Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Florida Gateway College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are extremely smart and an overachiever - you may find many classes boring and annoying because of the other students and how the instructors are forced to change lessons based on the majority of learners- more often that is very very basic and slow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for classes before your first day- so many students show up without the basics that are so easy to find out about before classes begin (books, paperwork, pencils, etc)

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable so no complaints there.

    Am enjoying being here

    same issue as above, majority of student's shouldn't be in classes- should take more remedial ones- so many professors are having to 'lower the bar' when it comes to teaching - making classes boring and annoying for those of us there to learn.

    Am learning a lot

    Great professors but the student population is less than perfect- many don't care and make it painfully obvious (verbally) that they are going to school mainly for the pell 'refund' they will get. Makes classes annoying when so many are distracting by talking, missing classes, etc.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    College Freshmen

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your school fees and visit the financial aid office frequently.

    Bang for the buck

    They won first place in a national teaching contest!!

    Am enjoying being here

    It is an excellence transition school. More mature than high school, but not as severe as a big university.

    Am learning a lot

    I do not remember who did the list, but this college has been ranked one of the nations top 20 colleges twice already!!

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    most of my down time is spent off campus. though i do appreciate a good art show or concert that is presented on campus. the college library is also a very nice place to get away from it all.

    Food and Dining

    definitely one of my favorites here. my mornings just wouldn't be mornings without a lobo breakfast sandwich to start the day. with the food being cooked in front of the customer rather than unfrozen and reheated, it gives that sense of authentic, traditionally prepared sustenance more than a fast food alternative. also, the prices are much more economy-friendly.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm or housing fixtures since this is but a community college. i would rather leave this unrated.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors and staff here are nice and friendly but also keep at you about being onto of work. i'd say its a nice blend of strictness and companionship in a student to instructor relationship.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to not wait until last minute. avoid procrastination at all cost. finding open class slots is a nightmare on the deadline day.

    In three sentences

    it's a very nice place for those looking to get ahead in life but can't make it to a major university quite yet. i see it as an extremely valuable educational stepping stone for anyone in the northern florida region. to conclude, it is a worthwhile institution for anyone whose seeking affordable education.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt safe on campus, even if I was late getting out. I saw security making checks as I would leave at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that are academically serious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Activities and events were frequently occurring. Whether it was halloween or valentine's, food and music were present.

    Bang for the buck

    I did not compare what other colleges are charging. I was disappointed when the cost went up, but the education is great.

    What to do for fun

    Too busy with family and school for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Smelled great, but I brought my own food to save money.

    Academic Rigor

    I am thoroughly impressed with all that our instructors were able to teach us in such a short period of time. This is not for the faint-hearted. Be prepared to STUDY!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not put off tomorrow what can be done today, even when it is tempting.

    In three sentences

    I just finished a rigorous program. Although it was difficult and time consuming, I am grateful for all the instructors put into us. Their PN Program is top notch!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college recently opened a student lounge, which use to be the old library. They have some games, tv's, and study areas for students to relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. Staff is friendly, the building is clean, and it is affordable. They have a wide variety of food from salads to burgers and fries.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this school, although there is plenty of affordable living minutes from campus and from town.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of this college is fair. They offer classes from accounting and differential equations to jewelry making and art.

    In three sentences

    FGC is a well rounded college with small classes, and teachers willing to help. They have a wide variety of programs, and will work with anyone's schedule. This college was great in a small town, with friendly staff and students.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Heard they are active and growing.

    Tips for prospective students

    based off my experiences the staff does care that you get a quality education.

    In three sentences

    I am a new student, taking my first classes. I have heard nothing but good things about FGC. So far I am enjoying my time here as a student

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus

    What to do for fun

    The college has alot of activites, I have not had the time personally, but have seen numerous advertisments.

    Food and Dining

    Does Not Apply

    Dorm Life

    Does Not Apply

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all paperwork ready and know what classes you would like to take. Any questions at all then you should make an appointment with an advisor.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent i feel safe wherever i go on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Music and acting are two thing i don't mind being involve in at FGC

    Great for these types of students

    intelligent people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    respecting the Squirrel

    Bang for the buck

    Highly economical compare to when i was in Miami

    What to do for fun

    Study

    Food and Dining

    Excellent and reasonable

    Academic Rigor

    Depend on what you studying

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and don't let distraction completely turn you away for what you set out to get or be.

    In three sentences

    Florida gateway College is a welcoming and friendly college. I just move from Miami to Lake City to attend such a prestigious college. I plan on furthering my education hear at FGC.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are tons of security guard constantly riding around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone! Florida Gateway College is very laid back and a comfortable place to get an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Year round concerts.

    Bang for the buck

    Florida Gateway College is affordable and you get a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of events such as concerts and magic shows that happen year round. FGC entertainment is great.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Florida Gateway College is excellent!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but plenty of housing and apartments near by.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only advice would be to schedule your classes early because they fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    All the teachers and staff are very friendly and helpful at Florida Gateway College. The campus is small so it is easy to maneuver. Overall it is a great place to start your future and I would recommend it to any student.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A little too hard on parking. Not enough visitor parking at all!!

    Clubs and Activities

    I didn't have time for this but the clubs did present a lot of festivals on campus!!

    Bang for the buck

    Staff are great.

    What to do for fun

    Join various clubs. Become involved!

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice enough dining area, but prices a little too high for the average college student!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors. Go in on days off to study and have quiet areas to concentrate. Be at all classes!

    In three sentences

    FGC is a great college. The staff are open and helpful. FGC strive to ensure success!

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot-of clubs here at Florida Gateway!

    What to do for fun

    For fun we have different activities through out the semester; we also have clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining here at the college are great; they have a variety of food and choices

    Dorm Life

    FGC doesn't have student dorms which would be a great addition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always pick an advisor in the field that you plan to major in and you wont go wrong!

    In three sentences

    Florida Gateway College is phenomenal. This school pushes you to be the best at what ever you major in! I love this college so much that I will complete all my degrees here.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Its a decent school but I don't like how the school doesn't not inform you that when applying for the nursing programs we students have to pay out the pocket for state boards and background check

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activity center. Several on campus concerts each year. Every month there is a special event, free lunch, and giveaways for the students.

    Food and Dining

    An on campus catering company cooks wonderful meals for the students every day. A cafe in the library serves gourmet coffees and sandwiches.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lake City, Florida is a small town. If you are looking for a party school, this is not the one for you. Very natural, quiet campus, with many outdoor benches, and a large lake. A massive new library, new computers, state of the art learning lab, student activity center are just a few of the perks of this small, quaint school.

    In three sentences

    FGC located in North Florida on a serene, beautiful, calming campus. Faculty and professors all go out of their way to help every student excel. The campus, staff, and student all make for an enjoyable, relaxing and productive college experience.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for young right out of high school students, to older going back to school students of any age

    What to do for fun

    Besides the usual activities in town, the school also has plays, concerts, etc., as well as various activities such as college night on campus, and a great recreation center

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go talk to the advisors, and they will walk you through everything

    In three sentences

    Florida Gateway College is an excellent school with great Instructors, and staff that also strive to give you the best experience with college

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    PHI THETA KAPPA, and other clubs

    Academic Rigor

    The innovative ways that education is given is beyond the scope of simple lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    For nursing students, apply early and keep your GPA high. For all others, get active!

    In three sentences

    It is a small school with a broad spectrum of 2 year degrees available. It is a forerunner in prospective nursing students and turf grass management. The professors are above average and are creativly finding ways to keep students growing educationally.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus and there are always the campus police patrolling.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a decent amount of clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Florida Gateway is good for a student that just isn't ready to go to a university yet or one that wants to bump up their GPA a little. It is also good for the students out here since we live in a rural town and Florida Gateway is a way for them to go to college but not have to worry about it being too hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of. It is nice to walk down the side walks near the outside of campus, the trees and flowers are beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    It is fairly priced comparatively to other colleges that are similar to it.

    What to do for fun

    They normally have activities planned and they just opened a new student center that has many games and fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is one lunch room at the college and while the food is good it is slightly over priced. Also there isn't a lot of seating in the lunch room.

    Dorm Life

    I really don't know what to rate it because there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are challenging but the majority of them are straight forward and pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest signing up for classes the first day so that you can get into the class that you want.

    In three sentences

    The college is small and all of the staff are extremely nice. It is a good place for you to get the feel of college before you pursue a higher degree. The only bad thing isn't a wide variety of classes offered.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great Security p.s Get a parking decal!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    To many clubs to name!

    Great for these types of students

    Seeking a general AA good nursing program excellent cosmotology school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brand new Library! State of the art. Concerts and performances are held throughout the year as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap for such a high State college! Well worth it, and its accredited!

    What to do for fun

    This school recently upgraded their activities center! They have ping pong, pool, foozball, xbox, PS3, and much more. Student activites does a good job with planning fun events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for what it costs. It's not olive Garden by no means!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    This school holds a very high standard in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get registered early enough so you are able to choose the classes and class time that you want.

    In three sentences

    Wow! this is a marvelous school. The teachers really care about the students and the atmosphere is great. I have learned so much!!

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feels a little desolate, I personally don't like being there alone, when the sun begins to set. However, they do have a very low crime rate.

    Clubs and Activities

    I joined the art club, which was amazing. I got to go to a museum and had a workshop with a visiting artist, all activities that were sponsored by the college. FGC entertainments sponsors several concerts, circus events and really cool community events. Some clubs to highlight: Latin dance club and the anime club are very popular.

    Bang for the buck

    dual enrollment student

    What to do for fun

    The student center is lots of fun, you can watch TV, play games, eat lunch. Its a great hang out space! They even have a weight room.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre if that.

    Dorm Life

    No Living on Campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and you get plenty of time with the professor, and that helps a lot. All the professors have office hours and the College Learning Lab is filled with people willing to help you if you struggle.

    In three sentences

    The college puts a lot of effort in making student activities every enjoyable to students and contributes to art, music, and other creative programs. The classes are small and the professors are on the outdated side, as the majority have been teaching there for 30 or more years. The overall feel of the college is pleasant, but not spectacular.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Florida Gateway College offers many activities for students to engage in on their down time. The Hall, the Student Activities Office, is a recreational building which is open from eight in the morning and stays open until six thirty in the evening. Students regularly come to the building to meet, gather, hang out, and discover new friends in between and after classes. Once a library, the building has two floors, each offering something different for its students. The lower floor holds more classic, physical games, such as air hockey, ping pong, billiards, shuffle board, Foosball, and free pinball. The second floor, open and loft-like, contains four large, flat screen TVs, each having a console (Xbox, PS3, Wii). Students are open to use all equipment, free of charge, so long as they have a student ID card. Student Activities also holds events on Wednesdays at noon from time to time. In addition, there are many clubs active and participating on campus. This includes the FGC Anime Club, Art club, Phi-Theta-Kappa, Wielding Club, Film Club, Straight/Gay Alliance, and the Latin Dance Club.

    Food and Dining

    There are two sources of dining at FGC's campus: the Lobo Cafe and it's counterpart which resides in the library. The meals are well priced and cooked on the spot, and are able to be customized by the cooks. A wide assortment of meals are kept at the price of $5.35, which includes tax and unlimited refills on fountain drinks for the day. Breakfast is also offered, opening at eight o'clock in the morning and introducing lunch meals at ten thirty. The cafe in the library offers a variety of coffee and smoothies as well as pre-made sandwich meals, which includes a bag of chips and a cookie, as well as a drink. This cafe closes at three p.m. while the main cafeteria closes at two thirty. It also serves as a catering service.

    Dorm Life

    FGC's dorm rooms have been discontinued. The rooms now serve as office buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, FGC is firm on it's policies regarding cheating, absences, financial aid/tuition, and plagiarism, though each professor has his/her own take on his/her class. Each class differs in teaching style as well as how meticulous material is managed. There are professors who are very laid back and relaxed in grading and discussing their lectures while others are very firm and very strict on how they want their assigned work to be turned back in.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those seeking personal interaction with their professors, the staff, and fellow classmates, FGC delivers to their students. For those considering nursing, FGC should be on their top list for schools to invest in. Paper work should be turned in on time, and hopefully sooner, when considering registry, financial aid, and applying to FGC. Students who attend regularly to FGC should reserve their time for noon on Wednesdays as many student activity events are held on this day.

    In three sentences

    Florida Gateway College is a smaller, more personal college located in the town of Lake City, Florida. Out of the way from the business of town life, it is nestled just outside the city limits, a scenic and friendly campus lying in wait. Popular for its top rated nursing program and world famous golf management program, it offers a variety of courses for both those dual enrolling, attending straight out of high school, or coming back to school years after any form of regulated education.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student center is open all week and has games or tables to sit at and play with frineds, It is a great place to go and relax between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is open Monday through Thursday and has a menu that can keep anyone satisfied. It is made when ordered so never is it old and they have fresh bread baked every day.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life only living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have different schedules and demands on personal time. Be prepared for math homeowrk to be due every week or only by the test date. Individual reading is always recommended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come rpepared and actually do the work. If you help yourself teachers are more willing to be helpful.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school for students just staring out and not used to a rigorous schedule. It is a very good college with tons of financial aid options and a very low cost schhol. There is a great administraot student dynamic with small personal classes.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any incidents, students here are very friendly, and caring, and do take care of each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to do, one I particularly loved to be a part of was choir, there is anime, dance, and many other clubs to choose from. Many student act ivies and free food at least 2 times a a month.

    Great for these types of students

    Green haired, costume loving, country life, and gamers.. mostly everybody but these guys might find themselves at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Learning Lab: busy, busy busy and plenty of your friends are likely to show up there. The brand new college library is a beautiful addition to this already beautiful campus life. Here you will enjoy studying indoors as well as outdoors. Safely, comfortably, and no matter what time you do it, you are going to feel at home.

    Bang for the buck

    So, they have been great about offering scholarships for some academics. I have gotten more education for my money here, than anywhere else I have looked into.

    What to do for fun

    They have a huge game room that is so sassy and full of activities, one of the best hang out places on campus.

    Food and Dining

    They only have one dinning area and not many choices on the menu, but some choices are good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They do well in student associations and motivation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know up at least 3 things you really enjoy doing, and know you will do well in. Keep a list of all the classes you will need to complete your degree and stick to it. Seek advising, and ensure they are meeting your list needs. Do your homework! Do all your research about the college, curriculum, and electives you really want to get into. Don't go over your 90 credit hours, stick to a plan.

    In three sentences

    Florida Gateway is great for students looking to find smaller classrooms, great education, and help when you need it most. This college has given me many opportunities to expand my skills and go beyond just learning, but applying knowledge. I rate this school a 10 for home-warming, and 8 for educational needs.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe overall. Some of the parking spots on the older end of the school could probably use a makeover, because there are bumps. Other than that, the campus is very safe and handicap friendly, with ramps and bathrooms. There are security guards around campus that make it feel safe to walk around campus without having to worry. It also helps that the campus is located in a rural area.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't that many clubs to participate in, but the ones that we do have are active for the most part. Most clubs host a lot of activities and festivals on campus. Usually every couple of weeks there is an event, concert or festival on campus that all students can participate in or attend.

    Great for these types of students

    If students don't have a computer at home, there is a Learning Lab on campus with computers to work at. Students are allowed to print out unlimited copies for free, so this is good for students that don't have a printer available at home. Tutors are always available in the Learning Lab and are willing to help you study, help with your homework and give you feedback on ways to improve your essays, speeches or projects. The library also has computers to work on. The library has many books on every subject for research, reports and class projects. There are also five independent study rooms in the library for students that need to study in a private and quiet area.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that Florida Gateway College is a great deal. It is a good choice if you want to save money before going to university. The new library, Student Center, computer labs, beautiful nature, and clean facilities add to the great look of the campus. Everyone on campus is friendly and there are always people available to help you. Most professors teach at universities or have years in experience in the classes that they teach. Just about all professors and instructors are professional and know a wide deal of information to teach their students. Clubs are active and host many campus activities. Teachers really care about your education and will stay on campus extra time to help you out if needed. Florida Gateway College is consistently ranked in the top ten community colleges in the state.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Center is a place on campus where students can talk, hang out, play video games and study. There are also several pool and ping pong tables. They play trendy music and it is always a great way to meet new people and make friends. There are also a few clubs to join and usually about once a month Florida Gateway College has a concert or festival of some sort.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten in the lunchroom a few times, and it was always pretty good. They serve just typical lunch food that you would find anywhere. The best place to eat is The Lobo Cafe. They have daily specials, fresh bread, sandwiches, sweets, and other bakery items.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms available. I would rather leave this unrated.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but are very easy and self explanatory as long as you are organized and keep up with the material. Every professor/instructor gives a detailed syllabus at the beginning of the semester so that you know what to expect. As long as you are organized, pay attention, and study the material you will make an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared. Make sure you keep up with test dates, study, and plan ahead. I have a mini calendar that I keep so that I can write down important exam and project days. Ask for help. Just about every student is friendly and willing to help. It is also a great way to meet people. You can even form a study group with people in your class, that way you can get help from others and help them out as well. Also, a great way to meet people is by going to the Student Center, which has games, music, bean bags, tables, pool tables, ping pong and video games.

    In three sentences

    Florida Gateway College is a great college for students that are looking to receive a two year degree or transfer to a university. Most students come to school eager to learn and it is easy to make friends. People around campus are always friendly and professors are very knowledgeable and eager to help.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hangout in student hall, play pool, go to the library and choose from the wonderful books, or just sit out and enjoy the weather.

    Food and Dining

    Their is a cafeteria with wonderful food! Also there is snack and drink machines all over campus. Plus they have free food in the student hall sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    There is only a few dorms, not many people choose to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is great

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stop by the student hall, it is a great place to hangout and meet new people. Also, the library is huge! It is a wonderful place, there is so many books and topics to choose from!

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice well-sized college. All staff and members are very friendly. It is a wonderful community to learn in.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Florida Gateway they have a large student activities center. They even have a gym and plenty of student clubs to go for ranging from government to anime.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your adviser they are great at this college and always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    A good preparation school for a university. It has good facilities as well as professors. Overall a good school to attend before transfer.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a student center here for Fun.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is a good place to find food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is smaller then the large ones like UF.

    In three sentences

    This school is nice and small. This school has nice teachers and faculty.