Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fairmont State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/05/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for students who can't afford to attend a college where they will have to spend more than 10,000 dollars a year on their education for the year. It's an out of the way college where the campus is clean and offer a variety of activities. Plus its only a half four away from Morgan town and the mecca of activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    The more involved you are in the process of your education the more you will get out of it. Call and talk to all of your assigned advisers.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition and living expenses are very reasonable, they are the second best in the state in comparison with any other university, and the quality of the education is not sacrificed for the price. Plus, the financial aid department are extremely helpful in finding ways to help cover the cost of attendance.

    Will enjoy being here

    There are plenty of on campus activities that happen every week, as well as clubs, and student groups.

    Will learn a lot

    The employment rate for graduating students from thier chemisrty program is 100%. The students at Fairmont are intelligent young people and I am confident that I will be able to learn from the intsructers.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Aside from the campus police who drive around in their decked out dodge avengers, who are very helpful by the way, security drives around in golf cars throughout the parking garage periodically. Car trouble? I'm sure they'll help. And in the very rare, off chance that you are being followed, attacked, or whatever, there are many emergency....towers? I guess that's what you'd call them. They kind of look like phone booths. They're yellow and they have an emergency button. There's like five around campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not in a fraternity or sorority, but they are there. I've seen them.

    Clubs and Activities

    FSU has lots of sport teams, clubs, sororities, fraternities, whatever, you name it. There's a lot of activities too. In the Falcon Center, you can take spinning classes, yoga classes, zumba classes. Plays are constantly being put on. For some reason, ultimate Frisbee is really popular at FSU. There's always a bake sale or some informational booth set up. The activities are endless.

    Great for these types of students

    FSU is great for ALL types of students. That's the wonderful thing about college. In high school, there were cliques and whatnot, but college is different. Everyone gets along with everyone. Well, at least it seems that way at FSU. No one is judged. The gay kid, he fits in. The girl who's really smart and talks way too much in class, she fits in. There's no bullying. Everyone can make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bell on campus. A large medal bell that sits on the ground behind the fountain in the middle of campus. People paint this bell, quite often. Monday, it could be blue representing some fraternity and Friday it could be pink, saying Save the ta-tas! Anyone could paint the bell. You want to paint the bell? Sign up, and paint it. I can't really think of any unusual locations.

    Bang for the buck

    All college is, let's face it, pretty expensive. But, FSU has about what I would judge to be average tuition. It's a good campus with lots of resources so it's a good place to spend your money. And you can use online resources like Cappex to help you get some financial help.

    What to do for fun

    Two words. Falcon Center. The FC is the social/dining/gym place. People go there to eat, hang out, study, finish homework, and work out. FSU has a pretty awesome fitness facility. There's a pool, two basketball courts, a track, and a weight room. When I think of what to do for fun on campus, I automatically think Falcon Center.

    Food and Dining

    HALELUJAH PRAISE THE LORD! High school food, to be quite frank, sucked. Am I right? I'm right. College food is no five star restaurant meal, but it's some pretty good chow. FSU has a small food court in the Falcon Center. However, I like to eat upstairs in the cafeteria. All you can eat for seven dollars. Yes, an all you can eat buffet for only. Seven. Bucks. The food up there is seriously pretty good too. All hail college lunch. And if you want to go somewhere off campus for lunch, it's pretty convenient. McDonald's, Wendy's, Burger King, Subway, and some local restaurants are close by.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in a dorm; I commute. However, the dorms are pretty nice and totally convenient. You could sleep in a little longer and go to the library whenever you want!

    Academic Rigor

    Most freshman have to take the same classes. English, a math, Info 1100 (computer competency), and maybe some classes pertaining to your major. Collge classes are more difficult & more time consuming than high school classes! Make sure you manage your time well, and once again, use your professors! If you're having trouble, ask for assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Oh, my. There's so much I'd like to say to upcoming students. First, I was surprised at how much stuff is online. Not only for your online courses, and you'll probably end up taking a few, but math. I think pretty much all math classes use math labs plus, which is helpful but also a pain in the bottom. So, be expecting to use the Internet, and if you're not too computer savvy, now's the time to work on that. In all seriousness, go to class. Your professors might not care, but you will when you fail your class. One of the things I learned right off the bat was USE YOUR PROFESSORS! They really do want to help you. Go see them in their office. Talk to them after class. Ask your english professor to read over your essay and see if he/she has any suggestions. Don't be shy, professors are one of the best resources college has to offer. Speaking of resources, you'll probably be spending a lot of time in the library....please don't be one of those annoying people who talk on the third floor where you're supposed to be quiet. That is all.

    In three sentences

    FSU is a pretty small sized school; which I love! The professors at FSU are very helpful with managing your time if you let them be. Overall, I think FSU is a great school.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police station is located in the food areas and respond very quickly. Also the hospital is only 100 feet away which is a good safe thing for students.

    Greek Life

    I can't speak about this cause I'm not a geek..LOL!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many...If you can't find a club or activity that you like or want to join then something is wrong. All clubs and activities are free most of the time. If not they are very reasonable!!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will fit in. There are all sorts of things that can be great but really that depends on you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really unusual or location that stands out.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairmont also has a list where you can get free lunches. One free lunch is down the street from the campus. Bus rides are free including going to other counties. My rent is very reasonable, its not far from the school you just have to shop around and compare. People from the town are very helpful as well!!!

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people and try to be social.

    Food and Dining

    Food is OK, that depends on your taste but, there is a lot of selection,. I love the wraps and Ice cream shop. Also fairmont has international food from around the world that is very good which, they have every so often plus, cookouts and snacks free, sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    I have my own apartment. I don't live in a Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Right now i have a 3.4 yet I know I will raise that up with courage and strength. It is very hard for me but if I can do academically anyone can. Don't ever say can't!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work within your limits and know your limits.

    In three sentences

    I really like the school. I'm disabled student however, my professors works with me hand and hand along with disability services. Everyone sees that I'm trying and helps me, that works with with my disability.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety could be much better. The campus sends you messages when something dangerous is going on, on campus. Except I always receive my texts 4 hours later and I already know what is happening because my friends get to me before the campus safety text.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Thursday night is when everyone goes out! A lot of the students like to go to Morgantown on the weekends! It's only 15 minutes away.

    Bang for the buck

    Go to class, ask questions! Teachers don't fail you because they want too!

    What to do for fun

    Go to football games, basketball games. Just be involved and anything can be fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food service isn't the best, and after awhile you'll be over the food because it's all the same stuff. Fairmont does have a very good breakfast menu.

    Dorm Life

    For incoming Freshmen do not live in Bryant Place, even though it's the nicest dorm, it gets lonely. Bryant Place it is very secluded and it's very hard to make new friends, mostly upper class lives there.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is set high for Fairmont State. Every teacher excepts you to come to class on time and ready to learn. All of my teachers do not except late work, which is understandable because we are getting ready to learn a career that we will be doing for the rest of our life. Every teacher goes by their syllabus and hardly ever changes it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take any night classes as a freshmen, it's very hard to get use too. Also go to class! You won't have your parents telling you to go anymore, and most professors do not care to fail you after youve missed 3 classes!

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State is a perfect size for people who are looking for a medium sized school. Academics are taken as a joke at Faimont. Very fun campus life!

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around. You'll see them in their cars or just walking around. Generally, you'll see them putting tickets on cars, to be honest so watch where you park. But the campus is well lit at night and there's a good number of emergency call stations around campus. They are usually willing to walk you to your car at night if you feel uneasy. That being said, there are some break-ins that occur during the year so if you live in a dorm or apartment make sure you keep your doors locked as tightly as you can.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want a place that is simple to get around and easy to fit into. The campus layout is easy to remember and that majority of students are very accepting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a bell on campus that is repeatedly painted over by the different sororities and fraternities.

    Food and Dining

    There's two places to get food on campus. The Starbucks in the library and in the Falcon Center. The Starbucks of course sells different coffees and lattes but they also sell food that is in to go containers that were prepared at the schools cafeteria. Within the Falcon Center on the second floor there is the Nickel which has some typical fast food like pizza, cheese sticks, and french fries. Also it has coolers full of different drinks. The Nickel is basically a convenience store. On the second floor there is also two other places to get food. The third and final floor of the Falcon Center is where the cafeteria is. There's tons of food to choose from up there. There's daily soup, a salad bar, desert bar, and different cereals. There's places to get cheeseburgers or chicken sandwiches made along with a lot of other options. It is relatively well priced as well.

    Dorm Life

    There's newer dorms and older dorms and if you're a freshman then you really don't get a whole lot of say as to where you'll be. The dorms themselves are relatively nice.

    Academic Rigor

    How hard the classes are really depends on what you take. If you take classes that seem simple then they probably will be, but if you take difficult classes be ready to work. I have taken several classes that are challenging. As challenging classes tend to be, they were also the most rewarding in terms of how much I learned and grew.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips: -Contact your advisor early and often. You'll want to get your schedule done as soon as you can so you have the best chance of getting the classes you need. - If you advisor won't answer you then contact the Student Registrar and they'll find you someone more willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    FSU is a great place to learn, grow, and challenge yourself. Though a small university it has a lot of options for its students to develop.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is great for those that want to apply but not for me.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not had the time to join clubs due to studying however I look forward to seeing what activities is available.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students that don't want to have a campus that is spread all over the place. Everything is centrally located.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not too bad however, books are very expensive and when you are trying to pay for everything yourself it makes it tough.

    What to do for fun

    We have had flag football games, hung out with friends, and like to go eat at the falcon center.

    Food and Dining

    I am a very picky eater however, the cooking staff are always willing to cook something I like.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorm. We have alot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging however, I am learning a great deal and am fascinated at how the teachers teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are wanting to come to Fairmont then you should visit and see for yourself how everything is located and what a great campus it is.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. Everything I need is here. The best part is that I dont have to drive to get from one location to the next.

  • 04/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sledding during the winter, engage in on campus activities that are year round, go swimming in the pool or relax in the Jacuzzi, or enjoy parties held by students all around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring lots of coats for the winter. Join a sorority or fraternity for endless networking. Get as close to your professors as possible.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont state university is extremely easy to adjust to. The environment on campus is filled with excitement an constant action. Also the school as a whole has strong leaders who make the academic environment competitive in order to ensure the idea of never ending learning.

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    independent and sure what you want to do

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning do aviation studies,please note that it is about 45 minutes from the main campus and there is no direct transportation.so if you dont have a car dont go.

    Bang for the buck

    Not a bang for your buck they make it only seem that way a lot of hidden cost.They fine all kinds of ways to bill you from the housing department and ther is no one to talk to about it.

    Will learn a lot

    yes you will a lot if you are not a learning disabled student and need the help.Its not a school for learning disabled student.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm from a small school (40 in the high school) so I picked this school because the smaller classroom setting would be closer to the environment that I am used to.

    Bang for the buck

    Price isn't bad. It's not as low as a tech school or anything, but I really can't answer this question well because I haven't seen the bang, or for that matter the exact buck either.

    Will enjoy being here

    I haven't actually gone to school there yet, but when I have gone to visit, I enjoyed it!

    Will learn a lot

    Yeah, I really think I will learn a lot because of the small classes and professors that are actually interested in their students individually.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Best price for those looking to go to college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dorms are fun. Sign up early to make sure you get a room.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are great and everyone is willing to work with you.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do here. I love to attend the football games and work out at the gym. WVU is close by and I have a few high school friends there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is the school for you before making a commitment. The dorms are definitely not what was expected!!!

    In three sentences

    It isn't cracked up to what we thought it would be. The sorority is fun in the beginning but once you're in they aren't so nice afterwards. There is a lot of money involved with little communication as to what it's for.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    great food

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for 4 days in the summer and it was great.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Really a great place for the amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do on campus and also very beautiful campus! There is a main building that includes a gym to work out in, basketball courts, a track, places to eat, and a swimming pool all inside!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and also very fast!

    Dorm Life

    I have heard dorm life is great, but I am a single mom so i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should tour the school and see what it has to offer. Some people do not like a small, quiet campus, but it is a great place to further your life at.

    In three sentences

    I love everything about Fairmont State University. The fact that I can take classes on campus, online, or on many other campuses makes getting to class a lot easier. The small class sizes are also a huge plus.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my time there, very little has happened and I've had a safe time.

    Great for these types of students

    All types, if you're a quiet student like me, you'll be fine, but students who love company will probably be good as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Falcon Center is an awesome building with a cafeteria, general store, book store, and exercise area with a pool and a hot tub.

    Bang for the buck

    Over all, it's been worth it, but you might need scholarships

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, and many of the dorms have a common area with a pool table and TV. There's also the Falcon Center, which has a large exercise area were you can work out and have fun. It also has a large pool and a hot tub.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is excellent, with very good food and wide variety of it. There's also a small food store and a sub/Mexican food place as well. Both of these can be paid for with money put on your card and are very good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are generally quiet, but can get a bit hot at times. The people are generally friendly, but sometimes there are fire drills at annoying times. But generally, pretty enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't hard, though it varies by teacher, but they're demanding, you need to apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be committed, the classes aren't that hard, but they're still a bit demanding. Be friendly, the people here are friendly, so make friends if you can. Speak with the teachers often, they will help you but only if you ask.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State University has good teachers who are fun and good at their job. The students at Fairmont State are fun and helpful. Fairmont State has a wide variety of classes.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bell on campus that all the clubs, frats, and sororities on campus paint.

    What to do for fun

    The Falcon Center also has a pool. There are always activities going on around campus: movies, dances, plays, etc. Also we're very close to a lot of outside entertainment sources.

    Food and Dining

    We have quite a variety of food available, with three different food establishments, plus the mini convenience store, and in the Falcon Center.

    Dorm Life

    The only real problem with dorm life is the fire-alarm issue with Byrant. Its so sensitive dust sets it off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a single room and Bryant, or room with a friend to avoid the roommate blues.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The professors really care and want you to succeed. There are multitudes of class options.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International student, wv residents, everyone really

    Bang for the buck

    I cannot say anything for certain because I haven't finished. All tuition is to expensive.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many opprotunities for down time. As well as clubs. Making friends in this environment is very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. The only doub question is the one you didn't ask.

    In three sentences

    Fsu is a wonderful school for students who like small class rooms. The professors are very attentive as well as helpful. I love all the staff, everyone is willing to help as long as your willing to help yourself.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Fairmont State. There is security every where. If you have a late class and you are scared all you have to do is call and someone will walk you to your dorm.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun on campus. Fairmont has an awesome gym and pool everyone can enjoy. They have all kinds of games and plays you can attend as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is a very nice environment. You see fellow classmates. You can study and be interactive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very cool. You get to meet new people every day. Everyone is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The adcademic rigor is very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just to study hard and go for your dreams.

    In three sentences

    Is a very nice campus. Everyone is very helpful and nice. Its a great environment to be in.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police is very slow reacting, they seem to zoom around for dumb stuff but take a million years for anything of notice. Luckily the campus is usually safe anyway because there's nothing ever going on.

    Greek Life

    they suck, theres no brotherhood in the greek life here, all they do is get drunk and fight. I dont even know what the sororities do

    Clubs and Activities

    most of them are irritating christian groups or a few pathetic local frats

    Great for these types of students

    People who drive, live in nearby cities and towns, or commuter kids who dont need to stay on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the bell in the center of campus is often painted by different frats but can be painted by any student ran organization. Its like what tagging was back in the day.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money the students pay to go here, you think the people in charge would put more of it into the school but that doesnt happened. The classes are easy, the dorms need an upgrade, and the office is a joke. This school sells itself as a great school for anyone but is actually a school who doesn't give a damn unless you live close by or are overqualified.

    What to do for fun

    well, if you dont have a car you better meet someone who does. only thing to do here is Drink, Smoke, Chill in the dorms or go to one of the extremely few school parties or the terrible and stupid house parties

    Food and Dining

    The Caf sucks most of the time. it closes really early and usually throws the students off. Dinner (4-6) The nickle downstairs is pretty much what they serve in the cafe on good days you gotta pay. there are some kool snacks and drinks though.

    Dorm Life

    Pence: Cool Dorm, where all the urban folks & thieves usually end up ( can get pretty wild and you gotta remember to slam your door closed to make sure its locked) People all over campus come to this dorm to chill, relax and connect with friends. Pritchard: the honor dorms this year and pretty strict but got kitchens, ovens and all of those cool amenities) quiet during the night Bryant Place: The Suites ( like being in an apartment) people dont really connect at all like in other dorms. its really quiet and stuffy

    Academic Rigor

    Classes arnt hard, some require alot of work but its easy stuff

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a Car, Money, A trunk to lock your stuff in. Bring an open mind, i ran into a lot of ignorant racist idiots who don't even know how offensive they are.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont state does not represent the great state of West Virginia . They have ripped off many hard working students and rewarded failing party kids. I really hate the politics of this school but the campus is pretty nice.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A list of campus security and safety numbers is posted in every classroom and every hallway in every building. Security vans can often be seen traversing campus. Fairmont State University has a rather small campus, however, so feelings of safety and security are high.

    Greek Life

    Campus life at Fairmont State University can be very exciting if students choose to take advantage of it. There is something for everyone. For those interested in health and fitness, the Falcon Center is equipped with a large gym (that includes an indoor walking/running track) and swimming pool. For those who love English and literature, an annual Haiku Death Match is held at Wallman Hall and several poetry readings occur.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fairmont State offers an array of clubs from international student groups to numerous technology clubs. No matter your interest or major, you will be able to find a group or club. Clubs are typically run by students with a faculty adviser. There is always some kind of activity happening on campus whether it is World's Fair, music session, or sporting event.

    Great for these types of students

    FSU is very nontraditional student friendly. Classes are often over a wide range of times including night classes and Saturdays classes. This is very ideal for people who have jobs, children, or other personal responsibilities. However, FSU is also very traditional student friendly with its high energy levels and young vibe. I would also recommend this school for students who like a more one-on-more learning environment as the classes tend to be smaller than traditional universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual tradition I have partaken in something called the Milton-thon. This event takes place every fall semester in the student lounge in the library and is open to the public. All participants gather around copies of John Milton's Paradise Lost and read aloud for ten hours straight!

    Bang for the buck

    I am very satisfied with my decision to attend Fairmont State University for my undergraduate study. My advisers and professors are nothing but eager to aid me in my journey to further my education. The University offers unlimited opportunities for students to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Emails are sent out regularly informing students of fun activities going on around campus. An annual Falcon Idol contest is held in the Falcon Center along with a poster sale. Students can also enjoy musicians playing in the Falcon Center frequently.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of options for dining are offered at FSU including a cafeteria that provides plenty of choices from pizza to baked chicken with specific operating hours. A fan favorite among students and faculty alike seems to be The Nickel. The Nickel is a little dining station that serves hot food, such as cheese fries and mozzarella sticks, cold food, such as salads and sandwiches, and beverages. If you have some time to kill in between classes there are plenty of restaurants around town that are close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak about dorm life from personal experience because I chose to commute to and from campus, but dorm life at FSU seems to be pretty typical of other universities. Students are randomly paired with a roommate, though the school does accept requests until a certain date. Honors students have the choice of dorm suites which include three bedrooms, a common room, and a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Fairmont State University are always challenging and stimulating. However, if I ever felt overloaded and too stressed out over a class or project, my professors always made themselves available to me. Frequently I met with professors to discuss, revise, and improve projects, term papers, and presentations.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend all prospective students take a tour of the university before the semester begins in order to become more acquainted with building locations, students services, and parking facilities. Meeting with your appointed adviser and potential professors before scheduling classes is also a very good idea. This will provide you with insight on what classes you need to take to stay on track for your degree and also give you some insight on good class combinations and the type of coursework you can expect.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State University is a very satisfying school to attend. It has a very close knit vibe and very accessible student services. I do not regret and have never questioned my decision to attend FSU.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot around here. Residence life offers many programs and movies to attend, but outside of campus anything to do is a good 20 or 25 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here! Aladdin offers lots of choices everyday. They have everything from healthy eating options to hotdogs and ice cream. The snack store and Starbucks are overpriced, though, and the cafeteria's hours are a little inconvenient.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun and the RA's are personal and caring. I recommend Prichard Hall for academically inclined students and Morrow or Pence for a louder, more busy atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Every teacher that I've had cares about their students and all advisers are dedicated to helping students move forward. The classes are smaller than many schools which makes it easier to connect with teachers. Students lack motivation, however.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend living on campus and joining the honors program if you can! It can get boring around here so I also recommend joining an organization. Schedule as early as possible and try to buy books online or borrow from a friend, the bookstore prices are outrageous.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State University is a small, lovely campus. The local area leaves a lot to be desired, but Morgantown is a short drive for students who like to go out on weekends. Dorm life is wonderful and the campus offers a lot of programs academically.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that patrol the grounds and come to students aid when we call. They are open 24/7.We also have a clinic that is open Monday through Friday.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who want to have small classes. If you want to get your degree at a place that is totally devoted to you, Fairmont State University is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    School clubs and organizations can paint the Victory Bell that rests in one of the quads. I swear, that thing looks different every day!

    Bang for the buck

    I love it here. The professors and academic advisors are always watching your back. The library also carries DVDs that students can borrow for a week. They have films that range from sci-fi (AvP) to tragic romance (The Phantom of the Opera).

    What to do for fun

    We have trick or treating, a carnival, and a haunted house on campus during Halloween. We have a Mardi Gras celebration during the spring. The RA's in the dorm's do their own things: game night, movie night, tie-dye. There is Homecoming. Comedians and bands even perform in the dining hall some weeks!

    Food and Dining

    There is always a good selection. Throughout the week, new dishes are served. However, if you are not adventurous, you can stick to comfort food. Grilled cheese all the way! You can eat in the dining room or get take out. its your choice.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on where you stay. Pence Hall is the athletic dorm. It contains mostly guys. Prichard Hall is for those students that participate in the Honors Program. Its the brainy dorm. I cannot really say anything about Morrow Hall except that it is the oldest dorm. Bryant is pretty nice. It is a suite-style place; yu have singles and doubles. You can have your own room. However, it is about $1000 more expensive than the other halls.

    Academic Rigor

    I study a lot! I guess it all depends on what your major is. If its something that involves science, expect lots of reading and homework. You will be challenge. But that's always good; I feel all warm and fuzzy when I accomplish a hard task.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. While the professors are open to helping students, they also expect the students to put forth an effort. If you want to have your own place, apply for Bryant Place; it has single suites (four people share a bathroom, but have their own bedrooms). If your more concerned for expenses, apply to one of the other resident halls.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State University is a college that is devoted to its students. Tutoring is available and several locations, and professors are always willing to help their students. Security is a big thing on campus; if you have a night class, the campus police are always willing to escort you.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, laid back, open-minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bell that is painted for fun, and it's like a game to all the different clubs or groups.

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING You literally have to make up your own fun or drive somewhere to have fun. The dorm halls have pool tables, there is a gym to work out at and sometimes the school has little fun things to do, as well as Residence Life who put on programs for the student body. There is a movie theatre within twenty minutes, and a mall about thirty minutes away each way.

    Food and Dining

    While everyone else hates the food, I absolutely love it. The staff is just amazing, they are far more friendly than my high school cafeteria staff and the man in charge is very open to suggestions which is just great.

    Dorm Life

    Could be improved, but everyone is doing their best and that's enough for me.

    Academic Rigor

    There are definitely better schools than FSU, and it's not known for being a party school, unlike WVU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to change. Be polite. GO TO CLASS.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State University has yet to realize its full potential and has yet to bloom into the beautiful flower it could be. Some areas of the college are very close, very helpful, and very welcoming, while others are distant and cold. Students and faculty are the same way: some are nice, and some aren't. Definitely great for small class sizes, instead of 300 you'll have 40 at the most.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can take pride in the campus' safety. It has many campus security officers and other police officers who work around the clock to protect the campus and everyone on it. The campus has many emergency phones all over the grounds for your safety.

    Greek Life

    There are so many greeks in on campus that I couldn't name them all if I tried. They have one for all kinds of different types of students. Joining one will be not only fun, but very beneficial to your time at the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs at Fairmont State. In fact, I challenge everyone to find at least one club that you are interested in joining. Participating in a club in college looks great on your resume when trying to get a job in the future. However, you want to find a club that is somewhat related to your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Although Fairmont State is an excellent school for just about every type of student, it excels in students looking to go into the medical field. Whether your interest be nursing, health care, or pre-med, it has one of the best medical programs of any school in West Virginia.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are well worth the money. They are also quite affordable and you will have plenty of scholarship opportunities through the school.

    What to do for fun

    The most fun thing to do at Fairmont State is go to the Falcon Center. It has two gyms with basketball courts, a huge work out area, and even a swimming pool. It is also where all of the campus food is found. There is a cafeteria, and then there is a little store called the nickel with plenty of good food, drinks, and snacks. The Falcom Center has something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Fairmont State offers a variety of meal plans to people living on or off campus. The food is decent and quite affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is one of the best parts of college. Not only is it a way to make new friends, but it makes it easy to get to class on time. It is also a great way to have a place for you and your roommate(s) to find study groups.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Fairmont State University are great. There are many opportunities for a vast number of majors. The instructors set you up to pass, but also make the courses challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the worst things you can do in college is to not study. Even if you believe you know the material, it is best to set aside time for studying in every subject. Also, do not skip class! Skipping one class in college is like skipping two or three in high school.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State University is a great college with amazing learning opportunities. The majority of the classes have small capacities for students, meaning a better chance of one on one learning with the instructor. This is always helpful.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fairmont State University is great for students seeking a smaller school. The classes are little generally having only 30 or so students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bell outside of the Education/ Health Services building that has about a million layers of paint on it. That's because each week a different group/ club paints it with their logo in the middle of the night.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some event on campus and plenty of emails informing and reminding students of them. There are typical events such as plays, speakers, and sporting events. However, there are also events such as an annual Falcon Idol and a weekly Comedy Club which allow students to showcase their talents or just have fun. On top of that there are so many clubs/ groups to join on campus. There are some Christian groups which help spread the word of God on campus by offering Bible Studies and various other activities. There is the Student Psychological Association (of which I am a part) that organizes fundraisers for groups such as Hope, Inc and Genesis Youth Crisis Center and organizes displays for various events such as World Suicide Prevention Day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is campus is excellent! There are two options for eating: The cafeteria and The Nickel. The cafeteria offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A variety of food is offered at every meal (breakfast ranges from breakfast sandwiches to eggs to waffles, lunch and dinner range from pasta to home cooked meals to ice cream). During Thanksgiving and Christmas, there is even an all you can eat buffet. The cafeteria is open long, convenient hours working with any hectic student schedule. There is also plenty of seating including tables, booths, and outdoor tables. For students who only have a few minutes to grab some food in between classes The Nickel exists. It is a small convenience shop that sells foods such as sandwiches, slices of pizza, chicken wings, and salads.

    Dorm Life

    I only live roughly 20 minutes from campus so I have chosen to commute the last four years. From what I hear, however, dorm life is excellent. RAs are generally friendly and lenient and switching dorm/ suite mates is a breeze if a problem arises.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairmont State University is staffed by intelligent and experienced professors. The majority of them have real life experience in the fields they teach making class more interesting, satisfying, and beneficial. Classes are intellectually challenging and fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip for prospective students would be to spend your freshman year completing general studies requirements. I recommend this even for students who have declared a major or know what they would like to study. There is nothing more frustrating than beginning your FINAL semester and still having general studies requirements to complete. My second tip is to meet your academic adviser frequently- at least twice a semester. This is especially important when it comes to scheduling as, not matter how well you believe you are scheduling your classes on your own, chances are you probably aren't. Advisers generally know best when it comes to scheduling especially since your adviser will most likely be teaching one or more of the classes you will be taking. My final tip is to remember to enjoy the next two-four years. Although college is a stressful and hectic time it is also an awesome and rewarding time. It is the perfect time to figure out what you want to do with the rest of your life. It's also the perfect time to figure out the person you wish to become and reflect on who you've been. I encourage you to try new things. Take a sculpting class, attend a seminar for a class you're not even taking, try out for the semester's play. You never know what passions or talents you may have.

    In three sentences

    Fairmont State University is an academically challenge school with excellent staff and faculty members. Its small size gives it a very welcoming and homey atmosphere. It is perfect for transitioning from high school to college.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town, small classes. Lots of one on one if needed.

    Bang for the buck

    couple of different malls in the area, good restaurants around are good places to eat off campus. Fairmont's sports teams are good and are interesting to watch. Basketball's team is doing good this year.

    What to do for fun

    Morgantown. Your right outside of Morgantown which is where WVU is located. Falcon center offers lots of activities there on campus. exercise equipment, indoor tract, lots of basketball, pin pong etc..

    Food and Dining

    Food is great!

    Dorm Life

    some dorms are old and crappy. Apply early to get the better dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very nice and helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and apply for housing early to get the better dorm.

    In three sentences

    Faculty is helpful and very nice. Small University. Falcon center is nice and has lots to offer.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    around the clock security and emergency boxes around campus and in the parking garage. One phone call to campus police and they will be there in no time at all. They take safety VERY seriously.

    Greek Life

    The sororities and fraternities are always hosting some type of event for all of the students on campus which is really great, they really help bring the college community together.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join and they all do many different activities. There's a club for almost everything here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an unusual tradition: There's a bell that's like a miniature of the Liberty bell in front of one of the buildings and every night one of the fraternities or sororities paint the bell and the pedestal its on to support something or for a holiday, its great seeing the bell every morning, because its always different. The art students also (when its nice) will show case their amazing artwork outside which is great to see while walking to class. Cant forget about the fountain in front of the library, everyone loves to sit on the walls around it an hang out or even study.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on main campus and the college offers many things to do for the college community, a few examples would be the black light and glow in the dark zumba, ultimate Frisbee, and much more. They will send you emails to let you know when and where. We even have speakers and comedians come out to the auditorium. Oh!, and I cant forget to add the fact that the gym and pool are free to use at your disposal so long as you have your student ID on you!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is amazing here! There are so many options for you to choose from and prices are great. You get a great experience no matter where you choose to eat!

    Dorm Life

    I commute to and from class everyday because I take classes at Fairmont's main campus as well as their local center. From what I've heard though, the dorm life is really nice, all of my friends who stay on campus really seem to love it here.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it 4/5 stars because it all really depends on your major and which classes you choose to take. Some classes are harder than others but it comes down to you yourself and your learning ability/ English 1108 has been my only extremely hard class so far the rest have been pretty normal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask anyone questions, everyone is very friendly. We're like a community and no one will turn you away. Take advantage of meal cards and even workout at the gym or swim in the indoor pool. The school offers so much so don't miss out!

    In three sentences

    This University is amazing, everyone is so friendly and willing to help you with anything and everything. The teacher to student ratio is perfect for those who like a smaller class size like myself. They offer so many things, there are tons of majors and there is so much to do on campus!

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always walk In Groups, overall pretty safe but students have been robbed. Just walk in groups or stay alert. During the day its the safest place in the world.

    Greek Life

    Only 3 frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    Falcon center offers many intermural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    City folk who need something different. Walk on students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nice restaurant walking distance called college lunch. And only 30 minutes from MORGANTOWN so party party party + D1 football.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest out of state universities, only a 14 % graduation rate but you can definitely achieve anything you commit to.

    What to do for fun

    Definitely attend basketball games and all on campus activities. Greek life is horrible but their parties are something to do. Oh and MORGANTOWN.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is generic but pretty decent. We only have 2 other dining options which one of is closed on weekends and extremely expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Certain dorms have very little sociability due to lack of lobby space and activities. Too make friends choose morrow, to be alone choose Bryant's. Most of the alumni are commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class size so definitely good for creating connections with teachers and professors. Challenging and useful education if you choose the right classes and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit before commiting, can be a major change if you cone from a big city. Apply for as many scholarships as possible and attend as many events as you can to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Very rural and country. Extremely friendly. Amazing honors program and class size.