Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Florida College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be challenged not only academically, but also spiritually and socially.

    Tips for prospective students

    Falcon Days is a great way to get to know the campus, as well as the student body. It is a perfect representation of what Florida College is all about.

    Bang for the buck

    Florida College is very expensive, but for the many reasons enumerated above, it is well worth the cost. What is more is that the school and alumni are more than willing to financially help those students who truly want to experience the wonderful atmosphere that Florida College has to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    Florida College is a place unlike any other; the people you might there are interesting, and very talented. The small size of the student body allows for meaningful relationships and personal attention from your professors. It is also an environment in which to grow spiritually and stay out of trouble. FC is a place that fosters overall wellness.

    Am learning a lot

    The Florida College staff is a highly talented group; there are certified geniuses among their number. I found many of the classes very insightful and extremely practical; I have found that the material I have learned in their classes has either come up in some form or fashion or been directly applicable to my life.

  • 11/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians mainly but does not have to be of the Church of Christ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Falcon Days to see if you like it first. That's where I first fell in love with the school.

    Bang for the buck

    What does that even mean? Yes, the Florida College experience is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a great experience. There's many great people here that will do whatever they can to help you in any way.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much since I got here. The teachers are really helpful and want to work with you to understand the material better. There are also study sessions for certain classes that help you study.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who: Learn best when surrounded by lots of other Christians Aren't easily affected by the crowd Students who are looking for a school with a much higher moral standard

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let anyone tell you that to be a good Christian you have to go to FC. FC can be really valuable for a lot of people, and not to valuable, even harmful for others. Falling into the wrong crowd can happen even at a school with a Biblical basis. Also, if you're easily affected by trends and styles, or if you know you're a cookie cutter kind of person, please don't do anything harmful to your growth, both mentally and spiritually.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive, but it is on the lower end of the scale when it comes to small, private colleges. From all the people and students and friends that I've talked to about FC, this is the biggest reason why some aren't attending.

    Will enjoy being here

    YES. The environment is one of the biggest reasons. Being around other Christians to exhort and encourage is a point in it's favor. I really enjoy being around other guys my age, and I think I'll have many opportunities to serve! Not only that, I'll have tons of people to help and encourage me, too!

    Will learn a lot

    I've heard nothing but good from the teachers! They are all Christians, and are all willing to do more than just teach classes -- lots of them act as counselors and friends for their students. Because it's a small-ish liberal arts college, they may not have the major or program you're looking for.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    He have on school security at night to watch over the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have six different societies here, as well as so many other clubs at this college.

    What to do for fun

    For fun here we have a student center, we also have parks close by as well as well as major theme parks close by.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is served three times a day, everyday and are cooked by people each day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is very student environment, playful among students at times but can also be a place to study and relax.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic here is fairly at a good college level and are not taken as a joke here at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Florida College falcon days is a great way to view the school before actually attending. This is the best school for christian.

    In three sentences

    Florida College has a very friendly environment. This school is simple and help those that need it. The professors here as well interact well with the students.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is pretty off to itself and really small so not much distance to cover.

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of activities to do! there is clubs, societies, and many more things to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    christians or anybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it is a private christian college, so most people here are christians.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a very expensive private college.

    What to do for fun

    there is tons of things to do for fun: theme parks, restaurants, and the beach.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is good, just sometimes not all the healthiest.

    Dorm Life

    you will get close to a bunch of people this way, and it is fun most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are very nice and they will try to help you in any possible way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a wonderful experience, that is what you are paying for!

    In three sentences

    it is a very small college. good atmosphere around and on the campus. the college is very strict.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    good

    Great for these types of students

    lonely and friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    teachers are resourceful and helpful when needed

    What to do for fun

    play sports, group studies...

    In three sentences

    the best experience i've had... everyone is polite, nice and welcomes you in. i feel at home.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, and i have never been scared about anyone getting on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We like to hang out on the swings and just soak up the florida sun. We also like to hang out in the student center and interact with other students.

    What to do for fun

    We have marshmallow fights in the dorms at night and just have fun with out doing anything that is illegal.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is a great place to eat and socialize. The food is good but the thing that makes it wonderful is the workers and how they try to make it special.The workers are always happy to see us and we have themed days that all the students look forward to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very different compared to high school but it is also a wonderful experience that i would not trade for anything. Living in a dorm with other girls can get moody but we always make up and have a good time. Living in a dorm will help you make friends that will last a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but just like any college you need to study and take time to do your homework. The teachers at Florida College will take time out of their schedule to help you with questions that you have, and that is very different compared to other universities. So with the personalized interaction the teachers make the experience exciting to learn.

    In three sentences

    Florida College is a wonderful school that strives to help every student that comes to the school. They work with you to make sure that they can help you with your needs and they work with your schedule. They make going to school here a fun and exciting experience.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe. The dorms are locked so that random people can't wander in.

    Clubs and Activities

    L.O.V.E. - Ladies of Virtue and Excellence; Circle K - service organization; Academic organizations - PTK, etc.; Apple Club - Elementary Education club. Fall play and Spring musical. Yearbook. Societies - sports, get togethers, and fundraisers. Camp Friends - promote Florida College at summer camps; Musical Friends - a band made up of students that travels around and performs to promote Florida College; All sorts of musical groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Who want to go to a school where everyone will know who they are. Who want to have a small school experience. Who want to have opportunities to serve.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an echo spot in the library, underneath the stares. There are some doors that nobody knows where they lead that are occasionally fun to explore. If a girl gets engaged while at school it is traditional for her friends to throw her fully clothed in the shower.

    What to do for fun

    Well, there are lots of beaches within a hour or two drive. Tampa is about 20 minutes away. There are all kinds of parks, museums, restaurants and stores in Tampa. Close to campus there are some parks and neighborhoods good for hanging out and pickup games. Lot of cool places in the nearby towns.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria does not have good food. I don't think it's any worse than most cafeterias, but it does not usually have food that I enjoy eating. Usually I eat just because I know I need to. I wish there was more healthy food available.

    Dorm Life

    Love living in a dorm with all of these girls. Many of them have become like sisters to me. We all help each other out with school, life and clothes.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class and the teacher. Some of the teachers are knows for being easier than others. On the other hand, there are some teachers that everyone knows that you will have to work really hard to keep up and get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact advisors early and make sure that you are taking what you need for your major or for where you are transferring to. Come wanting to meet everyone. Introduce yourself to everyone you see in the frist week. Don't be afraid to talk to the teachers and professors. They truly want to help you and get to know YOU.

    In three sentences

    Amazing boost to my social life. I loved to get to know the great teachers and professors. You gain a great education given by people who truly care about you.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great on Campus! The dorms all have keys that only residents can have and curfew is enforced, ensuring that the dorm supervisors know where everyone is in case of an emergency.

    What to do for fun

    There are always society events and other activities going on FC campus. Footlighters, the drama club, puts on a production in the Fall semester--something students can participate in putting on and go and see! There is also the Musical in the Spring. Students can also hand out by the river, play ping-pong in the student center, or play games down in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Florida College has great dining services. The food in Henderson Caffeteria is great and the people who work there are very friendly. The Pelican Pouch in the student center also provides an opportunity for fast-food style dining when you need a break from caf food or just feel like a snack.

    Dorm Life

    FC is a tight-knit community. The student body population is small, which allows for all the students to really bond and get to know each other. The dorms are well maintained and close together, the guys all share one dorm building and the girls' dorms are connected, which means that you are never far away from your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers know their stuff and are very helpful outside of class. You can easily discuss assignments and coursework with the instructors any day of the week and the class sizes are small enough for the instructors to know the students by name! FC also employs a special tutoring system called Supplemental Instruction that has proven to help raise a student's overall grade in a course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Florida College expecting to make friends and to learn a lot! FC trains you for life both academically and socially; there are many opportunities for growth through volunteering and joining clubs like Circle-K and the student societies.

    In three sentences

    Florida College is a wonderful experience for students of any age. I have attended several other colleges before Florida College and nothing beats the friendly nature of the faculty, staff, and students here. The facilities are small, but the teachers are all knowledgeable and dedicated.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Florida College has an amazing staff that works to make sure the campus is safe at all times. Dorm parents help monitor the dorms while security patrols the campus at night. Obviously things will happen, but in my years at this school I have never run into an safety issue.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a lot different at Florida College. There are six societies that compete against one another. Joining a society is like joining a family while at the school. They encourage each other, have lock-ins, appropriate parties, bible studies, and what ever else they can think to do. The societies compete in intramural sports, academics, community service, among other things. Societies are an amazing way to get out and meet people in a friendly and safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Florida College has clubs for everyone. Service oriented people can join Circle K, people who are obsessed with teaching can join Apple Club, girls or guys who are interested in growing spiritually can join L.O.V.E or Sowers Club respectively. If you have an interest, there is a safe bet that there is a group on campus that has the same interest. If not, there are always people creating new groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Florida College is great for anyone who wants to make themselves a better person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions run rampant on Florida College's campus. Everything from your traditional sports cheers, to the bizarre traditions that follow chapel every morning. One tradition of the college that is not particularly bizarre is when everyone goes to the student center every morning to check their mail after chapel. This is a great time to see everyone in one place and chat before class.

    Bang for the buck

    School is expensive. That statement is going to be true where ever you go. However, for the academic program, the social environment, and the God-centered atmosphere at Florida College, the return is well worth the investment. In doing research, you may find that Florida College is overall less expensive than the school of your choice.

    What to do for fun

    Florida College is literally right down the street from Busch Gardens theme park, only a few minutes away from down town Tampa, and only an a few hours away from Disney World in Orlando. Golf courses surround the school, and their are many forms of entertainment in Temple Terrace. However, it's just as fun to hang out in the student center with friends, watch a movie in one of the dorm lobbies, or go on a walk through the nearby neighborhoods.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Florida College may be slightly limited, but they continue to make leaps and bounds for their students. Constant improvements are noted from semester to semester. The dining staff cares about the students and it shows in their constantly trying to improve the food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Florida College is unlike any other. It is a unique experience that can be a true blessing. Dorms are always separated between girls and guys. This means that after curfew is an amazing time to grow closer to those of the same gender. Also, living in such a moral environment is a comfort knowing that you have friends living around you and you rarely have to question who is living next door.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are a challenge. Don't expect to breeze through them. However, the teachers give unparalleled support. The teachers at Florida College are a wealth of information and want to help. Use their knowledge and ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you apply, get your paper work done on time and you'll be more stress free. Being at smaller school will open a LOT of doors for you. Get involved in everything you can, you will rarely receive such a great opportunity. However, don't neglect your school work too much.

    In three sentences

    Florida College has been a blessing for me. I am able to take and succeed in challenging course work while being in a friendly, Christ-centered environment. The small classes means a lot of one-on-one attention with teachers who want to see you succeed as much as anyone.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's campus security and even a curfew with room check to make sure everyone is safe and sound.

    Clubs and Activities

    Different societies, clubs for music.. .etc.

    Great for these types of students

    athletic, smart, musical talented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition you could say is that since its a private religious college, we go to chapel every morning at 10:15. Its a nice way to connect with everyone and see everyone right away in the morning. Its the best way to start out your day.

    What to do for fun

    They have different societies you can join if your really into sports. They also have a choir and musicals along with plays if you like things like that. They basically have everything that you could think of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart, and work hard. Don't let outside activities distract you from doing well in school.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Florida College at an 9. The campus is beautiful and they students there are so welcoming and nice. Some work could be done on one of the girls dorm room though.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Florida College is conveniently nestled in the heart of Temple Terrace. We are a short drive from Busch Gardens, and are very near Orlando where Disney and Universal are. Aside from that there are several great malls and resteraunts within a 30 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. The cafeteria is greatly improving, but for a vegetarian like me sometimes it is hard to find options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. However know this, with that many close friends nearby sleep is decreased.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very challenging, not so much that it is impossible, but be prepared to work hard. Classes will push you to think clearly and logically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a challenging academic setting. While the school is a small private school, this doesn't make it any less of a challenge. The professors are highly approachable and I suggest you take advantage fo that.

    In three sentences

    Florida College is a wonderful school. They have friendly, approachable professor who are well qualified. The academics are challenging and it is a scholarly community.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After curfew we have hall monitors that check everyone in. they report to the head guy that lives with the students named Rene Anderson. He is in charge of all the students to stay in the dorms for the girls and the girls is the same thing but with girl monitors since we stay in separate dorms. at night we have security guards that surround the area making sure that everyone stays safe and following rules. During the day everyone is in a close enviorment and teacher are always around students until the day is over and people go and relax in their dorms.

    Greek Life

    you learn a lot about greek in humanties but we do not have any greek people at our school that i know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have boys/girls sports teams and also have five different societies that compete in everything from the blood drive to sports. Our band/orchestra is really good as well and we have a lot of talent when it comes to our debate team. we also have plays during the semester so if you would like to join the drama club that would be awesome.

    Great for these types of students

    We have a very friendly enviorment and everyone gets along with great. We have friends at the school that can help you with classes that are giving you trouble as well as your teachers. Florida College has a great student center were you can go and play ping pong, watch tv, and hangout with friends. most of the students go to the student center after chapel. about 95% of our student are christians so many people go to church every wednesday and sunday. If you want to pursue Christ while going to school then this would be the best opportunity to do so!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The last couple of weeks of school everyone dresses up with their robes and jumps in the Hillsborough river after curfew. It's actually a pretty fun experience and you would have to experience it to know how it feels.

    Bang for the buck

    My school is so small, the student body backs up our sports teams with a passion. The school is always at the the volleyball games with the girls volleyball team winning 8 national championships in the past 11 years! :)

    What to do for fun

    Busch Gardens is five minutes away from campus and many people go there. Theme parks are always fun but we also have a golf course so you can golf, and the school has societies that you can join to have fun when it comes to competing in sports.

    Food and Dining

    The best thing i like about Florida College is their sunday breakfast after church. The cafeteria opens up a waffle and omelet line for everyone and it is the best! Florida College always has the freshest fruit and their sandwich line is great.

    Dorm Life

    You have a dorm curfew at 11pm. Once everyone is in the dorms many kids do homework together and hangout with friends. Boys and girls have different dorms and security guards are always outside the dorms making sure everyone is safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Florida College has one of the toughest English classes I have ever had. All the classes are pretty hard but the teachers only want you to succeed and are willing to stay after class to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study hard if you want to go to Florida College. Our small class sizes are really tough but the teachers are preparing you for the real world!

    In three sentences

    Florida College is a small school with a great religious atmosphere. it is in Temple Terrace FL, about five minutes away from busch gardens and right behind the school is the hillsborough river. everyone at the school is great and you have friends that last a lifetime.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dorm entrances lock after 11:00pm and there are security personnel at night as well.

    Greek Life

    Rather than having fraternities and sororities, FC has societies. These 6 societies (Zeta Phi Epsilon, Phi Sigma Chi, Omega Chi, Arete, Kappa Omicron, and Psi Beta Gamma) each compete for the prize at the end in the competition that involves members' academics, societal sports, community service, and more.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wind Ensemble (Band), Chorus, String Ensemble, Forensics, Volleyball, Soccer, Basketball, Track and Field, and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are student-led devotionals every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday evening that have an exhortation, singing, and prayer. There are also many other singings and devotionals led by students throughout the campus at various times, so missing one does not mean a student cannot go to another.

    Bang for the buck

    Admittedly the school is not cheap, but the education level and atmosphere more than makes up for the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Rather than having fraternities and sororities, FC has societies. These 6 societies (Zeta Phi Epsilon, Phi Sigma Chi, Omega Chi, Arete, Kappa Omicron, and Psi Beta Gamma) each compete for the prize at the end in the competition that involves members' academics, societal sports, community service, and more. FC also has a nine-time National Championship with the volleyball Lady Falcons.

    Food and Dining

    Food could most definitely be better, but could also be worse.

    Dorm Life

    Good, clean fun all around.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously depending on the teachers, most classes are academically challenging, expecting nothing but your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for strict rules and codes of conduct.

    In three sentences

    The school is great for those who want more of a community feel to their campus, as the entire student body is only approximately 500 students. It is amazing that everyone knows everyone, and any one person could seemingly ask any other student for help, and they would receive it. In addition to that, the spirituality of the students and faculty alike really encourages personal, spiritual growth.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had problem, and I do not know of many people who have had problems. Crime is a possibility, but it has been rare in the past.

    Greek Life

    FC has co-ed Greek societies that compete with each other for points in athletics, academics, campus and community service, and society activities. Activities range from softball to blood drives to Midnight Madness skits and games. Most people seem to have fun with their society but plenty of friends on other societies as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities. People tend to join organizations because they actually want to be a part of the group's activities. For example, people have joined Circle K, a service organization, because they wanted to be involved in community service. Finding more activities for the resume was not a primary concern. However, there is sometimes so much happening around campus that officers of organizations have difficulty finding time to plan activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, people who like squeaky clean fun, people who care about who they are, why they are, and what they do

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hillsborough River runs along the back of campus. However, if you and your friends visit after dark, bring bug spray. On another note, every school day from 10:15 AM to around 10:40 AM the majority of the staff and students converge on Hutchinson Auditorium. The first portion of chapel is a devotion: song, a short talk, and prayer. Announcements follow: college activities announced and received with summer- camp enthusiasm. After chapel, many people crowd into the Student Center to check their mailboxes.

    Bang for the buck

    Florida College is a (wonderful) private college that costs less per semester than some public colleges. However, I have found merit scholarships at FC to be smaller than merit scholarships at other schools. This policy might have changed recently, so next year's incoming freshman may be in a different situation. I gave up scholarships to come to Florida College, and I do not regret that decision. Over the past year and a half I have grown in ways that I could not have imagined as a high school senior.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with people! Go across the hall, down to the riverbank, over to the gym, out to Starbucks/7-Eleven/Taco Bell, or into Tampa. Florida College is located in quiet Temple Terrace, so we do not deal with much city craziness. However, when we want city excitement, we have only to head out into Tampa. Also, we're in Florida- hit the beach!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not from a five-star diner, but it is usually pretty tasty. If the chefs are having a rough day with the main dishes, students can choose from salad, pizza, sandwiches, and cereal.

    Dorm Life

    Great atmosphere; many good friendships formed here. My biggest problem is usually wanting to study or sleep when everybody else wants to socialize, and most of the time it is solved by closing my door.

    Academic Rigor

    Be ready to learn! During class, feel free to ask why things work the way the do. For academics outside of class, try SI (supplemental instruction) sessions, labs (music theory, math, writing, and Bible), study groups, professors, students in your class, and students who have taken your class before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and honest. Manage your time. (I'm still working on this one.) In my experience, both teachers and students have been very helpful when I've asked for assistance. If you need help, you have nothing to lose by asking.

    In three sentences

    Florida College is a school with a great atmosphere full of Godly, friendly, helpful people. FC students and staff care about their character in addition to their classes. The academic atmosphere is challenging but supportive; students have plenty of resources to help them succeed in their studies.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With the generosity of our police department, we have a police officer that drives along the road and parks itself during the hours of the night for the safety of the students. Also, due to the curfew at the college, all students are locked safe in their dorm thanks to our magnetic fob system. And to top it off, we have upper division students who serve as night monitors who stand inside and outside the dorm ensuring that anyone trying to get in after curfew hours are either staff or students themselves.

    Greek Life

    Our greek life consists of the six societies. Although no partying goes on at this campus, you can have just as much fun with your peers during a game of flag football.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are available on campus such as greek societies, student government, footlighters (drama club), and lots more!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every morning at 10:15 we have Chapel. It usually consists of two to three songs, a prayer, a small lesson, and then announcements followed by the pledge. We also sing the Alma Mater for the college every Friday and visitors in the are may come and celebrate the end of the study week with us. We also have Happy Mail that gets sent everywhere. The advantage of a small college is that al your mailboxes can fit along one wall. You simply write a little piece of mail, go into the mailroom, and personally drop it off in their box.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for the college experience the Christian way, Florida College is your pick. It is an amazing feeling to know that your peers are all there to help you, not only in your studies, but to help you grow into a spiritual leader. It is also a heartwarming feeling that you are able to attend church with all of yur classmates.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do for fun on this campus!? Even though it is small, there always seems to be something going on. Societies are the biggest groups on campus. Phi Sig, Psi Beta, Omega, Arte, KO, and Zeta Phi are the six societies you may choose to join on campus. Each society has their own motive. For example, KO is known as being the athletic team while Arte is inhabited by the more studious peers. The college always has volleyball games every night till curfew behind the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria (caf for short) is located in the center of campus. It provides a buffet style dining with everything from personal pan pizzas to fresh deli sandwiches to juicy cheeseburgers. Also, the Pelican Pouch, our on campus mini restaurant, provides alternative foods like yogurt, hummus, steak sandwiches, and other snack foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorming halls are where most of the memories happen. Yes, at this college there is a curfew; weekdays: 11:00 and weekends: 12:00, but that is for the safety of the students. But when the dorms are locked and you are confined to your halls, all the memorable moments happen there. And thanks to our wonderful dorm moms, Mrs. Shirley and Mama B, they provide a curfew kitchen on Tuesdays and Wednesdays where all the girls in the dorm rush downstairs to indulge in pretzels covered in nacho cheese, brown sugared grilled cheeses, and many more.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professors you choose, some are more difficult than others. Most of the classes are fairly easy to pass with at least a B, as long as the student stays on top of their assignments. It's very hard to balance schoolwork with all the exciting activities going on throughout the school...

    Tips for prospective students

    Florida college sponsors visitation days called Falcon days. It provide a great opportunity to get the feel of a college student in just four days. It is one of the only colleges that promotes an overnight stay to capture the essence of the college. Many activities happen during Falcon Days, including my personal favorite, the MOSI singing. All the current students, and upcoming students are invited to join hand in hand with songs of praise in the large outdoor amphitheater of MOSI.

    In three sentences

    Florida College is a small, quaint college located in the historic city of Temple Terrace, FL. Young Christians attending this private college provide an atmosphere of generosity and spirituality that captures anyone and everyone's attention looking in. There's no better place to get an education with well rounded individuals like the students attending this college,

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe at Florida college. There are security guards that patrol the campus at night to ensure our safety

    Greek Life

    Join one of the six societies on campus. They provide a fun competitive atmosphere for sporting events and they also bring a sense of family for each one

    What to do for fun

    There are countless things to do on and off campus. On campus, one may go bike riding, play videogames, watch movies or tv shows together or go to a sporting event. Off campus you may go to a restaurant or to the movies, or you could go bowling. The options are limitless.

    Food and Dining

    The food may not be the best in the world, but its always a pleasure to be able to gather with your friends during lunch or dinner and chat about your day while eating and laughing together.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. During the day, nothing really eventful happens save for a few students here and there who might gather to study or engage in games. But at night, the dorms are alive with students who want to study with you either in your classes, study with you spiritually, or just talk to you if you're having a rough day.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't fall behind on your studies. The classes are challenging but fun. Each teacher has a unique style to their teaching that makes it all worth it. If you are struggling with anything in any of your classes, don't be afraid to talk to the teacher about it. They can and will help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anyone who is thinking about coming to Florida College, I would tell you that you are in for a treat. The teachers and administrators are more than just people who work there. They are your friends as well, and that's very encouraging. Make lots of friends and enjoy your time there. You won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    Florida College is the best school that I've ever attended. The loving and generous attitudes of the teachers who are so willing to help is overwhelming. The students all love each other and are willing to go above and beyond to help you whenever you're in need.

  • 07/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are very strict rules and there's even a security guard on campus during the night so nothing goes wrong.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and there are so many activities. It's literally never boring here.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do at Florida College! It's never boring. There are devotionals every night and there's always groups going out to Busch Gardens or Universal Studios.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent and if the dining hall is closed you can buy something at the Pelican Pouch which is nice and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Terrace needs more storage space and having to be in your dorm by 11pm stinks, but other than that it's great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are good and challenging. If you have a question you can always ask the teachers and they'll help any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is strict on things, but it's because they care. If you're rebellious you might not want to come here. If you do, you might get in trouble or even worse, kicked out.

    In three sentences

    Florida College is small and you're able to connect with the teachers. The dorms are nice. Terrace Hall and Boswell Hall even have a gym in them!