Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Finlandia University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Soccer here is the best! I love being part of Finlandia's soccer team, it honestly feels like a community and practice is intense because we are certified a NAAC school!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finlandia has the coldest tradition I have ever heard of. Students here jump in a lake that is ice cold! They do this every year in order to donate for charity, which is really thoughtful.

    What to do for fun

    The campus here is pretty large but there is much things to be occupied with. There are many places to meet new people, to work out. I love going to the gym and they have a gym here! I love spending my time here because I get into my own world.

    Food and Dining

    Although the options are healthy, they are delicious. They always have my favorite vegetables and salad. I also love the fact that I can mix and match my own food. I can also get the portions I want.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. It is pretty spacious. My roommate is also pretty interesting and the people here are spontaneous and fun to be around with. My dorm, I feel like is pretty awesome because my roommate and I have our own bathroom and our own shower opposed to other schools where they have to share one restroom with a multitude of people. I have my own desk with light and a nice view of the outdoor. This is probably my favorite part of the whole school.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes, but I can already feel the intensity at this school. The orientation programs jump at you with lots of information that you should remember. My brother also attends this school and he said depending on the courses you take you can tell if it is rigorous or not. The most popular majors here are Psychology and Criminal Justice. I am excited to take these courses!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring coats, snow boots, and layer it up! Hancock, where Finlandia University is located, was crowned the 3rd snowiest city in America so stay warm! Also, there is a great support group for students that are in sports or that need it in general, overall staff here is there to help you!

    In three sentences

    I'm a first year here and it has been great so far. I'm part of the soccer team and although practice is extremely intense, the students here make you feel welcome. The orientation programs are helpful towards the schools mission and what to expect on the path of success.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from and activities are always being emailed out to students.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, piano, study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!

    In three sentences

    Small classes are great so that students have personal time with the teacher. The attendance policy keeps students in line and attending classes. The buildings are close together so it is not far to walk between in the cold winter.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a chapel that is great for those students that are away from their hometown and would still love to participate and meet new people.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the gym with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is right on campus and serve a variety of healthy choices for students.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but I hear great things about the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for class, don't think that just because this college is small that it is going to be easy because they expect the most of you.

    In three sentences

    Finlandia is a great school. With the small class sizes, it allows you to learn in a motivating atmosphere. This school is perfect for those who love more one on one instructor to student help.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with campus life. The chaplain is great for ideas: Mackinac Bridge Walk, sledding, mission trip. Explore the beautiful environment offered in the Upper Peninsula.

    Food and Dining

    Food was good. Wish the dining hall hours were a little more accommodating. Wish the price for meals wasn't so expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Could use less writing on the doors. Rooms were nice. Need better shower heads.

    Academic Rigor

    You get out of each class how much you put into each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the cold weather. Get involved in college life. Be on time to class. ALWAYS talk to your prof if you feel you need help with a subject.

    In three sentences

    Effective, personable, caring instructors. Expensive to attend, but worth it for the small school environment. Always looking toward improving all areas of college life.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is right downstairs. They cant do a whole lot to solve any issues, but they try.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount of money that you pay you don't get a whole lot. The facilities are up kept, but not to the greatest they could be.

    Food and Dining

    The times to eat are short and the food isn't that great, but you kinda get used to it after a while.

    Dorm Life

    I like that everyone is close. There aren't many activities to do in the dorms, but once you find friends it is fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs change a lot. The classes are not that hard unless you get a teacher that doesn't know what they are doing.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Snowmobiling, Hunting, Fishing, Shop, Skiing, Biking, Hiking, Waterfalls, Hockey games, more and more

    Tips for prospective students

    You can accomplish anything you put your mind to.

    In three sentences

    Finlandia is the school you attend if you want the smallest class sizes, where the instructors can speak with you one - on - one. This University is the one where you find yourself knowing everybody's name and there favorite hobby; feeling as if you're really part of the University. This College is the the one you attend if you like out door recreation as well as being able to shop.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hiking, jogging, biking, beach (when warm enough), sledding, skiing, fishing

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria closes at 7:00 pm :-((((

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a very small town, I mean small. 2.5 hours to the nearest (real) mall. Only one airport nearby and tickets are pricey.

    In three sentences

    Small, cozy university, big on history lacking on upgrades. Teachers/advisors very helpful, take their time. Campus life is what you make of it.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For me, I play softball. Even though it is hard work, it is quite enjoyable. This year, they have brought intramural sports to the school. There is also many clubs people can join, over at the Art and Design school that is. I am not sure what the main campus people have to offer.

    Food and Dining

    I am not sure what to say about the food. Last year I had eaten in the cafeteria for a while, but then stopped because with my schedule, I wasn't hungry that much anymore. During the year too, people were complaining that they were getting sick so I was questioning the food. My second year, I haven't walked in the cafeteria at all yet. I am just not sure what to expect listening to everyone talk about the food.

    Dorm Life

    My second year living in the dorms, and I am happy to have requested a single room. My first year I decided to have a roommate to get to experience the true college life. I had two roommates, but they didn't stay around. Both of them were foreign exchange students which I didn't mind. I thought it would be a fun experience to get to know new people and to learn how other people handle things.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though some of the classes here aren't popular, we know it needs to be done. There are some teachers that push to get things done, but there are also some who are willing to work with you if you talk to them. Being and Art and Design student, the academics are fun because of all the projects we get to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though Finlandia isn't well known, we are still striving to get to that point. Studying is also important. Not just for your degree, but for athletics if you participate.

    In three sentences

    For someone who is use to big schools, Finlandia was easy to adapt to for a small school. Since classes were usually full in high school, I enjoy having a smaller portion in one class so everyone gets attention equally. I also like the community here, everyone seems to help each other out.