Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Florence-Darlington Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any one who is willing to try thrier best. remeber there is no failure except to give up and never try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every extra activity at your high school and make the best grades in high school and always do your best.

  • 02/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that want a less expensive opportunity to get in and get out so they can start their life off as quickly as possible!(:

    Tips for prospective students

    at first i never seen myself going to a technical college but the more i looked into Florence-Darlington the more i realized it was the perfect college for me.

    Bang for the buck

    the cheaper the better!!!!

    Will enjoy being here

    it will be flexible with my busy schedule

    Will learn a lot

    i believe it will be easier to learn on a smaller campus

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable and its worth your money.

    Food and Dining

    They have a beautiful dining area with TVs and a subway.

    Dorm Life

    They don't offer housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute, make sure everything is in place before classes start. Use the resources that they have available if you need with your classes.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to this school very much. The classes are small and the professors are always willing to help you. They offer many different resources to make sure your learning experience is a good one. Such as the success center, the Math Lab, and the Project Rise just to name a few.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard , Take Notes And you will do just fine.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. The teacher are awesome always available when you need them. Florence Darlington Technical College is just a great learning environment. I

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    When facing an academic rigor, I have to learn to face them. learn from my mistake, and don't returning that way again. there comes a time in life where sometimes we all have to rejoice over the good and the bad, because the situation could have been worst.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is just a few words, with much meaning. those words are to, you only live once, if given a chance value it as you value time. chase after your dream, and never give up on you.

    In three sentences

    Florence Darlington Tech is a very nice college, which captured my attention.The environment is suitable, and look safe. The Tech is not very far from home, and i look forward to attending it.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Guards are always on duty

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life, baseball, basketball,class activities that involve travel

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone whom is willing to try.

    Bang for the buck

    College here has been one that i enjoy and makes me wish that i can become a student for life. The individual attention is great. Teachers often relate to students to get them to perform their best.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of different clubs and organization around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. They have a subway on campus and we get many discounts on area foods at different locations.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    The class are very unique.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Florence-Darlington Tech if you want a place that is sincere.

    In three sentences

    I love Florence-Darlington Technical College. The teachers are great. The campus has greatly improved over the years.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There isn't a housing development on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused

    In three sentences

    not the best

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are team sports for guys and girls. There are also other activities the college plans for the students.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the college but there are plenty of places to eat near by. The college students get a discount with their school ID.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    FDTC has many activities and classes to offer. There is always someone to help you find your way.

    In three sentences

    FDTC is an awesome college to attend. The professors take an interest in each student and help them function to their fullest potential. My advisor has become a friend as well as someone to guide me in the direction I need to go.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security

    Great for these types of students

    Students that already know exactly what they want to do in life as far as a career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In addition to the library there is a building called the Success Center. Students go to the success center to get optional help from tutors without charge or just to use the computers or study lab models.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes aren't very expensive and I think you get a well rounded education for the money that you do pay.

    What to do for fun

    Tech isn't really your traditional college but occasionally they do throw student bashes with music and food.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice cafe lounge area downstairs to eat lunch and relax. Right now the only restaurant downstairs is subway but maybe eventually it will expand.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have found the classes challenging but not too hard. With study and focus it is very possible to pass every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of financial aid, they don't always inform you of the important things.

    In three sentences

    FDTC is a great school for pursuing specific career goals. The instructors are challenging yet helpful. Overall the school provides a great atmosphere.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is definitely a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They don't have too many clubs and activities, but they have a few.

    Great for these types of students

    This kind of college is great for people who want to stay home.

    Bang for the buck

    Florence-Darlington Technical College is definitely worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Tech you can join sports or some of the clubs they offer.

    Food and Dining

    They have great food and dining, most people like to go to Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Florence-Darlington Technical College doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with your classes. You have to study. Try to stay focused while in class

    In three sentences

    Florence-Darlington Technical College is a great college to attend. The teachers are very involved and willing to help you understand. It's a college where you can get a great education.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I rarely go to the main campus in Florence because I take all of my classes online,so I cannot give an accurate description of how safe the campus is. I can say that every time I have been on the campus I have felt very safe. There are policemen here and I have seen a few police cars parked on campus as well.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here because it it a commuter campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many activities here on campus because all of the students commute,although I know that Student Services tries to put together a few activities for the students a couple of times a month. I do not know of any clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    FDTC is an excellent choice for all types of students, from those who are fresh out of high school to those who are in their 40's. I have found FDTC to be very accommodating to non traditional students like myself,who are going back to college and have families. It is inspiring to see so many adult students here,and I love the fact that FDTC does not shun these students or make them feel uncomfortable. You are never too old to go to college or get an education, and FDTC is a great testament to this.

    Bang for the buck

    FDTC is a great option for students who want to save money by attending a small community college for one or two years before transferring to a large university or college for their bachelors. The tuition and fees for full time students(12 hourse) is less than 3,000 for in county residents,which means that if you receive a Pell Grant, your tuition and fees will most likely be covered by financial aid. FDTC also offers free tuition and fees to senior citizens!

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on campus,because all of the students commute. However, in Florence there are restaurants to go to if you want to go out to eat, and a medium sized mall to go to for shopping. There is also a movie theater in town. Florence is kinda small,so there isn't much to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines available,and the bookstore offers snacks for students to eat. There is also a full service Subway on campus that offers breakfast and lunch items.

    Dorm Life

    Because FDTC is a technical/community college, it is also a commuter college. There are no dorms here. Many of the students either live at home with their parents or somewhere in Florence or one of its surrounding areas.

    Academic Rigor

    I am studying for my Associate of Arts degree,and I have found the material to be challenging and on par with universities and colleges. I enjoy being challenged and I have studied hard for every grade I have earned. Just because it is a technical/community college does not mean that the classes are watered down or easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    FDTC is fairly easy to get into if you have the required materials(h.s. diploma or GED, test scores,etc). However,if you want to get into any of the more rigorous degree programs such as Nursing,Radiology,Engineering,etc, the requirements for these degrees are more stringent,which makes acceptance into these degree programs more difficult.

    In three sentences

    FDTC is a great technical/community college that offers something for everyone. It can accommodate anyone's schedule because it offers day,evening, and online courses. FDTC offers a multitude of degrees,diplomas,and certificates to fit anyone's interest.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tech has 24 hr security, there is never a problem there.

    Food and Dining

    They serve Subway in the lobby and it is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, you either live close to campus or you rent an apartment of near by hotel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and listen to the professors, they never tell you anything wrong.

    In three sentences

    A very expectional school, the professors work with you so that you can receive a degree. Everyone at tech is so friendly and are willing to work together to create a friendly environment for you. I recommend this school to all up coming freshmans.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security constantly roaming the facility.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one who doesn't like staying in school all day long.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very inexpensive to go here.

    What to do for fun

    You can always go to the success center, down to the cafeteria, they have a baseball program and many stores local to travel to.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway and an abundance of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dormitories.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are really self determined.

    In three sentences

    It was great school to attend. They work to make your schedule fit your daily process. You should attend.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very prevalent and visible on campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know too much about the Greek life at FDTC, other than many of the departments have their own.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is my first semester at FDTC, so I'm still finding my way around. I'm not a part of any clubs or activities, but I may check into them next semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Florence-Darlington Tech is a great school for students who want the experience of college while still living at home. FDTC also has classes to accommodate those students who are in the work force.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of stairs at FDTC, so make sure you have a good pair of shoes!!

    What to do for fun

    To be honest, I really don't know what you could do for fun. After my classes are over, if I don't go to the math lab, I go home!

    Food and Dining

    Florence-Darlington Tech has a Subway on campus. I sometimes eat there, or I'll just wait and eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    Florence-Darlington Tech does not have dorms, so I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Many people think that 2 year colleges are super easy...NOT THE CASE!! You still have to study hard and really apply yourself. If you have the right frame of mind and the right attitude towards school, you will succeed at FDTC.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are focused, you will excel at FDTC. Don't be afraid to ask for help if you need it, and DO NOT wait until the end of the semester to seek help!!

    In three sentences

    Florence-Darlington Tech is a very good 2 year college that really prepares you for the work-force. I like the fact that the classes are sized where you can interact with other classmates and the instructors know your name. There is assistance readily available should you need help with a course.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere on the campus and there whenever they are needed.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and very interactive. All the teachers and professors are always there to help you with whatever you need. The entire staff makes time to help the students and their needs at all times, they try their best to help get what everyone needs for their classes and graduation.