Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Florida Memorial University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/10/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who really want to focus on their academics rather than socializing. Those who prefer the smaller campus setting will also enjoy this school. 

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition cost is comparable to other private schools.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I will enjoy this school very much.  I am looking foward to attending in the Fall of 2011.

    Will learn a lot

    I believe I will learn a lot at this University.  Class sizes are smaller which means I can get more individualized assistance if needed.  Also students are encouraged to schedule in Library time so they can study more effectively.  Faculty was very helpful

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, honor program students and student that enjoy a small and productive school.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students that coming into this institution my only tip for you is to stay focused on your education and remember that in every class you must study everyday accurately.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    a heads up about this university would be that the food is not that appealing and females dress like the are in a fashion show every day. Oh and be prepared to dress professionally every Wednesday.

    Am enjoying being here

    besides the parties, i love my roomates, and the many activities that take place on compus its loads of fun

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at this university are loads of fun and make learning a pleasure, small class ensure one on one time with your instructor allowing a better understanding of the material.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for campus safety never walk alone at night(always have a friend or two with you), and lock your doors while sleeping.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can invite your friends sover to your dorm and watch movies, Play board games, or go to mini parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food are like home cooked meals. There are different varieties of foods to choose from, and It's delicious. The cafeteria is large, and very clean, and the servers are friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is absolutely perfect. The people are friendly, There are so many people that live in dorms so you meet someone new everyday and lastly, the dorms are very clean and spacious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many scholarships as possible the school is expensive but it is worth it. The campus site is beautiful, The dorms are clean and spacious, and the teachers are excellent. Also practice increasing your study habits.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have great security campus very safe

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the yard with other classmates ;go out to south beach go to different resturants

    Food and Dining

    food is good and u get 3 meals a day

    Dorm Life

    very clean lots of room

    Academic Rigor

    academic program is wonderful the professor i always willing to help

    Tips for prospective students

    fmu is wonderful i would advise all to at least look into this school take a tour

    In three sentences

    fmu is a great university i really enjoy the things i achieved since i been here

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security continuously patrol..

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is very exciting here.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to party or like small settings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The circle is a popular area where students hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is about $14,000 a year not including other fees, so it is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    South Beach isn't to far. Go out and enjoy the sun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    Stay in new dorms is a MUST! Avoid older dorms. There is no CO-ED's dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work here is not hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus this is Miami and is much better if you bring a car.

    In three sentences

    This is a very small college. The classroom sizes are very small and the professors are very helpful. If you like a smaller setting college this college is for you. Major plus is it is located in Miami.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For campus safety Florida Memorial has a curfew to sustain any violence.

    Greek Life

    Really can't give any feedback on that.

    Clubs and Activities

    FMU is very productive in clubs and Activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are studious, focused, multi-talented, and knows what they want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haven't been yet.

    Bang for the buck

    If you keep a certain GPA 3.6 average you could win free money.

    What to do for fun

    Friends, real friends, and much more it's Miami.

    Food and Dining

    I stay in an apartment.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    keep your GPA up.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospecting students I just want to be an advocate of Florida Memorial Univesity. Try them for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial is a school of excellence. This school provided me with an opportunity to proceed and succeed in life. Rating Florida Memorial 1- 10, 10 being the highest on the lowest, i give them a 10.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FMU is an a gated community with many security guards there is no curfew but school I.D. must be shown to get on campus after certain hours.

    Greek Life

    The divine nine is deeply rooted on our campus they provide many of the activities around campus, fashion shows, step shows, parties, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and many are ethnically based such as haitian, bahamian, trinidad, etc. There is modeling, choir, dance etc.

    Great for these types of students

    FMU is a baptist school so its great for student who are religious, there is chapel service every thursday and it is optional but some teachers may make it part of your grade. It is not a coed school which is great for students who have strict parents but coed visitation may soon be added.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Random balloon fights happen throughout the year between the boys and girls you never know when its gonna happen and sometimes the teachers get involved so be prepared! The Circle is an area between the older boys and girls dorm its a circle with benches around the circle which is used for various things.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to Florida Memorial University was one the best decision I have ever made in my life, I believe I have made life long friends and I have had some of the best experiences in my life, and that's only my freshman year.

    What to do for fun

    FMU has a student activity center where you can watch TV, play pool, and table tennis and an actual tennis court in front of the male older dorm. They also have spoken word nights and various activities are set up during the school year parties, concerts, step shows etc.

    Food and Dining

    FMU cooks a lot of soul food considering its an HBCU the food in the cafe can be great on some days but on others horrible but FMU does have pizza hut and a sub shop as another option.

    Dorm Life

    The older dorms do need some work done but they are pretty old so for the age its not that bad. FMU has recently built new apartment style dorms and they are beautiful they cost a little more then the older dorms but financial aid should be able to cover it and its worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    To be considered for admission you have to have a unwieghed G.P.A. of 2.4

    Tips for prospective students

    FMU can be known to be a party school so make sure you are not too engaged in the partying because some teachers will be strict on your school work.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial University is a very highly accredited school, it is an HBCU (Historically Black College/University). Its a small Private University in Miami, FL its like one big happy family. FMU will provide you with experiences you will never forget.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety here at Florida Memorial University is great. For instance, if you do not have any school identification after a certain hour, you can not get on campus. Its a gated community. Theirs only two ways to enter into the campus.

    Greek Life

    The divine nine is a big part of Florida Memorials campus. Their are Sigmas, Alphas, Kappas, Que Dogs, Iotas, Zetas, Deltas, Aka's, and Sigma Gamma that's on campus. I'm a member of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity where our motto is Culture for Service, Service for Humanity. Then our three principles are Brotherhood, Scholarship, Service. We are the people's fraternity and love to give back to the campus and community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their over 40 organizations on the campus of Florida Memorial University. It's an club out their for every individual. The only thing you have to do is your research, what college is all about, and you will eventually find something that interests you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Going to the circle or being in front of the New Buildings after class is done and you have the night to yourself to mingle around with friends.

    What to do for fun

    Their is multiple things to do around the campus. You have the Sack area where its an game room, pool hall, and card place. Then, on Tuesdays my Fraternity Phi Beta Sigma host an show called Blues-day's to get the students out their room. Also, it might be a water balloon fight, laser tag, and the school go on many trips. Their is so much to do at Florida Memorial University.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is awesome at the school. Being that you're an on campus student, you will be given a meal plan. The cafeteria will be open four time periods a day. Its an all you can eat buffet. Then if you don't want the cafeteria food, you have the option of going the Pizza Hut line. You have servings of Pizza Hut, subs, chicken tenders, fries, chicken and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    Florida Memorial Uninersity is not an coed university. It have four men dorms (J.T. Brown, Coleman, Building 1 & 3). It also have four woman dorm hall ( Goode, Robinson, Building 2 & 4). The dorm halls are al nice dorms. They have an computer room, television room, weight room and study room.

    Academic Rigor

    Help is always around campus and amongst the staff. Like they say, A closed mouth, don't get fed. Being in college you have to learn to network and meet new people. You might know someone that is weak in one subject and you know you could help them out. But at the same time, they might be strong in a subject you need assistance in. From having a study buddy or an study group, your academics will stay high.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is an opportunity and don't many people have this opportunity. Have fun at college but at the same time know what you came their for and that's an education. You can and will find another part of you when attending college. Also, always surround yourself around positive people.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial University is a small HBCU. Can't help but love it with the friendly atmosphere. I would refer FMU to anyone around the world.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    fun things to do on campus are: Swimming , site seeing around the campus the campus parties the basketball games the soccer games the baseball games the volleyball games the Greek's

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe as the students call it. Has great tasting food. Although we are an HBCU. the food that is served , comes from all different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what makes college fun , aside from your studies. The students are friendly and they welcome new comers with open arms.

    Academic Rigor

    The students are all achievers. every body is striving to be the best they can. they show that by preforming well in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upon enrolling to FMU , have an open mind , the school is very diverse which is a good thing. it allows networking to happen. And you make friends for a lifetime

    In three sentences

    Friendly Heart Warming Educational

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have plenty of security that rides around twenty-four seven, patrolling who enters the campus and also who exits the campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is definitely big here but you have to be dedicated to be involved in the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I said before there are many things to do on campus, different organizations to get yourself involved in. You can also consider running for Mrs/Mr Florida memorial.

    Great for these types of students

    This school will definitely benefit anyone deciding to attend or transfer to. Trust me on that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Florida Memorial Homecoming Is one of the biggest traditions you can think of, it usually comes around once a year and is talk about for the following months to pass. The school has a unique history, which you will learn about in fmu101 class taken either your freshmen or sophomore year.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Florida Memorial, I what I hear the most, before I left my hometown I use to hear negative things about the school. Now that I'm here I fell that those people that were telling me the negative things were just trying to hold me back. It may not be the best school or the biggest school, but i can guarantee you I will get my education here and I will succeed at Florida Memorial University!

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty activities to do on campus for fun. To name a few from my experience so far is the student center which usually where ever goes to hang out, watch movies, play pool, play cards, play board games, play the game systems. Its just somewhere to hang out and talk about anything that comes to mind. Plenty of parties go on if you want to relieve a little stress from the work.

    Food and Dining

    I just want to start off by saying the food is delicious, we have a variety of foods stretching from fried foods to salads and fruits if you want to stay on the healthy side. It may not taste like your ordinary home made meal made by your parents back home, but i can assure you its the closest thing to it. Florida Memorial University Serves In the morning, afternoon and then later in the evening.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty amusing, you would think that it wasn't as big. The moment you walk inside that door you would be amazed. It's enough room for me and my roommate, with us adding a TV refrigerator, a microwave and even a desk so that we have room to study or do our homework. We also control the air so the temperature is usually at the limit that fits us best.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically I cant speak on yet, being that I'm just starting class. I can speak on the behalf of upper classmen and also past graduates. I here we have some of the best professors in the Miami area that are actually willing to work with you on your grades. The one on one help you need is definitely here at Florida Memorial University.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective4 students is to not get off track here, stay focused and manage your time wisely. It's very easy to get off track with all of the fun, but then again its very easy to get involved in things that will benefit you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Florida memorial is very interesting, so far Florida Memorial University has been a cultivated experience for me. I came here expecting a more uncomfortable environment but I've never been more comfortable away from home. Its also beautiful, with counselors and professors willing to actually help you.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very good so you wouldn't have no worries.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are shy like myself, a good group to be a part of is Matters Of The Heart. They have meetings where you can discuss pretty much any and everything you want to talk about and they also have lots of activities and can help you financially.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some traditions on campus are Founder's Day, Donation Day, and Homecoming. Homecoming is one of the best days. The campus is so much fun the whole week and lots of campus activities are going on throughout the week.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do for fun is attend most of the campus activities. It gives you the chance to mingle and meet new people especially if you're shy like me.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the cafeteria much but from what I've been told the food is soo GOOD! The one time i did eat in the cafeteria i had Chicken Alfredo and it was the bomb diggity !!

    Dorm Life

    We currently have new dorms that are based on an apartment style but the old dorms are also very good to live in as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors teach very well and make what they are teaching easy to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending FMU make sure that your money is right. In other words make sure that your financial aid is up to date and is enough. Also you must have a balance between academics and social life.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial University is a very diverse university. You get to meet many new people from different parts of the country.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They enforce this rule especially for those in dorms. this school does not play when it comes to accidents/mishaps from stupidity or bullying.

    Greek Life

    As a Freshmen, I currently do not know much of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know all of the clubs or activities but they are posted about so you know.

    Great for these types of students

    those who want to major in Business, Pre-Law and Criminal Justice. This is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is traditionally a Christian school so there are days when Freshmen are required to go to the Church across the street from the school. But you don't have to convert, nor will they force you. They have Convocation for Freshmen (Formal Event to officially welcome students in) and days we must attend to hear speakers or meet those who are in our profession fields to advise us here and there. Wednesday is Business Attire day. It's not required but it does help you adjust to dressing up. Some teachers might enforce you to do so. And you must dress up when doing presentations in class.

    Bang for the buck

    Florida Memorial is expensive, no if ands or buts. However, it IS a private University so that was expected, it's cheaper than other Private ones in Miami as well. It's a great school and as long as you do what you have to do, you will get pass each semester smoothly. If you have the money, I say give it a chance.

    What to do for fun

    The school may seem uptight about academic and education but they also like students to have fun. They have lists posted up that show activies for the entire semester, from club meetings to plays to game nights and ect. And the sororites throw tons of parties throughout the year as well. Our sports team is small (No Football). But the players are good.

    Food and Dining

    The snacks at the bookstore are pricey (Like all Universities) but delicious. The Cafeteria has good and bad days so I stay neutral. Sometimes you'll get something delicious, the next day, not so much. Pizza hut is on campus as well, pretty good stuff right there.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms are fantastic. Clean and comfortable, though pretty small (The Campus itself is incredibly small). The older dorms however are not that great, you share a bathroom with the whole floor and the custodians don't clean up as often as they should.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are fantastic. You get work on your level and actually come out learning something. In class discussions also help you to interact and better understand the subject as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management. Learn it, or you will not survive.

    In three sentences

    The school overall is great for people who want an education, but aren't the best when it comes to larger school settings. You aren't a number there. You have a name.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's Never A Time When You Feel You Have To Fear For Your Life.

    Greek Life

    I Haven't Join Any Greek Fraternity But They Are Very Inspirational To Watch And See.

    Clubs and Activities

    Always Have Great Events. Can Never Be Bored At FMU.

    Great for these types of students

    Great For Hard Working Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything Is Pretty Normal.

    Bang for the buck

    I Don't Get This!

    What to do for fun

    Open Gym, Game Room, Living Room Area, And A Circle Area Outside To Have Fun With Company.

    Food and Dining

    The Food Is Always Fresh And Delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is committed to creating an exceptional living and learning environment for all students in �Lion Country.� We are dedicated to enhancing the growth of students to reach their full potential by providing rich learning opportunities through our programs, services, and facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    At Florida Memorial University, students have a wealth of opportunity to pursue their lifelong career goals. Florida Memorial University offers degree programs that embody a coherent course of study that is compatible with our mission through �instilling in students the importance of becoming global citizens through life-long learning, leadership, character, and service which will enhance their lives and the lives of others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard And You Shall Succeed.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial University is a community of scholars committed to the pursuit of knowledge, truth, and the free exchange of ideas. As educators, they seek to demonstrate the importance of life-long learning, and devote themselves to the responsibility of passing on the benefits of their own accomplishments. As students, they share a determination to fully participate and contribute to society as they fulfill our promise

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    all divine nine delta sigma theta alpha phi aplha omega psi phi etc

    Great for these types of students

    students who like to be involved, like a small setting and very social

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have moved three locations live oak florida st augustine and we are now located in oa locka florida

    What to do for fun

    parties achool activities

    Dorm Life

    dorm aren't all that great, but have built four new buildings and they are very nice

    Tips for prospective students

    don't late delay get your fafsa done and apply early

    In three sentences

    florida is an outstanding small hbcu that aceepta all gender race and culture in miami florida.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety gets an A+ compared to other colleges and things to do at FMU. With their steady rounds on campus, there will never be a time when you are out of sight of the campus security. From the front gate to the dorms office and rooms, everything seems to be highly secure.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is always prosperous on almost every campus. The gang is all here from Alphas to Kappas. Nothing out of the ordinary.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are just a handful of clubs and activities to take part in on campus. Many don't seem that interested or focused towards the future success of students in some fields of study. Just minor activities such as flag football or Walmart Wednesdays. No video game club, internship club or anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual traditions or locations on campus. The only thing unusual location on our campus would be the grimy lagoon with the dirty fish, LOL.

    Bang for the buck

    For being such an expensive University to attend, there are somedays when the question arises, Where is all the money going? In addtion there has recently been a tuition increase by 3%. There should be more activities, perks etc. for such expenses.

    What to do for fun

    If you really don't have your on car or transportation, fun on campus is really tough to find for out goers. Especially for those that love the nightlife. There are a few pool tables and a ping pong table located in the sub shop to help take you mind off your studious lifestyle.

    Food and Dining

    Three full course nutritious meals a day within the cafe, including seconds, thirds and so forth. The staff is also very friendly so there are no complaints when it comes to food. There is also the option of dining in the sub shop at the local Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems to be like a party everyday. I understand that we are on a college campus, but come on. Even students need their sleep at 4am. Overall, dorm life if average for a college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very intense towards their pupils within every class. They want you to gain everything and lose less. They show this by paying close attention to your academic needs and supplying you with what it is that you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your goals and stay focused on them. Don't tend to fall off on your studies and schedule because on this campus, it is so easy to lose track of the reason you are here.

    In three sentences

    As a southern University, FMU is one that tends to their students success. The staff to student relationship is highly valued and appreciated from the lower to upperclassmen. The social life is also one of a kind and extremely integrated.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Exercises daily.

    What to do for fun

    parties,south beach student recreation center.

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome

    Dorm Life

    New dorms just went up this year.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough courses but if you study youll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. There will be many opportunities to party. school first, party later.

    In three sentences

    Great Institution of Higher Learning

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student you wants great learning environment that is small and hands on. Also if you want a family in your school we believe in sticking together so if you donâ??t want to be lonely my school is great for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Every Wednesday the school takes us to Wal-Mart and you can get anything you want. Also every Thursday they take us to target just in case you missed Wal-Mart.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do we try to have a campus get together every Friday just so that we can have fun with each other and grow as a lion family. You can also on Saturday go to the mall with the school provides transportation. Or maybe you want to go to the beach; south beach is only 20 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. The kitchen staff is very nice and friendly, they serve you with a smile. We have a different variety of food things such as fries to Asian food Tuesdays.

    Dorm Life

    We have eight dorms four of the dorm are apartment style. The other four are more like a community. But here at Florida Memorial they try to accommodate any of your needs so if you do have a problem they will help you.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at Florida Memorial University are outstanding. We have the best aviation program to me the best in the state of Florida. The classes are about 20-25 so that you personally know your professors and if you need help you can get hands on attention. Here the teacher really cares about you and your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise you to have an open mind about everyone donâ??t judge. i also feel as if you should make sure your freshman year you go above and behind what is asked of you regarding your grades but yet have fun these are the best years of your life live.

    In three sentences

    My school offers a promise and a bright future. It has a loving and caring learning environment. This institution is great the faculty, staff and students care about each other and their education.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is exceptionally well handled and maintained. Their response time is quick and they strive to keep the students safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is awesome. The major greeks on campus are the Divine 9 and they spearhead most of the forums and events held on and off of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are overe 50 clubs and organizations for a students to choose from and become involved in the campus life. Each oraginization is unique and can fit the persoality of anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    steadfast students who need a more intimate setting with a professor students who are willing to learn

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual

    Bang for the buck

    the school fee is constantly rising, so that would that within itself is not too much of a good thing. However, i think you get your dollars worth

    What to do for fun

    the school provide a lot of activities for the students on and off of campus. There are mall trips, movie night, forums, paint balling and many many more educational and social activites hosted by the organizations on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is always something to eat in Dining hall. When i say that i mean if they are having hispanic food in celebration of hispanic month and you dnt like the way the food taste, you can always go to the food bar, and grab a sald and bec reative with the othere variety of foods that is being offered.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not bad. You have the choice to choose how many roommates you want to have etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The overall academic rigor of the institiution if i would have to guess is at minimum a C

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in control of your own destiny Be disciplined, dedicated and deteremined no matter the circumstances

    In three sentences

    It is s amall community of where students can receive the one on one attention from the professors. It is also a remarkable staff and adminitration. Finally the main goal aand most important goal is to make sure that students graduate.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities but there is a arcade room and, game room which has XBOX 360, and PS3.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, cooks are masters in every aspect of the kitchen hospitality is outstanding.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome there are rarely complaints. If something is wrong the residential advisers will be sure to make everything to your accommodation.

    Academic Rigor

    Our Academics are outstanding the teachers her thrive to see there students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend seminars and become open to new experiences.

    In three sentences

    Florida memorial is a wonderful school to attend for a learning experience. The teachers are amazing and they care about a students future. This school would be a great asset for someone who is looking for a education and career.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Vistors are not allowed on campus after 5pm for safety of students

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private institution so its a little more expensive but compared to other private universities it's fair

    What to do for fun

    Frats and Soros host parties, some organizations host parties off campus and provide transportation

    Food and Dining

    If you have a car you will be fine, Cafeteria food is not the greatest. There is a pizza hut on campus

    Dorm Life

    New Dorms are nice , more expensive old dorms are livable

    Academic Rigor

    Keep your GPA up, the higher your GPA the more money you receive

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is beyond safe. There is security driving around 24/7. They barely let anyone in the gates unless they have an up to date student ID.

    Greek Life

    The greeks run the campus. Any and everybody wants to be apart of the greek life. Sometimes it can be a little annoying because that is all some people talk about. But the greek life is amazing though. When the greeks come together it makes going to the events worth wild.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since my school is a HBCU there are many clubs and activities that best suit a person. Whether it has to do with their heritage, grades, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties occasionally, but usually if you want to have fun you have to go off campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a meal plan and the on campus students are served three times a day which consists of breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is a all you van eat buffet but once you leave you cannot come back until it is time to eat again.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is crazy to me. The dorms are not co ed but people be sneaking into the dorms anyways. The dorms are not really clean because they are a lot of nasty people living in them who act like they have not got any type of home training.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic are a must. This university does not play about grades. You either do what you need to do or you no longer need to stay at this University.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to enroll into college here you better not waste your time because it is very expensive.

    In three sentences

    A promise and a future. It may not be the best school to go to but it can get you to where you need to go.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe on this campus. Haven't heard of any incidents since I've been here. The school keep the campus and the students pretty safe here.

    Greek Life

    Since I'm in my first semester not able to get involved with the Greek Life just yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like any other college and Universities there are plenty of Clubs, social events and activities on campus you can get involved with at Florida Memorial. They are well know for keeping the students busy. You will never be bored.

    What to do for fun

    Well they have a pool room and I play basketball but on the weekend I try to visit South Beach or Bayside. There's plenty to do in Miami or I will just relax around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning area is alright and the food is not so bad. Its not moms or grandma cooking but since I've been here I haven't lost a pound.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. I have meet a lot of new friends and classmates. But I must say they do have some very out dated dorm rooms. They do have new dorm room and they are in the process of renovating a lot of these dorms but other than that I love it here.

    Academic Rigor

    The course's are challenging but not too difficult to overcome. The instructors at Florida Memorial are very helpful. They pride themselves to make you pull out your best potentials and to help you do your best and be your best in their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're coming from out of state like myself make sure you do your research on the school you choose. Check everything from classes, teachers, to dorm rooms. This is my first time ever leaving home and I wanted to make sure that I fit in when I got on campus. This is my second home.

    In three sentences

    My decision to attended Florida Memorial University was base on one thing and that was getting the best education that I could get. A small school with a large passion for its students.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For A Private College It Is Extremely Cheap. And There Is No Out Of State Fees. Everyone Pays Thee Same Price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Social Life Will Be A True Experience !

    Am learning a lot

    Thee Classes Are Small And Thee Teachers Are Great !

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented, Hopeful in their Pursuits

    Tips for prospective students

    Join groups that will ground you! Be drawn to the right people. Study and do your part. Keep yourself level headed. Breathe. Frequently remind yourself to be honest to yourself and on why you are in college!

    Bang for the buck

    hopeful

    Will enjoy being here

    Small but beautiful campus! Will quickly adjust

    Will learn a lot

    Small class size, the rules the institution have in place contributes to the student success in their daily lives. Assign tutor times when taking certain classes.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Enthusiastic learners out going people community service volunteers

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and enjoy your college experience! Stay focused.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is 20,000 a year but we have work study and excellent financial aid advisers

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a small campus with an intimate student body. We have fun activities and outings and enjoy each other's company.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Florida Memorial University are very enthusiastic about our education, and dedicated to furthering our education horizons.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay FOCUSED.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to diffrent functions on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    set your goals

    In three sentences

    florida memorial university is a great university. i love my university because i can interact with the professor and ask for help whenever i need it.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IS HORRIBLE

    Greek Life

    No AKA

    What to do for fun

    Parties, campus events

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms are nice

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your paperwork ahead of time and keep a record of everything

    In three sentences

    The staff is lazy. The faculty is great,excluding the science department. The campus is nice

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Gamma Beta Chi, Lamda Beta Chi, Alpha, AKA, Sigmas, Zeta, Sigma Gamma Rho,

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The JC Sams Ocean Bank Center which is also known as the SAC is one of the most popular spots on campus. There is also an outdoor hangout called the Circle where students sit between and after classes to relax.

    What to do for fun

    Parties are a big thing at FMU and there is always a party going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very consistent. If your vegetarian there are always something for you to eat as well.

    Dorm Life

    As of last year three new dormitories where built in addition to the other three dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student you will come across very easy classes and further long the harder classes. There will teachers with better teaching habits as well but its up to the student to contact the teacher to ask for help and adapt.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wait a year or two to join Greek organizations and clubs. Its better to get a feel of the university before you dive right in.

    In three sentences

    FMU has a small campus which makes it easier to make friends. There are a variety of different organizations and clubs for all ethnic background, religious preference, and etc. The faculty are very welcoming and are always willing to go out of their way to help students.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be aware of your sound rounding at all times.

    Greek Life

    We have all of the Divine nine.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have several clubs. We had the honors program, club Haiti, The Virgin Island club, research club, Greek life and more.

    Great for these types of students

    For all the Island students there are numous of clubs that you can join, sports for those who play them, and research club for those who love to research.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers there care about all there students and want the to pass. Work there can be challenging but as long as students go to class and do the work you will pass.

    What to do for fun

    Student activity and other clubs there make sure there is something on campus to do. We have movie nights, open mic, make your own t-shirts, bar-b-ques, block parties, sporting events and more.

    Food and Dining

    Every student who lives on campus recieves a meal plan for three meals a day and 150 dollars on there id card for pizza hut and the grill place. The food in the Cafe can be good at times. If you do notwish to eat in the Cafe you can go to pizza hut or the grill place and use your meal plan there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun but not the best I have seem. However, new building were build and are in process in rehabbing the old ones.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors there do give out work that will challenge you but are also there to help you whenever you are in need, as well as tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whenever a professor give you work make sure you do it and turn it in on the day he/she tells you to. Ask all question on anything you are not sure of. There are no such thing as stupid questions. No matter what school work come first.

    In three sentences

    I give Florida Memorial a 7 out of 10. In coming to this school you must make sure that all paper work and accounts with student services are correct and complete because they are very unorganized. The Professor are there to educate you so make them own up to their jobs and never lay off whenever something needs to be done.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great private security

    Greek Life

    We have omega psi phi , zeta phi beta , phi beta sigmas they are all great and the parties are awesome :)

    What to do for fun

    campus is always having something. you shall never be bored BECOME INVOLVED

    Food and Dining

    great food plan eat 3 times a day on your meal plan

    Dorm Life

    dorms are very nice here they have been up for about a year . if you want an apartment style dorm they have great rooms to choose from

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is great, class sizes are very small compared to a big university

    In three sentences

    this school is great, class sizes are very small compared to a big university

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great and is being worked on daily for areas of improvement to get even better security.... There's no such thing as safe enough, so our campus security is sure to make sure every one that is supposed to be on campus goes thru a checkpoint ID before entering and the premises is constantly being monitored and checked more often than none for our safety.

    Greek Life

    There are students from different countries to connect with and share familiar stories and conversations with, some I'm sure there's a connection you will make somewhere on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to begin naming, just find one that peek your interest and go from there, just don't get involved in too many, they can easily become distracting while juggling college studies..

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to put their ideas to use and like to be rewarded and recognize, joining the different sorrorities are great for freshmens and sophmores. More of a historian student, then you'd definitely want to check out the library for sure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Learning about your black history in the awesome library is a plus.

    Bang for the buck

    I must say attending the games that keep the student body hype all the time, attending gatherings the faculty staff host is also well worth it and educational seminars with different well known professional speakers at different engagements on campus.

    What to do for fun

    If your a swimmer, there's a pool there on the hot sunny days, of course with a lifeguard on site. There's the scenary of socializing with friends or associates, classmates, etc. Shopping nearby, movie theater and so forth and so on. Last but not least, join a club.

    Food and Dining

    Great staff that will properly prepare a great meal and besides you can't beat it, you have a great choice and selection to pick and choose from. I must mention the cafeteria stays open pretty late, therefore your sure to not miss a meal.

    Dorm Life

    MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS AND STAY OUT OF OTHERS AND YOU'LL BE SURE TO LIKE YOUR STAY. Learn to stick to what you know and leave experiments for later on in life and at graduation you'll be happy you did!

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on point with your grades and making sure to address each and every issue you have in a subject with your tutors as well as professors/instructors, its the best way to be sure to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend each and every class like your graduating the next day, therefore take it serious and stay focused despite other interests that just might call your attention to play. Know what you come for each and everyday to class and stick to your goal in order to meet your potential for your future!

    In three sentences

    Great prestigious university to be considered for your undergraduate studies. You have a caring and understanding and knowledgeable staff to assist you all the way. The campus security staff is tight grip; which is great for freshmen students that like to have that extra sense of security.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had to much trouble on campus with the safety. I can't say I never felt safe .

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and Sororities go hard in parties, around campus and even off campus. They seem to always be high spirited.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't recall every club but I do know we have a social work club and Haitian club. Now for activities we always have something going on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you the type of person who believes in sisterhood or brotherhood then we have a wide variety of fraternities or sororities even service groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't believe we have any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    In order to keep a little cash and not pay outrageous prices for your books. You may go to the library or find a friend to share with for the sememster.

    What to do for fun

    Well for it depends you can play cards, play pool, play ping pong, play basketball, or you can start a huge water balloon fight.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has is days when it wants to treat us with a great meal and then it has it days when the food just isn't on point. If your really hungry then it doesn't matter.

    Dorm Life

    Well dorm life depends on what type of person you maybe. I don't mind sharing or meeting new peope, its quite exciting. Dorm life though isn't aways great, I believe everyone may encounter some times when you may have to deal with a situation but thats what college is also about too.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't really speak for everyone but its pretty easy all you have to do like I said before is network with one another. Meaning study together, read together, and share what maybe needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students please don't afraid to meet and greet returning students. Make a connection within different groups so if need when needing help running for events it won't be difficult. College is all about netwroking with one another.

    In three sentences

    Home to a selection of diverse students. Where family bonds are created forever. A piece of beauty you can only imagine existed.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    so many security its really safe

    Greek Life

    very good

    Clubs and Activities

    fantastic I love it you can go so far with these activties.

    Great for these types of students

    very great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its really none

    Bang for the buck

    its alot of money alot to do.

    What to do for fun

    play sports or either dance

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food

    Dorm Life

    Its the best so comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    really good

    Tips for prospective students

    Be focous and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Well the teachers will help you with anything you need its the best

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards that are very strict when it comes to getting on campus for our safety.

    Greek Life

    Greeks always put on a good show!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of sports and activities. You have the gospel choir, coral, cheerleading, basketball, soccer, volleyball, track & field, faces (modeling), etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are determined to further their education, and students who like to have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY expensive. It's good to have plenty of scholarships!!

    What to do for fun

    The campus have parties (kinda lame), Greeks parties be LIVE, their off campus but there's transportation, parking lot parties lol, flomo Friday's where there's a d.j and students pretty much having fun dancing and socializing and etc. It's pretty much what you make out of it. I personally have a good time here.

    Food and Dining

    We have a pizza hut (sub shop) which also serves chicken/tenders & fries, salads, subs, sandwiches, bread sticks, cheese sticks, cinnamon sticks, drinks, chips. And the cafe have different meals they serve each day. The food is actually better than I expected it.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms are VERY NICE! Old ones pretty much suck and you'll be very disappointed to live there! In the new dorms you have your OWN bathroom/shower, and kitchen. In the old dorms you have to share a public bathroom/shower. I advise you to pay your money for the new dorms EARLY!!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy (coming from a freshman). Just focus!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have scholarships before you come here! Get in the NEW dorms!!

    In three sentences

    My freshman year is going good. Haven't had any probelms so far.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are two options when eating: the subshop and the cafeteria. The cafeteria serves four course meals whereas the subshop has pizza hut, subs, wings and etc

    Dorm Life

    They (Florida Memorial University) just built four new dorms that includes gyms, study rooms, and tv rooms.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial University is an HBCU with an assortment of things to do. It has a family environment with easy access to all your professors/advisors. A great up and coming university.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I lo9ve the greek life!!!!

    Food and Dining

    The Dining is a nice upgrade and the food is much better

    Dorm Life

    I love how the school have upgrade the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very good

    In three sentences

    I am currently enrolled in Florida Memorial University and i really have enjoyed my time here. The school have so many programs that help students accomplish their goals. I plan to graduate and make my school proud.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you have a group of friends you can make the best of it.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is very sometimes. It can be good or bad, but the sub shop is good but they run out of food but the Pizza Hut pizza we have is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The old dorms are bad !!!!!! But the new ones are really nice some you have 2 to a room or 4 to a room with 2 bathrooms and a kitchen and living room.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on staying on campus make sure you have food or transportation the cafeteria food is not that good and the sub shop isn't open on weekends. The professors are mostly nice and understanding and you can get some one on one help if you go to class.

    In three sentences

    Florida memorial is a small campus. It's also very focused on keeping the standards it set for future students. If you don't like big campuses and looking for something easy this school is for you.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they to mean

    Greek Life

    aka, delta are kick off yard. sgrho are small but cool zeta ok. iota is the best, gamma beta chi they cool, lambda beta chi is a one school sorority but fake akas. phi beta sigma cool, kappas gay but cool alphas ok, ques is sexy! Gamma sigma sigma is the best (planning to pledge fall 13)

    Clubs and Activities

    whack as hell

    Food and Dining

    too much money

    Dorm Life

    roaches

    Academic Rigor

    they cheat

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do for fun,unfortunately.

    Tips for prospective students

    It isn't extravagant.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial University is a great school that has plenty to offer but It is a bit behind in atheletics and finances. I am a proud FMU lioness but I feel as If we could do better. Staff and Faculty are very dedicated to our success.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ANYTHING THERE ARE VARIOUS ORGANIZATIONS THAT FIT YOU

    Tips for prospective students

    BRING YOUR A GAME , BE PREPARED FOR THE CONFUSION , STAY ORGANIZED

    In three sentences

    THE SCHOOL ATMOSPHERE IS VERY FRESH AND INVITING THUS FAR. IT DEFINITELY FEELS LIKE HOME , PEOPLE ARE VERY FRIENDLY AND INVITING. A VERY BIG PLUS IS THAT MY ADVISOR ROCKS !

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    okay

    Greek Life

    the worst ever

    Clubs and Activities

    like I said theres and island field to the school so each island has their differenet club

    Great for these types of students

    great for communication majors, business majors, music majors and aviation majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its in south Florida but they have a huge Caribbean student population, which is a great asset to the school. which brings a festive island vibe to the school!! I love that aspect of it

    Bang for the buck

    no for what this school offers it is way to expensive

    What to do for fun

    go to the cultural arts events and chorus ensembles their choir is to die for.

    Food and Dining

    great food.

    Dorm Life

    its okay ratchet(ghetto) but its okay

    Academic Rigor

    They have an excellent academic rigor. Some of the best professors around.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I will give to prospective students is just go to the school see if you like it and if its for you then stay, but if you cant see yourself there just go there are nice schools within the surrounding area. oh yes please stay on top of your financial aid because that school does take your money and give it to other students of there choice.

    In three sentences

    Florida memorial university (fmu) could be a great school if they assisted their fellow students better with financial aid. A lot of the students that attend the school that aren't into the Greek life feels that the school caters to helping the frats and sorority's students with scholarships. the normal students feels as if they are up for first for the extra scholarship opportunities.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Friday or Saturday nights there will be party's behind building 3 which is on the dorms.

    What to do for fun

    We have a game room with a pool table, you can play cards or dominoes. We also have a TV lounge where students would just hang out and watch TV. On Friday or Saturday nights we would have little party's behind building 3. There is always something to do on campus so it's never boring.

    Food and Dining

    The food is OK, we have a pizza hut on campus and a cafe. We really don't have much food choice to chose from, so most of the students just order take out.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good, they just built some new ones. The old ones need some work. I stay in the new buildings which is a semi-private. It's my roommate and I we each have our own room with a wall in the middle. Then we have a mini kitchen, living room, and a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    As I mention before the class size is small, so you can get that one on one feel with the professors. Everyone is always willing to help you succeed and want you move forward in life. We have a math and English lab, where there are tutors who will help you with all your needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come here you will LOVE IT! Everyone is nice, friendly, and easy to get along with. The campus is small so you will know everyone faces, also the campus is very beautiful. There is a lagoon in the middle with a lovely fountain in the middle.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion Florida Memorial University is the best school to attend. The class size are small and you have professors willing to work with you one on one to make sure you understand the material. No student is ever left behind, unless they choose to.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security in the front of the school and there will always be some riding around in a go cart monitoring the campus and the wild life students making sure there aren't any fights.

    What to do for fun

    There are football games and basketball games to attend for fun. We also have a game room to play pool and other things.

    Food and Dining

    We have a such thing called fried chicken Tuesday so on Tuesday there is guaranteed fried chicken in the caf�������©, other than that the food and good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are wonderful. We have 4 new dorms and they look just like hotels on the outside such as the doors and the hall ways and on the inside far as the beds and refrigerators and T.V.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are there to help you and you are known by your name and not a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the extra time during the day because unlike high school it is less class time and more free time so manage it wisely.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial is the best university you could ever attend. The students who attend here are friendly and are very helpful. The professors also know you by your name and your not known as a number, it consist if having more one on one with your professor.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    An outstanding cafeteria with all kind of delicious foods.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but based on what I've heard it is pretty fun and enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Both Teachers and students are willing to pursue their goals.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unlike some schools, we have two security booths, one at every entrance, we also have cameras positioned at each end of the dorms and on some of the dorm floors. There is always security guards on campus 24 hours a day.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is one of the best parts of the end of each semester. Probates and come out shows are so much fun. As with an Historically Black College or University, it is a challenge to see who runs the yard!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus! A lot of them are associated with different islands from the Caribbean, and they sponsor events that showcase their island foods and traditions.

    Great for these types of students

    Florida Residents, Students from West Indies, big basketball fans, people who like warm weather.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is actually low for a private institution but it is really hard to come by if you are an out of state student. The better part of it is that it is a small investment into your future.

    What to do for fun

    Being that the school is located right in the middle of a residential neighborhood and right in front of a small airport, there isn't much to do unless they are campus related activities. There are campus wide events such as Movies on the lawn, or fashion shows.

    Food and Dining

    The university only has 1 dinning hall and 1 rec hall that has a food kiosk. Neither are all that appetizing, but it is really what is being served that day.

    Dorm Life

    Again this is dependent on other factors. WE have only two options and that is, old dorms or new dorms. At any rate, choose the new dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, it really depends on what you choose as a major. There are several different schools such as the School of Business, School of Arts, and School of Education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely understand it takes a lot of patience to deal with the administration, the school is a small private institution that is based on Baptist values so there is no co-mingling inside the dorms, and definitely have other sources of food.

    In three sentences

    If you are an African American student this place feels very home like. The student to teacher ratio is small, so there is a lot of one-on-one. Not to mention it is in sunny South Florida

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I truly believe anyone could walk on this campus because security guards do not check IDs time to time. Also, they do favoritism with other students which is unacceptable.

    Greek Life

    I haven't fully experienced the Greek life because aim not a party girl but from what I've heard, their parties are awesome and worth paying for.

    Clubs and Activities

    Iam giving their clubs and activities a three because they aren't organized enough from my point of view. I am a person that try to be on time for everything. When they say 3:00 they actually mean thirty to an hour later.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to join the Air Force or the Army. Anyone who wants to learn how to fly an airplane for a career we have an Aviation class there. It's definitely not cheap..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Pizza Hut on campus. The location is called t The Sac everyone hangs there or around there. There's a game room, a lounge, and two TV rooms.

    Bang for the buck

    At Florida Memorial, they provide Direct TV. Cable, Kick boxing, workout routines, and etc.

    What to do for fun

    If you join organizations and go out there and meet new people, you will enjoy yourself. Especially if you have a vehicle because everything is so far from Florida Memorial University.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't too exciting to me. You'll think because this school is private their cooking game would be upscale or something good. I'll be completely honest; their food suck. Also, they don't allow us to take our food that we paid for outside the cafeteria. That is ridiculous.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay. I like my room it's not a problem. Although, I would prefer I bigger room with a small bed instead of a twin bed. You just need to learn how to adjust to new environments.

    Academic Rigor

    As people usually say, do your work and study you will accomplish your goals. They provide tutors for free so accept it if you need it. Get a relationship with your professors for that will help you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to know something, majority of the time you have to go out there and ask the right people. Being involved in different organizations will help you to enhance your opportunities to a beautiful experience.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial is an interesting school depending on you. If you choose to go out and mango with new people you will enjoy your time there. Also, it will be nice for you to get involved in different organizations.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fenced campus that has one entrance/exit with security.

    Food and Dining

    The food can make you sick. If you don't get sick you will definitely get tired of it. They serve the same things over and over and sometimes they just throw stuff together that don't go together. Many days I walk out disappointed and mad that i just swiped my card.

    Dorm Life

    If you are in the new resident halls the only problems you would have is loud music or loud, disrespectful people. If you are in the old resident building you have to worry about loud music, loud, disrespectful people, mold growing on your clothes, people fighting, and having four people to a room. Also, there is no co-ed visitation.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academics are challenging and competitive. They have a very selective honors program.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial University can be a good experience, it has a beautiful campus and many things to do during the weekdays. Their open admissions gives many students a chance and their academics are challenging and competitive. On the flip side, the residence halls can make you withdraw from the school altogether. Also the staff is unorganized majority of the time and they are still in the paper age instead of computers.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    VERY TASTY FOOD.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is Excellent. The safety is guaranteed.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here is perfect. It is a future.

  • 03/21/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is pretty good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs of Interest: Caribbean International Student Association, Science Club. Sport(s) Volleyball, Cross Country, and Track & Field

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes.

    What to do for fun

    Activities that take place in the campus and parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't heard of the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Offer a good honors program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take ACT and SAT. Have a good GPA.

    In three sentences

    Florida Memorial is pretty diverse in sports. It also has good activities that take place in the campus. It is a beautiful campus.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I never ate in the Cafeteria, but the book store and cafe have decent food.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus however new dorms were just built this year.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are difficult, while others are easy. It really depends on how much effort you put into your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a 3.5 in high school, apply here and you will get a full scholarship. Maintain your grade point average and your education will be paid for.

    In three sentences

    FMU is an HBCU in Miami Fl, with a lot to offer to it's students. This school is perfect for someone who lives in Miami and isn't quite ready to leave home. The professors care about their students and will do their best to educate you.

  • 06/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, basketball games, sometimes activities are on campus, hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is decent and the sub shop. I just wish there were more options.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the new dorms so I have my own bath room and kitchen. I wish there were more activities for our floor so we could get to know each other. I am not that much of a social person so I don't really have to do much to be entertained, but if you are sociable you will probably complain about being bored.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy, work isn't too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect a traditional college experience.

    In three sentences

    A small college that has potential to be great. There are things that need to be changed in order to make this school way more productive and prestigious. There are some changes going on though.