Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Fontbonne University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the type of student that needs to get away from high school and the drama of it but still needs a little at home feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself! And get to know as many people as possible. The campus is beautiful and the people are great. I am having so much fun and the small campus is a great atmosphere to learn in.

  • 11/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to feel accomplished and get things done in the classroom, on campus and in the community then Fontbonne is for you. It's a small school with a big heart. If you want to recognize faces and have professors and faculty know you by name, this is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! Fontbonne exceeded my expectations in a university and I believe it is because I am so active on campus. I know tons of people and feel like I get A LOT accomplished inside and outside the classroom. Don't be afraid to just be yourself and find your niche.

    Bang for the buck

    Fontbonne is expensive, but it's completely worth the money. The teachers know you by name and are they're all there to help. I am not just a number which makes it so worth it to me!

    Am enjoying being here

    Fontbonne is a small school but I absolutely love it. I am really involved on campus, which is something I HIGHLY suggest for students there. I have gotten to know so many great people and wouldn't change my experience for anything!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Special Education major at Fontbonne, and I absolutely love the program! The class sizes are perfect, and I have so much experience. The professors really care about your future as a teacher.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to run and race my kids. or sleep because i also work! it's funnn!!

    Food and Dining

    4 stars

    Dorm Life

    4 stars

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    come focused and prepared to learn with all your materials and books.

    In three sentences

    the professors are serious. fontbonne is a great college!! this university is worth attending.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fontbonne has a few security guards who have their own office in the parking lot. I will occasionally see them walking around. I have never heard of anything stolen or seen any fights. Overall, it is a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for any area you can imagine. Science, math, Teaching, Speech Path, everything!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fontbonne is big on activities for students of different cultures. Each year we have a fun festival for students from all over the world. They each have their own booth and share information and items from their home country along with free food from those places.

    Bang for the buck

    Like all colleges, Fontbonne is a little costly. However, they offer pretty great scholarships which makes it easier to pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Fontbonne has activities almost every Friday. They bring in speakers, go bowling, to the movies, have dances, and have sports tournaments. Almost all of these things are free or given a great discount for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Fontbonne is great! They offer healthy foods with a huge variety in the dining room and fast food in the DSAC of Griffin Grill. Definitely tastes homemade :)

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I have been up there once. The ones in Medaille hall are not very nice and are very tiny. You do, however, have a bathroom to share with one roommate which is better than community bathrooms. The ones in St. Joseph hall seem much nicer!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes are pretty difficult. I like to know that I am learning new things though. Most of the teachers are very helpful and willing to assist you in whatever ways they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend making strong connections with your teachers. I also think it is very important to stay on top of academic paperwork such as scholarships, bills, and other student information to make sure the staff is free of errors. Last, I recommend students put 100% into their school work because after all, they are the ones paying for it.

    In three sentences

    Fontbonne University is a very small campus, which makes it great for receiving one on one time with instructors. Most of the students who go there are very friendly, and there are activities going on almost every weekend.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, the most expensive so far, but you do get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous events held daily and nightly, everything is posted in your student email.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Use every resource available to get the academic results you need, don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    Fontbonne does everything they can to help you achieve academic success. There are numerous opportunities available on campus to get help with everything from writing a paper to finding a new career. Fontbonne's education is tailored to fit my needs

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Landing and the Loop are two great places to visit and meet new and interesing people.;

    Food and Dining

    There are only two places to eat on campus and they are both mediocre. Luckily, there are cheap resturants within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not fanastic but the Saint Louis life for a college student is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are great but every once in a while you run ino those who take their job way too seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an extremely small school. Never argue with a professor you ma just see them teaching another one of our classes.

    In three sentences

    Fonbonne is built on family values and strength and it is evident when you walk on the campus. The school is still stuck in the old age but is quickly regaining its place in the 21st century. The professors are great and willing to work with you.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fontbonne is a great school for any student who wants a school that feel they can call home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For freshmen students like myself, they have plenty of activities for us. They have a traditional ceremony called Catch the Fire to introduce new students to campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I had tips for prospective students, it would to call campus when are curious about anything! The faculty here at Fontbonne will always be willing to assist you with anything you need!

    In three sentences

    Fontbonne University is a great school, I really enjoy the small class size and the relationship with my teachers. I also love that everything on campus is a walk away, so you cant get lost. Fontbonne is a faith based school, which I also really like.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Around campus you have many places to go to.For example there are about 3 malls around 15 miles around the campus and there are many places to eat too.

    Food and Dining

    The food varies from time to time. One day the best food comes out and everyone is happy. Then the next day the food will be decent but not the greatest.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Fontbonne is pretty cool. This university includes co-ed, all boys, and all girls. I've been living in the dorms for 3 weeks now and all I can say is that it's pretty neat.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging, but is worth it for your future in your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sports is one of the main reason students pick Fontbonne as their college of choice. If you're not able to receive a athletic scholarship to your dream college, Fontbonne would be a wonderful back-up.

    In three sentences

    Fontbonne University is a college that is underrated because of the other big schools around it. If you live about a week at Fontbonne you will love it. I'm saying this because I was one of those students who question the school lifestyle.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Great for speech pathologists and deaf education majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every student rings the chapel bell their freshman year and then rings it again when the graduate. The Dean lives almost on campus, he and his wife are the sweetest people you will ever meet and always support the school colors with their flower garden.

    What to do for fun

    Here there are numerous things to do around St. Louis, such as concerts and professional sports games. The campus also offers numerous free activities for students on campus which are a blast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get involved your first year here it makes all the difference. Also, trust in your teachers they really do care about you as a person and not just as a student.

    In three sentences

    Fontbonne has such a tight community, no one feels left out of anything. St. Louis is a big town, but Fontbonne gives it that small town feel. All of the professors here are extremely caring and do not give up on the students.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school if you are looking for a small school setting in the city of St. Louis! There is so much to do around the area.

    In three sentences

    Fontbonne is the perfect school for me! It is small enough that everyone knows who I am and the professors have a personal relationship with me. I cannot wait to attend graduate school here in a year and a half.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I'm probably going to bring my own snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus. I rated 5 starts because I can't tell you from experience how dorm life is. I can't really rate if I've never experienced it.

    In three sentences

    This is my first year at Fontbonne University. I start August 19th. I can't wait to get started on my career and goals.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus have student activity center: DSAC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for small, seminar-like classes (depends on the department and degree program, though). Campus is SMALL, so no need to account for between-class walking. Parking is pretty poor.

    In three sentences

    I am a current student in Fontbonne's SLP graduate program and have been enjoying the experience overall. Fontbonne offers a nice a campus and many emenities. The staff is student-oriented and accommodating and the staff-student ratio is impressively low.