Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Fordham University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 out of 26 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lincoln Center is more for fine arts majors, and from what I hear, people tend to be more open ( politically, religiously, etc) on that campus...well they are in Manhattan, one would expect to hear that I suppose. I am living on the Rose Hill Campus, and this campus is pretty much for all the other majors out there...the College of Business Administration is a very nice program, they have so many activities and opportunities for business majors with direct contacts in the city itself.. and did I mention that the Rose Hill Campus is exquisite? Come visit!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! I know it's hard to focus, and all this advice just adds to the pressure you feel what with SATS, GPA, and the perfect college application... However, just remember to keep the final goal in mind. Know what you want for yourself in life, and remember that learning is not something adults invented for us to bore us to death, or because they want us to suffer. Remember to learn because knowledge about the world in which you live should be interesting to you just because! I hope you get what I mean... Just remember, don't let all the pressure of trying to get that A or getting the perfect score blind you from the beauty in learning for the sake of learning. Learning should inspire, always remember that.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit on the expensive side, but the education and Jesuit tradition in excellence is something I cannot put a price on. Besides, there is so much help out there: grants, scholarships, loans

    Am enjoying being here

    There is enough diversity here for me to open up and explore different ideas and people, and learn things from different perspectives. Besides enjoying the learning atmosphere, the physical atmosphere itself is breathtaking. It is a world separate from the Bronx neighborhood once you're inside the gates.

    Am learning a lot

    Being in such a close proximity to New York City definitely has its cultural benefits, mainly exposure to diversity and opportunities one might not get in a small college town. One also learns a lot even in the Bronx Campus, where one is exposed to a culture and lifestyle one might not normally have the opportunity to experience...just remember street smarts when interacting in the neighborhood!!

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fordham is for curious, bright students who love learning and always question what they're being taught. If you love the thrills of city life and want to get more out of your college experience than a degree and a job, Fordham is right for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you make it to Fordham, be prepared to think A LOT and participate in class, because professors want students to be active in their education and prove that they can be productive, intelligent members of society. Fordham encourages students to be well-rounded, so get involved in as much as you can, especially community-service and volunteer activities.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is an expensive private university, Fordham's financial aid and grant/scholarship opportunities are very generous and need-based for the most part. The quality of life is top-notch, and the dorms and buildings are much nicer than your average state school. If you want to go to Fordham, they will work very hard to make it possible for you if money is an issue. I wouldn't be at Fordham if not for their financial aid and scholarship department, and their work study jobs pay very well and are very flexible to your study schedules. I don't come from a wealthy family by any means and yet I've been able to live comfortably at Fordham thanks to their support.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love everything about life at Fordham! To put it simply, I've never had more fun in my life than I have this past semester. Fordham's Campus Activities Board does a great job at planning exciting events and concerts on campus regularly, and there is always something going on to look forward to. Truly though, the most amazing part about Fordham is its proximity to Manhattan and the endless opportunities for entertainment that are a quick subway ride away. I can honestly say it is impossible to be bored while living here. When I want a break from the crazy city life, Fordham's campus is so calm and peaceful that I can relax by a tree and read a book or just hang out in the student center. Whether you crave the hustle and bustle of New York City life or the peace and safety of a lovely tree-filled private campus, Fordham is the place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    With the benefits of the most culturally diverse and intellectually-stimulating city in the world at your fingertips, as well as a curriculum following the Jesuit tradition of educating the whole person, Fordham University offers the best education possible. I came to college expecting to learn a bunch of facts and skills to help prepare me for medical school, but I never realized my college education would help me develop my character as a socially-conscious human being. Fordham strongly encourages its students to become conscientous and productive members of society with a myriad of service-learning opportunities and chances to improve the surrounding neighborhoods of the Bronx outside of campus. Its proximity to Manhattan also offers unique opportunities to experience culturally stimulating sites and make vital connections that will offer advantages in the job market. Not to mention its rigorous but manageable curriculum that forces students to think critically rather than simply memorize facts. All in all, I am incredibly glad I chose Fordham University, and would recommend it to anyone with a thirst for knowledge and a desire to change the world for the better.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fordham is great if you: 1) Like/Love NYC 2) Want a real college campus (even though it's situation right in the Bronx) 3) Want a school that makes it easy to become involved in a big way

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep those grades up and practice for the SAT. Fordham's standards are rising every year as the applicant pool increases so it's important for students to find a way to stand out in the crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Fordham is very expensive. Some, including my parents, say that no college should have the right to charge this much. However, putting the price to the side, it really is a great place. For me, the campus is the perfect size and it is easy to make friends and become friendly with the administration. It is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Fordham is a great place if you love New York City! I am a student at the Rose Hall campus in the Bronx but there is also a campus in Lincoln Center (Manhattan). Nevertheless, both give students easy access to everywhere in the city. Not many other schools can say that!

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers are extremely interested in their field and have the highest degree possible in the field. However, there are the occasional teachers who are teaching only out of requirement.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes I think FCLC is too safe. You have to show your idea ALL THE DAMN TIME, and it's a little ridiculous to have to get overnight passes 24 hours in advance, especially when it comes to having your commuter friends stay over. I feel like people who don't live in the dorms are treated like criminals. I mean, I know that it's NYC, but Fordham could totally stand to lighten up when it comes to students who live off-campus. You accepted them into the school too!

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm really only part of the newspaper at FCLC, and it's an amazing club - but doesn't really allow me to participate in many other extracurriculars. There aren't as many clubs at Fordham as I would like...and many of the clubs that exist don't seem particularly active.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for EXTREMELY independent, motivated students with a variety of interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honestly, I've been here for a year and I have no idea. FCLC is not school spirit-y AT ALL, and maybe our tradition is to have no tradition at all. It sounds cheesy but I think in it's own way, FCLC allows each of its students to be a blank canvas - which for the right student, is great, but for some it can be overwhelming.

    Bang for the buck

    Fordham is SO expensive. They are very, very generous with aid and scholarships though (I think something like 90% of students have aid of some sort). Right now I'm paying more for room and board than tuition - which is completely ridiculous - but, hey, it is NYC. Fordham gives you a great education, and also extensive opportunities to apply your classroom knowledge to internships. Dorms at FCLC are really nice, and definetly the best bet for your money unless you plan to live in pretty dangerous areas like Washington Heights or the Lowe East Side.

    What to do for fun

    I've heard that Rose Hillers (I'm pretty sure that isn't accepted lingo at Fordham, don't start using it) frequent 3 bars in the Bronx on a pretty regular basis, as well as throw massive college parties both on and off campus. LCers seem to have a more varied approach to fun - we are in Manhattan after all. We go out to eat, see shows, go to the movies, explore NYC, and also take in the bars/nightlife scene of NYC. Fun at FCLC is generally off-campus, so it can get really expensive.

    Food and Dining

    Ugh. Food at Fordham is the worst. FCLC doesn't even have a real cafeteria - although they are building a new one to go along with the new freshman dorms which will supposedly have an all-you-can-eat format (as normal schools do).

    Dorm Life

    FCLC doesn't have much of a dorm community. You probably expect a college dorm to be the kind of place where all doors are open and you can just stroll on in to any room you choose, befriend your entire floor, and squeeze in 30+ freshman into your RA's room on a Friday night to watch a movie. That's not how it's going to be at FCLC (although I can't speak for the Rose Hill campus, it may be different there). Dorms at FCLC have bathrooms, kitchens, and living rooms so there is no need to hang out in common areas or even leave your room. Doors are also expected to be locked at all times. It isn't that it's impossible to make friends at FCLC - you just have to be the kind of person who is both independent yet willing to boldy walk up to someone, shake their hand and say 'Hey, let's be friends!'. There will be a new freshman dorm built in 2014 that won't be apartment-style, so that could definetly change the whole dorm atmosphere!

    Academic Rigor

    I think it really depends on your major and who you are, but I've found Fordham to be extremely academically intense. I'm studying math/pre-med as well as classics/literature, so I do have a lot on my plate, but I've seen that both the humanities and non-humanities disciplines here are rigorous. There is a lot of work that goes into each and every class, and professors expect a sometimes overwhelming amount from their students. Sometimes you'll want to confront your professor and say, 'Hey, I'm a college freshman - not a PhD candidate!', but trust me - no matter how annoying it can be, you will learn a great deal and get a lot out of your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever campus you attend, know that the food sucks. Rose Hill is a lot better than Lincoln Center (there is an actual cafeteria there), but be prepared to spend a lot of money at Fordham on basic essentials that you wouldn't have to worry about at other schools (like food). This holds more true for residents at FCLC than anyone else - be prepared to be independent, and be ready to take on that role as soon as your parents drop you off for orientation. There is no coddling period at Fordham.

    In three sentences

    Fordham Rose Hill (FCRH) is something straight out of a college movie - go to this campus if you want the 'Animal House' experience. Fordham Lincoln Center (FCLC) on the other hand, is more an eclectic mix - you will definetly not get the tradition college experience here. Go to FCLC if you want to meet people from all walks of life while experiencing life right in the middle of Manhattan.

  • 10/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for hard-working, friendly, goal-oriented students. Also great for students who want to live in NYC but have a traditional college campus/community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of Fordham's students choose to be very involved in both Fordham and the neighborhood outside Fordham through leadership roles, clubs, sports, music, volunteering, etc. If you're serious about wanting to attend Fordham, it would be a good idea to reflect in your application the ways you strive to be an active member of your community (and then follow through once you're here!).

    Bang for the buck

    Fordham is extremely expensive, as are most four-year private colleges. However, in my experience, Fordham can be fairly generous with academic merit scholarships. There are a great number of opportunities available to you at Fordham, but it is important to make a realistic decision when it comes to finances, as well. If Fordham fits you financially, I would definitely consider this as one of your top choices. If not, I would suggest looking at schools that are more affordable for you. In my opinion, student loans are NOT worth it. You have no idea what will happen in four years: how your career/academic plans will change, what the economy will be like, etc., so if at all possible, make plans for college where you can avoid racking up loans. Fordham has some great opportunities for students to take advantage of... But if you work hard, make smart decisions, and don't have plans for world domination, you can be successful at any school---whether that means starting with community college, attending an in-state college, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    College is an adjustment for everyone, and some students struggle more than others. I definitely struggled my first year or two, and transferring to a school closer to home was something I considered. That being said, I think it's who you are and what your attitude is more than the college, itself, that really defines the experience you'll have. If you put yourself out there by getting involved with clubs, sports, musical groups, or other activities (AND you have a positive attitude), you'll meet truly wonderful people here. Student clubs always have tons of programming going on throughout the week and on the weekends, so there are always fun, wholesome things to do. There is a large drinking culture, but you definitely don't have to be a part of it to fit in and find a nice group of friends. And of course, there's plenty of other things to do if drinking is not your thing. It's easy to get to the different boroughs of NYC via train, subway, or bus (but sometimes it can take awhile), and there really is always something fun to do in New York and even on right on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Fordham truly has some amazing professors and courses. Naturally, you'll also run into some not so awesome ones as well, but my positive experiences have far outweighed the negative experiences. I have found that the overwhelming majority of professors take a genuine interest in students when students work hard and participate in their class, produce quality work, and seek professors out in office hours when necessary. The core requirements are extensive, and for the first couple years you'll be taking a variety of courses from philosophy to literature to math that may or may not correspond to your academic interest. Make sure you know what you're getting into as far as the core requirements go if you choose Fordham, and know that sometimes you'll get bored and/or frustrated with the requirements. That being said, also be open to the classes you take. I've had the opportunity to take interesting courses and learn some really interesting things by taking core classes outside my major.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will be safe if you're smart. On-campus has impeccable security (which can be annoying) and keeps out all the riff-raff. But, since it is in the Bronx, you MUST have common sense. Don't walk alone, don't flaunt your iPhone, don't venture too far off the beaten path and you'll be safer.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club sports are a great way to make friends...not too intimidating as far as skill but good camaraderie. There are a few clubs worth trying out...others scarcely meet. Dorms offer a great way to find clubs to join. Great campus ministry.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for international political economy, business, and liberal arts. Perfect if you are looking for a school with Jesuit morals and catholic rules (lots of security and strict guest policies). Lincoln Center is apparently great for dance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Keating Hall is absolutely beautiful as well as the university church and other older buildings. Really there are so many gems on campus...great for tours but bad for tuition. Lots of ghost stories and legends for the older buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive for the average, middle class, college student. Their financial aid department is atrocious so don't expect much help from them. Scholarships are a must. It seems like most of our tuition money goes to campus beautification instead of better food and entertainment.

    What to do for fun

    The are lots of in dorm programs but other than that most fun things are in the city. There are Ram Vans that can take you direct to Lincoln center and a D train and Metro North station not to far from campus. There is a lot to do if you make the effort and get off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awful and once again expensive. Cafeteria food is complained about by most students because while it is edible it is sometimes sickeningly bad. The choices are minimal outside of the cafe and you'll probably end up spending a couple hundred dollars on mediocre food at other campus eateries. Off campus choices at Rose Hill are amazing because of the closeness to Arthur Ave. (Little Italy). GREAT ITALIAN FOOD!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice, but expensive. I would highly advise living ON CAMPUS your freshman year; it is a lot easier to make friends that way and the programs are helpful and fun. Most dorms do not have a/c so beware in the hotter months.

    Academic Rigor

    The core classes are average as far as difficulty; if you show up, take notes, do assignments, and study for tests, you're likely to do well. Upper level classes can be rigorous so researching teachers in advance is a must.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to think hard about whether you would like to live in the city (Lincoln Center) or in a more traditional college setting (Rose Hill). HUGE differences! NYC Schools can be expensive...factor money for food, travel, and activities into your budget.

    In three sentences

    Fordham has a beautiful campus with a lot to offer students looking for a catholic university, liberal arts school, or business program. The programs offered are diverse and there are plenty of internships for all sorts of majors, because of it's close proximity to the city. Expensive, and mediocre cafeteria food but lots of positives.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It seems like this school is for everyone and fits to the interests of everybody!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships! Especially if you really want to go to Fordham.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school. I got some financial aid, but it's not enough and it forces me to take out loans. I applied for many scholarships, but I haven't won a single one. Nonetheless, I would attend Fordham over my other choices, as Fordham was my #2 choice.

    Will enjoy being here

    Even though I live in New York City, I can tell I'm going to enjoy going to Fordham. The atmosphere is really unique and there are people from all over the country! I've met people from California, New Jersey and Illinois during orientation. What is really nice about going to Fordham is that I am able to stay in contact with my friends who are going to CUNYs or schools like NYU and whatnot!

    Will learn a lot

    It seems like the school is really good! I will be attending the Lincoln Center campus. I visited the campus last April, and it is beautiful! The teachers seem really friendly and outgoing. I can't wait to have my first class on August 31st!

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This is a bar school. There are no frats, and the bars do not card so that is what the majority of the party scene consists of. Mention the local Tinkers to any Fordham alum and they will be able to tell you a million stories about the times they had there. There are also house parties most weekend which can be good sometimes and terrible others, it all depends on the night. However, the school is small enough that i promise you will make great close friends, and these bars will become like your second home. The city is another great option for entertainment with a million opportunities, however sometimes it can be quite expensive.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall known as the cafe is not very good. The workers are rude and careless, and the food it average at best. However some of the smaller places to eat around campus are much better. I would recommend getting the meal plan with the most flex dollars, trust me you will blow through them quickly!

    Dorm Life

    Each freshman dorm has quite a different feel to it. Alumni court south, where i lived, seems to be the most social and community oriented dorm. The people are very friendly, and for the most part students seemed to get along. The lounge always seemed to be full, and people were very welcoming and social. The bathrooms could get pretty disgusting, and were not cleaned amazingly, but i suppose that is expected in any college dorm. The one thing i did not particularly like is the visitation policy. Any student from another dorm must be singed in after 5 PM, and cannot stay past 3:30 am otherwise the school will charge you.

    Academic Rigor

    I considered the general freshman required classes such as finite math and composition to be very manageable. However, they tend to be quite writing and paper heavy. For composition I wrote about two three page papers each week, in addition to 3-5 slightly longer essays throughout the semester for classes such as philosophy and history. I did not care for my theology class at all, and i found that those students who had attended catholic high schools were at quite an advantage. For the most part i have heard that business students have it relatively easier, and have a more manageable work load. They are typically the ones that can afford to go out on weeknights and still pull decent grades.

    In three sentences

    Fordham has a contained campus and takes on the community feel of a smaller liberal arts college, yet the excitement and freedom of New York city is just minutes away. The Jesuit influence is minimal, and i hardly noticed or thought about it's presence aside from theology class. The work level is manageable and can be challenging at times, but it honestly depends on your major, your professors, and the classes you are taking.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of what you have to do in school. Fordham is filled with some of the best students from all around the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price looks scary, Fordham is willing to work with you on payments and it is worth every single dollar.

    Am enjoying being here

    Fordham's social environment is amazing. The people are nice and there are ton of events to participate in on and off campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot. Classes are fun and engaging. Professors usually have flexible office hours and are willing to work with you.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are all over the campus and the entire campus is surrounded by a tall iron fence with guarded gates. Just as long as you don't go wandering around the Bronx at 3 in the morning, you're pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Fordham, though I've heard tell that some want to change that...

    Clubs and Activities

    There's practically every type of club you can think of here. Ballroom dancing, modern language, jazz, writing, acting. Take your pick, or create your own!

    What to do for fun

    There's the Botanical Gardens across the road from the main entrance, and the Bronx Zoo just down the road. If neither of those appeal to you, you can hop on the Ram Van for $3 or the Metro-North for $4.50 and go into Manhattan for the day. Otherwise, the campus itself constantly offers all kinds of diversions for students to attend, including rallies, concerts, and many more things.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options regarding places and types of food. In the places where meal swipes aren't accepted, the prices are normal enough. All the food is quite good.

    Dorm Life

    This depends mostly upon your roommate(s). If you get along with them, it'll be great. If not...just hang in there.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your professors and your classes, the workload can be pretty tough. Don't expect an easy ride. You'll have to write lots of papers, study for all sorts of quizzes, and do a ton of reading. It's worth it in the end, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Order your books early - perhaps email your professors to ask which books you'll be needing. Set aside time to study for your tests - college is harder than high school!

    In three sentences

    Fordham University has a beautiful campus, close to all kinds of public transporation, as well as the Bronx Zoo and the Botanical Gardens, which students get special access to. There is a broad range of fantastic and interesting classes open to the students. Many of these classes also incorporate resources found in Manhattan, enouraging students to travel into the city and expand their knowledge.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fordham security does a great job of allowing only the people who are supposed to be on campus in. Shuttles are provided for students to off-campus locations to ensure security.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist. And I love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many clubs. Any interest can find a club, if not make one. The budget for new clubs is very generous.

    Great for these types of students

    There are many preppy, private high school students. Also, international students make up more than 10%. Anyone from anywhere can fit in, however, because every niche has a club or group.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gymnasium is the oldest gym in the NCAA, the volume during basketball games gets ridiculously loud. It is also the 3rd most haunted campus in the US. Enter if you dare.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot of money to go there. Spend wisely and take FULL advantage of all that has to be offered.

    What to do for fun

    NYC is 20 minutes away. The Bronx, less it's poor connotation, is a magnificent place full of wonderful places and people. I experienced the Bronx and love it.

    Food and Dining

    Every place can get repetitive, as does Fordham. However, there is plenty of diversity and off-campus food is arguably top 10 in the nation at the highly regarded Arthur Ave.

    Dorm Life

    Gets exponentially better in terms of size and cleanliness after Freshman year. It can be a fun place if you so choose to make it that. The RHA student government does a great job of providing programs and information for students to make their residential hall experience the best it can be.

    Academic Rigor

    If you focus and manage your time, should not be a problem. Nevertheless,difficulty is evident and you will see yourself improving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know as much as you can about the school before you enter. Once you all about the school, I'm sure you will fall in love. Also, think about your longevity of life and you will see Fordham will prepare you for that.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University is a family with open arms waiting for you to walk in. Once you enter into the family, you are embraced and encouraged to tap into all of the family's resources. These resources WILL help your intellectual, moral and interpersonal development.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, the campus is in the Bronx. But it is entirely gated with multiple security guards at every entrance, as well as at every dorm. Trust me, the campus itself is one of the safest places on earth. When you walk off campus it is generally safe but be smart and aware, for example, at night walk with a buddy. You should do that at any school regardless of the area.

    Greek Life

    There is none. Which many believe is a positive thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    We do have a lot of clubs and volunteer services that would look great on resumes and are enjoyable, but we do not have many fun clubs for the sake of having fun. It is because we do not have a big student body, but every year more are created.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, open-minded, and energetic people who would love exploring New York City while also interested in getting a good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one fun tradition is spring weekend. It occurs the last weekend before finals and it is 3 days of non-stop fun! They bring a dj in on friday night (last year was White Panda, this year was 3lau) and then on saturday is free food, activities, and a free concert (this year was Jay Sean) and everyone is out and having fun. And then on sunday they have a comedian and other activities (this year was Dave Coulier, uncle Joey from Full House). It is a great send off to the end of the year and finals week.

    Bang for the buck

    Here is the thing. Fordham is expensive. if you dont have a lot of spare cash and have to take out loans in order to come here, I would not do it. It is a fantastic school that will offer you a great education and memorable experiences but there are other school that will do the same and cost less. I think its worth going but the price is as high as it get for college tuition and that is too high a buck to be worth the bang. A great education that can be received at equivalent universities is not worth $200,000 of debt. However, most of the similarly ranked schools will be just as expensive, so if you going to pay that much anyway, then definitely come to Fordham. It is so expensive because it is in a prime location in one of the most expensive places to live in the world. But you will receive great education equal to or better than anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Here's the best part about Fordham, there is always something fun to do! At other schools you tend to be stranded on campus with only having the option of watching a sports game or some less-than exciting campus activity. At Fordham, you have those things, but also all of New York City! Your a 20 minute ramvan drive away from Lincoln Center, a metro north ride away form grand central, or a few blocks away from the D train subway which can take you anywhere in Manhattan, and all for only $2.25. There is so much to do both on campus and in New York you will never ever be bored. Unfortunately not everything is cheap but if you try to can find tons of free things to do in NYC, especially for college students.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria gets repetitive and I feel like there are not that many healthy, good-tasting options. However, the grill and deli are really good, and the cafeteria is all you can eat so you definitely get your money's worth. Also, arthur avenue (little Italy of the Bronx) is across the street and has some of the best places to eat in New York.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not the best because of Fordham's very strict rules for guest passes, signing in people, and have a lot of people in one room. The rooms themselves are generally good, except freshman dorm rooms tend to be smaller. But it really is not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I did well in high school and I consider that, for the most part, Fordham's classes are challenging. Teachers expect good quality from the students and know to push them to a new levels. Compared to my friends at other schools, I felt like my classes were more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus before deciding to come and make sure you are comfortable being so close to the Bronx. Many students did not take this into consideration and complain about it, but many like it and embrace the opportunities that it brings. Also, make sure you are familiar with the core curriculum requirements, many were surprised how many there were for a liberal arts education. Again, many like it this way because it provides a broad and fulfilling education to each student.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University is a different kind of college experience that is not for everyone. It has the best of both worlds with a beautiful grassy campus, and a backdrop of New York City. As a school, it provides great teachers, challenging classes, and intimate class settings that enable each student to succeed.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be near but not in the city

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always see security vans/cars driving around. also secure dorms and guards are the dorms door from 5pm-6am. guards at every entrance 24 hours a day.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    students who cannot stand still. fordham has tons of opportunities but you must get up and go seize them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    eddies parade is the big grass space in the middle of campus, it is amazing being in the middle of the bronx with grass, trees, and flowers. when on campus it barely feels like you are in the middle of the bronx.

    Bang for the buck

    its in new york city and you are paying city prices. it does get expensive.

    What to do for fun

    midtown manhattan is 20 minutes away via the metro north which makes possibilities endless but also staying is the bronx is very fun. the bronx zoo is free on wednesdays and is within walking distance and the botanical gardens is free to all students. also arthur ave has the best food and markets.

    Food and Dining

    the caf is not the best and gets verryyyyy repetitive but thankfully arthur ave. have the best food and is minutes away, plus almost every place delivers.

    Dorm Life

    there are a lot of students and not enough housing for everyone so the lottery system is a bit difficult but most of the dorms are nice with some minor problems and you will be calling facilities at least once.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage off all opportunities. join many clubs, attend many events,and always meet teachers during office hours.

    In three sentences

    amazing experiences on and off campus. the faculty truly care about their students and are willing to always help. the best connections which allow learning within the classroom to be used outside the classroom in the real world.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is taken extremely seriously at fordham.

    Greek Life

    no greek life at fordham.

    Clubs and Activities

    absolutely any thing you want to do, is offered.

    Great for these types of students

    well-rounded. extremely involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a lot of cool stories about ghosts on campus and what not. tunnels underground connect all the buildings. said to be haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive school, but i find it to be worth it. especially with all the scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of opportunities to go to manhattan and do the whole city scene, but also a lot of fun bars in the bronx. house parties are big as well.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not very good, they are contracted out by sodexo.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to work. this school prepares you for life after college, and being in new york city, there is no better place to learn.

    In three sentences

    this school is perfect for someone that was extremely involved in high school. there are opportunities to do anything you are interested in. i was attracted because the athletes here are not just athletes, but student-athletes.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    academics

    What to do for fun

    tri bar is good for the first few weeks but it quickly gets boring. if you are the club type, then the city is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you have a love for the city. do not come here expecting it to be like a normal college.

    In three sentences

    the food here is horrible. the classes are pretty good. night life is not so great

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great inside campus. They also try hard to keep people safe off campus, something they don't have to do because it is NYPD's responsibility at that point.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a vast variety of extra curricular activities. If you cannot find something you like, you can try to make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Business and Law.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a huge contrast between campus and outside the gates.

    Bang for the buck

    Provides a lot of opportunities and services, more so for Resident students.

    What to do for fun

    Relax on Edwards Parade.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter, but my friends that're dorming seem to like it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class/major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind. The Bronx is not that dangerous.

    In three sentences

    Fordham has great faculty/staff, everyone is nice. They want you to succeed. It is an expensive school, but there are a lot of opportunities that come with it.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, this is one of the more expensive universities in the world...but the name of the university carries. Plus, Fordham doesn't offer just any liberal arts education. They emphasis cura personalis which forces the students to grow intellectually and spiritually. The core is intense, but you really do benefit from having to know a little about a lot. Critical thinking skills and honed analytic skills look great to prospective employers and graduate schools.

    What to do for fun

    It's NY.

    Food and Dining

    Food might not be great, but you're in NY...you should eat off campus as often as possible and try out new things.

    Dorm Life

    Even the worst dorm on campus is totally suitable and comfortable for freshmen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up a study routine and stick to it. Get involved on campus. Enjoy the NYC experience.

    In three sentences

    The best college experience one could ask for. Not only do you grow academically and spiritually, but as a student at Fordham you are immersed into one of the main culture hubs of the world. There is never a reason for a dull moment.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, security in all buildings.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Available, not a lot of students do them

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, busy, have their own activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    3rd largest greenspace in manhattan

    Bang for the buck

    High housing costs, often cheaper to live off campus

    What to do for fun

    Anything in New York, there are always opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not good, but you have a kitchen and great food off campus nearby.

    Dorm Life

    ResLife is unhelpful, many rules are purposeless. Security is good. Apartments are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The core curriculum requires a lot of courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure the non traditional atmosphere is for you

    In three sentences

    Fordham College at Lincoln Center is a great school with a nontraditional campus in Mid-Town Manhattan. It has a small student body of undergrads, grad students and law students. It is in a great location.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are guards on campus and they are at the entrance. I have been at the school for almost four years and I still have to show my ID. They are very strict with the students' safety.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes Fordham is outrageously expensive! However the plethora of network connection that is made from professional Alumni in the business world and other leading companies who scout students for employment is just one of the perks from being apart of this leading Jesuit institution. The most important factor is the education. We are being taught by teachers who are leaders in their field of study, so we are obtaining an A+ education.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you should join certain student programs, like United Student Government who take actions against any discrepancies against the student body. Their is also a Go-retreat club that plans study abroad trips for students. Other fun activitities is the night life in Metropolitian New York, however such fun takes place at your senior year when you are 21.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great. However when their are events on campus, you will really eat like a royalty. You are taught etiquette in fine dining.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus and at times I wished I did. I feel that is the only way to have the totality of the college experience at Fordham. However living off campus provides a level of independence.

    Academic Rigor

    The school will challenge you to think critically, so come prepared to speak your mind in class. Preparation comes from thorough research, if you are ill-equiped it will be noted and argued against. *****(Five stars)

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your assignment before they are due. You will be overwhelmed but rest assured that you are not the only one, it is the academic culture of Fordham. Have fun with your friends and gain leadership experience outside of the Fordham walls.

    In three sentences

    The school demand students to be academics. Although it is a private school, the education is Ivy League, most of the teachers graduated from Ivy League colleges. The school promotes and facilitate students to become future leaders of America.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, but i prefer it that way. It allows every student to feel apart of the community instead of just those in the Greek life. There are plenty alternatives to having fun on this campus!

    Bang for the buck

    You will get the bang for your buck as long as you take advantage of what the school offers! We have career services that can help you with your resume and guiding you to the perfect job! We also have extra help available to students upon request to assure you get the best grade you can.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join depending on what your preferences are. New York is also only a few subway stops away! There are a lot of different activities to do in New York such as volunteering, attending museums, and going to cool restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be prepared for a heavy work load. As long as you come prepared and organized there is still time to have fun. I suggest you join clubs! They allow you to get involved in your campus and meet friends at the same time.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great community and a wonderful place to broaden your horizons. It offers a large number of majors to study with wonderful professors to guide you along. This school also offers a lot of opportunities to jump start your career as long as you take advantage of them.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus you are completely safe.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent. Needs to be introduced to campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports are fun and worth getting involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious and work well with rigor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Local bar scene a plus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to NYC, local house parties and area bars.

    Food and Dining

    Food has actually been blasted for some health code violations. Keep your food plan to an minimum and expect to get your own meals. Lots of local choices in the area so you won't starve.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are small but decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Plan on working at it! Teachers are pretty accessible though to lend a hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    No doubt you will get a good education at Fordham. The school is highly ranked and the education is excellent. You should plan to take full advantage of the New York social scene. But, don't expect a well rounded on campus college experience because the social scene and sports enthusiasm is lacking and you really need these too to balance things out. Lets face it most schools have sports programs that are a part of the school pride and weekend activity. Fordham sports teams are just not very good so student turnout is low.

    In three sentences

    Fordham is an outstanding academic school with good teachers and a supportive Dean at the Gabelli School of Business. The social scene however, is in need of an energy infusion. Without a Greek system and mediocre sports scene, most of it centers around house parties and the bar scene which can get old fast.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many extra curricular activities, and the campus has many large open areas do perform activities, and there are also pools.

    Food and Dining

    There are some food joints, like Subway or Panda Express.

    Dorm Life

    commuted.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to work hard, nothing is given out freely

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over estimate yourself, there's always more to learn, always stay up to date on your courses and do not slack off.

    In three sentences

    The campus is quite large, and quiet allowing students to find a nice spot to study. It's not rare to see a place to grab a bite or drink. Don't drive, preferably use a bicycle as it is fast, cheap and easier to park.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The Tuition is a bit high, but I think it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    It's NYC, that's fun already.

    Food and Dining

    I heard it is suppose to be worst in the country, but it is actually decent. Besides, you could always go to Arthur Ave for food.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, so I wouldn't know much about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Normally you take 5 classes per semester.

    In three sentences

    The campus is really neat. The liberal art core seems to be entertaining. If you enjoy campus life, you would enjoy Fordham.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Guards posted at all hours

    Greek Life

    No greek like

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different kinds of clubs and activities. There's always something to do on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Passionate about learning and interacting with others

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Picture with the Ram Candle-lighting ceremony for freshmen WE ARE FORDHAM chant

    What to do for fun

    Being in NYC, there is almost anything to do. Walking into the Arthur Ave/Belmont or taking the train downtown to manhattan always gives you a lot of options

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to truly work hard. These classes are no joke. Also, you'll need to learn how to manage your time wisely and plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    Very beautiful campus filled with great people. It's a great school to wake up to every morning. Its location in New York City makes the entire experience better.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Can't find them

    Great for these types of students

    City-fearing but city-loving

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lincoln Center. Fashion Week was just there

    What to do for fun

    NYC BABY

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all the schools New York has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Fordham at Lincoln Center is great if you want to be in the city. It is really small. The Upper West Side is safe, clean, and residential.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is extremely safe. They make sure that all students are in a safe environment. There are emergency poles throughout campus that allows security to know where you are and help you.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Fordham.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities at Fordham. There are cultural clubs, sports club and also academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a college that is academically challenging and has great internship programs should consider Fordham.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isnt much unusual traditions or locations but the environment outside campus is unusual in itself.

    Bang for the buck

    In terms of academics I think Fordham is worth the money, but not in terms of other aspects (food, activities, etc.).

    What to do for fun

    There is a quad where a lot of people usually just hang out around. Since Fordham is also close to New York City, a lot of people go to hang out in the city.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food at Fordham was rated the worst in 2012. However, the food outside the campus is great. There are a lot of varieties of different food/restaurants outside of the Campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but most people are friendly so it makes up for it. The RA's are either strict or loose, so the things you should do around them depends on the RA.

    Academic Rigor

    Fordham is academically challenging. The work load, especially for the Business school is extremely tough and challenging. Be prepared to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small sized class with a nice campus then Fordham is the right place for you. It is academically challenging and the night life is ok. Fordham administrative is strict with the academics.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University is a great school in terms of academics but the work load, depending on the class, is extremely tough. Dont expect to party at night because the night life isn't great. But overall its a great school to attend.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety and security team regularly sends emails to the students.

    What to do for fun

    One of the university's campuses is located in the heart of Manhattan, and there is easy access to the trains, shopping, culture, and excellent food.

    Food and Dining

    Fordham was recently rated for having the worst food in the country. Honestly, food is food, but there isn't much of a choice when it comes to variety.

    Dorm Life

    I couldn't really attest to the quality of dorm life, since I am a commuter, but I will tell you this: the dorms are apartment style, and include a small kitchen, common living room area with a television, your own bathroom, and 3 separate bedrooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are hardworking and study a lot! Do your homework when it is assigned so you won't feel overwhelmed. Fordham has countless extra curricular activities that you can participate in, so make sure you join as many as you can!

    In three sentences

    Fordham University has top quality education for all its students. All members of the faculty and staff show a genuine interest in the students. Additionally, everyone at the university is very friendly and helpful!

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    This is where you meet the greatest people!

    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to learn and be challenged both inside and outside of the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming, President's Ball, Spring Weekend, Go to Puglsey's, Senior Nights the list goes on

    Bang for the buck

    The price tag is hefty, without a doubt, but it is so worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to New York City and explore!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not as bad as everyone seems to think, that being said there is always room for improvement.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all of the areas a Jesuit education and talk to your professors. These things are priceless.

    In three sentences

    My Fordham Family is to say the least is amazing. I am never surprised at how giving and welcoming every Fordham student is. The day I have to graduate will be the most bittersweet day of my life thus far.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are posted at every entrance 24/7, and IDs are always required for all students and faculty.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn from professionals in their fields, who want to live in a city - not be trapped in a regular college campus, and who want to meet people and learn about cultures and beliefs from around the world on a daily basis.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is awfully high and not necessarily worth on the classes alone - but the location, expert professors, life experience gained simply living in the city, and the overall good sophisticated vibe of the school make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless clubs, some academic, some religious, some cultural. There are events throughout the week - often with free food, and many weekend events on campus too. But of course, there is the whole city to explore. Lincoln Center is a block away and they offer great student rates, as do many Broadway theatres 10-15 blocks south. Central Park is a few blocks away - great for a run, for a study nook, etc...

    Food and Dining

    It's worst element, and everyone knows it. There's no getting around it as a freshman since a meal plan is required, but after that, you're best learning how to cook.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are apartment style - full kitchen, living room, and 1-2 bathrooms with 2-3 bedrooms. The views from the higher floors are gorgeous, utilities service responds quickly, and there is security around the clock. Only downside may be the RAs who can be strict about quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    It's no Harvard, but you can't coast along and obtain a high GPA. Core classes are particularly challenging, and you will have to apply yourself and show up to earn full credit. It can really depend on your professor, so do the research ahead of registering for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, but go out and enjoy the city too. The professors are professionals with great life-knowledge, the students and other people around you are from all walks of life: open yourself up to learning new philosophies, new ways of living, and new shades of beauty.

    In three sentences

    New York City is your campus, and the Manhattan campus is in a beautiful Lincoln Center location. The atmosphere is fun and sophisticated. Unlike a regular college, you get to really grow up and live your own life in the city while studying.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Classes are really challenging and there is a great deal of homework/readings/assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard in undergraduate because you need a pretty good GPA to get in here!

    In three sentences

    Fordham Graduate School of Social Service at LC is an amazing school! Classes are really informative, professors are understanding, and the students are helpful. This is a great school if you are serious about social work and want to learn how to make a difference.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs, with at least one being a good match for any individual. There are also several intramural sports, club sports, and NCAA teams.

    Bang for the buck

    Fordham's only downfall is it's cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of places nearby to go out, especially on Arthur Avenue, home to the Bronx's Little Italy. The metro-north train and the D train are not too far away either, and those can be taken to get into Manhattan, where's there's endless amounts of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't the best place to eat due to a lack of variety but they've been improving and there's going to be a new company next year that will be providing food, so there's potential for improvement. There are other places to eat on campus, such as subconnection and the grill that are fairly decent.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are small and you don't even get your own bathroom, but rather there's a communal bathroom. Fortunately, the dorms for all other grades are much better. The rooms are bigger and there are private bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely a tough place to go to school, especially if you're majoring in a science, or doing the premed program. The business school has a lighter workload though in comparison. Be prepared to take a lot of core classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you learn to manage your time and study well! If you got by in high school without studying, it will not work here if you want to continue to do well. Be sure to join some clubs, do activities, and use the free facilities such as the pool, gym, and basketball courts.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University has great academics, great teachers who are always willing to help and are passionate about their work, and the students are accepting, warm, and welcoming.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel so safe on campus. Even though people hesitate at the location of Fordham, there is really not much to worry about. As long as you use common sense and follow the tips given to stay safe, there are no problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fordham offeres EVERYTHING! The club fair at the beginning of each year gives you an idea of all the things you can get involved in. I wanted to sign up for everything!

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of clubs to join that fit a wide range of interests. Aside from clubs, people hang out and play frisbee/tan on the main lawn (Eddies) or hang out in the dorms!

    Food and Dining

    Many people talk about how bad college food is, but personally I enjoy what Fordham has to offer. There a lot of different options at every meal, and very friendly staff serving you!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms keep getting better as you get older. As a freshman, the rooms are small but it is a great way to meet a lot of people!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, but I have learned a great deal already. I feel that Fordham is accuratley preparing me for a successful future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dive right in and experience all that you can! Fordham has so much to offer so there is definitely something that will suit your interests.

    In three sentences

    Fordham has become a second home to me. The enclosed campus within the large city has made for a fantastic college experience. It is the best of both worlds!

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's NYC there is so much to do for fun! I go to the movies and out to amazing places for dinner.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus so I have not eaten the food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms and never have.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and teachers don't let you get away with much. They expect you to get your work done on time and well.

    Tips for prospective students

    NYC is a great place to go to school! The campus is small but is expanding but really you have NYC as your backyard.

    In three sentences

    I really love attending Fordham University. I am part of the continued studies program and therefore take classes at night. All professors I have had are well connected in their field and most really care about helping personal students.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria provides a small selection of food to eat including: fruit cups, coffee/tea, sandwiches and salads. There are also vending machines in the cafeteria and two on each floor of the building.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available at the Westchester Campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saturdays are the busiest days at the Westchester Campus. Be sure to get to campus early to ensure you have a parking space.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very supportive. The workload is manageable. The facilities are good. i.e Computer lab and library access.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Central Park is lie five minutes from the Lincoln Center Campus in Manhattan.

    In three sentences

    From what I've researched it seems like very good school.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball and tennis. Attend club meetings. Enjoy occasional free food.

    Tips for prospective students

    An excellent school, but requires dedication to excel. The professors are amazingly helpful and want to see you succeed. Put in effort and you will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    I have come to believe that choosing Fordham University at Lincoln Center as my college is the best decision I had made in a long time. The college's environment is very welcoming and adaptable. Furthermore, its location in the heart of NYC allows me to experience the diverse character of the city, which makes it the greatest city in the world.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't worry about the Bronx, worry about students who don't know their limits with alcohol and privileged students (especially boys) used to getting their way. Sexism, racism, and actual violence against women are real issues on most college campuses. They definitely happen at Fordham and are largely not talked about enough and can often be ignored by the administration.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at Fordham!

    Clubs and Activities

    Decent amount of options for clubs but club processes are hindered by the student life office which can be very strict even for setting up the simplest of activities

    Great for these types of students

    If your parents are paying or you receive scholarship

    Bang for the buck

    A very very very expensive school!!!

    What to do for fun

    Go into the city! Spend time on campus your freshmen year, as many people get very involved after their first year and lost their free time to simply hang out and chat - many people stay in their frosh year friend groups so it's important to try and meet people then - but otherwise just travel around NYC!

    Food and Dining

    People complain about the caf often. Some is warranted - it has bad hours, repetitive options, and a lack of creativity. But quality of food itself is consistently decent, and the basics like salad and cereal and pasta are always available.

    Dorm Life

    Potential for great community, especially the first year when everyone is looking to make friends, but some strict policies can frustrate students in their time in (fairly expensive) campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Not an easy A school by any means, but meeting expectations (doing all the work, showing up to classes, communicating with teachers) will get you a long way and you'll learn how to perform well in classes over your four years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really consider the religious and conservative aspects of Fordham - certain activities aren't allowed here. Even if not all policies are always enforced, their strict nature can be annoying and stifle student creativity and community. NYC can give you whatever you want to make of it, but Fordham sometimes feels more like a school whose policies are from the South, not the center of the world.

    In three sentences

    A small, private Catholic school in the Bronx that connects students to many opportunities for growth in NYC and on campus. Does not have the most diverse student population but those who travel into the Bronx or NYC will find anything they're looking for. A school very set in tradition, which has both positives and negatives.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bars, night clubs, LINCOLN CENTER, Italian on Arthur Avenue, and more!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student

    Tips for prospective students

    Expensive!

    In three sentences

    Fordham Is My Campus. I am so glad I chose to stay in New York and attend Fordham University. Everything I need is right next to campus; and everything I want in terms of professors and curriculum, Fordham has it all!

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NYC is just a train ride from The Bronx. Hope on the Metro North and take a tour of the city life.

    Food and Dining

    Fordham University Rose Hill is located in the Bronx on Fordham Road with several food and dining options. Fast food, diners, you name it.

    Dorm Life

    I leave off campus, however, I have friends that dorm on campus and they like it, they have fun and everything you want is right on campus or near it.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are aligned with providing students with a great education and preparing them for the real world. Academic cores are a challenge and so one has to be prepared for the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you looking for a great education, Fordham is the school to be.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University is full of great and knowledgeable professors. Fordham University at Rose Hill has beautiful campus. Fordham University is filled with a diverse group of students from all over the world.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The buildings have 24/7 security.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Fordham.

    Great for these types of students

    Lincoln Center is great for the artistic and creative types I like to think.

    Bang for the buck

    Fordham is incredibly expensive and that is its downfall.

    What to do for fun

    It's New York City! Anything you could possibly think of is right at your fingertips. Anything from movies to museums, bars to concerts, or clubs to restaurants is within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is where Fordham is lacking. The food is overpriced and underwhelming. However, we are right above Hell's Kitchen so there's not much need to eat in the cafeteria often.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lincoln Center are apartment style so there is a living room and kitchen and anywhere from two to four rooms. It is quite spacious and while the building is on the older side, it is still nice. There is security 24/7 so you always feel incredibly safe.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are all challenging. Of course, each class differs depending on the teacher. I've had some incredibly difficult classes with intense workloads and I've also had easier classes with less work. Either way, you will learn a lot in these classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in student activity immediately! There are some beautiful, inspiring people at Fordham and the best way to meet people is to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Fordham at Lincoln Center challenges not only the students' intellect, but also their creativity and social skills. Being at the heart of New York City, it gives students opportunities that they would not have anywhere else. Fordham is conscientious of the students' need to make connections for future employment and internships.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself could not be any safer. Fordham is located in a dangerous part of the Bronx, so the campus is gated and every entrance has a security post. The campus also has security stations at every turn, which have built in cameras and intercoms.

    Greek Life

    Fordham does not offer Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs at Fordham. You can even start your own if you want. At the start of the fall semester they have a club fair, where you can sign up to receive emails from any club regarding how to join and where to meet. The clubs have a very active presence on Fordham University.

    Great for these types of students

    Fordham is great for all types of students. I would say that you have to have a willingness to put in some work, but overall the atmosphere is more relaxed than that of an ivy. You're responsible for your own success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is said that Fordham has a haunted campus. I have yet to experience anything that would support that, but it is unusual and does have a pretty solid reputation as being haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    Fordham offers everything you could want in a school. Great dorms, good food, location, and academic reputation together make Fordham worth whatever you are spending.

    What to do for fun

    You're living in the Bronx, so transport in to Manhattan is ridiculously easy. The Botanical Gardens and the Bronx Zoo are also located right outside of the campus. If you are looking to stay on campus, there are always a number of shows or sporting events that you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. This coming semester they are adding a number of name brand restaurants to the campus that will accept dining dollars, so the dining situation at Fordham only looks to improve.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic. Alumni Court South has the largest rooms, while the other dorms sacrifice size for air conditioning. After freshman year most dorms have their own bathrooms and upperclassmen housing is made up primarily of suites.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging for those not willing to put the work in and rewarding for those who are. There is free time to be had by all, including pre-med students. The pre-med track is by far the most challenging offered at Fordham.

    Tips for prospective students

    You do not have to go to Fordham knowing what you are going to do. They have a core curriculum set up so that students can explore their interests. Go in with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University is great for both undecided students and students who know exactly what they want to do. The faculty is incredibly helpful and will guide you in whatever direction you choose. Fordham University offers the perfect balance between academics and recreation.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    we go out a lot and there is the botanical gardens and bronx zoo

    Food and Dining

    food is okay, not bad. but could be better

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorm are not great and upperclassman dorms are great

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty tough

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to budget your time. Do not start getting lazy. Work very hard

    In three sentences

    Best college ever. it is so much fun and everyone is very nice. The professors are very nice and understanding

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus guards are always checking id's at the gates and are all over campus during the day and at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of ways to get involved in the Ram community.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to study hard and play hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming, Presidents Ball, Spring Weekend,

    Bang for the buck

    Fordham is expensive, but worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Take the Metro-north to Westchester, Take the Metro-north into Manhattan (Sight-seeing, plays, movies, museums, shopping, etc), Walk to The Blend cafe or on Fordham Road for shopping, Eat at restaurants like Michelangelos on Arthur Avenue

    Food and Dining

    Fordham was rated for the worst food in the country recently, but they are changing that. They have signed a new contract which allocated funds to improve the dining experience. There are many places on campus to eat besides the cafeteria including the sub station, the grill, and the cafe. Most kids that do not have a meal plan usually just eat at the places on Arthur avenue anyway.

    Dorm Life

    I was in Walsh Hall for a semester. It was nice because these rooms were apartment style suites so you share it with five other people. This building is mostly for juniors and seniors. The dorms are clean and there are no safety hazards at all. Plus everyone is super friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Fordham will challenge you whether you were a C average student or a A average student in high school The professors recognize your potential and push you to do better. Expect to work your butt off, especially if you become a science major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vist the campus. Explore the neighborhood around the campus. Speak to kids that are enrolled because you learn a lot about the curriculum and professors. Also consider your financial aid situation and the affordability of Fordham.

    In three sentences

    Fordham is made up of a warm and welcoming community. It's location in the Bronx makes it a great place to explore cultures and other diversities. It's Jesuit tradition focuses on the whole person, so your not just paying for an education.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security vans patrolling the campus, in addition to guards at every gate and in the dorms at night/early morning.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities, but in my experience, they meet very infrequently-if at all- because of lack of real student support.

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy, wealthy caucasians! Just kidding, but the diversity here is extremely low. Good for those who are looking for access to NYC and business students who are looking for great business programs/opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    For the expense, I feel like I should be getting more.

    What to do for fun

    New York City is a 20 minute and $8 train ride away, take advantage of it if you haven't already. Bars are somewhat easily accessible from campus.

    Food and Dining

    This ain't your mother's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Because we live in the Bronx, security is an enormous concern for the administration, parents, and students. Security Guards are stationed in Dorms during evening hours, as are student desk monitors. The dorms have incredibly stringent rules about visitation, guests and gender, and activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging, some are not!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want. Location plays a large factor into your college experience, as does information you may not have considered, like core course requirements, community feel, personal beliefs, diversity, etc.

    In three sentences

    Fordham has a beautiful campus, horrible food, a strong faith community, and a crippling amount of core requirements.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards check I.D.'s coming into campus and they are always watching out for the students. Not only on campus, but off-campus the security guards are willing to pick you up from the subways if you feel unsafe and there are routes that the security van takes throughout the Bronx, so that you can be picked up and brought back to campus for free, as long as you show your Fordham I.D.

    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE. I was never interested, but some may be disappointed.

    Clubs and Activities

    So amny clubs to join, so narrow it down to exactly what you'd like to do and go to the meetings and make friends!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone could really enjoy Fordham. I wouldn't recommend coming if you are afraid of being in an urban area, because otherwise you will be stuck on campus. You don't want to miss out on living in this great city!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are a hipster, like music, or coffee you will thoroughly enjoy Rodrigues. If you are a commuter and do not feel like going to the Commuter Lounge, the lounge in the basement of Keating is a relaxing open space for doing work or just hanging out.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school and education, but it is pretty pricey. I would never transfer, however, based on the price. They offer a ton of financial aid and the school is really worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are pleanty of things on campus to do for fun, such as dances or club ran events. To get off campus Arthur Avenue is a great place for eating some authentic Italian meals, or walking up Fordham Road to the D subway line. The ride downtown to Columbus Circle is about 40 minutes. Once you are in New York City you can do mostly everything. Fordham is in such a great spot, where there is a campus and yet you are still in NYC. There is everything to do for any sort of person, from comic-con to fashion, from athletics to art museums.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria is the biggest complaint on campus. That being said everything else about Fordham is great. There are many alternatives to the main cafeteria. There are three other places to eat on campus that offers cafe-styled food, i.e. paninis, heroes, and soups, and off campus is Arthur Avenue! However, the buffet styled cafeteria tends to be the main eatery, but it also tends to be a hit or miss. The food isn't great, but I would NEVER dismiss this school for that tiny detail.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms provide a great habitat for friend-making. They are large rooms, and although you have to share a floor bathroom, Fordham's dorms are a lot better than other colleges. Some buildings lack air conditioning, but you may only suffer through September, because the temperature is not too high for too long.

    Academic Rigor

    Fordham's classes require a lot of work and outside-of-class time, but they are very rewarding. Everything that the professors teach you is extremely valuable for the course, life, or both. The courses may be tough but extremely enriching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going into Fordham, you should have an open mind about taking courses, which you may not want to take, such as Theology courses, Philosophy course, and =Foreign Language courses. Fordham requires these courses for you to graduate, so that they will be producing well-rounded graduates. Embrace the core curriculum and take advantage of all the knowledge you can gain. Also, really get involved in the MANY clubs and activities Fordham offers. The more activities you attend the more people you will meet with similar interests.

    In three sentences

    Fordham is a great place to really test out courses and see what you like. Although very large, the core (required courses to take throughout your year at Fordham) really tests your breadth of knowledge and can potentially lead you into different directions of study.With great professors and student peers, Fordham creates a great environment for academic achievement and for getting a fun college experience.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Close to good food

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Tought classes, but well worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the scholarships you can!

    In three sentences

    Fordham is a school full of opportunity and wit. I love the atmospher and the people. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business, International Relations, Law related.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Eddies, which is where I love to relax and have a picnic with my friends. It's this wide open grass space.

    What to do for fun

    There is Little Italy just a few blocks away. There is also the Botanical Gardens and the Bronx Zoo just a block away!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are well rounded when you apply, meaning that you are a good student but also do community and volunteer activities. Make sure to read your essay over before applying and have someone read it over too.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University is an excellent university for students looking to have internship opportunities nearby in NYC, yet at the same time, have a campus with lots of greenery. It has wide food services, excellent architectural buildings, and a wide variety of extracurricular activities.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a gated community and extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's really a club for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, responsible students who want challenging academics and the perks of being in a major world city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of students like to ride the ram before finishing their education. They will take photos while seated upon the ram statue on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's extremely costly but the school has an excellent reputation and will produce well-rounded, critical thinkers. If you do well here, you'll most likely have an easy time finding a job or getting into a graduate school program.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the bars around the campus, go into the city, or just hang out with friends on campus. There are a lot of clubs - there's something for anyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't exactly the best but there have been major changes instated for this academic year.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice compared to many other college's freshman dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I was on the pre-medical track and the classes were pretty tough but it really depends on which classes you decide to take during your time there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early action and don't start slacking off in high school just because you've been accepted into a college.

    In three sentences

    The university offer excellent academics in a major cosmopolitan city. The classes can be rigorous or easier depending on how much you decide to challenge yourself. The core curriculum allows the university's students to become well-rounded, knowledgeable individuals.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things that students could do for fun if they attend Fordham. There is the Bronx Zoo that students could attend, take a run in the Botanical Garden behind Fordham, play different sports, attend events that occur in Manhattan which is just a couple of stops away using the subway.

    Dorm Life

    From what I heard, being a residential student is fun but you must be prepared to discipline yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a demanding workload for science and math students, as well as for other disciplines. Be ready to spend a lot of time studying and preparing for classes. Trust me.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great university. Attending college for the first time can be a scary and intimidating future, but Fordham University makes sure that you are on the right path and if there are any questions, the Fordham family will always help you.

    In three sentences

    Fordham University is a great higher education institution for all students. There is a strong, close-knit community found in the university. Students and faculty alike do not hesitate to help out if there are any questions.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fordham is consistently rated as one of the safest campuses in the country. No one can enter the academic or housing building without a student ID, and every open door is guarded full time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always clubs and groups with promotions in the city for money off a meal, special student tickets to events or museums, and invitations to see speakers from the UN or take classes from professional Yogis. If one wanted, they could easily tour the financial district with the economics club and come back to the world cultures club and learn to make homemade sushi. Overall, the school has a very vocal acceptance to LGBT students.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, creative, intuitive, and ambitious students who can balance academics with the draw of New York City.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Keeping count of exclusive events we get into--Fashion Week, red carpet events, VIP nightclubs, penthouse parties, and a running tally of celebrity sightings.

    Bang for the buck

    Fordham is pricey, but the job potential that comes from the well-rounded Jesuit core is renowned.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the middle of Manhattan-- the opportunity to participate in everything from Fashion Week to warehouse clubs in SoHo is there. The campus is a block from Central Park, which makes for a nice morning run, and is even closer to the Time Warner Center, if you can afford to shop at Hugo Boss. Both of these allow for quite a few celebrity sightings. The location is also at a main subway stop, so getting anywhere in New York City is a metro swipe away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe offers Red Mango, and soups and sandwiches. These are meant to be supplemental to cooking in the apartment and eating out in the city. An $800 meal plan is mandatory freshman year for each semester.

    Dorm Life

    The apartments are carpeted with some variation of double and triple rooms, resulting in housing 4-7 people in one apartment, All rooms with 6+ people have two bathrooms and 4-5 people have one bathroom. All rooms have a kitchen, couch, and living space within one building that directly connects to the academic building where all Lincoln Center classes. The responsibility of a whole apartment is worth having to clean the extra space, and floors are highly social with both study and soft lounges in the building. Laundry is free and laundry rooms are on 3 different floors, and the building has a gym on the 2nd floor, so the freshman 15 is usually avoided. The main drawback is the lack of a traditional college atmosphere, which can easily be found in a Fordham shuttle trip to the Bronx campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the class sizes are very small. This semester, two core classes have around 20 students and the rest are fewer than 10. Because they are so small, participation is mandatory. The classes are all heavily weighted in reading, which requires time management to understand the content and be prepared for participation in the next class. The teachers are all highly rated, and commonly teach at multiple schools in the city (namely NYU or Columbia) and expect the highest of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest issues in my transition to Fordham were money and personal identity--both of which are universal issues in the college process. I live at the Manhattan campus, and immediately had to create a more efficient budget for groceries, personal items, and extra things like student rush Broadway tickets or rock climbing in Brooklyn. With the sudden freedom that comes with living in the biggest, most dynamic city in the country, I was overwhelmed. This also fed into the issue of personal identity, which was solved by immersing myself in things I liked instead of avoiding the things I didn't. With a well-rounded budget and an understanding of where you are in life, ambition is easily fueled and the transition is much easier.

    In three sentences

    Fordham is an academically competitive institution in the heart of New York, with a thorough and challenging core. That being said, there is a campus in the Bronx that allows for a traditional college atmosphere, and a campus at Lincoln Center in Manhattan; a block from Central Park and on the cusp of Hell's Kitchen. While Fordham holds its ground in terms of location and academics, it is expensive both on and off campus and has small class sizes, both of which demand a student with intellect and ambition to succeed.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    manhattan is 30 minutes away with unlimited possibilities, fordham road shops are fun, yankee stadium nearby, arthur ave.

    Food and Dining

    the food really isn't bad, and there are off campus alternatives.

    Dorm Life

    dorm rules suck, but the community will be what you make of it.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging academic courses but very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good college to go to if you don't want greek life or don't want to live in the heart of the city.

    In three sentences

    Fordham has the best of an open campus in arms length of Manhattan. The liberal arts and jesuit education are incomperable and extremely valuable. Small class sizes makes you feel like a person instead of a number.