Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Finger Lakes Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/24/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Well I haven't been there yet, but i have researched them and it's seems like the place I want to be. For future students just go and visit. Don't wait 'til you have to take the placement test to go and see it like i did, just go.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adults, returning back to school

    Tips for prospective students

    come to this school before a 4 year, you'll be glad you did.

    Bang for the buck

    cheap!

    Am enjoying being here

    the faculty at this school are professionals, but are regular, laid back people who are easily relatable

    Am learning a lot

    the adult returning to school, would enjoy the programs offered here.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    community college is a great way to get an education and degree because it is cheaper then a lot of the state schools but still offers the same great education!

    What to do for fun

    on campus there is a stage where concerts are held at during the spring and summer. there are also many trails around the campus where you can walk around with friends or just hang out. also, a little off the campus there are many shopping centers and eateries. a major mall and casino are only 20 minutes away. there are many things to do around here!

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria at flcc has a wide variety of foods, pretty much anything you could want. the chefs make everything as you order it, so everything is always hot and fresh. you can personalize any sandwhich, or meal. literally, anything you could want, you can get down at the cafeteria at flcc. their hours are good for a quick snack or a meal, almost anytime.

    Dorm Life

    currently, i don't live on campus because it's close enough to where i can commute. although, i've heard from my friends who live on campus that the dorm life is fun and that you can make a lot of good friends here.

    Academic Rigor

    a lot of people say that community college is not as hard as other colleges, but i don't believe that is true! a lot of the courses i've taken through flcc so far have been tough but a good challenge. these courses are no different then those in state schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are still in high school, i'd recommend taking any college courses that your high school may offer because that's what i did and i came into finger lakes community college with a semester already done. if you're looking for an affordable college, flcc is the one. it's a great place to start out and the course and degree selection is immense.

    In three sentences

    finger lakes community college is a great place to start your education path in college and earn a degree. they have campuses in 3 different counties making it easy to find classes that fit your needs and schedule. so far, my experience has been great, along with my success!

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    at flcc, there are clubs for just about any hobby.

    What to do for fun

    at flcc, there are plenty of places to dine. there is a mall that is about 15 minutes away, and there are also other small recreation places to enjoy such of a movie theater and a bowling alley.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should decide whether or not they will transfer to a 4 year college after they are done with their 2 years at flcc. if this is the case, i would recommend researching and planning for a successful transfer. if the school you are thinking of is not a suny school, they have until their second year at flcc to decide where they would like to go.

    In three sentences

    finger lakes community college is a great college. it is especially great for those looking for minimal distractions and are looking for a college where they can stay focused. this community college is a great place to begin the first two years of your college education then transfer to a 4 year college if you chose to.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are remodeling the campus as of the moment and it's looking good! campus safety are wonderful!

    Clubs and Activities

    all kinds of clubs here! check them out on flcc.edu

    Great for these types of students

    students that don't want the hustle and bustle of big colleges. students who want to be stress free while they are attending college. students who want to enjoy their college years!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    festivals during the summer also!

    Bang for the buck

    this college is awesome! i've had other opportunities to go to different colleges around the area and i just keep coming back to finger lakes community college! i feel at home here and with all the things to do you can't go wrong!

    What to do for fun

    so much! canandaigua is an awesome city! the cmac is at the college and they have great concerts during the summer! there's canandaigua lake to swim, boat and enjoy! a ton of awesome places to eat. movies, shopping, visit sonnenberg gardens. enjoy the wine trails, go hiking. check out roseland water park. this is a great location for the college!

    Food and Dining

    the meals are really good and affordable. the cafeteria is clean and well organized

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are straight forward

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know the professors, they are really wonderful! visit the college! you'll really like it here! a comfortable atmosphere, make yourself at home!

    In three sentences

    this college is small and the teacher/student ratio is awesome! all the staff here are very nice and helpful. i lso love the location of this college.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the club life is huge, with clubs ranging from victory (a christian club) to the z.a.s.c. (zombie apocalypse survival club) and everything in between. clubs often do a lot of fundraising during the fall and early spring semesters to raise the money to go on trips later in the spring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the honors house, where all the honors classes are held is a great place. the place is set up with a couple of lounges with big, overstuffed couches, a kitchen that is always stocked with coffee and tea for students and professors, and all the classrooms are set up so everyone sits in a circle, rather than rows.r

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of stuff to do around canandaigua. kershaw park on the north end of canandaigua lake is just a 5-10 minute walk from campus; during the warmer months, they open a beach with lifeguards (it only costs $1 to get in) that has a huge building with changing rooms, bathrooms and a snack bar. there are tons of sport teams on campus, and games are free for students.

    Food and Dining

    the on campus food is really good, though it can be a bit pricey. the cafe isn't run by the college itself, but an outside company. loading cash onto your flcc id card to eat in the cafe is a smart idea, because if you use that rather than cash or a credit card, they take off the tax.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to go to class; the professors are great, and if you don't go to class, you can miss some really important stuff!

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good security.

    Bang for the buck

    priced right.

    What to do for fun

    walk the trails at flcc

    Dorm Life

    loved the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    great school to go to. especially if your unsure of what major to enter.

    In three sentences

    overall great school. great location, close to home also offering multiple majors that other schools don't.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join any of the clubs, there is something for everyone! Get involved with campus activities..... it is the best networking you can ask for.

    Food and Dining

    Main campus has great food choices, but the satellite campuses only have vending machines and those can be challenging for those trying to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in my own house so I can only tell stories I have heard.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes provide just enough challenges, while others I found less intriguing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become friends with people in your class or ahead of time to help with the student side of things. The people in the offices are great but its the students that will help you with all the daily ins and outs of campus life.

    In three sentences

    Finger Lakes Community College is a great place to jump into being an adult student. They have a ton of support to help you. The satellite campuses give you a feeling of importance and belonging.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in local events and don't forget to go to Scoops for icecream.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and get the answers you need. The faculty are a great resource.

    In three sentences

    Great community to gain education from. Many services are available to the students to help the to succeed.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been a few thieves within the parking lots, but every student is updated via email. There are newly installed safety phones hooked up to campus security. Campus security can be easily found and are always patrolling.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at this school. This is only a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of Clubs and Activities at FLCC. Lacrosse and Basketball are two very popular activities at this school. There is also Theater Club and other clubs designated to certain majors.

    Great for these types of students

    This school would be great for students that are unsure of their major. Also would be great for students looking for a nice education, but with a low price tag. Most of all, FLCC would be good for students looking to go to the nicest community colleges in the Finger Lakes Region.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any unusual traditions or locations on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very nice community college, with a VERY nice nursing program. It is a cheaper college, because it is only a community college. Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    This school is very much into lacrosse, so catching a lacrosse game with some friends is always fun. Also, the school is connected to CMAC which is a performing arts center in which artists and bands, such as Wiz Khalifa and Dave Mathews Band, perform at. It is also always fun to go down to Canandaigua Lake to walk, bike, grab ice cream, or to go out on a boat.

    Food and Dining

    There is a brand new kitchen and cafeteria with a brand new menu. Not as many options as I have seem with other schools. Very nice cafeteria and food services for a small school.

    Dorm Life

    This is mostly a commuter school. Their are dorms for students who choose to do so, but they do not seem to be like a typical dorm you would find at a university. With that sad, for a commuter school the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The hardest class offered at FLCC is their Anatomy and Physiology class, and this is a class you would have to mentally prepare yourself for. Besides this class I have found that my classes have been fairly easy. As long as your work is done on time, and you seek help if need be the A's are fairly simple to receive.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to go into a career in which you have to take an Anatomy and Physiology class, prepare yourself a head of time. This class is rigorous and THE hardest class this school offers. I would suggest to take both semesters of Anatomy and Physiology with the same teacher;this will help you out a lot, because you will already know how to study.

    In three sentences

    Finger Lakes Community College is a nice stepping stone for students looking to transfer. The faculty and facilities are very nice and newly modernized, but it is mostly a commuter school. I would give this school a solid B, because it is a nice place to get your education but not so nice for the social aspect of college.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a number one priority here.

    Clubs and Activities

    many, many clubs to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a zombie apocalypse survival club i belong to.

    Bang for the buck

    defiantly a good place to start out in. very cheap tuition. no more than 3,000$

    What to do for fun

    there is a bowling alley near the campus. in school there are many clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    many places around to go out to eat if you don't like the cafe food from the school.

    Dorm Life

    i lived at home. so i don't know, however i know its expensive. more money than the tuition.

    Academic Rigor

    i had to take biology and i got an A. it was easy. my art classes were bit tough but they were do-able. if you have a problem the teachers will more than happily help you. its great

    Tips for prospective students

    so much better than high school. do not be nervous about attending. you will make friends easier than in high school.

    In three sentences

    the teachers work with you to help you get into college life. well at least the teachers i had anyways. The cafeteria food is alright but expensive.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, kids can go to a nerby movie theater in case they want to go to the movies. The college is also a short walk from a lake for people to visit. At the lake, they can jog, hang by the water, or just hang out with other people.

    Food and Dining

    The campus offers a wide variety of choices.For food, they have choices like pizza, soup, meat, etc..The college even has a cafeteria in case you want to stay and eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be exiting because you get to meet new people, maybe even get to see kids you graduated high school with if you have freshly graduated. The dorms even have a fitness room for people who want to exercise.

    Academic Rigor

    The techears are more than happy to help you if you need it. There are students who are focused on their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, stay on top of your studies. Doing so will make sure you get good grades. If you are working, balance your studies with your work.

    In three sentences

    Finger Lakes Community College has many campuses around New York State. They offer campus tours and have knowledgeable staff. They even have housing options.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for almost anyone! Unless you want to go to a huge University, and be a major sports fan for a popular team, this college is perfect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FLCC is known highly for CMAC. It is the huge, outdoor concert area where hundreds of very famous people have performed. I have seen Kenny Chesney, Kelly Clarkson, The Fray, and a few more. Year round there are performances, and the seating and lawn area is perfect. I have enjoyed myself at every concert I have been to.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost of FLCC is unbelievable for what you get out of it, and the awesome location. Most likely, you are paying about a quarter of a 4 year college to experience the same thing; dorm life, sports teams, classes, and making friends. In addition, several SUNY campuses are secluded and not extremely gorgeous like Universities. FLCC is so pretty, and having the lake just a few miles away is so cool. Some days I had a few hours between sports and classes, and I would just do my homework at a picnic table near the water.

    What to do for fun

    FLCC has tons of activities to do on campus. First, you can join a sports team, which I chose to do. Basketball was my favorite sport throughout high school, and being on a college team was a great experience. There are also things like zip lining, student government, volunteer, log throwing, and so much more. Also, the lake is 2 minutes away to walk along, fish, relax and read, or tan on the beach.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is average, slightly above. You could walk in the dining hall with a mind set of what you want, and 95% of the time it will be there for you.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter to FLCC, but several of my teammates from basketball lived on campus. Many of the dorms are new and extremely nice. They are mostly suites, and you get to know everything living around you. Everyone is so nice, and when I visit my friends I recognize several smiling faces.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but if you attend class and listen you will definitely succeed. Personally, I have never been truly interested in learning, and after attending FLCC my professors made me want to engage in everything being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything that is given to you at this community college. Programs and help are there for a reason. I promise you will enjoy your time if you love to be part of a family!

    In three sentences

    Many students have no idea what they want to be when they grow up, and FLCC is a great place to start. Everyone is so friendly, and the location is gorgeous. The professors know you on a personal level, and they make everything so easy to understand.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    also looking out for students and staff

    Clubs and Activities

    great! lots of clubs and can always make more.

    Great for these types of students

    who like one on one,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like newark campus more than main campus. It is more private and one on one.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and meeting new friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but expensive like any school.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure, i live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school before making your choice!

    In three sentences

    Finger Lakes Community College is a good place to start. The professors are really nice and willing to help all students to be successful. Parking is the only complaint i would make.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety, over all is good, however, there has been an incident at least once a semester in which an innocent student will be walking to their vehicle parked in the further parking lot, and be mugged and have a high profile item stolen from this. I think what might remedy this problem is if there were a shuttle from that parking lot up to the main building twice an hour. This would alleviate the problem.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate in Greek Life, but I know it's there.

    Clubs and Activities

    As far as what it offers regarding clubs and activities from what I've experienced I would consider it very good. There are some ideas I'd love to suggest or run. One in particular is a support group for the female population that covers woman's issues for all ages.

    Great for these types of students

    Being an adult student or non-traditional student, I can't give enough praise for Finger Lakes Community College. It's a wonderful school. Easily accessible yet safe and very productive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not really familiar with what could be considered a current tradition other than college hour on Tuesday's or Thursday's when different colleges, vendors or special meals may be available.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, this school being a community college offers a substantial amount of education for the buck especially in today's world. It provides an excellent human services, chemical dependency counseling, and environmental department. These are key issues that need knowledgeable people in those fields in today's big world.

    What to do for fun

    Many times, I hang out, the campus activity board sponsor and provide fun and entertaining activities. I also do go to the movies and shopping. I like the parks near by to either walk in or meet with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food quality is good. The staff who are responsible for it are very helpful and do care about you and their job. AVI, can provide better wages though.

    Dorm Life

    I can't answer this question, I live off campus, being that I'm an adult student.

    Academic Rigor

    Attendance is a must, if you don't attend class, chances are you will miss important information. This may be the digital age, however, not all professors will post on their electronic forum what was discussed in class as a whole. Notes, notes, notes and time management are key, along with class participation, that come in the form of questioning and feed back when present in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is an excellent choice with an excellent faculty for a community college. The school has excellent resources for what your choices are in building your future whether you coming from high school or just coming back after being out in the working world. Your peers are very welcoming and so is the faculty.

    In three sentences

    The school is excellent for all walks of life. I am an adult student who has had a great transition after being away from academia for almost twenty-seven years and was able to acclimate in one semester. I am in my third semester, and have two more to go for graduation, but it's because I chose to change majors, and it was a smooth transition from one to the other.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been a few incidents of theft and harassment, but I feel that the campus security has been very good at addressing the problems, notifying students and collaborating with the police.

    Greek Life

    Unable to asses.

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs have open enrollment and if you have an idea for a new club all you have to do is get enough people to sign up and they will allow you to start one!

    Great for these types of students

    Any, it is a very diverse campus with people in all age groups, ethnicity's and interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an honors house located across the street from the college for non traditional classrooms. People who are motivated, have good grades and enjoy having more freedom in their educational experience have the option of attending. They also open up their lounge for studying, coffee and computer/printer access to students who need it.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than all four year institions.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers plenty of opportunities for fun, fitness, relaxation and socializing. There are several clubs to join that also put on events and most things are free. I have had opportunities to win free merchandise from the store, attend free concerts and open mic nights and had free portraits and chair massages! There is always something going on, you just have to join!

    Food and Dining

    The school has built a new cafeteria and is serving healthier options. The only problem is that it is pricey. I also have celiacs disease and there is not a lot of options for people like me.

    Dorm Life

    Unable to asses, lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak for the nursing department. When compared with more expensive four year institutions, I was surprised to learn during clinical rotations that our expectations were well above and beyond that of the students from other schools. For example, during our team leader rotations we were expected to complete delegation and prioritization assignments and presentations as well as over see our fellow students. While talking with students from other schools during clinical rotations I was surprised to learn that during their team leader rotations they only had to run and get supplies for their teammates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books else where. Try amazon ect., the instructors change books often and they do not accept books back during buy back because the course is requiring new editions.

    In three sentences

    Excellent price. Experienced instructors willing to go the extra mile for their students. The nursing lab has better resources than some of the area four year institutions.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a major, look at things you enjoy doing (hobbies, extracurricular activities). This will help to make sure you pick a career you will be happy with,

    In three sentences

    It's easy to get to, easy to enroll and friendly staff.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good. If something happened to someone they would send an email out right away describing what happened and who the person looked like and told us to be on the look out.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    Did not take any.

    Great for these types of students

    I saw a lot of older people there around 30 and up. I think it is a good school for anyone because it has classes all day from Monday to Saturday and if you cant go to campus they have very good online classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish they offered more classes in photography. Great school for science and environmental majors. Many major selections or a great school to just take your basics.

    What to do for fun

    The area around FLCC is beautiful. Walking around it you see something new everyday. There is a movie theater down the road. There is a beach in walking distance. And if you take a little drive there is Eastveiw Mall down the road.

    Food and Dining

    Good food choices and a new kitchen and dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms but what I saw is that things broke a lot but it was still roomy and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Four only because I am looking for more hands on experience and they did not have my intended major.

    Tips for prospective students

    All I can say is stay on top of your credits and make sure that you get help planning out your schedule because you could miss an important credit and not be able to graduate when you wanted to.

    In three sentences

    Finger lake community college was a very beautiful and great school to start my college adventure with. All the professors were great and helped you through any difficulties that you may have. This school is a great choice for people who can not afford to go to an expensive university.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm a country girl and the campus is small within a good size city and that made it easy for me to get around and not feel overwhelmed.

    What to do for fun

    Besides the college clubs, the town has several stores, diners, a movie theater, and a beautiful lake .

    Food and Dining

    Being in the suites you have to take care of yourself- food and cleaning is up to you. So eat and cook what you like. In the 2nd year, my roommates and I would all share in making a real nice dinner together- it was great.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in suites, they were like living in my own apartment with 3 other people with our own bedrooms!

    Academic Rigor

    The 2 years that you are at FLCC are pretty easy- after all you don't have to take classes that don't relate to the degree.(like history for conservation)

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in after class activities. It will help with any home sickness.

    In three sentences

    For being a small college there was a lot of things to do. It's easy to get around, you leave with new friends, and the degree to get you started in life. I rate FLCC a big 10!

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are a bunch of great people working in campus safety but like any other safety patrol officers they are strict with crimes and parking. Stay on their good side and you will be set for the remainder of your time at FLCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Soccer, Lacrosse, Baseball, Softball, Woodsmen Team, Tennis, Basketball, Jazz Band, Track-and-Field.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in Woodsmen Competitions, this is the school to go to. Our wildlife and taxidermy programs are top-notch and the Woodsmen Team goes hand-in-hand with that part of academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Enjoy the Ring of Fire on Canandaigua Lake down the road from campus is happens the first week of school and it was one of the most beautiful sights I have ever witnessed.

    What to do for fun

    The lake is right down the road and there is an ice-skating rink near by, also tons of places to get a good bite to eat. My personal favorite place is Denny's. Not too many things to do activity wise on campus but they have been working on this. In May they have the FLCC May Day carnival with rides and food and games and that was a ton of fun with a great sense of community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great in the cafe but I wish they had a bit more variety and cut down the costs a bit; it is not cheap eating in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the campus suites my first year and I loved it but unfortunately I am unable to afford to live there this year but it was a learning experience. You will never be completely satisfied with the people you live with but living with people I did not know taught me to compromise.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any other college you will find people with motivation to continue with their work and people who have no motivation what-so-ever; therefore the college academically is top notch but not too many motivated students will be sitting amongst you in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college suites are a little bit too pricey for the average college student. I would recommend looking at off-campus living in a house or apartment, you will save a lot of money this way.

    In three sentences

    Finger Lakes CC helped change my life for the better and helped me realize my passion in life. With guidance and a ton of help from the tutoring station I was able to obtain a 3.32 GPA this semester and push the limits of my academic capacity. I am very glad I chose FLCC as my first college and cannot wait to start my second year here in the Fall.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a number to call security on duty 24/7 plus there are many of those blue light poles. Where you just press a button and help arrives in seconds.

    Clubs and Activities

    You reap what you sow. It's easy to get involved or start a club.

    Great for these types of students

    One's who don't want to spend much on college or don't know what they want to do yet. Also those who are looking for great value for the money you're spending on college classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombie Apocalypse Survival Club.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good value. The music recording program has so much to offer if you take advantage of it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus. Plus CMac is right on campus and you can hang out there.

    Food and Dining

    They just build a new cafe. Very nice, a little expensive but the meal plans are flexible.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not to bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get here before 9 to get a parking spot. Print out you schedule and find all your classrooms before the semester starts.

    In three sentences

    A good mid-sized community college. Great place to go if you don't know what you want to do yet. Great Music Recording program.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is taken seriously by the college staff. They do an excellent job keeping everyone safe.

    Greek Life

    Have no knowledge on this subject.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to mention! Have just about every club on-campus that you can think of! AND...if there isn't one in your area of interest, you are encouraged to start one of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Environmental Conservation majors.Vitaculture majors. Nursing majors. Hospitality majors. Just to name a few!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is very well known for its Woodsman program. The campus' environment programs are very highly rated. I am taking wildlife conservation courses for all my general electives, as extra preparation for my goal to transfer to a SUNY Veterinary Technology program.

    Bang for the buck

    A great overall college. Affordable. Would highly recommend it!

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs/organizations & sports/intramural teams located on-campus to participate in. Also, many local community service opportunities available.

    Food and Dining

    I eat my lunch nearly everyday in the college's dining hall. The food is good; good selection/variety. Many vending machines are located throughout the campus for those times when the dining hall is closed.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter. Not applicable. However, my sister stayed in the on-campus dorms for the two years that she attended this same college. She found them to be very nice and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses that I have taken thus far are taught in a fair manner. I am learning a great deal from the program that I am enrolled in, Liberal Arts/Sciences A.S. My professors and the Academic Commons folks are very approachable for subjects that are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college & talk to the professors/students in your area of interest to see if it is a good fit for your academic goals. If possible, attend a couple classes of interest.

    In three sentences

    Great school with a wide range of majors to pick from. The professors are very accommodating & always willing to lend a helping hand. Academic support group are a great resource.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe campus safety needs to be improved. The safety officers need to spend more time outside patrolling the grounds than walking around inside. There have been many cars broken into and people have been robbed on the way to their cars. The lighting on campus definitely needs to be improved. I also think there should be some type of shuttle to transport students from the door to the lower lot because it is too far to walk at night in the the dark.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at FLCC includes a lot of extras, not just your classes. Beware of meal plans though. It is better to load money/financial aid onto your student account and use it as needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus. Blood drives, musical performances, movie screenings, among many others. There are also many things to do off campus, but close by. Canandaigua is a great area.

    Food and Dining

    The food at FLCC is very good, as far as cafeterias go. I think certain items are over priced but the variety is great. They stay open until 7 or 7:30 so you can eat all 3 meals there if you want.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm but people speak very highly of them .I know that they are safe a secure, clean and not too noisy. Also, the dorms are very close to the school, unlike some campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall I would say the academic load is average. Some teachers give assignments that are meant for bachelor's programs, some teachers will make you feel like you are in high school. It really just depends on whose class you are in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to love the One Stop Center! Do not be scared away by the long lines. It is much easier to come here and take care of everything in one stop than go to the financial aid office, then the bursar, then student accounts.

    In three sentences

    FLCC is a small but not too small school. You are likely to see the same people in more than one of your classes. They offer many activities and clubs you might expect to see at a larger school.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and sports for every one

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to save money before going to a 4 year college

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, Meet great friends

    Food and Dining

    Poor selection and too expensive

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I am not sure how dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly easy but provide some challenge

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get the credits transferred into FLCC that you deserve. Parking Spots are limited so get to school early

    In three sentences

    Finger Lakes Community College is cheap and a good way to save money. They have lots of rules and regulations regarding transferring credits into the college. The classes are great and will help students prepare for other colleges

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid helps and isn't too expensive anyway.

    What to do for fun

    Make Art.

    Food and Dining

    Burritos are good

    Academic Rigor

    Art department is willing to help and teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and do your work.

    In three sentences

    Art department teachers help you a lot. Good atmosphere. Happy I attended.