Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fairfield University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Preppy. The nickname for the school is J. Crew U.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go here.

    Bang for the buck

    $52,000 a year is a lot of money for this school. Not worth it.

    Did enjoy being here

    I am transferring out of this school next fall. The school is not fun and it still feels like highschool. It's fanbase for sports is so small and the school doesn't have a football team.

    Did learn a lot

    The small classes were ideal.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Humanitarians, Religious Students, Active Members of Society, Nursing Majors, Hard Working Students

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight, it helps you get a better feel for if you could see yourself on campus. There is no football team so be prepared. Get involved. It's the best way to make friends Make sure you own rain boots and invest in a high quality rain jacket, in winter we get more rain than snow because we are on the beach.

    Bang for the buck

    The school provides for a lot of nice features like free HBO. They are actually renovating one dining hall and building multiple new residences with state of the art equipment. They try to constantly listen and give the student body what they want.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wanted to be at a city school, but there is a small town that you can get bussed to. The train station will take you to NYC. Most of the people are very nice and getting involved helps make assimilating much easier.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers focus on broadening your view and the extensive core forces you to study fields you would have never considered, but could decide major in.

  • 09/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is preppy. I'd say about 80-90% of the student body wear northface and uggs and leggings.

    Tips for prospective students

    look in states and towns that you normally wouldn't consider. I was adamant of going to a school in Massachusetts- I had no intention of going to another state. Yet my guidance counselor suggested Fairfield because of their nursing program and the minute I came to (grudgingly) tour the campus, I fell in love with it and realized that Fairfield was the right place for me. The school, like most schools I suppose, is what you make of it.

    Bang for the buck

    FU is not cheap: its a 50+ thousand dollar private school. But the reputations for the schools of nursing and business are very good, so the opportunities you can get from attending, especially from being so close to NYC, is really beneficial. Also each dorm room comes with a micro-fridge which is an added bonus.

    Am enjoying being here

    A lot of people seem to go home on the weekends, but FUSA, the student organization plans a lot of activities and hires a lot of people (comedians, magicians, hypnotists, etc) every week, so there are options available. Also, FU is a 50 minute train ride to New York City, so you have the added bonus of having New York so close while still living in a quite peaceful town.

    Am learning a lot

    My first year at Fairfield University was quite easy. I found the classes no harder than my AP classes in high school, but I can tell you that with each semester you progress, it gets harder and harder. I've had some very interesting classes: like Hinduism a Shakespeare class. As a nursing major, I spend a lot of my time in the School of Nursing, learning theories and how to apply them in the simulation rooms and in the labs.

  • 09/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My first week in Fairfield I was a bit homesick and it stopped me from making friends. Definitely just push aside your anxieties and start talking to people. Keep your door open and also knock on some doors. Once you start making friends you definitely start to feel at home. Fairfield also has a small campus so you will always see a familiar face wherever you go.

    Bang for the buck

    The only downside to fairfield is the 50K tuition and dorm costs. However, it is a private institution and it is also well known for its nursing and business departments.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am definitely enjoying my time here. I met a lot of great people who I can see as being my close friends even after college. There are also numerous clubs and event at fairfield. I joint the Accounting, Asian, Volleyball and JUHAN clubs where i also met more people than i thought. The best way to enjoy yourself in Fairfield is to be out there and willing to take the initiative in the things you want to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Last year as a Freshman I encountered the Jesuit way of teaching. Fairfield focused on cura personalis care of the whole person and I found myself learning more things aside from my intended major. This school requires you to take 2 classes in philosophy, social science and more. Although it was more work it kept me knowledgable about multiple things rather than just having one skill. Also all the professors I had are great. The classes are small and you can really get individual attention unlike those big lecture halls in other colleges.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairfield is a very safe campus. There are Public Safety officers patrolling campus 24/7. Our location is in a rural setting in a residential area of Fairfield. We are gated in on all sides and we also have the blue light emergency system.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fairfield offers over 100 clubs and or activities to get involved in on campus. Everything to theatre, dance, badminton club, sports, student government, and more!

    Great for these types of students

    Like I said earlier, there is something for everyone on campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bail and Jail is probably my favorite. It takes place in the spring and there are tons of cops on horses and cops in general. You can send a complaint in about a friend, staff, or faculty member and the cops will go find that person, handcuff them and bring them to jail! (jail cell in traffic circle) If you are arrested you then must bail yourself or your friends out. You get a free t shirt and food! All of the procceded go to the Special Olympics.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes Fairfield is one of the more expensive universities out there, but I would say that its definitely worth it. Fairfield gives plenty of financial aid and scholarships to hundreds of students. There always appears to be free stuff. At sport events and even events on campus, so you do not have to worry about not getting any Stag pride gear!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. Basketball is very popular and students get to go for free and transportation is provided. Every Friday night there is a newly released movie. FUSA (Fairfield University Students Association) will also sponsored trips off campus with transportation provided to rock climbing, midnight bowling, laser tag, outlet shopping trips and more! Fairfield also has a great film and media program so make friends with the media majors because you never know when they will need extras in their movies!

    Food and Dining

    From what I have heard from years past, the food and dining services have improved greatly over the past few years. There is the main dining hall (Barone) which has everything from salad bar, to daily pizza, burgers and fries. Ice cream everyday and the other meals follow a 28 day rotation, so there is always something new and different. There is a vegetarian station and even a stir fry section. In the main campus center we have a coffee/bagel/muffin shop. Then there is the Stag where you can get everything from pizza, burgers, chicken nuggets, sandwiches and salads daily.

    Dorm Life

    No matter where you go to college, first year dorms are always small. Fairfield has four first year dorms with mostly double rooms and very minimal triples. Some floors are co-ed, others are all one gender. Some floors also have themes that students can sign up for during their housing application over the summer. Other housing options include suites, new apartments, townhouses, and even houses on the beach (seniors only).

    Academic Rigor

    There will always be some classes that are harder than others, or will have more reading than others. In the end, do not be afraid to ask for help. The school is small enough to work hands on with students and professors want to to go to their office hours and ask your questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hold back! Take every opportunity that you are given, you never know what you are going to like until you try it! Who knows, you may love it!

    In three sentences

    Fairfield has a beautiful campus year round. It is close and convenient to get to New York City. The is always something for everyone, whether it be majors, sports, clubs, or organizations.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play rugby, gym, NYC, beach.

    Food and Dining

    Food is the same as any college cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not up to par. However they did build two new buildings that are probably 4 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but with dedication can be successful. Always approach professor if something is not understood

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all classes. Gain rapport with professors. Venture out to NYC and Boston Participate in a club/organization NETWORK

    In three sentences

    Excellent professors who teach a complicated curriculum. DIV 1 sports programs have great student body support. Campus is small, quaint and provides easy access to NYC area.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on my campus. There are emergency buttons all throughout campus if ever needed.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, organizations, intramurals, and more! Fairfield offers more extracurriculars than you can handle. Whether it be hanging out on the quad with friends, going to grab a cup of coffee, or tanning on the library lawn, there is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    The food is moderate, but better than most college cafeterias. Sometimes the choices are few, but there is a stir-fry station with many ingredients each night. The dining hall is what you make of it.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are live-able. There is no air conditioning, but it isn't much of a problem because it is only hot for the first few weeks. Roommates are random for the first years, however the roommate situation usually works out for the best. Each dorm provides a sense of community through community building events and activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Each professor has different standards when it comes to the classroom. Some professors will be very easy, and others incredibly difficult. Some may assign homework every night, when others may only ask you to review the material learned in class that day. If you would like to take a challenging class, then Fairfield has plenty to offer. If you want to try an easier, intro level course, then those are available as well. But no matter professor you are taking, each and every one of them pushes you to do your best!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is okay to come to Fairfield with an undecided major. The core is an excellent way to explore what you might possibly like, and to decide what doesn't interest you at all.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University offeres a variety of majors within each designated school. There is more than a lot to do on campus, both academic and extracurricular. The campus is a beautiful, welcoming home.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is really safe. The public safety officers make their presence known everywhere and protect the campus. The area surrounding the campus is really safe. It's a residential area with a lot of nice, family homes. The neighborhood feels like you're at home.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to choose from when it comes to clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to ride the stag statue in the middle of campus before you graduate!

    Bang for the buck

    Fairfield is very expensive. The town is expensive as well. Living in Connecticut comes with its cons when it comes to money.

    What to do for fun

    Students ride the free Stag bus into town where you can find restaurants and delis, like Colony Pizza and the Firehouse Deli which are my two favorites. There are also stores such as Victoria's Secret and other cute and original boutiques where many of the girls shop. There is also a Marshall's and a CVS nearby, as well as everything else you could need from a car wash, gas station, flower shop, and more. There is also a bus on Saturday that will take you to the trumbull mall which has a lot of the popular stores such as Forever 21, and also to the movies. On the weekends, most people hang out at the upperclassmen townhouses or get taxi's to the beach houses.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I do not like the food. There is one dining hall in the campus center. There are several different option which is nice such as deli bar, grill, vegetarian option, salad bar, soups, stir fry bar, and entree. I really just don't think the food is good quality. I think many would agree. I often feel so bloated after I eat there and I am starving in an hour or less after all of my meals because it's all empty carbs. I always bought tons of snacks and cereal and milk to keep in my room because I was often hungry. I knew it was this food right away because after coming home for the summer and eating the food cooked here, I was no longer bloated and stayed full until the next meal of the day.

    Dorm Life

    I had a very pleasant experience my freshman year. I got very lucky with a roommate. For freshman year, you are not allowed to choose your own roommate. Residence life sends you a pretty detailed survey that you take such as if your messy or neat, if you wake up early or late, when you go to bed, etc. All of my friends but one got matched really well and it worked out great. My RA was pretty pleasant and my floor had a nice environment. Many activities were held by res life in the lounges for us such as pizza nights or Mexican food nights, Karaoke, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairfield's professors are pretty tough and want to see you do the work and not just get by. Since the classes are small, they are able to work with you in small groups or 1-on-1 which helps you with the rigorous academics. Many students stay up late studying or seek extra help from peer tutoring or the writing center, or math lab. The classes are tough but definitely manageable because all of the professors that I had want you to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fairfield is a smaller school of about 4,000 people, so be sure of what size you are looking for in a school. Sometimes the size feels too small to me. Also, the school is primarily girls with a 60/40 ratio, which can often be weird sometimes, because it is definitely noticeable in the dorms, the dining hall, and especially in the classroom. Also, school spirit isn't huge at Fairfield. They try to get everyone to go to the basketball games with free tickets, free tshirts, free iPad giveaway, etc, however only about 50 students have showed up to the ones I went to and no one sits or stands in the same section, like a student section. In terms of housing, one great thing is that Fairfield offers 4 years guaranteed housing for all students. However, seniors have the option to rent a house on the beach during their senior year.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield is a preppy, New England school on the coast of Connecticut. Its business school is ranked in the top 100 nationally and the nursing school is popular too. Fairfield's athletics are division 1 and play in the MAAC conference.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never once did I feel unsafe on that campus walking alone (and it has areas that are sort of wooded, so you would think it'd be the opposite). There are a lot of the blue buttons around, just in case, but in my four years I have not heard of an incident.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are hard to go to because they're at night (6ish), when most people want to study. Keep that in mind.

    Great for these types of students

    Partiers will find their niche there, but also very very smart students will also find a place. Commuters (like myself) had a hard time fitting in, but there were enough commuters to get along with that it was not too bad.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Climbing the stag (you will learn when you arrive).

    Bang for the buck

    It costs WAY too much for a school that spends more on its lawn than it does on its students.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties all the time, there is movie nights staring on Thursdays, bowling, events, etc. The town of Fairfield has a lot of eat-in places, but not a lot of other things to do (besides the beach during the Summer). You can go to the city or go to Stamford or New Haven for a better selection, of all are not that far away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is okay, but it has the same selection everyday which is boring. The stag is good too, but after four years, it gets very very boring.

    Dorm Life

    I only spent a short time there, and I disliked it greatly. It's dirty, loud, and students are incapable of damaging things when drunk.

    Academic Rigor

    Although a lesser-known name, we are probably just as good as an ivy league school, and we have to take more classes (five as opposed to Yale's four). However, it depends who you talk to, the work load is what makes it especially difficult, but usually the subject matter should not be that hard to grasp in any major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although you are close to the city, you have to make sure your travel plans are solid every time you go (in other words, don't make that the reason why you come to Fairfield University). The beach during senior year is one of the reasons why students come to Fairfield, but only a certain number of students are accepted at the beach, so you cannot get your hopes up.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University is a great university, with a good selection of majors, with faculty that's a hit-or-miss, and an administration that is hard to get along with. The students there are overall friendly, but just like anywhere, people do make their cliques. Overall, you will get a good education that everyone will admire for years to come.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Walking around the campus during any time of the day or night is very safe, and Public Safety is quite active at handling any situations that arrive. I have not felt unsafe. Of course, basic common knowledge safety procedures should be followed at all times, regardless of the good safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    As a Jesuit University, Fairfield University does not have Greek Associations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a total of over 60 or 70 clubs on campus in many different topics in academics, competitions, sports, arts, music, and more. Clubs range from traditional ones like Debate Tea, to club sports (which are fairly competition) to more relaxed and fun clubs like Ballroom Dancing and Quiddittch. They are entirely student run, include their own constitutions, and are accountable to their members and the university. In addition there is a wide variety of honors societies chapters on campus that are affiliated with the main National honors Societies, including Jesuit Honors Society.

    Great for these types of students

    Fairfield University is best suited for students who care about social justice and volunteering. It offers numerous opportunities for community service, service trips throughout the US, service trips around the world, and more. The spirit of Jesuit volunteering is very strong here. Fairfied University is also well suited for students who are self-motivated and want to take advantage of things like double and even triple majoring! It is great for students who seek research opportunities in the natural sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some students consider it a right of a passage to ride the Stag statue at the center of campus before they graduate Fairfield University!

    Bang for the buck

    Fairfield University is very expensive, although standard for US private universities. Every year the price increases by several percent points. However, it does offer good financial aid for those who need it. It also offers a few top competitive scholarships - the highest being the Magis Scholarship and the Bellarmine Scholarship. However, the education is overall very high quality and the professors are great. Students also have almost unlimited opportunities to explore what they need professionally as well as what they are interested in.

    What to do for fun

    Students can go to New York City, which is less than an hour away by train. Other close-by cities where students can go for fun in the evening are Norwalk and New Haven. Students can also go to Fairfield Beach. In fact, several students live on the beach. Overall, Fairfield is in a great location to enjoy the beauty and nature of New England.

    Food and Dining

    There are several food options on campus: the main cafeteria, the university cafe (pastries, coffee, sandwiches), a grill-type restaurant, and an on-campus bar/pub. The food is overall good-tasting, but not very healthy, although healthy options do exist. In addition, the food is generally expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are larger-sized and clean. Different residence colleges focus on different themes like social justice and creative life (arts, music, etc). Upperclassmen can dorm in appartments, live in off-campus houses next to the university, or rent a house with friends at Fairfield Beach.

    Academic Rigor

    The course-load is high with lots of readings, writing assignments, midterms, and finals. However, it is manageable if one studies diligently. Upper class seminars are good for discussion and have less written work. In addition, the professors at Fairfield University are extremely knowledgeable and do active research. They are very welcoming and helpful to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first semester is the most difficult as it is the transition. However, this is the time to make friends, connections, study hard and start out with good GPA, and get involved with different clubs. You should be prepared for college academics, and realize that they will require work. Students should ALWAYS make the most out of their semesters at Fairfield by putting in their best efforts in class and getting involved on campus. Fairfield offers opportunities that you would not otherwise have - such as access to great professors, study abroad, and more. - Definitely take advantage of it to make the most of it!

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University is a beautiful Jesuit university, focusing on Liberal Arts. Its strong programs include majors in the College of Arts and Sciences, Engineering School, Nursing Programs, Natural Science, and of course one of the top-ranking business schools. Fairfield University has a high-quality education with very knowledgeable professors, teaching theory as well as practical skills in the world.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I row for the D1 team and that keeps me busy.

    Food and Dining

    Barone can get old sometimes but you have options so that's always nice.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use improvement but they aren't bad.

    Academic Rigor

    My core classes are challenging but manageable. My science classes are difficult but will continue to stretch me beyond what I thought was possible. Although I have a hard course load I am still able to enjoy my social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this small Jesuit school is something you are looking for. Some people have a hard time adjusting to Fairfield so make sure to ask any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    Although Fairfield University is a small school I am happy with my decision to come here because I love the friends I have made and the education I am getting. The professors are always willing to help and the students are friendly. Go Stags!

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's not allowed on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them! And it's easy to create a club with something you're interested in, if we don't have one already.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of little niches on campus where you can find an isolated place to study, so don't give up too easy. Bellarmine lawn is also a great place to star-gaze. And the pond over by the Dolan School of Business is a nice place to sit and read a book, or just enjoy the nice weather.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and intramural sports that it's easy to find something that you're interested in. Also, the campus is really close to the beach for sunny days!

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. It's pretty much the same as any other college campus.

    Dorm Life

    It is really easy to make friends and form a community in the dorms. I highly recommend the Ignatian Residential College because it helped me to find friends and build a lasting community. There are other residential colleges in the dorms that are also big on community building.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a double major in Biology and Music, and I happen to believe that the Biology department at Fairfield is on the rigorous side. This is true especially for the molecular biology and biochemistry courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one tip I can offer up is to try and stay true to who you are. It's very easy to get caught up in what everyone else is doing, but this won't make you happy in the long run. You'll be able to find other people who are interested in the same things that you are.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University is a great community-building university. There are always students around, who are friendly and willing to work together. Group interactions are always encouraged.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many wonderful clubs on campus. The intramural program is also fantastic and I enjoy attending sports events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average but adequate. There are always healthy options for well-balanced meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and well-cared for. I enjoyed living on campus and found that I was always surrounded by friends in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not impossible. I have learned so much in the classroom and feel prepared to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the wonderful faculty. They are there to help and have amazing contacts to the world beyond Fairfield's doors.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University is a wonderful school where I have grown into a responsible adult. I feel well-prepared for what is to come after graduation thanks to the strong faculty support and outstanding academics. I have also formed excellent friendships that will last a lifetime.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus and often see the Campus Saftey staff riding around. this is especially important becasue my classes are at night.

    Greek Life

    I am not familiar.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of opportunities for students. I am a graduate student and am a part of the Graduate Student Assembly. We try and arrange an array of student activities for the �¢����older�¢���� crowd including wine tasting, beer tasting and singles nights.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say athletes, students who want to study locally, and a well known prestigious school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This I am not too sure about either. I commute for my graduate classes and dont know too much about undergraduate campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    The biggest bang is the experiences of my professors. As I mentioned they are willing to discuss their real life uses of the major and how they got to where they are. This to me is priceless because for those who may be first generation college students; don�¢����t have this mentorship at home. You learn just as much from their stories and experiences as you do from the textbooks and theories.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I really enjoy meeting the other students in my classes. They are adults who often have families and/or full time jobs. We go out for a drink after class and get to know one another. As most of us are focused on our current professions and/or families, we don�¢����t have a lot of time for student activities that take place on the weekends, or during the day.

    Food and Dining

    I communte, so I am not familiar.

    Dorm Life

    I communte, so am not familiar.

    Academic Rigor

    My graduate classes are very challenging. This may be due to also working full time. However, all of the readings we are assigned lend a great deal to our own research. There are many facets of 'communication'. You must have an idea of the many areas in order to see the full picture.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student, I would suggest trying to focus on your thesis topic as early on as you can. Each class can be used a one step toward your thesis. I wish i had given this more thought when i first began the program. Before I knew it, I needed to decide on a topic, get it approved, and start reviewing endless amounts of literature. It is a lot thrown at you at once, so start as early as you can!

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University has excellent prfessors in the Communication Department. They are not only knwoledgeabel in the theories, practices and modern usues of the dicipline, but they are savy in the real worl/career based opportunities.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no frats on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 cubs. More than enough.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Riding the Stag on campus is a huge tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is not cheap but you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend the school hosts events which are incredibly fun. Movie Night...

    Food and Dining

    Dining is actually pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can get overwhelming but its not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is definitely a school to go to. They have great professors and a great student body.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield U has such a great sense of community.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Fairfield University offers many clubs, for all and any interests. There are sports clubs, for the athletic type; dancing clubs, be it ballroom or hip hop; outdoors club, for people that crave a change of scenery; ethnicity groups, for people seeking out diversity; clubs that support causes, such as cancer awareness or recycling; clubs that focus on community service; and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is a bit drab at times. Like at any college, it gets repetitive after a while. Pizza and cheeseburgers are always available, though an eye should be kept on the stir-fry station, which offers a nice change from the usual.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty laid back. Some dorms are more renown for partying than others, such as Regis Hall. There are almost always events at the Levee, which is a bar on campus, and they are open to students. There are also movie nights every Friday night, and the RA's do their best to make dorm life more enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairfield University definitely challenges you, especially if you decide to major in a rigorous field, such as engineering, biology, or nursing. The important thing to keep in mind is that various tutoring services are provided, free of charge. The work is nothing that can't be handled, as long as you put in your part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should try to interact with Fairfield University staff at a personal level. Being friends with the driver of the shuttle or the dining hall staff maximizes your opportunities and makes your experience more enjoyable. Get to know the Office of Student Diversity, because they are the people you want on your side. They offer a lot of tutoring, mentoring, and just want you to succeed. If you do decide to go to Fairfield University, make sure to apply for the Academic Immersion program, which takes place the summer before freshman year. In AI you have the opportunity to take two courses in a month during the summer, all expenses paid, along with the opportunity to meet fellow students before the fall semester. It's a rewarding experience, and lets you make friends for a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University is a private college that provides many opportunities in terms of entertainment and college life. Various events are held weekly for all interests, whether it be community service, dancing, student government, music, etc. Professors are welcoming and available for questions, and free tutoring is made available for various subjects; Fairfield University strives to make students succeed.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Rowing team is small but it is growing

    Great for these types of students

    Any type really. Fairfield is not an exclusive school

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and/or sports teams.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield is a small school with a growing reputation. It is known for its business school but the liberal arts programs are just as strong. It is in a very nice area as well.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and intramurals! You will meet some of the best people in those, guaranteed!

    Food and Dining

    It is good at first but after a while it gets quite too repetitive, they seem to only change it up when there are parents visiting, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm is fine, but Jogues, avoid Jogues; every other dorm is really nice other than that one.

    Academic Rigor

    Work will pile up if you let it, as long as being lazy does not take up your life you will do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every professor will give you everything you need in order to succeed, it is your responsibility to make the best out of it.

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University is one of the greatest experiences in my academic career. I have not only met and be friended students, but the staff in the school of Engineering is very friendly, everyone knows each other.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again leaving home will be hard because you have to leave mom and dad home cooked meals but after awhile the food is tolerable.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best looking rooms, but with rugs, posters, and bed covers the rooms become beautiful. And freshman year you have to share public bathroom and showers but its not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairfield University has high expectations of it's students. If you were accepted that means Fairfield believes in you and you'll be able to handle it. But there are a number of resources at your disposable that makes it impossible to fail such as a writing center, math center, and mandatory office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Leaving home for the first time is always scary, especially if your going to college with no friends or acquaintances, All I can advise is be open and start conversations with classmates or dorm mates. You'll eventually find friends and people you will miss once summer comes. And always remember college is meant to be learning experience in and out of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus that makes going to classes bearable.haha Class sizes small, giving you the best education. And fun no matter the day or time.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent security

    Greek Life

    I do not know too much about it

    Clubs and Activities

    a wholo bunch of them

    Great for these types of students

    for smart people and fun and loving people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cannot share any ideas since I am a commuter

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do every day. Sports and dancing and movies.

    Food and Dining

    not bad

    Dorm Life

    I am currently commuting

    Academic Rigor

    very rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. Try to read the books before you get to class. it will improve your grade.

    In three sentences

    it is a great catholic university with a strong background in the sciences and a strong premed program that will help me get into medical school.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS holds down Fairfield very well. They keep the safety of kids first and really try to do their job.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I play club sports here. All the upperclassmen are friendly and help the newcomers out.

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Riding the Stag

    Bang for the buck

    While Fairfield can be very expense, if you choose to come here. I would take advantage of all the disposable resources that you will be given.

    What to do for fun

    There is a beach nearby, plenty of activities to do in town at night and the school offer concerts and an annual dance.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is decent, but you can clearly see that the food provider is trying their best to improve the food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Make friends with people on your hall, they are all friendly and some of them could turn out to be your best friend. I thought I would hate dorm life, but it turns out that I got use to it pretty quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't underestimate the academic rigor at Fairfield University. Fairfield does a good job hiring some of the best professors around and they do a good job at pushing kids to try their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library Use the free public tutoring Always ask for help when needed

    In three sentences

    Fairfield offers a friendly environment to learn, inspire and thrive at what you wish do to after college. There are millions of resources at the touch of your fingertips. The community is very friendly and everyone in the community is there to help you do your best and have a comfortable transition from high school to college.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are so many public safety vehicles outside at any given time that it is very hard to feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    The freshmen are trying to integrate Greek life into the school, but as of right now, they don't have any besides the standard Honors clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activities that can satisfy students of any major. I, for example, am a writer for the school's student-run newspaper The Mirror. There are also The Inkwell (literary magazine,) StagsTV, 88.5 WVOF Radio, and so many more. Just look around and you'll find something.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for any type of student really. Like I said before, commuter students, don't feel bad. You have just as many rights as residential students do, and you even have the Commuter Student Association to go to if you have any issues.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of any unusual traditions at the moment of me writing this review, but the Stag statue in the center of campus is their signature.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's expensive, but you're not only paying for room, board, books, and other tuition costs; it comes with the experiences of making new, long-lasting friendships and learning new things about yourself and the world that will help you in the future.

    What to do for fun

    The school constantly plans entertaining late-night activities. I haven't been to any, but I'm sure they're fun.

    Food and Dining

    The school's food is satisfactory in my opinion. There are so many options for food and drink outside the school also if you take a quick trip downtown where there are nice restaurants and pizza places. A popular choice is Primo Pizza, which you are probably going to encounter a lot of at certain events and clubs. Within the campus there are a few hotspots like Einstein's Bagels where student congregate to get their morning coffee and bagels, and The Stag which is just like any fast food joint basically. (I like their calzones.)

    Dorm Life

    I have not had any experience as of yet with dorm life because I am a commuter student (and proud,) so you'll have to ask somebody else about that.

    Academic Rigor

    I am merely a freshman at this point, but from what I have heard about some classes on the core curriculum, it can get difficult. Just remember that if you don't like a class, the school will try their best to put you with a different professor in a different class. Also, remember why you are going there in the first place and keep that in mind during hard tests, quizzes, and finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    First of all, make sure you have enough money to go there. Don't feel bad about being a commuter student; they have a whole commuter lounge just for you where you can study, make friends, and just hang out. A part of going to this school is their rigorous core curriculum. It is something you'll have to deal with. I suggest that you register for the harder classes first so that you can focus more on your major later in your time at school. Take everything they tell you at Orientation with a grain of salt; they try to make the school sound better than it is naturally because they are trying to get you to go there. Listen to what they say, and then ask some students there from all different backgrounds (commuter, athlete, science major, English major, etc) about it to get the full perspective. Finally, bring a camera, because the campus is open and beautiful, and you might want to take a picture of your first encounter with the deer and wild turkeys that roam the grounds. (Don't worry; they don't bite as long as you don't get too close.)

    In three sentences

    Fairfield University is a prestigious and nice university. It may be expensive, but their focus on creating countless student activities, trying to prevent students from drinking and smoking, and their rigorous and helpful core curriculum is what makes it a good place to attend. Although they don't focus their attention as much on the commuter students including me, I can tell that they are making some sort of effort.