Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fayetteville Technical Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The main tip I can give to future students is to make sure you ask your advisor about the teachers that you are getting! I was taking a public speaking class and had to drop it because I was not passing, so I took the class in the summer with another teacher and passed with an A. If you feel like something isn't right with the teacher go talk to your advisor fast!

  • 07/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    2 years looking to go to a university

    Tips for prospective students

    The tip I could give a student wishing to attend FTCC is to check your deadlines! Talk to your advisor quickly if you don't think your teacher is right for you. Talk to people about scholarship and financial aid as early as possible. Also! careful because some classes are non transferable!!

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college it is still somewhat pricey. For taking 4 classes along with all the necessary books the payment can be around 2,000 dollars. Seek financial aid early on!

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FTCC is great for students who want to get a two-year degree, or for students who plan on transferring to a four-year college. You're going to have to take the general education classes anyway, and by taking them here you will save a lot of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip is to always keep up with your advisor for your degree. They can help you choose the right classes for you to take, and if you don't keep up with them it's very easy to mess up your degree and get stuck taking another semester of classes. Also, always keep a clean, signed copy of you educational plan just in case they make changes to it. You can be grand-fathered into your ed plan and won't be forced to take more classes right at the end when you're supposed to be graduating.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, the cost of tuition and books isn't bad. Books can be really expensive and they're always coming out with new editions, so it's always important to do your research because sometimes the new editions really aren't much different from the previous edition. You can also find most of your books online or from used book stores for much cheaper.

    Did enjoy being here

    I truly enjoyed attending FTCC. I loved the teachers, the students, and the environment. Although I encountered a few difficult teachers, for the most part they were very understanding and friendly. The students at FTCC are also more likely to be dedicated to their education since it is a community college where the majority of the students are non-traditional students (adults with a job/family who are trying to get a degree to better their lives), so you can be sure you won’t be bothered by any unnecessary distractions caused at typical four-year institutions. The environment is also very clean and inviting, so even when you’re not learning you can relax on campus.

    Did learn a lot

    While attending this college, I was able to learn a great deal of useful information for my future. The information I was able to learn was very relevant to the ever-changing workplace, and the teachers are professional, dedicated, and qualified.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you can easily lose your stuff if you leave it un attended

    Bang for the buck

    you may be saving money but youre not getting anything in return

    What to do for fun

    the only thing you can do is talk on the back of the student center or go to the computer lab. if you are over familiar or appear to be doing anything wrong , security was intervene . this is just not normal for a community college. this is like the lowest form of a college . the students should have more freedom

    Food and Dining

    the over priced cafeteria food sucks. there is a burger king down the street . also there is a , mcdonals , a chinese food resurant , a pizza place , and popeyes is nearby. there is no reason why anyone should eat the cafeteria food.

    Academic Rigor

    this college needs an overhaul ..... this is just not professional compared to other colleges

    Tips for prospective students

    ask plenty of questions , talk with your advisor regularly ,

    In three sentences

    this school is not worth the time or money. no one helps you that much with anything. some teachers are a pain for no reason and staff make assumptions all the time. its a sloppy mess. i learned more taking online classes than in the classroom. if you want to do something constructive with your time, i recommend that you attend a university

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i work f/t, school f/t and 2 busy kids. there is no fun for me!!

    Tips for prospective students

    complete any grant or scholarships at least 3 months before registering with the college/

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe is very small but they have a good variety of different types of food.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The talent of the teachers vary. From my experience there are some teachers who put forth more effort and care than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first tip, know what you want to do before you start at Tech. Next, Have one adviser or counselor to give you information because not everyone there with tell you the same thing. Lastly, come to class at least 20 minutes early the first 4 weeks of school because it will be tough to find a parking space.

    In three sentences

    FTCC is a great place to come to school for various reasons. If someone is looking to transfer many of their classes transfer to colleges in NC. Or if you are interested in learning a trade they have many programs to choose from.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at FTCC. There is constantly a security guard walking or driving around in one of their little white trucks. I believe security staff is available if needed at any time.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not been involved in any. I have been taking pre-requisite classes for FTCC's nursing program so I spend all my extra time studying. I would like to be more involved in clubs and activities though.

    Great for these types of students

    FTCC is great for most any two-year college student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During my walking fitness class through FTCC, we did a treasure hunt across campus. We were asked to locate several things throughout campus that took effort to find. One of the areas that I find my unusual, but beautiful about FTCC, is their rose garden.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I believe that FTCC offers good prices for their coursework.

    What to do for fun

    FTCC has a great drama program. I have attended three programs and have enjoyed each of them greatly. Best of all, they are free.

    Food and Dining

    The food I've tasted is good but the options are quite limited.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    FTCC is known for it's academic competitiveness. In my experience, this has proven itself to be true. NC's grading scale is a 7 pt scale, which has challenged me even more so to push myself academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, look online at FTCC's website to see what programs they offer. Second, make time to speak with a counselor about your top three program choices. Third, create a degree plan and stick with it.

    In three sentences

    Overall, FTCC has been a positive learning experience for me. Instructors and staff have been quite helpful and encouraging during my learning process and classroom time. To me, FTCC is safe, clean, and eager to please their students.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is all day security on the campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know they have many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that are looking for a two year degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I feel I am not being asked to over pay.

    What to do for fun

    There are shopping area's around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Fayetteville Tech is a community college that does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not experienced any problems yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be ready for a wide variety of degree options.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville Tech is very helpful with their admission process. They also have many opportunities for military and their spouses. They also helped me with financial aid well.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is the only school in the state to offer what I am interested in.

    What to do for fun

    I live several hundred miles away so I am not familiar with the area.

    Food and Dining

    I live at home and am doing distance learning.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and am doing distance learning.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes have been challenging but easy to navigate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your financial aide very early and be prepared to do a great deal of the leg work yourself. FTCC is not as helpful to new students as other colleges I've seen.

    In three sentences

    FTCC is the only school in the state of North Carolina that offers an associates degree in Funeral Director. I have a wonderful advisor that has been a great help to me but I have to say, the financial aide department has not been near so helpful. So far, my teachers have been very helpful and responsive to all of my questions, which is an asset doing online education.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing but work hard to make it in life.

    Food and Dining

    Food is better than my high school food but is expensive there and also the vending machine are kinda expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There's not many community like opportunities there but everyonce an while there's surprises.

    Academic Rigor

    The overall abilities of academic study there is situation specific and sometimes help study is very privileged at technical in a sense of liberal studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Technical College is a good situation specific study to evaluate your decision and have an overall perspective of college. But transferring to a university maybe far better if you know how to handle yourself independently.

    In three sentences

    Okay college to start of with but have technical difficulties with financial handling there.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is perfect for the student with limited finances and financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    I love the outdoors so my family and I spend a lot time traveling and visiting other cities.

    Food and Dining

    Fayetteville tech has ample dining facilities even though they do not have a dorm. Also there are several eateries located within walking distance of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Fayetteville Technical college has no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics level here is you must study for all classes. The class that you think is easy believe me it is not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your research and make sure the school you would like to attend is the right fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville Technical College is a great school for military personnel. The staff understands the hectic schedule of a soldier and is more than willing to work active duty soldiers when needed. This school upholds their high standards all of the time.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good prices.

    Food and Dining

    I ate there twice, its great.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very even paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all you paper work ready so the process will be even faster.

    In three sentences

    Counselors are great. Enrollment process is quick. They offer certificates as well!

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    intramural sports and lots of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    students low on budget, living with parents, non-traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the in-state student

    What to do for fun

    go to a play, get involved in intramurals

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every resource available!

    In three sentences

    Small, quiet school. Hands on professors. Abundant resources.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere at any school you have to be careful but so far I have had no troubles.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not heard about any clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are expensive so I recommend buying all of them online.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on their campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on their campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Good school, nice teachers but I will be transferring. FTCC is not the college that I will be graduating from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get all the classes that you request for.

    In three sentences

    Good school to go to where the professors are nice and is a diverse area. Books are not cheap at all so I recommend buying all of them online.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I would bring my own food, I don't really eat out so I don't know.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know anything about dorm like cause I don't stay in one.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, study, study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for information, you don't know until you ask.

    In three sentences

    It's a very good school and close to my home. I plan to graduate from this school and become a Dental Hygienist. I really look forward to starting classes here.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is ok

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be ready for the best ride through education.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville technical community college is an amazing school to attend. I have been attending this school to receive my associates in cosmetology and I absolutely love it here. I look for to graduating from an amazing school.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yeah the campus is safe if you have pepper spray cause if you call the guard to help they show up late and they don't have any spray or anything to help you or them. Yeah the police may ride by every now but they are just as helpful as the guards. I took a night class and my teacher had all of us walk out at the same time so she know they we go in our cars ok cause some guys was breaking into cars. And you think that the guards would have been walking around nope they was in their little office out of the cold. But its all up to you if you want to go to this school. If I could give this half a star I will

    Greek Life

    Thats funny

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to transfer then yeah its great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to get to school 30 mins before class just to find a parking space. You spend all this money for school but they can't get more parking.

    Bang for the buck

    If you got alot of buck then you have a bang. Over priced school.

    Food and Dining

    You spend more time in class then you will in the food court.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a better school. Dont get me wrong FTCC has great teachers but dont waste your money on this school. They will tell you that you have to take this class and you take it but then you find out that you dont need that class. And you waste money and time on a class you didnt need.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a gym on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to already have a plan for your career path. The advisors do not do a lot of advising.

    In three sentences

    FTCC is not one of the most helpful Colleges. The One Stop Admissions office is great, however. I did not have many helpful teachers this semester.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very clean and well taken care of and there are security people driving around and keeping everything safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a new club not to far that is crime free as far as I heard it's called Barcelona. It supposed to be really nice and more an upscale kind of club.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is close to a china/hibachi buffet which is really good and not expensive, there are a few stores around there. There is also a little mall close to the campus and a spa/gym.

    What to do for fun

    Personally I like to go to the movies or to the pool in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    I personally didn't eat at the campus yet but I heard that they have good food there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't really know about Dorm Life because I am Married and life in our own place.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice school and everybody is very helpful. I take online classes right now and my teachers was very helpful with any problems I had. Also, they have online tutoring and I PASS tutoring that is awesome if you need help.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have all kinds of events going on at the school. I've never been to one, but would love to go to one.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't ever ate there because I'm a online student in another county.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give my school 5 stars! They are willing to go out there way to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, learn all you can, and study often!

    In three sentences

    I love Fayetteville Technical Community College because they offer a lot of degree programs, and they offer online courses. I was recently at another college, but one class was holding me up from my dream, so Fayetteville Tech let me move on.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THEY HAVE ARMED SECURITY GUARDS!! I was very impressed by this because the campus is kind of in the middle of the ghetto.

    Clubs and Activities

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good option for inexpensive transfer credits.

    What to do for fun

    Talk in the halls? I wasn't aware that college involved fun.

    Food and Dining

    FTCC only has vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is challenging, but there is usually wiggle room for extra credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your instructor on http://ratemyprofessor.com.

    In three sentences

    FTCC has everything going for it except one thing: Why in the world are they still grading on a 7-point scale!? This is literally the only issue I have with the school.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Local shopping

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay well maintained in your curriculm and focused to your goals.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville Technical College is a very self-generating institution where teachers and students interact with each other to accomplish more. The faculty there are very friendly, well-educated, and helpful.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have three young children, so take care of them.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Write down your questions so you will remember them.

    In three sentences

    The layout of campus is easy to navigate. The teachers seem nice. Admissions Office was helpful.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of clubs and extra curricular activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick to your goals and make sure you have a plan when you go in so that you are not lost and clueless when you go to sign up and register for classes.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville tech is a Military Friendly college dedicate to the welfare and education of all the students. Attending Fayetteville tech has been a pretty great experience for me.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't require a dorm room, but I don't believe they have any either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't pick a program at random. Choose 2 to 3 areas and research them. Look up the perspective jobs in the area, the physical and mental requirements, and the pay ranges. Interview the department heads, students in the programs, and those who are working in the fields already.

    In three sentences

    I am very impressed with the campus and the faculty at FTCC. My teachers and counselors have always been very helpful and understanding. I am looking forward to the next 2 years and earning my degree with FTCC.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything outside of school

    Food and Dining

    Nasty

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the program you're in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your money right.

    In three sentences

    FTCC offers a variety of programs. The financial aid here is not good and they don't try to help you. They need a lot of improvement.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great on this campus. Call boxes located through out the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that you can join at FTCC. Some for academic reasons, some just for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places close to the school to eat. The dinning facility dont have much to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    I studied Surgical Tech while at FTCC and i enjoyed the program, i feel like i was equipped to work in the field i went to school for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Kowledge is power. If you know you want to attend school but not sure what you want to do FTCC have couneslors that will help you get on track.

    In three sentences

    A school where anyone can get an quality education. Faculty is very helpful, caring and friendly. The possibilities are endless at FTCC.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    READ AND STUDY.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't had the pleasure.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it, make it the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your schedule. Stay PRODUCTIVE !

    In three sentences

    The professors are all for eager students. If you are ready to learn. They are there for you !

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a safe place to be when I do go.

    Greek Life

    On-line student and Military

    Clubs and Activities

    On-line student and Military

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On-line student and Military

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable and you can achieve any degree.

    What to do for fun

    On-line student and Military

    Food and Dining

    On-line student and Military

    Dorm Life

    On-line student and Military

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are fantastic, I enjoy taking the classes and Fayetteville Community College provides everything I need to finish my degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help and stay focus. The faculty is there to assist you in any way and always thrive for excellence.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic School would recommend this school to all my friends and family. Never had any type of issues. The instructors are always helpful and want you to succeed.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are preparing to transfer for a 4 year university or just needing to earn their associates degree or certificate from a program,

    What to do for fun

    Go home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get all your transcripts and (if applying for financial aid) be sure to fill out your FAFSA and all other documents related to financial aid as soon as you can. Tends to run a little late on processing financial aid and student loans.

    In three sentences

    A very diverse community college. Patient, encouraging teachers. A very beautiful campus.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard of any problems but I wouldn't say that I feel the safest here.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't heard of any expect for a email about spring sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning, older students or low GPA high school students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap just to go to class.

    What to do for fun

    They have several Student things for students on the campus at times, but no one really talks about them. Most people don't hang around the campus; students go to class and leave.

    Food and Dining

    Currently being changed so we will see how it turns out. Several buildings have vending machines with several options. The original area for food was rather outdated.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very challenging at all. This is a school mainly for returning students or students who need to boost their GPAs. Some of the classes have long hours (Cosmetology) but most are short and simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you had a low GPA or are looking to continue your education you should go it will help you. If you are a higher level student do not go here. When you go to the school to sign up or do anything expect to travel to several buildings and for the process to take much longer than what you would usually expect.

    In three sentences

    Terrible. This school is a dark hole for older citizens returning to school and for high school students who didn't have the GPA for another school. Processes to apply and pay tuition are difficult and drawn out.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Area is well lit and quite open. Campus police patrol 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Slightly disappointing; science and tech center is nothing special.

    Clubs and Activities

    Small array of clubs, but many activities throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for busy, working, and cash-strapped students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Salsa parties are frequent.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the price for classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events throughout the year, from concerts and dances to art exhibits.

    Food and Dining

    No food is offered on site.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter only college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are quite easy. Others, like math classes, can be extremely hard. Grading is odd; there is no D.

    Tips for prospective students

    Course cost is relatively low; take advantage of this and try an array of classes. Online courses can fit into any schedule, even military.

    In three sentences

    Ftcc is an underrated college with a diverse array of useful courses. Online courses are offered and have high standards. Teaching staff is enthusiastic and engaged.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on the campus every day that the school is opened. The staff for the security are committed to promising each student safety and seem eager about their jobs. The staff, also, provides the student with the night class a partner to walk with if and when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    FTCC Spring Lake campus offers a workout club in the mornings for those students and in the evening for the night students. For just forty-five minutes a day one could get into the shape they want and be satisfied for five dollars a semester. Also, the coach is coming up with new ways to keep the new beginner and long-term work-out individual with tips and ways to stick to it with success.

    Bang for the buck

    FTCC has a gym at each location both have decent hours five days a week for the morning and evening student. In the gym, is a coach that is willing to help give one tips for losing weight and how to simply reach goals of firming, tightening, or gaining muscles.

    What to do for fun

    FTCC offers clubs for different departments, the childhood and student government are examples. Also, during the spring the students are offered the opportunity to play co-ed softball which is a great way to get back into shape after the winter season. FTCC also offers a gym to its students and it is open for the morning and evening hour students with decent hours for only five dollars a semester.

    Food and Dining

    The food at FTCC is like any other school, the cafeteria is kept clean and offers a variety. FTCC also offers a truck to come onto the main campus during lunch hours and provide its students with food. Students have a variety without even leaving campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is currently no dorms at FTCC. The idea of dorms would be great but it is a technical college. It is imagined, however, if the student body grew to the size as our state university in Fayetteville then dorms would be considered.

    Academic Rigor

    Discipline is needed on one's part as a student to make sure the individual does research and cites any work well, plagarizing is not tolerated. One must take responsibility, FTCC offers one accident before a report to the dean. It is well and understood because students must learn to do work with the brain given to them. The crime rate at FTCC is low and students are always provided with security on campus while the school is opened. This could prevent one from being afraid of night classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Making the decision to choose to continue your education is a big step to a brighter future, it is just the first step. Be open to communicate with other students and do not be afraid of joining or creating a student group, these groups are serious about passing the class and you end up making good friendships, too. Stay focused and get organized, a notebook or tablet with upcoming assignments by the dates is beneficial, Keep your head up and remember why you decided to go back to school, be a claimer of your education and take advantage of every assignment the teachers offer.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville Technical Community College is great because it has staff that truly care about the students needs. It offers night class which is good for the full-time working student. The school is kept clean and the teachers and staff lead by example.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a pretty chill environment at Fayetteville Tech. No crimes or reports since I've been here. The only thing we worry about is the weather.

    Great for these types of students

    Low-income students with low-income families. Military students, transfer students, and students seeking an associates degree or certification.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very affordable compared to other technical colleges and universities around. Tuition right now is under $6000 a year, so if you receive the maximum Pell grant your entire freshman and sophomore (or senior year since its a 2 year college) could be paid off 100% easily if you are eligible and keep applying.

    What to do for fun

    Study, hang out, work out, participate in intermural sports. Leave and go home. It's up to you.

    Food and Dining

    Our student center is currently being renovated so for now we rely on outside vendors like Papa John's and Wing Co. Its not great but it gets you by.

    Dorm Life

    This school has no dorms, but after classes you have the freedom to chill in the library, attend campus events or even study somewhere off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently taking my general education classes, which are fairly easy but some courses are tougher than others, such as chemistry.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you keep up with important documents, talk to your advisors and turn in your work on time you are guaranteed nothing to worry about.

    In three sentences

    Fayetteville Tech is a great school for anyone seeking an associates degree, or transferring to a four year university. The environment is fairly easy and is quiet diverse with students from across the country. Fayetteville Tech also boasts a great percentage of military students.