Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fayetteville State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for many types of students, students into anime and art, athletes, students into singing and theather, and students into band.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything you need, follow the rules, make sure you have your priorities straight because parties and other activities make it hard to stick to the class work. Be on time and come to class every day and do homework and everything will be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that paying for entrance in the school is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are a lot of things to do on campus. Such as parties, activites, clubs and places to hang out. I enjoy doing the activitives and going to parties that are set up on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot from math, to art, to computer science and programing. I have learned how to program robots to do certain tasks.

  • 11/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FSU is a great place for students who want to feel like they are at home. FSU is also a great place for students who enjoy a particularly small class size and a close professional relationship with their professors and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    To Students who are planning on attending this school, I will advise you to get ready! There is so much to do on campus as well as off campus. The university is exploding with school spirit and the teachers are very friendly and willing to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering how inexpensive FSU is, the university offers a lot of different free programs to allow your college experience to go smoothly and successfully. On campus there are free tutors, events, and resources available to all students who have paid their tuition in full.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here. Fayetteville, NC is home to many soldiers from around the country. In addition to this, The university offers many different student activities such as pep rallies, plays, and discussion forms. Every week is something new and fun to do on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot here at FSU. There are many great opportunities and the teachers care. There are many different programs in which I participate in that allows me get extra help that I need in my classes. my favorite one is the writing center. The writing center allows students to have a tutor critique their writing assignment and get better grades in their classes.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Reasonably priced school, but losing so many available classes to register for sorta cancels it out.

    Am enjoying being here

    Parking lots are overcrowded and we keep losing available parking spaces due to construction.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are here at all times. and are easily accesible and always there when you need them. the school is so well organized that you'll rarely need them. safety is very high,i never worry about any kind of safety threats.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs and activities are outstanding. dedicated students and teachers formulate different organizations to be a part in,and make it fun for all participants.

    What to do for fun

    plenty! we have a gameroom where you can play cards,checkers,pool and bowling. we have numerous clubs and extracurricular activities to participate in. also amazing resources so if your a reader the library has plenty to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    has a variety of different foods to eat. also very healthy and nutritious choices.

    Dorm Life

    very warm comfortable homely

    Academic Rigor

    has great resources. teachers are very open to helping.courses are difficult but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to enjoy your campus life. come in good spirits-everyone else is! and be ready to work and research.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a police station located beside the gymnasium. the police have bicycles and cars to get them wherever on or around campus. there is always a police car riding around checking out the campus for any problems. it's there job to make the campus safe and worry-free.

    Greek Life

    there is many sororities and fraternities available for students who want to become apart of the association. i personally is waiting my sophomore year to become an a.k.a. sorority member. there is a lot offered to members of a greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    i have also looked at the clubs and school activities. i am waiting my sophomore year to join the girls' basketball team, volleyball team, and softball team. i have also planned on joining the bronco women club and the student nurses' association.

    Great for these types of students

    this university is great for all types of students. students from all over the united states transfer or enroll in this institution. the reason being is that fayetteville state university has been recommended as one of the best universities to attend.

    What to do for fun

    there is a game room located below the cafeteria. in the game room there is a bowling alley, dancing floor for the dance games, plenty of pool tables, checker boards, tables where you can play cards, places where you can just go and relax, and a ping pong table. a person can also attend home basketball games, football games, etc.

    Food and Dining

    the food service is great. it brings more of a home cooked meal. many foods are offered to students. there is a salad bar, a snack bar, a grill area , a sandwich area, and an area where rice, meats, and vegetables are served. an individual can go up as many times they want to because the food will always be there until it closes down. there is a breakfast period, a lunch period, and a dinner period.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is excellent for freshmen to meet other freshmen and whoever. having a roommate is the best thing because that individual will become one of your closes friends. you are also learning some independence but at the same time you are learning more about who you are and you are learning more about your roommate. the dorms are perfect.

    Academic Rigor

    fayetteville state university provides the highest quality learning experience at an affordable cost for students. the institution fulfills their mission to promote the educational, social, cultural, and economic transformation of many parts of north carolina.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have some events on campus that are fun but during the winter there is nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    I do not enjoy the food. We get served the same foods over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very hard to stay focused here and the academic rigor is not that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from the drama and make sure you stay focused.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed attending this school but I am ready to transfer.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around, even when you don't need them.

    Greek Life

    Love it...I wouldn't trade my life in my sorority for anything else.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life is great!

    Great for these types of students

    Joining greek organizations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each semester greek weeks are epic.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Some classrooms are a bit old, but they are here for historically purposes.

    What to do for fun

    Town is near a military base, so its always things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Don't eat on campus, as I only am on campus for a few hours a day. Most of my eating is done at home.

    Dorm Life

    Really don't know much about dorm life, I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes have really made me think academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy classes to find. Certain classes are a breeze. Haven't had much problems with getting into my classes or passing. Easy to meet new individuals.

    In three sentences

    A great place for a wholesome education at a HBCU. Small yet vast college campus for getting around. Simple yet easy place to meet new people.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police Boxes all around campus

    Bang for the buck

    great school !

    What to do for fun

    From what I've heard, you can swim, go to the park, play tennis etc. at FSU

    Food and Dining

    Food is great!

    Dorm Life

    Haven't moved in, but from what I have seen, the dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't had any classes yet, but from other friends, I've heard the classes are small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I have for prospective students is to apply early for admission and housing. Always stay up to date on your financial aid, make sure everything is running smooth. Another tip is to stay focused on your work at all times.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State is a great school, with helpful professors, counselors, and students. When I visited for the first time, I felt like FSU was the school for me. I strongly recommend this school to all who are looking for a promising future.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus do have onsite police and public safety officers all duty at all times that help with most crimes that occur on campus but the city police department also handles campus crime when needed. most of the time the crime on campus is not to serious but serious crimes do occur with directly on or near campus since the campus is open to the local community.

    Greek Life

    there are greek organizations on campus that host events but qualify student are not allowed to join chapter until second year at the university.

    Clubs and Activities

    large amount of club on campus and still growing. clubs tend to be more major centered but there are non-major based clubs as well. there is almost always one club or another hosting an activity on campus, you just have to find out about most events yourself but the school's newspaper does try to announce most activities in advance if they know about them.

    Great for these types of students

    global students wanting to learn in an hbcu environment or anyone looking for a highly successful school at a low rate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    very much into celebrating african culture and prep chants.

    Bang for the buck

    for your buck the educational level is excellent and dorm life is manageable. while campus dining and fun are fair at best.

    What to do for fun

    rudolph jones student center lower level provides a game room consisting of six billiards (pool) tables, two ping-pong table, bowling alley, chess, checkers, and foosball table for students. most on the time student tend to go off campus for more fun.

    Food and Dining

    all food on campus is located at either the rudolph jones student center or the school of business and economics. the cafeteria on campus currently only seats 1500 so waiting in long lines and find somewhere to eat are always to be expected. nearby office campus food includes a chinese restaurant, wings company and deli shop.

    Dorm Life

    life in the dorm is always changeling at first when you are learn to live with up to eight other people. the university's dorm vary in housing layout based on the individual dorm but in general there are traditional dorms, two and four room suites and apartments. almost all dorms on campus do have fire sprinkler system, fire alarms, and mold in the walls. all dorms are equipped with a single phone and cable connections, multiple cat-5 ethernet connections, a good amount of wall outlets (restricted to only one surge protector per person in each room) and all refrigerators must be under 4.5 cu-ft.

    Academic Rigor

    instructor's are always willing to help you learn the material but you have to take the initiative to learn the material and get help when you need it. university also to ensure students learn material they don't understand provides several programs aid students in learning such as a writing center, math center, supplemental instruction, and tutoring in science and math.

    Tips for prospective students

    while campus is small in size to most university due to construction you need to be sure to give yourself extra time to get to your classes, bicycles are allowed on campus but can not be taking to buildings (classroom buildings or dormitories). the university is a dry campus and smoking is only allowed in certain areas.

    In three sentences

    fayetteville state university offers more than 70 undergraduate majors several of which also offer a graduate level.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i most definitely feel safe on campus. the school has their own police department and i most certainly see them out and about while i am at school.

    Bang for the buck

    all universities are expensive to a young student. money is money, but compared to many of the schools around it is definitely the most affordable in the area.

    What to do for fun

    it depends what you are all into. i enjoy going downtown and looking at all the museums and historic sites that are all around. there are many lakes you can go to, trails to walk/ run, and for a little cash you can go zip lining.

    Food and Dining

    i live off campus, so i do not know but many of the students that do always meet up in the cafeteria so it must be great.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus, so i do not know from experience but most students i talk to enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    i love that my teacher seem to want to help me understand. many schools would push over to the next subject, making you responsible to know the material. but it seems that all my teachers at fayetteville state university want use to know what we need for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    be on top of everything at the school when it comes to paperwork and financial aid. this is not a small town college, your future is your responsibility. get it all done!

    In three sentences

    fayetteville state university is at the current moment a university in the process. this historical black university is full of students of all elasticities now and is growing even stronger. the university is aware of the competitions such as duke and is striving to be right next to that level; to be one of the best in north carolina.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety needs to improve

    Greek Life

    The greek life is fun and everyone should get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to join, there is something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who is willing to learn to adapt and succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always have activities even during the week

    Bang for the buck

    This school is affordable for anyone, especially North Carolina residents

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do like swimming, bowling, exercising and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining isnt the greatest but its not terrible

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright for freshman dorms but upperclassmen have better dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are good and I feel like I can learn a lot here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a tour and make sure you like it here before you come.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with a great accounting program. The teachers do whatever they can to help me to succeed. All the students are nice and welcoming

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always have a buddy on campus but I have been at the library really late and I have felt safe returning to my car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Air Force ROTC

    Great for these types of students

    I think anyone would be comfortable at FSU. I am a white female and I have always felt safe and comfortable,

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I live in Fayetteville so I have definetly been able to attend FSU for a more reasonable rate. I have worked hard to receive th Air Force scholarship so hopefully in the future I will receive some funds. My parents have paid for my education up to this point. But FSU is the ultimate educational deal.

    What to do for fun

    As I have stated whether my detachment is doing assigned tasks or just hanging out I usually just have fun with them.

    Food and Dining

    Did not stay on campus

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major will be the rigor of the academics. I chose nursing so some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    First tip would be find a group you can connect with, it helps with academics and yourself esteem. Next, decide your major I never considered nursing till I met my advisor and now it is my dream to be an Air Force nurse.

    In three sentences

    I love my ROTC detachment at Fayetteville State, it has helped me to push myself. I have been cadet of the month three months in a row. I am physically and mentally stronger due to my connection with this group.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus always has something extra-curricular going on, so participation in these events is always fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a great school with a great Biology program. Fayetteville State University is a big family, there is always someone willing to help. Fayetteville State University takes pride in their students.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency call boxes around campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know very much about sororities or fraternities. Im not in any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sororities, fraternities, sports, anime club, ect.

    Great for these types of students

    More conservative, adult, self-disciplined learners. Or young adults who want a quality education, with small class sizes, for less money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    You get an education for a better price than most schools. To me, education is all the same. As long as you get a degree and learn the material, it doesn't matter how flashy the school is.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs. It all depends on your interests. This school isn't exactly very liberal.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. Not particularly healthy though.

    Dorm Life

    It isn't that great.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends, some professors are harder than others, just like some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you stay on campus, bring earplugs, at night the dorms are loud. If you don't stay on campus get involved in activities, All students should take advantage of on campus resources.

    In three sentences

    It is an effective school. You get an education for a reasonable price. But the adminisrtation can do better as far as student service, dorm life, and stuff.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not safe at all. There were three armed robberies inside the dorms in one week!

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are extremely rude. They use their Greek status as intimidation, and most are on probation for hazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is an HBC school, I am Hispanic, I was trying out for their modeling troop, and Two of the older members including the advisor, said that since I was not African-American I couldn't join the club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer HBC schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth going there.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    The people who work there are rude. The food is gross. The food is usually cold or old.

    Dorm Life

    Disgusting. Cockroaches everywhere, just plain unsanitary,

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are not good, and they give piles of work to be due the following day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of Financial Aid!

    In three sentences

    It's not a very motivational school. Most of the professors are foreign. I don't feel very comfortable there.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fayetteville State University has many on campus activities and organized off campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The meals served are wonderful. There are plenty of vending machine all over campus to provide you with a snack until you can get to the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but I am sure Fayetteville State makes dorm life pleasant.

    Academic Rigor

    Fayetteville State University sets high expectations for its staff and students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending Fayetteville State University make sure you talk to an advisor and stay connected. This University has many programs that will help you achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a great school to further your education. I have had some great professors who love teaching and are very helpful. Fayetteville State University provides it's students with wonderful opportunities on and off campus.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FSU has an on campus police department, which routinely patrols the grounds to ensure the safety of its students. Additionally, throughout the well-lit grounds, alarm stations are located just in case a student ever needs to reach out for immediate help.

    Greek Life

    FSU offers a health Greek Life with fraternities and sororities, and a portion of their campus devoted to historical markers of Greek Life in years gone by.

    Clubs and Activities

    FSU offers a wide variety of clubs in which students may participate, ranging from specialty clubs - such as the Student Athletic Advisory Committee and Physical Education Club - to traditional activities, like Student Government. A student that wishes to have a busy, committed college life with find numerous clubs and activities that meet their interests.

    Great for these types of students

    The student that is seeking a sound educational foundation for their future, as well as a community in which they can build relationships that will last a lifetime.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A Historically Black College/Unversity, Fayetteville State University is steeped in rich, African-American History. While the population of the school, today, is diversified, this tradition allows all students to understand the cultural challenges past generations have faced.

    Bang for the buck

    FSU offers one of the lowest tuition rates in the State of North Carolina, with in-state students able to attend full-time and live on campus for roughly $15,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    Located in the heart of Fayetteville, NC, students attending FSU are able to enjoy campus activities as well as activities in the community surrounding the school. Dances, socials, and swim parties are frequently sponsored by the school. FSU offers ten varsity sports to qualified athletes, participating in NCAA Division II as part of the CIAA. The local community offers movies, shopping, festivals and fairs.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall, run by Armark Corporation, provides a great variety of food. Students are able to choose from traditional menu's or the more health conscious menu. FSU also offers the Grill when students need to grab a meal on the run, and a small cafe located in the Arts and Sciences building.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at FSU is a blend of historical buildings and new construction, with apartment living offered to sophomores through seniors. Whether students stay in a traditional dorm with two to a room and shared bathrooms on the floor or in quad style mini-apartments, all facilities are secure, well-maintained and monitored by dorm monitors and resident advisers. The relationships built with fellow members of the dorm, stay with a person for a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    Incoming freshman, following the recommended core curriculum for the first year, are introduced to in depth studies in humanities, social sciences, communication, philosophy, mathematics, and the physical/biological sciences. In order to succeed, students need to plan to devote vast amounts of time to their studies as well as participating in supplemental instruction courses, as they are offered. The serious student will find they have little time on their hands, as FSU emphasizes learning outside of the classroom through participation in co-curricular events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fayetteville State University is a challenging, dynamic environment in which to continue your education. Incoming student's must be prepared for the rigors they will face. While academia is emphasized, so is an individual's need to experience all facets of life, thus freshman devote considerable time to co-curricular events devoted to the arts, literature, history and community service.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University, a part of the University of North Carolina school systems, is a vibrant, mid-sized campus, currently in the process of expansion. The faculty at FSU challenges the student to strive for excellence, while ferreting out each student's talents and cultivating growth of each student's unique gifts. Personal growth, as well as academic grooming, are central to the school's philosophy.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have different activities for each week. They consist of informationals, parties or even poetry nights. They have sport games and modeling clubs. Sometimes students try to make their own fun when they don't have anything going on.

    Food and Dining

    This rating depends on the day sometimes food is good and other times i rather eat a sack lunch. The cafe is a nice place to eat a socialize between and after classes. They also have live dj's, organizations, and other extra curricular things go on.

    Dorm Life

    DORM life definitely depend on where you stay. The older dorms are like jail. Really locked with white walls that are now brown. The apartments are nicer but its not the school's fault that students trash up things ruining it for everyone. The location in Fayetteville is the reason that there are so many different insects on the campus which sometimes affect living. Also make sure you run a background check on roommates where ever you attend.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are fairly nice, well most of the ones you can understand. There a lot foreign professors at FSU making it difficult to learn. I bring a tape recorder than replay it when i do home work. The departments are different the only one i can vouch for is the business department and they take things serious and have a lot of great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend this university a smart idea would be to make three copies of anything you submit. I say this because they have a tendency to misplace information. Make sure you bring bug spray and a lot of Lysol. Other than that the campus has a lot of resources for the students. When coming to FSU i know its not always a first choice but please bring pride to the school. To many of the students lack school pride.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University where is all about you. This school is a growing university with a lot of potential greatness. There is still a lot of maturing from the students along with all faculty and staff.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It may seem unreal but FSU throws down on the food!

    Dorm Life

    It can be difficult living so close to people you really don't know but there is always someone around to settle situations.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic success is your responsibility so face it head on. FSU has faculty that loves to help, so take advantage of that. Use your professors, the library, the writing center and anything else you can think of.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all who are thinking about attending FSU, just do it. FSU is a school that cares about their students and whatever they may be facing in life. Take care of all your paperwork and financial responsibilities and you are on the move.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always around

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friend , go to the museum and other stuff like rollerskating sky diving

    Food and Dining

    food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Can make you or break you but thats for any university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good college building new building. People are real cool and not stuck up.

    In three sentences

    Well rounded university in fayetteville NC. Very diverse and willing to help the youth of tomorrow.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    band sga gear up cheer

    What to do for fun

    bowling skating pool basketball

    Food and Dining

    The dinning is open and have good food.

    Dorm Life

    Make sure you bring things to make you feel like you are home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for rainy days.

    In three sentences

    Fayettville State is a great school to attend. The family life here is very good. They help they provide you for your classes are also good.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police cars patrolling the university at all times. In part because of the location, but also due to the university taking pride in wanting students and teachers to feel safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at Fayetteville State University is the heart of the campus arguably. Each group is unique and filled with vibrant characters that stand for their beliefs. You feel like family amongst them. The campus does not tolerate hazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    While the clubs and activities do exist on campus, they are not frequent enough to be of substantial interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to achieve success without heavy pressure, but guidance from loving and respectable professors. Students who are first-generation college-goers and potentially from low-income homes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the astronomy building. It's the main science building and is one of the oldest on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus has an extremely low tuition cost for the classes and degrees provided. You attend this campus knowing that it is cheap and worth every dollar. 9/10 times financial aid even will give you money. It would be five stars if it was free.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides entertainment with cultural events. In these events, students are able to broaden their minds to music, global literacy, and problems college students face today. There are basketball courts, lots of club parties at night, and a media center in the library. Each department has unique clubs like History club or Biology club. In the language center, students get free access to Rosetta Stone if they want to learn a new language. There's always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to campuses like NC State or NC Chapel Hill the food here really lacks. The meals do not have substance and feel military-grade.

    Dorm Life

    These dorms are not superb, however with new innovations they slowly are being more improved. They provide semi-decent living spaces at best. Kind of dusty. And smells like hospitals.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that while some classes provide difficulty, the majority are dumbed-down. For example, in my English 120 class, the research for our papers were PROVIDED for us. We didn't even have to look up the proper citations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Simply fill out the application. Get higher than a 400 score on the SAT. Develop a close relationship with your professors.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent school for its programs. The professors care about the individual student not simply the tuition behind their name. Everyday is a new and more exciting experience.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are everywhere in places you don't see most of the time

    Greek Life

    I might pledge...

    Clubs and Activities

    Disney Intern, Mr Bronco, Active in all School participation.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with an appetite for success and crave hardships and experience of life in a small academic environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The greek life is really interesting you learn so much culture and background from it!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and book fees are included not many colleges do that. So I dont worry about cost of books above the charge of $50.00

    What to do for fun

    It's a very social place so hanging with friends is the most popular thing to do and that can include anything.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great but of coarse you get tired of it! But the food is the best I've ever ate while visiting college campuses.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is interesting because you meet people from all walks of life

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors and they love 1 on 1 relations.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place for higher learning!

    In three sentences

    I love the historical background, I'm glad I went to FSU because it gave me so much opportunity to do so much more with my talent and skill.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going to the game room with friends, and bowling and some other campus activities such as movie nights, basketball and football games

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a great college for academics, and in my opinion one of the greatest HBCU's in the country. FSU provides great extra activities for students along with great athletics programs. I would recommend this college to any students wishing to attend college

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very sae there are officers eerywhere on campus to the time yu go to bed to the time you wake up there always on campus

    Greek Life

    sigmas,deltas,omega,kappas alpha, aka's,sigma ladies

    Clubs and Activities

    Losts of club to many to name

    Great for these types of students

    Fayetteville state is an open enviroment , everyone is accepted !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PEP-Rallies are a must attend situation , its a very fun enviroment and Homecoming is allways a fun ocaision were we always bring in new or upcoming artist to perform and students may get the chance to rub elbows with a celeb.

    Bang for the buck

    Our Bookstore offers alot of sales and goes down on prices every now and then making things cheaper for students

    What to do for fun

    We have a gameroom located downstairs of our student center that offers a varied amount of options

    Food and Dining

    There is a excellent staff in the dinning hall , they are very welcoming , and the food is also good .

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be either , bad or good depending on how you comunicate , If you allow situations to occur then they will continue but if you talk to those around you about there behavior, there should be no problems with dorm living

    Academic Rigor

    Our Academic struture is pretty strongm, but its up to you to keep your own grades together.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all of your finacail aid on file !!!

    In three sentences

    A very diverse University, with different people from different walks of life. There is alot to offer from this campus , with majors and etc. The liabary is a great place to find books that you need for your education , being one of the liabarys that ships out books to other schools such as Methodist University Here In Fayetteville NC.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security needed to be fixed drastically a few years ago, but after listening to the student gripes about what they thought was a lack of personnel the chancellor hired more cops and made that hours that they patrol longer.

    What to do for fun

    Attend all of the events that the SGA sets up and go to all the sporting events. As long as you particpate then you will have fun. There are clubs and the mall is near by too, but if you're a history or military buff then you're in the right place. Fort Bragg is the birth place of Airborne and it's right down the street. Also Fayetteville is full of history.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has really stepped their game this year. They have more events and specialty lines to chose from. For instance there are some days that they serve stir fry that's made when ordered and other times they have the pasta station open. It all depends on what you like and believe me if you can't find something good to eat at the cafe then you are really trying hard to not find something to eat. There's a main line that serves various types of food, a sandwich line, a grill line, pasta line, specialty line, and salad bar. If you don't like the cafe, then go to the chick fil a on campus or the bronco grill.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is cool, the RAs are usually super chill and willing to help you out when needed. If it's a dry campus that means DON'T BRING ALCOHOLIC DRINKS TO THE ROOM!

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said earlier, You get what you put in. If you're the dude that signs the roll then leaves you're probably not going to make the best grades. All you need to do is do you work. It's just that simple. Read the books (even though they are so boring 90% of the time), do your homework and study for the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    IF YOUR GOING TO BAD MOUTH YOUR SCHOOL THEN WHY ARE YOU EVEN ATTENDING!? This is home for the next 3-5 years (depending on you major), so always show you have pride in your school.

    In three sentences

    This school may a little bit lax at times depending on teacher or subject you're in, but you get what you put in. The professors are more than willing to help you in any way possible in order to make you a success. Once you become a member of this school and participate in events and actually venture out to meet people, you will learn early on that this is a good school and you made the right choice.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything

    Tips for prospective students

    Best school in NC!

    In three sentences

    FSU is a great school to attend. The staff are great! I am glad a came.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of community volunteer opportunities. Movies and pity pity are also kool.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf is Great and the hours work well with class schedules

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a little boisterous, but it is also a great way to socialize in a safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous, but there is enough time to pursue other interests such as band and football.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your guidance counselors. The dorm is the best place to start living on your own

    In three sentences

    FSU is a very diverse university. It makes learning more interesting by using real world issues. It makes it easy to feel welcomed.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For me the basketball games take up my free time. If i do not go to those i am usually off campus with my upperclassmen friends. Even if you are not a off campus person, the campus tries to offer many different events to occupy your time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is hit and miss. Usually on chicken day is the best day. They also serve pizza that is appetizing as long as it is hot. What i really enjoy is the fact that the dining staff is friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay, you get to meet a lot of people. That can be both good and bad depending upon your personality.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you attend all of your classes on time, make sure that you keep small snacks in your dorm room at all times, the cafe food is not always the best.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State is a very cultural school. The teachers are very willing to help in any major. The campus is in need of a renovation.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its good that they have a police station in the middle of the campus. and there are pols with bot-tens for you to hit if you ever need help.

    Clubs and Activities

    step teams , JROTC

    Great for these types of students

    everyone , anybody who whats to be successful

    What to do for fun

    they have pool party's , and they come together and have cook outs and get to gathers.

    Food and Dining

    amazing

    Dorm Life

    great.

    Academic Rigor

    top rated to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be for turning aways look into it and let it show you why you should think about going there.

    In three sentences

    I rate fayetteville state as one of the top school i choose to go to. i see the campus and it was amazing, the classes are sized good. and the food was great.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of events on campus to attend for both students living on campus and for commuters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you are doing your work and attending classes. Teachers understand that things come up sometimes that might prevent you from doing well on a test or from getting an assignment in on time, but if you are known for doing your work regularly and attending class regularly, they will be more apt to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Although Fayetteville State University is an HBCU, it offers so much diversity. It also has an outstanding business department and great teachers. It has given me an experience like no other.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternity are very active.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When someone yells ATTITUDE CHECK, anyone/ everyones response BRONCO PRIDE! Really cool! Also they designated a day of the week that they prefer students to dress professionally.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of groups, organizations and clubs. Find the one that suits you best.

    Food and Dining

    I ate off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid the party life its best to focus on your goals and academics.

    In three sentences

    It is very diverse, although its an Hbcu. Campus life is Live, to include all kinds of groups and clubs. I wish that their was an implemented policy for students and advisor relations. This way students can always be on the Correct path.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the Fayetteville State Campus Police who patrol the campus throughout the day and evening. Various call boxes and well lit campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Division II Athletics They even have clubs for commuters. Very diversified.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all different types of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you hear can I get an attitude check you will here students singing the Bronco Pride song.

    What to do for fun

    The school always has different activities going on. It just depends on what you are interested in. Arts, plays, athletic events, various club events, and there is also a game room with a bowling alley and other table games for your enjoyment.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is the traditional place to eat on campus. However, within a few miles there are several establishments you can visit.

    Dorm Life

    They have various different dorms available for freshman, coed dorms, athletic students, upperclassmen, honor students, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Many different degree programs available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus and meet with the different advisor's and departments.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University has a lot to offer students. It has various different degree programs and is big on your academic success. You have to tour the campus yourself it is not what others try to make it be, you will see it is a very safe and good school to attend.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They always have games to go to. There is also a shuttle bus that takes us to the club every Thursday

    Food and Dining

    I think that the food is pretty good. It all depend on what they have. At times dinner does disappoint me but, there will always be cereal and salad.

    Dorm Life

    It mostly depends on where you live, and who is you RHA. Of course Freshman dorms are more trashy and crowded.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a Freshman but, the classes are very easy so far. The professor are so willing to help you. There ultimate goal is to help you graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you do your financial. They do not play about your account balance.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State is an okay school. The campus life is pretty chilled. Nothing really happens here they always try and have something for everyone to do.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I can't really tell you, I'm not a social guy so yeah. I just stay in my room and hang with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good overall.

    Dorm Life

    Life in Renaissance and other halls are pretty nice but do not, I REPEAT, DO NOT EVER stay in Bryant Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are kinda easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your resources, ask for help if you know you need it. Don't fear that students are going to laugh at you, do what you have to do to get good grades in your class. Try to get out early if you're walking to class too.

    In three sentences

    Overall, FSU is a pretty good university for an HBCU. My only problem is they don't have soccer, baseball or track team. The campus is not a very big campus, and it looks very dirty after it rains. The professors are cool though and resources are useful.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is always on campus grounds and driving and walking around. You see them more than you see the Chancellor

    Clubs and Activities

    Activites are happening everyday and clubs want students to be involved. There is never a dull moment at Fayetteville State University

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful Dorm, they take pride in the campus especially the dorms. They make these building look brand new. You have to see these.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is what Fayetteville State University stands behind of. Sometimes you wish why you even choose this course or major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please go visit the campus you will be please on what you see. Talk to the current students that go there and get their feedback

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a public university that accepts all type of students and are willing to help you succeed in anyway they know how. Loving campus and facility and staff are always there when you need them.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of school events such as parties, talent shows, carnivals

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and don't be afraid to ask for help. Build a rapport with your professors.

    In three sentences

    My experience thus far at Fayetteville State University has taught me a lot. I have been more focused then I have ever been in school. The professors are very caring.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see them out and about but crime is everywhere. They even teach a self-defense class for women.

    Greek Life

    I wish the Greeks would get out more. I love to see them on the plots every now and then.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of events but there is always room for improvement.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who put their education first. Students who don't plan to party Thursday-Saturday. Students who love to be around a variety of people.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely its one the cheapest but you will learn the information needed to lead to a successful career.

    What to do for fun

    I like to walk around campus and enjoy the breeze on those nice days.

    Food and Dining

    Depends on what you like and what new things you are willing to try. There are 3 other locations you can grab something to eat if the caf�© has nothing that tickles your fancy.

    Dorm Life

    Great until you realize your roommate is not as clean as you'd want them to be. There are some places that could use a few upgrades but it's far from living in a box.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to learn you will learn. They provide you with the tools needed but it's up to you to use them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour, talk to random students, know that the graduation rate doesn't effect what you come there to do. If someone says there is nothing bad about the school they are lying every university has there problems.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University has the best Criminal Justice Department in the UNC system. FSU is small compared to other universities but it provides a community atmosphere Home Away From Home. FSU is not so much a party school but you will enjoy your time there.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With respect recent tuition increases in the UNC system, UNCFSU continues to offer outstanding rates for on-campus and off-campus students in-state.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends and geek out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is college food.

    Dorm Life

    There are a few dorms to choose from old and new, pick one and enjoy.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a school where you can really get ahead and do well in classes so long as you show up, takes notes, complete work in a timely fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Establish good lines of communication with your instructor, this shows that you care for your grades and that you have initiative. Get involved with SGA ASAP. The organization is where you have a say in what happens at the university. Speak up, take action and enjoy this experience.

    In three sentences

    The faculty treats you like a family member that cares for and nurtures you. You have the ability to talk to your instructor in a timely fashion. The main goal at UNCFSU is to get you moving and graduated with a career.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to sport events, join clubs/organization or Greek fraternities or sororities, and hang out at Bronco Square

    Food and Dining

    It provides a variety of good food.

    Dorm Life

    Keep your room clean at all times!

    Academic Rigor

    Study Hard and Stay Focused

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying hard each day and night and keep up with homework. Set a schedule for yourself to keep your academics and social life organized. Use your resources around school if you have any important questions.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a college that keeps students informed on what's going on and provide the help they need. Fayetteville state University is full of creative thinking, generous, open-minded professors. Fayetteville State University is a place to have fun.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Incidents happen around the campus but since I have been there nothing unusual happened.

    Greek Life

    There's no Greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Last semester I entered a competition for an advertisement regarding the youth making choices. I was the proud winner among many other NC colleges. My school received funds for this and my picture was posted on campus as well as published in the local Newspaper.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for minority students since the enrollment is predominantly African American.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is close to the Army Base and also studies geared towards soldiers.

    Bang for the buck

    Compare to many other universities, Fayetteville State University fees are reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    I play basketball and do weight lifting. I also social a lot with my friends. We also go to house parties off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but more quality food such as steak would be more appetizing. It is however, understandable since cost of food has escalated over the years.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life for freshman requires adjustment and is humbling. It however teaches discipline and team work and respect. After freshman year it gets better.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers various academic majors, from the Arts to the Sciences. The classes are challenging but tutoring is available. The Professors are willing to discuss the grade structure are encouraging to the student. I am a Chemistry major so my core courses are Chemistry, Math and Physics. These courses require much attention and study time. The library is opened late so students can do research and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do as many AP classes as you can in high school. Research your major and start a road map before your senior year in high school.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a good college which has assisted me in growing academically and socially. The faculty are caring and the study body is very helpful as well. Thus far my experience is great and I would recommend this school to my younger friends.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I think Fayetteville State University is very diverse. My experience there has been very fulfilling. The staff is very knowledgeable and interested in the continued success of the students enrolled at the University.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to tell the Lyons Science Building, from the Lyons Science Annex and the New Science and Technology Building.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    ......................

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA,Gospel Choir, Impact,STEM,The Voice,etc...........

    Great for these types of students

    ..........................

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always something bizarre about you daily living on campus, you make the best out of it I say ..................

    What to do for fun

    At FSU there is ALWAYS something to do, I mean there are multiple organizations, clubs and so much more. You have Leadership positions, Interest Meetings etc.....

    Food and Dining

    The food is what you make..............

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus make college life even more interesting due to meeting new friends and being in the mist of all the organization action!

    Academic Rigor

    There is always something to attend/do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to Fayetteville State University will change your life for the better. I've learned that you can't go by what you HEAR, however; you should go by what you've experience here personally for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a good college.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety could be better.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and organizations to join!!!!! Its so hard to pick one!!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is varied and its actually decent.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is interesting. The upperclassmen have better dorms of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, because freshman year is an easy year. Set long and short term goals.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State focuses on how to better students academically. The University as a whole wants the student to be proud, engaged, and active. The University carries itself very well.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not into the Greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    when someone say. ATTITUDE CHECK!!!!! we respond BRONCO PRIDE!! love it.

    Bang for the buck

    don't be scared to talk to people. they just look mad because they are on there way to class.

    What to do for fun

    there football games, there a game room, computer labs there so much to get into on Fayetteville state campus.

    Food and Dining

    it could be so much better.

    Dorm Life

    Its has gotten so much better of the three years I have attended college he but I am really enjoying my last year on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    all ways stay on top of your work. no matter what happens stay on top. make sure you make friends in your class so that if you miss something they can send it to you or help you out.

    In three sentences

    they school Is Great. student services is all ways there for you and it a great school for students with disability's. the teachers will help as best as they can and they will try to help you pass the class.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is alot of options in the cafe also we have bronco bucks which could be used at the many places to eat on campus such as the Eco grounds,The Bronco Grill and the SBE store.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are ok. Don't really expect much out of a college dorm but they are better than alot of others school.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great here.Although there is many foreign teachers it teaches you adversity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay active if you aren't college will be boring.Join clubs and organizations.

    In three sentences

    I love this school there is always something to do on campus. The teachers are great,very understanding and helpful. There is plenty of help such as SI,the writing center and tutors.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused

    What to do for fun

    Check community boards and ask the RA's, or you will be bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with your adviser for guidance.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University for me right now is okay. Sometimes there's a lot of drama going on, but if you keep your nose clean, you will be okay. The food is very unhealthy though.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I pay out if state tuition there and it is almost the same as the tuition I was paying instate in South Carolina

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the online degree completion program the curriculum is very good and informative, I feel I am being challenged in the areas I need for success in my future.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State was very helpful to me in getting financial aid and registered for my classes without a lot of hassle like I have had at other schools. The advisors and professors are great and willing to work with you in order to help you complete your education.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus has many call boxes, alert systems and defense courses

    Greek Life

    FSU has several Greek lettered organizations most of which are historically black

    Clubs and Activities

    a whole lot of clubs and teams. and if there is a thing you want you can make a club for it by using the Bronco advantage app online

    Great for these types of students

    great for outgoing students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    many chants, and dances

    Bang for the buck

    I think that this school has a pretty good value for the price.

    What to do for fun

    lots of events available on campus weekly and there is local clubs not too far from campus

    Food and Dining

    Buffet style. Lots of choices, though all aren't very good good.

    Dorm Life

    Brings cleaning supplies, shower curtains and toilet paper!!!

    Academic Rigor

    So far, so good. The math class is a bit challenging but it is because most of the math professors are foreign and have heavy accents.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take a tour to see your dorm if you stay on campus to see if you will have a long walk to your classes.

    In three sentences

    FSU is a overall a very good school that offers a great number of degree programs as well as options for graduates. The school is really focused on the success of it's students and goes to great lengths to help their students succeed. The only problem that there is is the location of the school is not the best part of town.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    That is an area which I wish they could improve. The apartments right across from campus have been broken into several times. Pretty dangerous. I have also been confronted by men in their vehicles while walking to my car in the parking lot. Campus police could be a little more persistent in vigilance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities. My favorite would be the homecoming pageants that they have. Awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not very expensive. It is pretty reasonable. Honestly, I think you do get what you pay for, because classes are good and teach you a lot. There are also a lot of opportunities for first generation college students and minorities.

    What to do for fun

    It depends what kind of fun you like. You can work out at the gym and do Insanity in groups. For fun, I edited for the school newspaper!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food at the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    I lived off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Do some research on teachers prior to registering in to their classes. Try to get the most challenging teachers, because you will truly learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many opportunities for STEM students. Research anything you could possibly be interested in and do not waste any time!

    In three sentences

    Since moving here, I have noticed how much potential I truly have. I have applied myself and even made the Chancellor's list the first semester. This school has many opportunities!

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that always circle the campus

    Greek Life

    We have many to choose from

    Clubs and Activities

    It is many clubs you can choose from

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody, as long as you willing to work.

    What to do for fun

    The school host many events such as Talent shows, parties, step shows..ect

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, no complaints.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on where you stay at...but i strongly suggest New Residents Hall, Bronco Hall, Renaissance, or Universal Place Apartments (UPA).

    Academic Rigor

    Have to maintain at least a 2.0 but that's not good because in most majors you have to have a 2.6 apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely, and be responsible because its easy to lose your focus at this School.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State is a great School. It is alcohol free campus, which is a good thing. And a HBCU meaning a historically black college meaning the tuition is cheaper then most Universities.

  • 07/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on campus, but break-ins do happen. Never be alone if you don't have to be.

    Greek Life

    This is a no hazing campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Check the bulletin board in the student center. Activities are always being advertised.

    What to do for fun

    SAC does a lot of activities, and there is something to do pretty much every week.

    Food and Dining

    The best thing about the Cafe is the sandwich line. Lately the cafe has been too repetitive and not very good.

    Dorm Life

    I was in Renaissance the first year it was open, and it was great. After that I moved to UPA which I liked a lot better. Now I commute, but I'd move back to campus in a heart beat. Back to UPA.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor really depends on which classes are being taken. However, if you attend class regularly, take notes, and study, then it's all easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prioritizing is key. Keeping an agenda really, really helps. Deadlines look far away but they really creep up.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State is a cozy place to attend college. The campus is small, but really pretty, which makes walking to class a breeze. There are always activities going on, so there is always something to do.

  • 10/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Although Fayetteville State University is a historically black university, It is very diverse in every aspect, including the food. The dining hall staff is very welcoming and the food is delicious. By using your meal plan, you basically have access to a buffett at your conveinence.

    Academic Rigor

    Fayettevillle State has a small campus which makes for students to navigate classes easier. The professors and instructors here at Fayetteville state maintain a great relationship with their students. The frequently resond to their email's in a timely fashion which can help students in their studies as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for an institution that's located in a small-town area, then Fayetteville State University is the school. The classroom sizes are small, which provides a better learning opportunity for all of its students. They offer numerous resources to help you succeed in your educational pursuits. For example, the writing and math center that offers you expertise for those who are struggling in these subjects and may need a little extra help.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State University is a five-star school that offers an outstanding eduacational and social experience.

  • 10/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are lots of campus security running around but it is an open campus. People come in and out as they please so it can be dangerous especially at night time. The campus itself is on Murchison Road and it's pretty dangerous if you're not careful or if you're alone.

    Greek Life

    There's are some Greek frats and sororities. They advise people not to ask for membership as they come to you. My opinion is not join any if you really want to.

    What to do for fun

    I've heard people going home during the weekends saying there's nothing to do around campus. They have some stuff going on, on certain days like movies and stuff. They have a small gym and indoor pool. But I guess if you want to have fun. you can roam around Fayetteville.

    Food and Dining

    I eat during breakfast and lunch and they serve the same food everyday. Some days they change it up. On Wednesdays, they have fried chicken and it's pretty good. Everyone comes in during that day. They could add more variety to their menu. Again I am only describing breakfast and lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Well I'm a commuter so I don't really know about the dorm life. The new Renaissance hall does look nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty good depending on your course load. I think it's just any other colleges although a little easier. It can depend on the professor and the class. If you're looking for a more advance course, I believe they have honor based courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for an easy school to get into, Fayetteville State is the school you'd want. It has a high expectance rate and if you had good grades in high school, you'll be awarded with scholarship.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville State is a pretty good school. It is pretty easy to get in and it is a good school to start your first 2 years. The campus itself is mediocre compared to the other UNC based schools.