Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Farmingdale State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this campus is extremely safe. i havent had any time where i didn't feel 100% safe. everywhere you turn there is a campus police. you definitely feel safe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    no sororities or fraternities. i hear talk of them trying to get some.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities to join and get involved with. also, on this campus there are a lot of events that they plan to keep everyone together.

    Bang for the buck

    i highly recommend going to fsc. it is an amazing school as an introduction to college life. i personally don't plan on staying here because the program that i want is not offered but if my program was offered i would definitely stay. it is a perfect family environment and i love farmingdale !

    Food and Dining

    there are various places to eat on campus. if you get tired of campus food, when you step off of campus right on 110 there are a bumch of restaurants to dine.

    Dorm Life

    i can not personally comment on dorm life but from what i have heard from my friends that stay on campus it is okay. it is definitely more of a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors are very caring and easy-going. they understand that there class is not the only one that us as students have and they try to keep the work to a minimum. some classes are tougher than other but that is inevitable.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are planning on attending fsc it is a great choice. i have no complaints about this school. one minor downfall, if you are into socializing this school is not big on social life.

    In three sentences

    suny farmingdale is a great starter school. it slowly eases you into college life and helps you adjust. it is perfect for you to stay there or to prepare to transfer.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No such thing as campus safety on this campus as we have ACTUAL police officers on duty throughout the campus. Farmingdale is also among the Country's safest campuses.

    Greek Life

    So far Farmingdale has two frats. People don't take them too serious though. It's kind of a joke as for one of them all you have to do is sign a piece of paper to get in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every sport team in this school is extremely great as most of them have won a couple of championships. Not many clubs on this campus though.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who at the end of the day do not care about where they are but mainly about their academics/

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hall Olympics every fall are really fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Very dry, quiet and small campus.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do on this campus but play basketball, and participate in activities that resident assistants create. not many clubs to join. You can throw parties but it wont be long until they will be shut down.

    Food and Dining

    Food here can have its nice ups but when it has its downs, man are they in the negatives. Breakfast has the tiniest options as no hot foods are served during this time. Lunch isn't too bad as nice big omelets are served everyday. Options are really limited here.

    Dorm Life

    The community is great, everyone gets along. activity-wise... good luck having fun here as activities are limited therefore it is not too hard to get bored on this campus. Also, resident directors are strict on rules and partying.

    Academic Rigor

    Your first two years at Farmingdale shouldn't be difficult at all as classes are light and professors do not ask too much as far as the workload goes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please remember you got into school only to excel academically so you can help sculpt your career. Do not get lost in any obstacles that you get into. Always keep your main goal in mind.

    In three sentences

    Farmingdale State College is an ok place to be if you are a student. Campus life might not too interesting due to the lack of options for activities on campus. Community wise, Farmingdale is a great place to get together with people to help build your future.

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    dental hygiene, nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a school like Nassau but want to be 1 up then i recommend Farmingdale, but other than that I feel like I am in 13th grade, the school is just like high school.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is the only reason I am still attending.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really dislike commuting, I want to dorm but this is commuter campus. Parking is also very far away from the buildings so in the winter and when it's raining out, it's terrible.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like the professors could do a better job teaching, in most of my classes they just read off of power points.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers ensure safety

    Greek Life

    Not really there... There is one fraternity and that's it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of new clubs that I never knew about.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically inclined students! The library is nice and there are a lot of centers that provide additional help, whether you need it or not. The career center helps with resume writing, the student success center and books and beans provide your computer usage, tutoring, advice AND coffee and food and the writing center has begun an online service where they'll help you when you're stuck on that 10 page research paper.

    Bang for the buck

    For the tuition charged- the professors truly go out of their way to ensure their students are successful.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there isn't much to do on the campus itself so joining a club or a fraternity is your best option.

    Food and Dining

    Slightly expensive but the food is edible.

    Dorm Life

    Slightly boring considering that there are only two dorm buildings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind and avoid any catty drama. The people here want to help you reach your potential- in the end you're the only one holding yourself back.

    In three sentences

    The professors don't see questions as stupid because if chances are there are a few other people in your class who are wondering the same thing. They truly care about a student's life and will try to help them succeed. The campus constantly has some sort of activity going on, whether it is a fair or a blood drive or yoga during club hour at the loft.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    working on one

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are concentrated on their work, and mainly willing to commute

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You need a car whether you are a commuter or dorm in the college.

    What to do for fun

    There are soccer clubs, and other networking clubs in Farmingdale. However the area is not as populated or entertaining to be around

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet the faculty staff before you decide the major you are planning to study.

    In three sentences

    Helpful faculty. Resourceful computer labs. Lack of dorm student experience.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students have to find their entertainment sometimes.Student activity center goes to six flags and open the movie theater center for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok.Personally i like the salad they serve.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are well educated and know their subject matter very well.Are happy to help students reach their full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students stay on top of the work.The staff are more than happy to assist students.also remember try your best and everything will come into play.

    In three sentences

    Farmingdale State college is a great college to focus and get your degree.The professors try their hardest to make sure that students get and education they deserve.Also the students are friendly and make other students feel welcome.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are every where and as far as I know I have always felt safe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    I know we don't have many frats but we just added one and I think they are trying to add some more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During election time for student government some weird things go on. One student had dancers dancing in the court yard to get some votes.

    Bang for the buck

    The school isn't that expensive and the professors really care. If you're interested in architecture or anything with computers this is the school for you!

    What to do for fun

    There is a small amusement park across the street, and Dave & Busters is right down the road. There are also 2 movie theaters in town.

    Food and Dining

    I've never been in the actual dining hall but I know the 2 cafes have good sandwiches. There's even a KFC on campus and a hero shop!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus but from what I heard from my friends is that the campus always has events going on so you're never bored.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics aren't that hard unless you are taking higher level classes and the professors are very nice and are willing to help you after hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first come here it might seem big but the academic buildings aren't hard to understand. Don't be shy about going into the library or asking for help because everyone is really nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Farmingdale is a small school compared to others. The classes are small enough where you can get to know the professor. The environment on campus is very nice, students are friendly.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5stars-There is constant security patrolling the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    3stars- Anime & Videogame Club Institute of Electronics & Electrical Engineers Arabic Club Islander Yearbook Architectural Construction Technology Club Join Ed Read (Book Club) Asian Culture Society Kappa Chi (Criminal Justice Honor Society) Backstage Theater Company

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to live in their dorm room for there is nothing else to do outside of the classroom.

    What to do for fun

    There is really nothing to do except for golf practice at a nearby range. There are plenty of fast-food restaurants if you have the extra money.

    Food and Dining

    2 stars

    Academic Rigor

    3 stars. Their nursing and dental hygiene are said to be one of the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register on-line staff at registrar are rude and impolite. They have no sympathy for incoming freshman students.

    In three sentences

    Academically Farmingdale is on top if you're a dental hygienist major, aviation or nursing major. However the campus and the social atmosphere there are on the bottom of the list. Campus grounds are depressing and cafeteria and student meeting area need a lot of TLC.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Be aware of the CAB events. They always organize didactic and entertaining activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all those applicants for Farmingdale State College, I wish them the very best because is a very competitive school and it will only get you prepared for the real aggressive world out there.

    In three sentences

    Farmingdale State College provides the optimum Dental Hygiene program in Long Island, NY. I am very proud when I hear that many students apply for it but not everyone gets accepted. The school is organized, motivating, and rewarding.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a wide variety of clubs to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide variety of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Student that have ambitions to learn and are willing to put the effort into it.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount of money tuition you are pay is an incredible price for education.

    What to do for fun

    They have tons of clubs to join and alot of friendly people to meet.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not that hard, just alot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared, this isn't high school, so don't treat it like it is. I've made the mistake of thinking college is simply, boy was I wrong.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere in this college is like no other. Every day when I step onto this college I urge to learn. The professors are very helpful and are military friendly.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I attend this school and I don't pay any tuition at all. In fact, I receive money for attending this college from the state. Let's just leave it at that.

    What to do for fun

    Not that much honestly. We have some clubs, but the people on campus aren't the most enthusiastic. If you're the kind to enjoy natural scenery, then you'll enjoy the beautiful horticulture scenes.

    Food and Dining

    I've been the dining hall a couple of times and there is always a great variety of food. For around 8-10 dollars, you have an unlimited buffet before you. Very worth it, when compared to other buffets.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm. I have some friends that do and they say the dorms are completely filthy. I've been in one but immediately removed myself because of the lack of sunlight and poor ventilation.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy. The professors hardly teach and leave all the teaching to the students. They're simply there to receive a pay check and give us a letter at the end of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    To start off, you do NOT want to be commuting; it takes away from the college experience. Farmingdale is not as fun as you may think it is. Sure the grades aren't that great, but the parties aren't any better.

    In three sentences

    Surprisingly, there is a lot offered at this college. However, the potential in the present programs is not great. In the end, this school should not be your primary school of choice.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Farmingdale is an exceptionally safe campus. There's almost no crime, but the back parking lots are really poorly lit so it can be a little scary sometimes.

    Greek Life

    There's only one sorority on campus, and one or two fraternities, so there isn't much going on really.

    Great for these types of students

    Farmingdale is really good for certain programs, like Dental Hygiene. Otherwise, there's not much prestige in graduating from here. It's a good school to get an Associate's and transfer, and it's good for raising your GPA to go somewhere else.

    Bang for the buck

    Farmingdale is a really good school for the money. It's really cheap comparatively, and the education is far better than what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do on campus unfortunately. The social life is lacking, but the people are all really nice and really cool. Anything that does happen on campus though is pretty much always free, which is a good perk.

    Food and Dining

    The new Campus Center just opened up and there are a few food choices. They're all pretty good from what I've had, and the coffee shop is great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, but the buildings are ok. The new dorm is really nice too.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard, but honestly, most college classes aren't hard if you do the work and study like they tell you to. Your teachers here will do everything they can to help you and give you every opportunity to get a good grade and succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know exactly what classes you need to be taking and when. Your advisers will most likely not put you in the ones you should be in. Also, the class availability seriously sucks so consider taking some of the lower classes at another school or over winter/summer sessions so you can fit everything in within the time you want to, or else you'll be spending another year or two here than you planned on.

    In three sentences

    Farmingdale is a good school overall, the classes are small and your professors will take an interest in you. Also, the services available to students are amazing and second to none. However, the class availability is terrible and the administration drops the ball all the time.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Farmingdale their is a police station on campus, it makes you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    sigma delta tau, tau kappa epsilon, phi iota alpha

    Clubs and Activities

    I play soccer for Farmingdale and its absolutely the best decision I have ever made. I met great friends, and learned responsibility.

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities on campus everyday to do that are so much fun.

    Food and Dining

    Farmingdale just opened a new student center with a new dinning hall. The food is excellent just like eating a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    I dormed my first semester and loved it! There are so many activities always going on and everyone is like a family at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Love my small class sizes I really am able to concentrate. Teachers help you in every way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and get involved.

    In three sentences

    Farmingdale is a great school. There are so many activities on campus and clubs to join. Farmingdale was the best decision I've made.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Strong police presence, some areas of campus are not well lit. Emergency call boxes sporadic throughout the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, full-time workers, adult students

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonably priced compared to other schools in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Recently built a new campus center and dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Most students commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Standard state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great option to complete prerequisite and general studies course work.

    In three sentences

    Great for commuters. Offers a lot of night classes, perfect for working during the day. Not a very active campus.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always no matter where you turn see a campus patrol car.

    Greek Life

    I pledged and it was great :) All the girls are amazing and super pretty. Everyone is wonderful here

    Great for these types of students

    You like to be pushed for a great grade.

    Bang for the buck

    Unless you are some super nerd or a teachers pet, making the grade isn't even possible. You could work your butt off and the teachers just do not care much. Unless you email them then they seem to care a little bit. I have a teacher who every time I go to a meeting with him i have to wait until he finished skyping -.-

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do, on Thursdays people normally go out to the club or something, but the taxi fee's are quite ridiculous as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good considering it is college and normally the food at colleges suck.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, weekends are very boring here considering literally everybody goes home

    Academic Rigor

    If you want a college that is seriously going to push you to meet the grade, then I suppose this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into everything about the college, that was my mistake. I am sadly transferring from here, which sucks since I did transfer to here as well. But It's a really tough college, the dorms are exceptional, always kept clean and neat.

    In three sentences

    Incredibly hard, nice dorms, small classrooms except for the few lecture classes

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always great safety there! But watch out if you don't have a parking pass. That ticket will haunt you!

    Greek Life

    I believe there is only one sorority

    Great for these types of students

    I believe Farmingdale is great for commuting students.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course college is expensive everywhere. But Farmingdale is a pretty good price.

    What to do for fun

    Its beautiful outside during the spring sit outside! Or I like to hangout in the campus center because its brand new.

    Food and Dining

    I do eat there when I have classes through out the day. There is a wide variety of cooked foods to choose from which I like.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are very hard on students and others are the complete opposite. Don't neglect your education just because you want your classes and teachers to be easy. Stay on top of your work and be proactive.

    Tips for prospective students

    I do not live on campus, The campus seems like it does not have a lot there if you want to live there. Theres not a very big food store or a new hall to hangout in.

    In three sentences

    Making the school more modern. Everyone is extremely helpful in the offices when you need it.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is one f the safest campus that I know. They have a state police office in front of the school.

    What to do for fun

    I play soccer and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    The foods are great but they're expansive.

    Academic Rigor

    To accomplish, it requires studying. So if you study, you will pass.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. It has outstanding teachers. Students are not so friendly.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty good in terms of safety.

    What to do for fun

    It's a nice green campus. But some of the buildings needs to be renovated since they aren't using much space from it.

    Food and Dining

    The food there wasn't too bad. Some of the delicious sandwiches and salads I enjoyed.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was ok.

    Academic Rigor

    It wasn't easy. But like I said before it could've been fun to study but some teachers made it hard to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you do, don't do dental hygiene at that school. It's not only unfair but they don't care about students. They take so many students and then decide who to pick and who to kick out. The teachers are rude. The whole program is not organized. Save yourself money, time and trouble. I don't regret my decision going their. But ultimately I have better options and better learning environment at another college where teachers care about students prospect.

    In three sentences

    The surroundings is pretty but the teachers are not good. They pick their favorites and end up throwing you to the curb.