, then it should not be a big deal. They are set to keep us accountable. Also, be prepared to be challenged to think. Not only is this an academic setting where you will learn, but you will be challenged to process what you have always been taught to determine what you hold as truth based on your own understanding.

    In three sentences

    Evangel University is a Liberal Arts university with a Christian environment. Christians can come to EU for any degree and avoid the monotonous temptations of a secular university. Although EU is a Liberal Arts university with vocational ministry minded people, one can still receive Pastoral Ministry and Missionary degrees.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Springfield has many coffee shops and bowling alleys, if that's what you enjoy doing in your spare time.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will make a bigger impact on the world and people around you by going to a school that tests your faith and strength, rather than going to a school where everyone has the same beliefs. Do not forget that there is a real world out there, outside of the christian bubble.

    In three sentences

    I attended Evangel University for one year and I valued my time while I was there. I loved the professors and classes, but I did not enjoy the people or the atmosphere. It is a constant competition to be the best christian and I always felt so judged.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard of anything ever happening on our campus and we always have campus police roaming the campus and parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    For every academic area there are clubs, there is Activities Board, and Senate, and Student Government in many different areas. There are always things going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students wanting a good education and not having to worry about people partying all of the time and not being able to focus on your studies.

    Bang for the buck

    You may feel like the price is too high, but they do help out with tuition a lot and can help you get your price down. It may still be more than what you would pay at a public school, but it is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Sand volleyball is a huge hit every night that it is warm. Everyone is out playing and having a good time. There is a new Frisbee golf course that has just been put in. There are intramural sports, the Activities Board puts on DVD bingo and many other fun activities. Outside of school there is the movies, which on Tuesday nights it is dollar movie night. There is bowling, ice skating, roller blading, late night Stake and Shake runs, mini golfing, barn swinging (a lot of fun!), going to Branson and many other fun things! It is college town!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not amazing, but they have gotten better. They have some pretty good meals and they are making a lot of changes so that there are healthier options and a better selection.

    Dorm Life

    Evangel works very hard at picking roommates specifically for each person and making sure that they are a good fit! Each floor has events that occur often and there are always events and activities going on around campus. The people you meet will become life long friends and you become like family with your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The work they have you do is challenging, but the teachers are always there to help you with anything that you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so that you can get the best scholarships and best housing.

    In three sentences

    Evangel is a great school that challenges you academically and in making your faith your own. They are always willing to help you out financially and all of the faculty truly care about each one of their students. I am so glad that I chose Evangel, I really feel apart of the school!

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to James River Assembly, go to athletic games, or MSU athletic games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get scholarships!!

    In three sentences

    Though EU is a christina school, it offers great secular opportunities and classes. The vibe of the students on campus is always good. The James River Campus is awesome!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a beautiful campus, very new. If you don't like big campuses, then this is perfect. Even though it is small, I still find myself seeing new people everyday.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty activities that the Activities Board sets up. There are plenty of great places to eat and hang out with friends. Make sure to do some of the activities that the school sponsors, once again it's a great way to meet people.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not a big fan of the cafeteria food, but there is plenty of it. I prefer to eat in the joust where there are less choices, but the food is much healthier for you and the setting is great.

    Dorm Life

    There is some dorm rivalry which makes it fun. Each floor does events together which helps you get to know the people that live around you. It's a nice, safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challegning but the teachers are willing to work with the students. If there are ever any problems, the teachers and faculty will help you through it!

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to learn how to organize your study time and your fun time. There are so many fun activities you can get involved in and its a great way to meet people. Get out there and meet people otherwise you'll regret it! There are some great relationships that can be made here.

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing school where you are surrounded by people who share the same faith. It is a great environment to learn in. The teachers are spectacular and are truly concerned about their students.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    What to do for fun

    Springfield is uber fun. There's always something going on. Friday night is artwalk and there are several coffee shops, movie theaters, parks, etc. Plus, the EU Activities Board puts on events regularly.

    Tips for prospective students

    It really is not so bad being that far away from home. Most the students live hundreds of miles from their parents, just like you're thinking about doing. You'll make a family there.

    In three sentences

    Evangel is a pretty good school. Professors are (usually) respectful and love teaching and learning with students. Dorms are somewhat livable.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent safety, with 24-hour surveillance. Help is never more that a couple of minutes away.

    Greek Life

    There are several chapters on campus, mainly honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Football, basketball (men and women), women's softball, tennis & golf are a few of the sports available. Political clubs, campus government, and honor societies make up a few of the clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone desiring to integrate a good education with their desire to serve God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With our president being the second longest serving US college president, there is a sense of pride for him and what he has been able to accomplish during his service.

    Bang for the buck

    The students here get what they pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports teams on campus, and the town, Springfield, is well developed, providing many opportunities for extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food, and the Joust, a small cafe is well liked by all of us.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but everyone tells me that the dorms are not too bad. In addition, one of the dorms is renovated nearly every summer.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the career path you choose, the difficulty level of preparation for that career varies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for an adventure! Be prepared to earn you grade, but know that the professors are there to help you when you are having trouble.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic school, dedicated to providing the best education possible. Evangel has dedicated professors and staff, that desire to see the students succeed. An in depth education, with a small school feel, where you will build yourself and grow in knowledge.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is available 24/7 and are available to walk you from your car to dorms at night if desired.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, Assemblies of God students.

    What to do for fun

    Floor events. Study parties. And late night walmart/taco bell runs.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caf is alright but the food in the Joust is definitely best!

    Dorm Life

    There are many activities you will do with your residential floor and residential hall. Some of your closest friends will be from the dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging but professors are always available for help as well as other students who have taken the class previously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous or afraid. It's a very loving place full of great people.

    In three sentences

    Evangel is a great school with a body of followers of Christ. From the classrooms to the residential halls, Christian students and professors are there to uplift you. Each professor personally invests in each student's life.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a week of worship at the start of each Semester. It keep both the students and falculty conected.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural Basketball, working out and hanging with freinds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into it. For it's status as a Christian university its affordable than most. And if you don't meet them financially they are willing to work with you.

    In three sentences

    It's a small, private Christian university that strongly believes in both faith and academics. You won't fel left out one bit because they are so welcoming. Your education and faith is sure to take depth.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You receive what you invest. And if you invest all of yourself, you will get back so much in return!

    In three sentences

    Evangel is an amazing environment to pursue both your studies and your relationship with God. The three-days-a-week chapels give you an opportunity to delve deeper into worship. Evangel provides the opportunity to truly grow with others on your floor both relationally and spiritually.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security guards are always on campus walking around, safe part of town as well, small campus

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    golf, different workout programs, Activities Board,

    Great for these types of students

    seeking God, seeking trustworthy people to be around, very diverse people, students from all over the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    very spiritual campus

    Bang for the buck

    Many tutor programs on campus are free

    What to do for fun

    mountain biking, paintball, workout, run, lasertag, golf,

    Food and Dining

    They got a new food provider and manager this year and the food is pretty amazing.

    Dorm Life

    You are surrounded by friendly people who care enough to say high to everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Very knowledgeable professors in all there fields. The teachers are all very successful outside of the college so they teach for the enjoyment of speaking into the lives of college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. get out and do all the fun activities on campus. 2. dont be afraid of meeting new people. 3. get involved on campus and get into as many groups as your academics can handle.

    In three sentences

    The community of People are amazing, they are friends you will have for life. The professors are not just great teachers , but also your spiritual mentors. The life on campus is very vibrant and lively.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is on patrol most times. The campus is filled with security cameras and keycard activated doors. Security is also on duty 24 hours a day. I have not seen or heard of any crimes being committed that went unpunished.

    Clubs and Activities

    Right now I'm not taking part in any clubs, but there are a ton of ways to get involved. From ministry to Intramural sports, you can get involved in just about anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Evangel is a great place for Christian students looking for a place to grow in their walk with God. Everyone is encouraging, so it's a little easier to focus on Jesus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My friends and I love to hang out in the student union, whether it be for studying, playing ping pong, or playing pool, we have a blast every night. A lot of dorm floors also have a tradition of getting your roommate a date (GYRAD). In which case, your roommate gets you a date and your floor does something fun together in Springfield. There's much more traditions that are a lot of fun, but there's too much to get involved in all of them.

    What to do for fun

    I've never had this much fun in my life. The school has an activities board that thinks up fun activities for us students to take part in. We have a student union that was just renovated with great recreational games, a Frisbee golf course, a fitness gym, and even a theater room.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food to choose from here at Evangel. You can eat in the Crusader hall or in the Joust and know that they are constantly thinking up different foods to serve. Plus the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is probably my favorite aspect of being at Evangel. The students here truly care for one another. They've become a second family to me.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors at Evangel University expect your best work, but they're also willing to spend the time to help you understand the material. I haven't had one problem with a professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in Evangel University, take a trip to the campus. The students and professors are what make it such a great place to be. It also doesn't hurt that the campus is beautiful.

    In three sentences

    I must say Evangel has surprised me with a great staff of professors. The professors' caring attitudes reflect their values on our education. So far this is the best University I've been to.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always driving around campus and checking doors at night. Every student has what is called a prox card, which is also your ID, that opens the doors to every building. I feel secure at college.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on campus. There is an honor's floor called Sigma Alpha Sigma that has certain GPA and community service requirements with benefits. There are also other honor society's for a few of the departments. That's as close to Greek as you get besides when the caf may have a Greek food day.

    Clubs and Activities

    The outdoor club is good for those that like hiking and camping out. If you love activities and planning or are creative, Activies Board would love to have you as a member. The Activities Board plans activity events. If you would like to get involved with your floor and have a resume builder, join your floor council.

    Great for these types of students

    Work Study jobs are good for those without cars, because you work on campus and work more flexible hours.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the cafeteria, we celebrate President Spence's birthday. It would be a good idea to not miss that day--good food. There is always a bonfire the night after homecoming. This happens in the field next to the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Thrift store shopping has become a hobby of mine. I love it! You never know what you will find. Also, there are these coupon books called campus books. They are free and have little treasures like coupons for the theatre for buy one get one free. If you go to the theatre on college night with a friend, that is only $1.75 for a movie. Many of the entertainment places in the area offer deals for college students. One more thing, don't buy your books from the bookstore unless you must. Amazon is cheaper, my friend.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! There are plenty of local coffee shops and theatres in the area. The new thing has been to go roller skating. As junior high as that might sound, it is fun! Be open for whatever, and you are sure to have a blast.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria does not have the greatest food, but they have improved and are open to ideas and suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life here. Always action and excitement going on. It is hard to find a night something is not going on unless it is finals week.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors here have a tendency to be a little harsher then others. It depends upon what you study. Thus far, some classes have been extremely hard but do-able and other classes have been busy work but pieces of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy yourself a planner. Branch out and meet people; the people here are always open for more friendships. If you do not understand time management, start understanding now.

    In three sentences

    The environment at Evangel is friendly and inviting. Evangel offers the opportunity to have relationship with your professors. It has been a blessing so far aside from a few of regulations required to follow.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's not cheap, but you actually get an education here.

    What to do for fun

    occasional games/events for students. intramural sports. Some athletic games held off-campus

    Dorm Life

    i'm a commuter, I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors actually teach, but they don't make things terrible.

    Tips for prospective students

    a Christian college: non-Pentecostal Christians should think and pray seriously about whether or not to attend.

    In three sentences

    A highly academic university, integrated minor doesn't appear helpful. A Christian university; it's owned and operated by the AG; non AG should think seriously whether or not they wish to attend. A small university, with good professors (they actually teach undergrad) and a great simple campus.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Evangel is incredibly safe. I haven't heard of any safety issues, and always feel safe when walking around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and activites, from sports to the promotional team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Towards the Spring/Summer make sure you keep a look-out for the tulips. Evangel is famous for their brilliant tulips around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Evangel is constantly trying to find ways to make schooling more affordable, so you get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Who doesn't like a good football game? A favorite pass time for most students outside of sports and music (choir) is spending time with friends at local coffee shops.

    Food and Dining

    It can be hard to eat healthy, but the food is not awful. There are some pretty cool locations to eat on campus like The Joust.

    Dorm Life

    The energy in the dorms can be electric. Floor competitions can get competitive, but great friendships are made. The only downside is that the dorm rooms are quite cold and not the most beautiful space.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes as well as teachers are not impossible, but they do require disciplined studying and hard work. There is always a teacher or student available to help if the content is unclear.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books early! Coming in to a new university can be stressful, so make sure you are prepared going in to classes and registration. It'll cut down on the anxiety. Also, get in involved. The best way to feel a part of something is to take part in somethings. There are many options available, find your niche, and go for it!

    In three sentences

    If you are seeking a supportive community with caring and competent teachers, Evangel University is the college to attend. It is a great blend of faith, academic opportunity, and fun. I have loved my time there.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt unsafe being on campus. it often feels like you are not even in springfield until you drive off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    the activities board is amazing! if i had the time to be one it i would be!

    Great for these types of students

    if your the type to keep to yourself but want to make more friends, keep your door open and you will find people coming into your room looking for something to do or meet new people. if you cant seem to schedule time to do homework, make a weekly calendar for yourself and to hang outside your door so people know where you are at!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There always seems to be a few shows that everyone watches together weekly. 24 hour worship and prayer is always AMAZING. where ever your group of friends ends up is always a tradition in the making.

    Bang for the buck

    Evangel has become my second home. the friendships you make there are not temporary. I have grown so much in my walk with God and grown in many ways i didnt even think of before.

    What to do for fun

    movie nights are always happening, there are a lot of restaurants near by that people often go to. a lot of people hang out in the joust. I never find myself board, although it is nice to get off campus.

    Food and Dining

    the new cook is WONDERFUL. and the caf is a great hang out area while eating. the joust is wonderful as well.

    Dorm Life

    I LOVE my floor, the people on your floor become your family. everyone is there for each other, through school and home troubles.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers facility is AMAZING. they are there for you for ANYTHING and they want to be there for you, it is not just because they feel they have to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind, and be prepared to be changed.

    In three sentences

    Evangel University is a great growing and learning environment. Growing spiritually, and gaining knowledge all at the same time that you make friendships that last a lifetime. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe on the campus. I believe they said they have security guards on campus all the time. So that made me feel more secure. You even have to have a card to get into the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    I noticed one of the clubs that I thought was interesting. They go on many missions trips to different countries each year. (I forgot what it was called though.)

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places around the Evangel campus. They say that you can rent a movie from the library to watch(?). Can't really describe much because I was only there for a day.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Take notes. 2. Live for Jesus because he can help you with things you struggle with. 3. Study. 4. Be happy! :)

    In three sentences

    Evangel University is an amazing college that is all about faith and education. Chapel is one of the highlights to the entire college experience. Being a part of Evangel University I feel can be a way I will grow spiritually and academically.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus public safety vehicles patrol parking lots and the surrounding streets of the campus 24 hrs a day. Cameras are extensive and campus phones and emergency stations are readily available. Student ID cards are required to be carried at all time and allow entry into residence halls. Regular security releases and updates are sent to students quarterly and an emergency text system has been established to notify students of any on-campus emergency including bomb threat, weather advisory, and active gunman alerts.

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition is pricey, the university is a private school that offers extensive financial aid to each student. More than 80% of the current students at Evangel receive some time of financial aid, including departmental grants and academic elite scholarships. It should be noted that local or international missions trips are required and may add to cost over the period of the four years at the university, some trips costing as much as $3,000.

    Food and Dining

    There are two options for dining, the cafeteria and the cafe style Joust. Food supplied by Aladdin food services and includes a large variety of style and types of food, including a salad bar daily as well as fresh fruit and vegetables. Themed food days are planned weekly.

    Dorm Life

    All residence halls on Evangel campus have been updated in the past 6-7 years. The residence director of each hall has flexible and open hours and are able to meet with students for questions and concerns in all areas of campus and academic life.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science major, the science and technology department is known to be academically competitive and elite for a private Christian affiliated university. Offering a unique liberal arts core curriculum, Evangel is moderately rigorous in general education and offers course specifically tailored for the university that typically are non-transferable.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always on the lookout for students safety. There have been instances where campus police and Springfield police have worked together on things.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from for a private college.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to grow spiritually and become a well-educated individual that can influence the workforce.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is little bit high, but education received is worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals are offered, there are plenty of things to do on campus. Getting involved in different clubs that are offered.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe and Joust has good food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms, so I cannot give any information on this.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging courses and integrated faith into academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that cares about student success in academics and spiritual growth, then this is the place to come.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school where you can not only grow spiritually, but also academically. On a scale of 1 to 10, 1 being the lowest and 10 being highest when it comes to academics and personal growth, I would rate the school at a 10.

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Spence Hall and Scott Hall have one honors floor each that belong to the honor's society, Sigma Alpha Sigma. Greek life is nonexistent at Evangel. Individual floors within the six halls have a community feel that may be comparable to sororities and fraternities. As cheesy as it sounds, my floor is like family to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    Evangel has about 40 clubs and organizations on-campus (a big chunk are campus ministry), so it will take your own initiative to become involved on campus. Long-term, internships will look more appealing on resumes (and job applications) than campus activities unless you had a leadership role and were involved for the majority of your college career, but do find SOMETHING you're passionate about, and the qualities of a good experience will naturally fall into place. If you cannot intelligently describe the long-term benefits of an activity to your growth and the betterment of other people, then you should reconsider your involvement in the activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Many students undermine, undervalue, and underestimate a campus's ability to provide fun, creative, stimulating entertainment outlets because of their lack of exposure to an institution's students. I have yet to meet a student who has fun attending a sport's event, networking seminar, research panel, campus concert, formal, or weekend in their room alone. Find the right students and you will eventually find the fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Fling is the Sadie Hawkins dance of the year. Harvest Fest is the main event of the year. Both are held by the Activities Board. Evangel also hosts a number of campus-wide activities during finals' week.

    Bang for the buck

    Evangel is the third most expensive university in Missouri, so I highly recommend being proactive and applying early for scholarships. Socially, academically, and spiritually, you definitely get the bang for your buck...if you can find a way to make Evangel affordable. Part-time (or even full-time) jobs should not be optional during breaks. Ebay is your friend. You cannot receive and add to Evangel's vast benefits if you cannot afford it. I am not saying to avoid loans like the plague as 97% of us take out loans, but consider loans a last resort for your investment in the university.

    What to do for fun

    Evangel is an expensive, private, Assemblies of God liberal arts institution located in the suburbs of Springfield, Missouri...so naturally Broadway shows and campus concerts are not entertainment options.. but that is OKAY. Creativity is your friend. Evangel has fun people, so there will never be a shortage of fun. Oftentimes, my friends and I go to the park, hang out in each other's rooms, go to the movies, go skating, go out to eat (midnight food runs are the bomb.com), go camping, mattress surf, volunteer, and lots of other things. At least this past year as a freshman, Evangel greatly resembles many elements of church camp.

    Food and Dining

    I know everyone warns against the dreaded 'Freshman 15' and the decline in food quality and preferences as you reach your senior year, but the food is great...and weight gain? If you gain weight, it is not that big of a big deal. Sometimes you have to learn the hard way. As long as you are disciplined, do not constantly deprive yourself of your cravings, and have an overall balanced diet, you will be fine. I ate biscuits and gravy for breakfast for the first three months and ice-cream at least twice a week. Yes, I did gain weight, but at least I was in good company (and am currently losing it). You're young-it is so not that hard to get back in shape.

    Dorm Life

    I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in Spence Hall (BEST HALL). In general, every floor in Evangel's resident halls is filled with like-minded students who value devoting their time to people. These have been the best months of my life!! I have gone on countless midnight food-runs, participated in floor (and hall...and room) dance parties (with people), engaged in mattress surfing (yes, it IS a thing), and had some of the most enriching discussions with people on my floor. Evangel social life revolves around floor activities (roughly 80% of their students live on-campus). I would highly recommend asking a tour guide of your gender for their input on deciding on a hall and a floor as this can make or break your experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Evangel takes a holistic approach to academics, where your courses are based on a liberal arts curriculum, in addition to a Christian perspective. After having completed my freshman year at Evangel, I feel that a lot of students equate 'rigor' with exerted effort to receive above average grades. In that case, Evangel is not too rigorous your first year, especially if you are taking mainly general education courses. From my observations, the first two years of academic rigor is dependent on current classes from your intended major and the rigor of your former high school classes. Naturally, not everyone is able to benefit from college-level courses in high school, so much of your first two years at Evangel is time trying to catch everyone up and level out the academic playing field for higher-level courses for your last two years. Take advantage of office hours, as every professor wants you to be successful in your classes. Also, do not feel pressured to take a full course-load (17-18 hours/semester), especially your freshman year. I have known too many people who missed out on the college experience by undermining social and spiritual growth because of their goal to achieve a certain GPA. While a 4.0 is contingent of a strong work ethic (and possible interest in the subject), in our competitive society where 'standing out' for Millenials is more well-rounded than academics, primary focus on academic achievement is setting yourself up for mild (at best) short and long-term disappointment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't allow fear to prevent you from applying for scholarships, being social, taking academics seriously, being healthy, and maintaining your faith (college is expensive, and life is short). While Evangel exhibits the highest intentionality in effectively communicating in love with each other, their students, and the community, students who neglect to take advantage of Evangel's resources miss out on this one-of-a-kind college experience. Regardless of thought, time, and energy expended in decision-making, sometimes you will have to learn the hard way, but do not allow that to prevent you from enjoying Evangel (and life in general!). Find (and maintain!) a balance in your priorities, and I guarantee that you will not regret choosing Evangel (if it was where you were meant to attend university). It does not hurt to be fearless in applying early senior year (and consistently afterwards) for scholarships, as like most universities, Evangel has limited financial resources for their students.

    In three sentences

    Evangel is an incredible institution full of warm, energetic students and faculty. You are not just another number but a valued student who has inordinate opportunities to be guided, shaped, and impacted by intentional experiences in academic, spiritual, and social settings. Evangel is too amazing not to be visited prior to deciding on and eventually attending university-there is no comparison to their environment, and I guarantee that you will experience a difference in settings that (at minimum) will set Evangel apart from other universities.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Evangel can seem pretty pricey, but for the quality of education you receive... it's worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Springfield is big and although you might have to do a little looking, there is plenty to do for fun! There are tons of shopping areas, including Battlefield Mall. Downtown is full of small shops and cafes to grab some tasty treats, a coffee, or look at some art. During the fall and spring make sure to check out a Springfield Cardinals baseball game!

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food... so you make the best of what you have, but the team at Evangel does a great job making sure that we get a good variety. They are also always up to taking suggestions and making changes!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so fun and a different experience in each dorm. It's a great time to get to bond with fellow students on a different level, even if it does feel like you're stuck in a tiny room sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    While my class load does become hectic at times, I am learning so much each semester and never feel like I'm wasting my time. My professors are all professionals in their field and I know that I am getting the best knowledge and information available from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for plenty of scholarships. While this school may cost a bit more than others, it is attainable and definitely worth the cost!

    In three sentences

    I love my experience that I have had so far at Evangel University. The professors are absolutely wonderful and are dedicated to my education experience and campus life is a blast. There is nothing I would change about my school.