Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fairleigh Dickinson University-College at Florham Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Especially great for students interested in the accelerated 5 year masters program, what a deal!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the price scare you away, like I almost did. Apply and see what they'll give you, it's worth it! They gave me more money than any other school, and if you apply at one of the information session and tours, the application fee is waived, so you have nothing to lose!

    Bang for the buck

    This one was difficult to rate because the college is expensive at $42,000 per year, but they give a lot of scholarship money, so it ended up being cheaper than even a state school for me.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely gorgeous! It was Vanderbilt's mansion, and they also own a castle in England, which they converted into a college for studying abroad. I can't wait to go for a semester! It's the same price as going to the regular college, so you have nothing to lose!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great! And I haven't had any large lectures, all small classes with real professors.

  • 01/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a school that has a small school feel but is actually pretty big. Someone who wants to be out of the crazy city life, but can be in NYC withen an hour.

    Tips for prospective students

    FDU is a great fun school, you will learn a lot, and have a great time. Definately visit the school for a real feel.

    Bang for the buck

    While the tuition goes up every year, the scholarships and financial aid are good and consistent.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are tons of activities on campus for all types of interests.

    Am learning a lot

    I have not had a large class since i started. The classes close at 30 students so each student gets the attention they need. Most of the professors have real world experience about what they are teaching.

  • 03/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in Global Studies, studying abroad to learn of other cultures, interested in majoring in Communications as they have an extensive 5 year MA program (its a plus!), Film, English (the English/Creative Writing department is amazing and the students produce great work), Theater (And musical theater! The Visual & Performing Arts Department puts on plays twice or more a year) and you know how every school has that one major that is rare? Well FDU has Hotel Management and it's own Hotel on campus, which I think is pretty awesome. FDU does offer a few dance classes (that are always fun) but unfortunately its not really a major at the college, which I believe the college should consider in the future. FDU is a great for students interested in a tight knit small community with small classes. The most students in a class will be around 30; some may be 40 if its a general requirement course or if the course isn't offered every semester. FDU is also working its way to being more diverse. What was once a predominately Caucasian college is definitely shifting and you will see a great mix of African-Americans, Asian-Americans, Italians, Greeks and so on. So if you’re interested in a diverse setting, you will find it here. I’m not a particularly athletic person, so I don’t have a personal story to tell on the topic of sports on the campus. I do however know that there is football, swimming, volleyball and soccer teams. Most of all, FDU’s campus is beautiful in the Spring. Trees cover the campus, and wildlife roam (mostly foxes, deer, beavers and other critters) but they do not cause any harm, I promise! If you want a big campus with beautiful scenery and historic buildings(The Mansion was Vanderbuilts), FDU Florham is it. If you want to still be able to visit the city (NY), the train ride to NY is about an hour. Pretty close!

    Tips for prospective students

    It’s an extremely expensive college BUT they offer a lot of scholarship money like no other college does. They are able to do this because so many of the alumni generously donate. FDU is really a tight knit small community. Also, REMEMBER, one of the most important things about starting college is that you start off on a clean slate. You have the ability to do better than you did in high school (for those of you who didn't do as well as you'd liked, like me). So be positive and use your time wisely! The Freshman Seminar course you take when you first begin at FDU is designed to help you make the transition from high school to college. Take advantage of it. Take advantage of any help you need. FDU has a career center for those looking for a job in a career choice relevant to their major, it has a tutoring center, plenty of computers to do your internet work, a library with extended hours, and several eating spots other than the cafeteria (a Nathan’s is right on campus). Café food is better than the food many other colleges offer in the area! Take advantage of all this good stuff. Time management will be of major importance in college. Another important thing, get involved! I know that sounds over said but this is how you meet people, friends. There are plenty of Clubs on campus and growing. You can start your own club as long as you have a few people rounded up ?. Really take time to form relationships with your professors because number 1, they are there to help you succeed to the best of your ability and two, they’ll be the people looking out for you when you need a recommendation for a future job!

    Bang for the buck

    Is FDU a bang for the buck? It depends on the individual in this case. Personally, I love FDU and everything they offer, but the college is definitely pricey- more for some than others. Some find it cheaper than a state school. It really does depend on whether you are a New Jersey resident or not and what you can academically qualify for. So try to keep your grades up high your senior year of high school! A high SAT score (Math & Verbal are the only ones FDU considers- a score of 1050 or higher) and at least a 3.0 GPA, and you can qualify for a good scholarship. However, as others have mentioned scholarships and awards are consistent and you can work out a payment plan so that you are paying at a rate that is right for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes I am! I couldn’t imagine being at another college. It definitely was meant to be. The atmosphere of FDU and the dorms will quickly feel homey. By the way, many of the dorm buildings are really nice, some do need work but FDU is constantly making improvements for the students- gyms, student lounges, etc.. Dorming is definitely a whole other experience on its own and it’s great.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many great Professors here at the university. They are what make learning interesting. Take classes in Sociology, Literature and the required CORE classes and you will learn a lot about how people behave and about some of the pressing underlying issues in the United States and in the world. I can not say enough just how much learning also take place outside of the classroom and where much of my learning has come from. FDU is so great for constantly throughout every school year, hosting discussions and panels where guest speakers from members of the UN to U.S. Interrogators to our very own faculty speak on the most heated and pressing topics. Some of the topics have been cyber bullying, our relationship to the Middle East, Islamophobia, the lack of political voice for Islamic women, a professional photographer’s story of domestic abuse and the list goes on and on. You will learn a lot IN and OUTside of the classroom.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a theatre program that will seriously change you as an actor and better your art do not hesitate to apply and make FDU your top choice. In my year at school I have greatly improved as an actress and I am happy to say that I am anxiously awaiting my next rigorous semester!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions look on facebook for people who go to your school so you can find out what it is really like.

    Bang for the buck

    No matter where you go to school it is going to be very expensive. I think that the tuition is worth it as well as the meal plan fees. I do however think the housing is a bit expensive for what you get.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made tons of friends and there are lots of school organized parties to keep students entertained on weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    My teachers are very knowledgeable and it is easy to have a diverse schedule that provides you with a wide range of information. I am a double major and I have no trouble fitting all the classes I need each semester.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, don't be shy. You have to be able to get out of your room and walk around once in a while. Talk to some people and make friends. That's the fun part about it.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally never think that anything is worth too much money and FDU is very expensive. However, there are a LOT of ways to make that up. You can work on campus and the school provides you with a LOT of scholarships and grants that you can apply for.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a really good school to meet people. I have met so many people on campus and have had memorable moments with them as well. The best way to have fun, is to get involved. There are SOOOOOOOO many different clubs and organizations you can choose from to join and if there isn't one that you like, you can start it really easily. I have been apart of 7 clubs and know a good number of events that go on during the school year. There are many trips and parties set up.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are PHENOMENAL! If you are looking for a school where you are someone and not a number, this is the school to go to. I love that I can have a great relationship with my teachers. It is really easy to get to know your professor and to be able to have conversations with them. They are here to help you as much as they can. If you ever need any help during their office hours or set appointments. There are a lot of options you can choose from.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always driving around 24/7 and are available to call 24/7 as well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is HUGE here so if you plan on rushing, you won't be disappointed! But if you don't want to rush, you won't feel left out either!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally a club for everything here. I joined 5 my first semester and actually had to quit a few because there are so many events. There is something for everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it can be pricey to go here, but I absolutely love it. The campus is absolutely beautiful I couldn't want to go anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Besides getting involved in clubs on campus, there's a decent amount to do. The town of Madison is only a 25 minute walk from campus and you can go to the movies, ice cream or Stop and Shop there. A club, NSE, sponsors off campus events about once a month. We also just got an on campus Red-Box so you can rent a movie without even leaving campus!

    Food and Dining

    In one phrase: It could be worse. The food isn't terrible, you just have to get creative. The caf can get boring sometimes, but theres always the Grill which has AMAZING pizza! There are a lot of choices at the caf usually, I'm just picky.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a freshman currently, and I love it. My room is just the right size for me and my roommate. The air and heat work great. They spray for bugs every time we go home and I've never had a problem. I'm not a big fan of communal bathrooms but they are always clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had my fair share of easy courses, but they are always balanced out with my tougher courses. It's a good mixture where you don't want to give up, but you have to push yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the price may scare you away, they are great at giving major scholarships!

    In three sentences

    FDU is a great school and I absolutely love it here. Classes are within walking distance and my professors are always helpful. There are a decent amount of campus events going on all the time so it is easy to get involved!

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on this campus. They do a good job of watching over their students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Florham Program Council, law club

    Great for these types of students

    Highly motivated and independent thinkers

    What to do for fun

    Activities/groups, football games, watching your friends involved in sports and taking the train into NYC for activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many selections to fit your taste. This year they tried extended hours so that you could go to the cafeteria whenever it fits into your schedule.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not as bad as other schools that I have friends attending. The rooms are a good size.

    Academic Rigor

    Demanding classes and schedules, but you learn a lot from the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early as it is a very well-known school.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and your professors know who you are. You do not have teaching assistants for the class; only professors. There are many groups or activities for you to get involved and feel a part of the school.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Many FDU students are involved frats and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who desire a small school and close attention with professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions at FDU include swimming in the fountain behind the mansion and constantly re-painting a large rock in the front lawn.

    What to do for fun

    Drink.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as soon as possible by joining clubs.

    In three sentences

    Very small school and not many students. FDU is located in a very affluent neighborhood but not a college-friendly town. FDU is also very expensive.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FDU is a great place for students that love the suburban atmosphere, with NYC in close reach. If they love being able to look out their windows and see trees instead of concrete and busy streets, FDU is the place to go!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly reccommend an involvement in school organizations, particularly Greek Life. Joining Phi Sigma Sigma was one of the best choices I made in my college career, opening myself to new experiences and increased involvement in my school and community.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of tuition, students are privy to smaller class sizes and increased personal interaction with their classmates and educators. They also have multiple eateries on campus, so the students never run out of options. Parents definitely can rest assured that their children are getting what they are paying for.

    Am enjoying being here

    The scenery is peaceful, with beautiful landscaping. The library, and other buildings, have enough space and amenities to accomodate the students, allowing for an enjoyable experience whether indoors or outdoors.

    Am learning a lot

    Fairleigh Dickinson has the perfect environment to stimulate learning. In being a smaller school, the largest class size I have encountered in my going on three years has been a maximum of 40 people. This number was only reached after a kind professor added in students who needed the class. The small environment allows a personal bond with the educator as well as less obstacles to prevent optimal learning.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love NJ. But also students who love to study and have fun. Students who are willing to work hard and take every opportunity that comes their way! Finally, this university is perfect for students who are or would like to be outgoing and involved around campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself, but study hard. At FDU you have that balance everyone cares about his or her education and having fun. And be yourself...that's the way you obtain the most long-lasting friendships. Get to know the people in your field of study. This college is small so you will be seeing them every single semester until you graduate. Finally, don't go home on the weekends FDU has a ton of fun things happening! Stay and live the college life.

    Bang for the buck

    Although FDU is a bit pricey they do offset the costs with amazing financial aid. Last year they gave over $56 million in financial aid to their students. Its costs are very similar to many other private universities in the tri-state area.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a transfer student, and nothing can compare to undeniable home away from home feeling of FDU-Madison. I have made so many new friends and I am involved in so many activities I would have never thought of participating in. Every semester I realize how lucky I am to have transferred to such an amazing school!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are there solely to help you succeed. If you need help they are right there to give it. I have learned so much over the last few semesters.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fdu is very safe to walk around at night by yourself. its well lit and they take every measure to ensure your safety at all times.

    Greek Life

    there are many fraternities and soriorities and you can choose which one you want to be in.

    Clubs and Activities

    fdu has so many clubs and activities that i would need more room to name them all!

    Great for these types of students

    fdu is a great place for any type person that wants to be part of college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i dont really know any traditions other than greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    the best advice i can give you is take as many course as you can handle. its the same price !

    What to do for fun

    there is so much to do here at fdu in madison that you will never be bored. i am also in a sorioity that takes up alot of my time.

    Food and Dining

    you always have a variety of food and will never starve!

    Dorm Life

    i have always been in a suite style living arrangement and it gives you enough space plus room for others

    Academic Rigor

    i am only a junior ar fdu but i have already accumilated 105 credits. i am majoring in radiology and hope to become one in the near future. i am also magna cum laude right now,

    Tips for prospective students

    always be active at college and meet new friends that will last a lifetime. learn as much as you can and still have fun doing it.

    In three sentences

    fdu has a country atmosphere that makes you feel safe. fairleigh dickinson university gives you the confidence to succeed. fdu helps you to become more dependent, reliable, and hardworking individual to strive to be the best person you can be.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public saftey isn`t too strict, but you feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of clubs and organizations, and if there isn`t one you like you can make your own!

    What to do for fun

    be spontaneous. go out looking for fun. chances are there is an event going on or people to hang out with. get involved in games like humans vs zombies and just make things to do.

    Food and Dining

    gourmet dining is not horrible dining, but after a while you get sick of it. a lot of people don`t like the food, but its not too bad for college food. if you mix up what you eat you`ll be fine.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are very big compared to many colleges. ras program many events and the halls are always decorated. dorms are what you make of them though, if you have to put yourself out there and you will find really fun people.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are small and intimate, by the end of each semester you`ll know majority of your classmates. teachers really care about their areas of work and are very interactive. class work isn`t too bad if you keep up with your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    most of the friends you make are the friends you`ll have for life. don`t judge your roommate on how their facebook looks. get as involved as you can, there are a lot of clubs to join as well as fraternities and sororities. if you are confused or need to know something, ask around or ask your ra. be spontaneous

    In three sentences

    fdu is a fun campus with a lot to do, if you go out and look for it. the students there are friendly and open and the campus is beautiful. the classes are small and most teachers really love their jobs.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HORRIBLE. honestly the worst safety ever. some officers are nice but they are very lazy and inconsiderate

    Greek Life

    get involved! greek life is very important and is so much fun here at fdu. stay active but if you don't do greek life it isn't the end of the world, just get involved with clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    fun. kids always stay active and try to get involved. there is alway stuff going on.

    Great for these types of students

    ready to learn students who want a good education. someone who wants to make friends and stay close with them. Someone who wants to go to a small school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the rock on campus is said to be a little pebble that got huge from painting it all of the time!

    Bang for the buck

    um.. kinda worth it. its very expensive but its a good education. apply for scholarships!

    What to do for fun

    Shop, study and play. Outside its such a beautiful atmosphere everyone is always outside. Greek life!

    Food and Dining

    pretty good food. there is alway stuff to eat its just what you make of it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice compared to some of the schools I visited. People nice and friendly and the service for the dorms is always fun. The utilities at FDU are good in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics. Professors always are willing to help students out. Make sure you study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in open minded and ready to explore new things. College is a fun experience but keep your head in your studies. Don't get too caught up in what isn't in your priorities.

    In three sentences

    Amazing. Such a friendly atmosphere. Always things to do

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are parties and many events that will keep you engaged.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    There are many fun things you can do when you live on campus. The dorm life is the best life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is very tough, but the professors are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have financial aid because FDU is kinda expensive. Be ready to learn and ready to have fun.

    In three sentences

    My journey at FDU has been an exciting ride. The level of learning will have an individual amazed at how many things they can learn and understand. If an individual wants to have fun then come join me at FDU.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe campus.

    Greek Life

    FDU-Madison is not too diverse with greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many activities to choose from and the option to create your own club is even encouraged.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Much history!

    What to do for fun

    You can stay in and chill on campus, go out to downtown madison and morristown, or just take the train to the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all you can eat, but more variety would be nice.

    Dorm Life

    pretty safe. I like it.

    Academic Rigor

    NO JOKE. you have to work hard in order to get good grades. That's just it. You cannot expect to get an easy A. You may be able to do that somewhere else, but not FDU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to college with an open mind. There is so much to learn and understand.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People have died, crimes have occurred, I have never seen anyone being escorted by public safety when they need it, the rape trail to the train station is in need of lighting (because people do use it but it is always too dark). I wish they would release detailed reports to keep the community aware of the events we all know are happening. However, it seems that they enjoy the corrupt action of sweeping everything under the rugs and making the campus seem like the happiest and most peaceful place on earth. Quite the contrary.

    Greek Life

    Could they be a little more friendlier? it's like High School all over again. Grow up a little and actually have some respect for each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a number (15 or so), but the participation rate is low. Greek Life has more participants and no one seems to like the other club.

    Great for these types of students

    Rich kids, people who love going home, people who party all the time and don't really care about school and those who still want to be in a high-school type environment. If you are motivated enough: smart individuals actually exist here. You can join in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thirsty Thursdays, Weed Wednesdays, Zombies around campus (actually interesting though peculiar),

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth it! Got to a state school unless you have a guaranteed full scholarship and grant package. Even with that said, the tuition increases every year. The worst increase was approximately $10,000 for a double occupancy room. And the dorms are NOWHERE near worth that much. Same goes for tuition, not worth being in debt for this school. Unless you come from a rich family and want a pricey private community-college type university.

    What to do for fun

    Really nothing. Even though proximal to New York City (45-60 minutes by train). The surrounding neighborhood is a quaint town. A majority of the residents are New Jersey residents and many go home whenever they find an opportunity to do so (which is every weekend).

    Food and Dining

    Not worth the price tag. Even if it is another establishment on-campus separate from the Dining Hall. They say that the food is fresh and healthy but many individuals get ill after eating there. As a new student, you might think that it is a Dining Hall full of five-star culinary opportunities but it is the complete opposite. There is a kind staff however. Most of the establishments open late (11am) and close early (7pm) during the weekends so be prepared for that. Others like Nathans and Snax are only open during the weekdays and close by 3pm on Friday.

    Dorm Life

    Housing needs a little more (under exaggeration) organization. There could be a chance of you not knowing where you will be living as an underclassman. Some of the staff members are unprofessional but others are very helpful and professional.

    Academic Rigor

    It's what you make of it. You will fail if you do not try, you will succeed if you do. Some teachers are easy but this is college..take those that will challenge you. You're paying far too much to graduate the easy way. You might as well learn something instead of just pass it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your studies. In spite of the lower quality of education offered for the amount of tuition payed and debt accumulated, there are a handful of professors who care about your education but you have to be motivated enough to be successful. Don't attend if you want to graduate with the lowest amount of debt possible.

    In three sentences

    Extremely expensive school.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe, nothing happens in Madison, NJ. However accesibility is quite easy they don't really card those that come from off campus.

    Greek Life

    Those who go Greek love it! They wear their pledge shirts all week and represent their frats/sororities with pride.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hillel (Jewish Club) ABC (Association of Black Collegians) DDT (Devils Dance Team) ACE (African Cultural Experience) SAGA (Straight and Gay Alliance) Any Sports Organization! ....and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love a small community where everyone knows almost everyone, who love a beautiful campus (FDU-Florham), and students who love to study abroad (especially at the campus in England, Wroxton.)

    Bang for the buck

    Hmmm.....difficult to answer. In short terms, no. However this solely depends on the weight of your financial aid package. If they are willing to give you a feasible amount then go for it. Personally, I love it here!

    What to do for fun

    FDU can be total fun if you know the right people. Frats have suites on campus and houses off campus and usual throw parties anywhere from the middle of the week until the weekend. One great thing about living on campus is all the events FDU hosts on campus. Last semester we had casino night where everyone could play their choice of Blackjack, Poker, Texas Hold'em, and decorated the place out.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall is buffet style and gets quite repetitive except for special occasion days where they decorate the dining hall and upgrade the food quality.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms actually are actually pretty good. The Village however, which primarily houses upperclassmen, has horrible living conditions, poor maintainance. Rutherford Hall is excellent, as is Park Ave they have much newer and efficent technology versus freshman dorms and the Village.

    Academic Rigor

    I have superb classes. My professors are knowledgeable and creative in their lectures. They usually follow the syllabus and always check to make sure the students comprehend the knowledge disbursed to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    FDU is a great institution offering 100 academic programs but be sure to come here only if you have been offered a significant amount of grant/scholarship money otherwise it may be ridiculously expensive.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with great academic programs. It is the first University in the U.S to own a campus overseas (Wroxton Abbey, England.) The professors know you by name and make a conscious effort to be available to their students.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Greek Life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the money discourage you because the education is worth it.

    In three sentences

    Nice small university.It makes you feel at home and there is always something to do.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 public safety officers, and the neighborhood is very safe.

    Greek Life

    A lot of sororities and fraternities that have different missions. You just have find one you like.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities. Whatever you want, is here. Clubs and Activities that will cater to your preferences.

    Bang for the buck

    The best school ever, simple.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on. Madison and Morristown are right outside the campus, and there is so much to do there such as movies and shopping, you name it.

    Food and Dining

    There is absolutely so much to eat. Whether breakfast, lunch, or dinner the choices you can make are limitless. Healthy food, snacks, ice cream you name it. Theres also a chef to cook for you or you can even cook for yourself.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spacious, the facilities are cleaned daily, and the environment is warm and welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at FDU is challenging. That is what college is about. However use your time wisely, meet with your professors, and take advantage off the academic support centers that are here to help you excel with your school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will exceed here. Work as hard as you play. Take advantage of free time, and get to know your professors. Enjoy the campus, and attend events. Make your college experience worthwhile and enjoy every moment, because time goes by so fast.

    In three sentences

    This school is my dream college come true. The university is amazing in academia as well as extra curricular activities. The professors are wonderful and always willing to help. The atmosphere is welcoming and comforting, and the campus is beautiful.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Completely safe considering you are locked behind stone walls

    Greek Life

    kind of weird, only one frat has houses so theres like never really too many social events.

    Bang for the buck

    The most over priced school in America

    What to do for fun

    THERE IS NOTHING FUN TODO!!! Most boring campus ever. no parties. no fun social gatherings unless you consider study groups fun.

    Food and Dining

    It isnt the worst but I'm not saying it is good either

    Dorm Life

    Old dorms, the bathrooms are cleaned everyother day and get dirty quickly. 40 people are expected to use a rundown washer which breaks once a week

    Academic Rigor

    mmm I've had both hard and easy classes

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoyed High School you'll love FDU. If your looking for the typical college experience, RUN!

    In three sentences

    If your looking for a small school where everyone knows one another and each other's business, this is the school. Its very cliquey and unbearably boring. Theres a huge wall cutting the campus off from society; makes me feel trapped.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to lock in and get your future started

    What to do for fun

    Had a blast.

    Food and Dining

    It's not home but you get use to it.

    Dorm Life

    Roll the dice & pray your room mates are cool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on the reason you are going to college. There will always be a party next week.

    In three sentences

    Great school for learning, growing & socializing.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe, well lit, everyone is always watching out for you.

    Greek Life

    Greek Organizations are permitted from hazing, there are no houses, but each greek org is connected with certain values that run their charitable fundraisers and events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities, greek life (although no greek housing) and sports. If you don't see what you like, start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, Involved, Exciting!

    Bang for the buck

    A focus on global education stresses a semester abroad in Wroxton, England!

    What to do for fun

    Leave your door open to meet new people! There are plenty of open spaces to play frisbee or have a picnic.

    Food and Dining

    Tha cafeteria has many different stations in which different types of food are served, i.e. sushi, chicken, grilled, vegetarian. There are also a few other places on campus that will accept meal dollars for variety!

    Dorm Life

    Great RA's and events for Freshmen, Dorms are clean and not too tiny! Many options for living and ways to meet prospective roomates.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put in your best effort, you can get the most out of your academic career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your research, stay on top of applications and registrations and paperwork in order to not be confused when applying or being admitted.

    In three sentences

    Has an amazing campus and student life. Everyone who works there is happy and excited to help. Academics are great!

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is the number one concern of FDU. We have Public Safety around the clock, for anything you may need.

    Greek Life

    I am apart of Greek Life and I would not change that for the world. It has become my family away from home. We are involved in so much, both on and off campus, I feel like I am apart of something so much bigger than just another sorority.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many opportunities to have fun! With the amount of clubs and organizations on campus, there is truly something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but the dining hall hours could be a little more student friendly. You just have to learn the right times to go.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life at FDU! They have a wide variety of dorms, so they are sure to meet every one's needs. They have the typical Freshmen dorms, suite style set ups, and much more.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff is highly educated, and are always available to help if you have questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! Everyone is friendly and can help in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    I am a sophomore at FDU and I have enjoyed every minute of college career so far. They give me classes to make me the most well- rounded person I can be, but also have various clubs and activities to get involved in so there is never a dull moment on campus. I could not ask for a better college.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are a great way to meet people and make friends. With so many options you are likely to find at least one club that interests you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small school where you will recognize everyone around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Scholarships and financial aid cover a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Don't let tour days fool you.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm experience is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are interesting and involved.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety take their jobs seriously. They are always around campus, making sure everyone is safe and that no illegal activity is going on.

    What to do for fun

    As mentioned under dorm life, there is always something to do on campus. The school has events such as free movie night on campus as well as the local movie theater. They also offer ice skating, bowling, etc, usually free of charge.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a variety of different things. However it is the same variety almost every day. But there is a section where you can cook for yourself if you do not want what is being served. Also, the school gives 100 flex dollars each semester so that you are able to buy food from The Grill, Nathans, and Snax, all places on campus. Spend your flex dollars wisely because they can go quickly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a nice size and the custodians keep the bathrooms clean. There is always something to do on campus. If you are not interested in joining a sorority there are many clubs such as the ABC club (association of Black Collegians), the gospel choir, etc. If there isn't a party, you can always find a small get together in someones dorm at Park Ave. You'll never be bored.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is challenging. But the professors are helpful and you can always go to the academic support center for help on an essay, or anything else you may be having trouble with.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is surrounded by trees and nature. If you are not a fan of nature it may not be the right campus for you. Also, it is a bit of a walk from town but we do have a shuttle bus that takes you to Drew University, Main Street, and the grocery store. If you are from an urban area like myself, you may be used to public transportation, local chicken shacks, corner stores, and stores downtown that you would see in the mall. However, it is different in Madison. Most of the clothing stores are boutiques and there is not a snack store on every corner.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson is a great school. The professors care about their students and are willing to help them when necessary. There is always something to do on campus and the people are extremely friendly.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Apart from the occasional drunken screamer in the distance (it's a given; these are supposed to be the best years of our lives after all), it's absolutely safe to take a walk at the stroke of midnight if you wanted to. The campus is that secure.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer smaller campuses, need personal assistance from the professors themselves, and feel the need to go the extra mile academically will thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a number of interesting places if you look out for them. For example, there's an old staircase just on the side of a road next to the Village (capital V) that goes up to the Mansion (again, capital M), which itself has a beaten path that goes down to Park Avenue. There's also a bicycle path that leads to a local train station and St. Mary's College, which is literally right next to this campus, though I wouldn't recommend going in uninvited. This campus used to be someone's summer home, and it shows in certain places.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, the tuition is sky high, but believe me when I tell you that it's worth every penny. I can't think of a better school to attend in New Jersey, or any other state for that matter. There's even a study abroad program that takes place in the school's branch in England!

    What to do for fun

    Besides just walking around the beautiful campus, you can attend weekly clubs, attend the pub's happy hours (if you're 21), ride a train to New York City among other places, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is better than most schools, but it can get old quickly. Fortunately, the numbers for local restaurants are provided in dorms and select restaurants actually accept Fairleigh 1 dollars, the refillable currency stored on the school's ID cards. There's also a Nathan's and grill-type place to mix things up (the latter is even open late).

    Dorm Life

    I can't say for sure that dorm life is great since I've been living in the same building ever since I started here, but from what I've heard it does leave something to be desired. It's livable, but it's also not the best in the world as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great and the classes are informative, but they really mean business. Don't go in expecting a free ride, but do expect graduation day to be that much more rewarding in the end (incidentally, graduation takes place on the Teaneck campus, not Florham's).

    Tips for prospective students

    You'd better be ready to shell out a lot of money and give it your all once you're in. That's the best advice I can give. Fortunately, the tutoring center is free of charge, so don't hesitate to go there when you need help, and even if you DON'T think you need it. One last thing: because the campus is small, you'll be seeing the same people a lot. Be nice to them, since it will be for your own good.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school with small class sizes and personal interaction between students and professors is encouraged. There's also plenty of extracurricular activities and field trips to keep students occupied. The only downside is that the tuition is very steep!

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Bang for your buck? LOL. Take your money to another school, TRUST ME.

    What to do for fun

    A few events are provided here and there, you have to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Terrible service. They have a staff of maybe 10-15 working a ridiculous schedule. They hate their lives, and it shows through the food.

    Dorm Life

    Nothing to look forward to, they do the minimum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about your field of study before anything. If FDU is great in your field of study, and you don't care about campus life, then come. If your looking for the movie experience of college while getting your work done, it's not here.

    In three sentences

    Great school for learning, I enjoy my education and I am proud of it. Everything else? forget about it.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was delicious and the buffet-style cafeteria offered a variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were better than most other dorms I have seen, especially for freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem diverse and very enlightening. They also do not seem too overly challenging.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and the academic buildings are up to date. The dorms are great, even for first year housing. The Study Abroad program at FDU is very diverse and educational.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy students who love the outdoors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the campus rock The beautiful Mansion where you can take classes Library lawn is great for lounging Jumping in the mansion fountain after finals

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or sorority/fraternity! Join a sport or intramural sports! Morristown is also only five minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the best and is very repetitive and or bland.

    Dorm Life

    The Village is a very close community and it has suite style living. All other buildings have only one roommate dorms. Park avenue also has suite style living.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very small and a student can almost always receive one on one help from teachers. There is also a great tutoring center located in our new moninger center

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Don't be shy and make as many friends as possible! It is a very small school and plenty of activities so take full advantage!

    In three sentences

    A close knit campus community. A lot of clubs and organizations to be a part of. Great for in-state students.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Greek Life seems to be very popular at school. Especially as the school year begins, Campus Life does a lot to welcome the students back in an extremely fun way. RA's, also known as Residential Advisors, host numerous events to take away some of the stress of school course loads and allows students to make new friends. FDU even has its on event calendar to let students know everything going on and even going into Morristown or Madison, gives the students an abundance of activities to do!

    Food and Dining

    Gourmet Foods take the time to try and come up with new ideas to spice up the food choices offered to students. Taco Tuesday is a popular one, the Wok stations, salad bar, etc. Everyone tend to miss their home cooked meals, but FDU does it best to make it as homey as possible.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorming. It gives you a 24/7 opportunity to be involved in Campus. As of now, I am living in Rutherford, which is my absolutely favorite building to live on campus. All dorms though offer a great opportunity to be involved and meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Each school is what you put into it, in my eyes. FDU challenges you, which is beyond beneficial in the end!

    Tips for prospective students

    For starters, always get involved. There are so many clubs on campus, Greek Life, you can start even start your own club, and sports. Secondly, take advantage of all the services on campus. Career Development and Academic Support Center are two huge ones. Career Development will help you get a resume together, get you on the right path to earning an internship, and help you pursue your career altogether. The Academic Support Center allows you to go there for help. If you need help with an English paper, Spanish homework, math, etc, there are skilled people in each trade available.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson offers an abundance of opportunities for students from all over. Their small class sizes allow one-on-one time between the student and teacher which is crucial to the student's success overall. FDU offers each student a chance to establish him/herself in a homey enviornment.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    get involved

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved

    In three sentences

    Love this school! Perfect amount of students and a beautiful campus!

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on either the Mt.Laurel or Pemberton BCC campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Working during the day, single parents, night owls.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to do your best and their lessons are engaging and knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Community College Partnership program is a good way to save money by staying home and being able to work during the day since most of the classes are done at night. You still get the great teachers of FDU but you don't have the large classes.

    In three sentences

    I am in the Community College Partnership program for Fairleigh Dickinson at Burlington County College. [Quest B.A. Humanities/Master of Arts in Teaching (K-6)].

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join Circle K!

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, walk to town, go to sports games, or join a club.

    Food and Dining

    You have to be creative, except during breakfast. Breakfast is banging!

    Dorm Life

    My floor is the best floor on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    I like it here and am learning what i need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring Sneakers, it's a small campus but all you do is walk, even to town. Bring a fan when you move in. The dorms have AC but when they turn the heat on it's like 90 degrees in your room. Making friends in the first 2 weeks of school is crucial!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy life on campus, the people around here are nice. Sports wise, we aren't that great but it's fun to just go and hang with friends. When it snows here it is beautiful!

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The best food is the chicken fingers and the tacos. Other than that the food is subpar. I mostly order out, or go to the Grill.

    Dorm Life

    If you don't make any friends, it can be pretty boring here. The rooms are average if you opt for the cheaper dorms. Do not overpack because moving in and out each semester is a hassle. Bring mattress pads for the beds.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that challenging, coming from a college prep high school. You need to stay on top of the busy work or you will fall behind. Some of the teachers have accents that are hard to understand sometimes. Registering for classes can be a nightmare for some students. It's a long process.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid package you first receive seems pretty decent, but as the years go on the money dwindles. You will end up having to take out costly loans, especially if you're parents have decent salaries.