Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Expression College for Digital Arts Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who are committed to animation and visual effect, game art and design, graphic design, and sound arts. the school doesn't want any drama queens or divas, or adults who are entitled to the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Too look at the school, but also look at others like Gnomon if your really serious. Don't look at AI over-priced and pretty meh quality work for what you pay for.

    Bang for the buck

    I really don't know what is the bag for your buck, at the moment right now.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are alright, people at the school are a little bit unhappy right now. About, where there money is going. It is hard because, you learn maya and other hard demanding programs.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Audio, Animation, Graphic and Film! students who are more independent and are ready for a college that treats you like you are already in the working field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hearing about the school only does so much. Come in and see the school and you will fall in love I highly recommend a open house in your future.

    Bang for the buck

    I couldn't believe when I was talking to the finical aid. Its $30,000 cheaper then the AI and everything is included. Your text books and all the resources you will need. NO EXTRA SPENDING ON TEXT BOOKS YOU'LL ONLY USE ONCE!!!!

    Will enjoy being here

    The walls are painted with the color of hope. Its basically what an art school should look like. I wandered the halls and found several places where a student could curl up and study. and plus with the on site student radio station and cafe its the perfect place to hangout. and mind you its a school!!

    Will learn a lot

    I got a chance to speak with the president of the school and he sat with me for a good half hour detailing the film program and telling me what was to be in store. How many school do you know where the president will personally explain what you will learn and why! All I got to say is I cant wait to get started.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    even though the campus is open 24/7 we have security guards and cameras constantly watching what is going inside and out. you must also have a key card to enter the buildings. the crime rate in emeryville is also low and there has rarely been a robbery or theft.

    Greek Life

    we're one big family, no seperation of classes here!

    Clubs and Activities

    ex'pression always has some kind of student event going on. these events range from art galleries to modern warfare tournaments, and other wacky and fun events.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are passionate about drawing, music, gaming, or design; then this is the college for you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ex'pression is a curious campus, the layout is like a laberynth and i got lost several times during my first week. luckily it is a small campus.

    Bang for the buck

    in this school, what you put in is what you get out. if you are willing to work hard, this can be the most rewarding school. you will be able to find connections and you are constantly working with people who are currently working in the music, film, or game industry.

    What to do for fun

    there is a movie theatre nearby, as well as a shopping center and lots of restaurants. you can even check out some of the famous local businesses like pixar studios for example. it is also just across the bridge from san francisco.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food isn't exactly gourmet, however there are many restaurants surrounding the school. sometimes students will go to the public market to get their food their. there are plenty of options nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    you may have heavy homework at times, however it is not too difficult as long as you know how to manage your time. it is a fast pace program so you have to learn to be quick

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are seriously passionate about your art and if you are willing to push yourself, this is the perfect college for you.

    In three sentences

    though this college is easy to get in, it is not easy to get out. if you are planning to go to college here you must be willing to work hard and you must be passionate in what you do. however, the atmosphere in this school is creative and welcoming.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have top of the line security systems and cameras. i feel very safe in that school.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there is the student alliance club that helps new students get use to the campus. the student alliance also give out free stuff at some of their meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    anybody who wants a degree in the media industry. motion graphics, digital filmmaking, graphic artist, game designer, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a render farm which i did not existed till recently.

    Bang for the buck

    there could be some more free stuff. i guess you expect more for the tuiton that i pay to come here.

    What to do for fun

    theres computer labs, sound studios, final cut suites, and pin pong!

    Food and Dining

    the cafe can be good for those breaks during long days. it has music and video games which are free. the food is good if your on a budget.

    Dorm Life

    live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    the staff are proffesional and academically sound. the curriculum for my degree seems very on top of todays industry.

    Tips for prospective students

    for any new students the buildings can be confusing at first because every corner is a maze. be prepared to buy a monthly parking permit or annnual because their is no other parking.

    In three sentences

    every day is something new and different. the staff there are fun and energetic. i love going to this school cause my first class was a start to finish short film and i'm majoring in digital film-making

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious and creative students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out the campus, especially the inside.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is small and lively. I can't wait to start.

    Will learn a lot

    Everything this so up-to-date

  • 10/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for anyone who is serious about coming to school, working hard, and graduating. It is sort of an intense school because of how much they teach you in a short amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college to build up an awesome resume especially if you have not had any experience in the field you want to dive into. You can get many certifications here as well as get you BA in half the time as other people so that you can get educated and hit the world faster.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a bit of an overwhelming number but with the tuition everything that you need for school is included. For your textbooks all you do is check them out from the library on campus and then you return them at the end of the class. Most of labs are also open to you 24/7 so you have plenty of opportunity to finish any projects you may have.

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely enjoy being here. Everyone is so unique and very professional. The staff and students all have great attitudes and anyone is always happy to help with any questions.

    Am learning a lot

    We learn a lot at Ex'pression College! All the classes are taught by professionals who have been in the industry for many years. The lectures are made up of about 30 students and then the labs are made up of about 6 students which make it really easy to ask questions and have great one on one time with the instructors.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you think about the costs of electricity, it is relatively cheap!

    What to do for fun

    MAKE MUSIC!!!

    Food and Dining

    cool...

    Dorm Life

    none...

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are easier than others, but it isn't about what you learn, but how you apply it that will determine how well you succeed when you get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know that you want to finish; your own motivationis what will get you through it.

    In three sentences

    This is the best decision I have made in my life. The staff works with you so that you can achieve your dreams. It is a challenge, but well worth it!!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good security what with guards and the card swipe system.

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear student alliance is great!

    Great for these types of students

    Young, old, and anywhere in between.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hacky sack outside by Mustang Sally's.

    Bang for the buck

    Great technology and opportunities!

    What to do for fun

    Playing foosball and arcade games in the cafeteria. Learning!

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria for little snacks in between classes!

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently live in the dorms but have heard great things!

    Academic Rigor

    The online classes are something you must keep up with and update daily. There are many quizzes and essays to be written which is great. The core classes are great for learning about media.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get ready to work and expand your mind creatively. -Get ready for long hours and fun creative projects. -Have fun and enjoy the ride!

    In three sentences

    Exciting to have real teachers that worked in the Film Industry. I love the technology and creative environment the school gives you as well as the plethora of opportunities after graduation.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't get in the school with out a ID card and there's cameras and security guards in the front desk.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Artist, gamer's , DJ's, and anything that has to do with filming.

    What to do for fun

    There's life drawing in the weekends and lot of school actives like music, art, and party's.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright plus music and video games that are free.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there and talk to your classmates, make friends that way you have more chances of getting a job after school.

    In three sentences

    The school is great in every way that I have expected. The school is friendly and small. They have great connects for your dream jobs.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Expression College for Digital Arts is good. The campus is nice. The program has excellent teachers.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only thing you need to worry about when attending Ex'pression is not to mess with the security guard. He's pretty buff.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's all kinds of clubs. Gaming, drawing, singing, music playing, radio booth clubs and even modeling clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, hard working, passionate and unique people looking for a creative degree definitely fit it. Got a three foot purple mohawk? So does one of our professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The culture at Ex'pression is very unique. Whoever you meet has a wealth of knowledge to learn from. I constantly find myself engaging in hours of conversations with what were once strangers, but now friends and peers that share their connections and knowledge of the industry.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very doable with the loan and grant options presented to you. I did my research and compared to other schools Ex'pression is definitely the better price.

    What to do for fun

    Have some time to kill? You can head to our concert hall and enjoy one of the many live shows and performances held there. Or you can go inside of the radio booth and take part in a air show. Or maybe you're hungry? Head on to the cafeteria and enjoy a nice panini while listening to Jimi Hendrix on the jukebox and play some games at the arcade in there.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria has some of the best sandwiches you will ever eat. Also a nice mix of cuisine including Italian and Mexican food.

    Dorm Life

    There are actually no dorms here but there are apartments close by the school helps you get into.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not easy if you don't love what you do. If you are sure that you want to be a game designer or a digital film maker, then you will wake up in the morning and jump out of bed ready to go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely research and visit any other art schools you might be interested in and come to Ex'pression last so you can see the difference in quality.

    In three sentences

    Ex'pression College is a digital arts school. I highly recommend it for anyone looking to earn a degree in fields such as sound arts, game design, digital film or interactive audio. The professors are professionals in their field and the connections you can make in this school are amazing.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Expression College is a smaller campus and you must have your student ID card to enter the buildings. Smaller campus allows you to become more familiar to staff and students, it makes you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    expression College is a all around school year open to students 24hrs, so if you have a project due its always open. If you just want to hang out in the library to study or get inspired, its always open.

    Clubs and Activities

    Expression has several clubs such as student alliance club helping new students get around campus and they often are apart of off campus projects or concerts.

    Great for these types of students

    Expression is great for a student who is creative and wants to make a career out of your passion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will come to school and find a BBQ and jumper or bouncers are in on our campus. Cool time to just get silly, have fun and get to know other students.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for the buck has to be in material. All materials are provided from you your textbooks to your art supplies including your sketch pads.

    What to do for fun

    What is really great about Expression's is that They are very much involved in local concerts where you can volunteer and have a great time . They often have musicians and artist visit the school to perform for the students.

    Food and Dining

    Expression College has a great dinner like cafeteria within the school. There is also many eating establishments with in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live the dorm life, but I do know they are in close area of walking and or transit distance. For that reason I give three stars.

    Academic Rigor

    Again Expressions is eccelerated. You must manage your time and not fall behind. If you have the passion, it's ot hard to keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expression College is an accelerated program, so I urge you to manage your time and keep up with your studies. Tour the school and see how awesome it is and just be youself.

    In three sentences

    Expression College is a colorful inviting, small classes that makes it personal. A perfect fit for me because I have Autism and that's the perfect setting for me to learn in. The instructor, staff and students are all inviting with that creative flare that gives us a common ground to learn in.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great safety cameras everywhere 24/7, i feel safe at Expression College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fun clubs Im in two clubs, D-pad club is a video game club tackles the differences in games and Club draw good is about learning to draw using perspective.

    Great for these types of students

    Gamers, Music lovers, Film fanatics, Anyone with a creative mind.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe on campus open from 7am-6pm. Plenty of cafes and restaurants near by.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms next door to campus makes it for a good quick walk to school.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes make for optimal one on one learning experience, makes for a more comfortable stress free class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask Questions, don't hesitate to stop the classroom if you need help, chances are there is someone else with the same question as you.

    In three sentences

    Small energetic staff makes for a good learning environment at Expression College. Industry professionals work with students to gain real world experiences.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its worth every penny

    What to do for fun

    there are many parks,lakes and hiking trails around since the school is near the Berkeley area. also there is a great mom an pop theater place that has 5 dollar tuesdays deals.

    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of small business joints around the school that are decently priced. there is also a cafe in the school that makes awesome tuna melts.

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in the dorms but the student housing is great and super helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    tips to know: study hard, work hard, play hard, and everything else will fall into place.

    In three sentences

    this is a great place to learn about music production,animation, and film making. everyone is very helpful and driven to achieve their goals.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do have a dining area, it looks like a 50's cafe diner. I am unaware of the food services provided to the dorms, however. Also, there is a Trader Joe's, markets, as well as fast food located within a convenient distance from the school.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been to their dorms, although, they do have housing options. Again, I have not yet attended, so I am unequipped to answer with my own experience. I would assume it is efficient and affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    They incorporate lab with lecture in a way that promotes growth. I will be attending the school next semester, so I am not aware of the academic rigor based on personal experience. The staff was very friendly, however, the environment promotes creativity, they have adequate equipment, they have well portioned classes. I would suggest this school to anyone with an artistic need.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a guard on duty, will walk you to your car if late at night. There are usually people around all hours of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nice folks in the Student Alliance.

    Great for these types of students

    Those focused on their careers.

    Bang for the buck

    Many opportunities for networking/contact with pros.

    What to do for fun

    I commute, so this doesn't really apply.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places in local area. $$

    Academic Rigor

    You HAVE to be a self starter and work with a LOT of MAC applications. Get over it, and get skills in Photo Shop and Adobe Illustrator now, even if you are not majoring in visual arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    For Sound Arts Programs - take piano and/or guitar lessons NOW - even if you only make beats. It will help tremendously.

    In three sentences

    Best place ever for music theory. Dave Ernst has a way of making it simple, yet brilliant at the same time. Staff are all excited and loving their professions which inspires students.