Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ferrum College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think students who are looking for a close campus community and do not mind the rural environment would definitely love Ferrum. Also, if you need help from teachers, know that the teachers here focus on your name and unique learning style rather than knowing you as just a grade. This college contains all the perks of being in at a small college and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a few things to be aware of. There are not too many phone carriers that work well at Ferrum. The college put up a Verizon tower a couple of years ago, so I would definitely suggest switching to Verizon if you are not already a member. I am a Verizon user and I have never had any problems up there with my cell phone. The technology department is also working hard on improving their internet. Since the college has expanded so quickly, their internet servers are not able to meet the needs of so many new wireless students. They offer personal internet for each dorm room with an additional cost if you want to avoid the free internet that is provided around the campus. The free internet tends to be really slow in the dorms, but if you use it in the library or academic halls it usually works pretty well. Even though the school is a Methodist based college, alot of the students that attend the school have no affiliation with the Methodist Church. It is just like the average college where partying does take place on the weekends. If you want to avoid situations like drinking, just find the right group of friends and take advantage of hanging out with them while avoiding the parties. There are a just as many people who do not drink as there are that drink so you will be able to find somewhere to go if you need to avoid drinking.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, which means that it costs more than the public colleges. Do not be alarmed by the first glance of the tuition price though because they offer different scholarships based on high school academics, test scores and state location. Since they are a private school most of the students also qualify for financial aid, such as FASFA and the V-Tag Grant. I give the school a four star in the category though because some of the older dorms could use some remodeling and be updated. Despite the older dorms that could use work, their other facilities are in great shape. As the student progresses through college they are able to apply for better and newer housing. They have apartment style housing and also a hotel designed dorm; these residence housings are in very nice shape. The college also puts alot of their money into making college a great experience for the students. They offer many activities around the campus, have a gym free for the students, bring in speakers for special lectures, along with having a great staff of teachers and faculty. The cooks are working hard on improving the food and meeting our needs by throwing special dinners for holidays and offering taste testing sessions. Again, in order to get your money's worth you must make the college experience by embracing opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I personally love the college! It is a great get away surrounded by forests and nature is everywhere you look. Of course, being in the middle of no where Ferrum Virginia can lend its hassles too. The closest commercialized area is Rocky Mount, which is about ten to fifteen minutes away from the campus. The positive of being out in Ferrum is that it is like being in our own little community. The campus is really close and you are able to make many friends with the tight community. You are able to stand out more in a small crowd than in a big sea like at the bigger universities.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a first year student at Ferrum College I am learning not only in an academical sense, but I am learning much about myself. I am learning my weaknesses and strengths through the school work and my involvement in activities on the campus. The teachers are very accessible and express a desire to help their students learn. This makes the educational experience both enjoyable and rewarding. As for learning more about myself, the campus offers many opportunities for all students to get involved in clubs, co-ed sports, college level sports, and many other activities. By getting involved in the activities around campus I am able to learn about my interests along with the things I am not so interested in. Being involved in activities along with being a full time student has also taught me the importance of time management. Ferrum is a great place to expand learning, as long as you take advantage of the opportunities in front of you.

  • 09/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    athletes Psych and social work majors recreational majors health science and science majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont come in thining that since it was easy to get in that it will be easy to stay in you have to work hard to stay Ferrum expects a lot out of there students and if you do have a bad first year they have programs and tutors that help you get back on track so its not the end of the world . also join things participate in school the programs are there for you use them and you will make a lot of friends its a great school so give it a chance

    Bang for the buck

    I would say yeah you get a bang for your buck they do so many things to entertain you to help you with your classes and like i said the professors are awsome.

    Am enjoying being here

    Ferrrum is in the middle of no where so they have a lot of programs set up so you wont be bored so all you have to do is step out of your dorm room.

    Am learning a lot

    You really learn a lot here at Ferrum you just have to be willing to do the work Ferrum has really great Professors as well.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are seen 24/7 so it's a pretty safe campus. Resident assistance is always available also.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ferrum does have a variety of Greek clubs, from national ones to local one too. There is an outdoor club for those who enjoy the outdoors. We also have a handful of sport teams and for those who don't want to be on an actual team we also have intramurals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Fling, Homecoming, and end of the year concert a a couple of big events that are big at Ferrum.

    What to do for fun

    As I previously mentioned, boredom is an option. There are many clubs in campus and people are really kind and always excited to have new people join. The nearest town is Rocky Mount, in case you need to go to Wall-Mart or want to go eat in a restaurant. In case you don't have a car transportation on weekends is offered.

    Food and Dining

    There is variety in the caf, from cereal bar that's open 24/7 to the station where you will find the special if the day.

    Dorm Life

    All dorms are decent but obviously upper clansmen have first choice. Compared to other colllages I visisted Ferrum had the best living conditions. (I visited big schools ex. UM, CSU)

    Tips for prospective students

    Boredom is an option at Ferrum, it's what you make out of your experience. Join clubs and if there isn't a club you're interested in you can't go to student leadership and request to start a new club.

    In three sentences

    Small campus where the teachers make you their priority. Help is always available for those who need it. Everyone on campus supports you from academics to sports.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 Police

    Clubs and Activities

    Any thing you can think of

    Great for these types of students

    Very diverse

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There tons of blue grass festivals, and folklore festivals

    Bang for the buck

    Do not have to pay to print in the library, or pay to wash clothes. There's always something going on.

    What to do for fun

    Go to dances, free bowling night, free movie night, trips to the mall, concerts, coffee house, inprov show.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh food grown from know farmers.

    Dorm Life

    There's never a dull day in Sue West.

    Academic Rigor

    Best Teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend class, and ask questions if you need help.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College, is a great school to attend, because they have very dedicated teachers that are willing to help 24/7. Ferrum also has a vast verity of activities to keep students happy and active in the community. Last Ferrum College, helps build character, and leaderships skills with there internship programs.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i think its a pretty safe school, especially for it being in the middle of nowhere. there are some things they can improve on, for example enforcing that people sign in their guests when visiting. it gets really annoying waking up early in the morning and seeing a random person using your bathroom, or basically being obnoxious or annoying.

    Greek Life

    i'm not really into greek life so i can't really say anything. personally i don't like sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    surprisingly they have a lot of different clubs and activities. its really diverse, like the karate club, i have yet to join that and i love going to zumba on mondays so its great!

    Great for these types of students

    people who like going to small colleges in the middle of no where.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one word: trollville. the worse place to go when you're sober, but the best place to go on the weekend when you're drunk.

    Bang for the buck

    i think there's a lot more they need to improve on. but, they are growing a lot, and this school's president is doing all she can to help this school out, she's really involved and friendly.

    What to do for fun

    they always have something going on during the week, but during the weekend is what gets people the most. there's not much to do on the weekends, so if you don't have your little circle of friends your s.o.l. and if you don't have a card to get you to places.

    Food and Dining

    i highly suggest you bring your own food. you'll get tired of eating at papa john's and subway fast than you think you will. the dining hall food has the best breakfast, but after breakfast, lunch and dinner starts to suck badly.

    Dorm Life

    it all depends where you stay at and who your roommate is. its not as bad, i think. i have a great ra and me and my hall mates we're all basically good friends. i do have a roommate that's different from me in many ways, (especially race and lifestyle wise) but we get along great, its all in communication and honesty.

    Academic Rigor

    it all depends on your professor. some professors are really understanding and willing to give you an extra credit, while you do have those hardcore professors, but they're really hard to get by. attend class regulary and miss no more than 3-4 classes you should be fine. its an easy a school no matter the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    like i said, its a small campus school in the middle of no where. i highly advise you bring your own car and entertainment, (like your xbox, wii, etc).

    In three sentences

    great school for being a small campus. its not a hard school at all, its really an easy a. also its in the middle of no where.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The biggest danger here is driving the mountain roads at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Environment Science majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Overly priced for the options which are limited in all regards.

    What to do for fun

    Your best option for fun is to include yourself in sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is the cafeteria, a Subway and a Papa Johns. That is it except for a wrap and hot dog stand. There is a Starbucks on campus, but the hours are so limited it is of no value.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and run down. There are few activities related to the dorm. The views can be beautiful however, overlooking the lake and mountains.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the department, the academics here are very good. Many of the freshman level classes are not taught by the best professors on campus. This is a great place to study the sciences, and in particular environmental science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should have a car in order to escape this small boring campus, but even then, there is nowhere to go. Be sure to bring a refrigerator and microwave as there is little choice or variety for food and drink here.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College is a small liberal arts college nestled in the mountains of southern Virginia. Classes are small and personal with easy relationships forming between the professors and students. Ferrum is undeveloped as a residential school however, and there is little outside academics to keep you busy.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police roaming around on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am also a part of APO- which is Alpha Phi Omega. There are also a lot of other Greek organizations on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities and clubs on campus. I am apart of AASA- African American Student Association.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students you just have to find where you fit in on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year Ferrum College throws a huge event for ReLay for Life.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a dollar tree down the road from campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is always on campus going on to get the students engaged.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is okay but there is not that much variety on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay and they are a nice size.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very great the teachers help you out with everything. Also there are other students there that is more than willing to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people on campus because they will help you out a lot.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice school. It has a lot of activities for students to engage in. There are a lot of nice people on campus also.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ferrum College literally has it's own police force. Since the college is nearby a small town, the police HQ is right around the corner from Ferrum and always on-call. Don't worry though, the police are rather lax when it comes to typical college troubles.

    Clubs and Activities

    More and more clubs are being founded each year.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors lovers. Those who like to fish. Hikers, runners, etc. Good area for outdoor exercise.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many students spend weekends partying at a nearby sorority house known as Trollville.

    Bang for the buck

    Ferrum has been considering tuition increases in order to further improve the campus. At the moment, the bang is in the process of catching up with the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Large fields for any type of games, mountains and woods for hiking, and lots of indoor activities such as comedy shows and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Be careful. It's easy to treat the caf like an all-you-can-eat buffet.

    Dorm Life

    A few of the dorm buildings are quite old, and in need of maintenance; however, the newer buildings are more roomy, and more modern, with things like elevators and larger washrooms, kitchen areas, etc.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum college is a small campus with a nice surrounding area. The small classroom environment allows for close interaction and more individual time with professors/instructors. I would recommend attending this college to anyone who prefers small town areas, and closer relationships with professors.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe Campus.

    What to do for fun

    Ferrum has many activities to do on campus. As well as the campus shuttle that takes you to a free movie or bowling that alternates on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is varied every night but they do always have rice and beans every night. I like how they get fruits and veggies from the Agriculture program on campus or from local farms.

    Dorm Life

    Even though being a freshman you normally get the not so nice dorms, the only thing i see a problem in my dorm is no a/c. Other then that i see the dorms being nice and well kept up and cleaned

    Academic Rigor

    Ferrum is a great school to get an education at

    Tips for prospective students

    Ferrum has excellent, hands on professors and instructors to get you to that degree and fully understand the information included.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College is located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. There are many activities to participate in on campus. Ferrum is a great place to get a degree and have fun all in the same time frame.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On weekends, which at Ferrum consist of Thursday night through Saturday night, most of the student body enjoy the Greek life at what we students refer to as Trolleville. This location is conveniently located under a nearby bridge, hence the name Trolleville.

    Food and Dining

    Over all the food served within the campus is fairly well prepared. Although, every Monday they have Macaroni as a choice. I myself love Mac and cheese, but Ferrum's brand will literally send you to the bathroom for approximately 10 times longer than the amount of time it takes you to eat it. Word to the wise, eat with caution!

    Dorm Life

    As a freshmen I have been given the unfortunate luck of receiving a dorm room located in a community bath-roomed facility. Even so I enjoy my dorm thoroughly, and in fact wouldn't have it any way for my first year here.

    Academic Rigor

    Within my first semester I have noticed that each of my classes are extremely easy. Most would find this as a blessing, but I would prefer to actually have to try. Therefore if I choose to transfer schools I won't be completely shocked by their curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend visiting Ferrum College and any other college that you are interested in before making any permanent decisions. Many things look great from the outside looking in. Therefore, perhaps plan a weekend trip to the location of your possible school choices and get a feel for the community you could possibly call home one day.

    In three sentences

    Over all my experience at Ferrum College has been a positive one. If you are looking for a smaller campus with a small town feel to it, Ferrum College is the place for you. With approximately 1,500 students, everyone becomes friends quickly, allowing each student to feel at home at an early stage within the school year.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a very together campus. Vary few bad things happen on campus.

    Greek Life

    Join and you change foever.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on how you look at it

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of outdoor activities and they are fun. Especially rock climbing.

    Food and Dining

    They have there moments but its not always good. Though its something to eat. And get the 10 means per week. Trust me, no matter the schedule you have you are not eating 3 or 2 meals a day.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on where you live. Hillcrest is the cheapest housing but its what it sounds like, a hill. Never apply to Riddick, Su Wes, or Chapman. Those are absolute last results. Basset is your best choice though its on the edge of campus. If you want the best dorms choose Moore, Author, or Dyer. Clark is OK but is always loud.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging... depending on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a small campus, so everyone knows everyone.

    In three sentences

    Can be fun if you let it. Most teachers are awesome. Not much to do on campus if you do not look for things to do.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police station is right down the road from the college. Police patrol every night. All dorms are locked at all times, only way in is if someone lets you in or you live in that dorm. Emails or texts sent out if there is a problem on campus.

    Greek Life

    The greek life on campus is great. There are a few sororities and fraternities on campus and all have wonderful traits about them. Joining one is great and helps you get out on the campus and its a rewarding process.

    Clubs and Activities

    A very wide variety of clubs and activities for any type of student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pappy's Gas station is the cutest gas station ever and they have great food. Paradise bar and grill and Ferrum bar and grill are really good places to eat and go out with friends.

    What to do for fun

    Trollville, Kappa House, OXE, Roanoke, play sports, join a greek.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes you get good food and other times it is not that great. You just have a 50/50 chance when it comes to the Dining Hall, but you have subway and papa johns plus a lot of other places in town if you have the money to spend.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms do not have A/C but they are older than most. Could remodel the older dorms to make them more updated. Stay away from Riddick.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very open to helping students and its really great. As long as you talk with your professors and show you have an interest they will help work with you. The classes so far I have taken are not that hard, you just have to dedicate yourself to your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be dedicated to the campus if you really want to go there. A lot of my friends have failed out because they did not care. Bring rain boots and winter jackets because it gets rainy and cold. Keep focused on your education and get yourself out in the community.

    In three sentences

    This college has a great Science and Criminal Justice Departments. Off in the country and surrounded by beautiful mountains and wildlife. Small but overall great campus.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who like clubs and activities

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you brush up on your student habits

    In three sentences

    broad college, wide range of studies, great sports

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love this college. The size and location is perfect. I like how the staff knows your name.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are always checking up on you and they explain everything you need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs for you to join.

    What to do for fun

    I hang with friends, and the Student Leadership provides many activities for the stundents.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be much better.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on which dorm you get, put they are pretty nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study and do your work ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great. They help whenever possible. The campus is beautiful.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is fantastic. the variety of food is amazing. and i thought the cereal machine was an awesome touch to top of the great dining experience.

    Dorm Life

    i have been in the model room for the dorm i will be staying in. it is kind of small but i still think it will be great. there is a lobby, so it will be easy to interact with former students and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    i believe that the rigor of the school will be fairly challenging but because of the small classroom settings, it will be a lot easier to stay on track and not get lost.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College just seems so right to me. The campus is beautiful and everyone is so friendly. I really do not see myself at any other college.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police are really friendly and cool. They do there job well, and I feel safe with them protecting us.

    Greek Life

    There are two national greek associations on campus. PIKE and DPE. The rest are local like OXE.

    Clubs and Activities

    My favorite club personally is Rotaract. I would highly recommend joining that club when you get there. Other clubs they offer are: Art Club, Rec Club, Ferrum Freaks, and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    All type of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Trollville is very unusual, and don't go to any unknown back road areas, you may get lost.

    Bang for the buck

    I got my money's worth coming to this college, but college depends on what you put into it.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends, chill with your friends and have a good time or go to roanoke which is not too far.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, depending on the days. The cafe offers different food each day.

    Dorm Life

    Really depends on the building, some are quieter then others. The room sizes are decent.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the classes you are taking, if they are harder classes you will be spending most of your time at the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your classes. If you have problems understanding something in a class then ask your teacher for help right away

    In three sentences

    The Staff here is amazing, they actually help you and want to see you succeed. The Scenery here is wonderful, and the friends I've made will be in my life forever. Also, the resources the school has to offer is great as well.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends and make my own fun. Ferrum also has different evens going on that you can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay on certain days in the cafe. You also get a good amount to spend at subway or papa johns. There are also different things on campus that you can get for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really what you make of it. Everybody can have fun in their dorm building. There are also a lot of nice dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study hard and your teachers are also very willing to help their students out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your school work and ask for help when you need it. The school is what you make of it you will enjoy it with some friend and your own fun.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this school I met a lot of people there. I also learned that you have to be willing to ask for help from people. I also like that the class rooms are small.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, you can walk around in the dark outside and know that you are okay

    Greek Life

    GREAT. ALPHA PHI OMEGA all day :)

    What to do for fun

    campus activities and hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    food is okay, its always good to have food in your room

    Dorm Life

    its cool. nice. even though lake side has no AC and is kinda small

    Tips for prospective students

    be yourself, don't let someone tell you what to do. come as you are and don't change for anyone.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum, is fun if you now the right people and take advantage of everything on campus.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ferrum Outdoors is a great way to stay active and have lots of fun?

    Food and Dining

    Ferrum has an on-campus Starbucks, Papa Johns and Subway as well as a great dining room facility with excellent selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting. Just more sure to stay involved with all the campus activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is high on the priority list with highly qualified professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out www.ferrum.edu. Explore this site for many helpful hints on becoming a student at Ferrum College.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College is a wonderful place to continue with ones higher education. It has a beautiful campus setting and offers more than just academics. It offers its students many opportunities to get involved, especially with outdoor activities, as well as being involved with the surrounding community and its people.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is really safe, especially for being in the middle of no where. You'll see policemen and woman walking around campus and talking to students, they are friendly people and willing to help.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities, but its not much. There are frats parties being through right off campus every other friday. Its not much, but its something to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are coffee houses being held once a month in the panther's den. Its basically like a talent show where everyone can go on the stage and preform anything. Its fun to go too. Plus there are theme parties thrown every once and awhile. And other stuff

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes being in the middle of no where? And people who don't like being around a lot of people like introverts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there are any...?

    Bang for the buck

    Since its a private school, its really expensive and unless you are covered with scholarships or loans then you're good. I wouldn't suggest paying out of pocket here though.

    What to do for fun

    Since its in the middle of no where, the nearest place to go for fun is the city Roanoke which is 45 minutes away. I do however suggest getting involved in clubs or organizations and every once awhile there are events being held at school, (school dances, sport games, concerts, etc.)

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall is a hit and miss, some days its good and other days it not so great. We do have Subway and Papa John's in the Panther's Den, but you'll get tired of eating there eventually. I highly advised going grocery shopping at Wal-mart.

    Dorm Life

    Majority of the people attending this school live in dorms. Some dorms are nice and others aren't really all that cracked up to be. Dorms like Bassett, Arthur, Clark, Dyer, and Moore are nice. The other places...not so much.

    Academic Rigor

    Its kinda like being in high-school but with more papers to write and spaced out homework and projects. The classes are easy and attendance does help out a lot especially if you're struggling. The professors are willing to help you out, and the math and writing centers are free. And the tutors also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since its a small school be careful who you tell your personal business to, news spread faster than butter on toast. You will be culture shocked coming here, trust me. lol

    In three sentences

    Its a small college in the middle of nowhere. If you do not like the country don't attend here. If you do, then this is the best place for you.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to parties in the panther's den, Trollville, OXE, just hang with friends, go into town, Ferrum outdoors activities, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, but you do have the option of eating at Subway or Papa John's. If you get tired of that you can go into town, there is a variety of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all alright to me. It depends on where you live and what you're used to. There are several dorms to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    Ferrum is great as an academic whole, you won't regret your choice. They have small class sizes, you're more than a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and take advantage of the academic advances!

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station right across from the college if anything happens. The cops are always on stand by, and are friendly towards the students.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in any sororities, but at the Club Fair they seem eager and ready for new comers! And they are known for the helping hand they give the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone or some type of activity for each student. Dance Team, Step Team, and all sorts of clubs. It gives you something to do and it helps you make friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Personally Ferrum is great to me because I'm used to the country look. It's a pretty small school, which means that the classes are small. I l

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Trollville.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive private college, but it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Trollville for parties. Hang with friends. Join as many activities as possible. & keep yourself busy.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has its days.. like any other caf. But they make sure that there is a variety of food to please everyone.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends where you live! Riddick, Chapman, and Sue Wes are known for having roaches and who knows what else. And you will need to bring several fans. Basset is one of the better underclassmen dorms with air conditioning. Clark, Dyer, etc are what you would want to aim for after Freshmen year.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are usually pretty small. If you start having problems the professors will be there to help you along the way. If you need extra tutoring there are people there for that as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you visit each school that you are interested in and that you are 100% comfortable with what the college offers. During school, focus on your work. It's is totally okay to have plenty of fun on the weekends.. but the grades come first.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College is a beautiful campus. Ferrum College has something for everyone. Anyone who says anything negative about it have either dropped out, transferred, or stay cooped up in their rooms.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theres a police station right across campus, they are mostly out on thursdays-sunday because that is of course when people party, the campus is pretty open, to the point where it feels like anyone can walk in...that is probably because they can....but always walk in groups at night...I never felt unsafe since its a small community around but you never know.....I think the campus only has 2 safety blue boxes as well from what I remember so if you're in trouble and a campus box is not near you and you didnt take my advance like I said about having a buddy with you then well......Goodluck Charlie...

    Greek Life

    Yes...some national ones too I believe, I did not bother since I knew I would transfer but I had some friends in some and they had a good time

    Clubs and Activities

    This is the most important...If you dont get out of your dorm room then of course you will say it sucks, I got out of my dorm room alot with clubs and teams and I still think it sucked...but you know that until you get out and get involved !.....theres a bunch you can do, they have club day in the panthers den where you can go around and join clubs and get to know people...its really nice. I would recommend that for anyone, to at least try !

    Great for these types of students

    If you really love really small schools, everyone knowing everything about you, 1 on 1 with professors, the deep country, and getting a bunch of text alerts from ferrum mail about pointless stuff like lost sweat pants....then this is your school! :D

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tradition was to always to go Virginia Tech and Radford....those schools are really close by like less than 30 minutes away...If you have friends at those schools you will probably see them alot....but only if you have a car...or know someone who has a car...My favorite place on campus was the library....I would spend most of my time there.

    Bang for the buck

    NO...just NO....Its a private school so It will be the same, unless you can convince Ferrum to give you more money then I wouldnt....Ive talked to a bunch of people who have said 1 year they go completely free, then the next you really get hit with a hugeee tuition. So if you can go there for pretty much nothing ,GO ! I had lots of scholarships myself but the amount i had left to pay still was not worth it in my opinion...

    What to do for fun

    ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........Go party at other colleges...thats what I did ! The parties at Ferrum are hit and miss and you pay to get in to most unless you have connections thru that frat or soro.....I was apart of clubs and I was active at Ferrum but it just was not for me....almost everyone I talked to transferred out....But it has to be one of those things you find out for yourself....the school could be for you ! you never know !

    Food and Dining

    Eh...most days were miss, The only time they had good food were when fancy people came...other than that I stayed at papa johns and subway the most...The cafe food just was not to my liking....Pappys should of catered Ferrum if you ask me...(Pappys was this guy that lived across from Ferrum, Alot of people were in his store all the time but I believe he shut down now sadly, his food was amazing !)

    Dorm Life

    EW....one of the main reasons I left...ANTS!!!! you are blessed if you get clarke or one of those nice ones but if you get any basement level room in one of the old dorms like sue west, chapman, riddick.... brace yourself for Ants. I had atleast 6 ants traps in my room....Does not matter if you leave food out or not...there are ants in the basement rooms. Try getting an upper one or a nice dorm..

    Academic Rigor

    I have to give it to Ferrum even though I transferred out, Ferrum gave me the best English professors I have ever had, Mr.Greene and Dr. Macklin I believe were their names....I really enjoyed their classes the most...my other classes were pretty good too when it came to learning

    Tips for prospective students

    Have.....A....Car....Its essential, the only thing in walking distance are the dollar general and the DQ, other than that, you will be stuck, I had a car on campus and I still did not like it. The closest thing is an area called Rocky Mount which is about a 25 minute drive...most people go there to tan and go to walmart...that is about it...the real mall is in Roanoke, about an hour drive away from Ferrum

    In three sentences

    Well, Ferrum is in the middle of no where...if you like the deep country then you will be just fine...

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students are being robbed at gun point on campus! Im not even kidding, but they make it sound like a nice home away from home where your safety is so important...believe me this place it GHETTO and I'm from Henrico.

    Greek Life

    Sucks! Frats and sororities are all un heard of.

    Clubs and Activities

    All activities cost money. If you are promised to play sports don't believe it! I came here because I was promised i would play football. I turned down 6 other colleges to come here to find out I was red shirted along with 100 other freshman. BTW red shirted here means CUT!! The coaches lie and cheat and still can't win a game! What can I say what goes around... comes around!

    Great for these types of students

    I have yet to meet a person that would fit in and like it here! Everyone that comes here is coming to transfer out, because this place is jail.

    Bang for the buck

    This place is just a scam to get your money! Save your parents money and go to a community college before you come here!

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING! Unless hanging out at the dollar general is your idea of fun! The girls here are ALL unattractive! The party life does not exist if you want to go to a party you have to drive to Radford and that is a scary drive down a 2 lane mountain road with cliffs on both sides.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not fit for animals. They can't even make an egg or a pancake that is decent to eat. Everything sits under a heat lamp or they pop it in the microwave. Every time me and my friends eat we have to run to the bathroom!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are just GROSS! We were without power and water for a week that is a week's worth of bathroom activity that does not flush! They are old and just nasty!

    Academic Rigor

    3.5 The teachers lie!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't believe the lies!

    In three sentences

    DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL! COACHES LIE, ADMISSIONS LIE, AND TEACHERS LIE! No matter what you are told and how nice and great they seem, it's just a scam to get you and your money here! Once you are here it is like JAIL!

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -People who live in the country -People who like small communities

    What to do for fun

    As mentioned before, there isn't much to do outside sports or the local YMCA. This college offers a free bowling and movie night once a month and they have a decent selection of clubs, but its highly recommended that you bring your own entertainment from home.

    Food and Dining

    This is more of an opinion type thing, but my experience with the dining hall has been quite mixed. On the plus side, the food is of decent quality and manages to fill an empty stomach. On the not-so-plus side, the dishware is often dirty and the area in general looks somewhat messy. If you must eat here, bring your own dishware to be on the safeside

    Dorm Life

    Certain dorms are actually of decent size and include their own bathrooms, but most are small and cramped, leaving little room for visitors. You must absolutely make the best of these dorms to make yourself feel comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are nice, as they are small and not intimidating. The teachers seem to genuinely be interested in seeing their students succeed and the work is not excesss or beyond difficult. Overall, it is not hard getting a 3.5 GPA or above here.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Bring as much entertainment as possible -Pack as snacks as you can -Make sure the tution is something you know you can pay off, as this college plays dirty when it comes to money -Make sure you live within at least an hour of the college, as getting a ride is hard -Brace yourself for the country life

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College is a decent school, but definitely one that should be considered as a last resort option. For the asking price, the dorms are small and cramped, the dining hall is low quality, and there is little to know activity options outside sports and the on campus YMCA.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have to get involved here, or you ill be bored. Join a sorority or fraternity or even a club or team. Once you do that, you will meet a ton of great people.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at subway or papa johns most of the time. I don't really like eating in the caf. The crazy cuke and hot dog cart are very good also.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live, the dorm life can be great. I have been satisfied everywhere I have lived. Once you get past freshmen year, you will figure out the better places to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Here you are able to learn on a one on one type setting. The professors all know you by name. The classes can be rough, but the professors are happy to help.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are dances, clubs, a big campus to explore, walking trails, ponds where you can just go and sit and enjoy the view, and any other activities that maybe going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    They serve a variety of food. They have a papa johns, star bucks, and a subway as well.

    Dorm Life

    When you first arrive at Ferrum, you might end up with a dorm room with no air conditioning. Bring lots of fans, but hey, you get to choose where you want to live you're next year here!! Get good grades and you'll get to live in the nicer buildings where you'll have you're own bathroom and shower.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are absolutely wonderful and care about their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should always do your homework, even if you don't want to. Doing your homework will show the teacher that you're trying and it will help your grade as well. Don't come here to just party, nothing comes good out of parting 24/7, one in a while is OK as long as you're getting stuff done as well. Don't be lazy, get out and walk around the campus, get involved in activities. Get organized, you will have assignments due at different dates, so keep up with them and you'll be a star.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum College is the best decision that I choose to go to continue further on my education. The teachers and staff are wonderful and are there to help you even if you think their not, plus the students here are friendly. A small college full of wonderful people, who couldn't ask for a better school?

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good for those who don't commute.

    Dorm Life

    I commute

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult, but teachers take time in and out of class to help everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak with an advisor about potential classes; the catalog is not always easy to understand, and classes are sometimes offered every other year.

    In three sentences

    Ferrum is an amazing campus where you feel like family. Teachers learn your name in small classes, and always answer questions. I love this school.