Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fort Lewis College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Native American students go for FREE!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending FLC make sure you have an open mind and are willing to write lots of papers about the environment. You will have more fun there if you try and make lots of friends and stay involved!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition has been going up to help pay for the renovations being made.

    Am enjoying being here

    I got to be involved with things from cheer-leading to drama to yoga. There are lots of FREE activities that help you stay involved.

    Am learning a lot

    You will receive a very diverse learning experience. The professors are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 06/02/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 14 people found this review useful. 2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If your Native American intuition is FREE!!

  • 12/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is honestly something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Take advantage of every opportunity that comes your way, you will have a lot of them here. 2. Do your research! Fort Lewis isn't for everyone. Do your research, visit the school and talk to current students to find out if Fort Lewis is the right fit for you. (This is good advice for any school, not just Fort Lewis)

    Bang for the buck

    I can't place a value on the tools I have received during my education at Fort Lewis. They really do provide you with everything you need to be successful. If you make use of all of these opportunities you will find that what you get far exceeds the price you pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    Durango is a beautiful place!

  • 12/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I love Fort Lewis and Durango, because it is so outdoor friendly and has great geology to gander at. The people here are very friendly and open to everything and everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are in to rocks and other cool earth science subjects, Fort Lewis has one of the best geology programs in the nation!! I have learned so much in the three years I've been here for many reasons. Fort Lewis is located in Durango, which provides an amazing environment to study geology! We have field trips sometimes three times a week. That hands on experience is so beneficial for any career path you want to take. That field experience also looks great on any resume or job application. The teachers are also great in that they want nothing more than to help you succeed. They all have their PhDs (at least in the geology department). Not only to the professors know so much about geology as a whole, but also have specified in a certain area of geology which helps you learn more about each area with every new class you take.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many of the larger universities Fort Lewis is much more affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a cyclist Durango is an amazing town. Really for any outdoors enthusiast Durango and Fort Lewis will have so many things for you to enjoy.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the academic programs are expanding, and opportunities are growing! Some students may have to seek out academic challenges outside of class but even if classes aren't difficult they are very informative.

  • 04/25/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're an outdoor, adventure seeker than FLC is perfect for you! Regardless of the season there is always something to do! If you enjoy skiing/snowboarding, mountain-biking, hiking, river rafting, or any other outdoor activity, than FLC is perfect for you. Enjoy your classes while overlooking the beautiful nature surrounding the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    FLC is set in the beautiful town of Durango, CO. If you chose to attend take advantage of the beauty around you. The FLC campus offers plenty of areas for outdoor study and class. You'll fall in love with the school while you fall in love with the town surrounding.

    Bang for the buck

    FLC is an incredibly affordable school. They will do all that they can to help you with scholarships and financial aid, the registrar staff is amazingly supportive with the payment process. Fort Lewis offers an amazing education at low costs.

    Did enjoy being here

    I thoroughly enjoyed being at Fort Lewis. There is a very diverse student body and staff to suite anybody! With an active student government often putting on events, it is easy to meet new friends and you'll never run out of things to do.

    Did learn a lot

    At FLC, like at any other school, you get what you give. If you dedicate your time, energy, and knowledge you will gain a lot from the school! There are amazing professors ready to fill your mind with knowledge, you just have to be willing and ready to learn.

  • 12/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who are individuals, for students who like sports, for students who LOVE any form of outdoor activity (it is an Outdoor Mecca), for students who have a wide variety of likes, for students who don't have any idea what they want to do yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active, participate in things that you believe in!

  • 12/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with multiple passions, and a desire to really connect with a community and be your own person!

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is truly a hidden jem, unfortunately. More people need to know about this college. Come see for yourself!

  • 08/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like being outdoors and can enjoy a small town. Native Americans go for free!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to take the time to research and visit the school before they commit to coming. I don't think Durango is for everyone so it's definitely worth your while to check it out to make that decision for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is much cheaper than a lot of the colleges in Colorado. I feel that it is definitely worth the price you pay to go here if you make the most out of the experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Durango and the Fort. The campus is gorgeous and there are plenty of outdoor activities and opportunities to get involved with the community. It is a very diverse campus and there are lots of friendly people.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are dedicated to advancing your knowledge then you are going to learn a lot. The professors all want the best for their students and care about what they are teaching. It is up to you whether you want to take advantage of it or not.

  • 09/02/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Minorities

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for it!

    Bang for the buck

    Transfer not necessary, I will be able to reach my degree goals in one college!

    Will enjoy being here

    Definitely, I love Durango!

    Will learn a lot

    This school offers my desired program!

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SNOWBOARDING!!!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is not the best source of nutrition.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nothing like what you see in movies. Everyone helps one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy to pass... Hard to ace.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is an easy going school, full of friendly, hardworking students. The professors here at Fort Lewis really try to make sure that you succeed at their courses. It is the best kind of learning enviroment.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    if your native american and can prove it, the tuition is waived:)

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes wild animals make there way to campus, but the school sends alerts to students.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a great variety of clubs, and if there are none that you would be interested in, you can create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, environmental.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe they are decently priced. They also have a Native American Waiver.

    What to do for fun

    You could, join clubs, create clubs, join sports, hike, bike, see downtown, there are literally a lot of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area has been modernised recently, and the food is healthy, delicious, and their are varieties to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    It mainly depends where you would decide to stay, Fort Lewis College actually has a variety of dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is usually fun educational.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work now, play later.

    In three sentences

    I love Fort Lewis College, Durango Colorado is a beautiful place with friendly people. Not only that, but the academic atmosphere is great, and so are the professors. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every sports club but wrestling.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy being outside and like small class sizes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Up on a Mesa that looks over town. Beautiful campus in the sky

    Bang for the buck

    Better than any school I have found

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, biking, tubing, snowboarding. Everything outside

    Food and Dining

    Newly re-done student union building with 3 new places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Good small school life where students can make many new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but reasonable rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a school wear you enjoy being around the professors of your major.

    In three sentences

    Great small school. Beneficial class sizes. And super chill.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue light boxes everywhere, campus officers always out and about. Bears are on campus during the fall but are never an issue... despite popular belief that bears are natural born killers they are basically afraid of everything, including you. Deer are probably more dangerous than the bears.

    Greek Life

    None... and that's how we like it.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different types of clubs, there is literally a club for every type of interest and activity. We even have a lot of club sports for people looking for competitive sports without being a NCAA Div. 2 Athlete. There's always something free going on on campus, from movies to dances and events with free food. Yes, free food.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves camping, hiking, climbing, skiing, snowboarding, off roading, fishing... you get the idea. This place has everything an outdoorsman or outdoorswoman would love! Also any student looking for a small school without the private school cost would love FLC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a lot of Native Americans on campus, so there are usually drum circles going on around campus during the year. We also have people out slacklining, doing yoga or just playing instruments when the weather is nice.

    Bang for the buck

    In state tuition is perfectly priced, and you have access to all sorts of great facilities on campus. We have a great, practically brand new gym and recreation facility, the Student Union is also new which has a brand new media center, Rocket Grill Restaurant, game area and study area.

    What to do for fun

    Camping, hiking, fishing, climbing, rafting, biking, snow related activities, snowdown festival, flea markets... various other shenanigans that happen downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo.... It wont kill you, but it's definitely overpriced for what they give you. I survived my year with sodexo.

    Dorm Life

    It's average, some of the dorms are very new and others are more like closets with a window, but overall they are fairly nice. Definitely cheaper to live off campus if you search for cheap housing.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, especially once you get to upper division courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like big cities, lots of places to shop and constant happenings, Durango is not the place for you. We've got about 15,000 people in Durango, that number probably drops in the winter time too. It's a slower paced city, but it has a lot more to offer than just shopping or big events. Give the mountains a try for a change.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the small (I haven't experienced anything over 40, most are around 20 students) class sizes, the professors know me by name.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Fort Lewis College is a great college for many students and since I'm a Native American student, it's perfect for me because of the tuition waiver that really helps a lot for me. This school provides numerous majors and there are people here that can help you find the right major for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Durango, Colorado is an awesome place. I love it here!!!

    Am learning a lot

    So much to learn here at Fort Lewis College. A good school to learn at, especially since it's a liberal arts college.

  • 07/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Love outdoor activities no matter the weather (snow) Interested in the environment Want to learn, but also have fun while doing so. Want/Need advice and help from the actual professors, one on one help. Want more opportunities Like smaller communities

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and attend Preview day in the Spring. The earlier you apply, the more eligible you are for scholarships and work-study.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is great for the money you're spending, but it is still hard to gather up the funds. Still, Fort Lewis is probably the most affordable and valuable four year college in Colorado for in-state residents. However, out-of-state tuition is too bad.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love snow and cold weather, so I find it enjoyable. The people are nice and the locals are too. There is tons of outdoor activities and it truly is a prospering college town. Some classes are even held outside on nice days.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many opportunities, and the size of Fort Lewis is a plus because your professors actually offer more insight in your work. They want you to learn as much as possible, but also understand and enjoy the information they are giving you.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business, Art, English, Science (Chem)

    Tips for prospective students

    If your interested in furthering your knowledge in business, and enjoy mountain activities, come to Fort Lewis!

    Bang for the buck

    In-state and Native American students give Fort Lewis a serious consideration.

    Am enjoying being here

    Love the town, Love the people, Love the school, Love the mountains. This place has it all.

    Am learning a lot

    Fort Lewis's business program is outstanding. I began my freshman year with my major set as Business Administration Option and then changed it to Marketing my junior year. The professor's are extremely personal and very knowledgeable.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor lovers, Native Americans, those who can stand all white dorm rooms!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the school! I was sold on FLC until I took a look around campus,now it is my safety school,second to Sierra Nevada College in NV. You can get a tuition waiver if you can prove native blood.

    Bang for the buck

    Their room and board is pretty pricey for the basic tile and white brick dorm rooms that I saw. This was the #1 reason for me to look at other schools. Other than that, you get highly qualified professors for a cheaper price than you get TA's at the other, more popular CU and CSU.

    Will enjoy being here

    From what I have heard from people who have/are attended, if you LOVE the outdoors you will LOVE FLC. They are surrounded by some of the most beautiful mountains in Colorado and are close to ski areas that always get the most snow.

    Will learn a lot

    I am interested in the Adventure Education program, and feel as though for people who may not have had very much experience in the backcountry this could be a good school, but those who know basic skills should look at another major.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is a well patrolled, small campus.

    Greek Life

    no fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    outdoor activities

    Great for these types of students

    great for students interested in chemistry, the chem department has professors who've done their post-docs at schools like stanford and mit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus is located up on top of a hill with incredible views of the rocky mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    durango is a small community located in the rocky mountains of southern colorado. it is a beautiful location with an abundance of outdoor activities.

    What to do for fun

    durango is close to several ski resorts, there are many hiking trails and world class biking trails.

    Food and Dining

    campus food is about average for a campus, not terrible, but not great.

    Dorm Life

    i don't know anything about dorm life at fort lewis as iam a non traditional student.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors expect quality work from the students. top grades are earned by hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    use the resources offered by the college. there are many opportunities for help such as the algebra alcove, student writing center, and free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    fort lewis college has exceptional professors. the class sizes are small. the chemistry department is awesome. for some reason this review program will not let me use capitol letters!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never once did I feel uncomfortable on campus or the town in general. Fort Lewis and the city of Durango are very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life with Fort Lewis, which I love. I hear way too many horror stories about my friends involved in Greek life at other schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm very committed to the club Dance Co-Motion. We hold auditions at the beginning of every term, and have a show at the end of the term. All levels are welcome. I was always involved in dance when I was little and then it got too expensive. Dance Co-Motion doesn't cost anything but the price of your costume for the show which is fantastic for me! I plan to always be apart of this club. The winter 2012 term was my first time choreographing and it was a great experience that I won't forget. This club helps me fill out my schedule when I need a break from studying, and it helps me stay active rather than sitting around for a study break.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Fort Lewis has something to offer for everyone and anyone. You will love this school if you like small classes, small school, being away from the city, love the outdoors, and I really do believe anyone would love it here if they tried it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you're in the mood for really good pizza, go to Home Slice. If you're in the mood for shopping, take a peek in any of the stores on main. If you're in the mood for star gazing, there's a spot I loved to go sit at. There's a bench right next to the chapel on the edge of the mesa. Perfect place to see stars and look down on the town! Otho get breakfast from Doughworks now that I think about it. I love getting their blueberry cake doughnuts.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm surprised that this school doesn't cost more when I take into consideration the education and college experience I'm getting g here. That being said I come from a family of a single father raising five children, so I am paying for school myself and it can be a little difficult to make ends meet.

    What to do for fun

    During the winter, most people find themselves hitting the slopes. Me, on the other hand, don't find myself going enough to make it worth spending the money. So during the winter you'll find me in town at a coffee shop or visiting friends. When it's nice out, everyone is outside doing something. Whether that be playing football or soccer with friends, or riding bikes and longboards, or going down to the river and starting a game of volleyball. There's always something fun to do in Durango.

    Food and Dining

    On famous dining is great for at least your first year of school. It's convient, good, and you don't have to worry about cooking your meals or doing dishes. That was my favorite part, not having to do the disburse for once.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms could be a pain at times when people are running up and down the hall when you're trying to sleep (honestly that's going to happen wherever you go though) but it was one of the greatest aspects of college for me. To have your friends just down the hall from you and to be able to meet so many different people is a unique experience and something you'll only get to experience once.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this depends on a lot of things. Such as what classes you take, how much you already know about the subject, and how much effort you put in the class. If you take classes you don't know much about or are difficult for you, then yes it will be academically rigorous. If you take classes on subjects you're already familiar with and are easy, then no it's not very academically rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school, take a walk down main or a drive around town. Go sit by the riverside, take a peek in Animadversion Trading Company, or go get some breakfast from Doughworks. Come watch a soccer game or sit in the library. This place is magic and has something for everyone, all you have to do is open your eyes and see all that Fort Lewis has to offer.

    In three sentences

    I was dying for a fresh start after high school, and I decided to try Fort Lewis and Durango as my escape. Coming here is one of the best decisions I have ever made. I cannot simply express with words how happy I am in this tow and at this school.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there is not a lot of stuff to do in Fort Lewis. Aside from the events planned by the RA's or clubs, usually there is not a lot to do on campus after classes. Most often students will go in to town and party, but the toen and the college are too small to keep bored students entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Fort Lewis is really good. The menu is usually repeated every other week, but you get to eat at a buffet and choose what you want and on saturdays there's usually a special dinner like Chinese or Mexican. The food served is often healthy but the decisions are left for the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are friendly. You usually share a hallway with 15-25 other students and often they will help you if you ask them. Also the RA's are always there to help and often orgeanize events for the Halls to get together and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a lot of academic vigor in Fort Lewis College, both among the students and staff. Students often visit the math, writing, or language labs if the need help in those subjects, theres also a large tutoring program available. Teachers are also ready to help, giving advice, extending deadlines, and helping students with difficult work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't party too much and stay focused on school work or you will be overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is a small and active college in Durango. They take in students from Native American tribes and have a foreign exchange program; bringing in all these different nationalities helps make Fort Lewis a diverse college. I will not forget my experiences in Fort Lewis for a long time.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. I've never felt particularly threatened by anyone ever. Sure there are some inebriated students you will encounter from time to time but generally they aren't aggressive and can be avoided.

    Greek Life

    None present. Some may see this as a good thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not much for campus organizations but some of them seem cool or interesting if you're willing to devote the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who wish small class sizes to get to know a select few professors and student as they get into upper level classes. My upper level physics classes have never had more than 5 students, with myself included, which is fantastic and I've gotten to know my fellow students and professors well. Other departments are quite a bit larger than the physics department, however.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You may find an infinite number of amazing place on campus if you're willing to look.

    Bang for the buck

    I find Fort Lewis to be on the more affordable side of colleges, and if you can get around the dorms/ meal plans and are able to live off of campus, college expenses are reduced to perhaps a tenth of the bigger colleges in Colorado.

    What to do for fun

    I love backpacking and hiking in the Weminuche, Colorado's largest wilderness area, just a half hour north of town. I also enjoy snowboarding and telemark skiing at the ski areas or in the back country (although Purgatory is a rather mediocre ski area if you're an advanced boarder or skier). The area also has amazing climbing/bouldering areas.

    Food and Dining

    I despise the options provided for dining on campus. They are appetizing for the first few weeks, but as soon as the census date hits and I am no longer able to obtain a refund for my meal plan, the quality of food generally decayed. Vegetarians such as myself, or even fellow carnivores, are quite often left with redundant and mediocre food selections. It is much more affordable and delicious not to have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    As with any college, many freshman students are unable to cope with the sudden freedom they are afforded, and quite a number of students are loud, inebriated, and sometimes destructive. I met a lot of nice people living in the dorms, but my nights spent awake listening to future alcoholics made one year plenty long enough to live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't speak for other departments, but both the physics and math departments have been very rigorous, but in a very positive, supportive way. My classes are difficult but very enjoyable and I like all my professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take into consideration that this is a liberal arts college, and you will be expected to do coursework outside of your major. Look at their liberal arts core requirements to get an idea of what I mean.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College is a wonderful school if you seek a smaller campus, with smaller class sizes, passionate professors who are willing to devote individual time to you, and to be a part of a great community both on campus and in Durango. It sits atop a mesa overlooking Durango in the San Juan mountains, which afford many wonderful opportunities such as skiing/snowboarding, hiking, backpacking, mountaineering or mountain biking. I've been in Durango for over two years and am absolutely as amazed and happy to live here now as when I first arrived.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only unsafe thing about Fort Lewis campus is the wildlife, but that's what we get for putting a school right next to mountains/forests/wildlife.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek/Fraternity/Sorority houses.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy students will LOVE Fort Lewis, it is perfect for cyclists, climbers, runners, any kind of sports lover.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is many made up holiday's in the town, for excuses to have parties and such. Speaking of parties, there are many around the town at all times of years. The school only breaks for major holidays (good for getting done with school earlier but not so much for breaks).

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a cheap college EXCEPT for the living expenses. I have not graduated yet so i am not sure if there is more bang for my borrowed buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually events EVERY night around campus, from concerts, plays, movies, documentaries, club meetings, contests, discussion functions, Student Council (or senate) meetings. Most of the time there's dorm activities every week and most of the time someone is outside doing something. The town of DURANGO has Movies, a Theatre (plays or musicals), several parks, a river to go tubing down, ski resorts close by, a rather small mall, a great downtown area (shops, coffee, food, bars, dance studios) There is plenty of things to do for a non introverted person from a small town. But if you're a big city person, you will miss it every weekend of your semester here.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining area (the cub) provides food from SODEXO and at first the food seems good (for a kid who almost never has home coked meals). Then you realize that the food sucks, but eating anything (that gives you diarrhea) too much starts to taste bad eventually. BUT, the omelets in the mornings are divine, as soon as possible buy and cook your own food. Also unreasonably priced and meal plan choices are awful. For being such a green/local school, there is a COMPLETE absence of locally grown food/produce.

    Dorm Life

    In every dorm and every college it depends on the dorm and people you are randomly placed with if you have an exceptional experience, and that is just plain luck. Mostly hippie(hipster)/snowboarders/cyclists go to Fort Lewis and the dorms accommodate such with the selections and placements of the dorms. Except.... living off campus costs less (with a couple of friends) then living on campus. UNLESS you pick the cheapest dorm possible.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like the music program is quite rigorous (music student), and they DEFINITELY keep you quite busy if you're a music major. For the more advanced students the individual attention definitely helps to improve your musicianship. If you're looking for more of an advanced challenge, Fort Lewis might not have it for a far advanced student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like individual attention, the outside, and more outside Fort Lewis is for you. Opportunity wise for musicians it is a great starting point, but not much more then that. Theatrical wise the town and surrounding towns are a great opportunity for experience.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is a college for conversations, a college to discuss ideas. Fort Lewis is a college with a dedicated music program, and in need of funding for the Arts and not JUST Sports. Fort Lewis gives individual attention to students on a regular basis, a great place to start something new, and in need of more teachers.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go off campus and explore nature or visit the town. They also offer fun activity that deals with nature and getting fit. They have trails that you can walk.

    Food and Dining

    They offer different types of meal plans, that could fit your budget. You can select different meal plans anytime online. And you can choose where you want to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    They offer different types of dorms for the college students. Each dorm have their own unique way of getting students together. That you can experience when you stay in the residential, apartments, and suites. They have some dorms affordable for students.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a great school that does consider student safety. They want you to succeed and complete your classes. They offer online grade check, to see your grades in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is affordable and they have great Financial aids. They offer great Scholarships that could cover most of your tuition and fees. It's in a great environment, and have an amazing experiences. Native Americans have a special waiver.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this school a 4 out of 5, for the outstanding performance. The school is affordable to attend for any student. The low cost would be $5,000- $6,000 dollars, if your a Native American.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops are there to protect you not to ruin you collage carrier

    Clubs and Activities

    accounting club, students in free enterprise, American indian bussiness leaders

    Great for these types of students

    students who love the mountins and outdoors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    snow day, its a themed week each year were all students partake in

    Bang for the buck

    native americans get full tuition paid along with discounts on books and other benifits

    What to do for fun

    hiking, kaiaking, snowboarding, skating, outdoor adventures, biking, zip line, hanging out with friends

    Food and Dining

    healthy enjoyable food with a comfertable social place to dine

    Dorm Life

    Dorms vary based on personal interest so you always will have something in common with your roommate

    Academic Rigor

    Educational not impossible

    Tips for prospective students

    If your native american this collage offers paid tuition along with other benefits

    In three sentences

    Fort lewis collage is every students dream. All classes are small and taught by inteligent professors that want you to learn. The campus is surounded by breath taking mountains and is elevated above the town.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fort Lewis is big on safety we have a buzz bus which is five dollars and will pick up anyone who can't drive because they over drank or even had one to many. We also have a bunch of phones dispersed over the campus and its a direct line to the campus police station. It is used if you want someone to walk with you to your dorm at night or if there is a problem. Overall Durango is really safe and not many problems at all!

    Greek Life

    There is no sorority or fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs here at the Fort but if it does not have what you want to do it is really really easy to start a club! There is always something to do at Fort Lewis, there are many concerts, and theater productions, sport events, dorm get togethers, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love the outdoors, small classes, peaceful environment, mountains, small towns this town is for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of deer on campus! It is a bit unusual seeing wildlife right outside your class! Fort Lewis is tucked up on a hill but only takes five minutes on a bike to get downtown. It is really close to the New Mexico boarder so the TV stations and radio stations are all from New Mexico.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely a school worth my money and my time! I wouldn't of chose any where else!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Durango, although it is a small town it is in the mountains. That means there is skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, etc. There is a river that goes through the town, meaning people can tube, kayak, canoe, swim, etc. People can also go camping, and anything that deals with outdoors. Fort Lewis has a great program that if you sign up and pay 40 dollars upfront then the whole year you can rent anything for free. Which means you can rent a tent, skis, and canoes, etc. There is another great program through Fort Lewis that it goes on cheap trips and it doesn't matter how skilled the person is. This is a huge biking town also, and Fort Lewis is well known for its soccer team so going to games is fun! There is a lot to do here

    Food and Dining

    The food is as good as cafeteria food can get. It is by far way better then the gross elementary, middle school, and high school food but it still isn't superb and not as good as home cooked meals! The dinning hall is a great place and looks professional there are mini stations/restaurants so you have a choice what you want!

    Dorm Life

    I live in a suite, so I have one room mate and then three suite mates. This creates a well balenced community through out the dorm instead of being neighbors. Since I live in a suite I only share my bathroom with four other people instead of the whole floor!

    Academic Rigor

    All academic levels are present, and there are many levels of math, English, etc. As long as you completed an AP test or take an accumplacer then you will be put in the correct level. and there is a lot of help available in case one is struggling. The teachers are actually present to teach the class instead of the student aide.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stay focused, it may be hard but soon enough you will be happy you could! Also go to orientation as corny as it can get it will help with learning your way around the school and how to meet people. It will also give you an opportunity to learn things about the school and get free stuff! Don't expect to be best friends with your room mate, it rarely happens. Try to at least create a peaceful environment for both people and make sure to tell your room mate what your limits are and what makes you angry.

    In three sentences

    I love it here, I feel like I am on vacation! It is so peaceful, and a great place to be. The education part is great with amazing faculty!

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Besides wildlife, there is little probability of crime occuring on campus. The property is located on top of a hill slightly inconvenient and confusing for non-students. The people here are not really the type to go on a killing spree either.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for students to join and if there is something a student wants to create, he or she has the option to start a club or organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Environmentalists, athletes, out-door people in general

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Ampitheatre is located outdoors and is very convenient for social events.

    Bang for the buck

    The school gets you pretty good by basically forcing you to buy books from them; however, they have a ready supply for students and there is always the ability to rent or buy used books for a lesser cost.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is set in the most out-doors-y neighborhood. There is always something to do outside; plus the school offers many club sports and clubs to join if being a part of the Skyhawk athletic program isn't in your interest.

    Food and Dining

    Better than my high school cafeteria food!

    Dorm Life

    It isn't bad but I wish it didn't seem like such a prison cell.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very good school if you keep up on your work. It is you, working for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely attend freshman orientation; it gives you a sense of where you are and you meet a lot of new people!!

    In three sentences

    This school is very close-knit and comfortable. The professors are approachable and understanding. Also, the campus is very well-kept and very beautiful!

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Durango Colorado from fishing, river rafting, hiking and biking.

    Food and Dining

    The student Union offers a variety of food and its such a great place to hang out with friends and lay back!

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms and apartments on campus are very great! The resident assistants are there to help you through living and you get to know everyone in your dorm and become great friends witht them.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small which give you a great opportunity for one on one time with your professor to help you achieve your goals and get good grades in classes.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College is a small college in the amazing Mountains of Colorado. The school, students, and faculty have so much energy and strive for the best. The professor and staff are there to help and watch you succeed!

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful City Beautiful State Beautiful Campus

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bench on the outskirts of campus that overlooks the town. The view is spectacular at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Tons of opportunities such as clubs, sports, a state of the art rec center seem like luxuries when you are paying so little to go to college anyway. On top of that, the teachers are fantastic, and our philosophy and biology departments are especially good.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of outdoor activities really make Fort Lewis a great place. If outdoor stuff is not your thing you can still explore Durango. After living here for 3 years I still am discovering new places.

    Food and Dining

    The actual meal plan dining is so-so but there are a lot of options. Retail dining at the college is fantastic! A microwave is going to keep you alive after a few years of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Ups and downs like any dorm. Learning to live with people is always difficult but the RA's and RD's are really friendly. Just make sure to bring a few decorations to spruce up the place.

    Academic Rigor

    Fort Lewis is really built to a student's needs in this regard. Professors will challenge you if you need it but they will also work with you if you're struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your homework and get into a sport or club. This will keep you on the professors good side and you will meet great people.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis has a really tight knit community. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. Everyone values your personal and academic well being.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security call buttons all across campus. Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Culture related clubs, sports teams, and honors.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for students that don't like a fast pace life and like nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual events is spotting animals on campus like deers and bears.

    Bang for the buck

    Most all necessities are covered into the fee such as room and food, local buses are free for students so you can ride into town for free to shop.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, weight room, culture centers, and many nature activities around.

    Food and Dining

    Fair and gives you many options. Some eat out places on site.

    Dorm Life

    In good environment with very quiet setting and many activities to join outside of education to keep you busy.

    Academic Rigor

    FLC is fair but still prepares you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop good study habits. Be active and involved in various programs. Learn to budget.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is good for new students. It is great for being away for the first time. Teachers are easy to access.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of them and really easy to start one if there isn't one already.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy and multi-interested people

    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers and low class sizes are awesome!

    What to do for fun

    What can't you do for fun in Durango! Climbing, skiing, fishing, biking, hiking, and the list goes on. Whoo Hooo!

    Food and Dining

    Could definitely be better, but they are starting to implement local food programs.

    Dorm Life

    Descent, the dorms are cool, but the food is lacking.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this depends on the major, but overall I do a fair amount of homework and my professors push me to think about the issues in class as well as in my everyday life which makes it much more meaningful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good adviser! Making sure your adviser knows their stuff makes all the difference.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College has given me a place to learn and excel in many areas and pursue my interest in the outdoors while also learning from great teachers.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    -There is strong black bear activity in the area, but pose little threat overall to campus life

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    -Outdoorsy -Looking for a clean slate -Work at their own academic pace

    Bang for the buck

    This town can be a blast, and the college is a perfect fit for those who want a tailored education and strong interactions with faculty.

    What to do for fun

    -Skiing/snowboarding at Durango Mountain Resort (Purgatory) or Wolf Creek -Hiking/backpacking/camping in La Plata mountain range -Kayaking in Animas River -Multiple intervaristy and club sports to choose from -Strong local music scene, with bluegrass and hip hop shows regularly featured at various venues -Tourist town of Durango offers large restaurant selection and many unique activities and holidays not found anywhere else, such as Snowdown

    Food and Dining

    -Catered by Sodexo, Inc.

    Dorm Life

    -Some strong-knit communities on campus, while others are quieter -Housing Department employs staff with diversity and adaptability as the staples of their training programs -Affordable locations for all kinds of college experience

    Academic Rigor

    -Professors care very much about their subjects -Small class sizes mean much more face-to-face time with professors -Academic challenges available at all levels of learning

    Tips for prospective students

    -Come expecting cultural diversity and opportunities for adventure! -Durango is very small, and most businesses close early (big city people may find themselves frustrated at this) -Native American tuition waiver available, courtesy of the U.S. Government -There will probably be an elevation change for you! Don't let that throw you off -Recreational activities available in every season

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is a small liberal arts college set in the mountain town of Durango, Colorado. The Campus in the Sky provides outdoor junkies a place to pursue higher education while satisfying a wide variety of large adventure vices. Passionate professors, a vivid backdrop, and a widely diverse community all define the college experience at Fort Lewis.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police and faculty care for all students.

    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional.

    What to do for fun

    Go outside!

    Food and Dining

    Food is average.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work for your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Order you books early.

    In three sentences

    This is a challenging college. The staff is helpful and polite. This is a very pleasant learning environment.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a great sense of community and support that helps students feel safe and included.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves the outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that this is definitely a cost effective way to earn your degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things going on on campus and in town so you never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing. I recommend the Rocket. But even the staff in the dining hall is welcoming

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorms, but everyone is supportive and a strong community.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes here have challenged me in a way that has helped me become a better person let alone a better student.

    In three sentences

    Community involvement and support is amazing here. Great staff and facilities. Lots of options for classes and majors.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security officers and police are on sight 24/7

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life

    Great for these types of students

    this school has a little something for everyone-so check it out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fort lewis often puts on Native American activities to be enjoyed by the whole school! fry bread contests, church revivals, anime club! also! the campus is home to several breeds of wild life, deer-bears! you name it!

    Bang for the buck

    the school offers several facilities for the every day student experience. I've been going to school here for a few months and every day there is something new and exciting going on. The town below the school is fantastic and often caters to college students! transportation on the transit bus is also free and highly useful for those without wheels of their own!

    What to do for fun

    the students in organizations put on weekly movies and activity nights to ease the study pains. its fun, free and sometimes you win free stuff! around the holidays the school sponsors holiday related activities as well!

    Food and Dining

    The San Juan dining center has a place for everyone, hamburgers, pastas, breakfast! you name it they have it. If you get tired of this you can hit up the Rocket cafe in the Student Union and eat there as well! delicious food and friendly service.

    Dorm Life

    Unless your used to people in and our of your room establish some rules with your room mate. nobody likes to be up in the wee hours of the nights listening to a bunch of people talking. I've been there-its not fun. ALSO! make friends in your dorm hall, unless you want to spend all the time with your room mate (which is a bad choice-you'll get sick of each other) its good to have another person to talk to and spend time with. It makes for a healthy relationship between everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't spend all of your flex dollars in the first month, it matters when you can't eat lunch your last month here. Never wait to do homework, the longer you wait the lower your grade will get. Get to know your teachers. It sounds hard but in the end it'll help you.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis offers several great courses to apply toward your major. Fort Lewis is a small campus, which allows students to get to their classes in a timely manner. Fort Lewis hold several study rooms where students can go to for help on all their academic needs.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a fear of my safety. It is so safe here.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here and I like that. I never feel judged.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I hear the clubs are great I just need to join some.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for outdoorsy students; could not think of a better place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not found any traditions here. The Native Americans though play drums all the time and it is so cool to just hear that around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Perfect price for what we are getting.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun, but only if you like the outdoors. They play a new movie though every Wednesday which is really nice though.

    Food and Dining

    I would not recommend the food my friend has gotten sick off it and I never feel good after I personally eat it.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life here. My roommates can get annoying but I still love them.

    Academic Rigor

    My first classes were not hard but this semester the academics have been kicked up a level and it is a lot harder than last semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school isn't a hard one to get in to but it still has its challenges. It is fun but you have to keep your head in the game and remember what you are paying for.

    In three sentences

    Best college in the world. It is a really fun college but it still has a nice balance of school along with it. I really want to finish my degree here.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are really no problems at all. Unless you mess with the bears that come around occasionally.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Aside from Outdoor Pursuits there aren't a lot of big campus organizations. There are a ton of smaller, student run clubs that are very easy to start and become a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, laid back, friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rim Dr. overlooks the town of Durango and all of the beautiful ridges across from campus. Hogsback is an awesome little hike really close to campus, as well as Horse Gulch for biking and hiking. Purgatory Ski Resort is only 30 minutes away as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Fort Lewis is one of the more affordable schools out there right now, and while the smallness and more remote location may be a little limiting sometimes, the professors and the experiences are definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Play outside! Skiing, biking, hiking, rafting, you name it. Fort Lewis has an awesome Outdoor Pursuits program to make it all possible for you.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is not the most satisfying or healthy food. I would recommend a low meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent, Animas is really nice. The worst part is the bathrooms, but it is not unbearable.

    Academic Rigor

    The learning is more interactive and more discussion based which cannot even compare to a large lecture hall, so participation is graded, resulting in less testing and big papers, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a ski pass! Get the lowest meal plan possible. Take adventures! There is so much to do out here and so many people willing to help you do it.

    In three sentences

    The Fort Lewis campus is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen. The professors and staff in general really enjoy being here and teaching, and want to get to know you as much as possible. I feel like I get an extremely well-rounded experience here.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Outdoor Pursuits offers a lot of activities to do in one's free time: I took a class on learning to snowboard and had a lot of fun and met some new people. I know that there are cafes and tea houses in town that you can go to with friends that are usually pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is obviously not the best, but it is alright. There is a cafe-type restaurant in the Student Union that serves really good burgers and BLTs. Most of the buildings have a little coffee stop in the hallways where you can grab a quick snack between classes.

    Dorm Life

    The hall I am presently in has people that are rowdy sometimes, probably because it is mostly freshman who are away from home for the first time. There are apartments that i think are a bit better about noise, but I don't know for sure.

    Academic Rigor

    I am starting to see that the Fort isn't the most academically focused place to be. The staff and the classes are very good, but the students don't seem to be as focused on school, in part because I believe many of them came for the proximity to the many available outdoor activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about how much you will be eating because the meal-plans allow you to cut down your cost if you select to have 10 meals a week as opposed to 12. It is really easy to get involved in activities even if you are shy because everyone here is really open and nice.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is a small, tight-knit college which is in a small town, which means that the people are really friendly. There isn't a huge variety of areas to major in, but I think this is OK since an undergraduate degree should be more general before going on to a more specified area.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a number one priority and they do very well at keeping everyone safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    really well rounded and alwyas looking to add more students into their activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any Native American student looking to further their education, you can get a waiver that will pay for all tuition costs!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club sport, get involved with the band, choir, or theatre departments. Go down town and walk through the stores and shops, visit Purgatory Mountain to ski and snowboard.

    Food and Dining

    Great for if you can't afford to go out and buy your own, but it becomes predictable fast. Mix it up by going to the little food places scattered around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on the dorm you are living in. Most of the dorms are very nice though and everyone comes together as a community.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher will always keep you on your toes and look for nothing less than excellence. they are always willing to help if you don't understand.

    In three sentences

    Fort lewis College is a great college for students who are looking to further their education. The campus is beautiful, and the staff is incredible. It's a great match for someone looking for a smaller college campus.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe campus

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are hippies or party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Snowdown a festival in December.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking and skiing.

    Food and Dining

    The food is gross, but some things are good.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the RA dorm life could be bad or good.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you love small towns and small schools and don't want to be challenged in college this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I am not pleased with this place. Classes are too easy and I am tired of small towns. I am glad I came to school here for a year though I now know that I don't do well in small places.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    More than you can think of. Durango and Fort lewis has tons of outdoor activities. The area is known for its world renowned mountain biking and there is a river that runs right through town that has white water river rafting

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo sucks. Im not going to lie the campus dining hall is pretty terrible. But the students are making their voices heard and the dining options are getting better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The campus is at the top of a glacial basin and over looks Durango. But it only takes 10 minutes to walk into town.

    Academic Rigor

    Fort Lewis does have the reputation of being called Fort Leisure, but the staff has caught on to that and has bumped their standards up by alot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to go outside and learn lots of new facts.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College is an awesome school. Located in the southwest corner of Colorado it is a great place to attend. Lots of outdoor and extreme sports activities.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, easy going, fun loving students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a trail that leads around the campus and gives you a perfectly spectacular view of the fort from above.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, biking, fishing, rafting, tubing, skiing, anything outdoors is right at your front door. Hiking trails lead up to the campus and just about everywhere in town. If you're an outdoorsy person, the Fort is perfect for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your hiking boots and your willpower because you won't want to stay inside with a campus this gorgeous, but the easy going professors and general accepting demeanor make it just as easy to study and do well in school.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College is everything I'd want in a school. The whole college experience for less than ten thousand dollars a year. It's beautiful, it's fun, it's home.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    food and on campus living could be better for how much you pay.

    What to do for fun

    HIke or ride bikes in or out of town.

    Food and Dining

    food is quite expensive for first time freshmen.

    Dorm Life

    could be better for what you're paying for.

    Academic Rigor

    great, professors know what to do and have a set schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do your homework because semesters fly by.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing! The professors are very good and more one on one time woth thier students. Not as expensive as other colleges.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Durango is an outdoorsy place so if you love the outdoors there is tons to do.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food is just ok. At least there are tons of good places around town.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and you meet a lot of awesome people.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major. Geology, Business, Chemisty, and Biology are known for being the hardest majors on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a small school isn't for you I would not recommend FLC. But if you are used to a smaller school I highly recommend it.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is a laid back, small college. You will know your professor on a first name basis. The professors here are world class.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police does what they can to provide protection for all students on campus. The graveshift officers know what they're doing for sure!

    What to do for fun

    Hike as many trails as you can! Downtown life is bustling and can be a total blast! Always be safe!

    Food and Dining

    From what I have tried, the food is decent. There is always room for improvement.

    Dorm Life

    Mears Apartment could really use improvement. I'm not too sure about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the majors are worth your while. Teacher education rocks!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class. Show an interest. Professors enjoy the students who interact with the class discussions and your grades reflect your interest.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis is a beautiful campus. The professors are knowledgeable and for the most part awesome! Of all the colleges I have attended, Fort Lewis is hands down my favorite!

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a range of options. hanging out with friends, go shopping, movies, go work out , play outside etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has range of food options. There is a little restaurant called the Rocket and a coffee bar with snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun on the way you spend it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic are good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be communitive!

    In three sentences

    I give Fort Lewis a 4 out of 5. It has a beautiful campus so close to town. Haves activities every month.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do around town and on campus. You can do literally any sport you can think of around campus, there are open fields where you can play whenever. There are a bunch of trails you can go on, on foot or by bicycle. It is a very active town.

    Food and Dining

    My freshmen year, the food for breakfast and dinner were horrible. I never went to dinner after the first couple weeks of school. Lunch, however, was great, the food was good and the people were very nice that worked there.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorms on campus last year. I loved how I could just walk down the hall into friends' rooms and hangout at any hours of the day. I wouldn't mind living back in the dorms if it wasn't for how expensive it is.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics on campus vary, some are very rigorous and some are just entry level general eds. The higher you get into your preferred major, I would say the harder, or more intense, the classes become.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I would have to say that you need to give this town a chance. Even though it is a small campus, its a close community and people here are extremely friendly.

    In three sentences

    At first the thought of moving from California, where I had been all my life, to Colorado was terrifying. As soon as I got here I fell in love with the campus and the town of Durango. I could actually see myself living here for a long time after college.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The sky is the limit this small town is known for the great outdoors, you can go hiking, tubing, etc. There are so many options and they never bore you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty impressive for a small school coming here I though I would hate the food. When I came to visit the college it impressed me that their food was actually pretty good and you also have the opportunity to cook that if you want to work at the cafeteria which is fun.

    Dorm Life

    You get the same experience as any other university and it's fun living with someone else who you get to meet and get to know. The experience of living by yourself is incredible. so much freedom and so many things you can do.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are small which means that you get more attention that you would at a big university. The teachers have the ability to help most of the students that way everyone knows what lecture in class was.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and have fun, the more people you meet, better experiences you will have. Take part of all the activities that the college has to offer like sports tournaments, Trips and many more.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school filled with great people that you get to meet day after day. There are so many opportunities but you got to take advantage of them before some else does. It will change your life living here it just a different atmosphere than what most of us are used to.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to play soccer, play video game, and hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't give up.

    In three sentences

    I think it is good college. I like small college and i think Fort lewis college is the best school to attends. The campus is perfect for me and others students.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    EVERYTHING. Fort Lewis has an advantage over other colleges. There is something to do every single day so you don't have to see the inside of your room every day.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better but there is a huge variety of entrées.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls aren't perfect but they are great communities with leadership opportunities and great friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here care about your future. They will make sure you are prepared no matter how hard either of you work.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College is absolutely a wonderful community with open arms. The people there love to learn, party, and keep that perfect community. Friends are developed here and people love talking about their experiences.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a high priority here. They patrol the area, attend events, and come walk through the dorm areas. There is a police headquarters here on campus so they can respond to things faster.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and different activities that you can do on campus. Clubs usually reserve a day to look for and recruit new and incoming students to join. Then spread out through out the semester the clubs host events.

    Bang for the buck

    They have designated smoking areas to prevent second hand smoking in the highly populated areas at school.

    What to do for fun

    Fort Lewis has a lot of on campus events like Wednesday movie nights and guest speakers. There are all sorts of events that you can attend, even with in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning area is provided by Sodexo and they offer a large variety even for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    As long as you communicate with your roommates, everything is just fine.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of materials that you need for some of the classes and upper division. But it is always best to communicate with your instructor for clarity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions, there are a variety of people at the campus to help you. Quite Frankly, that is what they are there for too.

    In three sentences

    It is a really great school to attend. The environment and people are great here. People are helpful and friendly.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are these blue light things all over campus that you can go to if there's an emergency. You can call campus security that you can call if you need an escort to your dorm or destination at night. The campus security are police trained and can do what any police officer can do. The doors into the dorms use your student Id to get in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs like skiing, snowboarding, radio show, christian, native american, spanish, study groups, and more. If you're an outdoor person you could go skiing, snowboarding, skateboarding, biking, cycling, backpacking, camping, kayaking, river rafting, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are into outdoor sports, who would like small classes, cost is kind of low. For Native american the tuition is free, but you still have your books, dorm, meals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's deer that come on campus, once in a great while bears and mountain lions too.

    Bang for the buck

    Your tuition and fees go to free tutoring, the latest microsoft programs, and some other programs too but can't think of it now. There's free wifi, cable, internet. The cost is low if you're a native american.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join like ski/snowboard club, dine club, rooted (a christian club), hockey club, and more. Students are always riding their bikes and skateboards around campus. In Durango, you can go into the mountains and go skiing, snowboarding, or sledding. There are music festivals that go on here and there. Heard there's a lot of bars on main street with pool tables. In the spring and summer you can go river rafting, kayaking, camping,backpacking. There ice climbing, trails, and many more outdoor things to do. You can fill out an application be on the college radio station, play whatever songs you want to play. So yeah there are many things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious. For breakfast and dinner, depending on your meal plan, it's a buffet. They have great lunch too. There's a variety of food: hamburgers, pizza, sandwiches, pasta, waffles, french toast, omelettes, cereal, salads, fruits, ice cream, soda, and more.

    Dorm Life

    There are activities to do in the dorms: there's a pool table, fuseball table, tv, and wifi. The residential advisers are very friendly. You can use the wifi to play online gaming.It's pretty aweome.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors liked to be emailed about any questions, or you can go to their office during office hours and ask questions. The professors are motivated to help the students learn. The classes are small, averaging 23 students a class. Sometimes on a nice day, professors teach outside. I'm not too sure what academic rigor is, so sorry if what I posted is not related to academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy, talk to people, talk to your professors, the professors will be glad to answer any questions, the students are friendly too. Make sure you balance your study time with the activities you do outside of class.

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College is nice college, everyone here is friendly, the professors are nice and friendly, they want you to learn. There are many clubs to join. The campus is nice and clean, and there are deer on campus but you can't touch them.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There isn't really one but thats not a con necessarily

    Clubs and Activities

    Cannot wait to join some of these clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, adventurous, focused but relaxed

    Bang for the buck

    Great education and extremely affordable even for out of state

    What to do for fun

    Literally anything because they have it all

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is nice, have yet to try food

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look great, roomier than some of the others I've been in!

    Academic Rigor

    Looking at the classes they have to offer has me seriously excited

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for merit scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Absolutely gorgeous view from campus. Durango is a great location for outdoorsy types. They seem to have everything one could ask for!

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Did I mention that the people here are awesome? It doesn't really matter who you are. All kinds of people go to Fort Lewis, although it is definitely true that hippies/free spirits make up a large percentage of the population here haha. I don't know if this is really helpful to decide if this place is right for you, but I've found that everyone I've met here is just awesome haha, especially everyone in the music program. Everyone is just really talented and rocks in their own unique way of playing or singing. I really can't say enough good things about the music program, and if you're a music major considering Fort Lewis then you should just do yourself a favor and come here.

    What to do for fun

    You live in Durango. There is no shortage of outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is from Sodexo. Sadly, Fort Lewis signed some long term contract with them after Sodexo helped funded the building of new dorms. The food tastes good for a cafeteria, however, most of the food is really unhealthy. They do have a few relatively healthy options, however, the pickings are slim.

    Dorm Life

    The quality of your dorm could vary hugely depending on what hall you live in. The most expensive dorms are insanely nice, however the cheaper ones are nothing special, but still good, comfortable places to live. I like the fact that it doesn't matter where you live. Everyone seems to always be hanging out outside around the dorms so it's pretty easy to meet a lot of new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are the only other potential con. As you are probably aware, Fort Lewis does not have very high admission standards. This is due to Fort Lewis's strong liberal arts values which maintains that everyone should have a chance, which is the same reason anyone is allowed to join band here. However, this fact does have an effect on the classes. Most, although definitely not all, of my classes for my liberal studies major do not require that much work outside of class. For some people not used to this, they could feel as though they are not being challenged enough. However, this by no means that the classes are any less fulfilling. It just means that the teachers don't give you a bunch of unnecessary homework. I personally love this fact. Even if some particular teachers do give a lot of assignments, I've never had any assignment that is just busy work. The teachers here seem to only give homework when it is necessary rather than arbitrarily assigning homework every night. Overall, unless you really care about going to a top ranked school (you shouldn't because it won't really affect your future) then the academics here are top notch. Speaking for myself, all the teachers I've had have been fantastic! For example, one of my teachers apparently turned down a job paying a million dollars a year to teach at Fort Lewis. These are the kind of people that teach here. The teachers could be doing plenty of other great things but they want to teach at Fort Lewis and live in Durango instead. Oh, and not to mention, if you are a music major, which I also am, then you should definitely not be worrying about academic rigor. Compared to other majors here, music majors are kept very busy! I'm having a difficult time trying to double major and still practice as much as I'm supposed to. I don't regret any of it though because not only is working on music fun for me, but I am definitely learning and progressing a lot more than I thought I would.

    Tips for prospective students

    If this place seems like a dream to you, then your instincts are probably right! For me, there is by far no other logical option for college. However, if you are a city person, you may or may not feel isolated in Durango, which is kind of in the middle of nowhere. Good bands do come through Durango, but those shows are few and far in between. If you want to go to big name shows, you probably have a long, but awesome drive ahead of you to Albuquerque or Denver. This isn't a big deal for me, especially because Durango has its own fair share of talented bands that play on Campus often. As well, Durango has multiple festivals throughout the year. The most recent one was a three day ordeal in the woods put on by students at Fort Lewis. Like all the shows I've been to in Durango, it was awesome. There's not too many shows in Durango, but when there are, people get down! And if you like classical music, then you are in luck because the local symphony, the San Juan Symphony is legit to say the least! As well, various world class musicians come to campus regularly. While the artists that play at the concert are probably not people you would listen to regularly, such as the Canadian Brass, you should still take advantage of all the shows that come on campus because they are always incredible. It's funny because for music majors, attending concerts is part of your grade, however, it would be a shame if you didn't go to some of these concerts.

    In three sentences

    Simply put, if you can't live without nature, you want to go to a liberal arts college, and you don't want to spend a million dollars on a liberal arts education, then you just hit the jackpot! Because Fort Lewis is perhaps the cheapest liberal arts college (that you would consider going to) and in pretty much the best location possible, atop a mesa overlooking historic Durango, Colorado and the epic San Juan Mountain range, it attracts people from everywhere. Literally, there are people from all 50 states as well as a bunch of people from other countries, which for me, affirms Fort Lewis as the special place it is.

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go hiking and hang out by the river

    Food and Dining

    Caf food is..... caf food!! Definitely makes you appreciate a home cooked meal!

    Dorm Life

    Rooms were great!

    Academic Rigor

    Grading was difficult but I definitely learned so much in all of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get the most of not only the school but also the town!

    In three sentences

    Fort Lewis College was such a great experience for me! Such a diverse group of welcoming people who made me feel like i fit right in! I absolutely loved the school, not to mention the beautiful town of Durango!