Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Excelsior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    housewives, single moms, students that need to work full time, students unable to follow a school's traditional curriculum, students who were unable to complete nursing programs, lpns, nas.

    What to do for fun

    distance learning, so not appicable.

    Academic Rigor

    i have been registered in an independent study based program (nursing associtates), so i have been studying at my own pace, therefore did not experience heavy academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    research the school and see if it works for you, your schedule and future plans. very importantly, is to make sure you are a person who can work independently without a class time schedule and are very disciplined to create and follow your own schedule/itinerary in order to complete the required work and exams.

    In three sentences

    as it is a distance learning/online school, it is very convenient. you can do school work in certain programs and courses at your own pace.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am an online student. I'm sure the security is good. I have not heard anything negative.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few activities offered to online students. I'm sure the activities that are on campus are good, fun, exciting and relaxing.

    Great for these types of students

    This college meets the needs of people from all different economic, social and religious backgrounds. That's one reason reason it is an exceptional institution.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you can get a quality education from Excelsior without the astronomical expense. Online education is the wave of this era now. No one has an excuse not to get an education if they truly believe in their heart they want one.

    What to do for fun

    I am an online student. I'm sure though there is Lot's to do in Albany!

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student but, I'm sure the diversity of cuisines are off the chart!

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student. No need for dorm life for me.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are excellent and would compare to any of the top notch schools in the country. Help is available. All you have to do is ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you possibly can! Take advantage of the payment plan that Excelsiors offers as well in order to achieve your goals. Always strive to reach for dreams and make the world a better place!

    In three sentences

    The staff is courteous, helpful and friendly. I like the option of the online classes and the assistance from faculty and staff . They try to assist you to obtain your college degree.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not affiliated with greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not affiliated with clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This is good for students who have children and work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not live on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive but I do get to study from home.

    What to do for fun

    I do not live near the institution.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The course study is very tough, but very informative

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to read all the fine print.

    In three sentences

    My experience with Excelsior has been a little disappointing. They have been very helpful with answering questions, however I feel that it is a much longer study program than I was led to believe. The courses are very thorough.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is of high priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities, I am sure, are great for all of the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Distance Learning students and all of academic students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions noted except for distance learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Excelsior College is a great college and work to keep student rates within means if possible. I would rate it at a 5 star.

    What to do for fun

    Bike, sports, and movies.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining should be excellent. Although I do not have to eat at the College, I am sure that it is a 5 star.

    Dorm Life

    Not at Dorm but I am sure that Dorm Life is great at Excelsior. I would rate it at a 5 star.

    Academic Rigor

    Must stay with the studies on a regular basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep focused on a daily basis and ask questions related to any given class.

    In three sentences

    Excelsior College is very supportive of its students. Excelsior provides a Counselor that makes contact with the student for continued support and eliminates frustration for the student. Excelsior makes frequent contact with the student to determine what is needed for continued study. tips for study habits, tips for success, and much more.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    As long as you keep up it is easy to follow along, the classes are easy to get through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with your counselors as often as you can, they are there to help.

    In three sentences

    Great school, from enrolling to picking classes the counselors are always available and very nice. This school is extremely military friendly making it easy when I am deployed to stay connected.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-starters, self-disciplined, working full time, have a family, want to get your degree in a short amount of time.

    Bang for the buck

    Self-paced is the way to go. You get your money's worth if you dedicate yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    Excelsior is as hard or easy as you make it for yourself. It depends on how much time and effort you put into your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your school work. Don't fall behind or get distracted. Work hard, you can finish your degree in a very short amount of time if you put your mind to it.

    In three sentences

    I like Excelsior because I can learn at my own pace. There are very few deadlines. It fosters self-discipline.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults, this college is great for you. With online classes Excelsior has made it possible for working people to still further their education at home.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student so I'm not sure about food and dining.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great online school. The classes are real college level classes and most certainly transferable. The professors are real professionals.

    In three sentences

    Excelsior College is a Military Friendly college. After getting my Bachelor's degree, I am now going for my Masters. All the staff are great and very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all kinds...

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough in the beginning for non-traditional students but the councilors help you ease back into the college and studying habit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your councilor early and often, they are their to help and they are a wealth of knowledge.

    In three sentences

    Extremely military friendly college, getting started was made so easy thanks to their personal support team. Each person is assigned a councilor, that way you only talk to one person.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because I am an online student I put alot of information on a computer and I feel very safe that the campus is keeping my information confidential.

    Great for these types of students

    Self movitated!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am an online student so I am not aware of any tradtions/locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is affordable and the level of education that is received is priceless!

    What to do for fun

    Study and pass exams!

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine or eat on campus because I attend online.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on a dorm because I attend my classes online.

    Academic Rigor

    This is an intense school but so much is learned with the style of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip I would give other students is to pace yourself. I feel that it can be overwhelming when you don't have to show up for lectures and a stuctured classroom setting. Set priorities in your life and pace yourself.

    In three sentences

    I am enrolled in the online nursing program and truly love this form of education. It is nice because I can study and complete exams at my leisure. I especially love the commnuntiy online sources so I can talk with other students.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    online college

    Food and Dining

    online college

    Dorm Life

    not on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    do not get discouraged because of finances

    In three sentences

    Very Resourceful, available communication is strong, easy commited to students success

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Be with you family and then make a plan how to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great opportunity to continue you reducation and complete your degree, while working. Stay on task, keep it positive, believe that you can do it.

    In three sentences

    My expirience with Excelsior College is very positive at this moment. Nursing educators and advisors are people that really care about my success. This is a great college to attend while working as LPN and being mom at home.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, busy, trying to multi-task

    Bang for the buck

    I'm working on my degree in accounting. I'd like to be a CPA one day.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, shoot pool, watch a movie, go to a bar.

    Food and Dining

    Classes are online so food stays the same.

    Dorm Life

    Classes are online so you get to stay in the comfort of your own home!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in joining, be sure to check when they have special offers so that you can save money on classes.

    In three sentences

    The idea behind Excelsior College is great! I can continue working at my job and at the same time take classes online. Their website is very user-friendly.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    That depends- how safe is your neighborhood??

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    None on campus; do honor societies count?

    Great for these types of students

    Working, married and/or have dependent children, older, independent personality

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What campus? You mean the office buildings I found when I was bored one day when I had a car and decided to drive the 2 hours to Albany?

    Bang for the buck

    Except for my type of situation, it seems that Excelsior comes out cheaper than a traditional college, with the same value and rigor of higher-priced institutions.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you normally do at home for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Whatever comes from grocery shopping! There's no dining hall, unless you choose to creatively redecorate you kitchen and set out a buffet for your neighbors...

    Dorm Life

    What's better than staying at home in your pj's? Home IS my dorm! But seriously, there is no dorm as it is an online/proctored assessment school.

    Academic Rigor

    It requires a lot of heavy independent study. It looks easy at first until you decide you know it all then fail an exam (guilty on one occasion).

    Tips for prospective students

    Please have a steady income stream, a 3rd party payment agreement with your employer, or lots of scholarship money lined up before attempting the ADN program. I am in financial dire straits and am struggling to get the funding while on soon-to-be-gone welfare while caring for a permanently/totally disabled spouse. This is my only shot to support myself if/when he dies, and him if he is still here when I finish. I can't even get a job at McDonald's! I am not able to use my LPN license around here...

    In three sentences

    I have been in and out of the Associate degree nursing program for several years due to personal and financial reasons. Prospective students should know that this particular degree program is not eligible for federal aid but all others, including bachelor's- and master's-level nursing, are eligible.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all type

    Academic Rigor

    none, i'm doing and online self pace

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready, able, and willing to learn and you will achieve you goal

    In three sentences

    Excelsior is a great college for adult who are working full time job and trying to further their career. The college teacher and advisor are always available for question to steer you in the right direction.Excelsior college has many , many resource available for you to reach your goal.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Hard, but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are able to commit to self-discipline.

    In three sentences

    It isn't easy, I love it is self-paced. They really want you to succeed.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am currently in enrolled in the exam based Associates Of Nursing program. The own downfall is being that it is not Financial Aid eligible it makes it difficult to pay out of pocket.

    In three sentences

    Excelsior is a great school, with a interesting background. This school has kind and caring staff. I am so happy to be an Excelsior College student.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The courses are relatively cheap, but remember you get what you pay for. I would recommend that someone only receive their undergraduate here. Go somewhere else for your actual masters degree.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not challenging at all. I took both management theories and Business Ethics at the same time and it felt like they were both the same class. Very generic courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Order your books at least three weeks early. Always make sure to respond to discussions and messages from your professor ( this can make your A paper turn into a C if you dont do all the necessary steps added on to the assignment)

    In three sentences

    The courses are a hit and miss most of the time. Last semester I had a teacher who literally took 4 weeks to grade a current event assignment of mine, while this semester my professor gets my grades to me the next day. Overall I would recommend the school if you have a very hectic schedule, but if you have time to fully commit to your education I suggest you attend a different college.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    On-line classes only. Not applicable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are limited workshops and conferences available for additional fees. They book up fast and may require extensive travelling to participate in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated individuals who are book smart will succeed in this program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The message boards can be fun. You have to reach out to find others who are going through the same experiences as you; otherwise, it can be a little lonely.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is self-paced, the more motivated you are the faster a student can complete the degree program. On-line classes are cheaper than traditional classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Not being in a classroom, you are not given the opportunity to interact and easily ask questions. Questions can still be electronically sent, but you are not given the visual that may enhance understanding. A study guide and recommended readings correspond with each class, and it is up to you to learn the material without checkpoints along the way. The student then goes to a testing center for the final exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Self-motivation is a must. It is easy to be side tracked and not complete the degree program. Keep in mind that you will be given suggested readings and additional supplements are up to you. Classes are not interactive. It is especially beneficial to those students who do not have the time to take traditional classes due to family, travelling, or work.

    In three sentences

    Excelsior College has a very unique accredited degree program that allows LPNs and paramedics to bridge to become a registered nurse, applying their previous education and hands-on work experience. While the program is basically a self-paced program, each student must complete a three-day clinical with a participating hospital under the watchful eye of an examiner. Students must be self-motivated to be successful.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    However safe your home is is how safe the campus is.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for those who want flexibility and to save money while gaining an excellent education.

    Bang for the buck

    You won't get a better deal anywhere. You can transfer in courses taken at any accredited university. You can pay $80 each for CLEP and DSST/DANTES tests and in 90 minutes earn 3-12 college credits that all are accepted here. The online courses are excellent and a lot cheaper than most places. They have interest-free payment plans, all federal financial aid is available, and the college itself offers a variety of scholarships. You can buy books from the school store using financial aid or else buy them used and cheap at Amazon, Better World Books, other online sources, or in good used bookstores. Since there is a wide array of degrees (associate's, bachelor's and master's) in a wide variety of subjects (liberal arts, health, tech, business, criminal justice) and a huge variety of credit options and courses, it can't be beaten. You can study while holding a job, raising a family, or doing other things you love.

    What to do for fun

    This is not a campus based college so whatever is available wherever you live or wherever you travel is what you will do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Since this is not a residence college, you are free to cook and eat at home or to eat out so food is great and your own choice.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. You get to live at home and that is the more comfortable than any dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Though you do not have to send in any academic recommendations, high school transcripts (though you must send in college transcripts to get credit for work already done) or SAT/ACT scores, don't think this means the work isn't top notch and challenging because it is. You will get an excellent education here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have already earned credits from an accredited school, you can transfer them in. You can take DSST/DANTES tests and CLEP tests for around $80 each and get 3-12 academic credits. There is a huge variety of online courses and programs. This school is very student friendly. Check out their website at www.excelsior.edu and call and speak with staff if you have questions. You do not need to submit high school transcripts, SAT/ACT scores, or academic recommendations.

    In three sentences

    Excelsior College is best for those who want to take online classes at a fully accredited college and have the availability of federal financial aid and scholarships (and interest free payment plans) or else transfer in credits or get credit using tests, all with a flexible schedule so to be able to work or do other things at the same time. There are a wide variety of fully accredited degrees- associate's, bachelor's and master's- in everything from the regular liberal arts subjects to criminal justice, business, tech, health administration and homeland security. The work is challenging, you do not need to submit academic references, high school transcripts, or SAT/ACT scores, the schedules are flexible year around, there is a fantastic online library (Johns Hopkins University's online library), and you can complete your degree more quickly and at a better price than anywhere else from this nonprofit fully accredited university.