Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Foothill College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy learning in a fast paced environment where support is aplenty and the grass is greener.

    Tips for prospective students

    For me, there were too many distractions at De Anza that inhibited me from maintaining my full potential as a student -- friends that wanted to hangout during breaks, students who didn't take excelling in school very seriously, and classroom environments and teachers who were stressed by the overwhelming number of students they had to fit inside small classrooms. Foothill College was a better fit for me, so if De Anza isn't providing you with an environment you're satisfied with, drive on up the hill a little farther and enjoy the fresh air.

    Bang for the buck

    As always, the California community college system is a great value and I consider Foothill to be a great example for budget friendly education. Often times, the instructors are professors with doctorate degrees, work experience, and patience, and the class sizes are small. The parking permit is a manageable price and the school accommodates its students with a nice, clean cafeteria, a large library, a media center full of Apple computers, a student store/book store, a hard-working maintenance staff, vending machines throughout campus, a beautiful athletics department, theaters, art studios, and a friendly campus staff.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of Foothill's campus is serene with tall trees everywhere and lush lawns of soft grass. The campus is quiet and peaceful, but a lot of the time there will also be something fun going on in the campus center and although the hills that the campus is built upon may be arduous for those who are handicapped, I consider it part of my daily exercise.

    Am learning a lot

    After going to De Anza College for a year and not enjoying myself at all, I decided to try Foothill College and it has been one of the greatest decisions I've made. Most of the teachers are professors and they are all very supportive, motivational, and knowledgable, and that makes a huge difference in the learning capabilities of students. I haven't had a disappointing experience yet with any of the instructors at Foothill and I don't think I will.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are deciding on majoring in any of the Associates degree that Foothill College offers or if your planning on getting your GE done and transferring to a University and you are serious about your education, than Foothill College is the school to go to. Foothill is serious about their education and if you are too than this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The big campus is very clean and up on a hill surrounded by a lot of nature. There is a large variety of choices to choose from if your looking for and Associate degree. Foothill offers a spectacular variety of health associate professions. There are lot of clubs and association opportunity here at Foothill.

    Bang for the buck

    Foothill College is a Junior College, so the price for books or classes are about the same for most other Junior Colleges. You won't be having to pay for same amount at you would if you were going to a University it is a lot cheaper and if you qualify for Financial Aid you would be in good hands!

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone I've met by far are super nice. You don't hear much loud noises or big clusters here. Everyone here is determine in their work and that kind of environment motives you more to work harder like everyone else.

    Am learning a lot

    Foothill is a calm and peaceful school environment. You can sit outside under a tree on a sunny day and study without any distractions. The teachers are serious about their work and will make the course interesting and unique, they will teach whatever they feel is necessary for you to learn in their course. I have learn more then what is needed for each course I have taken from Foothill, some of the skills you can put in use for life and the future.

  • 08/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I visited the campus and I was pleasantly surprised with a beautiful scenery. If I hand't seen the sign labeling the place as Foothill College, I swear I would've thought it was a park or a camping site with cabins. I was enamored with it at first sight. As I walked around exploring the campus, it was calm peaceful and relaxing. It resembled a hike on a sunny day at your favorite park. There are lots of hills you have to walk through and will probably help you shed those unwanted pounds and give you shapely legs! Its a mild workout to get around and I couldn't have it any better! Killing two birds with one stone is the right expression for this place: get an education while losing weight!!! I just love this college.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school does have its own security and call posts for emergency. You always feel safe with them around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to choose from. There are clubs for your major such as nursing or just entertainment like the anime club.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is so affordable! You can apply for the BOG fee waiver with your fafsa and your classes are paid for! If you are on a budget this is the college for you because there are so many scholarship resources and financial aide.

    What to do for fun

    foothill is a community college so it may not have as much stuff as a university but it doesn't mean you can't have some fun. They have a good theater and all sorts of activities next to the bookstore like club rush. There are so many clubs to join you can't have a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Best food ever! the cafe and cafeteria serve the best food like my favorite the Boom Boom burger. I'd rather eat on campus than off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to take a placement test to see what class best fits you so most likely you will be challenged in every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it's a community college does not meet the classes aren't challenging. You have to check out the tutor center because i swear it will be your best friend because it has the best help you can ask for. Take advantage of the resources like the computer lab and teacher's office hours.

    In three sentences

    I love foothill because the campus is beautiful and when you don't have time to workout climbing stairs and walking hills helps a lot. All my teachers have office hours to help me and my classmates are all friendly. I love the food here, it's just the best and the classes are challenging but rewarding.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe everywhere and the school sends out texts when a crime occurs on or around campus.

    Greek Life

    None!

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing and motivated students. Also international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Foothill college has the third largest bamboo garden in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school with lots to do.

    What to do for fun

    Go the San Francisco.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but easily acessable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into a program like tutoring or honors that allows for early registration otherwise it is difficult to get into the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The teachers want to be there and love what they do. Classes are offered online and hybrid style.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    My personal experience in the two years I spent at Foothill were nothing but positive!

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs to join like Student Activities/Government. Hanging out and study groups tend to be the most common ways to experience 'fun' from what I see!

    Food and Dining

    What can I say, it's cafeteria food. However, it is edible and the staff are fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    Um, there is none. It is community college so all living arrangements are off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the work to be challenging, in a good way. I have attended two other community colleges before Foothill and by far Foothill is the most educationally driven. You can actually walk away at the end of a quarter with new knowledge and interest in a subject!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a quarter system so be prepared to get down to business quickly. Overall, it is a beautiful campus (condensed too!) that offers a diverse atmosphere (very reflective of the Bay Area!).

    In three sentences

    Although the hills can be intimidating, once you are on the campus it is flat and easy to navigate. Foothill offers many programs and resources to assist in student success! Great quality instructors and high acceptance of units when transferring!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus feels very safe for me. Because the campus is basically a circle surrounded by the parking structures, it feels like ONLY the students, professors, and police are there. No strangers to be found. I like how it's remote from the busy streets and houses because it gives me more of a private setting feel.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities. They hold this Nationality thing for several months, which is created by Foothill's student body. The campus would celebrate different nationalities and even give out free food that pertains to that specific nationality.

    What to do for fun

    Really not much to do for fun since the campus is away from the main shopping centers and restaurants. However, you could always take a ten minute drive down to Stevens Creek to shop around Westfield Valley Fair and get some boba tea.

    Food and Dining

    Hamburgers, pastas, sushi, sandwiches, cup noodles, fresh soup, and salads are just some of the items that the cafeteria hold. They have a variety of food selection for students, as well as drinks. If you're feeling something healthy, the salad bar is always an option for students. They also have a small cafe for those who are in need of some caffeine!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at Foothill, unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are absolutely wonderful; they strive to help students do their best. I would say most classes are moderately hard, but could range in difficulty since science classes are definitely not the same as an English class. As long as you study, the courses should not be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    It might take time finding where buildings are since the classrooms and buildings are very spread out. The library is a wonderful place to check out because they offer a silent area to those who need a quiet environment to study. WiFi is also pretty fast. I would definitely promote going to office hours since the professors are very approachable when you do no understand a concept or problem retaining to the class.

    In three sentences

    Foothill College is a beautiful campus with wooden architecture for most buildings and lots of trees for those who prefer to be around a more natural setting. It is a peaceful school filled with many diverse people ranging from freshmen to graduates who are looking to fulfill their grad school requirements. Although there are constant hills and steps to take in order to get on campus, it comes in handy for those who are looking for some exercise.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus with good amount of protection and enforcement.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 50 plus clubs and I am sure you will find one that best fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is suitable for student that regulates themselves because teachers promote self regulation more than fix rules.

    Bang for the buck

    It's fair for local student and a bit pricy for international

    What to do for fun

    I think joining the student government and different clubs is the best part about the school because there always so much that is happening.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is average. Quiet pricy.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    It's a difficult school but it's definitely worth while.

    Tips for prospective students

    I thinking trying out different field of study and joining the student government would make your 2 year successful.

    In three sentences

    I love foothill a lot. It's a really good community college with a variety of activities and subject you can choice. I recommend this school to all students.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police there all the time. I feel very safe everytime

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs and activities but i am not sure about them myself.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that like nature.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes. It is certainly cheaper than a 4 year university. Foothill has there own programs for people under a certain income called EOPS.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs. Get involved!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor about classes to take.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus. Great career center. Friendly environment

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good- the speed limit is well-enforced and I see security patrolling around a bunch. I don't know about at night, but it's a well-lit, compact campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mostly ethnic or specialized clubs, may not help everyone. You can start your own relatively easily, and they tend to get some scratch from the administration.

    Great for these types of students

    People that want a two year degree, or want to transfer and save money. Those that are busy and need to take online classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this place under a concrete bridge that people hang out at, I don't quite understand it. There's an observatory with a 16 inch telescope too! :)

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty fantastic, assuming you can get the classes and times you need.

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot, though there's a bunch of a cool physical education classes, including golf and archery.

    Food and Dining

    Decent, I really like the coffee spots. The cafeteria food is largely untested- I usually eat off campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends entirely on whether you take tough teachers. You can get all the necessary credits here and break a sweat if you play your cards correctly. You need to go out and challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at this and compare it to a four-year school, knowing that the first two years of college are mostly general education. Four-year schools have a social bonus, but they may cost loads. My average tuition is under $500 a quarter, plus textbooks and supplies.

    In three sentences

    Foothill is a great starting place for people in most interests. However, massive budget cuts means that some people- such as those with special needs or tight schedules- may not be served well by the school. Some departments are downright awful, and faculty is occasionally inept.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there is always security around campus and there is even a Foothill Police station right on campus. Officers are willing to escort students to their cars after night classes and there are always people on guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus for a wide variety of interests, it is also easy to start a club on campus if a students is interested. Also, the Foothill Student Government is very involved in campus life and has events and activities going on for students weekly.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who what to get involved in school in aspects other than just their classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Foothill College has a Bamboo Garden!

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a community college, Foothill College is relatively inexpensive, especially for all of the free student programs it offers and the benefits students can get from campus life.

    Food and Dining

    The variety of food in the Cafe is relatively healthy, however it is somewhat costly.

    Dorm Life

    Foothill is a Community College and therefore a commuter school. Transportation to the school is very well planned out and efficient. It is right next to a freeway and has a train and bus system.

    Academic Rigor

    Foothill offers some very challenging and exciting courses, especially if a student decided to get involved in the Honors Program and take even more challenging classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd advise prospective students to take advantage of every opportunity available to them, including the special career and transfer programs, as well as to start planning their educational path as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Foothill College offers an amazing academic environment for students who are dedicated and very serious about their education. It offers many different types of involvement opportunities; such as volunteer events, internships, and student government activities. Foothill has one of the best transfer programs in the state of California with an amazing teaching staff and incredibly helpful counselors.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out what students have to offer on the bulletin boards around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The have a cute cafe in the middle of the campus. I think they should have a bulletin board across from the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. This rating was required.

    Academic Rigor

    This school expects academic honesty and honor. Be committed to your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the Career Center. Meet with a counselor at least every quarter and a peer counselor. Find what resources are available to you and be sure to network!

    In three sentences

    Foothill is a great resource campus. EOPS is goes above and beyond with helping low-income students. It's also a beautiful and clean campus.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus. But if you are willing to drive a bit, you can go to Santa Cruz and hit the beach or go to San Francisco. There's also a small amusement part (Great America).

    Food and Dining

    One cafeteria and the food choices are very limited. There's a entree, sandwich, taco/burrito, pasta section but it seems they close some of them after lunch hours. The food tastes okay but they are overpriced. There are no dining areas in walking distance off campus. If you have a car, you can drive a couple of miles and head over to Los Altos downtown, but that doesn't give you a lot of choices either. So hopefully, you'll have a long lunch hour so you can drive off a further distance and get some decent food...

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the courses can be challenging but it's not too difficult. The classes I've taken here were very informative. The classes definitely require studying outside of class and if you are lazy, you will not get the grade you want. I took mostly biology classes here (Physio & Anatomy, Nutrition, Microbiology, etc.) and I think these classes were challenging but very well taught. The professors do expect a lot of work and effort put into classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking at this school is a pain because there are so many people. Try to carpool or get a ride the first few weeks of school. The cafeteria food is overpriced and there are no restaurants in a walking distance. The science department, especially biology, is excellent here. And get ready to get toned legs... There are a lot of stairs here so you'll be walking up and down the stairs a lot.

    In three sentences

    This school is beautiful and isolated on a hill with lots of stairs and squirrels. Both online and on campus education are good. It's a good community college.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ver safe campus, has one PD on campus!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Steep hill to walk up, when it rains bring your umbrella as you'll get soaked walking from one class to the next!

    Bang for the buck

    Use all the facilities that foothill offers, pass the torch, adaptive learning, transfer and career center.... The list goes on!

    Food and Dining

    Good food Lil pricey!

    Dorm Life

    Not in dorm off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Be very involved to get you AA or AS, it is a FT status which means it can be vigorous depending on your personal study habits

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor right away and explain what your thinking your major is and the counselors are on it immediately!!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful, caring professors who assist in any way possible!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great environment, good teachers and many courses to take.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    This school is all about academics you go there and get business done and move on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Compared to other community colleges in the areas this is the one that meet all my requirements. It was relatively cheaper overall and had more accredited classes which meant the credits would be transferred.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college with all the classes needed for most CSU and UC schools. The campus is great and traffic is not too bad. The teachers are also great and informative.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    well there was this guy that was caught masturbating in the library and was never caught or turned in. whatevs

    What to do for fun

    you can marvel at the huge mansions in the hills that surround the campus, or they might make you feel bad about yourself. what ever.

    Food and Dining

    I like the food !

    Dorm Life

    no dorms its a jc

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear walking shoes, make sure to buy a parking permit because Paul Blart will give you a ticket everyday you dont have one, oh and dont even think about parking in the 10 minute parking slots, the rent-a-cops will watch your car like a hawk and at 10 min and 2 sec that ticket will be on your windshield.

    In three sentences

    Foothill has a beautiful campus and extremely knowledgable teachers. Their online classes and on-campus classes are both great to take and there's no drop off in the level of support. There are too many hills to walk up for class.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many places to hike and enjoy the nature. The school is very involved in helping the environment and there are clubs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus at the small cafe is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life since it a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on the instructor, but for the most part, the classes are rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to climbing lots of stairs. The parking lot is below the campus, but it is definitely worth the climb!

    In three sentences

    Foothill is a reasonably priced community college. It is filled with some fabulous and passionate educators. Foothill's location is beautiful, filling me with gratitude every day that I attend the campus.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is one of my favorite place at Foothill for the reason that they have an amazing veriety of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Foothill but if you do find yourself planing or living on your own and need support financially you could apply for finacial aid.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like many other public colleges, at foothill you get the full college experience such as independence, nonetheless, they have a really good support system for all student such as counciling, finacial aid, tutoring and office hours with professor.

    In three sentences

    If I could describe my opinion about Foothill I would say first it's a beautiful campus, very forest but relaxing and plesent such as the it's Smells like the wilderness and it have many places to sit down and study/work on homework.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Been there several quarters and have never seen police activity in relation to active criminal behavior. However, DO NOT ignore your parking pass.

    Great for these types of students

    International. Bay area. Science minded (it covers all areas) but science minded students will deeply appreciate this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Cant be beat. Especially considering the caliber of academics it provides.

    What to do for fun

    Any activity you can think of.

    Food and Dining

    Food in cafeteria is outstanding.

    Academic Rigor

    This school was created to prepare students for Stanford University. It covers prep for all schools, but originally it was to help students get ready for Stanford. (as I understand it).

    Tips for prospective students

    Know and love the admissions office. Know and love the counseling office. Know and love the financial aid office.

    In three sentences

    Scholastically robust. Campus esthetics are unparalleled. Intel for academic objectives thorough, with full knowledge and saturation.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is somewhat isolated from metropolitan areas. The campus security office is in a central location for easy access. My only complaint is that the school's no-smoking policy is not well enforced around the perimeters.

    Great for these types of students

    International students ESL students Adult & Non-traditional students Students who are pursuing a new career

    Bang for the buck

    If you take any classes in the physical sciences, engineering, mathematics, or chemistry, I HIGHLY recommend taking full advantage of the school's PSME Center. You can do your homework there, eat, use the computers, and get tutoring help at any time during open hours. It is a great place to study. The Veterinary Technology Program is one of the best in the nation. Animal hospitals and clinics seek out Foothill VT graduates for their staff. I also highly recommend making the most of the services here. I am happy to say that the Admissions, Financial Aid, and Student Counseling offices are all in the same building, which makes cross-coordination very easy. In another area of the campus, the Health Clinic, Counseling Services, and Campus Security offices are all in one building. Services are generally grouped together in buildings in this way so that you don't have to go traipsing across campus for related services. The library includes a computer lab and quiet study areas which are connected, but separate from the main entrances.

    What to do for fun

    I am afraid that I have not had much time for extracurricular activity, since I commute a long way. However, Foothill college does have a gym, and the campus is a nice place to walk around. They do have performing arts events and games.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, a bookstore with some snacks, a couple of mini-cafes, and vending machines. I would say that the food is okay, but not especially high quality. Portions are passable for what you pay. I recommend buying food in bulk elsewhere, bag-lunching, and saving the school food purchases for extras and treats.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but there are resources toward finding living arrangements and ride-shares.

    Academic Rigor

    Get a planner and be prepared to thoroughly apply yourself. Again, seek out instructors for office hours, and get study groups or partners. You can do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your options thoroughly. Do NOT be afraid to contact counselors and instructors; they are here to help you and to tell you what you need to do to meet your goals. Get started on your research and plans early. If you need General Education classes, you can take most of them (save for the lab classes) online.

    In three sentences

    Foothill College's professionalism is reflected in their website first. The information is clear and cleanly presented. Their counselors and instructors are also highly professional in their services.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security department is always on guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    Well-maintained, weekly club reps meeting to give update on what they have been doing or what they plan to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Saves a lot of money in getting a Bachelor's Degree. Instead of spending $40000 on a 4-year university, why not spend $20000 on 2 years of Community College plus 2 years of completing degree in a 4-year university? And plus, Foothill College has good transfer rates for qualified universities in California and Ivy League universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    International Night, or known by iNight is a talent show event held annually where International Students of many different countries and race shares their traditional culture in terms of performance such as traditional dance, songs and instruments. Student government welcomes everyone on campus to get involved in the smallest way possible, and annually holds campaigns for yearly positions in the association.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many local events on campus held by many different departments in the college itself. The student government has so many associations with other departments such as clubs, heritage months committees, and so many other departments which often makes events for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall is very huge, large and spacious. Many students of Foothill College come to eat, drink, study or simply hang out with their friends. The menu is always different everyday, and the price is very friendly as well! Foothill College has 2 coffee shops (KJ's Cafe) located on-campus where students get their morning coffees before class, or simply getting some refreshments or snacks around. They sell very good pastries as well!

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Very qualified classes and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to transfer to a 4-year university in 2 years, always remember to plan ahead and start looking for schools, and what to major in. But then if you really are confused about what to major in, you have come to the right place!

    In three sentences

    As an international student studying abroad, Foothill College is like a home to me. The students, the professors and the staffs have been very friendly and welcoming. Not to mention the courses offered are very qualified along with very experienced instructors.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, have police department on campus, and never any big problems on campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sporting events on campus are fun, we always have top athletics in state and have nationally ranked Football an Women's Basketball teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to get the most out of a 2 year institution.

    Bang for the buck

    You get exactly what you pay for as far as education.

    What to do for fun

    In the heart of the bay area there is a lot to do from cities, to beaches and other outdoor adventures, to a great art and music community. Plenty of professional and college sports teams around. And if over 21 Downtown Mountain View an Palo Alto have great night/weekend dining an bars.

    Food and Dining

    The catering company changes every year but they always provide the best dinning experience

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are competitive an you learn what you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend as much time in the program you plan on doing because they will give you many opportunities for resume building an scholarship abilities.

    In three sentences

    Great learning institute with professors that are understanding to their students need. They will take the time to help you with any questions or problems you have on the curriculum. Along with their great reputation they will help you move on to an institute that will get you to your career goals.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe but the cops are extremely strict on traffic laws. Be careful.

    Greek Life

    No clue.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any so I don't know.

    Great for these types of students

    Music technology students and DJs who make their own music.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of my classes are online so I don't know.

    Bang for the buck

    For a few thousand dollar music program, foothill offered it for little to no cost. So worth it.

    What to do for fun

    You can go chill out at the cafeteria or go to the music lab and make some music.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and really affordable. They give you a lot for a little price.

    Dorm Life

    I stay at home so I have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    It requires a lot of work and money for music tech but in the end it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going into music technology, look no further. Go here!

    In three sentences

    This school is the best school I have ever attended. I am currently enrolled in the music technology program and it is great and affordable. The teachers are awesome and fun.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. There are always polite police officers around and they are highly respectful and vigilant.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant

    Clubs and Activities

    Of which I know nothing of. Drama club only began recently so, I am far from the best judge.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for hard workers looking to better themselves and their academic record in order to move onto bigger and better schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful bamboo garden that not all the students know about. It's very peaceful.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering I'm a performing arts student, this was the most cost effective way for me to totally immerse myself in my art, and not break the bank. Worth more than you pay.

    What to do for fun

    As part of a program with less than 30 students, we have made ways to have fun with each other, but in regards to the school's initiative to provide entertainment, there is none. Make some friends, then you'll have no choice but to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Foothill is fairly isolated. You can usually either eat in the cafeteria or in an obscure little kiosk on the other side of the school. The food is fairly good, and there are a wide variety of options in the way of salads, soups and sandwiches. There is also a hot foods station that makes burgers and burritos. However, it's a little pricey and the food gets tiring after a few months. I have also had two friends complain from getting food poisoning from the cafe's clam chowder (months apart).

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't exist!

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the theatre dept. vary from quarter to quarter. The higher work load classes often intersect schedule wise. But, as previously stated- the harder you work, the better you do. You will pass your classes with minimal effort, but if you put in the effort you shall flourish!

    Tips for prospective students

    Foothill is a great place to go if you're looking for a specific program. I am a current second year at the theatre conservatory and have learned that Foothill gives you what you put into it. Take that for what you will!

    In three sentences

    Foothill is a high quality community college that feels like a full fledged university. It features specialized programs that are not generally offered for this price at this level particularly in vet tech, and theatre. It also is incredibly beautiful on campus.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take some GE class and go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    There are not lots of choices for students to choose. I usually bring food from home.

    Dorm Life

    I live outside of school. And I don't think there is any dorm at school. Usually students just go home to spend the rest of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    It will get the points off if students are coming late. And a little bit mistake on spelling and forgetting about the unit will drop the score down.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not hard to get a good grade as long as you follow the teacher and put effort into the courses. It's a helpful way to review the lesson in library.

    In three sentences

    This is good environment that fresh hill views and strong learning atmosphere taken along. Teachers and students are corporately practicing together. All different fields of knowledge are obtained efficiently from the class hours.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Greek Life

    It is nice to let the people know you.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can make your own group and activity

    Great for these types of students

    That live in groups and share their notes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Native Americans, Orientation Day.

    What to do for fun

    Music, I enjoy exercises.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried

    Dorm Life

    Students are in charge of finding a place.

    Academic Rigor

    Affected with placement tests, lost Math and English courses after placement, have to pay for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have time to talk with students, there are pass no pass policies, talk to Fin Aid and everybody you can . Speak up

    In three sentences

    It is up to you to have a place to study and to make your rights valuable, the desire to study is shared, the same qhen looking a college that fits to your possibilities, as far as I know.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For people who love to learn, enjoy the beauty of nature, and don't mind walking up lots of stairs and hills.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education and learning experience for the money. Foothill College offers good quality.

    What to do for fun

    You can play sports, join clubs, and read flyers about events happening around school. It is not hard to make friends and attend events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite expensive here, but it is here for your needs. You won't need to worry about being hungry or thirsty because food is easily accessible.

    Dorm Life

    Because Foothill College is a community college, dorms aren't offered here. You will need to live with your parents or on your own off campus, which can be expensive unless you room with other people.

    Academic Rigor

    Foothill College provides a good challenge so that you don't slack off and become lazy. You get a good balance of challenge and support and attention from professors so that you stay on track and learn the material effectively.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn, Foothill offers you what you need, from tutoring to counseling, as long as you're interested in their programs and ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Located on a natural and hilly setting, Foothill College provides quality education to their academically curious students. Professors are caring and nurturing, pay a good amount of attention to their students' needs, and respond to emails quickly. For a good education that fulfills academic needs, Foothill College is the place to be.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe, however we apparently had an armed robbery on campus last fall (2012). No one was hurt, but that's the only time I've ever heard of violence at Foothill. If you've ever seen the campus, it's on top of a hill. It's very serene, and away from the city, and in the middle of Los Altos Hills, so crime is a very rare occurrence.

    Greek Life

    None, just academic groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    Eh, I was in Student Government my first quarter and it was a waste of my time. However, if you're in to that kind of group, they pay about $3000 a year to do hardly anything but bear the title.

    Great for these types of students

    International Students, Low Income, Working, Re-entering, Students on break from another institution. Really anyone could benefit from Foothill.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of, I don't spend too much time on campus other than class.

    Bang for the buck

    So affordable. Taking 20 units (the maximum) will only cost you about $500 dollars. If you qualify for the BOG wavier, classes are free. Other expenses besides textbooks are probably all the same amount you were use to paying in high school. You'll really save a lot of money living at home. Although it's not as glamorous as having an apartment with friends, I'd advise you to save you're money for when you transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Explore San Francisco and San Jose, not much to do on campus though!

    Food and Dining

    Great coffee (Kjos) but the cafeteria is overpriced and the food is nothing special. I'd rather get food off campus or before class.

    Dorm Life

    There is none, it's a community college so it's largely a commuter school. This is one of Foothill's downfalls, however, you probably expected that from a community college. Consequently, there are less parties, particularly drinking, among students than other schools since everyone has to drive to see each other. However, Foothill does has a surprisingly good social scene for a community college. The International kids know how to party, go befriend them (especially the Brazilians and Russians).

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class. The calculus series at Foothill is pretty intense, especially if you're studying Economics like I am. You'll have to take the same level of calculus as the engineering, pre-med, and all other physical science students. I've taken some online classes that we're interesting, but way to easy, and full of busy work. My favorite courses have been in English and Economics, definitely have had the best professors there. Foothill hardly curves grades because there's such an achievement gap between the students. You have students like me who are straight out of high school and did well, you have students that didn't do well, you have adults who are coming back to school after 20 years, you have students with bachelor's wanting to take prerequisites for the Master's program, you have older students taking classes for fun, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    I was a 4.3 student in high school but chose to go to community college first to save money (and because I wasn't thrilled about the schools I did get in to). If you're a high school senior and you're in a similar position, I really recommended going to Foothill first, then transferring. My advice is to join the Honors Program because they have a special program called TAP (Transfer Alliance Program) with UCLA which almost guarantees your admission if you take 22 quarter credits of honors classes and complete your degree prep classes. I have a 85-90% chance of getting into UCLA as a transfer while my friend who first went to UCSC (Santa Cruz) knowing he wanted to transfer later, has only a 16% chance. Schools give priorities to transfer students from community colleges because they need a four-year education. Other students are generally seen as trying to trade up, especially going from one UC to another. Also, I found the honors classes to be more enjoyable than my other classes because the discussions are always better. For the other UCs (besides Berkeley) , there's a program called TAG (Transfer Alliance Guarantee) that saves a spot for you at any UC as long as you finish you're IGETC (general education requirements) and you're major prep classes. Check out Assist.org to find out which classes count for these requirements, and what classes are transferable. Also, if you're considering transferring to a private school, I recommend going for your A.A. while at Foothill. That way, when you transfer, you won't have to take any more lower division courses.

    In three sentences

    Best community college you'll find around here. The campus look like you're in Japan almost. Lots of International students.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a Japanese bamboo garden in the middle of the campus where it's nice to sit an relax.

    Food and Dining

    KJ's Cafe has some yummy sandwiches!

    Academic Rigor

    There are quite a few challenging classes that are taught by amazing teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be at school at least an hour before your class on the first day of the quarter - then you'll have time to find parking.

    In three sentences

    Foothill college has a beautiful campus and some of the best teachers I've had the opportunity to be taught by. The transfer center counselors are all so helpful! I would take classes here just for fun.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science majors

    Bang for the buck

    Probably the lowest tuition cost per unit compared to many states.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the Japanese culture garden

    Food and Dining

    Mostly pricey in terms of drinks and foods. The dining facility is not bad though. Also nice outdoor tables.

    Academic Rigor

    Not strict but tailored for students to be more receptive of information

    Tips for prospective students

    Commit time to staying and doing homework. Don't take more units than what you can handle.

    In three sentences

    Many good professors. Excellent science program.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for any type of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Make sure you have a safe decent car because the roads go uphill to find parking to get to classes.

    What to do for fun

    The campus itself looks like you are on a nice hiking trail or some other place other then a school. It's a very nice scene to look at at school.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not too shabby. There is a cafe and alot of vending machines near by classes to make sure you have something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend everyone to consider foothill if they decide to go to a community college. Whatever you are considering to major in or just interested in a intro college course and any other courses to brush up your skill, u will most likely benefit going here.

    In three sentences

    I've attended 3 other community colleges before coming to Foothill. My first impression was wow this campus is very big and beautiful. The people and environment was great I actually felt like everyone was here to learn and not just a bigger version of a high school like other community colleges I've been to.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police stationed right in the bottom of the campus center and they are there at all times. You will often see police cars circling the campus and there is always someone to reach very easily. I never felt unsafe on this campus, not even at night! Great area and safe place to go to school!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on! If Student Government is not throwing an activity, then the Transfer Center or international office is doing it. There are University transfer days, where many Universities come to the campus and help you with your decision. We have private sessions where you can talk to reps of Colleges and sessions that help you filling out your application. There are over 40+ clubs every quarter and it is almost impossible not to find anything you will like, and if you don't - start a club!

    Great for these types of students

    I think this campus is great for every student. It works for someone who just wants to get those last 2 requirements or for students that want to start out as freshmen and then transfer as a junior. The campus is very diverse and has many support programs for financially weak students, minorities or single parents. There is a place for everyone and this is what makes this experience so unique.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a japanese tea garden, which is this beautiful little place where you can relax between the bamboo or learn something about japanese culture. We also have the KCI - which is a center where students can use any adobe software on a Apple or PC and do their own design work without paying for the software.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best option you can get for a Community College. There are honors classes, the transfer agreement program with the University of California Campuses and many resources available to you every day. If you want to transfer and you are thinking of a College, this is the place for you!

    What to do for fun

    The campus is just beautiful and invites to outdoor activities. You can take any PE class and use the pool, gym, tennis court, tracks or soccer field at most of the times of the day. There are also a lot of student government activities going on every Wednesday and the clubs on campus are always a great way to meet new people. We have each quarter about 40 clubs on campus and it is very easy to start your own, if there is nothing there for you :)

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus is very nice and offers a wide selection of food items. There is a salad bar, prepackaged food, but also food station where they freshly prepare your meal. The prices are sometimes a little steep, but there is a wide selection for every kind of wallet. There are 2 cafes on campus that provide coffee, sodas, hot chocolate and other goods things and are open everyday from 8 am to 7 pm.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms for this campus, but there is plenty of apartments located in the neighboring cities. Mountain View is where most of the students are located and the school is easy to reach by bus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult, but also very rewarding. Overall the quality of instruction is fabulous and you will be well prepared for a four year institution. The College is on the quarter system, which can be a challenge sometimes, since things just fly right by you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be part of Student Government, a club or the entrepreneur center on campus, all of these things will benefit you greatly for your transfer application.

    In three sentences

    Best Community College in California for transfer students. The College has a Honors program to increase transfer rates with the University of California. It also has a great network to help students succeed.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A good amount of this school is made up of international students. If you are looking for a school filled with diversity than this is a great place to be among many cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    For most classes, you are getting the same if not a better education than you would at a state school because you are being taught by some of the best professors. Most of my professors are active in their field and have PHDs. The level of education that you receive at foothill makes it an incredible bargain.

    What to do for fun

    This school is very much athletically oriented. The most fun I have had at this school was on the swim team. Practices were a lot of work, but it is well worth the effort to be on a team at Foothill.

    Food and Dining

    There is a serve-yourself style food cafeteria with a lot of variety. It's very much like an eating hall that you would find on a 4 year college campus. There is also a couple cafes around the campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus. I live at home and drive 22 miles there and back from school. Almost all of the students drive lengthy commutes, but the education at foothill is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you keep up with the workload and stay organized than you should not have a problem passing the classes. The difficulty of work has been no more difficult than some of my high school classes. Be sure to sit at the front and center of each class to get your full moneys worth of your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for classes when registration begins or else you will not get what you want. The first few weeks of every quarter is pretty hectic as far as traffic goes so also plan on leaving early to account for traffic and finding a spot to park. Be sure to use the counselors and see them a minimum of once a quarter to be sure that you are on course with your academic goals.

    In three sentences

    Foothill is all about business. Students come here to not only get a degree or transfer, but they expect and education that will expand their horizons. It is a clean friendly campus of dedicated students and athletes.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent on campus security.

    What to do for fun

    sporting events such as the 49er games are close by.

    Food and Dining

    there are many food courts around campus.

    Dorm Life

    foothill has no dorms.there are many off campus apartments at affordable rates.

    Academic Rigor

    foothill has been called by some as the harvard of community colleges.excellent classes with excellent instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have a chance to attend foothill you should do it.enroll when it's time because classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    foothill is a beautiful campus.the people are nice there and the education is top notch.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    One of the best community colleges in California.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many food options, just two little kiosks and the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Not an option for community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the classes seriously, and work closely with counselors.

    In three sentences

    Foothill has excellent professors and challenging classes. The students are diverse and serious in their pursuit of education. The campus is beautiful and there are two options.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Clubs and Activities

    business clubs

    Great for these types of students

    asians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    pretty girls

    Bang for the buck

    cheap

    What to do for fun

    girls

    Food and Dining

    not good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I like it

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard

    In three sentences

    Pretty good. I like it. The campus is beautiful

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really great campus safety! Students receive text alerts and calls from campus security.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many various clubs to join and the student ambassador program is big for many students on campus. The academic clubs especially are helpful for those who are undecided on their major and want to learn more about different majors.

    What to do for fun

    Aside from joining clubs and getting involved on campus, there are nearby shops and cafés for browsing during long breaks between classes, including the Main Street shopping center and the Stanford Shopping Center.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food can be pricey, but there is also KJ's Café and off campus there are shopping centers, coffee shops, and fast food places 5-10 minutes from campus.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    The fast-paced quarter system requires dedication and hard work to stay on top of each of your classes. However, the teachers at Foothill are all really passionate about helping students with individual needs and want to see students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your counselor and make an educational plan for the next two years. Also, check in with your counselor from time to time to make sure you are on track. Check Rate My Professor before registering for classes in order to ensure a good quarter. Also, join clubs and be active on campus!

    In three sentences

    Foothill College is one of the best community colleges. Its beautiful campus, friendly students, and hard working and helpful teachers all make it a strong school. It is a great place to get general education classes out of the way in order to transfer to a four-year university.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs available on campus and there is also computer internet access in the library.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would especially recommend science major students to attend foothill if they want to complete all of their science classes in time and being able to take a good teacher.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice and the classrooms are pretty new. The teachers here are a lot better at teaching their students compared to the other community colleges near by. It is easier to get into science classes here due to their larger classrooms and the number of classes that are offered each quarter.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively safe. The road set-up is a bit dangerous for pedestrians.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every Wednesday is 'Club Day' on campus. All the various clubs set up tents in the quad for newcomers to check them out. You have clubs for everything from biking, to business, to dentistry.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are open-minded and focused on creating a brighter future for yourself and the world, you'll like Foothill.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Besides the bamboo forest, I've heard rumors that Foothill has a pet horse. I personally have never seen her.

    Bang for the buck

    Foothill is a beautiful school that has something for every type of person.

    What to do for fun

    Not everybody knows this, but Foothill College has a bamboo forest thick with trees and nice benches to enjoy the scenery.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe located on campus along with breakfast and lunch options. The cafeteria is a large, bright room with a fireplace, and amazing view of Los Altos Hills, and a grand piano for those daring enough to play for an audience of strangers.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms located on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    A majority of the students take themselves and their academnic careers very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're an incoming student, be sure to keep in mind that traffic gets a bit hectic in the morning and night classes are always an option. There are multiple parking lots located all over campus (I thought there was only one for my first quarter, and had a hard time of it).

    In three sentences

    Foothill College is located in Los Altos Hills where the trees are abundant and the air is fresh. Not only is there a well-equipt library open to students, but multiple computer labs with the best apple technology availbable for use. The campus is full of an eclectic group of people, all striving to make the best out of their time there.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though I have yet to be on campus in the evenings, I have been walking around Foothill early in the morning and throughout the day, and have never once felt unsafe. There are usually plenty of people walking around, and police officers do occasionally make their presence known, which helps keep things calm.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are ready for college but not ready to go away, people who are younger than average but seeking more flexibility, people who wish to balance a quality education with cost.

    Food and Dining

    Foothill's dining has never been mind-blowing, but recently they've cut down and down on the number of options, the number of staff working the dining hall, and the amount of food that's made on the spot. It's generic, and while it's filling, you're really best off bringing your own food or eating off campus, especially at these prices.

    Dorm Life

    Foothill is a non-residential campus, so I fail to see how this could apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, I don't have much trouble with Foothill's classes. There's a decent balance of work in most of them, though some professors can swing one way or the other. So long as you keep on top of what's going on, you're fine. But I wouldn't call the classes coast-able either. A happy medium is what you'll get here--great if you want to work and keep your GPA up, but it can drag a little if you're the type of person who constantly seeks a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Walk around campus a little bit, see how you like the environment. Make sure to get in with the disabilities office as soon as possible if you are eligible, as it can get tough as the quarter goes on. Definitely email professors who are teaching classes you're interested in--they're all wonderful, supportive, and incredibly responsive to any questions or issues you may have.

    In three sentences

    Best for in-between. Calm and clean. Supportive and informational.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With a location in Los Altos Hills, Foothill's campus is relatively safe. There have been a couple of scares in the last two years, but overall if you take practical precautions (like locking your car doors and not wandering around the campus alone at night) you shouldn't have a problem at Foothill.

    Clubs and Activities

    While there is a variety of clubs, none of the clubs do much. The International Student Union occasionally has an event or two, but club life is fairly low key at Foothill (though the chaotic Club Day each quarter would have you think differently).

    Great for these types of students

    This college is wonderful for students who may have struggled through high school but would now like to focus on academics, or students who graduated high school early but are not yet ready for university life. Needless to say, Foothill is geared towards students who intend to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Foothill is consistently rated one of the best community colleges in California, and it is easy to see why. The campus is beautiful, the professors are well-qualified, there is a wide range of available classes (including online options), and there is a lot of support for transfer students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a beautiful Japanese garden and teahouse, but the campus is more academically focused than De Anza's. Though sister colleges, Foothill is less focused on the social aspect of college life than De Anza is.

    Food and Dining

    The food is varied, though mediocre, and there are a wide range of vegan options alongside the typical junk food, but it is overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    We don't actually have dorms at Foothill.

    Academic Rigor

    While Foothill offers a good variety of classes with excellent teachers, the academics are not exactly rigorous. After nearly three years, I have maintained a 3.91 GPA with no problem. I do think standards could be a little bit higher, as I feel, particularly in English classes, teachers cater to students who are only taking the class as a requirement or international students who may not be used to taking classes in English. Online classes are extremely easy; teachers tend to focus more on their face-to-face classes, so as long as you complete the assigned work your grade ought to remain at least an A-.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since most students come to Foothill with the intention to transfer, it is extremely important that you figure out your intended major and the college you would like to transfer to, make an appointment with your counselor, and figure out all the classes you will need to take. This probably ought to be done within your first two quarters at Foothill, particularly if you are set on transferring within two years. Also, be prepared for a more limited social life than you may perhaps be used to, as most of the student body is focused on transferring to a university as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Foothill College is a fantastic community college. The campus is beautiful, the teachers incredible, and the resources plentiful. There is also a huge amount of information for students planning to transfer to four-year universities.