Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Forsyth Technical Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Forsyth Tech is perfect if you are not sure exactly what you want to go to school for you can still get an education. Forsyth Tech has advisors who will help you prepare for an University

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of the Professors at Forsyth Tech are willing to help you if you need help so don't be afraid to ask.

    Bang for the buck

    Forsyth tech is really affordable the tuition is the perfect amount I'm paying 800 for 16 semester hours. You also don't need to pay for a meal plan or rooming.

    Am enjoying being here

    Forsyth Tech is a wonderful school, The main campus is really beautiful and easy to find. I was really surprised my first semester at how nice the professors and the students were.

    Am learning a lot

    Most professors are wonderful, they teach you a lot and you will have fun while learning.

  • 07/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who will flourish at Forsyth Tech: Independent students who are looking for variety. The student body at Forsyth Tech is incredibly diverse. In one class, you can have international students, a mother of four, a man who is 65, a more traditional college student and a high school student. Inevitably, you will encounter people from all walks of life. Students who want to be as debt-free as possible. Students who are looking for flexibility or have to fit school around work or family. Forsyth Tech offers a variety of online and evening courses, as well as courses at satellite locations (King, Kernersville, etc.). If you enjoy diversity, independence, and new opportunities, Forsyth Tech is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip is to go into Forsyth Tech with an open mind. It sounds cheesy, but most people view (including me, at first) view community college as second rate and go into it not expecting to learn a thing. This community college is an excellent place to attend school. Also, be sure to plan your courses ahead of time. While Forsyth Tech offers a good place to explore different career paths, don't do a class blitz and register for everything that sounds appealing. Go into registration with some sort of plan. Also, register early. It will make sure you get into the classes you want, especially if those classes are basic pre-requisites that everyone needs to take - those fill up fast. Ask questions and don't let your adviser rush you. Make sure you know what you're getting into. Try to talk to students who have attended Forsyth Tech and try to find out which professors are good. Buy your books ahead of time, too.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the fact that I will graduate with an Associate's Degree and no debt, I think Forsyth Tech offers an excellent program. I am receiving a quality education for a fraction of what I would pay at a state school. Most of the professors are here because they want to teach. The classes are small and allow better teacher-student interaction. At Forsyth Tech, most teachers will get to know your name and your personality by the end of the semester. Most of my classes have had good camaraderie and enjoyed the learning experience together. There are scholarships and financial aide available to those who need them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Over the past few years, Forsyth Tech has really stepped up its efforts to make the campus have a more at home feel, despite the fact that there is no on-campus housing. Last year, a classy cafe called Bytes and Beans was opened on campus. The student newspaper, called Technically Speaking, keeps the students up-to-date about what happens on campus. With everything from intramural sports to fall and spring festivals, blood drives to community outreaches, and fashion clubs to technology clubs, students at Forsyth Tech don't have an excuse to be bored. Of course, for those who want to go off campus for fun, Winston Salem is a thriving city that provides endless opportunities to anyone seeking a good time.

    Am learning a lot

    Forsyth Tech offers a lot of opportunities to learn that I didn't expect. I am teaching myself Italian with Rossetta Stone - for free! The professors are also very open and willing to answer my questions. Most of them genuinely want to see the students succeed. I have been very impressed with the academic climate at this school.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    GET YOURSELF A ROLLING BAG FOR THE BOOKS;DO NOT CARRY THEM ON YOUR BACK OR YOUR SHOULDERS. BE ATTENTIVE AND PAY ATTENTION TO THE WORLD AROUND YOU AND WHAT'S GOING ON.

    Tips for prospective students

    TRY TO GET IN THERE AS SOON AS THE DOORS OPEN TO REGISTER MAKE SURE YOU EAT A GOOD BREAKFAST THE MORNING THAT YOU ARE GOING TO REGISTER. MAKE SURE YOU EAT A GOOD DINNER THE NIGHT BEFORE YOU ARE TO GO AND SIGN UP FOR YOUR CLASSES MAKE SURE YOU HAVE PEN AND PAPER TO WRITE DOWN ANY IMPORTANT STUFF THAT YOU MIGHT HAVE TO JOT DOWN MOST OF ALL,BE RESPECTFUL TO OTHERS AS YOU WOULD WANT THEM TO BE RESPECTFUL TO YOU AND TRY YOUR HARDEST~~~~NOTHING BEATS A FAILURE BUT A TRY

    Bang for the buck

    IT'S OK ON THEIR TUITION. I GUESS MOST COLLEGES ARE WITHIN THE SAME PRICE RANGE I DON'T KNOW

    Am enjoying being here

    I ENJOY COMING TO SCHOOL EVERYDAY

    Am learning a lot

    I AM LEARNING A WHOLE LOT

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Use the student aid center if you have any problems

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and read alot

    Bang for the buck

    Books are high so is the cost for attending but that is like all colleges right now

    Will enjoy being here

    Love to learn and good instructors to

    Will learn a lot

    My area of study is enriched there

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never had car broken into

    Clubs and Activities

    has a wide variety

    Great for these types of students

    lost students, or students trying to transfer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a beautiful garden that has herbs, flowers, and a small creek running through it

    Bang for the buck

    great amount of learning potential for the price, has the best professors!

    What to do for fun

    there is a volleyball and basketball team

    Food and Dining

    could use some healthier options in the cafeteria

    Tips for prospective students

    check your grades on your transcript after each semester!!!

    In three sentences

    great teachers/school in general, except their office workers could use a refresher on how to enter grades correctly! my transcript reads 2 c's where i had a's (in pe and algebra) and it cannot be fixed at all now.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    FTCC is conveniently located to downtown Winston-Salem, if you are looking for a mall, a bite to eat, or just looking for a night on the town.

    Food and Dining

    I am not sure as I have not ate at their food court.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm at FTCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor for FTCC is average of all community colleges in this area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with the advisors about the transfer process.

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Technical Community College is a very simple way to earn a diploma or associates degree. It is also a great start if you want to transfer to a four year program later in life. FTCC is easy to apply.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Young and old...there is a club for you!

    Bang for the buck

    For sure!

    What to do for fun

    Study and enjoy the campus

    Food and Dining

    Couple of small cafe..SSS..they're ok!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!!

    Tips for prospective students

    As an adult learner, I should have started at a two-year institution. I would have saved a lot of money and time, allowing me to be more prepared for the college experience, plus I'd already have a degree!!

    In three sentences

    I have truly learned a lot! Good and the bad!

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police Station on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    The student who needs to get in, out and move on to making money. Anyone looking for a career change.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and intermural sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. They have a small cafeteria and a cafe on the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    Does not exist.

    Academic Rigor

    They make sure you know your stuff without trying to mame you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always communicate with your teacher if you have issues because they will go out of their way for your success.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and staff are always willing to work with you to help you achieve your educational goals. It has ben my experience that they are friendly and professional. The financial aid office is very knowledgeable, efficient and work very hard to help you pay for school.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many events in the campus, international festivals, dancing, plays, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    It is good, they have a cafeteria with many options.

    Dorm Life

    I live out of campus. The rent in Winston-Salem is not very high, also you can try a roomate to share your bills.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a serious school and the instructors want you to be serious about your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and follow your dreams.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent college, it is very organized and the instructors are very good. They have an excellent library with a learning center with tutors available. I definitely recommend Forsyth Tech. to my friends.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety � All students at Forsyth Tech are expected to obey the rules put forth to maintain a safe and secure campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Architectural Technology Club promotes architectural education, recognizes outstanding academic achievement, and provides related services to Forsyth Tech and the community. Chessknowlogy Club. Whether you're a casual player, or looking for serious competition, the Forsyth Tech Chess Club is the place to go for a dance on the 64 squares. Chess is a sport, an art, and science that taught our ancestors Astronomy, Poetry and mathematics. The Creative Writing Club exists to nurture and promote creativity and success among writers of all genres. The Criminal Justice Club (Sigma Theta Kappa) seeks to prepare its members for a career in the criminal justice profession. Future Advocates for Children of Tomorrow (F.A.C.T.) supports the Forsyth Tech Early Childhood Education curriculum and existing child care programs in their efforts to provide quality education for young children. It also promotes increased awareness of the need for Early Childhood Education training. The Geology Club provides an opportunity for students and faculty to expand their understanding of Geology and related fields through programs, field trips, and knowledge sharing. It includes examinations of career opportunities, the impacts of human activities on the physical world, current events, natural resources and selected topics of interest to participants. The Hispanic Student Association strives to promote Hispanic culture on campus as well as provide an open atmosphere in which Hispanic students can interact with one another. The Interior Design Club promotes an interest in interior design through activities and events related to the field. Club members take a trip at the end of the year to learn more about design trends outside of the community. The International Club is open to any student who is interested in learning more about other cultures. The group offers support to international students and sponsors several activities throughout the year including cultural events, educational forums, and trips. The Journalism Club encourages interest in journalism and other communication-related fields. Members exercise their communication skills regularly through writing and producing the student paper, Technically Speaking. The Motor Sports Club is a specialized organization that seeks to encourage an interest in motor sports on campus while presenting the world of competitive motor sports to its students. The Paralegal Association tries to encourage an interest in legal matters on campus and prepares its members for career opportunities in the legal profession. Peers Accepting Challenges Together is a club where students with disabilities can share experiences and find support. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society of two-year colleges. Its purpose is to recognize and encourage scholarship among students on campus and provide opportunities for leadership and service. Philosophical Society strives to seek truth, promote understanding, exhibit compassion, and model patience. This organization exercises and celebrates the First Amendment Freedom of Speech. The Student Nurses Association consists of aspiring nurses and was formed to prepare these students for a career in the nursing profession. The Student Practical Nursing Association was formed to prepare aspiring practical nurses for a career in this profession. The Student Sonographers Association seeks to prepare students for a career in sonography. Student Veterans Association of Forsyth Tech promotes fellowship among veterans and their supporters while raising awareness of military veterans. Sustainable and Environmental Technologies Club encourages education and awareness of environmental issues and sustainable technologies. The Transitions Club serves as a support system for those who have lost their jobs due to downsizing of companies placing emphasis on their emotional and educational needs that might differ from those of other students.

    Great for these types of students

    Forsyth Tech is great for all ages, all races, all type of peoples.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Forsyth Tech offer a course that is a unique concentration requirement in the International ...... and cultural context, themes, literary traditions, and backgrounds of the authors.

    What to do for fun

    They offer clubs and organizations of all kinds, student government council, fraternity and sorority services, and intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    There are serveral cafes on and around campus that his the spot especially when your stomach start rumbling.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the courses are challenging, but once you succeed, you would have learned so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Forsyth Tech offers high quality, low cost, support for success, variety of choices, small classes, excellent faculty, flexibility, ability to transfer credits, second chances and a student life.

    In three sentences

    I rate Forsyth Tech on a high level due to their flexible hours and on line classes offered. I enjoy dealing with the nice and professional administration, teachers and advisors. I am pleased with my education and certifications earned through FT.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always a lot of students activities on e-mailed and posted on the tech link to keep people involved

    Food and Dining

    Food is OK. But there are plenty of surrounding places that top the food services provided

    Academic Rigor

    As with any school, we are there to learn. But the academic program thre has a way of teaching and making the curriculum where one can work and successfully complete school at the same time. This has been important for me since I am a full time employee and raise a family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard FTCC recognizes hard working students for job prospects

    In three sentences

    I have learned a lot a Forsyth Technical Community College. I already received one degree from here, and I am back in school working on another degree. FTCC has made it possible for me to care for my family.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each semester they e-mail you a list of all the misdemeanors and crimes that were taken place at each of the many campus'. But to my surprise there were very few outbursts that occurred on all campus', I feel very safe at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have heard of dozens of clubs all around this school for all types of students that attend there, no one is discluded.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for the type of students that work most of the time outside of school that do not really have enough time to be devoted to an University.

    Food and Dining

    There is not really any special food or dining at this school, just a cafe where you can work on your classwork and enjoy a nice cup of hot chocolate.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life considering that is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I cannot speak for all the teachers at this school, many of them are very strict and stay on the schedule given to you at the begenning of the semester. They are very devoted to teaching you the information and making sure you walk out of the class with all your questions asked.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I were any Freshman student, I would take at least a semester or two at a community college because you will be saving loads of time and money getting your easier classes out of the way, rather than taking them all at a four year college.

    In three sentences

    Although Forsyth Tech is a community college, I believe it is a beneficial school that will help you start out getting the education you need while saving you a bundle of money. You have a wide variety of careers to pursue, or certain prerequisites you would like to complete before transferring to a 4-year college. This school gives any one an opportunity to get an education because it is very affordable, and you also have many teachers that deeply care about your education.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and the security is always on hand for any needs you may have.

    Great for these types of students

    Older student in career transition. Younger students not quite ready yet for a 4 year program of study.

    Bang for the buck

    Defiantly a more bang for your buck if you need the entry level courses for your 4 year degree.

    What to do for fun

    The fun is in the activities. If you want to enrich your education experience at Tech I suggest you get involved. It really helps to create a more friendly and supportive environment.

    Food and Dining

    Food is fair.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm at Forsyth Technical Community College

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers at Tech are very willing to help you succeed. If you put forth the effort the tools are supplied to you by the school to help you through what ever course you may struggle with.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students need to stay on track with their program of study. Do not leave the decisions to your advisor. Speak with someone in the counseling department to better serve you if you intend to further your education at a 4 year university.

    In three sentences

    Tech is a great place to receive the fundamental knowledge to get you started back in the swing of school. It also is a cost effective place for parents to send their children for a 2 year college transfer program to minimize the cost of tuition at a 4 year university.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have a Cafe that serves gourmet coffee in the Heart of our campus. You can study and and use your lab tops for study sessions.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love it here, Stay focused This school has everything you need to keep you from falling off your Horse!

    In three sentences

    Teachers Honestly Care for the Well being of the students. We have a Great Campus. Mostly all of our teachers are Docter's and work at Wake Forest or Baptist Full Time.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any touble as of yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few fun ones.

    Great for these types of students

    Freshmen looking to knock out the basics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is pretty standard.

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    They have sports teams and clubs that are enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to get food other than vending machines. The Gill and Bytes and Beans are both adequate places.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. It depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beware of parking. Get to the school early to ensure a good parking spot. Also, be sure to make it to class on time, and don't ditch. Class time is just as important as tests and homework.

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Tech is a great way to knock out some credits. It's a very smooth transition for those worried about college. Overall, it is a welcoming place.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CAFE

    What to do for fun

    SPRING FLING, FREE FOOD, GAMES, and RIDES.

    Food and Dining

    You can take your luch outside. There is a cafe and a Grill.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It's is easy to learn at FTCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn, learn, learn, and have fun

    In three sentences

    Forsyth tech for short is a clean fun campus. There are various clubs you can join. In addition, you can find any major there.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, I feel the campus is safe, but do not park behind the Career Center. It is creepy, run down, and abandoned.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get a good education and be ready for your career.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging, but not impossible

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your own research for grants and scholarships. The financial aid department is not very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Overall it's a good school. Though I have been very dis-satisfied with the financial aid office and the counselors that are suppose to help pick which classes you need.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This community college is good for students in preparing them for a traditional four year college. It's also good for students with financial needs, teen moms, or adults who want to go back to school. There is a variety of people here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college so it's very cheap, only sixty-nine dollars per credit. I heard from my nursing program students that they have a very good nursing program there so I can't complain.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I like to read in order to understand stories and get familiar with English.

    Food and Dining

    I don't really know much about their dining experience. I always bring my own food or go out to eat so I can't comment on this much.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm. They don't offer that since this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I've only taken lower level math classes and reading and writing classes. They are not really bad, but with reading it's always a struggle for me at first, but there are teachers there wiling to help students. Always be prepare for concepts not covered in class. They reading is always a challenge for me because I'm still working on my English.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how the school operates because registration of all nature and filling out paperwork can be very difficult and time consuming. Their policies changes year round so it's best to be prepare before and after registration in order to be able to get the classes you want. Be sure to talk to you adviser for anything. They are a great help. As far as classes go, you have to do the work in order to earn the grade so stay on top of things and teach yourself some of the concepts. Most teachers don't care to show you the techniques so it's always a good idea to learn it yourself.

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Tech is a good community college to enroll in if you don't think that the traditional college is good. They offer many courses, but are still limited. It's a very good place to go if you want to be a nurse or transfer your credits to a traditional four year college.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have no problems at all. Their is campus police everywhere you go. So you do feel safe right away.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices are not so high. I am not being charged for out of state intuition and it helps me save a whole lot more money!

    What to do for fun

    They many activities for the student body to sign up for! So many I can not even count how many activities there has been.

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus housing at Forsyth Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    Forsyth Tech has many high achievers. Most of the student body says their academic levels have gone up higher then what it was at high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check with your advisor, about your grades and any opportunities at Forsyth Tech. Never forget to check your techlink this is your email and this is another way to get opportunities, also to find out any activities at Forsyth Tech.

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Tech is good community college to decide to go too, the staff are helpful throughout your college career there. The professors do want their students to succeeded and get something out of their class. The student body are very open, and friendly to new comers!

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Each year we hold a sort of fun day for Fall and for Spring, on main campus, where the school basically thanks us for our hard work, with music, dancing, games, rides, and free food.

    Food and Dining

    Due to the fact that it is a community college, we do not have dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    Due to the fact that it is a community college, we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes begin easy however, as you progress through your college experience the professor expect you to be able to handle your own in tougher courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work when you apply for this Technical Community College, because even though many would see a community college as easy, they will not treat you as a high school student. The studies are rigorous and the professors expect you to not only do the work, but do it well.

    In three sentences

    The professors force you to apply yourself, as well as make the class fun. The initial classes are easy to get newly enrolled students into the swing of things, however they progress fast, with few classes in the science field get more hands on as you go through the tougher course. Personally I liked the fact that some courses are hands on and this is an all around great school to attend.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police officers are located right by the parking lot and are so nice that if you had to park far away, they will give you a ride to your car if the weather is bad.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus. it now takes EBT also!!

    Dorm Life

    As far as i know there is not dorms right now. If there were i would defiantly be interested in living there.

    Academic Rigor

    They have the best teachers. They care about their students and their lives after they leave the classroom. Therefore they are serious and will help you achieve your goals academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try hard and do your best. Show them that you are one of a kind and committed to learning.

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Technical Community College is a wonderful environment to be learning in. The school caters to your needs and has teachers who go above and beyond to help their students.This school is very well organized and has many branches to help you on any needs you may have.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    High security with campus police! With that said Forsyth Tech is filled with students of all ages that are working to further their education! It's a wonderful place to be!

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer over two-hundred clubs and organizations for students to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student that is passionate about their education and willing to put in the man hours for it!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is CHEAP when correlated with the education that you will get! I've had such great professors and such small classes that it's been a very intimate relationship with my educational goals.

    What to do for fun

    Winston-Salem in general is an incredible city to live in! Our downtown scene and various artsy fartsy events happening weekly! We love great food, good beer, and beautifully crafted artwork! At Forsyth Tech in general they host a lot of dances and fundraisers for numerous campus related activities.

    Food and Dining

    The grill is delicious! They serve breakfast and lunch! They also have a coffee shop, the bookstore (which has food), and a break room with vending machines. There's a sonic and a Biscuitville across the street.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms but do offer some help in finding student housing!

    Academic Rigor

    They expect their students to do well and be responsible for their work load, however, they are very understand about circumstances and take care of it's students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone who is contemplating going to Forsyth Tech Community College should plan to have diligent study skills and a great work ethic because the professors don't take what they teach too lightly. They want their students to take the classes seriously and do what is expected of you to become a stronger student and mature as an adult! It's a great college to attend, as a student of three years, and I would recommend anyone to check it out.

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Tech is a great place to start your college education for many reasons such as saving money, phenomenal professors, and a great student body! The professors are very knowledgeable in what they teach and are interested in getting the students interested as well. Forsyth Tech has multiple campuses making it easy to schedule all of the classes that you need with the times that you need them.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Satisfactory

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    1-1 student oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    tuition affordable

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    New student, I have not try it yet.T

    Academic Rigor

    Good, small classrooms able to handle classconversations and arguments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tuition is affordable, but save money for the books because they expensive.

    In three sentences

    Very helpful staff who help on a 1-1 basis to choose classes. Tuition cost affordable. Proximity of the college is within walking distance

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is several clubs on campus for students to join. The clubs vary from student government association to the geology club. There is plenty to choose from if you're looking to join some kind of student organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Unsure of you major Wanting to save money on college If you only need an associates degree for your career Unsure of what kind of university you are interested in

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers that I've had at Forsyth Tech always like to make sure we get what we paid for. In that case, they are always willing to help with problems I am having, or answer any questions and even stay a little late just to help you figure something out.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is about 5 minutes from campus if you're looking for something to do in between classes. There is also several places to grab a bite to eat from.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't do much eating on campus. I did hear that the cafeteria was surprisingly good. I usually got food from the coffee shop on campus...only because they sold Chick-fil-a sandwiches and biscuits.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes that I've taken here, the hardest ones by far have been my chemistry and biology classes. There is no doubt that you have to put in outside effort to pass, and that goes for all of your classes. I honestly believe, if you don't study or put in the effort outside of class to know the material you aren't going to make a good grade in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor. Don't be afraid to ask questions until you get what you're looking for. Always park in the student parking lots to avoid a parking citation...they don't hesitate giving them out. Don't try to overwhelm yourself with too many classes; only take what you know you can handle. STUDY for the placement tests if you have to take them.

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Tech is a good choice if you are unsure of your major and want to save money paying for college. At Forsyth Tech, your classes are smaller than university style classes, so your teacher gets to know you better. The only thing I hated here was their parking lots.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I went to NCCU and WSSU and they both were EXPENSIVE as I don't know what! I don't have to use but one loan to get me through the semester. With me having no job I an grateful for the loans, I just wish it could be forgivable. Other than that you get what you pay for and I mean it!

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on every week on the campus so you never get bored if you actually go to campus!

    Food and Dining

    They have the grill and a couple other places but I rarely eat there cause I rather have either Bojangles or Jimmy Johns!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life because it is a community college!

    Academic Rigor

    I wish that some of the classes were more challenging and then I wish that the challenging classes were more easy! I am in 3 classes right now which all are online but one is hybrid so I have to go to class as well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for whatever your teacher throws at you! STUDY, STUDY, STUDY! Always, and I mean ALWAYS go to class!

    In three sentences

    Forsyth Tech is a good school to go to is all you want are the basics of post-secondary education. I would not recommend taking online classes unless you have taken them before and have done exceptionally well because you can get distracted very easily. Overall, the classes are a little easier than university/college courses!