Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Faulkner University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things on campus that one could do for fun. We have a huge multiplex where you could go and play tennis, racquetball, basketball, pool, air hockey, and Foosball. But if you just want o get away from it all, you could always just go and take a nap on the couch in the TV room, or just sit and watch your favorite shows!

    Food and Dining

    The food on the campus is better than anticipated. Of course we have a regular cafeteria, but we also have a Cafe', and a grille to eat at if by chance you get tired of cafeteria food!

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not stay on campus, from what I hear dorm life on campus is super fun!! Everyone knows each other and it's just a good overall environment. I really wish i could afford to live on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Although Faulkner University is a small school, their courses are as hard as most of the big universities in Alabama.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend Faulkner University, make sure you get to know all of your professors on a good basis because they really want to do all they can to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Faulkner University is overall a good school. They have good christian values, and they also care about there students well being. Faulkner University is a great school for those who are needing that close one on one attention with their professors.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everybody mainly ones who want some bible go visit see what its like

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have never heard of it go check it out go to a class spend the night go to as many buildings on campus as possible

    Bang for the buck

    i think it is well worth the money you get a great education

    Will enjoy being here

    really nice campus students and faculty

    Will learn a lot

    Faulkner awlways trys to help you learn but you have to help them

  • 05/10/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I need a smaller campus in order to stay focused in studies and Christ my savior.

    Tips for prospective students

    Need an eductaion because I can't afford to waste time.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutly

    Will learn a lot

    Mailbox flyer

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are always on point and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    several to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    althletic,christian, sense of humor and that love to travel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we love krispy kream donuts they are directly across the street from our campus so we love to run over there when ever the hot sign is blinking. lol

    Bang for the buck

    worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    we even have silent library episodes that we portray at our school cool!

    Food and Dining

    the food is terrific always.

    Dorm Life

    i am an adult student. i dont stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent and flexible classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you love to learn and want a loving environment, then come to faulkner university.

    In three sentences

    very proactive hands on teachers that are serious about helping you to learn.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    faulkner does offer a greek life program, but the sororities/fraternities on campus are not national panhellenic groups.

    Bang for the buck

    as a private school, faulkner's tuition is rather expensive. however, when compared to other private schools, faulkner's tuition is comparable.

    What to do for fun

    if you come from a small town like i did, montgomery will seem like a huge city. there are lots of restaurants, movie theaters, concerts, and other fun events in downtown that college students seem to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria offers a variety of meal options. the school also has a grille in the gym and two coffee shops, one outside of the cafeteria and one in the law school.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus, so i'm not really qualified to review the dorm life. however, from what i have heard from others who do live on campus, dorm living is acceptable.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors are very friendly and eager to help, but in law school, students are expected to learn the material very well and be able to write multiple essays on any given topic as well as being able to answer a large amount of multiple choice questions. typically, your grade in each class comes completely from the final exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    if interested in law school, signing up for a tour of the school is a great way to meet a few students and faculty members. i definitely recommend starting early with applications because scholarships are awarded based on the students who are already admitted and are evaluated starting in january of each academic year.

    In three sentences

    faulkner university is a great location for students in the montgomery area. it offers several degree programs, including the law school where i am currently enrolled.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Starbucks has awesome coffee.

    Food and Dining

    Hope you like chicken.

    Dorm Life

    The senior dorms/apartments are nice if you make it that far.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors are more helpful than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to bring your bible.

    In three sentences

    The school is nice and small and has a LOT of rules.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    unfortunately there was a shooting here a couple days ago. it was domestic in nature and was not faculty but contract staff. the shooter was targeting a specific individual, just happened to do it on campus. i think if you observe personal safety guidelines, you are pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    does not exist

    Clubs and Activities

    many. at least 50% of students are involved in atheletics. we have drama, chorus. missions and outreach are big part of experience as well

    Great for these types of students

    christian athletes, people from smaller high schools, people who want to be involved and not just attend school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i am new so, so....

    Bang for the buck

    unable to rate due to being new. feel that would be more appropriate as i get into specific course requirements

    What to do for fun

    i am on soccer team. practice takes up a lot of time but we have football, baseball, volleyball, etc. you can always find something to do

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food is cafeteria food., could stand some improvement. sports sometimes puts us outside of normal hours. coach usually provides in that case

    Dorm Life

    dorms are small with male/female visiting restrictions you would expect at a christian university

    Academic Rigor

    small class sizes. use ipads in place of some books. everyone takes bible related classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    student athletes, get your application in to naia early. don't wait until you arrive for soccer practice. get everything done on the application you can by january, act scores sent on completion of the test and hs transcript in as soon as you have your final grades.

    In three sentences

    campus is small enough that everyone is still somebody, not just a number. staff and faculty really care about each student. multicultural student body opens us up to personal relationships with people we might otherwise not get to know.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there was a shooting last semester.

    Greek Life

    nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    social clubs are pretty big for such a small school.

    Great for these types of students

    church of Christ people and athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Church of Christ has some odd traditions such as no instruments during chapel and not clapping during chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    Play soccer, workout, basketball, videogames, hangout with people on or off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Think southern cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good aside from Davis. Can not have girls in your room unless you are in the apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Core classes are usually easy. Online classes are surprisingly time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to live in Davis dorms freshmen year if you are a guy. They suck.

    In three sentences

    Classes are very small(8-40 students) which is nice if you like to have a relationship with the teachers. Chapel is 4 days a week at 10:00 AM which is good or bad depending on how you look at it. The campus itself is nice and the faculty is of high quality.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute, get with an advisor and make a plan.

    In three sentences

    As a working adult, it was intimidating to wade through the registration process. I was pleasantly surprised by how nice and helpful everyone was and it was all fairly painless. I am now looking forward to the first day of class.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I especially love that Faulkner does everything they can to make getting an education more affordable. They give discounts for students who live locally.

    What to do for fun

    Sing and do community service.

    Food and Dining

    Clean facility and good food!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms were very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent educators!

    Tips for prospective students

    The Faulkner staff will take good care of you and do everything they can to set you up for success!

    In three sentences

    Faulkner is an excellent University. Professional and attention to detailed staff, and beautiful facilities.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't depend on security for anything. Security would rather catch you breaking the rules than protect you. Get some mace.

    Greek Life

    Social clubs are Faulkner's form of Greek life. They are great and you will make lots of new friends. There is a club for everyone and pledge week is so much fun. Don't let anyone scare you away Bid a club and go through pledge week or NEMO.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs! Join one! Our running club is an awesome way to stay in shape and meet friends!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Students wanting a Bible degree. Not for females wanting a Bible degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Way to expensive for a degree from a relatively unknown University.

    What to do for fun

    Social Clubs are great! Get a job! There isn't much to do!

    Food and Dining

    The food is terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus you will have a curfew until the age of 20. Boys are not allowed in girls dorms and girls are not allowed in boys. The girls under 20 dorms are very nice but the rules make it seem like a prison. The on campus apartments are great but boys and girls are not allowed in each others bed rooms and must be out of the opposite genders apartment by midnight.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not easy but are not hard either. You must be willing to try to pass. Bible classes seem to be a waste to most students but are required. The Education Department is great but is extremely tough. If you miss more than 7 class you get an F no questions asked! REMEMBER THAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend this school only to play a sport. The rules are harsh for most freshman and you will not be allowed to live the college life without consequences. Research the Church of Christ before coming to know their beliefs or you will be lost. Be prepared to have a dress code and follow it. No Alcohol! EVER! not on or off campus! Faulkner expects you to follow the rules at all times! AKA...no bikinis at the beach! No PDA or anything EVER with the opposite sex! You get caught you go home!

    In three sentences

    Faulkner is a great school for students planning to major in Bible. Faulkner's spiritual life is great for students growing up in a Church of Christ family. I would not suggest Faulkner to students wanting to major in anything else.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of onsite clubs, athletic events and chapel.

    In three sentences

    Good private Christian education and a wonderful psychology program. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are mostly certified police officers now partnering with the Montgomery police department. Our campus is very safe and security is always wiling to help.

    Greek Life

    Not like the typical college. This is bible studies, devotionals, and prayer groups mostly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are social clubs and intramurals that the campus as a whole looks forward to. The social club events are bigger than sporting events.

    Great for these types of students

    Strongly religious. Family oriented. People seeking to get closer to God. People who need to be controlled and aren't ready for real college life and responsibilities without parents. People needing structure and being told what to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's jamboree in the fall that is pretty big for social clubs and there is also lectureship week.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is reasonable for the quality of education that is provided with all the resources and free tutoring. Meal plan, housing, and iPad frees are outrageous and far from economical. The required meal plan and living on campus is where the university makes it's money.

    What to do for fun

    Read your bible. Join a social club. Do your homework. Bible study and church.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is horrible. You have about ten-fifteen minutes after you consume the meal before it is coming out. The grille in the multiplex is a little better food but more pricey and not as much food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms and apartments are small, old, and over priced for the quality. The new men's apartments and freshman girls dorms are the best housing options but if you do not meet the criteria your are stuck paying the same price for housing as they are. They both have wooden floors, marble counter tops, your own divided space, and some privacy. The other dorms and apartments are a huge downgrade. Aka: for the same price you may live in a tent and your friend in a mansion so to say.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes give a decent amount of workload but not over the top overall. There I will be some classes here and there that have either a lot or practically no work, but it will even out with the rest of your courses. You will get a good education, there is no skating by just to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a solid Christian education that is strictly based around and upon religion, this is the school for you. If you like to party and do your own thing do NOT come here. The school is very strict and rules are enforced (dress code, no opposite sex in room, curfew, and chapel).

    In three sentences

    Faulkner University is a small, family-like feel campus based on Christian values. No matter what the class is, the bible will somehow be incorporated or tied into the material. Class sizes are small and teachers are more than willing to help you if you fall behind or need extra help.