Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Framingham State University (Framingham) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. You get what you put in to the experience.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot out of paying very little. All four years at FSC is equivilant to one year at a big name school!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is gorgeous, but can sometimes be dull. Get involved and you won't have any problems!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are great. They are extremely willing to help you out if you ever need help. They want you to succeed, and they will do anything they can if you just ask.

  • 06/14/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think Framingham is great for students who want to be out of state but are not ready to take the huge step to attend a large institution. Since the campus is kind of small, it makes it easier to get to classes and find places you need to go. Here, you can learn the do's and don't s of college life on your own but pay less for the consequences. Tuition for out of state students is about $20,000 a year. The school caters more to students who want to become teachers and students majoring in communications.

    Tips for prospective students

    Framingham is charming. The campus is small and quaint, it gives off a comfortable feeling. The college itself is small which allows students to get to know teachers, counselors, and other students on a more personal level and receive the academic attention and guidance that is important for first year students. When I visited, the people I met were friendly and I felt as if they were good friends of mine as opposed to strangers I had just met. If you are interested in Framingham visit the website at www.framingham.edu/, call them, or visit the campus. It's always good to get the feel of a college for yourself as opposed to hear others rave or rag about it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The people at Framingham are both friendly and welcoming. As a first year student, it can be hard to adjust to an unfamiliar environment. A person who is willing to say hello, invite you to a gathering, or give you directions to where you need to go can be helpful in that adjustment. In order to help students adjust to college life, the college provides a first year experience housing program in which resident students participate in various activities with other first year students. Aside from a friendly welcome, there are plenty of on campus activities, restaurants nearby for good eating, and a mall not to far away for hanging out with friends.

    Will learn a lot

    You can learn a lot from where ever you go as long as you put in the effort. Framingham provides the means, you have to provide the ends for yourself.

  • 04/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The only department I know enough about it the fashion design and retailing mayor. At FSU you learn not only the design and construction aspect of fashion, but also the business side of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be sure to make friends at the beginning of year first year 2. Get involved!!!! 3. Utilize all of the academic help resources and the amazing library 4. Connect with your professors 5. Get into the swing of college life for a good month or two before seeking a part time job. Starting college can be overwhelming and trying to get the hang of it while working can be very stressful. 6. There are cheaper means of getting your books and supplies than the school store. Seek them!

    Bang for the buck

    From every college I applied to during my senior year of high school FSU was the most affordable. For MA residents it is no more than $15,000 per year. I have a single dorm and my full tuition is still a bit below $15000.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is small and it is easier to make connections with professors and students for the most part but because of it's small size there are also many cliques. If you did not form your clique at the beginning of the year it isn't so easy to find your place half way through. The campus is also pretty dull much of the time. There re plenty of clubs and student activities but there is not much to do once the weekend comes.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are definitely one of my favorite parts of the university. They are amazing and genuinely dedicated to teaching you something and helping you get the grade you deserve. There are tons of tutors available for free just about anytime of the day and evening. There is no reason for not succeeding academically at FSU if you are a dedicated hardworking student.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is small and quaint. It is perfect for people who like to surround themselves with pretty scenery. The campus is like a small park in the middle of a city. Just outside of campus is everything you could possibly need. There are so many stores and restaurants to choose from. The Natick Mall is amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Framingham is great! The food is amazing, but of course you may get tired of eating it every single day. The commuter cafe has amazing food and so many options. Join a group or create one! They're fun and you make lots of friends! Try dorming, you might meet your best friend. Utilize all the resources available on campus for help!

    Bang for the buck

    Framingham has just risen from the cheapest, to the second cheapest state school in Massachusetts. The campus is truly beautiful and the dorms are better than expected. The education is just as good as any prestigious institution.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's always something fun happening on campus. Groups have events each week and month. There's something here for everyone!

    Am learning a lot

    Framingham has some of the best teachers I've ever had. Some are rather quirky, but others are truly brilliant! You not only trust most of them as a teacher, but also as a person.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always available and diligent

    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the old trees on the quad best study places on a sunny day!

    What to do for fun

    there are clubs for everything you can imagine and many opportunity's to start your own club

    Tips for prospective students

    be diligent your first semester

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been outside incidents involving people from the town coming onto campus with weapons but the CamPo have a great messaging system that calls and texts alerts to all students.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to keep their heads down and get their degree without much fuss.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. You're getting a good education for the cheapest price in MA.

    What to do for fun

    There's a mall and movie theater close enough if you have a car. The school provides a shuttle for a fee. Many chain bars are also in the area if you're of age.

    Food and Dining

    Comm caf has great snacks (at cheaper prices than a convenience store) and a really good grille for unhealthy, but delicious!, food.

    Dorm Life

    I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were no harder than my high school courses in the beginning, and not much harder as they progressed. Minimal time spent on homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Transfer students: GET INVOLVED! It is the only way to make friends/get to know people after everyone seems to have their core group of friends made up. People are friendly but you have to be open to them.

    In three sentences

    FSU is a small school that focuses on getting students to their next goal, whether it be a career or grad school, etc. Commuters are often forgotten and the parking situation can be like the Hunger Games. Individual programs can be tight knit and you get to know the students in your classes.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    well its a state school do the price is less than other private ones so it works for me :)

    Will enjoy being here

    from what I've seen of FSU I'm confident in saying it is just the right size for me, not too big like other state schools and not to small and exclusive.

    Will learn a lot

    I feel they have a challenging curriculum and will benefit me in any way that I need it. the staff seems to be on their toes and ready to help.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is available 24/7. also, there are emergency polls set up throughout campus that will call directly to the campus police.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club her for everyone. each major has their own club, such as the education club, and it is great to get to know people who have the same major as you and ask upperclassmen questions you have about the major. also, there are clubs for people that want to plan events such as sild and suab. if there is not a club here that you want, feel free to create it.

    Great for these types of students

    fsu is great for students who like small class sizes, and one-on-one meetings with professors who are willing to help you succeed. it is also a great university for students who want a lot of community involvement opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    all season long there are home games to go to for both boys and girls sports. also, there is a bus that takes students to stops along route 9, such as, shopper's world and the natick mall. there is also a movie theater and ice cream shop, which serves the best ice cream right across the foot bridge and gives a discount to fsu students. fsu has monthly movie and bingo nights. in addition, each semester the drama club put on a show and the fsu dance team puts on a performance.

    Food and Dining

    the dining commons have multiple options from the 24/7 breakfast bar to the pizza bar. there are meals for everyone and the staff makes sure to have options for every type of person including gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan options. if you ever get sick of the dining hall there is the fire pit which serves chinese food or the ram's den grille which cooks great quesadillas, wraps, burgers, and fries. also, sandella's is a restaurant in north hall that serves great late night food.

    Dorm Life

    i live in corinne hall towers, and it is full of life. multiple nights a week there are building wide events where people can get to know others in the building. roommate situations can get sticky, but these activities let you get away for a few hours and do something fun.

    Academic Rigor

    be prepared to be challenged. each class has a professor that expects the best from and class participation is required. fsu challenges each student to go beyond their expectations and limits academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    fsu is a small campus which means, small classes that allow the professor to get to know you and help you succeed. be open to meeting new people because fsu is a highly diverse community.

    In three sentences

    framingham state university is a small campus, but everyone is connected and determined to succeed. fsu provides excellent professors and resources to allow each student to succeed. the overabundance of friendly, determined, and community oriented people at this university makes it feel like home.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    framingham has a great campus police system. there are 'blue lights' all over campus. these are poles that say emergency on them with a bright blue light on top. if anything happens on campus you are able to go to any of these and press the button. the campus police will arrive shortly with no problem. there are many of these all over campus and they are very easy to reach. also, framingham is a dry campus, so you do not have to worry about dealing with a roommate who is interested in nothing but partying. campus police is also very keen on the fact that framingham has 0 tolerance for alcohol, even if you do live in a 21+ dorm.

    Bang for the buck

    framingham is your typical state school. if you are looking for something convenient and affordable, framingham is the school for you. it is not expensive and there are a lot of interesting and popular majors to choose from to make it worth your while. i have never heard anything bad about framingham, and i hope not to!

    What to do for fun

    framingham is close to natick, so it is easy to catch a shuttle and go to the natick mall, or anywhere really. if you are involved in clubs, you are able to go on weekend trips. (ex. a new club just opened called the ski club and they go on weekend trips all the time). there is a lot to do, you just have to look into things and make time to put yourself out there for fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is really good. they just opened up a new all healthy eating in the dining hall. they have good options for breakfast, and a variety of choices each day for lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    it all depends on who lives on your floor and how good of friends you can make with the people you live with. the food, laundry, and whatnot is close by so that is never a worry. you just have to remember to be open minded and ready to meet new people and make new friends. the people here are really nice and are easy to get used to.

    Academic Rigor

    the school has a lot to offer academic wise. the school is mainly made of of fashion majors or early childhood majors. the fashion majors seem like they like their classes and get really involved with making their classes and assignments. the early childhood part of campus has their own playground outside for children who come to campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    i transferred here from umass boston, and i thought it was going to be a lot better than it is. i do love it, don't get me wrong. i just feel that the school could do more to get current students involved in more. the resident assistants (ra's) could do more work with the floor in which they are in charge of to get students involved and friendly with each other. the professors all (or most) have doctorates and have a lot to offer.

    In three sentences

    framingham is a beautiful campus with a lot of hills that you will get used to after awhile. there are a lot of people who went to high school together who attend there, so if you like seeing people you know this is the school for you. it is a beautiful state school to put it simply.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Commuter student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have another school lined up, go there. If you, like me, are under financial constraints, make it work.

    In three sentences

    A decent school for the price, but would not be attending if it wasn't cheapest state school in the area. Communication between Registrar and Departments is nonexistent. Very difficult to schedule classes as there are no variety in courses our times.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Framingham is an all-around great place to be. The teachers and students are all so nice. And it's a safe and well-mannered campus.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police on site and blue boxes located all around campus that have call boxes. If you call on the call box campus police will be there in under a minute.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very active on campus and there are always things being planned and going on.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable because it is a state school but there are a lot of opportunities for scholarships and financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    The Natick collection is right up the road on route nine there are all kinds of stores and there's also a lake within walking distance for the summer.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. We have many choices so you're never hungry!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing and so much fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the biology program right now and it is definitely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Framingham State is an amazing place to go to school. Definitely talk to teachers and staff and ask the people that go here questions that you might have. It's really easy to make friends because it is a small community so be friendly!

    In three sentences

    Framingham State University is a small, tightly knit, diverse community. Framingham State has a very challenging academic program. Framingham State is an affordable school.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus police phones everywhere! very safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    one of the cheaper state schools, and well worth it too.

    What to do for fun

    clubs on campus, and boston is 20 miles away!

    Food and Dining

    healthy and lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    you meet new people through the roomates you have, so be sure to befriend your room mate! you are in this together, afterall.

    Academic Rigor

    I have a friend who attends, and she says that it is challenging and she is never bored! always learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour! you will fall in love with the campus much like i did.

    In three sentences

    It was very clean. The grounds were well kept too, and the dorms were a little bigger than ones i had previously seen-also, the bathrooms were very clean as well.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs but not that many students involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, home every weekend, excessive worker

    Bang for the buck

    Not that good.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing besides the Natick mall. Its a backpacck school by 4pm on Friday everyone is gone and the campus looks like a ghost town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont expect too much, because it will only leave you in disappointment. Everyone has their own opinion but I found that my opinion was the same as many students that attend. Just do well and rememeber why your their and If your like me you will be able to transfer to a better institution.

    In three sentences

    Framingham State is a good school, It was my safety school and I did not plan on attending so I never had high hopes, therefore I was not disappointed. Right now its not the best but they are trying their best to make the school better so I commnd them for that.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a top priority at this university. They have strict policies and procedures and students are expected to abide by them or face the consequences. There are over 60 cameras monitoring every zone of the campus both internally and externally. Dorms access is restricted and monitored and bags are checked. Campus police are training this summer to carry firearms for added protection and work closely with the town police when events with large student capacity are planned.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities on campus. The only house other than dorms or academic puproses on campus is the honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you are interested in may be what others are interested in as well. Many of them have clubs and if they do not already have a club established then clubs can be formed as new popular interests arise.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! Once upon a time teachers or nurses would have been the immediate response but now that has expanded to incluce biology, psychology, criminology, broadcasting, communications, fashion, computer science, math. There is something for everyone in majors, minors, and social endeavors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of tradtions but none that stand out as unusual per se.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus offers a free shuttle service to local retail outlets and the mall. Not going to those destinations? You can purchase taxi vouchers to other areas for $4.00 each way. The art gallery down near campus is free to students as are a few galleries in Boston that will only cost you the commuter pass round trip. As an FSU student you have access to deeply discounted or free software packages needed for classes

    What to do for fun

    attend sporting events at campus. Go to plays or other shows organized by faculty and students. Take the shuttle to the commuter station and take the commuter train into Boston to site see or attend events.

    Food and Dining

    You won't go hungry but it's not home cooking or restaurant eating. Unless you are a fast food enthusiast in which case this

    Dorm Life

    Is typical. Make friends and participate in the many events offered and you will have a very positive experience. Not the social type? That's ok too, for those that prefer to get away from the crowds there are single room options that fit that need.

    Academic Rigor

    Come ready to learn. Take your classes seriously. Sure you are able to repeat a course for a better grade but is it worth delaying graduation? This institution hits the ground running from day 1 and continually increases in demand as the semester progresses. You will feel challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a good computer, virus protection, and printer (all common sense) as the public labs and printers are not as dependible as they could be especially during crunch times. Join clubs! It's great on your resume, you form better bonds, and you build a good reputation around campus.

    In three sentences

    A small community like environment where student, faculty, and administrators alike know you by name and say hello with a friendly smile as you walk around campus. Faculty that do not just teach you, they have a vested interest in you and your success and they show it by taking the time to personally sit with you and advise or encourage you as needed. Easy access to tutors that guide your academic success.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No place is perfect, but overall, as long as you're smart, youre safe.

    Greek Life

    I wish there were sororities and fraternies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious... for the first month. We all get sick of the food VERY quickly. Our meal plans are a blessing and a curse. And I hate that the Grille only stays open until midnight.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately it is a dry campus, thus each student has to check into the building and can only have up to three guests. The rooms are nice and they aren't too small either.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is not an Ivy-League school, the coursework leaves room for each student to grow academically.

    In three sentences

    This school is full of resources. The surrounding area keeps the small campus lively. The small population leaves for a close knit community.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is way less expensive then other schools

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities for students to do on campus. With all the clubs and the Student Involvement program they have, there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be energetic- if you are happy to be there you'll have a lot of fun

    In three sentences

    FSU is so welcoming. All the student seem to get along and enjoy attending there.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of extracurriculars.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food!

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the help FSU gives, there are so many opportunities.

    In three sentences

    It's just the right size.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The train station into Boston is less than 3 miles away from campus and it goes directly into South Station. Down Route 9 there are a few different shopping plazas, a mall, and bars in that area. FSU will also provide a plethora of events to attend during the week and the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Hit or miss in the dining hall depending on what you like to eat. Quality of the food isn't that bad and there are a couple areas in the commuter lounge where they'll make the food in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter but when I've gone into the dorms they were kept clean and each floor had it's own theme. Rooms are decently sized and the lounge areas have nice accessories.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a Biology major with a concentration in Wildlife management and the classes are spot on for what I'll need in the real world. I've done two field seasons conducting research and both my adviser and the Biology department are extremely helpful. Everything I've learned in the class and lab I've been able to apply to my research. Even the classes outside of my major have a lot to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, play hard. If you don't know what your goals are all you have to do is ask for a little help and you'll find it.

    In three sentences

    FSU may seem like a small college but it has a lot to offer. You get out what you put in and all the professors are willing to help you achieve success. The opportunities that can be found here are amazing and will stay with you for life.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Route 9 can be fun! Just play a little frogger on the busy highway road and hope for the best. Just kidding, there are malls and movie theaters at a cab ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Space in the cafeteria is limited, and so it may be beneficial to dine elsewhere.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms can be fun freshman and sophmore year. There are many new people to meet and it can be a great experience! As time goes on, you may want to move off campus because it can get pretty boring at times!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the level of the course you take, and in whichever field you choose, the classes can be tough. Most professors are willing to meet with students for extra help, so don't be afraid to take up this opportunity. The school also offers free tutors in many subjects at CASA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live on campus! Eating at the cafe is ridiculous so grab an apartment and have a good time. Also, don't come here if you like to party.

    In three sentences

    This school is for the academically inclined and has a beautiful campus. However, some department heads and office secretaries may seem unhelpful. The students are great and it is generally a nice institution.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are everywhere but they don't really do anything but ticket people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nothing that appealed to me.

    Great for these types of students

    People staying in dorm.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are hills everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can get into the classes you need, it's not bad.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here.

    In three sentences

    It's hard to get into classes. The registar's office is not help. Professors are unwilling to work with students schedules.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe, though Framingham is STILL a city setting despite it technically being a town. There have been multiple incidents where the campus police have had to order a lockdown - but that's what you get in the city.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, lots of events on campus and off.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good deal in terms of price - the faculty are very educated with most having graduated from ivy league colleges. For the 2nd cheapest college in MA, that's not bad. Don't go to Fitchburg over Framingham because it is the absolute cheapest - Fitchburg is way below Framingham.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of great places to shop, eat, and hangout along with the fact you're about 30 miles from Boston. Route 9 runs right through the college and serves for a lot of walking distance activities for those who can't have cars on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have to say food is really good here with a lot of choices. Only bad thing is the price, a little too expensive for my taste. You might as well drive down the road to McDonalds.

    Dorm Life

    I give this three stars - I'm a commuter so I don't know personally, but I've heard the dorms are like closets and of course the heat and a/c are always on the frits. There's also a very strict presence in terms of campus police - no partying at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak for the English/Education department as it is - English is certainly a rigorous program where you will learn a lot and challenge yourself, but Education really doesn't inspire or motivate at least in my experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because this is a cheap school, don't think you can just skate by. Even though the workload isn't as intimidating as big ivy schools like Harvard, a lot of teachers here are actually well beyond qualified and will hold you to a standard that you might not expect. Do your work and get to class on time - you'll be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    For the cost, which is prety low, Framingham State is a good deal for people who are looking to get out of college without substantial loan debt. As an English/Education student at a college that's known to be the first teaching college though, I have to say their program is subpar. Teachers and overall classes have been for the most part quite redundant, but you get what you pay for. The campus is small and comfortable though, which is a plus. In terms of academics, as I said, their okay, and aside from the lacking education department I have to say they have a stellar English faculty.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is truly something for everyone-and if they dont have what you are looking for its easy to create one!

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, Involved, Polite, and Happy!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, events, going out!

    Food and Dining

    Always options, the food is great but not as good as a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are fun, but there is lots of bag checks.

    Academic Rigor

    The gen eds are easier, your major courses will be a little harder but much more interesting! Also your advisors prepare you for what to expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Framingham is mainly a five year school! But it is worth it! Get involved, live on campus, and make lots of friends!

    In three sentences

    Framingham State is a great school, small classes, great professors and very involved campus life. The students are all respectful and friendly you can talk to anyone! Also we take four courses with higher credits per semester which is nice!

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a good close campus university where you get a good opportunity to talk with your professors and classmates. They have a good diverse eating places to go to. They also have many other extracurricular s.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe-I have never had a problem and I even took a class during the summer.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many!!!

    Great for these types of students

    CASA for classes you stuggle in

    Bang for the buck

    There is an awesome Gym for working out either on equipment or yoga classes. The library is always open when I need it. The tech people can help you with an computer problem.

    What to do for fun

    There is the Ram Tram that will take you to the mall, movies, supermarkets etc. The student center has things going on you can sign up for. They always have movies playing, plays, musicals etc. on campus so check it out!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is great, so much to choose from. I never had a problem finding a seat. If you want something special they don't serve, just ask.

    Dorm Life

    My first room mate didn't work out, so I swithed and my new one was very nice. There is always something going on in the dorms to get you to meet people so get out of your room! Go to your RA with any issues and they can help you.

    Academic Rigor

    Meet with professors in your classes, you will learn a lot that way. If you are having trouble, go to CASA, and they will help you out. Don't wait to get extra help if you are stuggling, its there you just have to get it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club at school, it's a great way to make friends. Don't worry about room mates, you can easily switch if it doesn't work out. There is always something going on at campus, so don't stay in your room!

    In three sentences

    FSU is the perfect size college for me. All of my classes are close to my dorm. I like that I can go home on the weekends if I want.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    If there's something you want and don't see it? Start it yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    Education Majors, Fashion Majors, and Nutrition Majors THIS IS THE SCHOOL YOU WANT TO BE AT. This school focuses so much on these majors and there are so many students, you will never feel alone.

    Bang for the buck

    Framingham State is CHEAP. If you are a good student you will be all set here financially!

    What to do for fun

    Framingham State University is a $8 train ride away from Boston. We have the Natic mall near by, which has every store imaginable. There is also Shoppers World. The university TRIES to put things together but a lot of times people don't come.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Framingham State is mediocre at best.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, and a good size. There are good programs with all of the RAs. The dorms are not very visually pleasing.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are only allowed 4 classes a semester and the work load is less than what I experienced in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Framingham, you need to have money to pay for taxi's to do things off campus. There is public transportation, but it is very limited. Most students leave campus for the weekend, so make plans! Also, buy some good sneakers because this campus is all hills!

    In three sentences

    Framingham State is a small, close-knit community. Everyone is extremely friendly, but for me that does not make up for the lack of activities to do both on and off campus. If you want good food, good wi-fi connection, or you are thinking about bringing a car to college with you, this isn't the place.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and participate in any activity you are interested in!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of where you are place to live.

    In three sentences

    I love Framingham State University. There are plenty of great opportunities there if you make the most of what you have. The faculty is incredible and I love living on campus.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe. We have campus policemen who are are actual state policemen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to attend you just have to ask and search for them on the Framingham.edu website.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a not so expensive college option with great people and good teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Sandellas, Grill, Snack Bar and Starbucks.

    Bang for the buck

    Always check with the shuttle's schedule before taking the bus. It's only one dollar to take the bus, but always check with the shuttle schedule because it is free.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes they have different on campus events like watching a movie or you can go to the sports teams' games. As far as off campus, there are many stores and places to go out to eat. You can take either the shuttle or the bus to the Natick Mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It's not like good home-cooking, but there are a decent amount of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life for me is pretty good. I love my roommates. We each have our own space in our room because our room is a pretty nice size for a triple. It can be fun when our RA or the hall has events planned for us to attend in the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be a bit challenging, but teachers have office hours, sometimes offer their cell phone numbers and you can email them for help. There is also a tutoring center where people are there to help you do better in any class you might be struggling with. Some classes may be a little more overbearing than others, but by the end of the semester you will definitely learn something new whether it is about that class, yourself or others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of not liking your roommate, teachers or classes. There will always be something you might like.Try to get yourself involved in school activities that you know you will like. Never be afraid or have too much pride to ask for help. There are people whose job it is to help you.

    In three sentences

    Framingham State University is a great school! You only have to take four classes a semester and the teachers are pretty good. All the teachers that I've had so far, care about their students and they want their students to get a good understanding of what they are teaching and understand how busy some students' schedules might be so they offer office hours or you could schedule time with a tutor on campus for free.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Three clubs I adore are the FSU Film Club, the Equestrian Club (newly formed), and the Comic Book Club.

    What to do for fun

    Aside from sports games, there are a variety of clubs and events hosted by either the students (and their advisers) or the Student Board.

    Food and Dining

    The residential dining is pretty good; there are different areas serving different types of food in buffet style. Outside of that, there's a Starbucks, a snack bar, and other places. The food is slightly over-priced, but it's very good.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter, so I don't need a dorm. It's getting one star for this reason.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging! Especially if you're an English major - they cover a lot of material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work - for every hour in class you must do 2 hours of work outside. Stay in communication with your teachers and attend classes.

    In three sentences

    Framingham State University is a small campus with a wide range of opportunities. The faculty is usually very helpful to get students the information that they need. The professors are amazing as well - I haven't met one yet who hasn't been considerate of the needs of their students, as long as there is communication.