Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Everett Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want more one on one time with the teachers and you don't like huge lecture halls, then Everett Community College is the best place for you. The class sizes are farely small, with usually no more than 35 students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to study effevtively. The college teachers treat you like adults, so you have to be in charge of keeping your grades up. You have to motivate yourself, no one else is going to.

    Bang for the buck

    A community college will always be cheaper than a university and it's great. I love being able to learn the same material as university students and pay just a fraction of the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I moved up here from Olympia, WA, so I don't have as many friends as I would like in all of my classes. But that also helps to focus better, and it's easy to make new friends at EVCC because everyone is friendly for the most part.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers really know what they're teaching. They understand the material and are able to relay the information to the students very effectively. The teachers are here to help, they won't turn anyone away, which is comforting. The curriculum is at a good level. It pushes you to work hard and to study hard, but it is also graspable.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Older adults, Nursing majors, Environmentalists, TOMs wearers

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes the MINUTE you can. They fill up quickly, especially the English & Math classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is really a good environment. They are somewhat eco-friendly, there are several new buildings, and it is very easy to get in touch with those you need to talk to.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot when I'm in class. I don't do well with their online classes.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone on a budget, especially for general university entry requirements. Core classes are in abundance, and can round out a transcript nicely. There aren't as many technical classes as other types, though, so this college is definitely for the transfer student or more artistically-inclined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk about it! If you have a question or concern, there's somebody to help you with it. Study and hard work will pay off, but in the off chance that you're having trouble in a class, the staff offices are within easy reach. Be warned, though - not all professors keep long, regular hours. Planning meetings in advance is definitely to your benefit.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is less expensive than a university, but that doesn't negatively impact the quality of material at all. In fact, many of the classes here directly correlate to other institutions, even at higher levels, so you don't need to worry about breaking the bank to get an education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is a very friendly place, and makes me feel right at home. I have the opportunity to study quietly in the library, work on group projects, or maybe just grab some coffee at one of the locations on campus. It has all the elements of a good environment for whatever you need.

    Am learning a lot

    In the classes I have taken, the instructors really know what they're teaching. There is always room for class discussion of a topic, even if it eats some of the class time - thoroughly exploring a topic is the most important concern (within reason!) and there are plenty of resources to help with understanding, from tutoring services to other students.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't had or heard of any issues with safety. Security is constantly patrolling, usually looking to give out parking tickets (which they give plenty of), but they're still doing their job.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs to chose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want to excel in academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Loved hanging out in Whitehorse with all the other science kids trying keep up in class.

    Bang for the buck

    Very low cost the quality

    What to do for fun

    Many different activities are put on through out the year and there are a lot of different clubs! The fun literally doesn't end at Evcc.

    Academic Rigor

    It mainly depends of the instructor and how they like to run the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all classes, use the tutoring center and try NOT to procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful campus, faculty and students. Everyone is very easy going and friendly. The classes are sometimes challenging but, you'll definitely learn a lot.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as far as i know, everything's covered.

    Great for these types of students

    creative and eager to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    yes, if you're a state resident.

    What to do for fun

    seattle is 20 miles south. great outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat on campus, but they have a beautiful new dining area.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, this is a two-year college.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging yet creativity is highly encouraged.

    Tips for prospective students

    your hard work will be rewarded.

    In three sentences

    instructors are informative and supportive of students. interesting curriculum with free equipment use. fully equipped studio and even a few famous graduates.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    varies from religion to language to many other things.

    Great for these types of students

    nursing students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the parking lots are spread all over the place and take up most of that area of everett.

    Bang for the buck

    completely worth it. community college is always much cheaper than a four-year university.

    Food and Dining

    the new cafeteria is has some good food and has plenty of room for you too chill with your friends and relax between classes.

    Dorm Life

    there is none, you have to live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    meet with an adviser every other quarter to make sure you are on track to graduate. make sure you register for classes as soon as you are able because they fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    great school, and great location.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've never heard of anything dangerous going on, so it would seem the campus is well protected.

    Great for these types of students

    everett seems very focused on nursing... so this is great for nursing students but also for anyone wanting to stay close to home and get a quality education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the gym has an indoor track thats a couple floors up so you can run and watch people play basketball or volleyball from a birds eye view.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are a lot cheaper then they would be at a university and the teachers do a great job of making sure students retain material.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of really great hang out spots and areas to do homework all throughout campus. the school has wifi everywhere so grab a seat and surf the web if you're between classes. also the gym has open gym hours so if you're into sports the gym is really nice. also the cafeteria is pretty roomy but it can fill up kind of fast especially when the school has live music going.

    Food and Dining

    the campus food is delicious. they have chefs on site that prepare the food as you order and also have food that is premade/prepackaged. the food tends to get expensive if you are buying it everyday. but it is great tasting none the less.

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    all the teachers i've had really utilize class time and make sure that we are retaining the information. everett community college really strives to ensure that they are teaching at university standards at community college prices, i feel as if i'm going to be well prepared when it comes time to transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are new to the campus i'd advise you to visit the campus before the first week of school to find your classes. also pack your own lunch because campus food gets expensive.

    In three sentences

    everett community college is a beautiful campus. it's nice sized and has had a lot of remodeling in the last couple of years. the cafeteria and gym are to die for, and the campus is always kept very clean.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had any issues with other people presenting a safety concern, and even had the experience of having my ebook reader returned to me rather than stolen, as i thought it had been. however, last quarter their was a problem with the elevator in my building and the fire alarm went off, forcing everyone to flee the building,coughing and choking on the smoke in the air. apparently the elevator hadn't been maintained properly and there was a leak of some kind. this is the only instance where i felt unsafe. i certainly haven't been on that elevator since.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities constantly going on at this school, and there is something for everyone to be a part of, from math and engineering club to students for environmental action to community service.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to be able to have face to face interaction with their teachers and fellow students will enjoy the small class sizes. those who wish to save money on schooling while still getting an associates degree before they move on to higher education will also appreciate the low tuition cost.

    Bang for the buck

    evcc is a relatively cheap option for getting your associaties degree or whatever your goals are! there are many great teachers that are no less qualified than those at universities, and there are smaller class sizes and more student to teacher interaction than at these bigger schools as well. overall it is a very economical and money-saving option for starting your college education.

    What to do for fun

    evcc is always bustling with student activities and events- from special guests to club meetings to theatrical productions! their website is a great place to look at some of these activities, and there is really something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    there is a great cafeteria at evcc that i have heard serves a variety of good foods, though i have never bought anything there myself because i am trying to keep expenses down. there are also smaller cafes around campus that serve things like smoothies and snacks, and there are many restaurants and fast food places nearby campus, including a subway right across the street. no starbucks, though, unfortunately.

    Dorm Life

    evcc is a community college so there aren't dorms like there are at private colleges. the campus is a neat and pretty place to walk around or study in, though, including many cozy and well furnished meeting areas to have a study group or just to do homework in.

    Academic Rigor

    i suppose it depends on the classes you take, but i have found all of my classes to be at least somewhat challenging while also not being too overwhelming. i have taken both 100 and 200 level classes and both were of adequate academic rigor for their respective levels. some classes are harder than others, but they can be handled with the help of other classmates, the teacher, and the library!

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to talk to an advisor or to your teachers! i didn't see an advisor until the quarter before i intended to transfer, and i wish i had been more proactive about getting and meeting with one before because they are truly helpful and informative. teachers are also often available to meet with to get help or extra practice and tips, and i have learned alot by making the effort to meet with some of my teachers and discuss the coursework.

    In three sentences

    evcc is a great way to start your college education or continue your education. the campus is clean and attractive, the teachers are qualified and well informed for the most part, and the college offers many different programs and classes, from nursing to fire science to criminal justice. of course, no school is perfect, and going to evcc does have a few drawbacks- most notably the limited and always crowded parking (currently under construction), their difficult-to-navigate website, and their sometimes less-than-helpful office staff- but i have found it to be an overall a good experience.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared.

    In three sentences

    Professional, Fun, Consistent

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are in North Everett, so be careful!

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is new this past year and the food is really good. There are even some healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at EVCC.

    Academic Rigor

    I take science courses which are quite time consuming, but you learn so much it's great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy, always ask questions!

    In three sentences

    Everett Community College is close and easy to get to. The professors encourage you to be driven and successful in your pursuits. The science professors are great!

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly safe, anyone could walk around campus but it's in a pretty chill area. The likelihood of unwanted visitors is low.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have great music rooms with pianos in them

    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone looking to work and go to school at thw same time.

    Bang for the buck

    I love taking classes while still being at home. It cuts a lot of the living costs.

    What to do for fun

    I love their new gym! Listen to live music in cafe.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafe but a little expensive. They have two coffee stands on campus!

    Dorm Life

    None

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at EvCC. Security is always roaming the entire campus and I feel confident that the college does all they can to ensure their students safety

    Greek Life

    There is an honor society that provides scholarships!

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who can't afford Universities and those that prefer to not live in dorms. Great for returning students and those that work and need to go to night school. Good for parents that need child care in order to go to school (there is a day care on campus). Great for continuing education.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition keeps going up but it's not unique to EvCC. The education you get here is superb.

    What to do for fun

    The college is always putting on activities and giving discount tickets to local sporting events and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good and pretty reasonable, but crowded and choices are limited. The bookstore has some food items but not many and most are not very healthy. The barista stands here are good! They make good coffee and supply delicious oatmeal. There is a subway just down the street from the college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    You will get an excellent education here. The professors here are super knowledgable and want nothing but the best for students. Be prepared to work hard for the good education found here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early, early, early! They fill up fast. Use your resources and talk to your advisors to make sure you are getting all that you need. Show up to classes early or you will find NO parking. Cafe is good and reasonable but crowded. Get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    Everett Community College is a nurturing environment that is rich with knowledge. You can acquire a University level education for half the price. It's a great college that continues to grow and improve.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great security staff!

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kapa!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a wide range of activities on campus, and clubs that you can join as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Minorities.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a privilige, and an honor to be expanding your mind in Higher education. The only real way to have a career, and not just a job is to work hard, and get your degree!

    What to do for fun

    They have concerts at the Everett arena all the time, and Seattle is only thirty minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is just fine!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but they do have some adaquate housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    It is tough, but well worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss any classes, unless you absolutely have to!

    In three sentences

    Everett is a nice place to go and get prepared for a four year college!

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Everett Community College is tight. There are security guards all around campus at all times of the day. If you are worried, a security guard will even walk you to your house or dorm.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great here at Everett Community College. Students who are getting married have big weddings and there are numerous Greek restaurants minutes from campus. Greek life is fun and exciting on and off of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are all over the school. There are foreign language clubs etc. But there are also extracurricular activities like track, cross country, golf, zumba, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Everett Community College is great for students who want to enjoy their college life but also get a great education. It is a place to meet new people from all walks of life. However, your education is still important here; the teachers work to help you and tutors are always available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a ton of unusual traditions on campus. At Everett Community College we try to keep life fun. We have dunk tanks, dances on the front lawn, and culture days.

    Bang for the buck

    Everett Community College is affordable. There are cheap restaurants and you can buy used books and even sell them back when your classes are over. Parking is also very inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do on and around campus. At different times of the year there are different events such as culture day, dunk tanks, and dance parties.

    Food and Dining

    There are a ton of restaurants on and around campus. These restaurants range in price and quality. The service is fast which makes it easy to grab a bit to eat in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is great. The students are fun but they are also mature enough to focus on academics. At different times during the year there are outside entertainment such as dunk tanks, fun fests, and cultural days.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are touch and grade hard but if you put your mind to it you will do great. Stay on top of your assignments and come to class every day. Talk to your adviser and teachers when you are having problems; they will help you work it out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school at least a half an hour before your first class starts so that you will have time to find parking. Also, register for your classes as soon as you can. Finally, meet with your adviser to talk about your problems and goals.

    In three sentences

    Everett Community College is a fun and exciting place to study. It is a diverse community and the teachers take time to get to know you. Students are friendly and are from all walks of life.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe while on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting requirements done here is the way to go in terms of saving money. You pay by the credit, so you aren't wasting money by taking less classes.

    What to do for fun

    Currently, there is a great gym to pass the time. Although, I didn't spend much time on campus, so I don't really know what else is available.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food is very good, and has a variety of choices. My only complaint is that it is mildly expensive. I like how there are two different espresso stands on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Did not stay in dorms, they weren't available while I was attending, and i am not planning to stay in dorms this upcoming school year.

    Academic Rigor

    This school allows you to kick back and take it easy, but the best way to go is to challenge yourself. Taking a higher course load will show you just what you can do, and will prepare you for tough programs in your academic future.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important to utilize all available resource. This includes everything from financial aid to the library and meeting with your professors. Grab few friends from your class as go-to-study-buddies and you are on your way to graduation.

    In three sentences

    I completed 2 years at this school, and am returning to continue my education. I think this is a terrific school, which is great for beginning as well as advanced students. It has a very professional atmosphere in which you cannot help but succeed in.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on camp. Even when I leave school late at night by myself and walk to my car.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities and clubs to get involved with on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent in the cafeteria. I don't eat it very often.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at EvCC

    Academic Rigor

    There are some easy classes and some that are a lot more challenging. It all depends on the teacher and course. I had good teachers that challenged me and really made me learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help. Everyone needs help at some point, and if you don't ask, you will never get any better at studying, or any smarter in that subject.

    In three sentences

    EvCC has excellent teachers that are involved in the students learning. There are great enviroments on campus to study with other students or alone. There are lots of ways to recieve help when needed, my favorite is the Tutoring Center, and Writing Center.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    School Cafe has a good selection, and if there's nothing there that you want, the campus is right off of Broadway, where you can find something.

    Dorm Life

    Neutral rating as I don't live in the dorms. Hear that they're at least decent though.

    Academic Rigor

    As a prospective Science Major, my Adviser has recommended that I only work 10-15 hours a week due to the workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely sign up for classes ASAP! Otherwise you're likely to find that the English and Math classes that you need are full (some exceptions would likely be higher level math classes like Calc. or above).

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, check your email, join a clubs, and check out the changing weather in Washington.

    Food and Dining

    I like the food chooses

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I love small class size

    Tips for prospective students

    Grab the opportunities that you get and learn from them.

    In three sentences

    I love the classes at Everett Community College. Everyone is helpful and the campus is beautiful. There are many opportunity in campus that students can grab and learn from them.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is almost always a campus security vehicle roaming the campus parking lots.

    What to do for fun

    There are farmers markets and mountains and walking trails all close to the school.

    Food and Dining

    They updated the dining recently and while a small area, they do okay.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, the students all live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes will have a class average grade of a C.

    Tips for prospective students

    They are bulding their sciences departments and are increasing their online piece, so make sure you have access to a computer

    In three sentences

    The college has great instructors in science that help all students. The staff in each department are always nice and willing to talk with students. Provides access to great mentors for difficult classes.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Running start I think is for students who enjoy experiencing change and are looking for a more mature enviornment with people that might even be twice their age!

    Food and Dining

    In Evcc, there is a beautiful and large cafe that I enjoy getting my coffee or a small snack in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    College is close by, so I don't need one.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy going to college and this is my 3rd quarter and am looking forward to completing my education in a more vas college and get my degrees and become a successful women's health doctor.

    Tips for prospective students

    For underclass students, I recommend going to running start as soon as you get the opportunity!

    In three sentences

    As a running start student, it's very intriguing to experience new opportunities at this age and still continue my education as a high school student. I enjoy comparing high school standards and experiences to that of college, it's just so different .

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends at the cafe. Joining sports teams and/or Clubs

    Food and Dining

    Very good food and the Coffee and shakes are Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Never lose focus on your goal, keep trying and never give up. Don't procrastinate and keep your self organized and manage your time well.

    In three sentences

    There is a really wide diversity at EVERETT COMMUNITY COLLEGE. The staff are very helpful. the instructors know how to teach and keep the class running smoothly and entertaining

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been on campus even at night and have always felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to belong to. I think just about anyone can find a niche at Everett Community College.

    Great for these types of students

    Working your own way through college. It's also a very diverse population in terms of race, ethnicity, and age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of any. Sorry.

    Bang for the buck

    Everett Community College offers great classes at a much lesser cost than university.

    What to do for fun

    Quarterly nursing student luncheon!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food isn't too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I am now in the nursing program and I would say it is an extremely rigorous program.

    Tips for prospective students

    If this is your first crack at college I can only say turn in everything on time!

    In three sentences

    My experience is limited primarily to the pre-nursing courses but I highly recommend classes by Dr. Stern--he's a fantastic teacher, lots of energy and his depth of knowledge is incomparable to the other teachers.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everett is not the safest town in the world, but it isn't Detroit either.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Cross country and Russian club are fun. There is not a ton of funding however.

    Great for these types of students

    Cost-conscious, not academically oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student fitness center is basically a free gym.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your prereqs out of the way for less. But the college does not offer anything in depth that really teaches one how to think.

    What to do for fun

    There are foreign language clubs, sports (cross country, volleyball, basketball, to name a few). There is an anthropology club as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and espresso stand each with a number of selections, as well as a European store across Broadway and a couple of other restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in the dorms, but I have seen them and they are not in the greatest location (construction right outside the buildings, no grass or trees).

    Academic Rigor

    What you pay for is what you get. My experience has been that classes are not challenging and do not encourage above and beyond thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what classes you want to register for before your access date, which is also important to know. Register as soon as possible, classes are small and fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes, but classes are not very challenging. What you pay for is what you get at Everett. However, it is a good way to knock out prereqs.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is provided through the practice of emergency drills such as for an earthquake and security right on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is great variety of clubs and opportunities from the chess club to the Islamic club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students working on a two-year transfer degree or those with lower income.

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities on campus, especially during the holidays along with food, decoration, and activities for everyone to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious and always fresh! There's a variety to chose from the on campus cafe to the 7 eleven and subway across the street.

    Dorm Life

    Normally students rent apartments nearby since dorm rooms are not provided. But choice can vary and is up to you to what you chose.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has many options for career paths and choices of courses but may be limited. Academically this facility has very good instructor on top of their schedules and curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd recommend staying on top of all course work and have an adviser to guide you to and through your career path of interest.

    In three sentences

    Overall Everett Community College is a great campus full of many opportunities, fabulous instructors, and a wide range of courses. This campus is undergoing many maintenance changes such is the brand new nursing facility as well as expanding the campus. I'd recommend it to anymore searching for a cheaper but high quality education route.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    In the heart of everett so pretty close by everything.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty simple.

    In three sentences

    Good class range. Well organized. Nice campus.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There's always safety cars driving around, keeping an eye out for anything and there's security guards that walk around campus ready to help.

    Greek Life

    No sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs. there's Drama, sports, science, art clubs and many more. There's club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    The college works for a lot of different schedules. There's a class for almost anytime so no matter who you are, there's a time that works for you. Its also great for those people who want to stick close to home and get a good feel for college life before making a commitment to a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Halloween the whole campus dressed up in a lot of different costumes. I was surprised because i didn't know that college campuses dressed up. There was fun Halloween parties going on in the cafe. The college was really alive and i thought it was a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different activities. There are art shows, and sports games. The whole college gets together for these and its a lot of fun to be apart of.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, dining can sometimes get crowded in the cafe, but what cafe doesnt? the important thing is that the food is good and not slop, it puts the high school food to the bottom of the list.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I'm a running start student.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are great, they want their students to succeed and help you to the best of their ability, There's outside of help located everywhere and the professors are always willing help, they don't want their students fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate a community college, they can prepare you for things that high school couldn't before you head off to a university.

    In three sentences

    A Great way to start of your college experience. Gets you prepared for what lays ahead. Fun and exciting.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Totally work it!

    Food and Dining

    Such friendly cooks! Also, very good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I find myself being challenged in my classes, and I feel as though college has pushed me to do my best

    In three sentences

    Everett is a great school, the campus is fantastic and the staff and administration are both helpful and very kind. Everett has been a great experience for me. I hope to continue and finish my nursing degree's here.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those high school students who want more challenging classes than the ones offered in high school (and want to save money, at that)

    Bang for the buck

    I am a senior in high school and I am in the running start program. It's honestly one of the best choices I've ever made in my life. Not only am I saving money, but I am also earning college credits while still in high school. I can't be any happier :)

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start my college career. Couldn't be any happier with the classes and the amount of choices you are given.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They handle things well and in a professional manner. You feel very safe with them. Plus the Everett PD is right down the street.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    They are definitely present, but I never got involved because I didn't have time. But they are offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that want classes that are on the small side. If you aren't sure what you want to major in, it's a great school because they offer a huge range of classes. Also if you are a part time student it's great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The drama department puts on great shows every quarter.

    Bang for the buck

    For Running Start it was good, although tuition started to go up...but you will definitely save money going here for prerequisites rather than a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym on campus, and around Everett they have stuff to do:mall, movies, places to eat. They also have Possession Sound that is fun to explore by boat.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive, but tasty!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available, 2year college

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous, and most instructors I have had are great. The classes are fun and usually engaging. I was satisfied with getting my AA from there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going into the program I did, be prepared to work, and work hard. The instructors are all awesome and really get to know you and you will become very close to your cohort. The classes are all challenging but fun at the same time, you'll learn way more than if you just do regular high school for your junior and senior year. I loved Everett's ORCA program and am so glad I did it!

    In three sentences

    For a community college it is actually a pretty cool school. I graduated from their Ocean Research College Academy program and loved it. They offer the coolest full time running start program!

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everett Community College is very safety campus to be on.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Everett Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everett Community College offers a number of clubs and activities for students to take a part in. Some of club they offer include Art club, Engineering club, Writing club, Drama club, Japanese, German, Russian, and Spanish club.

    Great for these types of students

    Everett Community College is great for students looks to earn there associates degree, great for nursing students, and great for adults looking to go back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everett Community College does not have any unusual traditions that they share.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at Everett Community College is affordable. Tuition per classes cost about $500.

    What to do for fun

    Everett Community College offers students a variety of extra-curricular clubs and sports actives for students to participate in. There a lot of different activies that take place at Everett Community College.

    Food and Dining

    Everett Community College has Cafe as well as three coffee stands on the campus. The food offered at Everett's Parks Cafe and Bargreen's Coffee stands is good but can be a bit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Everett Community College doesn't offer dorm life. Most students either still live at home with parents, or in their own off campus apartment or house.

    Academic Rigor

    Everett Community College is very good school when in comes to academic rigor. Everett Community College keeps their students challenged academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your required prerequisites classes first such as English and Math. Taking prerequisites classes first it opens so many more classes you can take after you have taken those classes. Remember to stay on top of your homework with each class you take.

    In three sentences

    Everett Community College offers students a lot of options when it comes to earning your degree. Everett Community College makes it easy to be able to transfer to any other college or university in Washington State. They make it easy to take classes that fit your schedule.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The foods pretty good but i suggest bringing food because I forgot it a lot and the commons just eat up your money.

    Dorm Life

    we don't have a dorm. I live with some relatives in a different town and ride the bus to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Its okay you just have to keep up. That's when you start to feel overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    write down dates for registering for classes. I forget all the time and then I don't get into the classes I need to because I forgot.

    In three sentences

    I love the school. I enjoy my instructors and everyone is really friendly.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely talk to an adviser. Find out who will be able to help you, and USE them when planning out your education plans. Your advisers will know what you need to do, or who to talk to. Don't do it by yourself, or you'll end up spending more time and energy than you need to.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school, a very good choice for starting your education journey. It's much smarter to start here, and then go to a 4-year university. The school is small, so you get more for your money.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    nursing, art, bussiness, enginerring

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a corner in campus which has a coat and hat of a fire fighter who died when evcc was burned

    What to do for fun

    Join club, student activities, check out events, go to gym...

    Tips for prospective students

    use the library resourses as much as you can because you can save money from buying textbook. join a club!

    In three sentences

    Evcc has a perfect campus environment where you will get the most education you need. They also has the best nursing faculty and facility in Washington. Campus has great student activities, events and club that you can enjoy.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Seems like it is easy to get in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get good grades.

    In three sentences

    I've heard they have a great photography program.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten much of the food, but it looks and smells good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty good. Not too hard, but you'll still get worked.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may be just a community college, but still work your hardest. It is a bit tougher than high School.

    In three sentences

    EvCC has a nice campus. Overall great teachers. Good atmosphere.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student going into healthcare would appreciate a school like EVCC. As the fields are equally as competitive, they offer a wide variety of healthcare opportunities and pathways to higher education.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Everett Community College is most definately an affordable way to start any education process out there. For the many opportunities EVCC has to offer and the amazing true education you receive I think it is the best bang for your buck in the state!

    Food and Dining

    Everett Community College has a new dining area and the new menu has proven to be the best. Offering a wide variety of foods you can go there any time of day and be satisfied with your purchases.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently enrolled in the Nursing program and the instructors strive to provide you with the best and most real life nursing education out there. They are extremely competitive and hold high standards so that their graduates are equally as prepared and educated to enter the career field after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the help they have to offer with counseling and career advisers, they are amazing people who want the best for you,

    In three sentences

    Everett Community College is a great place to get a quality education close to home. The opportunities they offer are endless and the support staff is very encouraging and helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better place to start my education!

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great if you want to save money while earning a degree.

    What to do for fun

    Since it's a community college, people usually don't stay on campus very long. There's a gym you can use, play sports, use lab time in the art building, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good variety.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Now they own one apartment building that you can live in, but nothing while I was there.

    Academic Rigor

    I was challenged but not to the point of panic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look on rate my professor before choosing teachers. It helps to find ones that will suit your learning style.

    In three sentences

    A great community college with a wide variety of classes. I had good teachers, and was challenged in my courses. I would recommend it.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports events are always advertised and students have the opportunity to be involved in clubs as well. In several buildings students are also able to showcase their art. Also the drama department loves to show what they achieved as well; their are shows regularly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor if you need help making a plan, any faculty member can be an advisor and if you need the help make sure you as for it. I have never had someone turn me away, all of the faculty aims to give the support that students want and need.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere at EvCC is open and welcoming. I always feel that if I need to find the answer to something that the teachers and staff are accommodating and helpful. The campus is easy to get around and well maintained; if you're looking to further your education at a community college I recommend EvCC.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are wishing to avoid massive student loans, people who don't mind smaller schools, and people who find normal dorm life distracting.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely cheaper than attending a university. And utilizing EvCC's University Center to earn a Bechelor's degree there will save you a ton of money! Yeah, you'll probably not get the same campus experience, but in this economy it's porably better to avoid loans, no?

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried much of it yet, though I'm guessing it's pretty average.

    Dorm Life

    Not much here...they have some student housing available, but only a couple of apartment buildings. However, it is in Everett, so there's stuff to do downtown.

    Academic Rigor

    Textbooks look good and challenging, and I know lots of the teachers enjoy their jobs here. Of course, as in any school, some teachers are more rigorous than others, but then you get to choose how much of a challenge you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into Learning Communities! They let you take two classes that go together, geared towards a specific topic, so that you can get a more in-depth look at a subject. Also, don't skip out on advising - it's really important that you plan out your classes correctly.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easy to navigate (one advantage of a smaller school!) and doesn't take too long to get from building to building. They've also added lots of new stuff in the past few years, like the student gym. There's also the University Center, which is where you can attend some of the state's major colleges/universities through EvCC.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and student involvement. Check with your advisers for specifics.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of food and dining locations all around Everett and you're only 20-30 minutes from Seattle.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't started classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply. The web app used to apply is the same one many colleges in Washington use, so if you decide to go somewhere else, chances are your application will already be filled out.

    In three sentences

    Excellent service, quick response time, and knowledgeable advisers. Campus looks clean and professional. Departments are knowledgeable and easy to contact.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A little expensive. For a college student.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms so..

    In three sentences

    Friendly and inviting atmosphere. Tons of opportunities. A good start to something amazing.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everett is not one of the safest places in Washington...

    Great for these types of students

    Great for medical students, accounting students, and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    I would rather pay about 10,000* for two years of education than 20,000 for one year at a university.

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, join a club or one of the sports teams, go clubbing.

    Food and Dining

    One cafeteria and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I heard it was pretty easy as long as you study and do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I heard parking is a drag, so get there early before classes. Online courses also help avoid parking problems. Also register for classes early because they fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    Getting in is really easy. Lots of opportunity. Extremely inexpensive compared to most colleges.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is generally clean. I would not say it is safe. Especially if you walk more than 100 yards away from the campus, bad neighborhood.

    Bang for the buck

    Unless you are taking nursing, the classes are really poorly run, all teachers are part time (often paid contractors), who have full time jobs and then come in on contract.

    Food and Dining

    There is a food area, with some drinks and food, nice but it closes way to early, if you are taking late classes.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Educations level is High School level or worst. Everett CC IT department standard of teaching is: 1. No instruction. 2. Personnel stories. 3. Assignments with out any support. 4. If you have a lab, expect have to listen 2 hours of lecture and given 30 minutes to complete assignments (with no help). 5. Expected to already know everything. 6. If you ask questions, they refer a student to the internet or the book. 7 Never, ever, ask questions, or they will give you a bad grade. 8. Also, the instructors are abusive, verbally.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for an education, find another college. This community college is really a nursing school, their main charter is nursing, and all the departments are there to provide general eduction. I am working on a degree in IT (Computer Science). The department is nice building with new computers. But the instruction is a nightmare. I would say the instruction is down right terrible. (instructors are all paid contractors). I would avoid taking classes at this college. If you want to sit around for 12 weeks listening to a instructor talk about her previous career, and waste all your time. If you want to learn IT or get an education in a professional learning environment, you will not find it at Everett CC.

    In three sentences

    This is a liberal-arts school. Campus is located in a bad part of town. One part of the campus is stuck in the 1950's.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit the art gallery!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships and learn how each teacher like to teach. They are all different.

    In three sentences

    Everett community college has a beautiful campus and friendly teachers. The staff are usually helpful and instructors try to work with you. The classroom are great and there are a lot of cool places on campus.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Professional and reasonable. Educational. Patient.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Haven't gotten involved yet, I am a brand new student!

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten there yet.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in dorms, in fact I'm not sure that there are dorms at all. I could be wrong.

    Academic Rigor

    I have no idea what it is like yet?

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financial aid stuff done quickly and organize with your advisor classes you need to take so that way registering doesnt take quite as long

    In three sentences

    HUGE CAMPUS, lots of friendly staff and students. I can honestly say that I am ecstatic to start classes, hopefully soon.

  • 09/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school campus provides a safe environment for all students to learn in. Security guards are always available on campus. If you have an issue regarding safety, report it immediately.

    Greek Life

    Everett Community College does not provide sororities or fraternities on campus. You'll most likely find them at larger universities like UW or WSU.

    Clubs and Activities

    With the amount of clubs and student organizations offered on campus, you are sure to find one you enjoy. Club interests vary from racial studies, academics, religious studies, recreational activities, etc...

    Great for these types of students

    School is school, and it's something you have to dedicate yourself to. Anyone who enjoys learning will most likely succeed at Everett CC. Everett CC provides amazing opportunities to anyone willing to put forth effort and dedication. Your education is your responsibility!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus itself has majorly developed over the course of the last 5 years. It was originally built across the street from a grocery store; since then, that same grocery store has turned into a building Everett CC uses for classes and courses.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at Everett Community College is relatively less expensive compared to a private/public university. I'd say the tuition is more-so affordable, but then again I can't speak for everyone's financial situation.

    What to do for fun

    Everett Community College is located next to water, so during summers you have the opportunity to spend time at Jetty Island. The campus is also located next to the Comcast Arena, where you can enjoy ice-skating and seasonal hockey games. Everett also provides a few local food joints that provide different types of food and beverages.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Everett Community College is great! Whether you are looking for a quick-bite, or an energizing coffee, you should be able to find numerous food choices on campus. The cafeteria is relatively small, but it does offer space to study and socialize.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, Everett Community College does not offer housing on campus. The closest housing you will find will most likely be a local apartment/condominium complex.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor varies on the type and general difficulty of some classes. Don't expect to put forth the same effort you would taking a yoga class as the amount of effort you'd put into taking a physics class. As long as you study and take advantage of the student resource centers, you are set for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to ask your professor questions regarding the material in any classes you are struggling with. Everett Community College offers many resources to students, including tutoring centers that offer great help. Always remember to stay on top of homework and keep your schedule organized.

    In three sentences

    The student resources have made my college experience less stressful. I enjoy the relatively small campus size, so it's easy to park and transport between classes and clubs. The class sizes are also small, so students are able to communicate with professors inside and outside of the classroom.