Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fort Valley State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe this school is best for all kinds of students. If your not used to being around alot of people, this school has plenty of campus bonding activities, such as homecoming. And this school will teach you to be independent and a sense of culture diversity. You meet all kinds of people from different places everyday. You also will learn how to mold yourself as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first year may seem hectic at first, but as the semester goes on it tends to go by fast. Make sure you handle ALL financial aid work as SOON as POSSIBLE! And if your not used to your cafeteria food, Fort Valley IS the place to be. Unlike other school food, Fort Valley's cafe food is extremely delicious; and if you don't like the cafe, there are numerous amounts of fast food stores located on campus, such as Papa Johns and Jazzman's Cafe.

    Bang for the buck

    More than half of the student body recieves financial aid. Fort Valley offers Presidential scholarships also.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at THE Fort Valley State University is very homey. You would adapt almost immediately to the campus, the peers, and school staff.

    Am learning a lot

    College is totally different than high school. You not only learn about academics but you also learn life lessons.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    for any prospective students i would say take the compass test seriously, take advantage of the help available to you, and stay on your financial aid counselor.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I had an item stolen from my room and no one can get into my room with a key. We have cameras in the hallways that don't work so I got no justice.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who can adjust to ghetto acting people.

    Bang for the buck

    This school not expensive at all.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I play basketball. Some students goes to clubs but I found out quickly that isn't for me.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. You only have one place you can eat at with your meal plan and I don't like that. The staff is sometime rude.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. You just have to look out for your personal items.

    Academic Rigor

    Over all I don't have problem with the academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please don't be deceive by anyone think really hard before you pick this University.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University is very ghetto because the students are always fighting each other. The halls and campus is dirty and sometimes I don't feel safe. The staff don't try to help the students.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Southern Personable Friendly Exciting Fun and ready to get a good HBCU education

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get so caught up with partying tat you forget about school and let your grades slip. The college professors will fail you.

    Will enjoy being here

    I've been visiting the campus since I was born. I have many family members that are alumni at the school and they enjoyed it and I'm positive that I will to.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm going to school for veterinary science and all of their veterinary and animal programs are amazing.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I can not wait to start come this fall!!!

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    the spirit of this college is so great once you step onto the campus ground you get that tingly feeling that this college is where its at

    Am learning a lot

    the staff here are friendly and cares about you and your success

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of student activities.

    Food and Dining

    its okay

    Dorm Life

    if you are getting older then staying off the yard will be the best decision.

    Academic Rigor

    there are a lot of teachers that care about the well being of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University has the potential to be the greatest school i ever attended. I do want to receive my degree from here and move on to better things.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    fort valley state university is a phenomenal university with great diversity as well as school spirit. when given a presentation on why to attend fort valley i was instantly sold by the students charisma and the outstanding over view of the school.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is tip top.! We have a lot of officers who are skilled at protecting our university.

    Greek Life

    We are a HBCU( historically black college/ university) so our Greek life includes the divine nine.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have alotttttttt of different clubs. So many I ca t name the all. But my favorite club is SGA (student government association).

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all kinds of students. City kids, country kids, athletic kids, laid back kids, foreign kids. Just great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'll let the students find out on teir own.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is worth the money because there are lots of activities you can take part in.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun. You can hang out in the old & new student centers. Also you can play pool, air hockey or ping pong in the commons clubhouse.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is great. We get different foods for different holidays. Around Mardi grass we get a lot of cajun food and for cinco de mayo we get Mexican food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. I stayed on campus from freshman-junior year. Stay in the commons

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are wonderful and will do their best to help you. Form a great relationship with your professor. You may need he or she for future references

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best out of your time at TheFort Valley State University. Remember that you didn't come to college to party. You are paying for this education so do your absolute best.

    In three sentences

    Fort valley is a great institution. It is only what you make it. The majors here are great, with helpful teacher who can help you get internships.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Befriend someone with a car and have gas money. Other than that you can always find a group of people playing spades in the student center or in the lobby of dorms.

    Food and Dining

    What school cafeteria do you know has good food. The cafe has it's days. You'll have the usual everyday pizza, salad bar, and sandwich station. The main event and and international bar change everyday, and Wednesday are designated as Fried Chicken Wednesday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty cool, most of the RLCs are pretty cool and are willing to help you with all your problems you may be having.

    Academic Rigor

    It just depends on the teacher you get some teachers challenge you more that others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fort Valley is known as a party school, this partially true. The people of the Valley know how to party, but it's better to focus on the main reason you chose to go to college which to further your education. My advice would be study and do your work first and party later. Find a great group of friends, it's true who you befriend your freshman year may not be you at the end, some of those that you start out with won't be there the spring semester. Friends are an important part of the college experience but, it isn't the most important part.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University is a great institution. It has a friendly atmosphere. Also it has few dedicated faculty members that are very supportive of the students.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is in a rural area which doesn't have anything big such as amusement parks or malls or good clubs, but they do have restaurants such as Burger King, McDonald's, Churches, and supermarkets such as Harvey's. As you can see they have the basics, however Warner Robins isn't too far away maybe life 11 miles from Fort Valley and Warner Robins have much more to offer and Macon isn't too far from Macon so there it is. I prefer a rural area anyway because I feel it bring you closer with people, helps build a bond and keeps you a little focused! So to answer your question What to do for fun?? If you have a car ride around, do some extravagant things! and also join extracurricular activities, join clubs and organizations. You make the fun not the area in which you reside!!

    Food and Dining

    The campus offer a variety of eating restaurants on Campus such as Chic-fil-A which isn't offered outside of campus!! Also you can enjoy wifi which I recall being offered all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    In order to get into housing you have to sign a Housing Application, have $200 as a deposit, and have some kind of document signed off by your doctor & all of these things can be turned in at orientation. Housing is around $8000.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes there but I am sure it will be a challenge. You must study and push yourself anywhere and with anything you do in life whether it is attending Fort Valley State or attending YALE!! I doesn't matter, there will be some kind of challenge along the way. The best advice I can leave with you & I both is just to always prepare yourself for the unexpected!! Always prepare yourself because you nor I know what to expect. JUST BE PREPARED!!

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who get accepted make your banner web a second nature to life. Your banner web includes every thing from classes, awards offered, etc. etc. & your student email. I absolutely love my student email and banner web because everything I need to/have to know is there and easy to access. Fort Valley provided me with a student ID and password to access my banner web and from there I had it all because all my help was right in front of my face, right where I could easiliy access it!

    In three sentences

    When applying for the school it was a fairly easy process. The school is inexpensive compared to others & it offers alot of extracurricular activities. The workers and couselors are very helpful and keep you updated if not on time EARLY. They email you and all of their information is always in depth. They are also easy to get in touch with. Everyone is helpful and willing to help. I am excited about starting school at Fort Valley State and I am sure that everything will be a breeze as a freshman!

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great foods, just small cafe. Expand for more students to be able to sit and eat.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms, just difficult rules. They should treat us more like adults instead of minors.

    Academic Rigor

    Small amount of students which means more one on one with professor!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get advised by an advisor on time. Be on time for everything and most important keep up ur grades.

    In three sentences

    Fvsu is a great university. Very diverse and a nice atmosphere. Has great programs with great professors.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is an open campus because it is also community orientated so community members ar sometimes on campus and this is somewhat unsafe and endangers the student body, but the campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life on campus is lively. they all take pride in their organizations. They participate in the community and on campus and they all are a great group of people to be around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fort Valley State University has several clubs for students to join, There are clubs for specific majors. clubs for students who enjoy being involved and there are even clubs for things like poetry, music, singing, dancing, etc..

    Great for these types of students

    For Valley is great for student who wants to major in any field of biology and animal science. it also has a great ROTC program for those of you interested. All students are welcomed because for you it will be just a great a experience as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition Fort Valley has is the dance called The Hump it is a dance that the freshmen will learn during the orientation week that the entire student body does at sporting events to show their pride for their university.

    Bang for the buck

    If you looking to get back what all you put into college fort valley is a great place for you. You will receive a great education while enjoying your time here.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to the club house where there is pool tables, ping pong table and even air hockey. There is a lounge area in both the Clubhouse and Student center. You can go out for intramural sports of you wish or participate in the many events the campus throws.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Dining is OK on most days the food is great and next year the food suppose to be better. so your time spent eating in the cafe should a more enjoyable experience.

    Dorm Life

    On the Campus of Fort Valley State University you have to types of Dorms; the apartment styled and the traditional. The apartment styled dorms are the more modern and ideal for a college student. The traditional dorms are less ideal but you will manage. I recommend you do your housing early and go for the apartment styled dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The Classes are only hard when you are not prepared. BUY YOUR BOOKS. You will not pass with out the book. Its very important that you have one.

    Tips for prospective students

    To the students who want to attend Fort Valley State University. The experience is very different from high school, you need to become more responsible and reliant on yourselves. Make sure you study at least twice a week and enjoy your campus. Take pride in it and jump at every opportunity available.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University is a family orientated college. Its strives to see all its students succeed and graduate. The relationship between students and its administrators is very strong. They make sure you are on top of your work and not failing.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Parties, Shopping in Macon.

    Food and Dining

    Great.

    Dorm Life

    its okay, nothing very spectacular. The price they charge for dorms you are better off staying off campus in your own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    okay, they need more teachers who have patience with students who do not know the information very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to always be on time for deadlines and make sure you are always in contact with someone about your enrollment and financial aid

    In three sentences

    I rate Fort Valley a 5 out of 10. They really have a problem with hiring teachers that can not really teach for the hardest classes. The financial aid is very bad as well, they are late on everything.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are on a very tight budget and/or travel or work and want to take online classes. Students must be very motivated though because the school does not do much for you. Students must be very proactive.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very cheap school and it is accredited under the University System of Georgia which looks good to employers. I take my degree completely online but my degree is coming from a state university. I had 70% of my tuition completely paid for by the HOPE scholarship program in Georgia, even though I took all of my classes online. Even though my scholarship is up now and I am taking out loans, the school is still very affordable. Also, unless you are going to an ivy league school or want a very rigorous undergraduate program, this is a great state university to make easy A's at as long as you do the work and put in the effort.

    What to do for fun

    I have never been to this campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at this school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    I started out at a private university before transferring to this school. Also, I am enrolled in the online program so I don't spend any time physically on campus. The course work is medium but some professors grade very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in close contact with your professors. Turn in all your work, no matter what. Even if something is going to be late, speak to your professor and turn it in!

    In three sentences

    This school is very cheap. The administration and internal structure is highly unorganized. Students with high grades can pull a lot of strings at this school.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus in the way of entertainment, but if any students are interested in clubbing then Fort Valley offers them the chance to go to the Swamp and Spruce Street. They usually host parties and events on Tuesdays and Thursdays because students usually leave during the weekend as there isn't much to do other than that.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has its good days, bad days and its horrible days. The cafeteria itself is nothing extravagant but its clean and tidy, for the most part. They don't offer much in the way of variety, but every now and again they cook crab legs, shrimp pastas and other out of the ordinary foods. Other than that it's mainly cheeseburgers, grilled cheese and pizza. They also have Chic-fil-a, Quiznos and Papa Johns on campus.

    Dorm Life

    To be fair, it was my own fault for applying too late for a good room, so I got stuck in traditional. Traditional is the older dorms with an outdated electrical system and decrepit doors. Fort Valley State University does offer better dorm rooms but you have to apply as early as possible in order to receive them.

    Academic Rigor

    It doesn't take much to do well at this University, but like any school you will fall behind if you procrastinate. Just stay organized and complete work as it is assigned in order to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy ALL of your books as soon as possible because you WILL need them. Don't leave any valuables lying around because chances are it will not be returned. Lastly, try to always complete assignments ahead otherwise you will get stressed out as they will pile up.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley University is a decent college that offers above average, but not great, services to its students. I have gained a wealth of knowledge academically, socially and intellectually thus far, but I can't help but think that I could learn so much more if provided with better services such as working wi-fi connection, more on-campus events that help build your resume and professors that are more passionate and punctual. All in all Fort Valley State University is a mediocre school that offers students a decent opportunity to expand their education.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour campus safety patrol on campus daily!

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is like no other!

    Clubs and Activities

    football, and basketball are the main sports!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is low for so much to do and avalible to you!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, movie theaters, and parks to go to!

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is good and alot of places to sit. the best is Fried Chicken Wensdays and jammin' in the cafe thursday!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is live and in color! Its truely something to remember!

    Academic Rigor

    Fort Valley State has medium classrooms for hands on time with each professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider looking into this school because it's a great place to start your college career.

    In three sentences

    I personally love FVSU. Its a great school to go for a great start at college life as well as to adjust to the real world. Fort Valley State University has all types of great teachers, majors, as well as campus life to me this is a great all around school.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's an online environment, but the college itself has activities for fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that you must do a lot of work on your own in regards to scholarship hunting, registering for classes, etc. However, the online environment is great! You must be dedicated to complete it though.

    In three sentences

    The Psychology online degree program is great!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is the usually no matter where you go you will find one of the security gaurds or police officers. The school has the safety post all over where you can just push the button in case of an emegency outside.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at FVSU is GREAT ! They stay invoved in the campus by hosting events for everybody.

    Clubs and Activities

    Being in a club at any college is a plus for your resume. FVSU has numerous clubs to be a member of, you are bound to join one. !

    Dorm Life

    I enjoyed my dorm life that where I met my bestfriend and most of the time it is like that. The Ra's are nice and resourcefull.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this just depends on your major even if you have hard classes to take. Be prepared and get a tutor. They are free at FVSU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are there for. Keep good friends around. Stay focused. Have Fun.

    In three sentences

    FVSU is a HBCU. FVSU is a Family. The faculty helps those who helps themselves.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very well also, they make sure to check people before you come on campus, and we have officers at every gate that check your Id's to make sure you are a student on campus. They also do a good job of patrolling the school throughout the day and the night time. Sometimes they do such a good job that they hassle you abou parking and can be somewhat annoying about it, but i guess they are only doing their jobs so you cant blame them.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Fort VAlley is great as well, they have about 6 of the divine nine on campus, and they host different parties and events throughout the year as well to spice up campus life. They host parties, step shows, and also each individual probates

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs available at Fort Valley and the activities board is constantly trying to do thjings throughout the school year to spice up life on campus. They have parties in the gym and host different events that make life on campus enjoyable

    Great for these types of students

    Fort Valley is a small campus and city, but has parties and clubs, so if you like to party it might not be for you. Fort Valley is a place for people who dont mind being in a small place with not much to do, and also students who have self discipline to be focused and manage their time wisely.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The freshmen have a tradition of after orientation they get up super early and they meet at the wildcat statue and say a prayer and have a meeting and get ready for the upcoming year. The chants and the saying of the school are very traditional but fun as well. Tons of school pride.

    Bang for the buck

    Fort Valley is a great school, and worth every dollar. They have one of the best biology departments and are known for a very high graduation rate and a very high rate of people getting accepted into graduate programs.

    What to do for fun

    In Fort Valley there is not much to do, due to the fact that its a small city, but there are surrounding cities not far that have fun things to do such as movies and bowling and miniature golf, and things of that nature.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is just like any other cafeteria, its a cafeteria. The choices of food are diverse and there is a wide variety of choices. The breakfast is most always hot and well prepared. There is entertainment on thursdays and its very enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not bad, freshmen dorms are strict on visitation, but freshmen should be focused on school and nothing else.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is a big thing, that Fort Valley values. The teachers help out alot and they actually keep track of you and are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, i would make sure being in a small town would not bother you. The campus is very good for being focused on school, and does not have very many distractions.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is very diverse, and open to very many different cultures. The atmosphere is very much like a home town setting and very friendly people. The campus is small and elegant.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fort Valley State University requires allot of out door activities. The university owns a wide group of animals and horse that can be riding.The campus has a man made lake for students to go fishing.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't healthy and the area isn't as clean as it could be. Each day the food that is serve to the students are different dishes from different cultures. Some days the food is missing love and some days the food is missing seasons.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is filled with different people from different communities. Everyone adjust certain situations good or bad sometimes. The dorm life is filled with college students with responsibilities.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are good but could be better. The sports need more inspirational students who shoots for the goal of finishing and not just settling for what they think that's all they have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never underestimate the value of solitude and keeping a small circle of loved ones. You simply dont need EVERYONE in your life. Hold a small group of positive intelligent students, who looks for more than looking for just enough and wants to over achieve beyond. Always study and maintain a stress free life style. Always eat healthy and eat breakfast to start off a good day. Be involved in many activities in your major and always network. Must have a business card to give to people who made benefit in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University is the best college to attentand has a nice campus with allot of things to do. Fort Valley State University has a wide choice of majors, and a very good Agriculture program. Also, the University has something for everything outside classes ,such as ,horse back riding activities.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life is a wonderful experience for everyone. it opens your eyes to a whole new world and allows you to become apart of whatever Fraternity or sorority you want. The Greeks are so energetic and love to show what they got. Joining here at Fort Valley will give you life long brothers and sisters.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is always something going on. The Greeks would have a step show often, there is a relaxing area called the Student Center you could go to chat with friends and study. Also, the gyms are open most of the day, you could play sports, workout, and swim.

    Food and Dining

    Our Cafeteria food is great! There is always something new in our Traditional line. We also have other dining areas such as Chick-Fil-A, Quiznos, and WOW Wings Cafe. Each Eating area always remain clean and the workers are nice.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus could be a great experience for many students. You have the opportunity to live with other people learning about them and where they come from. At Fort Valley, the traditional dorms could honestly use some work but still looks good. The Commons, the most latest dorms are beautiful and allows you to have your own room.

    Academic Rigor

    Passing the classes the first time around is very beneficial. There is a program called Learning Support which consist of math, English, and writing. Each class has two parts to it and it is extremely important that pass them and get out. If not, it is possible to be dismissed from school for a long period of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1: It is very important that you maintain your time and work at all times. Tip 2: In a class you find tough, see the professor as much as possible and get help. Tip 3: Never wait until the last minute to get things done. That's work, financial aid, housing etc. Tip 4: Do not party too much ESPECIALLY if you have a early class the next morning. Tip 5: Most importantly, in the mist of everything that goes on at Fort Valley stay safe, and be yourself.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University is indeed one of many great choices here in Georgia. Why? Well, if you were to ask any student that Attends Fort Valley, they will be happy to tell you that Fort Valley is not only full of high educational expectations but is also full of love and memories. Fort Valley State University proudly holds a great deal of extraordinary founders while we all stand behind them in our Old Gold and Royal Blue.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is everywhere I look but sometimes they slip up. If I were to give a percent of how safe it is, I would say 80 percent. We are mostly safe but we do have the occasional brawl every now and then.

    Greek Life

    I am not part of a Greek Organization, but watching them is fun. Sometimes they host a step-off on the Greek Walk (Where the Greek Emblems are painted on the cement). The members are really nice people also. They are not intimidating like displayed in movies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most of the clubs are student established so the clubs are a lot of fun! As stated earlier there are plenty of clubs and activities and if you don't find one you are interested in, you can make your own. We have two types of choirs; the University Choir which has a Concert Style (Classical with the occasional spiritual and hymn) and the Baptist Student Union Choir which has Baptist Church style (All Gospel music). We have at least three bands; the Marching Band, the Jazz Band, and the Pep Band Other than the music, we have TRUTH Poetry Club, Creative Writing Club, Dance teams, Cheerleading, Tennis Club, and many, many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Fort Valley is great for students that love to make their own fun while at the same time have the drive to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are not familiar with HBCUs, the Greek Life will be unusual. Each sorority and fraternity has their own strolling song. strolling is when the members of one sorority or fraternity either group together or line up and perform a choreographed dance as they move or stroll about the floor. If you are at a club or a party and their song comes on, you must stand to the side out of respect for their organization. Parties are typically thrown off campus at small Greek Houses, the Spruce Street Gym, and/or the Swamp. The Greek Houses are not too far from campus at all, neither is the Spruce Street Gym. The Spruce Street Gym is exactly what it sounds like, a gym. The lights are off, you dance on the basketball court, the DJ's set is on the stage, and you could cool down on the bleachers. The Swamp is a former church. This is the closest thing the city of Fort Valley has to a club. If you want to go to a legitimate club, you have to travel to Warner Robins.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you are not an out-of-state student, prices are pretty reasonable. College in general is really expensive, but everything seems to be at a pretty good price.

    What to do for fun

    At Fort Valley there aren't too many provided activities; We have a Tennis Court, a recreation center, and a gym where you can play basketball and lift weights. Most of the fun are provided by the student body themselves. So far I have seen people dance in the TV Room in the Student Center with their own stereo system, I have seen somebody bring a game system to play video games in the recreation center, some people roller skate around campus, and some people throw events like music concerts and dances with permission from Student Affairs. Another thing you could do is join a club. We have different types of choirs and bands. We also have non-greek step teams, the band flag and dance teams, TRUTH Poetry club, Creative Writing club, Foreign Language club, the Student Government Association, and if you want, you could even start your own club! My friend started the TRUTH Poetry club so if you are interested, you could audition in the fall and we could do some shows together! The choices are endless because if you want to do something for fun that we do not have already, you could make it yourself.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Fort Valley is disgusting. The food gives you gas. It is an acquired... tolerance. BUT, Fort Valley has the following restaurants on campus: W.O.W Wingery, Chick Fil A, Quizno's Subs, and Jazzmans Cafe. Also, we have a smoothy shop along with snack shop on campus and a McDonalds not too far from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on where you choose to stay because we have Commons and Traditional. The Commons are the Suite-Styled dorms; there are four people in the suite and all four have their own separate room and they all share two bathrooms (typically two to a bathroom). The Traditionals have a more Dorm-Hall style; Two people share a room and the whole hall shares two bathrooms per floor. I live in the Commons and I enjoy the privacy and security. The suite has a card key and the rooms have a hard key, so unless you did not lock your room door, there are no robberies. For freshmen, the Commons' visitation days (Days where you are allowed to have one non-family visitor in your room) are Friday from 4PM to 12AM and Saturday from 12PM to 12AM. In the Traditionals, things are less clean and not as appealing to the eye as the Commons. There are many robberies since two people share a room which makes it more likely that a roommate or roommate's friend come in and steal something. Visitation for the Traditionals are much more flexible; It depends on who the RA (Resident Assistant) of the building is. In the school year that just passed, many Traditional dorm halls had visitation every day and one of my friends got robbed three times that I can remember.

    Academic Rigor

    To me, college is a lot easier than high school. Here, one must have good time management skills and follow through to succeed in all of your classes. I've learned so much in just 8 months because I keep my mind open and ready for challenges. Because of that, things are not really difficult here at Fort Valley State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have good time management because EVERY THURSDAY there is a party at the Spruce Street Gym. We don't want to always be caught up in the party life. Focus on your school work; when you actually do the things you are supposed to do for your classes, things are pretty easy. So far, all the professors that I have had in the past have been extremely helpful and really care about whether I am succeeding in the class. That's because I show that I care about my grades. When I get a score that I don't like, I ask how I earned it and how to make my study skills better so I could get a higher grade next time. It works like a charm.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley staff believes in its students to succeed, and so far I've had a wonderful journey. The first year is extremely exciting with all the events such as games, parties, pep rallies, and other fun activities. However, Fort Valley is really what you make of it; Some people are very negative because they choose to be and put down the school and then there are some that are completely happy with the institution.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campous saftey possibly is one of the best , we have over ten calling stations in order to get in touch with campus secuirty. Also you will always see two or more security gaurds within every bulding on campus

    Greek Life

    Greek life is an amazing thing once you have croosed to your prospective organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs and activites , just to name a few ; SGA, Ambassodors, Cheerleading , Pep Crowd , Gospel Chior

    Great for these types of students

    This University is a University for students that want to succed in life and go on to bigger and better things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many traditions that will do at Fort Valley State University such as, when entering as a freshman you are taught the Fort Valley theme song and the real reasons behind our school colors. Unusaul locations on campus that we have is called the TREE . Last but not least a well known location on campus is a place everyone likes to calll The Yard where everyone on campus comes to enjoy camous life and to maintain a better social life.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun? While attending Fort Valley State University , it is a lot of ways to have fun such as : attending football, basketball, tennis, track meets and volleyball games. Also getting involed with Student Government and participating in athletics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students, would have to be stay focused, get involed within your college or University. Also stay on top of your grades, get to know your professors one on one, let them know who you are as an indivual and not just a student attenting his or her class.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University, is more than just your typical HBCU. We are a family and will protect our own. Also at The Fort Valley State University faliure is not an option.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much if you don't live a wild party life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get things done ahead of time and keep all emails and papers for your personal records.

    In three sentences

    This school is very unorganized and the offices where you go to get help are filled with women with very nasty attitudes. I had to wait months for my financial aid to come. The people are very rude.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you get on their nerves enough they get what needs to be done, done.

    Greek Life

    I love the greeks, they act so much like a family. I hope that I am soon able to pledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are active in your club they are wonderful and you earn many connects through them.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that is really school spirited and into getting what needs to be done then Fort Valley State University is the perfect school.

    What to do for fun

    Fun comes from one's own. If you want to have fun make it, but do not do anything irrational. YOLO (You Only Live Once) does not mean do stupid things because you only live once.

    Tips for prospective students

    When planning to attend Fort Valley watch who you hang with, its okay to have fun just make sure that you stay to want you came for and if you work with your professors they will work with you.

    In three sentences

    Education at Fort Valley State is wonderful. If you work with your professors, they try to keep you at a standard that you would want to be at.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there aren't too many problems on campus, there have been some problems, but its never been anything to crazy that one or two officers couldn't handle.

    Greek Life

    Although I am not a member of any Greek Organizations, I do monitor them when ever I can and they seem to be the people who organize the events that are held around the campus, so to me Greek life is a leadership role at FVSU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost every major or interest that a person may have, and along with expanding your network, it gives you something to do with your spare time.

    Great for these types of students

    Fort Valley is great for all students, but those who are outgoing and enjoy participating in clubs, organizations, school-sponsored events will enjoy themselves more than those that don't.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only tradition that I found to be odd was the one for freshman males, where all the male student leaders would go through the male dorms early in the morning and wake us up an take us to the founders statue and were recognize as not only peers but family.

    Bang for the buck

    If your trying to get the most out of your money, its probably best to go take the shuttle bus to Wal-Mart, but if you can't do that there is a Dollar Tree and Family Dollar downtown where you can get almost anything you need.

    What to do for fun

    There won't be much fun if you don't come out of your dorm, because there are events to attend weekly on campus, also when you are apart of different organizations, you get to go off campus to events. A personal favorite was attending sports events, since I am a huge sports fan, I enjoy going to the games and supporting my school.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat around the campus, but the one that is most popular is the cafe. It is where everyone goes to at least twice a day when they can't afford anything else. In addition to the cafe, there is Papa John's Pizza, Chic-fil-a, Quiznos, and a W.O.W.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories at FVSU are very nice, the Wildcat Commons in particular are the more preferred because its an apartment style dorm, but the traditional dorms are not too bad; if you really value your privacy it may not be the place for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The first year was not as demanding, but as time progressed, the classes required me to give up on fun activities. It became obvious that I had to manage my time wisely and put my work first, but once all of it was done I had plenty of time to have fun or relax.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any students that would plan to attend Fort Valley State University, the best advice for you is to remain focused, it is very easy to get side tracked. Also, don't be afraid to socialize with the people around you and form your own network amongst your peers. Most importantly, above all, you should look to join organizations around campus, I promise you'll enjoy your college experience there even more.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is an amazing school where students can come and learn crucial skills for life outside of school. A person can come to Fort Valley and be treated like family by not only the students but by teachers as well. On this campus you will be surrounded by the rich history of one of Georgia's Historically Black Colleges/Universities, which for African Americans is an amazing sight, because you get to learn of the early beginnings and see how much it has expanded from its small, but humble start.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police do their very best to keepus students safe in any situation. From weather to physical danger we are always kept top priority.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is well represente, they all show their greek pride in a respectable manner.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student goverement is one the major organizations that run our campus

    Great for these types of students

    Biology students who are seeking to become doctors and algriculture students pursuing that field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MY favorite spot on campus is the water foutain located at the top of the campus what we students call Niagra Falls of course its no where near that but the joke makes for a good laugh.

    What to do for fun

    On campus activities, and of course parties.

    Food and Dining

    For is great, the kitchen staff ensures a healthy meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean and kept up to part in the commons on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    challenges the mind of all students in each field of study

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete fincacial aid ontime. Be sure to go to class all the time. Study every chance you get.

    In three sentences

    Historically rich institution. Caring professors and staff. They want to mold students for the world, and not degrees with no purpose.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are a number of clubs and activites offered on campus that fits any and everyone that attends The Fort valley state University.

    Food and Dining

    on campus we have a dining hall that offers a variety of food interational, main event, pizza, grill, and deli. we also have an papa johns, chickfila, quizznoss, jazzmans cafe and WOW wings.

    Dorm Life

    we have two completely different living accommodation. traditional and apartment style dorms on campus. the traditional dorms are closer to the library and dining hall but the apartment style dorms are near the fast food places on campus such as papa johns. we do not have coed dorms , there is a curfew set for upperclassman and lower class-man.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic standards at The Fort Valley state University, are somewhat reasonable depending on your major it may be alot more difficult. majority of the professors are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    to future students, i advice you put any important documents and forms in well in advance, stay focused, and informed. don't get caught up in partying because it will catch up to you. if you can attend summer school do so, it will benefit you in the end.

    In three sentences

    I would rate The Fort Valley State University a 6 on a scale from 1 to 10. due to the lack of organization, effort, and reliability. on the other hand, they are a family based university and offer a positive environment.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great school for traditional students. It's more challenging for non traditional students to attend. Can be a great experience.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University is one of the best HBCU'S in Georgia. I have enjoyed my time so far of being here because the teachers are great and you get to meet new people. I would advise anyone to consider coming to this school.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is one club in town The Swamp. The downtown area is very small so most of us go to Warner Robins or Macon. But their is always something to do on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very hot so make sure to wear light clothing and tennis shoes. You may see students on campus at any time fraternizing and laughing, don't be afraid to walk over and ask questions. The atmosphere is very calm, but game days are very elaborate, be ready to paint you face in the royal blue and gold!!!

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is a small school with a close knit feel. There is a lot of agriculture around and natural habitation. The city of Fort Valley is very small, the college is the main attraction.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. there is always fun but most of all things safety is very important especially if your in the new dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor would be at a average because u always have a possibility of doing good and being accepted long as you stay on top of everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay a head of everything because if you procrastinate then things will become very hard for you.

    In three sentences

    Fort valley is a great experience. This institution has great school spirit, great student services that helps students build up their resumes for better oppurtunities. Basically fort valley has all the components you would want in a school and that great school spirit, education, parties, and just a loving atmosphere.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have wonderful campus safety. There are lots of campus safety booths placed around campus. When there is trouble, all you have to do is press the button and campus safety will respond.

    Greek Life

    Great Greek life. I am personally a member of Sigma Gamma Rho. We all do many project helping the community and the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have plenty of clubs and activities within each department in our school. Lots to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student.

    What to do for fun

    There are different groups and programs to join. The athletics are great to attend. There are parties.

    Food and Dining

    All I can say is, some days the food is pretty good and some days the food is horrible.

    Dorm Life

    If you are living in the Wildcat Commons, then you should have comfortable stay at Fort Valley State University, but some traditional dorms need a lot of work done on it.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors here are great at helping teaching the subject but there are some professors who try to be super hard and unhelpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on you financial aid situations. Study well but not hard. Be able to handle your own situations.

    In three sentences

    I would say Fort Valley State University is a great school to attend, excluding the financial aid process, everything is pretty good. They have great professors and programs within the school. I would like to see the school grow more in all areas.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    One word: AWESOME! Greek life is simply amazing!

    Great for these types of students

    It's an HBCU, if you love being around African Americans, then come on! We'll welcome you with opened arms.

    What to do for fun

    Our Campus Activity Board has many thing for us to do on campus like hosting a bowling night, skate/casino night, karaoke night, etc. There's barely a dull moment on our campus excuse our motto is Turn Up Or Transfer!!

    Food and Dining

    Pizza, hamburgers, and sandwiches everyday! Along with a variety meal in the Main Course and International line. Even have seafood occasionally, i.e.: Christmas, Mardi Gras

    Dorm Life

    Apartment-styled, excellent condition! Couldn't have asked for better temporarily living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because Fort Valley State University is an HBCU, doesn't mean that you will just be partying. FVSU is very serious about school work because they know that parents dont send their children off to school just to have them to flunk out. Grades first, fun later because you're paying for you education so why not do your best?

    In three sentences

    The Fort Valley State University is a great university where not only the faculty and staff do their job, but also become family to the students. Anybody that is a part of this great institution loves it with all their heart and wouldn't choose to be anywhere else. Like the wildcats say, Paw Pride? Catch it!

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is much security at all gates and also riding around in campus police cars or golf carts!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very active on campus. Probates are always fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every major has a club. As for me, I am the Historian for the Criminal Justice Club.Greek

    Great for these types of students

    There are lots of parties, just ask around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is known that everyone meets up at the Bond Building or either the Old Student Center. They are kind of in the middle of campus and everyone will know where you are.

    Bang for the buck

    Every Thursday at Applebee's is Student night, so go get some discounted food!

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous on campus activities that take place daily and there are also campus wide workout classes. Besides on campus activities, there are many off- campus parties and annual festivals to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is AWESOME! Can;t go wrong with Chik-fil-A and Quizno's.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus but judging from stories told to me, It is a fun experience. There have been newer dorms opened since 2009, and everyone loves them.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Criminal Justice major and the professor's for this program are excellent, highly qualified and there for the advancement of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are acquainted with your adviser and also be acquainted with your department head. This will set you apart from students who only go to class and sit. Become active and leave your mark!

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is a great experience for all kind but especially those of a minority group. It has grown much over the past 3 years including a new gym, new dorms and a new student center. Receiving my degree from Fort Valley State University, in December, will be 1 of the biggest accomplishments in my life!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's extremely hard to get on campus if you dont and an ID.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing if your'e up for the challenge you should pledge.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great education you will learn alot about yourself and the world, and have fun along the way.

    What to do for fun

    Parties are crazy. You can pledge a greek. Go see a game or play a pick up game yourself. The only way you get bored is if you let yourself.

    Food and Dining

    It's a HBCU what do you expect. The food is great for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    Their are alot of rules to follow especially your freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a good education and a respected degree most of the classes are pretty easy though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to have all of your information in early and handle your financial aid personally. Get to know your professors and RA's, if you get in good with them you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college experience overall it makes you become more responsible because you have to be on top of all of your info from day one. The people are great and you'll never be bored, beautiful women and insane parties.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The are horribly slow in response but the definitely handle the situation

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing at FVSU! Anytime the Greeks are involved you are guaranteed a great time.

    What to do for fun

    They have small clubs in fort valley. other than that is basically what you make of it

    Food and Dining

    the best thing on the campus is chick fil a. Late hours good food. Plan your visits to the cafe so you dont find yourself wasting time getting nasty food.

    Dorm Life

    The Commons are where you want to be. Clean and spacious. The other dorm are old and in need of a complete renovation

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors will push you. others will contribute to your failure by simply not teaching, at all!

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid potential boredom by GETTING INVOLVED with school activites

    In three sentences

    FVSU is pretty good school.Everyone has their ups and downs with Fort valley, but it is what you make of it. Get involved and make the best of the experience.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent.

    Greek Life

    FVSU also has many Greek clubs...

    Clubs and Activities

    The also have a TRIO program for students who are interested in scholarships, tutoring, counseling, etc.

    What to do for fun

    FVSU have lots of events that students can attend for free or by just showing your college id. (Ex: BET, concerts, etc.)

    Food and Dining

    They have good dining and retail dining places you can eat at if your not interested in the cafe food.

    Dorm Life

    The have nice dorms, that you would simply love to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are excellent and the professors help the students when needed.

    In three sentences

    The Faculty and Staff are very cooperative. Fort Valley State University is a excellent college to attend. Their housing/dorms are nice.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay focus and keep a list of goals on you for a purpose of why you decided to attend college.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley state university is a wonderful HBCU. My campus is filled with intelligent student who are all here to earn a degree. I am happy for attending FVSU.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police on site to regulate what is going on, plus they are cool people.

    Greek Life

    There is a very strng greek life and many opportunities for you to get involved in what you would like to be involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe it is a food value for what you will pay.

    What to do for fun

    I go hang out wit my friends for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is pretty nice, but they also have Chick fil a, Wild Wings, and Quiznos.

    Dorm Life

    There is also something going on in the dorms or around the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is no room to play in class, but your professor will help you if you need it, and there are also tutors available.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a diverse student body at Fort Valley State University. It is one of the few schools in Georgia to offer vet tech degree programs. You should research the many different degree programs they have.

    In three sentences

    I very close nit, family orientated school. Here you feel more like a student and not like a number. Everyone knows everyone and will help you in any way possible.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Part, hang out with friends, watch TV

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. I love it! I wouldn't ask for anything better

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. You have to be disciplined.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is one of the BEST HBCU's anyone could attend. The overall atmosphere is GREAT! There is no way you could not love this school/

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're not that safe

    Greek Life

    Kappas, Omegas, Deltas, & Sigmas, are all exciting to wath. That's about it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are just ready to get out of the parents nest. Live a very unhealthy and bad lifestyle

    What to do for fun

    Get into trouble, bad trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose another HBCU

    In three sentences

    Professors are very involved with students & education. Living condition in Traditional dorms are terrible. Financial Aid is Very unorganized

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In the dormitory that I live in the residential assistances (Ra's) is always planning some type of activity for the us to do in the dorm. Just get involved & you'll have a fun time while going to school and getting your degree.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is wonderful. They just renovated it. The have this special time called Late Night that ends at 10:30. So, after all that studying you can go and grab a bite to eat in the cafe that's located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the best. The underclassmen don't have the one with the kitchenette, but as a upperclassmen you'll think that you're in your own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will treat you as if you're they're own daughter or son. Whenever you need help, they're there. From the WIN Labs that you can go to & speak with any professor to setting a appointment with your professor individually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and have fun, but stay focus. Make sure you research and think about it before coming, but from me I can tell you that once you get here you're staying!!

    In three sentences

    It's the best college on campus! You're treated like a second family as soon as you step foot on campus from security guards to the custodians that keeps the place clean!

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I attend local events that are provided on campus.

    Food and Dining

    7 out of 10.

    Dorm Life

    10 out of 10.

    Academic Rigor

    8 out of 10.

    Tips for prospective students

    For upcoming students i would say form a realationship with your instructor. Stay in your studies and follow thru with up coming assignments.

    In three sentences

    It has great classrooms and staff that provide a wonderful learning environment. It has a large campus that provide great outlets for recreational activities. I enjoy attending Fort Valley State Univesity.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are gated in...If you leave campus you are required to show your student id in order to come back in. Visitation hours will vary depending on your dorm building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every major usually offer some type of club.

    Great for these types of students

    People who can balance their work and party time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On every wednesday we dress for success,which is optional but some teachers offer extra credit or add points to your grade. We also show school spirit every friday by wearing school attire from the bookstore or wearing school colors

    Bang for the buck

    I will refer anyone to this school because if you dont want to be bored all the time,there is something to do. Workstudy is easy and fast to apply for as long as you meet all requirements.

    What to do for fun

    Everything! You will always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have papa johns, quizznos, chic fil a,wow wings,and a smoothie place. You dont have to eat there, you can also eat in our dining area, and since we are downtown we are near alot of restaurants and grocery stores.

    Dorm Life

    Omg, I love living on campus. Sometimes even with traditional you may have your own room. But our wildcat commons may be the best place since we have both semi suite and apartment style dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you put your work before everything.Make sure all financial aid is handled. Dont stay inside the dorms all day, come out to get familiar to the university.

    In three sentences

    I love my school. People call us the party school,but mostly all colleges party. School is what you make of it. Do your work first then party. If you have a early class the next morning,there are other times. You are not going to miss anything.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun its different of organization you can get involve in.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is like momma's home cooking . It's the best of the best.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a freshman. Our dorm rooms are very small.

    Academic Rigor

    I had to take three tests in order to get into the school! It was pretty hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    My top three tips for prospective students would be: never give up, you have people there thats willing to help,2) Apply for scholarships. LOTS OF SCHOLARSHIPS!, 3) Be yourself; can't nobody do you but you.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is an A+. The first time I thought bout being a student there, I was sent emails. The email consist of majors; thats what made me chose The Fort Valley State University.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well with just being here three days, I've just been learning where everything is but the fun has been with my big brother showing us around campus and helping us get everything straight (financial aid, classes, etc.).

    Food and Dining

    A variety of food and hours of operations are great!

    Dorm Life

    So far...perfect!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes haven't even started yet and they push you to be the best you can be. I honestly believe when I leave here in 4 years I will be proud of the man I will become.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember why you're at college. Ask for help if you need it because it is everywhere on campus. Also, enjoy where you are on the way to where you are going.

    In three sentences

    Awesome staff! Awesome facility! Awesome classmates!

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have top of the line Security/Campus police patrolling 24 hours a day to ensure your safety. So, if there is a problem don't hesitate to call. Some of the best things to do sometimes to avoid confrontation is to call The Security or Police Unit of The Fort Valley State University.

    Greek Life

    We have an assortment of sororities at The Fort Valley State University which excels to not only be apart of the community and get a good education. But, they know how to simply partake in the fun life of Campus. There's no shortage of parties, though they also have faith. Attending and inviting people on campus and fellow brothers to Church Services on Sunday Morning. How's that for knowing where your priorities lay?

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a variety of clubs here on Campus. Like the art club or the occasional music programs. Fro those interested it's a good way to show your school spirit. As well as meet some new people if you are shy or just overall want to make your presence felt around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Absolutely we have people from all walks of life attending The Fort Valley State University because we believe in the future of education. As well as providing assistance in the lives of our students. Education is the important thing to us. Though we do have opportunities to make your College Experience absolutely a moment of your lifetime that'll you surely won't ever forget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As I mentioned the 3rd floor of The Library is a sacred spot. It doesn't really require you to be that quiet. Though still excessive loudness does interrupt people trying to get their work or studies done. I share a bond with the Library's 3rd floor and hopefully you would too.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the book store will buy your books back at the end of a semester. For, a great monetary gain. As well if you rent your textbooks you can save on the cost for the entire semester. So, instead of having to worry about costs. Just take the time out to rent and then return it when it's due.

    What to do for fun

    I normally attend the library where I research my studies or just watch a film. As well I hang out with my friends on the third floor of the library. We share things like insider jokes. We have Game Night & Movie Night playing the latest video-games for various systems or watching the latest Film. Sometimes we even have little sleepovers on Weekends where work isn't overloading us at the moment.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe provides the essential nutrients to keep you up and about in your tenure at The Fort Valley State University. It's about exercising your right of choice as well. With a variety of stations including home cooking, pizza, cold cut sandwiches and common grilled delights ex. Hamburgers & Grilled Cheese. What's not to like about that?! Then we have a various assortment of on-campus restaurants or treats. In the Library there's the Jazz-man's cafe which includes an assortment of tea or coffee related products. Also they have fountain drinks and sweet treats ex. Cookies & Cinnamon Buns. Mm, that sounds exciting. And I enjoy it every-time I visit the Library. Also we have Chick-Fil-A, Quiznos, and Papa Johns on campus which are rpoven franchises that work. We also have a place called WOW Wingsw which specializes in Wings though has a variety of Salads,Burgers & Sauces. All which are bound to make your mouth water. For those on the go however. At Simply-To-Go located next to WOW wings in the old Student Center you can pick up a smoothie topped with whip cream, mini cereals, water, a nice boxed salad or sandwich so you can enjoy on the....GO! How delightful is that.

    Dorm Life

    While it may not be five star it's home to most. If you don't stay off campus and need a fair place to stay then here it is. Dormitory Life only gets four stars due to the fact that room mates can be a hassle. Yes, it's good to be acquainted with the people in your dorm to avoid confrontations. But, that's the thing there are sometimes where people don't mesh together well. If, they don't mesh well then expect allot of head butting and the like.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is at times piling on you, but if you manage thing in a timely fashion you should get pass this. Quite frankly i'm exceptionally proud to be rewarded for doing the work. You should be proud of achieving certain grades if you do well. Just take the time to study and to properly manage your school work. So, you can steadily be prepared and to get ahead of the pack.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to do all work in a time oriented fashion, don't go overboard with parting or slacking off. Time Management is key and you can successfully do well in class and have fun out of class if you do that correctly.

    In three sentences

    A Pleasant Ride

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are school activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The have fresh fruit and vegetables everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Every student has there own privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    They believe academics are the key to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's great to become organized. Always study for your classes.

    In three sentences

    The Fort Valley State is a awesome university. The University's professors are very on hand with the students. The Fort Valley State University is strategic and makes every student aware of scholarships, and the school provides every individual with success after college.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FVSU campus safety is always up to help! They make sure that they are available to students and staff 24/7! They have emails, text messaging, a phone number you can always call and phone booths on campus. They always come check on the dormitories regularly anyway to make sure everybody is fine.

    Greek Life

    I am not a greek, so I cannot speak too much on it, however we do offer all the traditional HBCU greeks you can think of.

    Clubs and Activities

    The amount of club memberships offered on campus are numerous. There are many ways to get involved from modeling troop, SGA, Baptist Student Union (Christian club), Wildcat ENT, greek life etc! And not to mention the athletics!

    Great for these types of students

    FVSU is great for students who want to get away from home and come to the country. FVSU is not in any type of urban area, so students who are looking for the city life that reflects Atlanta will NOT find it here. You must be prepared to live in a rural area if you do decide to become a WILDCAT!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have MANY traditions and in order to find out, you must become an OFFICIAL WILDCAT!

    What to do for fun

    FVSU always has something to do, especially on the weekends! Parties, club meetings, football games, lounges to hang out and play card games, or just to relax! The choice is yours!

    Food and Dining

    The Wildcat Cafe always has options! The food is always fresh and it is all you can eat! They have salad bars, pizza, hamburgers, sandwiches, wraps, cookies, cake, fruit, pasta salad and the list goes on!

    Dorm Life

    The Wildcat Commons are nice! I love the space. It is a spacious unit, with 4 bedrooms (carpeted floor), a living room (carpeted floor), a refrigerator, two full bathrooms (tile floors), and twin sinks on either side.

    Academic Rigor

    FVSU will give you a run for your money. This work is not easy, especially Science, Technology, Math and Engineering students!

    Tips for prospective students

    For all prospective students, understand FVSU is not the party school everybody talks about. People who say it is a party school are the main ones who partied ALL THE TIME. College gives you that type of freedom, you make the best out of it.

    In three sentences

    FVSU is an awesome college, it is a university unlike any other and the college life is exactly what you make it. Don't let anyone fool you, Fort Valley State is a school that if you want a true college experience- you can come here.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always available, and doing their jobs to keep students safe 24/7.

    Greek Life

    In order to be involved in Greek life, you have to have good grades, and it's important that you maintain a positive reputation around campus. Students involved in fraternities and sororities are more that satisfied with the opportunities that come with being involved in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like most colleges, FVSU has many clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    FVSU is great for students who do not like schools with a large population, and because it is an HBCU, it is good for students to like to feel at home on campus. It is also great for students who enjoy socializing with others and getting to know classmates and professors.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, students are advised to join clubs (ALWAYS GET INVOLVED). There are two student centers to hang out in, daily and a club house that is like a lounge for the students.

    Food and Dining

    There are several on-campus restaurants that the students can dine in, as well as a cafeteria that has a variety of foods to choose from. The dining services take criticism and ideas for meals from the students to make the experience better.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are pretty nice, and some room sizes are larger than others. There is limited visitation for all residence halls, and in some rooms there are pest problems. The wifi is not equal in all areas of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and professor, the academic rigor varies. In general, if you are looking for courses that will fit well with your social schedule, it is very possible to balance the two.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should always be involved in campus activities, and doing what they can to make the school better. There are always events going on around campus, all you have to do is look on the website at the school calendar. It is also helpful that students attend assemblies and meetings regarding campus life.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State University is a very home-like environment. The campus is small so that every class is accessible, and able to get to within ten minutes. The staff and students make it so that there is an exceptional and friendly transition for incoming students.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out on the yard Lots of parties A lot of events to go to

    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Dorm Life

    Lots of problems in my dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your financial aid checked out before school so they won't screw you over like they did me.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is a good school. Although you really need a car to get around and that makes being an out of state student kind of hard. Although I plan on transferring, I would recommend this school.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the school has many activities on campus that you can join.around fort valley every year they have the Perry fair which is renowned in Georgia and right afterwards is homecoming which brings in thousands of people every year.

    Food and Dining

    the food has limited choices pretty much consisting of daily hamburger pizza and something new.

    Dorm Life

    some of your roommates may be a little messy due to laziness or home training but other than that the rooms are in good quality and still look recently built.

    Academic Rigor

    at every college some classes are a complete joke but if you take a challenging course here like biology it does require a lot of studying with hard work.Also there math courses are very rigorous and for those that get off track easily ,it wont be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    your first semester stay on track. There's times to play and some for work you just have to stay focused your first semester.

    In three sentences

    A great HBCU for those who want a great surrounding but a cheap institution.The school is moving in a positive direction with the new president coming changing school policies.Located in middle Georgia its a great change from Atlanta due to its small home town feel.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety don't play so make sure you follow the rules or you will be paying plenty of fines!!!!!!!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very interesting and exciting because they are always throwing parties or having kickbacks. If you go to these parties don't act crazy cause they are watching at all times and they will talk about you.!!!!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities such as the student government association, Truth Poetry Club, Toast Masters speaking club, mass communication clubs, promo teams, and etc........

    What to do for fun

    Make sure you have a car or know someone who has a car because all the fun places to enjoy yourself are in Warner Robbins which is about 30 miles away. They have places such as movies, laser tag, bowling, skating, paintball shooting, shopping centers, and etc......

    Food and Dining

    I really don't eat on campus but at times you can go to the places on campus to eat such as papa johns , chic- fil-a, and sodexo.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Fort valley is what you make it so get acquainted with good people so you can have a wonderful college experience.!!!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Fort Valley State University the professors treat you like adults so be prepared to experience the life of a adult.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students trying to attend Fort Valley State University should take care of all financial aid and housing because it can get very hectic at times.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley state university is a Historically Black College that is surrounded in a small town. At this institution the students are very spirited and outgoing. If you wish to be apart of a tight knit wildcat community where everyone tries to help out one another, then you should come to Fort Valley State University!!!!!!!!

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like exercise and animals. Fort Valley offers me both in the spacious capmus and it's abundance of animal life. I could spend a full day grooming the cows.

    Food and Dining

    Meal times are my favorite parts of the day and I love selection. We have a buffet dining system and I get all of what I want, and none of what I don't want. And the chefs and servers are genuine helps and food connoisseurs.

    Dorm Life

    Just as it should be quiet inside, and not so quiet outside. If I didn't have a pitiful attention spam, my library quiet room would be great for studing. I do sleep well from the peace.

    Academic Rigor

    My Professors are sticklers, but you will get leway at the beginning. Keeping up in the course is my job. My Professors are gentle, stern and will required you to learn or speak up for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nothing gets things done, like you getting things done. Do your work, turn it in, you will get some credit for your efforts. Finishing work ahead of time, if possible is recommended.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley is a really comfortable college. The campus has plenty of open spaces for playing field games or doing homework outdoors. I especially appreciate the serene natural appeal that early morning geese, squirrels and roaming cats give the whole campus.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie Nite in the Pettigrew is always interesting. Plus, the university has a great basketball and football team that makes for interesting Fall Semesters.

    Food and Dining

    Papa Johns, Quizno's, and Chik-fi-la, are just a few of the restaurants on campus. Meal plans are offered for the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The campus has brand new dorms that look absolutely amazing. Restaurants and entertainment are right there on campus so there is really no reason to leave.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are always challenging students to do better. For example, even when I receive an A on a paper, there are always notes and suggestions in the margin. The work load is heavy but it is also necessary for understanding and comprehension. I never felt as though an instructor was giving what I call, busy work. Every assignment has a purpose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students will have a wide variety of extra curricular activities to participate in, so I advise you choose them wisely and according to your future plans and major. Study, Study, Study. Always make sure your financial aid application is completed entirely and before the deadlines.

    In three sentences

    Fort Valley State has very educated and knowledgeable instructors and professors that really make learning fun and interesting. The lecture series in the fall is very enlightening and encouraging because the persons featured offer valuable information about how they became successful entrepreneurs and businessmen. The campus is very beautiful and spacious as well.