Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fort Hays State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    productive, fun, outgoing, someone who needs to study but know where to go if they need a break, an active community member would fit in perfectly. Make sure that this school is what you want though before saying that it is PERFECT for you. Everyone needs something specific and I believe that FHSU will have it..... even that wackiest of things, like pickle ball!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure your visit the campus becuase it's a little weird to be looking at in on paper or on the virtual 360 (on school website), you won't understand when they tell you it's like a community college but with the university feel. Plus it may look small but it is such a great school in a small community with LOTS of activities to do. The community really gets you invovled!!!!

  • 05/31/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FHSU is great for anyone who wants to go to a true college town and for anyone who wants to get a great college education and experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus to make sure you'll enjoy the school, it really helps

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FHSU is great for just about any kind of person they have all sorts of activities and groups to join. Yes it is a party school but on the other hand what College isn't? It really depends on who you hang out with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure which ever school you go to is prefect for you and only you! If you choose a school for some other reason like thats where your parents want you to go or where your friends are going to go, the best advice I can give is DON'T DO IT! I've been in those shoes currently I live 14 hours from my home town but I love it at FHSU, yes I miss my family and friends but if I wouldn't have left to come here I wouldn't have ever met some of the amazing people that I have in my life today. Yes my parents were heart broken when I told them I was going so far away instead of the school an hour and 30 minutes away, but they really did support me and eventually got over it. I suggest you visit the campus of where ever you are thinking about going because if you don't and just look at it online you don't get to see the people and have face to face experience with them or the campus. Talk to your academic adviser a few times and make sure everything is in order, don't just assume they know who you are if you are new or a returning student. They have many students to look out for and help all at the same time so give them some slack if they get you confused with someone else a few times. Most of all make sure it is the school for you and no one else!!

    Bang for the buck

    FHSU has the least expensive tuition out of the Universities in Kansas. Even though FHSU is the cheapest on tuition rates they don't cut back on any of their resources to the students or class materials.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are great very nice, helpful and fun to be around. I was new to the campus and to Hays in January and now it seems like I grew up around here it's great! I grew up in a big city and I was worried about the transition to a smaller town but it wasn't so different, which was a big relief for me.

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are great! I have so much fun in them and learn a lot. Everyone has had those teachers that say they care but they really could care less about you or your grade. That is far from the case at FHSU the teachers really do care about your grades and are willing to help you on anything they possibly can no matter how long it might take.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and explore the website. There is at Fort Hays than you first may realize.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone has been very friendly and helpful. They help students become aware of opportunities to reach their dreams.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors demonstrate expertise in field knowledge and the ability to effectively communicate that knowledge with students.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am a tech geek and they have a lot of technology at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I you like a small college town you will like FHSU.

    Bang for the buck

    I decided on this school because of the cost. I get a discount because I am from Oklahoma. The other schools I was considering were at least $7000 more a year to attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    I went to pre enroll and met some of the students in the department. Everyone was friendly.

    Will learn a lot

    I believe that I will learn a lot at FHSU. So far my major professors have been in contact with me and have been very helpful.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's mostly known as a party town. Unless you party there isn't much to do besides go on the other side of town, play video games, or just go exploring around the place

    Food and Dining

    Dorm food sucks but there's the Union where you can eat better and more fresh food

    Dorm Life

    Things are never boring in dorms :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class, take notes, do the work, and study. You will pass if you do this

    In three sentences

    FHSU is quite an interesting place yet also unique place to get a degree from. It has students if different diversities, social and economic statuses and from different areas of the world. Not to mention it's pretty affordable.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's usually great, just heard a couple problems going on.

    Greek Life

    It's a small school so the greek life is not so great compared to the bigger colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Mainly hanging in the dorms, or trying to do sports. It's a great school and try not to apply to the Wiest dorm.

    Food and Dining

    You got the union to go to and the Caf. Under Wiest there is the chucks place and is usually the place to hang out.

    Dorm Life

    The wiest hall is terrible, but if you get to the other ones they are great. Going to try and go to the other ones next semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go out and party like the other students. Stick to going to class and be open to ask questions in class. It's a great small college and seems to be cheap.

    In three sentences

    It's a great 8,000+ school and is really cheap. Has great sports and gives people to do other activities if you dont play a sport.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is a ++++!

    What to do for fun

    the options are endless.

    Food and Dining

    good food and dining at anytime of the day or night.

    Dorm Life

    i never lived in the dorm. i can only rate it after my friends experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    go and check out fort hays state. it is a four year college that is very affordable but the education is priceless.

    In three sentences

    fort hays state is wonderful college to attend. small classes and wonderful instructors leads the way to an awarding career. i recommend fort hays state to everyone.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i do not think there is any other accredited brick and motor school with real teachers that offers complete online degrees for a better price!

    Food and Dining

    i am a virtual student, therefore i have no experience with the dorm life.

    Dorm Life

    i am a virtual student, therefore i have no experience with the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    if you put effort into your classes you will learn a lot and feel good about your education. some of the classes truly are difficult!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you can, avoid the buyback program from fhsu bookstore, they may change thier minds on the amount to pay you for your books between the time you ship and when they send you money. just because you are taking classes online does not mean you procrastinate! do you work!

    In three sentences

    this school has an amazing virtual student program and an even better staff! the price is nothing short of amazing, one of the most affordable programs out there!

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    fort hays offers a variety of degree programs, and is a very affordable college compared to most four year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    hays has different activities to offer. when the weather is nice there is disk golf and putt putt, as well as a biking trail. there are numerous campus intramural games offered throughout the year from basketball, flag football, to card games. there are also events all throughout the year put on by the campus.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is typical and gets old after a while. its starts out great, but with the same rotation it can get old. luckily there are some options other than the cafeteria that offer a change.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is what you make it. there are times it can get a bit wild, but overall its a great experience. by living in the dorms you are in the middle of the activities going on in campus and get to meet people a lot easier.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are harder than others, and it depends on if its a major class or not. the higher up you go, the harder they get. some gen eds can be difficult depending on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your teacher right away. ask other students who have taken classes before on which teacher is best to take, a teacher can make or break a class. get as involved as possibly to make friends and connections everywhere. be yourself.

    In three sentences

    fort hays offers a friendly environment and a great teacher to student ratio. the campus offers a variety of activities and organizations that makes it easy to get involved and get to know people.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are many campus police officers and i always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    i do not participate in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    i do not belong to any clubs or participate in any activities, but i have heard and whitnissed nothing but good things about them all.

    Bang for the buck

    affordable success

    What to do for fun

    fhsu provides many different activites of all kinds to students. there's something for everybody.

    Academic Rigor

    i have completed one semester so far and i'm working on my second at fhsu. the classes i have taken so far i have learned everything i had expected to and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest fhsu to anybody. i took classes on campus my first semester and i enjoyed it every much. it is a beautiful campus with lots to offer. i am currently taking classes virtually which has been going great, they have an excellent online program and virtual classes can be taken from anywhere.

    In three sentences

    it is a very great school for any major. i have enjoyed my experience here and i am looking forward to graduating with a degree from fort hays state university. i would give fhsu an a+ grade.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a great federally trained campus police force that keep us safe and sound.

    Greek Life

    all types of sororities are located here and constant buzz for those who are interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a great range available to us here

    Great for these types of students

    all types from your still in high school (kams) program to the 40+ set such as myself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    october-fest, fort hays, wild west festival, amazing public pool and many parks and attractions

    Bang for the buck

    very low tuition and great degrees available great amenities and terrific staff could not ask for more other then longer deferments on student loans.

    What to do for fun

    play with my children.

    Food and Dining

    top of the line selections from starbucks, pizza hut, coyote grill, and full hot and cold lines as well.

    Dorm Life

    would not let me skip from what i know its great but i can't rate this accurately as i am a non traditional student living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the nursing program is very challenging and the 17 credit hour semesters are very demanding but well worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to study and spend the effort to pass this is no we don't care education it will be hard work but worth the effort you put in to it.

    In three sentences

    i believe fort hays state university to be an exceptional school atmosphere and value. the teachers, class size, course selection, and school setting are outstanding and the nursing program is in the top 200 out of thousands in the country with state of the art simulated patients and equipment. i am very pleased with my choice and time spent here at fhsu.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    video games and hanging out with friends

    In three sentences

    fort hays state is a very nice school. it is a small 4 year school with the education that you need. this school campus is a very close together and makes walking to class and getting to class very easy and fast. i believe that this school would be a very good choice for anybody that is looking for a good education and likes being apart of the community.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i live in california, can not speak to campus safety.

    Greek Life

    i live in california, can not speak to greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    i live in california, can not speak to clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    i can speak to online education only, you must be willing to check the blackboard frequently, participate via discussion board, and study on your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i live in california, can not speak to traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    the value is there at fort hays. i have been given university education for much less than my local universities. also, compared to the multiple online college options, fort hays is a very reasonable option.

    What to do for fun

    i live in california, can not speak to extracurriculars.

    Food and Dining

    i live in california, can not speak to the food and dining options.

    Dorm Life

    i live in california, can not speak to the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    professor's expect you to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to look into the 4-year university you are gong to attend before taking your general education courses at your local community college. in my experience, i have taken multiple classes that are not needed. on the other hand i am missing several classes for the general education needed from my university.

    In three sentences

    one of the best choices for online education, professor's are invested in teaching, and making the students learn.solid foundation for learning online, the value of education versus price is something to speak of. i recommend fort hays for anyone interested in a legitimate online learning experience.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i am a gamer and i go to concerts here at the campus., do a lot of practice on my instrument as i am majoring in music.

    Food and Dining

    food is great they have a stir fry line and this is where i eat almost every time. and the union has starbucks and other place to dine as well

    Dorm Life

    dorm life great went to bank camp here 6 years and always stayed in the dorms, have had a great experience here.

    Academic Rigor

    my schedule is pretty good not o full have plenty of time to get homework done, and have time for other things. have had good grades this year feeling a lot better then the last time here.

    Tips for prospective students

    always ask if you don;t understand professors are very helpfull, and ifj need use the kelly learning center it is very helpful.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    online distance learners have a huge advantage of taking classes here. we are earning a degree that has a state accreditation and has instructors that are very concerned with their student's progress even without seeing them face to face.

    Bang for the buck

    i am getting an incredible education for a lower cost than most universities that i have found.

    Food and Dining

    i do not eat at this campus.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the instructors are very concerned with what the students are learning. the quality of education is very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    turn in your homework on time, every time. work hard and pay attention to what you are doing.

    In three sentences

    i am enjoying classes at fort hays state very much. i have had wonderful communication with my instructors and administrative offices. they have made my journey start out without any trouble or complications.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a distance learner.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat there. I am a distance learner.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is the toughest online classes I have ever taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply well in advance.

    In three sentences

    Excellent and willing to work with me to overcome educational issues.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like with any other university or college, there are unexpected circumstances and situations which come up. The university works with the campus police and the city police to ensure that all precautions are taken to ensure the overall safety of the FHSU community and every member. If a situation comes up, they make sure to inform everyone so that their safety and well being.

    Greek Life

    I don't know a whole lot about the fraternities and sororities, but I do know that they do alot on campus and in the community as well. If you are looking for a lasting friendship in this way, greek life on FHSU is a great way to experience this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many athletics are offered and for those who don't do sports for the university can do intramurals. Plus several clubs are offered that allow you to be involved on the campus and out in the community. There are no limitations to what you can do and accomplish.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is looking for that classroom environment where they are more a student than a number, a place that is close to home, but yet far enough for a sense of independence, or for anyone who just wants a great educational experience and opportunity, FHSU is the place for you. Give it a chance.

    Bang for the buck

    The slogan used to be affordable success. It is affordable and they make available many scholarships to help with the extra expenses in college, which is really great. It gets pretty competitive at times, but they do what they can to ensure you are taken care of and get the most out of your academic experience. Plus, with many job opportunities on and off campus, you can earn extra on the side to help out as well.

    What to do for fun

    While at FHSU I went out with my friends, went and watched sports games, played tennis and basketball, worked out at the Wellness Center, went running. I tried to give myself a break from school work and take advantage of the fun that surrounded me. Now, as a grad student, I've outgrown the high life of FHSU and look forward to what I'll gain and experience when I move to Austin Texas in May, but I will always carry all of the fun I had at FHSU with me for the rest of my life.

    Food and Dining

    Great access to good food and dining whether at the dorms or the Union as they continue to upgrade and improve overall access. Great restaurant choices and often times professors invite the students in their major over for meals. I absolutely LOVE the English department, which was one of my degree majors as an undergrad. They always had some get together where we went to someones place to eat or talk, but to always have fun.

    Dorm Life

    I am in my second semester of graduate school, but I lived in the dorms my freshman year. I met so amazing people and still have relationship with very many of them. It allows for a lasting friendship with people you can carry with you forever. I will also say that dorm life was always exciting in many aspects; I loved my floor, McMindes Hall 2West, because we always did everything together, whether it was going out or going to football games or going to the talent shows together. Even though we have all gone our separate ways and have gotten engaged, married, having children or are expecting, we always remember the great times we had together when we do happen to see each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Good. If you put forth all of your effort and go to the professors for support and show that you really want to achieve at the highest level, you can get there, and you will. If you don't give your all, don't expect the professors to hold your hand and spoon feed you. It is a big step from secondary academics and you will be expected to go out of your comfort zone at times, but it will all be for your good and to benefit you to the best ability. If you want it, you'll do all you can and need to and your professors will back you up!

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus visits are great as it allows for you to see the different buildings and what all the campus has to offer. This keeps you from feeling overwhelmed when first going to the university. Also, take the opportunity to get out and experience all that FHSU has to offer: attended the different presentations, performances, athletics, etc. Take full advantage of the fun and exciting things FHSU has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Great experience. So many of the professors go above and beyond to make sure that you not only learn everything that you need to know but that you apply it to the best of your ability. Even with being a DII university, the class sizes allow for the needed support.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have lived in Hays 20 years. Prior, I lived in Los Angeles. There is little to no violent crime in Hays. There have been two rapes on campus this year. Which is the first, that I know of. The President has taken it very seriously and has offered self defense classes. Hays is a safe and cozy place to live and go to college. I'm grateful for the opportunity. Fort Hays State has their own police, not security, police.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved, but it has a strong presence at FHSU.

    Clubs and Activities

    I couldn't possibly list them all. If you have an interest, we have a club. I am only a member of the National Collegiate Scholars, and the FHSU Honor's Society. I have friends in music, rodeo, agriculture, pre-med. foreign language. I love FHSU.

    Great for these types of students

    Ag students, nursing students, radiology students, psych students, English students. We have a strong foreign language dept. FHSU is a great match for all students. Students interested in studying abroad, this is the school for you. There are numerous opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the campus because is an amazing mix of cultures. People are friendly and courteous, even to a 50 year old.

    Bang for the buck

    Fort Hays State is truly the most value for your dollar. The level of education is superior. The cost is the lowest I know of.

    What to do for fun

    This is a small college town. Many students get drunk alot. Other healthy things to do for fun are: friz bee golf, golf, there is a gym on campus, a pool on campus, movies, shopping, we have amazing parks, pic-nicking, tennis, great shops down town, Semolinos is amazing. Hays has a roller hockey rink, and a aquatic park.

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine at FHSU. I'm told the food is great. They have a Starbucks in the dining area.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, as I am 49 years old. My young friends who do not like to party and are at school to learn and get good grades, do not like the dorms. The people who live to party, love the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes challenging. To get an A you must work for it. Once you are in the upper level classes, the academic rigor obviously increases. If you want to learn, come to FHSU.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not interested in going to class and are looking for a university to party at....FHSU will fit into that category. The drinking is out of control. I am here to learn, and graduate summa cum laude. People can still pass, by not caring...but, your future depends on what you put in to your education.

    In three sentences

    Unique upper level opportunity for a cutting edge education.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hays, Kansas is an actual college town. Kids like to go out and have a good time. There are a few bars that you can get into at 18 years of age and go dancing. There is a bowling alley, movie theater, putt putt golf, and gyms in the coliseum to go and play basketball games with a few friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. After living in the dorms for a year and thats all you have to eat, it does get old, but it could be worse. There is different dining plans you can have, and each semester you get a certain amount of dining dollars which lets you basically eat in the union cafeteria for free.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you need if your new and do not know anyone on campus. The dorms make you reach out of your comfort zone and make new friends from your floor, other floors, or even the other dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really good. There are a few teachers you do not want classes with, but you get that at any college you find. Overall, you learn lots and if you are having troubles, professors are willing to meet with you to discuss your issue, or there is also a tutoring center, the Kelly Center, on campus where there are tutors for all different kinds of subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to visit the campus. Not only does this help you make your final decision, but it lets you get to know what the campus feel is like. When I first visited, I knew automatically where I was going to college. The feeling when you first step onto the campus is homey. It makes you feel like your just on another school, not a huge campus that has 8,000 students attending.

    In three sentences

    Coming from out-of-state, the tuition is cheaper than going in-state to a college like Colorado State, University of Colorado, or University of Northern Colorado. When I moved to Hays, it felt like home immediately, everyone was friendly, helpful, and open. Finally, the class sizes are small and the professors are willing to help you one on one.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is vary safe during the day and at night. Hays has a fairly low crime rate and the campus police do a wonderful job to ensure the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    Although not many, Fort Hays does have a few sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    FHSU has a variety of clubs and activities it offers. Make sure to check out what is available and which ones match your interests!

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. Students from rural or urban areas, outgoing or shy, young or old. Fort Hays is a great place for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oktoberfest and Homecoming are traditions at FHSU. The Union is located on campus and offers a great environment to just hang out or study.

    Bang for the buck

    As stated, Fort Hays offers affordable success. The price for classes are low compared to other universities in Kansas. The price is low compared to the high quality education you will receive.

    What to do for fun

    Hays has a lot to offer on campus and off including: bowling, recreational sports, shopping, and a water park.

    Food and Dining

    The Union at Fort Hays has a newly added Starbucks, as well as a cafeteria offering a variety of different foods. The prices are reasonable and the quality of food is good. If you decide to leave campus, Hays offers a variety of different food places to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't personally live in the dorms, but have had family members and friend who did at FHSU. If I could go back, I would have lived in the dorms at least my Freshman year. Some of the dorm rooms are kind of small, but it just depends on the dorm you live in. You can choose from a coed dorm or an all-male or all-female dorm. Living in a dorm is the best way to get to know new people at the university.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of classes at FHSU is adequate to their class level. The professors expect a lot of their students, but are also willing to put in some extra time if the student is having some difficulty. Many of the professors develop a friendship with their students and try to get to know them as well as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! Fort Hays has a beautiful campus and is currently undergoing construction to make it even better. This is an ideal school for someone who is from a small town and not wanting to attend a big university.

    In three sentences

    Affordable Success

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    To numerous to mention

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not familar with the campus, but plan to visit

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent

    What to do for fun

    I have heard that the area offers alot of fun sites to see, but never experienced any.

    Food and Dining

    Never eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student, so I have never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer a wide range of classes. Check out the website for on campus and online degree options.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that really cares about their students in every aspect, consider Fort Hays State University, because this one does.

    In three sentences

    I recently transferred to this college because of a referral by a family member. I was told that their customer service and the way that they treat their students was A+, and it is. They pride themselves on getting back to you and if they do not have the answer they will find out and let you know asap.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    All of my instructors have been extremely caring and helpful so far--they really go the extra mile to make sure you understand what's going on in your classes and make sure you're learning and enjoying them as well!

    What to do for fun

    I don't live in Hays, so I'm not sure, I'm doing the Virtual College so all of my classes are online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay On Track!

    In three sentences

    Learning Made Simple

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely the best valued education.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus so I do not eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It may not be the most rigorous, but it is great for students who are self-disciplined and really want the education.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Listen to music. Go to the campus activities. Enjoy meeting new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there and do what you have to in order to go to college. It is a great place to go.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy meeting new people. I am learning from some of the best professors. I'm learning to live on my own.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No cameras campus security closes after 4:30? Right before dark and most common time for crime. Ridiculous...

    Greek Life

    Quite a few frats

    Clubs and Activities

    Not really involved with these

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers Studiers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The union is the hangout and cafeteria location

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive for such small selection.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs bars parties.

    Food and Dining

    There are 2 dorm buildings but only one has official dining. Cafeteria like buffet food.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live off campus but first years Re required to live in dorms. The rooms are large with lots of closet space and heaters and air conditioning. Food is mediocre.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your personal program

    Tips for prospective students

    Small town lots of studying no or little partying!!

    In three sentences

    Good for academics. Not for sports. Small school. Small town. Small small small!!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a bus that students can call so that they don't have to walk home or drive drunk. It's free, and available five days out of the week. There are emergency call buttons on the information boards around campus, and the school offers a police escort service.

    Greek Life

    While Greek Life is present, there are only a handfull of sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of clubs on campus for students, and many activities are hosted as well.

    Great for these types of students

    The students that don't mind living in a smaller town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming weekend is also Oktoberfest weekend. Many of the college organizations make t-shirts to sell at Oktober fest, and school lets out at noon on Oktoberfest Friday.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is great, and cheap.

    What to do for fun

    College events, the science museum, art galleries, boutique shopping, bowling, go the mall, the movie theatre.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is good, but not great. It gets boring. The food in the union is often fresher and better tasting, but it requires dining dollars instead of meal swipes. There aren't many other dining options in Hays.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. The RAs are very helpful, as are the desk assistants. The buildings aren't super modern, but they have a certain charm.

    Academic Rigor

    The gen eds aren't tough in general, but the professors can make things difficult. The art classes are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded, living in a small town actually isn't so bad. Live in the dorms your first year of college, there isn't much time in classes to make friends and the dorms are the best place to meet people.

    In three sentences

    A lovely, small college. The majority of people are very friendly and hopeful. The town is small, but a nice place.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police and security

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of clubs and intramural a

    What to do for fun

    Many on campus activities

    Food and Dining

    Very good food plans and great food

    Dorm Life

    Clean dorms! Good food

    Academic Rigor

    Very good classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved

    In three sentences

    Great University! Awesome Faculties and amazing students!

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are only a handful of fraternities and sororities on campus and they all do a lot of service work in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want personal attention and feel overwhelmed in large crowds then Fort Hays is a great option.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has limited selections and usually serve pasta or rice. The Union has Pizza Hut and some other selections.

    Dorm Life

    The two traditional residence halls are old and haven't been updated much but they are fairly nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard and the sizes are small.

    In three sentences

    Fort Hays is a small, rural school. The people are friendly and the professors willing to help. The campus is relatively small, easy to bike or walk around.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see campus police patrolling on a daily and nightly basis and it definitely feels safe.

    Greek Life

    I have never joined a fraternity but i definitely regret it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations to choose from! You'll find one that you like!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus Snowball fight in the quad!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though I'm getting a quality education for half the price of other instate colleges (KU and KSU).

    What to do for fun

    The clubs and organizations meet weekly. There is also bowling, bars and clubs (many are 18 to enter), and great restaurants around town.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have a current meal plan but the plans they offer all seem great. The on-campus food selection is nice as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm but I live in on campus housing (apartments) and it is great! quiet and a good study environment. Neighbors are friendly, and the maintenance crew is quick and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    The prerequisite classes are easy enough, but being in the biology program I am challenged on a daily basis but learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Join one or many of the different clubs or organizations and meet friends and potential networking partners. This can also add padding to a resume!

    In three sentences

    Fort Hays State University is an excellent school with knowledgeable teachers and friendly students. The smaller campus size makes the learning environment more personal. Nice students and staff, quiet during the week, makes for a great learning experience.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Heard that this campus has the lowest amount of crime at it!

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many clubs available!

    Academic Rigor

    You will definitely have to work hard to get the grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard. Study Hard. Play Hard. Be Involved.

    In three sentences

    Fort Hays State University is a great place to be involved, there are numerous clubs for everyone. This campus is not too big or little giving you enough time to get to and from your classes. Going to Fort Hays will help you prepare for the bigger things in life.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops are always around

    Clubs and Activities

    many choices available

    Bang for the buck

    very cheap school in kansas but just as challenging

    What to do for fun

    Go to walmart, go to christian challenge, go to random events held on campus, go to the rose, go mini golfing, go bowling

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around which professors would be best in each department or if online classes are easier. This can really change a class experience.

    In three sentences

    It is a really good school. Class sizes are small, and teachers know you by name. The classes are challenging but there are many services available for students.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Definitely feel safe on this campus! Not only is campus security looking out for you but the RAs and staff help to keep an eye on things.

    Greek Life

    If you enjoy small sororities and fraternities then Greek life on this campus is for you. It is still growing and improving every year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count! There is an activity for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who really gain from belonging to a small community.

    Bang for the buck

    It is all about your mind set and how you want your college career to turn out.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall, movie theater, and bowling alley all in town. There are all some awesome restaurants in town. Other towns are not too far away so a weekend or day trip to one of the neighboring towns is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    The fact that there are two different choices on where to eat all three meals is amazing! You are not confined to just a dining hall. So many options on what to eat every day and you cannot beat the fact that Starbucks is now on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Definitely improving! They are adding new dorms and it so easy to meet others in the dorm. There are constant activities to involve yourself in in order to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Since the college is so small it is easier to connect with the teacher so they know you on a more personal level. That way they can push you harder in their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is okay to not know what degree you want right off the bat. Gen-eds are the greatest classes ever because you get to explore what is out there.

    In three sentences

    FHSU is a small and wonderful college located in an amazing town. The atmosphere is very intimate in the way that everyone has the ability to know everyone. It is easy to make friends and create an identity for yourself.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is so affordable even if your just using financial aid!!! FHSU is so affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There's game rooms and bikes that we were shown on our tour so to me you will never get board there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The café is GREAT, so many different options you will never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    On a tour you get to see the dorms and they give that safe and homey feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Just visiting and hearing about class life makes this college sound achievable and somewhere you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your interested in something make sure you ask questions to make sure you understand what you may be apart of.

    In three sentences

    The town of Hays is like home the first time you visit. The campus is homey and comfortable and as soon as your there you feel as if you belong.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hays is not a large city but there are lots of fun things to do. For a college student most the action happens on campus. The university does a great job panning out and hosting activities. I encourage peeps to join the University Activities Board. Events never run out. The campus hosts live music and theatrical performances. There are marathons that take place for good causes. The intramurals here are pretty big, especially during football season. Sporting events go off the hook! There are contests of all sorts. Its actually pretty fun in downtown hays also. The town hosts live music venues and other things. By far the funniest thing to do in town is the Art Walk. The Art Walk is held in the middle of every fall and spring semesters. Half the school goes down town to see student and local art displayed in business and restaurants. There's the Halloween walks on campus and the haunted house at the Sternberg Museum. Hay is a great University town.

    Food and Dining

    There are many place to eat on campus. The Student Union sees the most activity due to their in and out service and because of the good food offered by some chain restaurants within. Did I mention Starbucks?! The food at the caf is also good. There are many more places in town to find food. You got a variety of your fast food chains and local restaurants which are pretty good actually. Some chain restaurants deliver food to the dorms like pizzas and Chinese food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty exciting. The hall council does a great job planning activities and letting the campus community know. Front desk is helpful checking you in and out of dorms. There are three dorm halls; McMindes, Agnew, and Weist Hall; guys and gals on diff. floors. Agnew is the nicest due to suite style planning. 4 bedrooms, kitchen and lobby, in all units. It's more expensive than both. McM. and W. but you get a room to yourself. It's two to a dorm in the other ones, which are actually pretty nice too. Most stay in McMindes, seems like there's more going on there because of the cafeteria and the recreation lobby. Wiest does have a lobby but not as nice as McM.s However it does offer a place to buy food once the Cafeteria closes in the evening. Great addition if youre still hungry or you come home late. There's is no drinking on campus.There are police officers that patrol campus and make nightly runs of the floors, so the dorms are pretty safe too.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, its important that you stay on top of your academics. Classes generally run smooth unless you go out and party during school week. Things pick up a little bit at midterms and finals, but not to terribly bad. If you have and concerns or need help with a class, the professors are pretty workable and happy to help. Another great thing is the Student tutors at the Kelly Center. They are pretty chill and really do help. Some programs are more intense than others, like the graphics program. The only hard time Ive had was trying to figure out when I was going to move my bed into the lab. I worked all night, but I can say that it does pay off being part of one of the best graphics programs in the nation really. IÃ?Â?ve felt the key to success in Hays was about being organized, checking Blackboard and Tiger Tracks often, and getting help when I needed it. This does pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting involved in councils clubs or anything on campus is highly recommended. You will grow as a person and its time well spent .For incoming students, youll enjoy Freshman Orientation; its a blast! If in doubt about anything please check Blackboard for class updates or help, and Tiger Tracks for transcripts, financial and academic concerns. Asking for help is a bit intimidating at first but I highly encourage it. Things will run a lot smoother once you get advice. Dont be afraid to let your tiger roar be heard, FHSU is here to and happy help. Dont be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. There are many on campus activities for making friends and having fun. You can never make too much friends. Stay away from drinking parties, too many sketchy people its hard to get back on track during the school week. Some on campus activities are way better than any parties because of prize giveaways and live entertainment. Theres also plenty of restaurants and places to check out in town.

    In three sentences

    One of the best universities in Kansas offering competitive nationally accredited programs at competitive rates. Located in the historic and lively town of Hays. Great step forward academically for world oriented and successful individuals.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is relatively inexpensive and it seems that you get a very good education quality.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in a graduate program but it seems pretty comparable to the other universities I looked at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go into this thinking it will be a cake-walk. This is a real university with real programs and professors that will challenge you.

    In three sentences

    Overall I am quite impressed with the college. I am attending the virtual graduate school and it has been surprisingly organized and challenging.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety? It is so high! Campus cops are always out roaming, there's a 'Saferide' system for when people are too intoxicated to drive, or just need a safe ride home on a creepy night. The campus cops are so helpful, they will let you into your car if you locked your keys in it, they'll jump your vehicle if you have a dead battery, they will even air up your tires if they're a little low! Almost no one is ever out alone, and there are enough well lit places to get around on campus safely in someone's sight. It is an extremely comfortable campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Music students really succeed here, the faculty are excellent, and superbly talented. The nursing program is quite successful, and graphic design, I've heard, is a really good major to go into here. There is no culinary way of going about things here, which really sucks, but honestly Fort Hays offers so many other things. The study environment is great, if you enjoy small class sizes, this school is for you, my biggest class is marching band, with 140 participants. (That's inevitable). My biggest actual class only has 23 students in it. The teacher to student ration is fantastic here. You can always meet up with your instructor, advisor, anyone, they almost always have a way of making time for you. It's really easy to contact and talk to people too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New traditions are being made all the time, but at the moment there's a thing that everyone on campus participates in. It's called Fancy Fridays or TGOF. Everyone either dresses up really fancy, or wears school colors :). The community also gives discounts to students wearing gold on Fridays as well. There are some really cool places on campus too, like we have a bridge crossing campus, and there's this little place underneath it that's really foresty, and there are some half-hidden stairs to get down there, and it's just really awesome, and a cool place to hang out. My dorm has a game room, with pool tables, air hockey, foosball, frisbees, etc. There is also a LOT of artwork around campus. Outside almost every building is some sort of statue or art. There's also this big grassy area called the Quad in the middle of campus with lots of trees and sidewalks, and for activities on campus? They advertise with sidewalk chalk! That's pretty cool.

    What to do for fun

    There are SO many organizations on campus, and if you find something lacking, you could start your own organization. With how busy I am, usually just spending a little time with friends is how I have fun. I also go to concerts and brought in entertainment on campus. And the partying? I know that it does go on, but the people I hang out with and myself do not party. Movies are also a great source of entertainment, when you have time for them.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in the bottom of McMindes hall that has smart and healthy food choices available every day. The food sometimes isn't that great, but honestly what cafeteria food is? There is also the student union on campus, which has a Starbucks, Pizza Hut/Wing Street, a Tiger Market (which provides two different food options every weekday), then a hamburger and chicken grill, and a huge salad bar. The cool thing is, all the food places on campus you use your TigerCard for, with a meal plan that is already purchased, the students don't have to worry about having a lot of money to spend on food. There are also several different meal plan options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really clean, with newly renovated areas like the cafeteria, the bathrooms and windows. The people you live with usually respect each other, and there are quiet hours at night, so you can sleep. There are always posters on how to get involved on campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are pushed to their limits, I myself feel especially pushed. I am only taking 12 credit hours, but I am participating in two different bands on campus, as well as in art classes. Lets just say I don't see my dorm room very often, and sleep is non-existent some nights. The effort you must put in to be successful is a tremendous amount, but it really pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think that this is high school, you CANNOT get by with not studying like you might have in high school. Never leave the dorm without your keys, honestly people do not like being woken up to let you in. Get your books and laptop before classes start, it will really help you. If in any sort of art class make sure you have some extra spending money, a studio fee will be needed at the beginning of the semester. If you are a music related student, be prepared to spend a lot of extra time in that building, the same goes for art.

    In three sentences

    Fort Hays is the most helpful, fun, and close-knitted school that I've ever seen. All the teachers are willing to provide insight on any question you might ask, and they actually have time for you. They have all sorts of options for almost any career choice you could want.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play softball, so I am always with the team. There are always school events going on that are really fun. The movie theater even is cheap, $4 for college students!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves pretty good food, and there is also a lot of options to choose from on campus that you can using dining dollars for... such as Starbucks and Pizza Hut!

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms and love it! Next year I will live in here or in the suites, either are very enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but aren't going to kill you with the amount of work!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is in the middle of no where, so you have to like a small town environment!

    In three sentences

    I love the environment here at Fort Hays. I play on the softball team, it adds a whole new dimension to the school. The education here is good, and I am learning a lot.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though I am a virtual student, I receive emails regarding the safety issues of the schools. There are always emails sent out regarding any incident so you know how to protect yourself adequately.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure about the Greek life as I do not attend on-campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on-campus and also within the virtual campus. I am currently in the National Society of Leadership and Success within the virtual campus and I love it. The society helps you to get on your career path and be successful.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who want to reach their ultimate success and have people helping you along the way. It is also an accredited online college; which most online schools are not. It is a great university that you can have your choice whether you want online, on-campus, or both. It is also great for students who want to receive a great education for a good price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not attend on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very reasonable in price. The college that is by my home in Ogden, Utah is more expensive for me as a in-state student. Fort Hays has the best bang for your buck in my opinion as you learn things to help you be very successful in life for a good price. The bookstore is also much cheaper than many others I have seen.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun if you attend Fort Hays Virtual College. by attending the Virtual College you can complete school as you travel. You can also have fun when you choose and do school when you get home rather than having a set schedule.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining on Fort Hays Virtual College is also amazing as you can eat as you are in class. Virtual College is the best as it helps you do things the way that fits you best.

    Dorm Life

    I am attending the virtual college which really makes dorm life great. You can study in your pajama's if you choose to. It also makes it easier to have a job to help pay for college as you can complete it on your own time.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like the academic rigor is very challenging, but success is achievable. Fort Hays challenges you to work hard to achieve your dreams. The classes they have you do are great for success in all of the areas of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the virtual campus as you can complete it on your own time and get the same degree that you would on campus. Always ask for assistance as Fort Hays always wants to help you. Be proud of Fort Hays University as it is one of the best colleges you can attend.

    In three sentences

    I attend the Fort Hays Virtual College campus. This school is amazing and is always there to help you. This school will help you build for your future.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online distance learning

    Bang for the buck

    This was to most affordable school I could find that had a psychology major.

    What to do for fun

    I'm an online student.

    Food and Dining

    I'm an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I'm an online student.

    Academic Rigor

    No too difficult, but respectable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of assignments and finish them in the beginning of the week.

    In three sentences

    A great way to return to school. I can fit the online schedule into my busy life. Online classes have a clear schedule.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can't speak to that.

    Greek Life

    I can't speak to that.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't speak to that.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for disciplined online students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have never been on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The out of state tuition cost less than in state tuition for students in California, where I live.

    What to do for fun

    I don't live in the area.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I can't speak to that.

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching is very professional, just as anyone would imagine an accredited four year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    I can only speak for online students - Make sure you are disciplined enough to read through the text, read the lectures, and complete all the assignments before the deadline and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    I am currently on a one semester break from the virtual college at Fort Hays State University. The on line options and the affordability of the school are amazing and the teaching staff, even though we are thousands of miles apart, do care about your development as a student and want you to succeed.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes - Police on campus

    Greek Life

    State of Kansas, I am sure there a many cultures such as this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various and multiple as it is a huge university.

    Great for these types of students

    Online and adult learners such as me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kansas State who knows what can happen?

    Bang for the buck

    Top 5 for most affordable in nation on internet google search.

    What to do for fun

    To your hearts desire!

    Food and Dining

    NA - online status for me only.

    Dorm Life

    NA - Virtual college/online status.

    Academic Rigor

    To be determined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Review the website for campus deadlines and dates to apply for cutoffs.

    In three sentences

    Great registration and admittance process and multiple disciplines offered. Top 5 in the nation for affordability and respected by multiple online search engines. Online virtual college allows for anytime access and fully accredited school.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun in Hays, Kansas there are lots of things to do. For one, there is a disc golf course. It's free, fun, and good exercise. In town there is also mini-golf, movie theatre, a mall, a volleyball court, parties, organizations, contests, bars, pools, parks, etc... There is a little something for everyone to enjoy while there.

    Food and Dining

    The town of Hays offers a good variety of dining restaurants. Whether you are craving something quick like McDonald's or Wendy's or wish for a steak dinner at Whiskey Creek. It also has great pizza places, like Lamato's, that has cream cheese pockets as one of it's signature toppings. Another great place to dine is at Gella's, which was recently featured in the Huffington Post as a great place to dine in Kansas. No matter what your taste, there is something for everyone in Hays, Kansas.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in Hays is very satisfying. There are always activities, volunteer options, and ways to support the community. The dorms are clean, average size, and appropriate for college living. The cafeteria on campus offers a variety of food, satisfying to all palates.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Fort Hays State varies from class to class. Some classes you think are going to be very difficult end up being really easy and vice-versa. Fort Hays State University is commonly known for it's great business programs. If you are looking for a particularly challenging workload in your university, the business program may meet your desires. It also has a top notch sonographer program and is very choosy about who is accepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students is to keep your eye on the prize. Hays is a college town and people get caught up in the bars and partying, like many other schools. This is fun and a great way to blow off steam, but just make sure that your classes and graduation is still your main priority.

    In three sentences

    Fort Hays State University is an all-around great university. There are options for everyone. This includes virtual classes, volunteer options, extra curricular activities, social events, tutoring, affordable classes, etc...