Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Florida Christian College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get serious about your faith! Don't slack of in high school.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is relatively inexpensive for a Christian college. The only thing that is a burden is having to pay $1.50 a load for laundry

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is a warm friendly environment. The dorms are a comfortable size and the people on campus are all generally friendly. Some employees and faculty actually live on campus and they always have their doors open, in case students need something

    Am learning a lot

    The classes offered here are top notch. The professors really know what they are talking about, and most of them have written several of the textbooks used.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Florida Christian College is great for students who intend to enter any field within Christian Ministry or who want definition to their growing but undefined Christian faith, which will root itself in constant biblical and theological studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    To student intending to attend Florida Christian College, I would recommend you take advantage of all the resources readily available to you, especially the availability offered to work one on one with professors, which is something you won't find in bigger colleges/universities.

    Bang for the buck

    I would argue for the sake of Christian colleges, Florida Christian College, so far, is a good institution for higher learning for the cost of tuition that is required.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm enjoying the small campus where professors are able to dedicate more of their time with students individually in and outside of the classroom. The faculty and staff are wonderful people.

    Am learning a lot

    It has been a great first semester. As I completed the course material throughout this fall semester of 2011, there was much material covered that I already knew but was presented as a great refreshment.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not felt threatened in any way since my stay at FCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs at FCC are mostly pointed towards off campus outreach or personal discipleship..

    Great for these types of students

    FCC has a versatile schedule and it is easy to work around whatever problem you find yourself in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The active students on campus like to play Ultimate Frisbee at 4:00 almost every day in the empty field behind the pool area. There is also a decorated prayer garden area where people go to spend time in prayer and worship. There they also host campfires.

    Bang for the buck

    you cant go wrong with the quality of education for the price that is paid.

    What to do for fun

    Because Orlando is so close its easy to enjoy the various locations of Orlando and downtown kissimmee. There are numerous trendy coffee shops that are perfect for relaxing and a lively downtown area that hosts a number activities. I like to go to 50 cent wing night at The Tavern which is a bar and grill in close proximity of the school.

    Food and Dining

    Because of the size of the school there is no meal plan. There is no food provided and the student is left to provide his own meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are larger than some i have seen at other colleges. They have two rooms, a modest living area, a kitchen and bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    They grade you on a standard higher than most universities. An earned A at a university such as UCF will get you a B at FCC. This is because they expect the Christian populous to do everything they do for the Glory of God.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to come out a different person

    In three sentences

    If Your looking for an interactive teacher to student college study this is your college. The teachers, staff, and students at this school are lifelong helpers. Knowledge is the first step in developing a successful ministry and this school can help you accomplish that.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards, even over night.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great school for students who desire to grow spiritually and in character; students who want to know God. Students who love God and love others. Everyone is welcomed! Everyone is accepted! Everyone is qualified! Everyone is loved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we hold a fundraiser titled Round up. This is event is like a fair or carnival style activity, it's always a big success and a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The Astro's stadium is across the street from us, many students enjoy the practices and games during the spring.

    What to do for fun

    We are in the heart of Kissimmee, close to Disney and not too far from the beaches. We have a pool on campus and a Student Union Building (SUB) where there's a billiard and ping pong table. We often hold tournaments. We also have basketball, volleyball, and wiffle ball nights held in the Chapman Center on campus. Everyone is always invited and welcomed at these events. We also have ultimate Frisbee games everyday at 4pm.

    Food and Dining

    We have several events during the year including banquets and Pancakes With the President. The food is yummy!

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are big! Very comfortable! They have a kitchen, and we have a pool!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at FCC are highly trained and prepared intellectually and in the word of God. You WILL learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to get into the word of God!

    In three sentences

    Florida Christian College is not just another institute ready to take your money. The faculty and staff are very caring, they care about you and your growth, both intellectually and spiritually. I rate FCC a 10/10.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FCC has security guards that roam the campus during the night to ensure the safety of its students.

    Clubs and Activities

    FCC has numerous clubs and activities. Some clubs include various groups that meet to raise awareness for sex trafficking, various sporting clubs, as well as student council to which I am part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Florida Christian College is great for students who want a Biblical foundation in life or just want a positive, uplifting environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students have started what's called Coffee Shop where students gather every Thursday for music and coffee. FCC students also play ultimate frisbee every day at 4:00 whether it be raining, snowing, or a tornado looming.

    Bang for the buck

    Florida Christian College is very affordable - Less than half the national average for private college and universities. I am very pleased with our fixed-rate tuition because I will be paying the same amount per credit hour when I graduate than when I started.

    What to do for fun

    Florida Christian College is located twenty-five minutes from Disney World and Universal Studios, which means there is plenty to do for fun around town.

    Food and Dining

    Florida Christian College does not have a mean plan because our housing is apartment-style dorms with full sized kitchens. This is great because it enables students to budget their own money for food and also learn to cook.

    Dorm Life

    Some of my best experiences have taken place in personal growth outside of the classroom setting with my friends, roommates, and professors. I am very thankful for the people I have in my life - Not only that, but living on campus is simply a lot of fun as well!

    Academic Rigor

    The school is challenging in many aspects, but especially in developing students who are knowledgable in their subjects of study. There is a great balance of challenge and real-life experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that upcoming students be ready to devote time to studies, personal growth, and relational growth. Don't shy away from potential great opportunities. I would also suggest taking advantage of getting to know some amazing professors. They are there for you to learn from them, and they genuinely want to invest in students' lives.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school that not only challenges us academically, but it molds us into great, moral students to expand the Kingdom of God. The school strives for students to build life-ling relationships with not only each other but professors as well. I am very impressed and pleased with my school!

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every day students get together at 4:00 p.m. and play ultimate frisbee. There's a voluntary bible study every night, and with such a close knit campus, you'll always find someone to hang out with in the Student Union or by the pool. Thursday evenings at 8:45 we have coffee shop which is a time when they student body gets together voluntary for amazing worship and delicious coffee. It's always a good time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great because there's no cafeteria! Students cool for themselves in their own kitchen, so you can eat whatever you want! No pricey meal plan, which is great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quaint and have an amazing full kitchen. Four people to an apartment, two bedrooms, a living room and a large bathroom. The RA's are great and you feel at home in no time.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I'm in so far have had quite a bit of homework. Class lectures, however, have been very informative, and if you pay attention in class, the homework is easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that they're going to make amazing friends here that they will never lose. Also, they will get an amazing education, in the most fun way possible.

    In three sentences

    Florida Christian College, now Johnson University Florida, is the best place on Earth. I've never felt so at home in a place I've only been for less than two weeks. Everyone here is loving and welcoming, creating an amazing learning environment.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian

    Dorm Life

    Off campus

    Academic Rigor

    As with any school, there are professors that challenge you, and some that don't push as heard. Those that have pushed me to seek and learn will stand out in my walk with the Lord.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get behind in your work.

    In three sentences

    Florida Christian College is strong in the scriptures. It offers flexible learning venues. It also demonstrates the love of the Lord.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The housing director is incredibly efficient and great to work with. He's very understanding and wants you to be comfortable at all times.

    Greek Life

    The professor at FCC who teaches Greek is one of the best professors I've ever encountered. This isn't the only subject he teaches however, he also teaches the New Testament. He disciples the students on campus and is very approachable if you ever have any questions about his classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many activities/sports/and clubs offered at FCC as well. You just have to get plugged in!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are determined to minister to others and actually know what you're talking about, FCC gives you a sound study of scripture that will go a long way in any ministry you choose to serve in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Two words- Fall Fling! It's terrifying but wonderful all at the same time! (This is coming from a freshman with experience) There is one day in the Fall semester where you get woken up in the middle of the night by upperclassmen coming into your dorms screaming and blowing horns that classes are canceled for the next day. It's scary...but wonderful.

    Bang for the buck

    There are lots of available scholarships for you to make you stress less over your financial difficulties. You just have to look for them on the Financial page on FCC's website.

    What to do for fun

    There is a sand volleyball court that I love playing on outside. There's a pool on campus at FCC that is fun to hang out by. FCC offers Ultimate Frisbee everyday at 4pm on campus and that's also a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria plan. So Walmart (only about 10 mins down the road from the college) becomes the average student's best friend.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments all over campus, each containing 4 students. Each apartment consists of 2 rooms (2 people to a room), a kitchen, a bathroom, and a living room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all very challenging but nothing students can't handle if they set their minds to succeed. There is also a student success center where you can have essays proofread, etc. if you should need any help on anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think you know anything about the Bible, guess again! Because FCC goes deep into the scriptures!

    In three sentences

    Florida Christian College has an incredible faculty, all of whom intend on giving each student that attends the very best christian education. All graduates here are ministry minded and serving in churches all around the world. They are enhancing God's kingdom by utilizing the tools such as the education and opportunities that FCC has to provide.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are provided with campus security. Not only do they walk around campus ensuring that things are okay but they actually protect and care about us as students. They do a great job and we are well secured.

    Greek Life

    The Sisterhood BEX, is a great group of girls that get together and talk about life issues,accomplishments. We also do various bonding activities such as making tye dye shirts, landscaping for the less fortunate, and making banners for the sports team.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have the Sisterhood club, Knitting Club, the Ultimate crew and etc.,

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that are willing to step outside the box and meet people from varying backgrounds. But most of all its a school for everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best location on campus is the prayer garden, you can escape and sit by yourself on the swing enjoying the wind, God and some alone time to just chill. Also an unusual tradition is the ping pong table, before you graduate you will have mastered the art of ping pong, the games are intense.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for your education is great! You get top notch education for a little over 5,000 dollars. Yes that is amazing. That's why I love it's affordable, great campus, kind teachers and loving people.

    What to do for fun

    There are loads of fun things to do at FCC. From playing frisbee, football, basketball, volleyball, kickball, and various other sports to having game night in the sub, ping-pong tournaments, pool tournaments, swimming,movie night, tanning, and chilling with other students on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Aforementioned, you are provided with a kitchen accompanied with a stove top oven and refrigerator. You are able to cook on campus, and this also limits the spending of thousands of dollars that you spend for a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm room life, it teaches you to become a responsible adult. Unlike some other schools, FCC doesn't have a cafe on camp. But we do have kitchens within dorm, accompanied with a stove top oven and refrigerator. You learn to have a budget for your groceries and also cook for yourself which saves you money and can help prevent the dreaded freshman fifteen.

    Academic Rigor

    They encourage you to go to class by including it in your grading. Also the teachers are very helpful and considerate. If you are having a problem just go knock on your professor door, go in and sit and chat one-on-one with your professor. The stakes are high but if you are overwhelmed they will assist you. Because no matter the challenge you can handle it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend Florida Christian College, stop the wait and apply today ! Also get everything in and apply for all the scholarships possible and relieve the financial stress from you and your parents.

    In three sentences

    Florida Christian College (FCC) is a great institute filled with a great environment, outstanding morals and people.The admission counselors are awesome, the teachers are amazing and the students are great role models. I love my school because I feel at home.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a couple of security guards, and no one messes with us anyways. FCC is just that awesome.

    Great for these types of students

    For aspiring preachers, counselors, teachers, missions workers, and anyone who just wants a deeper knowledge of the Bible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall Fling is put on every year by the Senior class. It is always a secret to the rest of the school, and usually involves some games, good food, and a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    FCC is one of the cheapest private Christian colleges in Florida.

    What to do for fun

    Disney, Universal Studios, and SeaWorld are all at least twenty five minutes away. If you don't want to spend the money on attractions (which, you can go to EVERY DAY after class if you wanted), there are plenty of parks, lakes, and shopping areas around town. We also have ultimate frisbee going on everyday at 4pm on the field, open gym every night with different sports (soccer, volleyball, basketball, and wiffleball). There is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    FCC is awesome because of our apartment-style dorms have full kitchens. This means no meal plan where you have to buy cafeteria food. Instead, you have the freedom to cook dinner for yourself, for a roommate date night, or for a giant hang out night. We even have a grill by the pool if you're a grill master. Of course, we have some fast food joints down the road, also.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at FCC is so awesome. With apartment-style dorms, at least four people can live comfortably in an apartment, with two bedrooms, a living room, a full kitchen area, and a sink room and bathroom. Decorating the dorms is fun, because you can really make it home with your roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    FCC is on a tough grading scale, with a 94 being an A-. You've got to work hard for your good grades, and work even harder if you want a 4.0 or higher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention in class - that means, don't bring your computer or phone because you are just going to be distracted and not hear the important things your professor is saying. Be on time, do your work, but in your diligence don't neglect your relationships with the people around you. It is so easy to fall towards being the social butterfly who never gets anything done, or being the hermit who never has any fun. Find the middle ground and rock it.

    In three sentences

    Florida Christian College is like home. The faculty and staff are seriously interested in investing in each student's life, making sure to check in and see how life is going. No one is ever left out of any fun, either, because the small community means close-knit family style living.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join one of our teams, swim in our pool or just have a BBQ while playing beach volleyball. Nothing beats FL!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in for a tour and if you are a student athlete check out our great teams.

    In three sentences

    I could not ask for a better school. The teachers are very knowledgeable and go out of their way to help the students. The classrooms are under 20 students per class and it helps learning more by spending quality one on one time with the teacher.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Because you have a stove, oven, and refrigerator there is no cafeteria. If you want to go out to eat there are a few places near by but the bigger restaurants are about 15 minutes away

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are apartment style and you can have anywhere from 4 to 6 people living in one dorm. Because the rooms are apartment style you have a stove, oven, and refrigerator.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, but every professor is willing to work with you to make sure you understand the information.

    In three sentences

    Florida Christian College is an excellent school for students looking to grow closer to God. The teachers at Florida Christian care about the students education, and making sure they understand the information. It is a great small school with a fantastic family atmosphere.