Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Fisk University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 23 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self Motivated Like small school environment Strong Minded Stylish Hard Workers

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to branch out and work hard for everything. Classes are cool, not really too difficult, difficult at all really. Time management is key though. Social Life requires alot of personal effort especially when it comes to on campus activities. Be prepared to learn alot about yourself...and build patience..because,the easiest way to put it is, Fisk is not for everyone and you will know if its for you because in a sense, it will choose you. Expect greatness if you come here...because if you are the type of person I am.. you will be motivated to promote change. Miss Michigan

  • 01/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about academics. Fisk is the school for you. Fisk University is also for sudents who lack certain academic skills. Dont worry, because the professors are so dedicated that they will teach you from scratch.literally!

    Tips for prospective students

    Fisk University is a school for students who want to strive for excellence . Fisk is very hands on. This one of the few places i can actally say, the professors love, and live to teach! they will help and guide you along the way.

    Bang for the buck

    Like every Uiversity Fisk has its bittersweet traits. Since we are private instituition we are not state funded..So the living conditions could be better.

    Am enjoying being here

    i love it!!

    Am learning a lot

    At Fisk, professors aren't the only ones you learn from. It's the students. I am reminded everyday that, I sit in class next to some of the brightest minds in the country!

  • 05/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated Humanitarians Hard-working Talented Creative Innovative

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have great grades because Fisk invests in it's students Fisk is all about giving back to the community, keep that in mind! Never take 18 credit hours per semester (if you plan to be involved in all the random activities at Fisk)

    Bang for the buck

    I know for a fact that I am paying for the great education that Fisk is providing. The facilities could be better but everything has it's pros and cons.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'll be honest with you, Fisk is what you make it... if you go out your way to say there is nothing going on and it's too small, you will hate it but if you put yourself out there to be apart of the true Fisk...the madness and the mayhem...then you can see the TRUE Fisk experience...and Fisk is ALWAYS changing... Then you have the teachers that are so intrigued with their students and making sure that they are prepared for after graduation! I could go on and on...it's just an all around great place... it's one of America's hidden jewels

    Am learning a lot

    I was afraid that a small school wouldnt be able to challenge me as much as a large university but I was very mistaken. Because the classes are smaller your professors gauge the workload by how the class is doing collectively with the task, if you're in a classroom of 10 to 20 students and everybody is doing well then the professor will continue to give more challenging work to challenge everyone. On the contrary, if one person is struggling out of that 20 the professor is able to give attention to that student without slowing the course down for everyone.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of fraternities here

    Clubs and Activities

    Fraternities, International Student Associations, Academc Club, Student Publications, e.t.c

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated and students who love small school settings

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Historical Buildings and fraternity sections

    Bang for the buck

    It gave me my money's worth

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the Student Lounges , party, play basketball and other sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually impressive. I never knew i would love American food this much

    Dorm Life

    Exciting. At Fisk, you feel you are a part of a family

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with the mindset of working as hard as you can. Expect to have friends and professors who want you to make it

    In three sentences

    Amazing, Family Feeeling, Challenging

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Fisk Campus is very safe. Security stays on top of the job. They are friendly and willing to help with a simple call or visit to the office. Also there are a number of emergency stations (blue posts) around campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks at Fisk are serious and active. Fisk has the Divine Nine.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fisk has several clubs on campus. (International, State-specific, Student Government and many more).

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to mature and meet interesting people. Great for students who are looking for an excellent education. Great for students in search of a historical experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To know more about Fisk traditions, come join us. Fisk is very welcoming and if you are shy about being away from home don't worry you will feel like part of a family almost immediately.

    Bang for the buck

    There is the phrase you get what you pay for. Coming to college you pay for an education, not parties. Fisk University is fairly expensive in the mid-30-thousands but obtaining a degree from Fisk is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Being that Fisk is smaller campus there are not as many activities as the larger colleges/universities but it is in a convenient location with Tennessee State and Vanderbilt University only a few minutes away. Also, students enjoy hanging out on the yard, going to parties, and hosting activities in the dorms. Also the Jubilee Singers are a very special unit who I personally enjoy hearing.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the cafeteria most of the time. There could be a little more variety but other than that Thompson Hospitality is satisfying. *Sidenote: the pizza is good lol.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are very active. There are a few maintenance complaints but most issues are self-caused. This is your new home, have fun and take care of it.

    Academic Rigor

    Understanding Rigor to mean strict, cruel, uncomfortable, etc., the courses here at Fisk are opposite. They are very necessary and not overwhelmingly challenging. In the case that they do become overwhelming, simple communication with the professor will have you feeling very accomplished and educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upon coming to Fisk do not expect to find several thousands of students. Focus on your academics, as a first-year student aim for a 4.0 so you have cushion to work with in the latter years.

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is a small campus. Fisk is a place for maturation. Fisk was my one and only choice, and I am very pleased with my decision.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I safe on campus especially because most of our guards are retired military officers.

    Greek Life

    We have the entire devine nine!

    Clubs and Activities

    Volleyball, Basketball(Girls & Boys), Regional Clubs (Chicago, Texas, Atlanta, California, etc), Major clubs (Psy. Science, Math, English, etc.)

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic and Brilliant

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have convocations and Jubilee Day which is something nobody outside of Fisk will understand.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes! We have amazing teachers in fact we have the same professors as Vanderbilt, also you get an experience unlike any other.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my friends and around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is yummy most of the time and if you get tired of the cafeteria food we have a pretty decent sub shop where you can order burgers, sub sandwiches, fries, chicken nuggets.....etc.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not exactly new but they are very historic and unique. Once you've lived n them for awhile you'll appreciate them for what all they stand for and embody.

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't always easy but the challenge alone is part of what makes Fisk so great. It pushes you to the limit and shows you what your capable of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Fisk it is truly the best college to attend in America no matter what you've heard. We all really care about one another at Fisk.

    In three sentences

    I rate my school a 100 on a scale of 1-10. I love my school and the experience that I have had is priceless. If I had to pick a college to attend again it would be Fisk hands down.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secure.

    Bang for the buck

    Best education for the price!

    What to do for fun

    1- Hang out on campus 2- Attend school extra curricular activities

    Food and Dining

    The meals are great and the diner is even better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life gives you an opportunity to meet and interact with students from all over the country.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher to student ratio is low. The academic curriculum is challenging but attainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    1- Tour the campus 2- Research the school 3- Find out if you have a local Fisk Club in your area

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is a small liberal arts school. The student body is close and treat every one as family. Fisk is known for its academics and is ranked among one of the finest schools in the United States.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Having visited many campuses and had the opportunity to stay on a few, I have constantly been told that Fisk has an amazing reputation and that Having that degree on your resume can truly help get you where you would like to go.

    What to do for fun

    There are an incredible amount of things to do here at Fisk University, but even better, as long as you have the ambition, you can start organizations, host events, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Fisk University has a pretty fun dorm life, but I find that Fisk's strength is in the reputation that she has to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here are challenging but the teachers and tutors here truly care about you. You are more than a number, you are part of a family here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and have a visit. Say hello to the Dean, the Vice President, and maybe even the President, as she makes an effort to say hello to incoming students.

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is an amazing opportunity for students to better their education in an environment steeped in history. This prestigious institution has been home to countless African American scholars such as W.E.B. Dubois, Nikki Giovanni, and more. As a student who has been many different places, Fisk University has truly given me the best opportunity.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go out with your friends, and be apart of the activities at school

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to work hard

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is a very wonderful school, i am matriculating into being the best that i can be because of the education and the faculty. i l love it here, and i love the woman i am becoming by being here

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security works 24 hours at Fisk. The security office never closes, and officers are always available for emergencies or escorting students across campus. Nashville's Metro police also make rounds around the perimeters of the campus.

    Greek Life

    Fisk has 8 of the divine nine Greek organizations on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fisk is a wonderful place to join organizations or even create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Fisk is great for music majors, business majors, science majors, and future rocket scientists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fisk is known for Fried Chicken Wednesdays. Fisk takes much pride in singing the Alma mater, and it is sang by the student body and staff members at almost every major event.

    Bang for the buck

    All expenses for Fisk are listed in great detail on the Fisk website. Fisk readily gives scholarship opportunities and financial aid. At Fisk, you literally get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Fisk has an unlimited amount of student activities, and Nashville is the perfect place for fun. Fisk is only minutes away from downtown. Many clubs and organizations throw events weekly.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining options at Fisk University, which is the cafe and the sub shop. The menu's are very tasteful. However, a rigorous schedule may conflict with cafe hours and will land you a meal in the shop. Since the sub shop is a hamburger/sub sandwich home, it is not the ideal place for a balanced meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life isn't royalty here at Fisk University. However, most of the students attending Fisk stay on campus in one of the three dorms. Dorms are fairly clean and comfortable, yet there is room for improvement.

    Academic Rigor

    Fisk's courses are both academicallay challenging and interesting. Fisk offers a wide range of classes from photography to Rocket Team. Professors have a general love for all of the students and work hard to guide each student to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fisk is a small liberal arts school. If you are interested in music and performance arts this is the place to be. Also pre med students are located right across the street from Meharry Medical College, and only miles away from Vanderbilt University. The science department is awesome!

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is awesome. Fisk is a wonderful place to live out your collegiate dreams and fulfill your academic goals. I am a proud Fiskite!

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SAFEST CAMPUS IN THE AREA (: You can even call security to kill bugs for you.

    Greek Life

    Every fraternity and sorority of the divine nine is here (:

    Clubs and Activities

    Where do I begin... I am a student ambassador, there are clubs for absolutely everything. If there isn't a club that you would like to have on campus, you can start it yourself!!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just check out our history and visit campus (;

    Bang for the buck

    I have a Presidential Scholarship here (a full ride), and almost EVERYONE I know here has some type of scholarship. Fisk is worth every penny, though.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties, events, other universities' event, trips - A LOT to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have options. If you don't want those, there's a Church's Chicken, Captain D's, and Knockout Wings down the street (in walking distance) and MANY delivery places.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older, with community bathrooms, but they aren't that bad. The history behind the buildings is awesome, too (:

    Academic Rigor

    You will work for your good grades, but there are so many tutors and programs to assist you - there isn't a reason for you to ever worry about not having the help you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete your scholarship applications, fill out the FAFSA early to ensure that you will get the most money you can, stay focus during your senior year and keep your GPA up so that you can get a great scholarship!

    In three sentences

    Fisk is an amazing university! There are sooo many opportunities which you will definitely be exposed to - even during freshman year. Administration teachers, and peers are like family, pushing you towards your goals successfully.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fisk is in the middle of the hood. Crazy people come on to campus all the time and people have gotten robbed.

    Greek Life

    Depends on the Greek, but most of the sororities/ fraternities aren't active on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Do not come to Fisk unless you want to go to the medical field. It's expensive and boring, and it's only worth while to the professional schools you'll apply to who'll recognize the name.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun, one as to be really creative. Pretty much make your own fun. There isn't anything to really do on campus, and on the weekends it's a ghost town. Try to have a car, or befriend someone who does have one or you'll be bored out of your mind. Fisk has gym parties but they're not the best. If you really want to party go to Vanderbilt of TSU.

    Food and Dining

    The food is disgusting! Plan on bringing a fridge and going grocery shopping regularly if you want to eat. After awhile the cafe and sub shop are unbearable.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen female dorms are very strict. Freshmen have a curfew of midnight, even on the weekends. You are only allowed visitation from 6 - 11 pm. If the company is of the opposite sex, you can only visit downstairs in the lobby or blue and gold room. The R.D. is very stuck up and rude and difficult to work with. The R.A's aren't that cool either.

    Academic Rigor

    This greatly depends on how you place in language and math, as well as what your major is. If you come to Fisk undecided the rigor of the classes available will not be very difficult, but if you place higher or choose a difficult major, you'll see how rigorous the course load can be.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music lovers, bio and chemistry majors, and people interested in deep, rich black history.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Orientation week....

    What to do for fun

    Fisk has a lot of music events to attend to, because of its history in music, and its active music department. Concerts and parties are fun, but don't get distracted!

    Food and Dining

    Yeah.. Keep your room stocked..Just in case!

    Dorm Life

    I advise that your sophomore year, start looking for an apartment, 'cause you're going to want to be gone your junior year!

    Academic Rigor

    It's fairly easy compared to the bigger state colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head up. It's tough, but just remind yourself the coursework is not as rigorous as other big colleges.

    In three sentences

    I love Fisk. It's a place where you have more of a small family environment as opposed to being lost in a sea of the big college life. The college is equipped with small classes, so that you can have a personal experience with your teacher, and everyone has connections, so you can get the best possible opportunities!

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can travel to down town Nashville where you will find a wide varity of choices to have fun. There are night clubs which are only about 10 to 15 mins away. Also there are three malls located fairly closes and if you don't own a car the buses will take you almost anywhere for about 3 bucks for a whole day pass.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good. Just like every institution you attend you will eventually get tired of it. But the school provides a wide variety of choices and they always have healthy vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok. Unlike many other schools Fisk still have gender based dorms, no co-ed dorms. But we still practice visitation and there is a lot of interaction between boys and girls. We also have community style bathrooms which provided a more social dorm hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Coming to Fisk you will be challenged in the class room. A plus about Fisk is that almost every class is taught by a professor and not some TA, and many of the professors here are doctors so don't expect to slack of and still make great grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fisk is not really a party school so if that's what your looking for you might not want to apply here. Although Fisk is not a party school it's located very close to Vanderbilt, and TSU which allows for partying opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Fisk is a small family oriented institution where the professors and student all look after on another. The small size allows for instruction that is specific to your needs. It's also located just minutes from down town Nashville.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Certain days of the week

    Dorm Life

    Not so good as a freshman

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not had the pleasure of tasting Fisk food.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I have never dorm, but next semester I will be living in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I learned to create a schedule that I could most adjust quickly with because an extremely heavy load could turn an A student into something less. So, I learned to create a balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all prospect students have patience due to the fact Fisk staff and faculty are only human. This is for any school one intends to attend. Moreover, be prepared for any delays and maintain a strong faith that you will attend that campus of your dreams the upcoming semester. Lastly, buckle up for the transition from high school to college or community college to four-year university. For the transferring students bring along your school(s) course catalog with your previous classes circled; therefore, a adviser and yourself may sit down evaluating which classes are acceptable towards you obtain the degree of one's dream. As for freshmen: be ready to sacrifice sleep and mind for sleep will be loss do study long study hours. Mind, meaning you will have to adapt differently causing your mind to mature into adulthood.

    In three sentences

    Fisk alumni, staff and faculty members display the utmost respect for each other along with prospect students. These members have high expectations for their current and incoming students. In addition, Fisk members obtains a mentor-ship for students in order to navigate them to their individual idea of success.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on point! The students are really close with the security team, we even know them by name! They send around text messages if anything is happening that the students should be alerted of like tornado warnings or robberies.

    Greek Life

    All divine 9

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs of all sorts at the school!

    Great for these types of students

    Academically focused Singers Dancers Jazz band players instrument players

    What to do for fun

    At Fisk, Miss DJ Kollapse keeps the party going ! There's alot of fun on the yard or a late night Hot Box party in the gym. Alot of frats and sororities have events that students can engage in. If not them, then other campus organizations are there.

    Food and Dining

    There are only two places to dine, The Cafe or The Subshop. Many students complain about food at the cafe but love the hamburgers, chicken phillys, and many other fresh and hot selections of the subshop. But eating the greasy food can be tiring. Other options are off campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not perfect, but they are cozy and fun. With the school being so small, everyone knows just about everyone so dorm life isn't too bad! Freshman girls get to enjoy the life of princess, as I say, living in a castle for their freshman year: Jubilee Hall ! It is a pleasure living there! The other dorms are more like sorority and fraternity housing with the students inside and their sister brother relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    The University is a school that focuses on academics first! WHile other schools might produce athletes only, this school produces the world's best doctors, lawyers, scientist, and more. Those seeking a degree in medicine can do a bridge program with Meharry Medical college which is right next door. Classes for other programs such as Arts an Film can be taken in dual enrollment program with Watkins College of Art and Design which is right up the road. Tennessee State University and Vanderbilt are other schools that offer courses to Fisk students if Fisk doesn't offer it.That being said, you can major in just about anything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Fisk University is not a party school so do not expect to party every day! Its a school known for its academics so it is definitely the main focus on campus. Work hard play hard!

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is a very small school that has a highly valued education system. It's rich in tradition and gives the student enough attention to graduate successfully. A liberal arts school that embraces talented students and allows them to network in music and more.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they make sure you safe. they even have a hotline to where you can call and security will come to you , for any reason and concern you might have.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big on campus. You can't apply till your second year. but in your freshman year , you have the opportunity to choose and research if that's something you choose to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    for clubs and activities for everyone , hands down .

    Great for these types of students

    dancers : studio future music industry individuals : class & activities around that. There's something for everyone at Fisk !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual about Fisk . It's like home away from home.

    Bang for the buck

    Tennessee is an affordable city and there, minimum is a lot higher . You cam easily get a job through the university . There is support all around you .

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can join a club or activity on campus . You can also go out on the town with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great ! Down South food is food for the soul . Trust me , they supply food for all your taste buds . And dining is like your family table , everyone talk, socialize, and have a good time .

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm mate , floor , and building is your family . They are there to help you with anything

    Academic Rigor

    professors really care , make sure you get to know them .

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in to Fisk with an open mind. Realize that this school is like no other. This school is ranked #1 on so many levels .Fisk is a great investment in education.

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is a school full of life and culture . Attending that school you'll meet a diverse amount of students , even though it is a Historical Black College / University. I am honestly ecstatic about attending in the Fall of this year, 2013 .

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore Nashville

    Food and Dining

    It's just something to put on your stomach but you will eventually learn about other eating places.

    Dorm Life

    Make the best of it

    Academic Rigor

    You will be suround with the best and nothing but the best

    Tips for prospective students

    Never Give Up

    In three sentences

    I love Fisk Fisk Is very Interesting Fisk will fovever be in my heart

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fisk University is in the heart of Nashville also known as Music City. There are always plenty of events in the downtown area or places to visit in the surrounding city or area.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food isn't always the best but our Cafe has a variety of fresh salad bar, baked or fried foods, vegetarian and or fast food.

    Dorm Life

    Fisk University has four dorms. Two of the dorms are strictly for female residents, one dorm is coed while the last dorm is for male residents. Living on campus is fun because you stay aware of some opportunities that go on throughout the campus. Dorm life is also nice because of the friendships and bonds that you make while living out your matriculation.

    Academic Rigor

    Fisk University offers many scholarships. The highest being Presidential which covers your entire years at Fisk as long as the requirements are upheld.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make sure to stay on top of their school account, making sure that scholarships are available to them and that they are looking themselves. One should also ask questions at all time, take moments to discuss the coursework with your teacher if one is having a hard time. Make sure you get involved, there are a plethora of orginizations, clubs, classes, groups and teams to be apart of.

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is very rich in history and education in various subjects. The Fisk Jubilee singers are also a huge part of the university , touring the United States rasins money for the school. Last but not least, Fisk has a 12 to 1 student teacher ration which gives room for more understanding of any curriculum.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that took initiative in high school. Students who love to learn and be challenged. Students who are interested in politics, clubs, and social life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the only statue of W.E.B DuBois in this country on our campus. Our art gallery attracts people from all over the country. We have an original Picasso painting as well as the Georgia O'Keeffe collection to name a few.

    Bang for the buck

    I have a full academic scholarship to this institution so I can't comment as much on this as some of my peers. However I love this institution and as long as one can afford it they come back for more every semester.

    Academic Rigor

    I graduated 4th in my class in high school and even still Fisk manages to give me a run for my money. Professors encourage you to look up things for yourself and to not take their word for anything that they might say at the podium. This isn't high school anymore initiative must be taken to learn, but it is so much more rewarding when you can say you honestly earned your grades at the end of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is small but definitely rewarding. Any college will be what you make it. If you sit around waiting for an exciting experience to come your way, then you will miss out. However, this institution prides itself on the cultivation of leaders and scholars. There is always room for fun, but first things first are hitting your books.

    In three sentences

    Fisk is essentially what I was hoping to find in my college experience. My mother was an HBCU alum and being at a Black Ivy League Institution is rewarding academically as well as it is socially. I recommend anyone looking for a school to challenge you instead of just feeding you information to check out this illustrious institution of higher learning.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are all types of organizations on campus you can join. If you like to play sports you can do that also. You have to make the most of your social life. you cant expect certain activities to go on everyday at the school. the student engagement committee are working hard to make sure that the student life is becoming better every year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good sometimes but most of the time it disappoints me. They have fresh fruit sometimes and the vegetables are somewhat fresh on good days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is somewhat on the downside. You have to share your bathroom with everyone in the dorm.You have an co-ed dorm but the rooms are kind of small if you plan on having a roommate. The freshman dorm is a great experience for freshman girls and boy. You get to bond with other students who are in the same predicament as you are.

    Academic Rigor

    You always have to be in class. The lessons are very interesting if you pay attention to them. also the core curriculum is helpful to anybody later on in life. the classes are not that big so you can communicate with your on a personal level. The teachers are down to earth and will help you out a lot when it comes to their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to make the life outside of class the best for yourself. This is a great school if you have a great singing voice. Also, if you are planning to become a future doctor. This school is not for everybody. If you are looking for a party school this one is not it. We have parties but not every weekend.Fisk is really big on academics, so partying is not going to happen all the time.

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is a very unique school with unique people. Fisk chooses students, the students don't choose Fisk. Fisk University is an overall great experience, if you choose to go here.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24 hour campus safety services in addition to emergency hotlines, the security also provides late night escort to interested students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are good number of clubs, societies, and fraternities. In addition to this, most majors also have clubs dedicated to assisting interested student to understand their courses and do well in tests and examinations, for instance; the chemistry club for chemistry majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Academic oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fisk is cultured in terms of dressing code, you should expect business as well as business casual most of the time, professionalism in appearance is important.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of options. Fisk is in the centre of Nashville, the music city, certainly a lot go on in Downtown, music city.

    Food and Dining

    You are not restricted as to the number of times you eat, pretty much like most other liberal art institutions.

    Dorm Life

    For those who like partying, Fisk might not be the best option, but for those who are determined to focus more on becoming a successful student, Fisk is the best place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    I will assign this five stars, however, it all depends on ones major. For students majoring in computer science and physics like me, the rigor is tantamount to being a student at MIT. A lot is required and much more is expected from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are eligible to presidential scholarship which covers full tuition and cost, books and stipends, single room occupancy in the seventh floor of the Shane Hall, with computers installed in the individual rooms. You can cross register classes with top schools like Vanderbilt University.

    In three sentences

    Home, Awesome, a place to be.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The best campus security in the state. They have a three minute response time and are always on top of their game. Cameras cover the campus and link back to 80-inch screens that line the walls of the security office. ID cards are required to access almost every building. Perhaps the best aspect is if you are anywhere on campus, you can call security to escort you to anywhere else.

    Greek Life

    Fisk has all Divine Nine (historically black sororities/fraternities). The chapters are strong and focus heavily on community service and the betterment of campus life. There is also Phi Mu Alpha (singing fraternity) and Alpha Phi Omega (co-ed service based organization).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 60 organizations currently on campus. They range from a poetry collective to women's health to student ambassadors. There is something for everyone. The greatest thing is that students are able to create any organization not currently on campus. All they need is themselves and four friends willing to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Fisk is great for academically-oriented students who love to learn about themselves and their history.

    What to do for fun

    College is what you make of it. If you want to have a good time, you will. The people you surround yourself with will also impact your experience. If your friends only want to sit in the dorm all day, your experience may not be very fun. However if you have friends who want to go out, there is always something to do. Events such as movie nights, spa night, various dance classes, music on the yard, and sports games occur throughout the week. On weekends, the variety of malls in the Nashville area, downtown, and parties are always options.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a decent variety of options. Ranging from pasta to chicken to fish, a good mix of entrees alternates monthly. Pizza is freshly made at lunch and dinner. A vegetarian option is offered at every meal. Fried Chicken Wednesday is always popular. Other favorites are the pancake bar, salad bar, and baked potato bar. If you get tired of the cafe food, there is always the sub shop. It specializes in classic fast food such as burgers and fries. It does offer turkey burgers, chicken sandwiches, and veggie burgers also.

    Dorm Life

    Most students have a roommate and while some problems arise, learning to compromise is a valuable lesson. Out-of-state freshmen are required to live on campus while everyone else has the option of on- or off-campus living, The only major negative is in the freshman and sophomore girls dorms and the boys dorms, the bathroom is communal style. However, Monday through Friday, a cleaning service comes in and thoroughly cleans the restrooms. Overall, living in a dorm strengthens relationships with students that you may not have otherwise interacted with.

    Academic Rigor

    It is nearly impossible to fail at this school. Between one-on-one time with professors, an average class size of 12-15 students, tutors, and programs designed specifically for assistance in succeeding academically, failure is extremely rare. The classes are challenging but nothing impossible to handle. Professors are fairly understanding and willing to work with you. They actually care about who you are and what you want to accomplish in life. Also your fellow classmates are more than willing to help. 90% of the students currently attending are scholarship recipient and they must maintain a certain GPA along with other requirements to keep that scholarship. They are all well-educated and have the ability and drive to succeed which motivates you to do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is highly recommended that you tour the campus first. It's very important to get the feel of a school before deciding on attending it. Also, do not be afraid to share your story or personal problems with admissions, they really do care and are willing to work with you on your acceptance.

    In three sentences

    Fisk is a very academic-oriented university that emphasizes family and history. It nurtures you to become the person you want to be while helping you find your true self. Fisk is a place for personal growth, academic excellence, and the support to achieve your largest dreams.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because we aren't in the safest of areas there is a high standard for safety that is met by campus security.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek. typically only the divine 9.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are various community service based clubs. There are also numerous music related activities and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Music Science History

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year all students are required to learn the alma matter for a special tradition performed at the end of every orientation week. The alma matter is very important to us and is sung at the end of every game and for other special occasions where the campus has to come together as a whole. We also have a great music program, and the world famous Jubilee Singers still sing, train, and perform.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a very prestigious and highly thought of school. Fisk is the number one ranked HBCU in the country.

    What to do for fun

    You have to make your own fun. The city shuts down before 11, and most things going on downtown are for age 21 and up.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, its nothing like what you would get at home so be prepared for that.

    Dorm Life

    There is a strong sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    Psychology

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be away from home. Be expected to learn new things on your own, through experience and in the classrooms.

    In three sentences

    Very culturally empowering. The camps as a whole is very accepting and open to new people, ideas, and beliefs. There is a very proud sense of heritage and community.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is generally safe but the North Nashville area isn't since the campus is small and security isn't as large as one would be at a larger university, it is wise to walk in groups instead of pairs or alone.

    Greek Life

    Divine 9

    Great for these types of students

    Hard Working Interested in a Variety of Subjects and Topics Open-Minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Boys will always walk the girls to the dorms! Being a gentleman is a staple of Fisk culture!

    What to do for fun

    Visit other campuses g, downtown, karaoke bars, lectures, pretty much if I here about something I'll try my best to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be way better, I love my school but the food isn't the best.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use renovation and the only coed dorm is the Honors dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn and get used to people that are very friendly and personable everyone knows everyone at Fisk.

    In three sentences

    Fisk is a very small yet historic HBCU located in Nashville,Tennessee. A big plus of going to the university is the close-knit family oriented style of learning and culture that can be felt by those who don't attend the university. However, despite the family atmosphere of Fisk, our facilities are sub-par and some of our buildings need renovation but for most, the vibe given off on campus causes many people to overlook this (in a good way). The best part about Fisk University is its close proximity to other universities such as Belmont, Vanderbilt, and TSU. This helps create a network where students can engage in activities and conversation and build relationships and establish connections which i I think is an AWESOME opportunity and experience.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of Greek fraternities and sororities at Fisk University and they take pride in their chapters. You could pledge to be a member. The basketball team also recuits new students and one could also join the track team. Each week, there are events that take place on the school campus and every Friday, there is alway a party.

    Food and Dining

    The food services is one of the grey areas at Fisk University.A meal plan is suggested when you pay for your tuition and room and board fees. The meal plan allows you to eat in the cafeteria. However, the food served is below par and most students take to feeding themselves

    Dorm Life

    You will assigned a roommate before you arrive except if you ask otherwise which means you will have to foot the bill for a single room. The students are friendly enough and everyone is genuinely concerned about everyone's welfare. If you dont get along with your roommate, it is possible to request to be assigned to another room

    Academic Rigor

    Assignments are given on an almost daily basis and quizzes and tests are administered to check the students progress. The professors are well qualified to teach and most have their phDs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fisk University offers a lot of Merit scholarships based on both your academic prowess and your financial need so they automatically considers applicants for merit scholarship and 92% of the students are on some form of scholarship, aid or grant. I would advice students that wanted to major in depth in the arts to reconsider before applying because the Arts department consist of English, Music and Fine arts majors. This is because Fisk university is known for their science programs.

    In three sentences

    Fisk University is a small, Liberal arts, Historically black university located in Nashville, Tennessee. It has a population of about 800 students in small campus. It has four Resident Dorms and it is ranked as among the top 200 schools in America. It has a strong Science and Business programme.