Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Felician College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Teacher's Education, Art

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT DORM! Unless you absolutely have to.

    Bang for the buck

    The name isn't popular, unless for nursing, and the program is new and not great for the amount you end up spending.

    Am enjoying being here

    I honestly don't enjoy being here, and I dorm there with a friend who I've known since High School. There's not much curricular activities that students would easily be able to attend due to the scheduling of them interfering with class-time. It's not diverse, and there is a large drug crowd amongst students especially.

    Am learning a lot

    Honestly my classes aren't challenging to me, and I'm a Pre-Med major. I think it's not challenging enough for those who want to do medical school in the future, such as myself.

  • 10/20/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in: Criminal Justice, Pscychology, Computer Services, and English, Science and Art majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to take a major as well as a minor. It will not complicate matters; it can only improve them.

    Bang for the buck

    You have the opportunity to combine two majors into one study and can save for a semester!

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone will be more than grateful to have you atttend their school. The teachers and the staff are very giving and considerate. Their sole purpose is to make sure you succeed in the major you choose.

    Will learn a lot

    There are many different majors, minors, and extracirricular activities you can learn about and participate in. Not only is the student body diverse, but the possibilities are endless.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for: nursing, psychology, and education majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Many students end up changing their major so don't be afraid to do so. Felician College has many courses to offer so you don't end up wasting your money.

    Bang for the buck

    Felician College is well known for their nursing program. You are guaranteed a spot even if you didn't get accepted in the program right away. It might take a longer time to graduate but at least you will be able to pursue your major. The nursing lab is one of the best I've seen out of all of the colleges I've visited in northern jersey. Even though it is expensive, education at Felician College is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like Felician College because it is easy to find your classes and everyone is really friendly. I like the fact that there are two different campuses because it gives you the opportunity to experience something new instead of staying at the same place everyday. The professors are also very dedicated to helping their students achieve good grades and are always available during their office hours.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that are requirements for your major really benefit you. The cirriculum offers classes that I did not find at other schools which provide you to be very successful in the future. I like the professor's teaching styles and how willing they are to make the best out of your college education.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When and if you dorm make sure you pick a roommate who you can get along with and is considerate of you. I wish I did not have to dorm because the cost is a lot especially since there is not much to do on campus unless you have a car and if you have a car and do not live that far i recommend driving and saving money because the school is expensive enough. In all be active in Felician and create clubs and make new friends and connects that will last for a life time because college is what you make it.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish it did not cost so much.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being on campus with the people there they are friendly and more diverse than where I live but I wish they had more activities, parties, and social gatherings for the students.

    Am learning a lot

    On an average semester I take about five classes and so far I like my teachers and I liked my past two English classes and have learned a lot to make my writing better and stronger.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    resident assistants ra have to host 5 spontaneous events each month; so there are always something to do.

    Bang for the buck

    felician college was my only choice when i was looking for colleges. i am really happy i came here because i have met so many great people and great friends.

    What to do for fun

    in rutherford and lodi (two campuses) have a lot of venues nearby. in rutherford, there's a main street not to far from the school with many things to do and places to eat. lodi, is near a soccer field, the club rize and a plaza or two.

    Food and Dining

    the food isn't to bad, now. last semester it wasn't good at all and they realized that they needed to fix it.

    Dorm Life

    it's a great experience because you get to meet so many new people. it's just a little boring on the weekends since a lot of the students go home.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a private college, so you may need to change your ways (mainly towards partying people).

    In three sentences

    felician college is a wonderful school to attend. academically, this college is higher then a good margin of others schools. especially the nursing program; a very tough course to get into and go through but it is all worth it in the end.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is an emergency number if anyone needs assistance. guards are always on duty in front of both dorms prohibiting any person who is not a resident from entering unless he or she signs in.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs that exist within the felician college community and more being developed every year.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to be in a small school with a friendly community of students. students who love sports because there is practically a game occurring every night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are two campuses with a free shuttle that transports students in between each campus.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is expensive, since it is a private school. however, at least each student will get the attention he needs from the professors because of the small class size.

    What to do for fun

    the falcon's nest has a pool table, two big screen televisions, an air hockey table and arcade games for people to enjoy. programs occur, which anyone can attend, with fun activities. there are also two dances per year for the students.

    Food and Dining

    there are two cafeterias. the cafeteria in rutherford, where the dormitories are, has an all you can eat dinner special. also once the cafeteria closes there is a food/hang out spot called the falcons nest where students can get cooked food, or packaged food for the dorm rooms.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm room size is very nice. one dormitory has two rooms sharing a bathroom and the other dorm has suites consisting of three rooms. there are 2 fancy lounges that have televisions, movies, game systems, and popcorn makers. there are also approximately 8 regular dorms for students to hang out in and study. there are nine laundry rooms. also, the resident advisers have programs that range from culture nights to movie nights.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor depends on the professor teaching the subject. some of the teachers are more interested in what the students think and student interaction, while other professors assign more readings and essays for grading. in general, the classes are very helpful and actually do teach useful information.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should see if felician college has a good program for what you want to study. although felician is known for its nursing and education programs, there are other majors felician college can provide adequate education on.

    In three sentences

    felician college is a small school with small classes. the teachers are dedicated to helping every individual succeed. the academic scholarship everyone receives when they enroll at the school are great.

  • 03/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who can deal with rulres

    Tips for prospective students

    it a easy school to get into.

    Bang for the buck

    yeah is kinda expensive but there scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    yeah it will be great

    Will learn a lot

    well morally

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security patrolling at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and activities available every week.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like small classes.not

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at albin obal hall in the entrance student hang out and chat waiting for the shuttle and in the game room by the cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a catholic college so it is a little bit more expensive.

    Food and Dining

    great but small selections available on each campus.

    Dorm Life

    i do not dorm however most students seem to enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    different instructors require different amounts of dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely meet with an advisor.

    In three sentences

    small and personalized education. every class is offered and counselors are available to guide you in the right direction. success is not to far once school has started here.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theres always security around.

    Food and Dining

    There's is a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm I cummute but I hear it's okay for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculm for most the majors here are required for you to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that people need to be more willing and able to do the work here in college. It's not easy but if you put the work in there is no reason why people can not succeed here.

    In three sentences

    Felician is an acedemically incredible school. Everyone is always focused on their work. Their moto Students first is incredibly valid as well.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college is walking distance to a lot of stores to eat out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food on the Lodi campus is better than Rutherford. They changed the cafeteria to allow more make-your-own options, yet sometimes there is not much to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little old but everyone is close by to study and participate in activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Within the past year grade requirements have increased.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make friends right away and form study groups because the material is hard and grade requirements are high.

    In three sentences

    Tuition is really expensive and nursing classes require more money out of pocket than anything else. Faculty is nice and caring. It is a small college that feels like a high school.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Rutherford campus is very well lit and populated, so at night you feel safe walking around. The Lodi campus is a little different- they have added more lighting in the parking lots, but if you have a night class make sure to walk to your car with someone. The campus is pretty much open late at night and the area behind the parking lot is a little questionable. I always try to park really close to the building and under a light if I have a night class on the Lodi campus.

    Greek Life

    I think they have one sorority- I don't know too much more. Not a big Greek Life school

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different student clubs- something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, adult, serious academic seekers, maybe not-so serious academics....I think everyone would find a place there!

    Bang for the buck

    I love Felician and would recommend it to other students, but it is expensive. I do feel like I am receiving an excellent education for the amount of money it costs to attend there, so that somewhat justifies the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different student groups on campus and they always seem to be doing something, whether going to musicals or shows in NYC or going to amusement parks. On the campuses there are lots of activities like bbq's and movies.

    Food and Dining

    There are 2 campuses at Felician- one in Lodi and one in Rutherford. The Lodi campus has a decent cafeteria. It isn't huge, but it has improved quite a bit. The Rutherford campus has a much larger cafeteria and late night dining options for students living on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really comment on this one- I live off campus. I think a high percentage of students are commuters, but there are some who do live on campus. For what I hear from others they seem to like the dorms but say the RA's are a little on the strict side.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this depends on your major or program. I'm in nursing which is very difficult (in my opinion!) but other majors have equal amount of work as well. The good part about Felician is that since it is very small, the professors are very easy to contact if you need additional help and they really seem to care. It would be hard to just float by in classes here- the class size is so small that a professor will likely notice if you are missing or not turning in assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    This isn't a party school- it is a very small, Catholic school. That being said, they do have a social scene, but it is not crazy like other colleges or universities. It is very diverse and there are students of all different walks of life and ages who are really focused on getting an education. The people here are honestly the nicest I have experienced on a college campus.

    In three sentences

    Felician College is a small, welcoming place! The professors are very accessible and truly seem to care about their students. The focus is on individual development and growth in your chosen major/field.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is definitely safe. It's in a good area. Not only that, but there is a pretty big staff of security guards, and someone is always on duty no matter what time of day.

    Greek Life

    There are a few classes offered on Greek mythology.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs, like the student newspaper, and clubs that participate in community service, as well as others. Not only do these clubs cure boredom, but they also look good on a transcript or resume.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is a nursing school, so almost half of the people here are nursing majors. However, the school offers a good Criminal Justice program and Psychology program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since it is a Catholic school, there is a mass everyday. There are some seasonal things that happen too, like the midnight run, in which people run 5k at 12pm.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a little up there in price, but compared to other Catholic schools, it isn't bad. However, the school others a plethra of scholarships and loans, so very little of the tuition will come out of pocket. Also, if you're into sports, many students, domestic & abroad, are here on scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and sports to be a part of. Also, the town is right outside of Patterson, NJ and Newark, NJ which can be reached by the bus if you don't have a car.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and there is a wide variety of choices everyday. And, the prices aren't bad, and food is served from 6am-12pm

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are O.K. Some other colleges have better dorms. These dorms aren't bad, they just leave much to be desired.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but in a good way. And, all of the professors that I've had so far are willing to assist you if you just come to them and ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do good on the Accuplacer, so that you can test out of certain classes. Also, get a parking pass if you commute or have a car, or else you might get a ticket.

    In three sentences

    The college is in a great location where this a lot of diversity coming together. All of the staff is nice and always pleasant to be around. And, the food isn't bad.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I like the cafeteria, they have many different variety of foods there. They have a nice salad bar, and sub area which I like. I eat there many times. The food is good, but a little pricey for me. Besides that the atmosphere and the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm so I could not really tell anything about dorm life. I am a commuter student.

    Academic Rigor

    The school have many wonderful academic programs such as social sciences, Education, Liberal Arts and Nursing. They core program is great and is designed to get students to be well rounded.

    In three sentences

    Felician college is great school. The professors there are wonderful, the all have office hours where you can go and talk to them about any issues you might have. They are very helpful and wants their student to succeed. I like the fact that Felician is a small campus because I can get one on one attention with my professors anytime where are some of the big schools the classes are huge and the professors may not have time to sit one on one with students because they have too many.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around 24/7. Even in the summer. Ensuring safety at all times which is also a great reason why i love Felician. They check ID every time you come into the dorms. They do a good job at making sure your safe and out of harms way.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students: they have an amazing nursing program. Friendly students who want too become successful in life. Felician has a great environment. Their clubs and programs are amazing and will really help anyone get far in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Falcons nest has games, food, a little convenience store, relaxing area, and tv. Its more like a friend spot too hang out and enjoy your time with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    They have a wellness center that has everything you need in case of emergency. They have an excellent nurse who will help you with any issues.

    What to do for fun

    Falcons Nest, gym, movie night at the lounge, many stores within walking distance, and the game room.

    Food and Dining

    The food has many varieties for everyone to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    Clean, quiet, and spacious. Its kind of expensive but if you live far away from home, it will make life so much easier.

    Academic Rigor

    Reason i chose this school was because the small classes. I enjoy being individually taught and not in a group. The classes being small help me learn better and easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose the classes you know will learn best in. Choose classes during the time you learn best. Try to learn about your roommate. Your roommate is the person you wake up too and fall asleep with so i suggest getting to know them os your beat choice. I ended up becoming close friends with mine.

    In three sentences

    Felician College is by far the best college i've seen. I've vistited many colleges near me and nome of them caught my eye as Felician did. Orientation was amazing, friendly, and exciting. Most would say that college is hard an distracting, but at Felician it opens doors to opportunities. I am currently enrolled in the school and have taken part in their EOF program. This program has taught me a lot about dorming, programs, and how life at Felician is. I've received a chance to learn what college is about. Felician is doing an excellent job in welcoming incoming Freshmen. I look forward to my next 4 years because i know at Felician i will fulfill my dreams on becoming a nurse.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to park ave for fun. It's like a little shopping center.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok but the serving times are sooo early.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so fun, a great experience. if you have enough money you should try it.

    Academic Rigor

    To stay at this college you must keep your grades up

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here if u like to party because its a great possibility you would get kicked out.

    In three sentences

    I find Felicina to be a great school. You get to study well and get work done. Also everyone is nice and friendly so far.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Try to meet new friends and get along with them since activities inside the school usually start late around 8 in the evening which are usually intended for students who dorm.

    Food and Dining

    Food in Lodi campus is way better than the Rutherford campus

    Dorm Life

    I've heard that dorms are quite on an average level.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors here are really good and know their subjects to the root. They really know what they are talking about and can explain in the simplest way I've seen and heard so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some subjects are really hard especially for science majors, but all you have to do is give as much time as you can to your studies and take some breaks in between days to give yourself some time for fun and relaxation. He/she must know how to balance and interact with the people around because since this is just a small college, going all of these would really be so stressful and lonely at times. So taking advantage of this small community will give you the opportunity to meet new and diverse people that you just have to learn to get along with.

    In three sentences

    Felician College has a small student body and has a very good student-teacher relationship. The professors in this college give a lot of their time trying to give the best advice to their students and make sure that their students are on the right track. People around the around the campus are so friendly and most of them are easy to get along with.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each campus is stocked with security officers who watch over the campus and the students 24/7. Both Lodi and Rutherford are extremely safe, and an officer will walk anyone to their car once it is night time if they feel unsafe. The school releases a report about any campus issues every year, and Felician College has consistently shown that it is the safest college in the North Jersey area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A strange and unusual location on campus, specifically the Rutherford campus, is the Iviswold Castle. The castle was built in 1869 by Floyd W. Tomkins. The castle has been renovated and just recently opened to students and faculty. There is a cafe and a quiet study lounge for students, while faculty occupy the upper floors for offices and conference rooms. In 2004, the castle was officially listed on the List of Registered Historic Places in New Jersey. The Castle was renovated to it's original glory and is certainly one of the talking points of all current, and visiting high school students, every year.

    What to do for fun

    The great attraction about Felician College is the proximity to New York City. When you live on the Rutherford campus, you are only a few minute walk from the bus station that takes you directly to New York City. On campus, students enjoy a variety of clubs and organizations they can join, which meet year round. There are events hosted throughout each semester by the organizations on campus that get students involved in fun activities - anyone who comes to Felician College should certainly become a part of these groups!

    Food and Dining

    On each campus, students have the opportunity to grab breakfast, lunch, and dinner. On the Lodi campus, you can get a fresh sub or wrap every day. Also, there is a hot lunch offered every day, which is prepared by cooks who love their job. (I recommend the baked ziti!) They also offer a fully stocked salad bar, grill, coffee stand, and a variety of snacks. Felician College also makes sure that all their students have the opportunity to purchase an affordable meal plan as well. During Thanksgiving, Felician also offers a Thanksgiving dinner for all students, complete with turkey, mashed potatoes with gravy, macaroni and cheese, etc.; there is also a variety of pies, cakes, and cookies as well! The cooks who work at Felician College take care of the food they make, and they always cook it to perfection.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Felician College is the one of the best experiences for any Felician student. When you live in the dorms, you have even more opportunities to get involved, especially during finals when many RA's gather students for study and focus groups, separate from any distractions and noise. Many clubs at Felician College also host events, such as the Multicultural Bash, Study Abroad Fair, and many more. Dorm students have the unique experience of living in the small and historic town of Rutherford, which is only ten miles away New York City. Felician College is a small community, but this allows dorm students the opportunity to meet and make friends for a lifetime, something that they will always cherish.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs at Felician College are challenging and rigorous. Each professor gives their students difficult, but understandable and thought-provoking lessons to bring about a love for the subject. As a Business Administration major in the 5 Year Masters Program, my brain is stimulated every day in each class to think about the topics in ways that I may not have before. I am also exposed to different business settings, such as the VITA Program, which is a program I am a part of that gives people with lower-incomes the opportunity to complete their tax returns for free. Students at Felician College expect to have a challenging and nourishing educational experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students of Felician College should visit the campuses in Lodi and Rutherford, and should inquire about information through the Felician website. They should also meet with academic and financial advisors to map out a plan for their educational track and also for potential scholarships they may receive from the school. Prospective students can also come to Felician College as undecided, and through the general education classes, they can decide which program is the best for them.

    In three sentences

    Felician College is a small, liberal arts school with a strong education. Felician College teaches its students about Franciscan values which creates a friendly and solid relationship between the students and the faculty. The community of the school is welcoming and helpful to all students.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's security EVERYWHERE. Their cool but just don't get caught doing anything stupid they switch up fast.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's not many clubs or activities here at Felician but their improving we recently got a track and field team. So its expanding.

    Great for these types of students

    Stay FOCUSED! Courses get harder as your time gets shorter. Felician is fun but balance your time wisely.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On certain days Felician offers free movie tickets. Once 60 students (me included) got free tickets to Dorney Park! There's traditional basketball games and midnight madness, everyone loves midnight madness its awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    Well Felician is expensive but its worth it. The education you receive is phenomenal and you will never forget it. The people you meet here are great and future friends you will never forget the experiences.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of activities in Rutherford. There's like little shops here and there where you can go shopping for food or clothes. There's also a movie theater and regular little shops you would see in any town.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is 40/50. Sometimes its good most times its bad. Food in the Lodi campus is WAY better than food in Rutherford. But they have alot of different foods you can choose from if you dont want the food. Salad bar, sandwich station, snacks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kind of old but it has a welcoming feel to it. If you have enough money to pay for dorming you should, you meet alot of great people here. But there are strict rules and you DO NOT want to get written up. TRUST ME.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs here at Felician College are challenging and worth your while. The professors are very difficult with their lessons which keeps students on their toes 24/7.

    Tips for prospective students

    Felician College is a life changing experience, so be prepared. College is not easy but Felician actually makes it possible. Be alert and stay focused material gets harder and grade requirements are high. If you want a party school then this school is not for you, there is a good chance you might get kicked out. Expect to have a challenging educational experience.

    In three sentences

    Felician College is a small welcoming school with a small population. The teachers are always there to help and they actually care about whether you pass or fail their course. You get to study and get your work done.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Let's find out!!!

    Food and Dining

    I don't think that will be a problem for me, but this is totally persona.

    Dorm Life

    Looks pretty amazing from the pics.

    Academic Rigor

    Not been there yet but I'm looking forward to find out.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's very easy to apply and it doesn't require tons of documents like other schools. It also awards a scholarship to 80% of the applicants accepted and I was one of them. They made it really easy for me.

    In three sentences

    I have always been assisted from Felician College representatives for every question I had. Loved the online tour. I can see myself studying in here.