Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Evergreen Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EVC is perfect for students who do not know what they want to major in, but are interested in continuing their educations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though EVC is a community college, prospective students must not waste time. With the budget cuts, lots of people are now applying to community colleges like EVC.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the budget cuts that increase the tuition for continuing education, EVC is still less expensive than many other public and private universities. There is also financial aid available for eligible students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending Evergreen Valley College (EVC) because of its atmosphere and environment. Teachers and fellow students are there to help me whenever I have questions.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning new subjects while reviewing old ones. I am able to understand better on some of the most difficult subjects, such as general physics and multivariable calculus.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Evergreen college is affordable, great school to get your foot in the college door.

    Food and Dining

    I always bring my own snack all the time so no comment on this.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I can give any comment on this.

    Academic Rigor

    professors are great and professional.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register your class early ! class seems to be filled up pretty quick.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen college is a great college. They have lots evening classes that fits my busy schedule. Thou I can be a stay home mom in the daytime and a college student at night. LOVE IT.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is completely safe. We have campus police always there when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's many clubs and activities as I have mention above. Regards, of race, religion everyone's welcome to join any of the clubs at Evergreen. Overall

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just see wonderful and respectful people on campus trying very hard to get the best grades one can get and by doing so, we all help one another to that.

    Bang for the buck

    Evergreen Valley is the best thing that has ever happen to me. I once thought I was too old to go back to school, but with all I was told you are never too old to finish out your dreams.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Government Association is always putting something fun together as well all the other clubs on campus. We had Valentine's day celebration, Women's History Month, Black History Month, Halloween party etc. These types of events just let the students know that if you work, you also get to play hard too!

    Food and Dining

    At Evergreen, they have some of the best food every served on a college campus. The prices are fair and to some inexpensive. You have an All-American cheeseburger to Vietnamese or Mexican and Chinese food, the variety is great!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Evergreen will prepared for the next transition, transferring to a four-year university with all the tools needed to succeed in life of a college student.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to any prospective student, please go to Evergreen Valley College to experience the community as one. At Evergreen Valley College, people come from all races, religions etc. and we are one big happy family. At Evergreen Valley everyone helps everyone succeed.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen Valley College has some of the very best professors who are really and truly concerned about each student who comes their way. As a student you will never forget any of the professors you had, because you don't leave with learning.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who cannot afford the expensive tuition of a university or UC. Also great for those who do not know what they want to be yet and just want to get their GE done first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early!!! It's okay if you don't know what to major in you can be undeclared. Go talk to counselors if you need help there are a lot of people there to help you. Use the library! there are so many resources in there to help you including a tutoring center!

    Bang for the buck

    I love how Evergreen's classes are so cheap. There were recently a lot of cuts at Evergreen but the price of classes didn't go up much. I also like how you can get your money back for a class if you didn't like it, That can only happen if you drop the class before a certain date though but it is good enough. Also if the books are too expensive for you, the library has a set of books so that you can borrow for a certain amount of time.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though Evergreen was not my first option I ended up liking this school. The school is not too crowded and the environment is great because you're right next to nature.

    Am learning a lot

    i am learning a lot here because the teachers that i've gotten so far are those who challenges you to do your best. Most of them actually care about your grade and they will talk about it with you which is really rare in college.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    evergreen valley college has low tuition for students. this school has variety of majors that i can choose. it also have many programs to help student in studying.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i have never eaten here. all my classes start at 6pm so therefore i have not tried the food on campus

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    classes are great! make sure to speak to and advisor and stay uptodate with your educational goals. stay focused.

    In three sentences

    this is my first semester attending evc (spr 2012) and so far i think it is a great campus. everyone who i have encountered is very friendly. they only thing i thought was negative was the financial aid team at evc, they were just rude.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have real police on campus but you don't really see them much while walking around.they seem pretty alert and on things. i think were pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    pacific islander,art,anime,soccer,break dancing,honor, government,the list goes on and on

    Great for these types of students

    who like to get to know the people on campus,do not want to have too much stress but enough to keep you motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    yeah as long as you have a good counselor to help keep you on track it is very worth it

    What to do for fun

    join a club, there are club rush days where you can see all the clubs available.there is an arcade at school and around the corner is a cool little shopping center, good for grabbing a quick lunch.upstairs above the cafeteria there is a room where you can watch movies many of the movies available are pretty new.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good, they have a wide variety of cultures and flavors to choose from.if you are a vegetarian there are lots of options to choose from as well.

    Academic Rigor

    i am a good student so i don't really know much about how strict they are on academics.all i can say is do not drop out or withdraw from too many classes per semester and do your best and you should be fine.if not you might be put on academic probation and if a class is too hard don't stay in it get out or find a better teacher and make sure you know when the deadlines are.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are new then always remember to go to your waitlisted class on time and keep going because they might just let you in.the finacial aid office is always crowded at the beginning of the semester so either go before the semester starts or wait a week or two.the best counselor, well the one that i had and i recommend to everyone is caritha anderson, she really does all she can to insure success.

    In three sentences

    evergreen is a really nice school with beautiful scenery,helpful teachers and great counselors who help you succeed .the campus is easy to navigate, even for those who may use wheelchairs or be disabled in some way.some of my favorite things about this school is that there is always something going on, the campus is not too crowded and the library supplies a lot of books and computer access so that students who do not have these items can still succeed.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of activities on campus all students should get involved.

    Food and Dining

    food is expensive i would give a 2.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to get an ED plan as soon as possible

    In three sentences

    Very helpful staff. would rate them at an 8 out of 10. need more classes.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is right next to a police training academy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities on campus, it is better to check in on the website. There is a club week to check out all of the clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a very high Vietnamese student population here.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a California resident, then this college is fine.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown San Jose is about a 15 minute drive away.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus, a starbucks, jamba juice, and a small plaza across a field.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but there is a nice community around this area.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends entirely on the major that you are. Some of the natural sciences ask for way too much, and some of the social and humanities ask for very little dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in and get out, this is a two year college; make a plan and try to transfer out.

    In three sentences

    This is a 2-Year Junior College on the semester system. Located in the Evergreen Area of San Jose. Some high school, state-university students, and international students attend here.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Black Student Union Student Government

    Great for these types of students

    Stay open and you will feel right at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth your money.

    What to do for fun

    I read and crochet.

    Food and Dining

    It is okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and use the resources.

    In three sentences

    They are excellent educators. They are helpful when it comes to financial aid. The atmosphere is beautiful and friendly.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has police patrolling the campus. Also the school will notify students of danger through a text messages and emails.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The students conduct a lot of rally's at the quad.

    What to do for fun

    Gym, Tan, and socialize.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the food at the school but, from what I have been told it's not that good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is extremely dependent on whom your professor is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the counselor first so that you may develop a education plan. Secondly buy your books through amazon to save a lot of money. Lastly, When registering for courses check the professors on ratemyprofessor.com, It will save you from unnecessary stresses.

    In three sentences

    First, the teachers are very professional. Also, the VA counselor has been very helpful. lastly, most of the students that I have met are very friendly.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cc is a generally safe area. There has been no major incidents as far as I've been living in the area(roughly 20 years). Campus police roams the area in case of any such incidents.

    Greek Life

    No greek life, obviously.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some soccer teams and choir clubs at the school that I know about.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those still living at home, near the area. Those who do not have much financial aid from their parents and need to get that bachelors degree!

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely a great bang for your buck. You may not always get the classes you need, but there is definitely enough variety in classes to get you to your next step in your 4-5 year college career.

    What to do for fun

    There are some large fields and some short trails to take in-between classes or on the weekends. I usually go out there with my step-dad and my younger sister to kick a soccer ball around.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria, great for in-between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a community college like evergreen valley is a great choice and should not be taken lightly. Although it is a community college, taking advantage of the low cost and general ease of classes can be a great way to a great college/university.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen Valley College is quaint and fairly close to home. It is the neighborhood college and I feel comfortable taking classes here. Easiest way to get your scholarly career on the right track for those who don't have the best financial options.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for me being a older student I find it safe for me to go to and from different classes that I have on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The activities on campus are fun sometime they have different entertainers for us to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    They have different types of foods they just need to have a even more of a selection of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek different avenues of programs to assist you in achieving your goal in finish your classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is a friendly campus, lots of programs that they have for you to partake in, my instructors are very helpful and understanding to students needs..Being a older student other peers are very helpful to me.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and functions that go on, so if you want to have fun then get involved.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had the food here yet, but I usually bring food because it saves me money everyday. There is a microwave to heat up whatever you bring.

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorm life since this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are lots of majors to choose from and wonderful professors that teach the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that a community college is where you want to start off at, if you are worried about money to pay for a University, you shouldn't be. There are lots of ways to get financial help. If you are not sure what you want to major in, then Evergreen Valley is a good place to start on your general education.

    In three sentences

    I like evergreen valley campus. I don't like the fact that it feel too much like high school, but I am the one who decided to go to a community college. Overall Evergreen Valley College is a good school to start your degree.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have always felt safe at school. I don't think Ive heard of any fights or cars getting broken into.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs available and can help you to transfer to the school you want to get into.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, great education for the amount of money you actually have to spend.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and sports. Hang out in the library or math lab.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria. Has fresh choices. Prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    None available.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers there are great and push you to do better. The level is good for most students but can also offer honor classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework. Pay attention in class. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty good school, with excellent teachers. It has lots of staff to help with any questions you may have. Tutoring is great and available.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone a short distance away that you can ask for aid. There is even a campus police that survey and their building is located next to admissions and rec

    Greek Life

    I'm not quite sure what this question is referring to however I know that some dorms use Greek alpha-numerics to denominate them from the masses.

    Clubs and Activities

    I just started this year so I haven't got into any clubs yet or anything like that but I see groups of people running in the morning that looks fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody! There is no one who wouldn't fit in here everybody is welcome and welcoming. There's really nothing to worry about here its a lovely school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I always like to come and do my homework under the trees, or I'll walk up the hill and look out at the rest of San Jose it really calms and motivates me to get my work done.

    Bang for the buck

    Evergreen Valley College is the most affordable of the community colleges that I have visited. They are always willing to help you receive financial aid and there are scholarships available to everyone. Furthermore, some of the teachers have developed their own textbooks to save you even more!

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go on a hike into the foothills, I love the peaceful tranquility that I associate with EVC its so aesthetic and comfortable. There are also soccer fields or tennis courts bring some friends and a ball and get some exercise!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had the chance to eat in the cafeteria yet but I hear that the Chinese chicken salad is just to die for! There are also various vending machines around the campus and the evergreen square has a variety of delicious delectable dishes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't personally live on campus I live a short bike ride away but from what I have seen and experienced everyone is happy to be there and its a very inviting atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that this institution is intriguing because it remains challenging even while making the learning experience fun. Lots of activities to keep you fully engaged and the course material is stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people, don't be afraid to ask for directions or insight. Its a beautiful campus and everyone is willing to help, wear walking shoes because you might have to walk to your classes.

    In three sentences

    I would rate EVC a five out of five, mainly because it promotes a learning atmosphere. Everyone feels safe and free from judgement, people are happily just going about their business. Finally I love that there is always a smiling face you can ask for help.:)

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are pretty good security at the school. they have there own campus police. And the make there rounds every 2 hours or so.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are numerous clubs and activities over there. It just depends what you want to do over there.

    Great for these types of students

    the are good for every type of student that want to go there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you can have your unusual traditions where ever you want.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive but not too bad.

    What to do for fun

    enjoy the scenery.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good. but they really dont have dinning area.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    there are some classes that are really hard but if u put your mind to it you can do anything you put your mind too.

    Tips for prospective students

    it has wonderful surroundings and wonderful teachers.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful campus,great teachers, and beauitful surroundings. It is also so very earth friendly.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I didn't stay in campus when I wasn't in class but I do know they have a lot of clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was actually very good.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were difficult but not all.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor and get your classes mapped out early and stay on track!

    In three sentences

    I had a great experience at Evergreen the counselors were helpful as well as the teachers. If you're main focus is to go to school I recommend Evergreen, there aren't a lot of sports there which was a downfall.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It use to be safer at this school until some gangsters started driving or hanging out around school around 2010. Still pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs might be very enjoyable such as a Christian club.

    Great for these types of students

    Good, smart, hard working students would be great here.

    Bang for the buck

    A very nice looking school. College is hard, not for the average joe.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs at this school is fun. However clubs can take time from class.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nice.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life option.

    Academic Rigor

    It's good to check your scores with some older teachers. Sometimes they don't always grade correctly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. College is not easy, be ready for challenges. If your smart and you do your work you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    It's a very nice school. The teachers are not all open minded. Great for people who want a better life after getting their high school diploma.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They send you text messages to alert you if anything is going on on campus. Also , they have a police training academy. It is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There is not greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have ASG and all the normal clubs like LGBT , ASPIRE, ENLACE.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students who are getting an AA or are going to transfer to a csu or uc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Evergreen has a beautiful pond with a fountain and some steps to sit on. It is a great place to sit and think or even study.

    Bang for the buck

    Evergreen is definitely cheap considering it is a community college. Books in the bookstore are often overpriced and you can find what you need cheaper on amazon. Evergreen offers many scholarships and going there costs under $2,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    Evergreen puts on a lot of events like poetry festivals , and other culture oriented festivities.

    Food and Dining

    Evergreen has a cafeteria where you can buy food and even a little starbucks. Once I found a moldy piece of cake in the dessert section in the cafeteria. Yuck!!

    Dorm Life

    Evergreen is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    There is variety of classes. They offer classes for people who are just getting into college and people who are going to be doctors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for classes on your registration date because classes get full quickly. If you want to have a social life make sure you get involved in clubs. Take a class just for fun! You will meet some great people and have fun doing something that interests you.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen Valley College is a school that will help you get your general education done. The campus is beautiful and offers many activities to get involved. The teachers care about you and want you to do your best.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ALWAYS ON THE JOB

    Clubs and Activities

    HONORS CLUB, AFFIRM, ENLACE, ASPIRE

    Great for these types of students

    YOU WILL ALWAYS BE ENTERTAINED

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    VERY CULTURAL AND INVOVLED WITH ETHNIC PROGRAMS AND RECOGNITION

    Bang for the buck

    GREAT SCHOOL THAT I WOULD LOVE TO RECOMMEND TO FRIENDS

    What to do for fun

    SPORTING EVENTS AND MUSICAL EVENTS DAILY

    Food and Dining

    SIMPLE FAST AND SOMEWHAT EXPENSIVE

    Dorm Life

    NOT AN OPTION

    Academic Rigor

    CLASSES MAY SEEM DIFFICULT BUT THERE ARE INSTRUCTORS WHO WILL FIT YOUR PERSONALITY AND SCHEDULE

    Tips for prospective students

    RELAX. NO STRESS. REMAIN FOCUSED AND YOU WILL SUCCEED

    In three sentences

    A GREAT SETTING AND GREAT ATMOSPHERE. YOU HAVE A SMALL BUT CONVENIENT CAMPUS TO EXPLORE AND TO LOCATE ALL CLASSES WITHOUT ANY HASSLE.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Evergreen Valley College is a safe campus for many reasons. The campus police are constantly on routine patrols. They may provide you defense if you need to be walk towards your vehicle. Evergreen Valley police also have a text message software that will send message related to recently committed crimes. Overall Evergreen Valley College provides excellent safety procedure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There clubs where people may participate but there are not too many on this campus and there is a lack of participation towards these clubs. This campus holds a flag football competition called the Turkey Bowl in which the clubs at Evergreen battle for the Turkey Bowl with the great sport of football.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus are great for students who enjoy a quiet and steady environment, as well enjoying the view of the beautiful green eastern hills.

    What to do for fun

    There clubs where people may participate but there are not too many on this campus and there is a lack of participation towards these clubs. This campus holds a flag football competition called the Turkey Bowl in which the clubs at Evergreen battle for the Turkey Bowl with the great sport of football.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Evergreen Valley College provides excellent services. The chief will take time to prep your food and there quite at the same time. The prices on food and beverages are not too expensive and seems affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Evergreen Valley College don't provide students with dorm programs

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't too much strictness or severity at Evergreen Valley College because its a quiet campus. Evergreen Valley College is very diverse and respectable to all individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for a prospective student is instructors at Evergreen are easy to bargain with during an academic obstacle.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen Valley College provides prevailing knowledge towards students. The environment on campus is quiet and peaceful in most cases. Overall, Evergreen Valley College will help a student academically achieve based on its foundation.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join the student government. It is a great way to meet new friends and also to put on a transferring application.

    Bang for the buck

    Buy school supplies off campus, especially books.

    What to do for fun

    Attending guest speeches when available.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic, but the dining area could use some updating.

    Academic Rigor

    When I first began attending college I lacked dedication, but now that I have matured and have a son I am more dedicated than ever! I will provide a better life for my son and I no matter how much effort must be put forth to achieve that!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to put the effort forth and expect to have the grades reflect that effort!

    In three sentences

    I love attending EVC! The location is perfect, located in the hills of the Evergreen Community. The teachers and staff are very dedicated to their work and their students success!

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety as walking around campus is great but when it comes to cars parked in the lots, not so safe. Make sure all of your belongings are either with you or out of plain sight because it never fails every semester someone's car is broken into or stolen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs offered which are displayed during club rush day but not many students participate I don't think. Activities at Evergreen are sort of scarce but our new school president is supposed to be taking care of that.

    Great for these types of students

    Evergreen is great for students who would like a more calm and intimate college experience. Teachers are more than welcome to go one on one with you for questions and not many campus activities are offered.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are always the best way to go to get the best bang for your buck. You pay hundreds of dollars less here for the same classes you would be taking at a University.

    What to do for fun

    Eastridge mall is about five minutes away from the school and there is also many parks and trails to hike/walk along. There is plenty of different cultural restaurants to pick from all within a ten mile radius.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafeteria here is pretty good. A lot is made fresh daily and there is a abundance of choices with a different special everyday. You're able to eat in the cafeteria but there are many benches and tables all over campus where you can also enjoy your food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You're in college for a reason, to challenge your mind and learn new things every day. Nobody said it was easy, but if you keep up with reading your books and doing assigned homework then classes should be a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes as soon as your able to because they do fill up very fast. Don't listen to things you read on ratemyprofessor.com because most people go on there to post only negatives. Gain a good rapport with a counselor and continue seeing him/her throughout your time at Evergreen.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen is a great community college to attend. They have well rounded professors and a beautiful clean campus. There is a lot of variety in the classes offered and many programs for every individual need.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is actually very safe as no matter what time even when the school is quite as most students are in class the police on campus are always doing their patrols wheather it be on their car or on a golf cart or by foot. We have a new addition on campus now a few months ago. Having Camera now feels its even safer then it was then.

    What to do for fun

    All year round their always seem to have some kind of event or club outside with music. Often you can find them at the Grullo bulding across the cafeteria. You can even take a walk to the lake and watch ducks and other widlife passing by or finding their next meal. If you have sport gears you can play tennis or baseball when the place is not use or you can run up the hill and expolre the beauty of nature at the college.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafateria are very intresting as we have a lot of varietys from fast food to diffrent culturle food that students can get not to mention how we can get starbucks coffee is a big help to wake up in the morning class!

    Dorm Life

    Not much to say here as we don't have Dom life at least I haven't heard about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Proffessors there are to help you learn for those that are serious about getting their degree or be just taking the class. Each Proffessor has their own adenda and style of teaching and lecturing. Then again most of them are very laid back as most went to community college like Evergreen valley college so they are able to relate to how the students feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantages of doing the assesment test soon. Sign up with counsoler and make an E.D Plan as soon as possible after you finish orientaion.Reap the benifits for your own education by apply for lots of help in the Finacial aid office and Eops.

    In three sentences

    A very quiet and calming college enviroment to learn.If you want or need things just ask the staffs as most are very kind and will help you if they can.Relaxing and nature friendly place for everyone.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a whole police station and police academy at the school as we'll as a firefighter training facility nearby. Can't be anymore safe than that right?

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Hardly any activities

    Great for these types of students

    - Good if you are looking for degrees on a budget - Bad if you are just looking for a social life - Good if you want technical education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do people getting work done count as unusual? If not then nah, nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Some people don't find value in small community colleges but it depends on what you do and how much you are willing to pay for it. I am not willing to go to a school and pay an extra $35,000 for the same exact education that I am getting here. These days it is not worth it to go into debt so that one day you MIGHT have a job.

    What to do for fun

    If you are into health an fitness there is a small hill nestled behind the school for short jogs or miniature hikes. If not grab a smoke with the auto guys in the parking lot. We're always down to chat with people. On a Thursday or Friday night you are better off headed downtown to motif or a hookah lounge or better yet head up to the city (a bit of a drive away).

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is good, for emergencies. It costs too much $ and not much food for the prices charged. Down the street from the school is a McDonalds and Iguanas which has decent food. Other than that the campus is decently isolated from any main centers of business.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends. Some classes can be difficult while others are no sweat. Try and get on the instructors good side and you should be alright. Rubbing feathers with the instructors is frowned upon and will likely result in lower grades and hence more $ for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Watch out! Cars are driving through campus day and night. - Be kind and patient when dealing with the staff even though some things can be frustrating, they are there to help you. - Get a package or two of the scantron sheets! - If you need help, then ASK!

    In three sentences

    Evergreen Valley College has an amazing automotive program with great instructors who actually help you to learn course material. It also helps to know that the auto instructors don't change every class or semester so you can build a great professor-to-student relationship which is so very helpful. The campus has a few areas under construction but when completed the campus will have a much better feel and be less of an eye-sore, also, who can complain about the parking??

  • 04/23/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's alright just go out to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Satisfies most 2 year academic degrees.

    In three sentences

    It's decent. Not the best school, but its not bad.