Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Fairleigh Dickinson Univ.-Metropolitan… Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FDU is great for open-minded students, whom are willing to not only embrace other cultures, but also share their own with others. If a student is looking for a school that is not too big, yet not too small, and in a great neighborhood, then this is the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I could only say that they should always remember that the sky is the limit, and that if they choose to come to this school, they should be willing to embrace the complete experience. Honestly, college life is what you as an individual makes of it. It's always easy to get carried away, but it's even more rewarding if you take a step at a time, and always remember what matters the most. Work hard at all times, but don't forget to enjoy the little things. Time management is the key to success.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a tad too expensive, and it being a private school, that's expected. However, there is always room for improvements. Overall though, I would say that the education you do get, the opportunities you encounter, the experiences, and the memories you make are worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at FDU because I love the education, the area, and the social life. One thing I really love about FDU in Teaneck is that it is highly diverse. Diversity has always been very important to me. You would be surprised how much you can learn from people that come from all parts of the world. It's like I'm getting a free, extra education outside the classroom and I love it. Also, the area is like the suburbs with some spice. I love the close proximity to NYC which allows for even greater opportunities like internships, and leisure time.

    Am learning a lot

    FDU offers many majors/minors, and has exceptional programs available for prospective and current students. Many of the professors here are highly qualified and challenge students to get the most out of their education. The small class sizes allow for teacher-student interaction, and overall, a better grasp of the material taught.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Freshmen International Students

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour, and really get to know the campus before making a decision. The school is great and there will be no regret attending Fairleigh Dickinson University!

    Bang for the buck

    The price students are paying is definitely worth the education. We have the best professors who care about their students. The students feel comfortable to have a close relationship with professors. The education is extraordinary!

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being here. The atmosphere is different. Everyone is so welcoming and comforting. The professors are great for mentoring. Everyone here is extremely friendly. It feels like home!

    Am learning a lot

    Wow the education provided to students by the professors is amazing. The things I've learned cannot be compared to any other school. Fairleigh Dickinson is one of the best schools. Definitely worth the price the education received.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who adapt real easily, because if you are not use to rooming with other people then you experience will be one that is quite uncomfortable. Those who are outgoing because there are so many place around the campus to hang out at and the nightlife requires those who love to have clean fun with random people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply now!!! There is so much to see so much to experience. If you are unsure about applying then come to the campus for a visit. Sit in on a few classes look at a few dorm rooms, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricey? Yes, but its worth every penny. All of the basketball games, free trips to the Radio City Music Hall, Broadway, the Maury Show, etc. Its all paid for with our tuition. The Facilities like the fitness center are free as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dorming on campus is so much fun. My first year was field with so much laughter and fun. I made so many new friends. Once you make friends on and off campus you will love being here. Find me and you are in for a real treat.

    Am learning a lot

    FDU is great, the teachers are all very helpful and easy to talk to. They are easy to access and depending on the professor, they may give you a cell phone number to contact them after school hours. All of my teachers have helped me in bettering my learning experience here at FDU.

  • 11/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for the people that want to go to a place that is divers enough compared to your hometown. As well as the ones that are very hardworking, because the professors here will make sure you learn for what you are paying for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ALL of your financial aid work done within the first couple of weeks of the semester. Apply for financial early so that you may get that grant just for applying early. Make sure that you are satisfied with your classes before you miss the withdrawal deadline. Buy your books used, you will save A LOT of money than if you buy it in the book store. Usually the sophomores are trying to get rid of their books from the year before or simply get them online (and fast because there is a lot of reading to do). Last tip, get familiar with the people that work in financial aid offices, libraries, computer labs, etc because you will be seeing them very often.

    Bang for the buck

    When you see the amount of money that this school costs you may double think it. However, it is worth every penny. The university also offers scholarships and many ways to help you during the financial aid situation that we all dread. Definitely worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the reasons why i chose this university is because it was different enough from where I come from, but at the same time similar so I wont feel home-sick. The atmosphere is an amazing one, and the campus itself is breath taking. Everyone is very nice, and welcoming especially the first couple of days where you may feel lost.

    Am learning a lot

    I was blown away from everything that I am learning in my classes. I am actually taking what i learn and remember it enough to apply it in my own life. Even though you have to be on to of things in college, the professors will not hesitate to help you in anything that they can.

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the ones that can afford it, and for those who have deserved and enjoy of full tuition scholarships for their hard work. Because the education is fair but the price is too high.

    Tips for prospective students

    To whom it may concern; Dear future student of FDU Leader In Global Excellence I the author of this letter recommend you think twice, before making your last choice concerning which school you must attend. I defenitly have learned that there is not a thing in FDU that you cannot learn in a community college. Go to a cheaper school, re-think your options because having la dulce vita is not all that counts. It's expensive! I know you want to leave mom and dad but trust me owing so much money is not worthed. Wait until you are ready, when you feel completely capable of owing 50,000 Dollars to a Loan Lender that multiplies for the rest of your life than make the choice. Finally I must say, it takes sense (Something I didnt have, let me remind you) to be an adult.

    Am enjoying being here

    The courses are one thing but the people and the service is another. In most schools there is the terrible receptionist who just doesn't know how to treat people. Have you ever come across one? Well I must say, if you haven't wait until you come to this school. I don't want to generalize, but I must say adulthood is one of the biggest experiences I have had in FDU. The first day January 18Th Orientation was canceled because of the bad weather. I was not notified until later. Later meaning until I was in the school. My Financial Aid Package was not the best looking one, talking about bad days. I don't want to forget the outstanding balance I must cover that Financial Aid won't cover. It's a lot! Finally Am I enjoying being here? NO, Why not just leave? Because I'm a fool.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are concentrated and the professors are professionals. I have had the great experience of seeing the diversity of teaching styles and I must say they are easy to adapt to and it makes it simpler to learn. I'm leaning? Yes, a lot? I must say I haven't had the full experience to judge If I have learned a great quantity, but the way I see how the courses are going I could assure I will.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the best parts about attending Fairleigh Dickinson is how safe I feel when on campus. From almost anywhere you can spot one of the many security vehicles patrolling campus. All security staff I've had the pleasure to talk to have been friendly and helpful, and they do a good job at keeping the place in order. Fairleigh Dickinson also has very strict rules regarding drugs, alcohol, and student life/college parties; disorderly is an adjective you'll never be using to describe the FDU campus experience.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a comfortable, well-disposed learning environment with an astounding cultural diversity among its faculty and students, Fairleigh Dickinson is the school for you. While a handful of students may not take their work very seriously, most do--and you'll be surprised at how welcoming and efficient your professors, advisers, and fellow students will be here. Fairleigh Dickinson University is like a home away from home, and while it may be a bit expensive, if you take advantage of all it has to offer it will definitely be a fruitful experience for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the price for attending Fairleigh Dickinson is appropriate and justifiable. It may seem expensive, but the campus has something going on almost every hour of the day. Resources are open to you as a student anywhere you turn. Plus, the atmosphere at FDU is very welcoming--you'll WANT to stay.

    What to do for fun

    Other than the dozens of student life organizations and clubs to join, Fairleigh Dickinson does offer several public computer labs for you to use, has a very large library, and also has its own exercise/sports training facility.

    Food and Dining

    There are quite a few places on campus to eat, and from the few times I have eaten on campus, the food was excellent. A wide variety of dishes are served and you'll certainly find the food and dining acceptable here. Fairleigh Dickinson also has a partnership with various restaurants located near the campus, so you should have more than enough options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, so I've had very little personal experience with the dorms. However, I've never heard of any student having any serious complaints or concerns regarding the dorms. From my understanding, dorm security and maintenance is strict and efficient, and dorm buildings are located conveniently on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here are often very indulgent and lenient, but they will not allow you a free pass through a semester; for all of my classes, I've had to work relatively hard to maintain a good grade. Homework assignments are a big thing here, and you'll be given lots of them, but they will always be relevant to the class. If you wish to maintain a high GPA (like mine, which is currently at 3.77), you WILL have to focus and get the work done.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson has been a relaxing yet rewarding experience so far. On average, professors and other university staff have been both efficient and highly cooperative, and I've had no qualms over course material or its effectiveness. Attending the school may be a little on the expensive side, but I've had more than enough reason to stay.

  • 05/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do well in high school, and you'll be able to receive merit based scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a pretty expensive school, but there are opportunities for scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a very great looking campus and I enjoy the days that I come.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are very educational and the professors are great and helpful.

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with an open mind for taking in information; when a subject comes up that you've heard before, take a second and listen to what the other person has to say. Try to gain further knowledge on the subject, and if the need arises, use their information (and hopefully your logic) to prove them wrong. All this is of course to learn better about subjects and retain that information, of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like other people have said, get financial aid stuff, picking classes, and things like that over with as early as possible, to avoid some hassle.

    Bang for the buck

    Mostly in terms of education and stimulation of the mind by teachers, fellow students, and assorted others? Yes, that is the best bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a commuter, but I think the campus looks great, and you don't get to know too much about all the hassles that residents have (all campuses have hassles of course, but still). As a commuter, there is also plenty of opportunity to just go to class and run off when you're done, of course.

    Am learning a lot

    Everywhere on campus there are chances chance to learn, as long as your mind and your time are open to listening to people; of course, there is always time for goofing around or relaxing but still, there is plenty of educational stuff to keep your mind busy.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try to live on campus because it's a great experience that you will miss out on if u dont.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive but its worth the money because the education you are gaining superb.

    Am enjoying being here

    I live on campus and love it so much, there are many places you can travel off campus. I have loved all of my teachers so far. I have met people who I get along with and hope to meet many more.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a nursing major and starting my 3rd semester in the fall and looking forward to it because we start our clinicals.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Upon applying to schools I looked specifically for private institutions with small capped classes. FDU caps most of their classes at about 25-30 although a lot are significantly smaller. I think the smaller classes allows for a student-professor relationship to the point where the teacher knows the students name. Along with smaller classes usually the professors don't teach as many classes enabling them to be more hands on and accessible. So if you want smaller classes, closer relationships with your professors and easy accessibility, FDU is the place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are two FDU campuses so make sure you do your research and make sure your major and possible minor is at the right campus. You can't just pick up and transfer back and fourth. And get involved, people complain that things can get boring but if you're involved you have something to do at all times. Whether you're involved by working on campus or in clubs, sports, Greek life or even just working out in the gym try to be on campus. Be involved especially if you commute the more extra curricular activities you involve yourself in the better you'll enjoy college and it's awesome on your resume.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that I live at home I do pay significantly lower than students that live on campus but with that and FDU's generous scholarship giving I am saving loads of money which will be amazing upon graduation. If you really search FDU's website you can find a plethora of scholarships that aren't automatically processed that canbe applied for also.

    Am enjoying being here

    I transferred into FDU during my sophomore year which brought me back to living at home. Although I would have loved to live away at school, FDU's new student orientation allowed for me to feel more at ease being at a new school. All the professor's are friendly and approachable. There are hundreds of clubs and there is an abundance of student involvement regardless of if it's within sports, greek life or just working on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a Criminal Justice: Pre-Law student. The Criminal Justice school is amazing. The director is a retired Policeman and every one on the staff has worked within law in some aspect. They give you more than just a by the book education but rather a first hand experience account of the actual situations that occur and the knowledge you need to know outside of definitions given by paper bound text books.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want a friendly environment. Everyone is really nice

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, its an excellent school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but FDU gives almost everyone financial aid. Laundry and parking is free so that's a plus.

    Will enjoy being here

    It is a homely campus. Its a small campus and there are a lot of events on campus. It's 7 miles out of New York

    Will learn a lot

    FDU has a really good Education department. If you want to be a teacher, apply for the QUEST program. It is a 5-year accelerated Master's program.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fairleigh Dickinson is good for a whole different range of students. Someone looking to attend Fairleigh Dcikinson has to have an open mind about different types of people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades and be involved in activities.

    Bang for the buck

    The school offers a lot of things in order to make the whole community comfortable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to school here. The people are nice and friendly. The staff are helpful and the campus is beautiful. There are a lot of things to do in order to have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are helpful in a lot of ways. The curriculum can be challenging but the professors teach it in a way that it is understandable to everyone. There are others ways to learn information in case you still do not understand.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this campus is really secure and has public safety a phone call away!

    Clubs and Activities

    a large variety of clubs and activities! basket ball games, relay for life, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    majors: *engineering *law * nursing *teaching

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the latino promise program has a tradition of attending both the relay for life and the ten mile walk for 9/11 every year!

    What to do for fun

    there's activities most of the time, libraries if you like to read, plenty of space to just walk or even play ball (believe me i've even seen people play frisbee) and computer labs to hang out there!

    Food and Dining

    fdu provides different places for you to eat. the student union building has a cafeteria with plenty of choices to eat, dickison hall on the hackensack side has a nice little cafeteria that is good for a quick bite. there is also a jeeper's where you see most of the students eat or hang out there.

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter, but i have friends who have boarded/ are rooming there and i have got to say that other than the pricing for rooming, it is a great environment to live in. plus there are plenty of on campus activities to keep you entertained.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on the classes you have and how much efford you put into them. for example, in history and buisness i did my homework, studied for the midterm (passed), and participated in class and i was able to get an a in both easily. but in my psycology class i was not prepared enough, didnt study well and had trouble understanding the metrial (and didnt ask for help).... i passed with a c-. :(

    Tips for prospective students

    * make sure to look up has many scholarships to help you pay. *be out going and try some of the activities that are offered. *study hard and don't be afraid to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    a school with great diversity and professors who are willing to help you with any problem you may have. the classes are small and can garentee you some one-on-one time with your professor! other than some personal financial problems, this school is great!

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cars drive very close to you on the sidewalks while walking to classes, and I'm talking about the PUBLIC SAFETY cars! The on campus police officers work hard to keep the students and faculty safe every day and night.

    Greek Life

    Very important to this campus! Our Fraternities and Sororities are focused on charities, helping students, and helping the environment, as well as maintaining excellent relationships with their fellow brothers and sisters. There are no Greek parties like on television, however, events ran by the Frats that are fun and usually free!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities, and if there is not a club for you, it is also very easy to start one! Many people have done this and are getting excellent funding!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Jeepers is the on campus restaurant which is actually really, really good! The food is pricey, but the school gives each student $100 on their ID cards to use there or at the bookstore or other places in town that will accept it (which is actually quite a bit!)

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Activities and clubs and games and dances, you name it, FDU has it! Every night there will be something new to do and you will never find yourself bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely terrible! On some occasions there will be good food, but usually my friends and I just cook our own food at the Wok it Up! station that is offered in the cafeteria. The food is only good when there are tours and visits.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms for freshman are concrete and tile floors all around, but they are comfortable and allow for a safe environment. They two cameras on each floor, four suites to each floor, so it is not that many people to make noise and disturb, but enough to make friends and enjoy yourself! Each suite has its own bathroom with two stalls and a shower.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes taken and the major of the student, the academic rigor could be more difficult than others. This also depends on the professor and the rate at which one completes tasks. The average student takes 16 credits per semester, which is not too difficult for most college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    For a prospective student, make sure to visit the school before you attend it. Future students should always get a feel of what the campus life is like before attending.

    In three sentences

    The college is well-kept and the professors are very professional and always willing to help you whenever you need to. Free tutoring is always offered by the professor and the school itself, as well as online tutoring.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem with Campus Safety. Our security is friendly and helpful.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on the Metropolitan campus is very active.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for practically everyone! If there's something that you would like to see, create it.

    What to do for fun

    GET INVOLVED! Your college experience is what you make it. Step out of the box and meet more that what you know.

    Food and Dining

    Dining Services can some days be a little frustrating but huge improvements have been made. Also, we have some great outside dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Your freshman year may be a little awkward, but the Lindens build lasting friendships. Being an upperclassmen does have its perks though.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major you may have a heavy workload. Don't Quit!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and speak with a department advisor on majors that interest you. Come for a tour and be very open minded.

    In three sentences

    The Metropolitan campus at first glance may see a bit confined, but it actually full of resources. The staff is eager to help you find a solution to any problem. The campus allows for a close-knit feel and a common friendliness.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student union building is a great place to hang out because people are always there, just hanging out.

    What to do for fun

    Work out, go to clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Meet new people. Don't wait until the last minute to write your papers.

    In three sentences

    This is a great psychology school. The people are awesome. The campus is just too small.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are pretty decent

    Greek Life

    IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST

    What to do for fun

    GET INVOLVED!!!! There are a ton of activities ALWAYS going on.

    Food and Dining

    Not so great we usually cook our own food.

    Dorm Life

    The best of the best.

    Academic Rigor

    Love all their programs offerec

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track in HS don't get senioritis and fall behind

    In three sentences

    This school is what YOU make of it. Be active in Campus Life. Be known for the good.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Unless you have enough of your tuition covered with scholarships and grants, it may not be entirely worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    The City.

    Food and Dining

    It is the equivalent of prison food.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus or eat any of the food. It is truly a waste of money.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not slack off. It will not benefit you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not live on campus. It waste so much scholarship money. If you can afford it a a roommate or two and live in one of the many apartments nearby. Do not eat the food.

    In three sentences

    I think the teachers vary, but are pretty great. I do not agree withe the University Core classes. I also think that they could try harder to be considerate of the students time and finances.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is located on by the resident halls and are on duty 24 hours, no worries.

    Greek Life

    We have nine active fraternities, which include four of the Divine 9 and ten sororities including two of the Divine 9.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost anything you can think of and if there isn't you can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a swing located right by the Hackensack River, it offers piece of mind and comfort to the soul.

    Bang for the buck

    FDU is expensive but it's worth every penny. I absolutely love the environment, diversity and the education I receive.

    What to do for fun

    I'm apart of several organization who plan campus events. Such as, open mic night, karaoke night, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a few selection to choose from but if you're looking for something more satisfying Jeepers is the place to go.

    Dorm Life

    You live in a suite with three rooms, two people per room, a bathroom and a living room. As long as everyone is comfortable with each other it's sooth sailing.

    Academic Rigor

    FDU is challenging but not overwhelming. The school has free tutors for any class you may have trouble in and a writing studio to have your essay edited and revised before final submission.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just focus on your studies, make a few friends and be yourself. The fun is bound to find you.

    In three sentences

    It's the perfect place to party and get your education. FDU is a very diverse community. They also have many on campus events.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder then others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all financial aid is settled before entering college

    In three sentences

    Good campus with various activities. Professors are willing to help you with whatever you need. Student life is great.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being on campus so much, I became familiar with most of the Campus Safety. Very friendly people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be some good clubs, but being a transfer, I was never really told of any of the opportunities to get involved in the school.

    Great for these types of students

    There are definitely a lot of nursing students. I've heard that Fairleigh is well-known for business.

    Bang for the buck

    Pfft. Not at Fairleigh Ridiculous. I've never encountered a poor quality teacher in all of my college career, until I transferred here. Nor did I ever encountered rudeness by the staff, until I transferred here. Considering this is such an expensive school, you should not be humiliated or embarrassed by anyone working there and you should not feel that a class is literally impossible to pass.

    Food and Dining

    I absolutely loved Jeepers (basically like the commuter cafeteria). The BBQ chicken pizza is the best! But I have heard terrible things about the dining hall. Mold, infestations, overcooked or undercooked meat, and the like.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter and had been trying to get a dorm. It was a nightmare! They said give the paperwork two weeks, I gave it three and then went to the office to check on the progress of my paperwork. I was told *We'll contact you when we get to it.* So months went by when I had been trying to apply for dorming THAT SEMESTER. I go back in the summer, and ask them about the progress. I was talked about condescendingly while I was right there about me 'waiting so long' and then told that my paperwork was submitted into the wrong semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are average to other schools. Some professors, however, are such difficult graders and do not make the test comparable to the material, that they must grade on a curve and then curve on that curve!

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The School of Administrative Sciences Petrocelli College of Continuing Studies offers a very affordable way to get back into school and on your way to higher learning. Second to none.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the University

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered are applicable in the real world and relatable to most careers. I am taking the MAS program because I am an elected official and just about all of the courses being offered are topics that I dealt with during my tenure in the position.

    Tips for prospective students

    For returning students like myself, try and work closely with a Dean. I was fortunate to have Dr. Swanzey help me get back on track and he has been great. I know have a path for the completion of my BA and Graduate Degree.

    In three sentences

    The campus is conveniently located near NYC and other towns that host a variety of business for professional like myself. It has a diverse population and many options for continuing education and for returning students that were unable to complete the degree. However, it could use better access to public transportation, particularly train.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NY is just a couple of minutes away, take advantage of it. Go sight seeing. FDU is a dry campus so parties are rare. But get involved in Greek life. They have plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    JEEPERS! that place is great. the pizza there are delish. I spoke to upperclassmen, they told me it has hard times in the sub. but they have greatly improved. the food is OK, but definitely jeepers is the best.

    Dorm Life

    Well for me dorming is great. I met the most amazing girls ever. yes we have time we aren't on the same page but i they are great. The lindens provide a lot of privacy. Its a bit spaced out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great. You get to choose the time, if they are available at that certain time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very mindful of time management!

    In three sentences

    Academically the school is great. You learn so much, the professors are helpful as well. Just get involved in clubs and activities.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to face new challenges study hard but also enjoy yourself.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very big. It provides many opportunities for a variety of students. Also, many fun and exciting activities go on to keep you involved.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The professors are wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    I don't know because I do not live in that area.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live there.

    Academic Rigor

    There are challenges, but the content for my education/history programs defiantly will come in handy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to pay a lot, but you get a lot out of the program. Also, be mindful of your financial aid. The department is almost non-existent when you need help.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great. Very knowledgeable and interesting. The price is high, but worth it.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe, I walk around 3 am and feel safe. the campus safety is always there.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is everywhere and if you are interested there is one to meet your needs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs on campus, not all are about study related there is also active ones such as martial arts, soccer and rugby.

    Great for these types of students

    All types, from outgoing to shy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Greek life can be sound around campus doing many things from initiations to charity events.

    Bang for the buck

    If you take all that is offer from campus, you will get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Game room; friends dorms; Attend Semiramis, events; go to NYC.

    Food and Dining

    Something always different on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is an amazing experience

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing professor and courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time and take advantage of everything offer on campus.

    In three sentences

    Diverse Community. Amazing opportunities. Amazing professors.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Can't comment firsthand, but almost everything looks both fun and thought-provoking. I would like to see clubs established in the CCP schools.

    Great for these types of students

    Lovers of culture, Academically oriented, Artistic types, Teachers

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting my MA through the Community College Partnership, and I am saving thousands of dollars!

    What to do for fun

    Exercise classes (Cardio, Yoga, Pilates), Stress-busting seminars, films, famous guest speakers, cultural banquets and parties, and more are all on campus. The campus is very close to NYC-- the world is at your feet!

    Food and Dining

    See above-- I eat food from home!

    Dorm Life

    I live and go to class in Vineland, NJ, and I communicate with the Teaneck Campus through email, phone calls, and snail-mail. This is a fabulous money saver, but do I wish I could take part in the campus activities and job opportunities up there.

    Academic Rigor

    No class I've taken is an easy A. Required classes like the Global Challenge give a helpful introduction to college studies, while opening students' minds to thinking critically every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your finances straight, and know your plan-- what and how you're paying-- inside and out. Be prepared to do research-intensive, but rewarding work. Get to know the classmates in your Major, and help them whenever possible. They will come to your aid in more ways than you can imagine.

    In three sentences

    I am involved in the Community College partnership, and it is rigorous yet very cost-effective. The QUEST program is a great way for me to earn my MA within a year. The Teaching major has prepared me to hold my own in a classroom, even after the first semester.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe.

    Greek Life

    I may be interested in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I like the engineer club.

    Great for these types of students

    none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None at this time.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I feel I am getting the bang for my buck.

    What to do for fun

    I play sports and sometimes participate in the school activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent and plentiful.

    Dorm Life

    I like my dorm and I have a great roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor are nice and very helpful. Classes are tough but fair. I enjoy the variety of options of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the school first before applying. Join their facebook chat.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. I like the campus atmosphere and the community. I like pursuing my major at this school.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety located beside the dorms.

    What to do for fun

    There are many students' organizations on campus. And this is a international school thus you could find many international friends here.

    Tips for prospective students

    School is small, but you could be stand out in this manner.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school, either learning conditions or education quality.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always felt safe even after night classes

    What to do for fun

    Near New York City and all the malls

    Dorm Life

    Don't lnow I commute

    Academic Rigor

    Sciences courses are very intense especially Organic Chemistry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide on a major before spending all the money to come here. Unsure of a major go to a community college. Try to commute rather than dorm

    In three sentences

    Great list of majors to pursue. Great college in the Metropolitan area. Great science programs

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    After classes you can lounge with friends and meet new people. Another activity is to pick up a long-board or skate around campus. The gym is available to residents and commuters to play basketball or workout in the fitness room that holds many machines to improve your health and appearance. There are also music, drama, sports, environmental, etc. events and clubs all over campus. If none of these activities bring interest head down to the Knight Club and play pool or to the library and read a magazine or a comic book.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options to choose from in the cafeteria. Whether you are craving some Italian lasagna, ice cream, salad or sushi they are all there. Even though it is not your traditional food from home the quality is satisfying to a hungry stomach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and strive for your goals no matter the difficulties. Always maintain a positive attitude and confidence in yourself. Overcome the norm and impact lives around you.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University has a welcoming environment with a tremendous academic opportunity. Each individual has a positive and encouraging attitude towards their goals and dreams. Being a student at this University is one of the best decisions I have done in years.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit the wonderful library, Giovatto Library. To do some exercise or play any sport visit the Fitness Center

    In three sentences

    FDU is a university where it opens doors to the students. Professors willing to help the students, wonderful staff and faculty. Always trying to help in everything.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safer on this campus then I do in my own town.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on this campus is more based upon community service opposed to partying like it is known for.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a nice campus with friendly staff but i do not agreed with their tuition price

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty expensive but there are so many places just a few minutes away from campus to eat at

    Academic Rigor

    You will need to study, attend class and actually do the homework or else you will fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out with the minimum amount of credits because if you take on and do not do well then you can lose your scholarship

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not affiliated

    Greek Life

    Not affiliated

    Clubs and Activities

    National Collegiate Scholar.

    Great for these types of students

    I can't comment because I don't live on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't comment because I don't live on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    What I do for fun, after working all day, is taking my three (3) adoptive children out for a good time, whether its out to eat, movie, shopping. After taking care of two elderly sick parents whom also resides with me, my relaxation is to have a good night out with my girlfriends once a month by going out to dinner, and playing bingo.

    What to do for fun

    If you are talking about the campus life again, my input wouldn't matter because I don't live on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Providing false feedback would be wrong becaus I don't live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I can't comment about that.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is what a student makes it. As every college you can excel, pass or fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find what options are available for you before attending college. Do thorough research before making a decision.

    In three sentences

    The school is a great place to learn, their online program is just awesome. I can say that the school offers the same education to online students, as an attendee of the school campus. The school award opportunities to all. Which is find to be GREAT!!!!

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shop. Target and other stores are very close to the university.

    Food and Dining

    Once more from what I've seen on visit.

    Dorm Life

    Again from what I've seen on visit.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as I've heard. Don't attend yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit! I wasn't sold on this school until I visited. To see it in person will give you a whole new perspective.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh is a great size university. Fairleigh is in a convenient and busy city. Fairleigh is very welcoming.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am currently working two jobs just to help pay for the tuition so not much of fun time is available. At this point of time I have to concentrate on my education. The only fun i probably have is going to the Broadway plays the school offers for cheap.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very unhealthy. Most days I will just drink milk. And the dining is very expensive and out of budget.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is ok. I am only there to sleep and shower than I am on my way to work or school. The housing is very expensive and out of budget.

    Academic Rigor

    I am majoring in criminal justice so the education is good for me. Professors in my field have worked in the field rather than studied from books only. Experience is big for me because I want to hear their stories to inspire me.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that if you plan on coming to school here, either get good scholarships or be rich. This school is not cheap. However the education is worth it.

    In three sentences

    The campus and the professors are very good here, especially if you are majoring in criminal justice, this is your school. The food and housing is very expensive though. There are a lot of on campus jobs available and a good bus route.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're mainly looking for a private university with an extremely liberal curriculum, this is your place.

    Bang for the buck

    No. If you have the grades and the determination, head to a more prestigious school. Given that FDU is only $10k short of UPenn a year, why not aim for Ivy League?

    What to do for fun

    No idea...... I'd assume going to NY?

    Food and Dining

    Likewise, I don't live around the area.

    Dorm Life

    I would never pay to live here. Tuition is already ungodly.

    Academic Rigor

    I have no qualms with the academic study at this university. I currently have a 4.0 GPA, which I work hard to maintain. My professors push me to succeed and always give ample room for wonderful debates in class; a delightful experiment in the meeting of minds from all walks of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider another university. For the price you are paying for this place, you can surely get much more intellectual satisfaction from some place else. I am more than likely going to transfer.

    In three sentences

    I am completely underwhelmed with my experience at FDU. The professors are wonderful but the administrative crew? Prepare for headaches and a lingering taste of disgust in your mouth. Whether or not these men and women have become so jaded by their position sitting in a chair day-in/day-out is beyond my scope of understanding but bottom line? I'm dissatisfied.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    New students will encounter other students and even professors from all over the world and be privy to cultures they may have never heard of or been interested in before. Be prepared for a real college experience, not only in academics but in extracurricular activities and expectations.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University is a school I take pride in. The students, professors, and administration are diverse, friendly, and hold themselves to high standards. FDU is home to beautiful campuses and a multitude of opportunities.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a very active Public Safety program in place on campus. They are forceful, yet kind and understanding of students want to have a true college experience.

    Greek Life

    Very active and entertaining at social events and gatherings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and the students who run them do a very good job at promoting them. Cultural societies, academic societies, dance clubs etc. are great assets to the university.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who do not mind spending an immense amount of time in their dorm, spending money on ordering food, or not having much to do other than work, or spending money to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spending time in the Student Union Building is a tradition of sorts.

    Bang for the buck

    I spent enormous amounts of time in the financial aid office for plenty a reason. The tuition is not worth what the school offers. The dorm life is also expensive but does not look at all worth what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on or around campus. Although New York is only 10 miles or so away, if you do not have car it is very expensive to utilize public transportation and is also very complicated.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely terrible. It pushes most students to spend more money on ordering out.

    Dorm Life

    If you do not make very close friends with those you live with, you will be subject to a very drab on campus social experience. There are not many activities held on campus that are attended by most students.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year is very similar if not easier than high school. The main issue with grades is being able to conform to the teaching style of the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    As far as academics go Fairleigh Dickinson offers a lot but at the same time you must understand that its a private university that makes it extremely complicated to transfer when it comes to credits.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University Metropolitan Campus is a campus built for students who are way more interested in Academics than socializing. Sports participation is second value to the University. There is not much on campus to enjoy other than the Hackensack and Teaneck river, and close friends that actually do live on campus being that almost 60 percent commute.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the campus is an open campus so basically anybody can enter the security on campus is great. Public safety and Hackensack police are always patrolling the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clus too many to count. There is constant activities taking place on campus whether you are going to Broadway plays or spa day or the many activities clubs hold everyday.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are active in academics, athletics and campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive but worth it. They offer plenty of scholarship and grants.

    What to do for fun

    They are many things to do on campus. The campus is also 8 minutes away from New York which means you can always find something to do. There is about three malls by the school.

    Food and Dining

    The gourment dining experience is not that great but that is with every school. After while you do kind of get used to. There is a main cafeteria which is buffet style and a place called Jeepers were you can go and buy whatever you want like snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great and a lot of fun. There is 3 rooms to a suite and the suite share a bathroom so you don't have to share with the whole floor. There are housing staff that clean the bathroom and take out the garbage everday. Every room is provided with cable and Internet. Most importantly only 2 people per room.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic rigor all depends on your major. I am a criminal justice major and majority of my professors teach a class that they worked in so that makes it alot more easier to understand what they are teaching since they have experience in that field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please before you come to this school make sure you have your financial aid in order.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University is a great school for anyone who wants to go out and experince the world. At FDU you will meet people from all walks of life, you never your roommate might be from Norway. At FDU everyday is an adventure from the people you meet to who you will become.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the SUB :) Attend events

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your money in check, because this school is very expensive. Other than that, you'll have fun :)

    In three sentences

    FDU is not as bad as I thought it would be. The diversity is definitely a plus! I can definitely say I enjoyed my first year.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top Notch!

    Clubs and Activities

    Great way to meet people.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Join clubs and attend any type of events going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty good, especially the courts.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work pushes the student to excel but not too much that the student would be discouraged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your time wisely by using your journal or notepad so you can meet your academic goals. Pick your friends wisely because you need people who will lift you when times are hard and people who has ambitions and goals as well. Join club and events to get to know people. Its always good to have a mentor to help guide you because he or she is more experienced. Always plan yourself so you can have time for yourself. Lastly, be yourself no matter and have a positive attitude.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University is a very diverse school. It is one of the top safest college in New Jersey. The professors are always willing to help no matter what inorder for each student to achieve their academic goal.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good

    Greek Life

    they have a greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    they have clubs. nothing much else

    Great for these types of students

    commuters with money

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Way too expensive.. Love the teachers but am thinking of transferring. Makes me sad but we can't afford it, (even with $24,000 in financial aid and 6000 in government loans per year)

    What to do for fun

    You can join a club like other colleges but there is not really anything to do around the town. You would need a car to go to the movies at the mall. (It is open on sundays) but not the rest of the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Not good. Never see many people in there. Jeepers ( on campus dining) is run by the same people but it is has much better food. You can use your flex dollars or pay cash.

    Dorm Life

    Like I said previously, the dorms are comfortable enough but not worth the extra for kitchen privileges if you still have to buy a meal plan. Invest in a micro-fridge. Oh laundry is FREE!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and help is always there for you. If you show the effort, so will they.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your car. You might want to try renting an apartment or commuting. If you get a dorm with a kitchen, you still have to buy a meal plan which defeats the purpose of having a kitchen. Be aware there is a blue law in Bergen county which means the malls are closed on sundays.

    In three sentences

    The professors are wonderful and extremely helpful and really care about you. The food in the cafeteria is not great and there is nothing to do on the weekends because it is a suitcase school. If you want a school where the professors benover backwards for you then this is a great school; if you are looking to meet a lot of friends and having fun, whell try another school

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    On- Line student, I do not have a frame of reference.

    Dorm Life

    On- Line student, I do not have a frame of reference.

    Academic Rigor

    If there are areas that you may need additional assistance with, there are resources on campus and on line for you to take advantage of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework. Be prepared to make the investment of time and money. Ask questions, the advisors with the FDU Success Program are great.

    In three sentences

    I am an adult learner taking advantage of the on-line program. So far it has been a great experience. Anyone who thought they were too old to go back to school, think again.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety does a tremendous job keeping students and faculty safe.

    Greek Life

    All Greek life have come back to this campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 70 student organizations and growing. There is a club for every one to join and participate in!

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who love diversity and are open to many different cultures - such as international studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many animals on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You will make your experience here at FDU. I have been given many great opportunities to attend United Nations forums and even meet the President of the United States - Barack Obama. It is all what you make it!

    What to do for fun

    FDU is right outside of New York City. Manhattan is always a great time!

    Food and Dining

    There are several dining options for students, and there are numerous places to eat within the Paramus and Bergen County area at large.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my living opportunity at FDU!

    Academic Rigor

    Every class room is small, and students have direct access to professors at any time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and search for scholarship opportunities to assist tuition cost.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University is a private institution filled with diversity and opportunity. Its focus on global education allows students of all backgrounds to fill at home - whether commuter or international student. I have grown to love this university.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always feel safe at Fairleigh Dickinson because our public safety is the best of the best

    Clubs and Activities

    No matter who you are or what you're interested you can find a club that will catch your interest.

    What to do for fun

    The activity level at this school is at a all time high. You can never have anything to do at Fairleigh Dickinson University.

    Food and Dining

    Their are many food options at Fairleigh Dickinson. You can choose to eat at the Student Union Building or eat at any local fast-food location near the school.

    Dorm Life

    From what I heard the dorm life at Fairleigh Dickinson is fun. Everyday is an adventure.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level at Fairleigh Dickinson University is high. This school holds the best education money can buy.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University is an amazing school where you get the best education and you feel right at home doing it. The diversity is amazing and you fit in very quickly. Fairleigh Dickinson welcomes you into our community with open arms and a warm heart.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't lose tract and study everyday!

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson university is Fairly appropraite. Not the Best looking college but the academics are better here than Rutgers. So i've heard, Fairleigh Dickinson Makes better nurses.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    All the clubs and activities here are available to anyone. I am in this club called Barkada which is a Filipino club and it opens up to anyone even though you are not Filipino and it is just a way to learn about the Filipino heritage and its great history and more importantly just have fun! New friends to meet, intramural activities to play, and food!

    What to do for fun

    There's a fitness center located here for anyone in their free time to shoot basketballs, play some pool, work out, study, and overall just have a fun time and relax with all your friends there. There are many clubs as well as intramural activities opened to anyone who's willing to enjoy the college experience and meet new friends along the way. There is a restaurant called Jeepers and it just a place to hang out with friends, relax, have some hot meals and enjoy the college life.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is excellent and is top of the notch. I am a commuter here but when I do decide to have some food at the campus there is a great variety available. Not only meals from the cafeteria but also in this restaurant called Jeepers where they serve many hot meals to the students and faculty members there, as well as a variety of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm and I am a commuter here.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairleigh Dickinson offers plenty of academic programs and scholarships and is taken very seriously. There are many majors to choose from and within that major are classes necessary to take. The classes are pretty small and not too crowded which means more one on one time with your professor if needed any help and will not be secluded to just being that student to your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    To anyone in the future aiming to attend Fairleigh Dickinson University, work to your fullest potential, take all your academics seriously and never skip class, if you need any help always contact an advisor or professor and they will help you right away, and most importantly do your best to keep all your grades up and build a bigger and brighter future for yourself.

    In three sentences

    The professors here are really genuine and helpful and are willing to take the time to help you if you are struggling in any academic fields. The students here are friendly and are easy to make friends with as soon as you start your freshman year here. The school may be expensive and tough to pay for, but with the help of financial aid and scholarships to work hard for the less stress you will have in paying tuition.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres Greek life, sports, clubs, NYC is a bus ride away! There's so much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Get the smallest meal plan and just get the fridge and microwave in your room. The food is inedible half the time.

    Dorm Life

    Live in Northpointe!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips, study! Don't get caught up in the NYC night life and neglect your education. Also, get involved in greek life or clubs, sports, etc.

    In three sentences

    FDU is a great school academically. The professors are always willing to give an extra helping hand if you need it. The staff in financial aid and enrollment is a nightmare, but once you get past them, it's an awesome school.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Beautiful. Amazing. Perfect.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I go to the Fitness Center and exercise and play basketball. Most of the time I spend my time with the women's basketball team at practice or recording games as a manager.

    Food and Dining

    The food has many selections, but it can be the same type of selection for a couple of days. Most of the chefs prepares the food well but there are a couple that constantly burn the food. Overall the food is good and when you are hungry for breakfast, you can cook your own food at 6 or 8'o'clock at night. There's a healthy food section and a section to cook your own food if a student gets tired if his or her food.

    Dorm Life

    Dormitory varies depending whether you live in the Lindens, University Courts, or North Pointe. Each dorm has it's problems but the best living experience is North Pointe buts it's costly. The Lindens is the cheapest living residence but has more students in a suite room, and the University courts are in the mid-range with 1-3 students in each room.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are difficult depending on your knowledge level of the material being presented. Engineering classes are rigorous if you don't understand the material at all, some professors make a student learn the hard way by failing him or her of she or he doesn't proceed to attend help. Then there's other professors that will gladly help students who struggle to pass the class. The nursing program is difficult but the most rigorous program is the engineering/engineering technology program.

    Tips for prospective students

    The higher a student scores on his or her SATs the better he or she will be applying to FDU because the school gives more money out to students with high academic excellence.

    In three sentences

    Fairleigh Dickinson University has many am expectations for students wanting learn and become one of the best journalists, photographers, engineers, nurses, or even psychologists. FDU helps students to succeed in several ways that most of the professors try his or her best to help students. One problem about FDU is that the cost is too high when that money should be used to fund books for students, better dormitory, and school equipment.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has awesome foods just that it's expensive rather go dining outside of campus.

    Dorm Life

    It's awesome you'll enjoy the campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and love the university core classes challenges the students to think outside the box.