Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fitchburg State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone on campus is so friendly. There is always someone to hold the door open for you if you need it and plenty of friendly faces to go up to and say hello if you are in need of a dinner date or a new study buddy. I am a tour guide, orientation leader and a member of the Fitchburg Activities Board (FAB) on campus and I even work in the Volunteer Center in the campus center. Getting involved and helping out around campus is a great way to make new friends, share memories and have fun!

    Am learning a lot

    My professors have been great! I originally came to FSU as a film student and honestly wasn't happy in that concentration, but I knew I still wanted to work in the entertainment industry. I switched my major concentration to Professional Communications and have been so happy since. My advisor is brilliant and makes sure I get what I want out of my degree and experience on campus and always asks me how I am doing outside of school and academics.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I feel Fitchburg is great for all types of students. However, our most common majors include Nursing, Education, and Business, Criminal Justice and Film. I am personally involved in the Exercise Science program and I absolutely love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! This is the best way to meet people! My freshman year I did cross country, indoor track and field, softball, intramural basketball, worked with the Athletic Trainers, and trained to be an RA. I loved every minute of it and met so many great people! Another tip I would have is to always go to class. No matter how tired or lazy you feel, remember that every class you skip is costing you money. One professor told us that missing one class is basically equivalent to throwing $100 down the drain. Don't do this! Also, you need to work hard. Don't put your social life before your studies.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely! Fitchburg is one of the cheapest QUALITY schools around. All college is expensive, but for the price you pay at Fitchburg, the education is extraordinary.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes! It is extremely easy to meet new friends. While living on campus definitely helps for this, you can also meet new people when you are a commuter as well. Everyone is very welcoming and accepting. As for extra-curricular activieties, there are a ton. I am personally involved in sports. The coaches are great and very informative. After my freshman year, I am having a great experience. I am very much looking forward to my sophomore year!

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot. I am just heading into my sophomore year not, and really looking forward to it. Even in my freshman year I learned so much in mostly general education courses alone. For instance, I took a China course recently where I learned so much about something I had previously had little education of. The professors are great and you can feel the passion that they have for their subjects.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember, even though college is super fun, it's still school and you need to study.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Fun every day, the students who organize the activities here, or FAB, are great and get comedians, magicians, and bands along with all kinds of games where you can win some awesome prizes!

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are small and the professors are nice and really care about your success!

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's definitly worth the money your spending

    Am enjoying being here

    there is so much to do around campus and always someone to hang out with!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much at this school! my teachers have been wonderful and the work load was more than high school but totally worth it!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has always been a little issue seeming we are so close to the local neighborhoods but campus police are really great at preventing any incidences and there are emergency buttons all over campus. there are also cameras everywhere as well as in parking lots.

    Greek Life

    We do have greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SEVERAL clubs at Fitchburg State. Clubs from gay straight alliance to Student government. There is also a lot of intramural sports for students who would like to have fun but do not want to commit to a sport.

    Great for these types of students

    perfect school for students who are looking to pursue a degree in nursing. Fitchburg State is GREAT for nursing as well as it is for education. It even has an elementary school basically on campus that students can do their practicum at.

    Bang for the buck

    My favorite thing about FSU is the fact that it has a shuttle service that goes up and down the main street for student safety and convenience. It goes to the commuter rail station that goes right into North Station and on the other end it leads to the school parking lot and track and fields.

    What to do for fun

    FSU has several fun things to do each week they try to do their best at creating fun free programs and things to do to keep the students entertained.

    Food and Dining

    It is buffet style and they always will have something that you will enjoy. They change the special every day and keep things the same such as the salad bar, grill, deli, and pasta. There is also a fun array of desserts every day at every meal. The Freedom meal plan is most preferred so you can go unlimited times and have 125$ towards your dining points to use in the commuter cafe or coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is HIGHLY recommended at FSU. It is a great way to make friends. There are a few dorm halls to choose from some are more homey than others but overall they all provide the same thing, great WIFI, cable, and all halls will have a Kitchen area as well as laundry and vending machines. Some even have fun things like pool and ping pong tables.

    Academic Rigor

    it would be depending on what area of study you would choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip that I wish I had was to look at your degree evaluation and figure out what classes you will need to take for your major and the pre-requisites that are required for your degree! Not knowing that in the beginning of my Freshman year made me behind just one course! Also if you have the chance to add on a minor DO IT! With the advanced LAS that is required for every student, just doing TWO more classes gets you a minor in that subject!

    In three sentences

    Its a great university and has fantastic programs! Its great financial aid and price was the reason I chose here. It has that college feel and you are guaranteed to find your niche at Fitchburg State University!

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    i don't join any but i do track in the school. I am also trying to play football in my sophomore year.

    What to do for fun

    Play video game with my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to work hard thus do your homework and also study for tests and quizzes. You also have to go to class everyday with a pen and a notebook so that you can take notes. Never let go an extra credit pass by without doing it.

    In three sentences

    It's a very nice school with hard working professors. The students are also friendly. The school also serves food and also take of special needs kids.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a great value for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing. Hang out with friends in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that bad, some days are better than others.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and some people are difficult to live with, so choose wisely (or if being put in a random room with a random roommate, be careful to get along well).

    Academic Rigor

    This school isn't that hard, however just make sure you do what they ask when they ask of it and you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends fast and during orientation. People are very cliquey so making friends in the beginning is important.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University is a fantastic school. However, more teachers should be able to speak, read, and write English better. But in general, I am very happy here.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus police and when they know it is time for the students to start celebrating they remind us of what we should be aware of. Also when things happen in or around campus they make us aware so we can take proper precautions. Also there are blue lights with a button that can be used to have the campus police come if there is a need.

    Bang for the buck

    I have enjoyed my time here on campus. I am a nontraditional student and have had no problem becoming a part of the community here on campus. On this campus we also have an elementary school and for those in education this is a great opportunity to go in and practice what we are learning. There are also many schools in the area. There is a downtown area that opens itself up to the students and there is another apartment building being added to the campus. It is also a short walk or ride to the communter station to take the train into Boston.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different activities, I am involved in some that have to do with education. There are sororaties, communter events, fund raisers, community events and so much more. I am sure everyone could find something to get involved in. There do many things at night the students have time to unwind and socialize. There are also sports also intramural for those who want to and a rec hall/gym/pool on campus open to students at no charge.

    Food and Dining

    There is Hammond Dining which is where a major part of the population dines, and then there are smaller dining areas/resteraunts around campus. The last year and a half has seen some reconstruction going on with an effort to improve dining on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to me. I have heard there are many good and also some not so good. There are plenty of activies, lots of good people and ways to get connected here on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Every one of my classes has been a challenge, the homework and tests are there to show you that you do know what you know, or not. I find that when I am most challenged, then it is time to take a break and refocus, clear my brain, give myself a pep talk and carry on. There is time for everything that is important, if you don't organize your schedule, how well is everything else scheduled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always take the opportunity to go after your dreams. If you want something and feel it is not attainable, that would be your biggest mistake, however if it is just you are unsure of the direction to go in, ask, there are no stupid questions, there is always someone who can help you.

    In three sentences

    I have found most of my classes challenging and yet very informative and helpful in the area of my degree. Most of the teachers go out of their way to help you in any way they can to achieve your goals. The support I have received has been continuous and therefore I have been able to achieve much more than I originally thought possible.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of on campus sports and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you weigh out all of your options first

    In three sentences

    Great school. Nice teachers. close to home.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many campus police officers constantly patrolling around campus. If you are within a few miles radius of the campus and it is late at night you can call for a campus police escort if you don't feel safe walking somewhere. The officers are very friendly and take the safety of the school seriously.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities, and two fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities to get involved in. I could literally write a five page essay covering everything. The most popular club is Dance Club, where students can audition to teach any type of dance class they would like, and put on two shows during the year. There are many students that decide to get involved in SGA, the student government association, or FAB, the Fitchburg activities board. FAB is in charge of putting together events such as the major spring concert, and fun trips throughout the year.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are many things to do. We constantly have bingo nights, drive in movies on the quad, and many concerts/open mic nights. Every month they show a movie that has left theaters but isn't released on DVD yet. The Resident Assistants are always having different programs like tie dye nights, game nights, or ice cream parties.

    Food and Dining

    Fitchburg only has one main dining hall, but there are lots of choices everyday. You can visit the salad bar, sandwich bar, get pizza, burgers, hot dogs, french fries, and grilled cheese every day. Then there are a few stations where the food varies daily. Sometimes there are tacos, stuffed shells, chicken pot pie, and other various dishes. We have a menutainment section where you order your food and it is cooked right in front of you! And there is a soft serve machine. Delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Fitchburg tends to put freshmen in forced triple rooms, so there will be three people living in a double. This is why it is important to get your housing deposit in quickly so you will be higher up on the de-tripling list. There are a few different types of dorms on campus, but they all have many different types of people and always have things to do. The Resident Assistants are constantly coming up with programs and ways to get residents involved on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you work hard and show an interest in what you are learning, you will do very well at Fitchburg. The professors are available and willing to help with any problems you may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get your applications in quick, and if you are living on campus, send in your housing deposit as soon as possible! Come with an open mind and be ready for amazing opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State is a great school. It has the perfect balance of providing a quality education while also giving students great opportunities to stay busy on campus. There are so many things to do, sometimes I wish I was going to school more than four years!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not the best.

    Greek Life

    Im not really into that life but they are good

    Clubs and Activities

    Very good

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dont have any

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very reasonable school as far as financial aid goes.

    What to do for fun

    I joined clubs such as the choir and Christian Fellowship club.

    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Dorm Life

    I dont have much complaints about dorming. The rooms are decent size compared to other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Must go prepare to handle college workload.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State is a good school. I feel like the teachers are very helpful and caring. Although it does have it's side effects, I believe that it is a good school to go to.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fitchburg State has a great gym where you can run laps, swim in the pool or use their exercise machines for a workout.

    Food and Dining

    okay. not bad

    Dorm Life

    don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary from the different professors and their personal class style. Though classes are mainly lectures have about 25 students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Fitchburg State if you want to have a small campus and a nice experience.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State is a great small campus. It has great staff and administer, also very friendly and helpful. Also has good business teachers for business major students.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FSU has a team of dedicated and reliable campus police who are ready to keep you safe whenever, wherever! There are many emergency telephone booths located all around campus so you should always feel safe when you're on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    FSU has a huge variety of clubs and activities to choose from so you will NEVER be bored!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many buildings here at FSU have a historical significance.

    Bang for the buck

    FSU charges many ridiculous fees onto your bill. If you have free tuition don't be fooled, that's only a small portion of your bill.

    What to do for fun

    Fitchburg State University has many fun activities throughout the year including Rock the Block! They also have several opportunities to get involved including clubs and sports and many different types of groups that you should definitely take advantage of.

    Food and Dining

    Fitchburg State University has many options when eating in the dining hall but personally I would prefer to go somewhere else or make your own food.

    Dorm Life

    Fitchburg State University has several housing options or close by apartments. The dorms have enough room for everything you need and are easy to get settled in.

    Academic Rigor

    Fitchburg State University has a huge selection of great teachers who are willing to help out out in any way that you need. They give up their own time to stay after class if you have any questions or need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fitchburg State University has a great Nursing and Education program, a beautiful campus and a great choice of extra-curricular activities. Just make sure to fill out everything you have to on time and don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University is a very good school academically although not in the best location due to the surrounding streets. The teachers are terrific, the campus is beautiful, and the students are so welcoming. My only problem with the school is the ridiculous fees that they charge us which is the majority of the bill, which is the main reason my bill is higher than expected.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency stations are located throughout the campus and with a push of a button, campus police will be there as soon as possible to handle your current situation. Fitchburg Police, Fire Department, and Ambulance are all located on the campus grounds, ensuring safety for all students!

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and Sororities are a great way to get activley involved in the community, and FSU offers them with great honor and integrity.

    Bang for the buck

    With a low total cost, Fitchburg State University offers everything a $45,000 school does, for half the price!

    What to do for fun

    There is a great student body looking to have fun. From collegiate sports, to the Recreation Center's intramural sports, fun and engaging activities are everywhere. If you don't like the sports as much, activities within your major are easily found through your student adviser! Fitchburg State is also surrounded by numerous eateries, shopping destinations, and movie theaters!

    Food and Dining

    Offering an unlimited dining option, students can eat as often as they want from 7:00 A.M until 7:00 P.M with great chefs from Chartwells. This option also includes an additional $125 to use towards on-campus eateries such as Subway, 2Mato, Cafe, and BYOB (Build your Own Burger).

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms offer a great chance to meet and greet new people while staying close to the academic buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Staying on top of your grades is crucial to obtaining a degree from this prestigious University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Positive attitudes are infectious, come in with an open mind and heart for new activities! Above all, be ready to experience some of the best years of your life with professors and faculty members that care about you and want to see you succeed!

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University is a great school with a growing population of well rounded and aspiring young men and women. With construction of the buildings surrounding the campus nearing completion, Fitchburg State University is looking better than ever! If you want a great education while still having a great time with extracurricular activities, Fitchburg State is the place for you!

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are a big fixture on campus. There are call boxes across campus that students can utilize to alert campus police in case of emergencies. There is parking near every building and a shuttle bus to ensure that students don't need to walk long distances at night to reach classes or the dorms. Campus police are always willing to help in any areas they may be needed (helping fix a flat tire, contacting a tow service, preventing bullying and excessive drinking.) Overall, Fitchburg State is a very safe place to attend school.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities across campus who live in houses nearby. Membership is open to anyone who would like to join and make friends. Joining the Greek Life is a great way to give yourself a support circle of peers who want to push you to succeed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are free and a great way to meet like-minded individuals throughout the campus. There are academic clubs devoted to honor students, sports clubs devoted to athletes, drama, literature, and art clubs devoted to artists, and even video gaming and anime clubs for students with eclectic tastes. There are free activities offered across campus throughout the semester including movie nights, hypnotists, magicians, literary circles, alumni parties, and much more! Joining clubs and participating in activities is a great way to meet new people and also, a good addition to resumes in the future!

    Great for these types of students

    Fitchburg State offers great programs in Nursing, Computer Science, Education, and the Liberal Arts. Anyone pursuing a Liberal Arts degree should definitely think about applying. The school also offers excellent, flexible classes for commuter students and adult learners. Overall, there is something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a series of underground tunnels that lead between all the buildings on campus. Students use these tunnels to study and to escape the snow or rain when having to walk between classes. The tunnels are very convenient when it's raining and you want to keep your books dry!

    Bang for the buck

    The low tuition, helpful professors, free clubs and activities, free advising and career services, and low-cost of living in the city pretty much ensures that students are receiving a good, quality education for a small amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of free activities and clubs that are offered on campus. There is a giant library that offers books, movies, and internet cafes for students between or after classes. Clubs are diverse and range anywhere from the mainstream (sports and academic related) to more obscure things like anime, video games, ninjas, and poets. There are also sports events, political rallies, movie nights, and games held on the quad that all students are encouraged to participate in. There is always something to do on campus to prevent students from becoming bored!

    Food and Dining

    The school offers decently priced meal plans that are worth spending the extra money on. There are two main dining areas, The Commuter Cafe and The Dining Hall. The Commuter Cafe offers a variety of grab-and-go meals for students to eat quickly between classes. There is a great variety of foods (including vegan and vegetarian choices) but prices tend to be a little on the expensive side. The Dining Hall offers cheaper food but the variety suffers a bit. The food is freshly cooked and the dining area is always well-stocked and clean. Between the two areas, everyone can find something tasty that will satisfy them.

    Dorm Life

    If you live on-campus, you will meet lifelong friends! Rooms are large and connected to common areas where students meet to study and socialize. The diverse population in the dorms ensures that everyone can meet people with common interests and bond through clubs, activities, or just spending time together in the dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Students are encouraged to push their own boundaries. Classes get progressively harder throughout the semesters and it is impossible to coast through most. Exams, essays, assignments, and projects are designed to push students to think and to reach new levels of understanding in their content area. Students are required to take a number of courses outside of their field so that they can become well-rounded, innovative thinkers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about applying to a State College, Fitchburg State is a really good choice. The small, diverse, student body almost ensures that you will be granted the personal attention it takes to succeed. There are programs available to help students easily transition from high school to college.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University is a mid-sized, state college with a private college feel. Classes are small, professors are caring and knowledgeable, and the programs are solid. The diverse student body, numerous clubs and activities, and close-knit community will make every new student feel welcome!

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is really good here. We have many real cops that patrol 24/7/365. They have a great escort service too!

    Greek Life

    We have two Fraternities and three Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many! Get involved, it will be the best thing you do for yourself while you're in college!

    Great for these types of students

    Any!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are great places right on main st. and the surrounding areas of Fitchburg.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's the right price, especially for a state school!

    What to do for fun

    The clubs are great, there are a ton of events that go on!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is good. They offer a huge variety of things so whatever your preference, they will have it!

    Dorm Life

    I love the residence halls here. Herlihy is the best. The biggest rooms, the quietest, and attached to the dining hall!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are great. Our top majors are the best and second best in the state!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Go on the daily tours, and the open houses that they offer!

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State is awesome! They are updating the campus, and it's looking great so far. I've been here for 3 years already and I'm sad that it's my least year.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are usually events on campus and there is usually a chance to win some prizes. They bring in bands all the time and there are dances and raves. The sororities and fraternities host events all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food could definitely use variety but overall, its good It is a buffet style service and the salad bar is always open for lunch and dinner. Every tuesday is taco tuesday. However if you have allergies, your choices really are limited because they tend to use the same ingredients and the same cooking supplies with everything.

    Dorm Life

    Every year there are more and more students looking for a dorm on campus so sometimes you will be stuck in a forced triple. Usually those go away after a few weeks. If dorm life isn't for you, it isn't too hard to get out if it.

    Academic Rigor

    Once again, nursing is the toughest major on campus, but other than that, the classes aren't too tough and the workload is not too bad. The classes are small as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is mostly a commuter school so sometimes the campus is a little dead on the weekends but there are a lot of events going on all the time and if you find what you like to do there are a lot of opportunities to do what you enjoy. The classes depend on your major but overall, unless you are a nursing student, the guidelines aren;t too strict. Nursing is strict only because of the demand. Be sure you are ready to crack down if you are a nursing student.

    In three sentences

    It is a medium sized city like campus. It is near the commuter line that goes into boston and had a bus that goes around every 15 minutes. The food is good but not the best and the classes are easy to find even as a freshman on campus.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We hear a lot about things going on off campus during parties but I feel relatively safe while on campus. You can always call campus police for an escort somewhere if you feel uncomfortable walking outside but I've the police give you a hard time for it.

    Greek Life

    I've never been a part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a huge number of clubs on campus giving students responsibility (academic, cultural, etc.) but it seems like the club FAB has the most power and some other clubs are pushed to the side.

    Bang for the buck

    There are some really great professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of off-campus things to do but it is very helpful to have a car.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of food provided but the quality sucks. A lot of things seem fake and there aren't any options. The food looks good but it doesn't taste as good. Going to eat on campus is pretty much a hit and miss. Thankfully there are take-out places near by but it isn't too healthy. The school does take into consideration people's opinions.

    Dorm Life

    I've lived in the same dormitory hall since freshman year. (Mara) It's a series of buildings. I think this is the best place to stay. People there are more mature. The only thing is that there is check in in the main building and the laundry machines are always breaking down.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some really great teachers on campus. Some teachers are pretty easy though -- like easier than when I was in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remove to waive the school's health insurance every year if you will be using your own. That will take off about $1,000. Always check for holds on your account. They can effect your class registration.

    In three sentences

    Don't let the fact that it is a state school put you down. If you take advantage of what the school has to offer, you can go very far. The professors can really teach you a lot.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although located in the heart of a city, FSU is very safe due to the efforts of the campus police.

    Greek Life

    FSU offers six different frats and sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    FSU offers many varied clubs to get involved in

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to better themselves through education will find their place here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None, really.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price! Great services!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities offered at FSU, such as discounted trips to Boston and NYC

    Food and Dining

    The food at FSU is much better than other colleges

    Dorm Life

    FSU offers many options for residential life; it even has a new residential building

    Academic Rigor

    Unlike other state colleges, FSU excels in academics. You will be challenged to rise above

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out! tours are offered every weekday and open houses on the weekend are a great way to find out about FSU

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University has aptly been called the #1 state university. FSU is committed to excellence in academics and student life. It is known for its prestigious nursing program, as well as any one pursuing communications/media education degrees.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe both day and night. There are emergency posts around all campus buildings that can call campus police with the press of a button. However, since I have attended school here, none of these have been used at all. Campus police are typically seen patrolling campus and the surrounding streets, and there has never been any trouble on campus since I have been attending the school. I feel completely peaceful and safe when walking around campus both during the day and at night.

    Greek Life

    There are two fraternities at Fitchburg State University, Sigma Pi and Sigma Tau Gamma, and three sororities, Sigma Sigma Sigma, Alpha Sigma Tau, and Phi Sigma Sigma. All are involved in volunteer and charity work, as well as numerous other campus events.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there is a club that you want to start, you can easily form it and advertise its existence. Fitchburg State University offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities, from the NCAA Division III sports teams to intramural sports and various other clubs and organizations. Many students choose to create their own clubs if one does not exist that suits their particular interests. I am currently a member of the Outdoor Adventure Club, as well as a contributing editor for Route 2, the university's literary magazine. Whatever a student's interest may be, there is either a school club for that interest or the ability to create one.

    Bang for the buck

    Fitchburg State University is very modestly price compared to many other schools. While not as large as some other universities in Massachusetts, Fitchburg State provides an engaging, fun, educational, and rewarding college experience to those who do not have the money to pay for more expensive, grandiose schools of higher education. The educators are very efficient in their teaching, and the education is outstanding considering the relatively low cost.

    What to do for fun

    The Hammond Building Campus Center contains the Game Room and Falcon Hub, both places wehre events are typically held and food is served. The North Street Bistro is also in this building and serves as a place for students to socialize, eat, and drink. The school has several sports teams to play for if students are interested, as well as intramural sports for the less competitive. Various clubs and organizations exist at the school, and if one desires, he or she can create his or her own club. The campus usually hosts numerous events every semester so that students of different backgrounds and interests are able to meet and conversate. The university has a track surrounding its football field, as well as an indoor recreational facility that is perfect for athletic students. Mount Wachusett is located close by for those who enjoy snowboarding, in addition to numerous skateparks in the area. There is also a movie theater located less than ten minutes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Holmes Dining Hall provides a range of healthy options for students to choose from. However, most simply choose to repetitively eat the same fried foods that are offered, which include chicken patties and french fries, as well as hamburgers, grilled cheese, and hot dogs. A salad bar is included in the buffet-style eating area. The North Street Bistro, in the Hammond Campus Center, offers a much broader range of hours and foods, including a Build Your Own Burger station and Subway. The quality of the food in both dining areas is decent, though not exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    Fitchburg State has recently just acquired the new Simmonds residence halls located down the street from the main campus buildings. The dorms are very large in the new buildings, and there are several other residence halls including Russell Towers, Aubuchon Hall, Mara Village, Townhouse Apartments, North Street Apartments, Cedar Street Apartments, and Herlihy Hall. The dorms are excellent ways to meet other students, and the Resident Assistants are always there to make sure that students are safe and that no one is left locked out of his or her room. The bathrooms are all conveniently located, maintained daily, and very clean. All campus buildings are located close to the residence halls at this small campus, so transportation is never an issue, as all are within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Fitchburg State University's professors are challenging, but fair. The courses I have taken have always been manageable, and students learn to manage time effectively to complete assignments. Some professors are often strict with deadlines and tough with grading, but they are consistently dedicated to your academic improvement and success. They are concerned with their students' performances and honestly care deeply about their students. I have kept in contact with many of my professors and choose to take a variety of the classes they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved on campus and communicate with your professors. Always check your student e-mails and be open and honest with your fellow classmates and educators. The staff is here to help you succeed, and you will certainly notice it in your college experience here.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University is an affordable, respectable, and effectively run state school located in Fitchburg, Massachusetts. The campus is relatively small, yet very inviting, with a strong sense of community. The university provides a very thorough liberal arts education for a very modest price.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are extremely friendly and willing to help. If you are ever out when the shuttles stop running you can call them for a ride back to your dorm or house no questions asked. They like to see students acting responsibily.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in any however my friends that are say they love it. I always enjoy hearing their stories.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any however my friends that are say they love it. I always enjoy hearing their stories.

    Great for these types of students

    FSU is great for students who are willing to learn, determined to succeed, ready to make new friends, and open to try new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always fairs going on that advertise clubs and activities for their students to get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    Fitchburg is one of the lowest costing colleges in the state and has an incredible programs for their majors.

    What to do for fun

    I spend a lot of time with my suite-mates whether it be settling in for the night with a movie and popcorn or getting ready to spend the night out and about. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food takes some getting used to but there is a large variety to choose from and for the most part the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm like is amazing. I have became so close with the people on my floor and make so many other friends just from being in the same building. They always have events to bring students closer together.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, some more than others, but with hard work and effort they are easily passable. The professors like when students take advantage of their office hours, so if you are struggling in the class they are more than welcoming to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the campus events. It is a great way to make friends and get involved in school.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University is a great place to live, learn, and make friends. The professors are dedicated to their students and want to see them all succeed. There are so many activities around campus allowing for variety of ways to stay entertained.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are usually around if you're out and about. However, the area of Fitchburg is so bad that I don't feel safe walking off campus even in the daytime.

    Greek Life

    There are two fraternities and three sororities. Neither are directly affiliated with the school (no school sponsored greek housing).

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports are very fun, about the only time I enjoy myself here.

    Great for these types of students

    Lower-middle class blue collar home. People who don't read books for fun, perhaps like trucks and hunting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spree day, apparently students start drinking as soon as they wake up, until they fall asleep. With traditions like this, one can wonder how this school has the reputation it possesses.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're looking for a useless degree, this school may just be for you. The degree itself may be less useful than the acumen of the student body here, the students here slowly deteriorate my faith in humanity with their lack of intelligence and lack of class.

    What to do for fun

    Visit your friends and their colleges.

    Food and Dining

    Here on campus there is ONE dining hall. It gets repetitive after your first week, they have one station that changes every day, but it is usually full of slop, all of the other stations don't change at all.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sucks, I live in Russel Towers and I hardly know anyone on my floor, only one of the dorm buildings here has a traditional dorm layout. The rest are of a strange design, very cold looking dorms (cement walls and floors). It feels like a prison sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are all very easy, I've taken classes from Basic Writing to Business Law and Microeconomics. Classes are very easy if you do the work.r

    Tips for prospective students

    If this is the only school you can afford, try community college for two years then transfer into Umass Amherst.

    In three sentences

    There are very specific students here. Please weigh your options before deciding to go here. The academic rigor is lacking.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    CHEERLEADING!

    Bang for the buck

    Its very inexpensive compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is an art museum near by, other than that not much.

    Food and Dining

    Didn't visit.

    Dorm Life

    unsure. Didn't visit.

    Academic Rigor

    As a film student, I'm looking for a school with a good film program. I looked at some student films and they were pretty great! I liked them a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring Lysol, I feel like where ever I go I'll bring cleaning supplies.

    In three sentences

    FSU looked like an okay school, decently cheap, but I didn't really like the area. It didn't look that clean, but if you're not like grossed out easily it shouldn't be a problem.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to any private school the education at FSU is equal if not better than many schools in Massachusetts well worth the cost being under $9,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    Fitchburg is a nice small size city just 5 minutes away from the Train to Boston. But you will always find somewhere to enjoy your time whether its a at a club at school event. The rave thrown this past March was really fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the new dining hall is getting better and better as local food buying has been a new interest of 2012-2013

    Tips for prospective students

    New Game design and media programs are great at FSU.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State is a great school with a beautiful and growing campus well worth the cost of attending. Professors, students and administration are what truly make the school worthwhile especially for the low costs of attending. I recommend this school to any student looking to attend college in fall or 2013

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, in a not so safe area.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun in Fitchburg, but it is what you make of it.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay but choices are very limited with only on dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are on the dirtier side, but very fun to live in. The only pitfall is maintenance.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that it is average, though it does fluctuate from professor to professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to talk to your professor and staff, they are all nice and actually helpful.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice school, only becoming nicer with all the renovations underway. It is an extremely small school, with only one dining hall. Overall it is a decent school, not too bad.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will be safe on campus and even off campus. As bad as people like to make Fitchburg sound, you're really way safer than people make it seem.

    Greek Life

    I am part of Greek life, I'm in a sorority. I love it so much already and its fun. There's 3 sororities and 2 fraternities (I heard there's going to be 3 soon). Definitely something to look into!

    Clubs and Activities

    FSU has something for everyone. There is so much to do/join, which I love!

    Great for these types of students

    Practically every type of student.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say its good quality for what you're paying. Plus there's always free stuff and events to go to and get so you kind of get gifts along with the price you pay (if that makes sense)

    What to do for fun

    They is so much to do for every personality type. You really have to try not to be involved or do anything fun around or on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus often since I commute. But as a commuter they offer a lot of events where they do serve good free food, which is a plus! (the events and free food are for everyone too not just commuters) and I have eaten in the dining hall and I think its good, but I'm also not a too picky eater.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so no info on dorm life. But I have seen the dorms and they're not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    If you're looking for it, they got it(or will try to help you figure out how to get it). And they have all levels of classes. personal experience: as long as you can time manage you'll be fine and classes can be easy.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are blue signal lights where there are security towers optional for a student to press if they need help.

    Greek Life

    There is the opportunity for Greek Life although it is not big so choose to participate if you wish for that opportunity but there is no pressure or social need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to choose from! All are very active and easy to be apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic Honor Average Outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spree Day

    What to do for fun

    Movies Mini Golf Parties

    Food and Dining

    The dining on campus is just like home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all close and so much fun to get into always new people to meet.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect a lot out of the students, its nice to be held accountable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and try your best always

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State University is a very studious school. There are a lot of extra activities to get into. You will never be bored.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People, from students to law enforcement really care about the safety and want everyone to be safe. There is even a Rape-Aggression Defense course.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternities are great opportunities to make new friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    A variety of clubs and activities from the Sociology Club to Field Hockey

    Great for these types of students

    Social, open to trying new things, looking for a smaller, more close-knit college

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the cost. One can learn a lot if he or she really puts effort.

    What to do for fun

    Talk to people and meet new people. Sororities and fraternities Different events like dances and fundraisers Sports

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally healthy and there is a variety of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Great way to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers take teaching very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be open to making new friends, speaking up in class, getting to know teachers, and trying new things. Don't overthink it.

    In three sentences

    There are great teachers with interesting personalities that really care about the students. The students are open, kind-hearted people ready to welcome anyone. There are a lot of great activities like sports and clubs like Gay-Straight Alliance and Psychology club where new friends can be made.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always there for you to pick you up and bring you to your dorm from anywhere on campus 24/7. They also have good security systems throughout the campus and emergency blue lights that are easily accessible and located all over campus to just press a button and get immediate assistance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many opportunities for different clubs and activities such as dance, and almost every sport imaginable.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who really like good relationships with their teachers and knowing familiar faces everywhere you go.

    Bang for the buck

    Fitchburg is definitely a very affordable school with so much to offer!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do because Fitchburg is a small city with plenty of restaurants, malls, and recreational activities around.

    Food and Dining

    Te food is great they always try to mix it up every night for dinner, sometimes have a DJ playing music and there are even food cook-offs.

    Dorm Life

    A great place to meet many new people, and the floors and different bonding activities to get everyone involved. The dorms are close to all the academic buildings so it is not a long walk everyday from class to be back inside your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The work definitely challenges you, however is not completely overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a big school, this is not it. However, if you are looking for a smaller school Fitchburg State University is a great choice.

    In three sentences

    Fitchburg State is a very friendly campus. The students can build a close relationship with professors and many students. A very safe campus with much to do around town.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My friend locked herself out of his room once so he called the Campus Police. They didn't come for over an hour. There have also been a few muggings on campus this year.

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want to do anything but party.

    What to do for fun

    Literally nothing. The city is boring and you can't do much without a car. I grew up in a very rural area so I've known this frustration before but Fitchburg State doesn't seem to offer many remedies for it.

    Food and Dining

    Typical expectation for a college dining hall. Not great, makes you sick afterward.

    Dorm Life

    I visit my friend for whole weekends at a time. The reason I'm writing this scathing review right now is because I visited her this weekend. There is a trend here at Fitchburg State. A trend of disgusting bathrooms. They hardly ever get cleaned. There was no soap in the girl's bathroom this weekend and my friend, a germaphobe, complained that there hadn't been any since Tuesday! She's gone a whole week without HAND SOAP. I didn't even want to touch anything. Another weekend I visited, there was blood on the girl's bathroom floor. The only redeeming quality of the dorms is that they have really nice closets (in Herlihy anyway.)

    Academic Rigor

    Fitchburg's Writing II class uses the same book as my Intro. to College Writing class (lower level.) Plus, students have to take Writing I and II before any literature classes. How does that work if someone is an English major? They have this useless class for Communications majors called Message Design that won't transfer to any other schools. They're very into assigning homework by hours. Ex. You should do five hours of work outside of class on this. The work that is given isn't hard at all, just plentiful.

    In three sentences

    I don't go here but my friend does and I visit when she can't afford to visit me. I was accepted here and seeing her here makes me so happy I didn't attend. I would only suggest it as a place to transfer from after doing general classes.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of emergency help boxes, campus police and local police very present

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life but I'm not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone

    Bang for the buck

    Why spend upwards of $50,000 at a private university to obtain the same degree in nursing as you would from an expensive private school?

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, play sports, go to the rec center

    Food and Dining

    Lots of selections

    Dorm Life

    Large rooms, clean bathrooms, free laundry in the freshmen dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes, instructors very helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Great open houses, staff easy to talk to and very knowledgeable, always able to answer your questions or point you to someone who can. President of the school very visible, makes students feel like he knows each and every one of them.

    In three sentences

    Friendly people, staff very approachable. Campus not too small, not too big. Sports are great to participate in.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The dance club is the best. Cant wait to join it.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes!

    What to do for fun

    Dance and read a book

    Food and Dining

    Yummy! Love the food!

    Dorm Life

    The best!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything on time!

    In three sentences

    I love Fitchburg state campus because every building is easy to find. It was my first choice college in which I got accepted. It is a very good school, when I visited for the first time I was very impress. I love the classroom and the suites in which I'll be living soon.