Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Franklin College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students interested in foreign languages, international studies, and living in a European setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have enrolled at Franklin College Switzerland (not Franklin College, IN). This is an American university located in Lugano, Switzerland. Unfortunately it is not one of the choices from this web site's drop down box so I simply chose to put this school's name in to complete my profile. If you are interested in foreign languages and international studies, then check out this school. It is a small school where you will be known by your name and not by a number. You will live in an international setting in which you will become fluent in another language. At this school, your learning will not be confined to the four walls of a classroom; at this school the world is your classroom!

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Franklin College is great for any type of students, it just depends on if students want a large campus community or a small campus community like Franklin College. I have seen many different types of students and this college is a great place to make friends and be who they want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Franklin College is a great school to attend. For students that want to attend, it is the same as any college or university: attend your classes, be outgoing, and work hard on homework and tests. Franklin College is a great place to make life-long friends. I am an incoming Sophomore and have made a lot of friends my first year! Franklin College is about 70-80% Greek so if you're interested in Greek Life, Franklin College is the best choice.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Franklin is a very small town, and there's tons of restaurants nearby. On campus, there's a great gym, and there are new late night activities hosted every week.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria has good food but it's often extra greasy. However, the coffee shop is better than Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but my friends love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not only hefty but often times fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Franklin is a great place for friends and learning. The music department is it's own independent, awesome experience. The college puts on the best plays. Sports players get offered a lot of scholarships. Last, there's no better journalism school in the state. I'm a freshman and the college has already helped me become published in 10 newspapers.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College is providing me with an amazing experience. The professors have proven to want to help me be better at what I want to do in my career. I have zero complaints about the college.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Center (SAC) hosts many events for students outside of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Plan fiancees.

    In three sentences

    Franklin has a great admissions program. The staff is capable and more than willing to help. Classes are small and challenging.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Franklin College is a very safe campus, security guards are always on duty and there are call lights around campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Franklin College is big. A larger portion of students are involved in greek life, in the 5 different fraternities and 3 sororities. During the end of the year, greek students participate in greek week activities. Throughout the year each greek organization puts on a philanthropy event.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs at Franklin College, such as a student entertainment board, student congress, major clubs, sporting clubs, drama club, religion club, and 5 fraternities and 3 sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their school work, like more one-on-one attention, and looking to get involved are perfect for Franklin College. Franklin College has many different things to offer to its students and makes sure they get a great experience out of college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Franklin College has 5 fraternities and 3 sororities. Franklin's Pi Beta Phi sorority and the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity where the first chapters founded in Indiana. There are many different statues of Ben Franklin around the school and it is tradition that students paint Ben for different reasons throughout the year. Also, the Ben statue inside one of the halls is used for good luck before a test, by rubbing Ben's nose.

    Bang for the buck

    Franklin College is a small, private, liberal arts school that is focused on making each student successful in everything they do by following the school's values. It is well known in the town of Franklin and everyone is eager to help you and find jobs throughout the school year. Everyone at Franklin College is extremely helpful, friendly, and compassionate.

    What to do for fun

    Franklin College also has something going on where it is a sporting event, fraternity or sorority philanthropy event, yoga class, kick boxing class, or clubs' events. Every month Franklin has free movies and events throughout Franklin for Franklin College students.

    Food and Dining

    Franklin College has many different options in their cafeteria from a sub line, grill, homestyle, pizza place, salad bar, and so much more. They are open throughout the day and they also have a convenience store you can shop at.

    Dorm Life

    Franklin College offers many different dorms to choose from. There are 3 traditional style dorms and one apartment setting dorm. They are clean, furnished, and very welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Franklin College offers challenging academic course work for each student that attends Franklin. Although the work is very challenging, the professors are always willing to help and give you more one-on-one attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour, ask about the different clubs and organizations, rush for greek life even if you aren't interested, come prepared to work hard.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College is a friendly school where everyone fits in somewhere and has many opportunities to offer. It is a successful, professional school that will stop at nothing to help you succeed. Franklin's liberal arts values helps better you for your future.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely secure with 24 hour supervision by security guards that patrol the area. In addition, there are supervisory cameras placed strategically throughout the campus, as well as outdoor phones to contact security should you need them for any reason.

    Greek Life

    The college honors and sponsors many fraternities and sororities. Greek life has its own special home at Franklin.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities at Franklin. There is never a day when there is not something going on by one of these.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot of the college is Benjamin Franklin. There is a large statue of him at the beginning of the campus. Throughout the years, it has become tradition to paint ol Ben for every event. He is treated with a new paint job for every home game, tournament, season, and celebration.

    Bang for the buck

    With Franklin being a private liberal arts college, it is a bit pricey compared to other schools. However, the benefits of Franklin far out way the price. I wouldn't trade my experiences at Franklin for anything!!!

    What to do for fun

    The college hosts a multitude of activities ranging from corn hole tournaments to concerts. There are many give-away contests and raffles. Each month Franklin sponsors a free movie night at the local theater.

    Food and Dining

    In Franklin's drive for excellence, they welcome student and faculty input. Each year a survey is taken to rate the food and dining services.

    Dorm Life

    I personally live off-campus (by choice), but I have seen the dorms and amenities that Franklin provides. The are extremely clean, efficient, and homey.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum at Franklin is both thought provoking and stimulating. Franklin drives their students to excellence in both their personal and academic lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Franklin is a small community college that encourages the cultivation of relationships among the students, faculty, and staff. If you are looking for a small town college with a great emphasis on education, integrity, service, and leadership, then I would highly suggest Franklin.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College encourages and teaches their students to be strong individuals and leaders in the community. Their emphasis on integrity, service, and leadership equip the students with the tools they need to be successful upon graduating.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and go explore the town.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great there. That's all I can say about that.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not living on campus just yet, but I'm going to try because I hear that it is a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The first year you are there they will do it for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure the college your going to makes you feel like home because it will be home for a while.

    In three sentences

    I haven't started yet, but I am a student at Franklin. They already know I'm attending there, but they still open the doors for me. Franklin is a nice little campus where I feel like I belong there and everyone is just nice and easy to talk to.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Franklin is very safe. There hasn't been a time that I haven't felt safe. There are also security officers who are always available to walk with someone at night if they don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    We have Greek life, but I am personally not a fan of it. A lot of people do participate in it though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to choose from, and they are all very easy to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Franklin is the school for people who are willing to work hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The privy burn during homecoming is a little strange until you hear the story behind it, but it's also a lot of fun. Also, we have a Ben Franklin statue that gets painting all the time for different clubs and events.

    Bang for the buck

    Franklin is very expensive, but they offer a lot of scholarships. The degree you receive is very respected in the professional community and you will definitely get a good education as long as you do the work.

    What to do for fun

    Franklin has a lot of things to do, and we're really close to bigger cities like Greenwood and Indianapolis that have basically everything. There is Rascal's, bowling, shopping, Orange Leaf, and lots of other things.

    Food and Dining

    Saga is okay. It gets very old very quickly but you will never starve.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are fine. Some are better than others, and the parking can be annoying sometimes. But for the most part they're great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely demanding and homework is constant. Time management is a very important skill for college, no matter where you go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just come here to play sports. I have been an athlete my entire life and I know how great it is, but if you're going to college purely for athletics, that's a waste of money. Make sure Franklin has your major of choice and you like the campus and the curriculum, and definitely make sure you can afford it. Sports should not be the top priority.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College has a lot of opportunities for such a small school. There are pros and cons just like every other college. There are a lot of challenging classes but there are plenty of resources to help you.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't anything to do around campus so they put on lots of events for us so we don't get bored!

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is okay, it has its good times and bad. Just have to work with what they have.

    Dorm Life

    Usually, a hall builds a friendship and all become quite close. The only bad thing is that sometimes you do not get close to them and then it can be kind of awkward. But, just be friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes are challenging. Even in subjects that we have taken every year since elementary, like history. Even the art classes are somewhat demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors want all of us to succeed so make sure you build a relationship with them and utilize them as much as you can! They will not turn you away or steer you wrong.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College has a small community that brings students together to feel like a second family. The faculty and staff are very friendly and always willing to help students. The curriculum is both interesting and challenging.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are on duty 24/7, call them and they will check out a computer for you or take you back to your dorm if you're afraid of something happening to you after dark.

    Greek Life

    There are 8 sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 30 organizations on the campus of little over 1,000 students, 8 sororities and fraternities, students can get involved with governing the college, organizing events for the students, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, mature, open-minded, social, athletic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before Homecoming, there's the Privy Burn, a tradition where a privy is built and burnt after the pep rally; there also is the Bell Game, the last home game each year against arch rival Hanover College (Franklin won again this year); and Franklin is the best tailgating school in the nation.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent school in great location!

    What to do for fun

    Unless you have a car or friends with a car, there is not much to do in walking distance, although there is a small public pool and park just across the railroad tracks. Also, there are many athletic events throughout the year, tons of organizations to get involved with, magicians, a capella groups, and speakers come to campus, and on the highway there's bowling, ice cream, fast food, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Good food quality-wise, the dining facilities could be open longer, though (at least the main cafeteria; the small convenient store and cafe are open until midnight or even later).

    Dorm Life

    The sense of community is great and the different halls have their little event each month, which is very much fun.

    Academic Rigor

    As mentioned above, the classes are challenging, but still fun, and the professors are into the topics they teach and know exactly what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and only settle for a school that you think is perfect for you, be it Franklin or any other college.

    In three sentences

    Franklin is the perfect school if you are willing to work hard for your classes, be involved in community work, and get a great liberal arts education. The classes are challenging and all the professors (90 % of whom have a Ph. D. or equivalent) always encourage every student to put forth his/her best effort. However, not only academics are emphasized, but athletics and, of course, community and friendships are extremely important.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is, to me, the safest campus in Indiana. There hasn't been anything that made me feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing. There are five fraternities and three sorrorities on campus, with numerous other merit based greek associations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do for some club. There are more than thirty registered clubs on campus, and all of them are very active in providing thing for the students to do to relieve stress and enjoy their time.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who like small, personalized settings. People who like to know a lot of people, and have parties would love this campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Nearly Naked Mile is a clothing drive that you wear the clothes to, but you take them off (with undergarments still on) and run around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Every cent that I've paid for has benefitted me ten fold with the knowledge and experiences that I've gained from Franklin College.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous intramural leagues, but we also have FC on the town nights, where the college students can go off campus and do fun stuff for little or no cost.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is excellent! You can get just about anything you want, made to order even!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. You are never more than two minutes away from another building, either the cafeteria or buildings that your classes are in. Plus, the other residents are always friendly and welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though it is fun to go to Franklin, they do challenge everyone academically. Everyone is respective for the challenges, because no one wants to waste their money learning nothing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on a college visit. You will know whether you like it or not the second you set foot on campus. Also, talk to professors that teach in your area of interest, they can tell you what you need to know about what you want to learn.

    In three sentences

    I love Franklin College (FC). It is small enough that the professors actually care whether or not you are succeeding. It is one of the best decisions I've made for my education.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes sticklers about where you park, but they are there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    3 sororities 5 fraternities Great environment to be apart.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like the small environment. Small town, but Greenwood has a big mall 20 mins away and Edinburgh has an outlet mall 15 minuets away. Professors do care about your personal life.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but the personal attention from professors is truly worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    The college works with surrounding business so we can attend fun activities for free or a low price. Snow tubing, going to the zoo, free movies, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    For the price we are paying the food is really pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Yet again depends where you live. Elsey, and Dietz and clean and pretty new furniture. Dietz has singles and sections with a bathroom for four people. Cline and Hoover are the oldest and need a little work. JDH is great because there are living rooms and bathrooms and two bedrooms for four people.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what your major is. The sciences are tough because they expect you to truly be studying the two hours outside of class like they recommend. Other majors such as teaching is maybe time consuming, but not difficult. Athletic training is time consuming and difficult, but when they make it through the program they all have jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in some type of activity you are interested in. Be willing to make new friends. Yeah, it's tough making new friends, but put yourself out there people will appreciate you did.

    In three sentences

    This college is so great because of the small class sizes. The professors truly care if you understand. The small environment allows you to know everyone, and they will help you if you are in a jam.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Franklin College there is always something to do for fun! Join Greek Life and form lifetime bonds. Or go watch our football or basketball team play our rival school, Hanover. Or how about check out one of the many student organizations on campus there's bound to be an event going on. If you want to get off campus, there's Canary Creek movie or Orange Leaf Frozen Yogurt. If you want to get out of the city of Franklin, Greenwood is not too far and neither is Indianapolis.

    Food and Dining

    Franklin College dining is better than most! While you have the option to eat in Saga (never call it the Student Center), you can also eat at Jazzman's which is our little cafe/coffee shop then there is also Ben's Den, where you can pick up a quick sandwich or salad on your way to class. Now we also have the option to put dining dollars on our ID cards that can pay for us to eat at local restaurants, which is nice when you want some late night pizza but don't want to charge it to your debit card.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Franklin College is fun! Especially in Elsey which is the freshman dorm. The RAs are so willing to answer any questions about dorm life, campus life or even what's the best thing to eat in the cafeteria. They also plan activities each month to get their entire hallway involved so that you can get to know your neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Franklin College is not a walk in the park. But it is not impossible. While the course load may be trying for some that aren't exactly used to college work there are professors and students that are willing to help/tutor you whenever. So then you can go on to help someone else later on down the line.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would say come in with an open mind. This might be a small campus but we have so much to offer from different student organizations to Greek Life and Athletics. While coming in with an open mind remember that this is college, and you are responsible for your actions and reactions.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College is a real hands on type of school. The professors and faculty care about every single student on this campus. Help is everywhere if you ask for it.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great campus security.If you do not feel save walking to your dorm you can call security and they will escort you to wherever you need to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a variety of clubs for everyone. In fact we have every semester a club fair in which every club on campus sets a table in the cafeteria and you can sign up for every club that you want.

    What to do for fun

    I usually hangout with my roommates or attend the football games.

    Food and Dining

    For an outsider food at Franklin College might be great, but for someone that has to eat it at a regular basis it gets old.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live at a Residential Home and I love it! My roommates are great and we have fun together.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at Franklin College want their students to succeed. They have no tolerance with plagiarism.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework. Pay attention in class. If you need help the professors are always willing to help. Do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    My rating for Franklin College would be a 4 out of 5. I really enjoy this school, the professors are always interested in what their students have to say and the students are great.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do. Anything from a sport game to a music program. Or if you get the chance like I did, to play in the on campus game that the students started as a way to relive stress. The theme was Humans vs Zombies when I went last fall.

    Food and Dining

    Saga food is amazing!!! Enough said.

    Dorm Life

    You have many options to live for a small school. There are apartment style places and also dorm rooms as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes range from easy to very hard. I was able to sit in on a few classes. It was great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask many questions if you go to one of the Blue & Gold Days.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College has such a great home like feel to it. I come from a small town in Southeastern Indiana and going up there to stay with my friend felt like I was right at home. You won't feel home sick at all.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of security officers, emergency telephone posts if you don't want to walk in the dark alone, and the security has its own service to email and text the students when there is a safety hazard or alert.

    Greek Life

    I am currently not Greek but I plan on joining a sorority in when college starts back up in August.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 50 clubs that you could join, 3 sororities, and 5 fraternities to join. There is literally something for everyone on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Franklin College is a really great school for students who don't want to go to a large school. The Professor to student ratio is 1 professor for every 12 students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For homecoming, the Football team sets an outhouse on fire after the game. The football team also builds the outhouse with the help of the fine arts department who supply the wood for constructing the outhouse.

    Bang for the buck

    Franklin College is totally worth the $28,000 for tuition. If i didn't live so close to the college and lived on campus it would be worth the extra $5,000 to be on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Entertainment Board sets up On The Town events that Franklin College students can go to for free with their student ID's plus there are plenty of sororities, fraternities, and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't visited a college that has food as nice as Franklin College or a dining area that is as clean and well taken care of.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter to Franklin College but the friends I've made that live on campus enjoy dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Franklin College has a staff just for finding plagiarism and other academic dishonesty. The professors at the college care about your education and enjoy helping the students that need a little more help understanding topics discussed in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a sophomore in college, the three tips I have for prospective students are study alone and in a group of students, learn to multitask because its harder than it looks, and manage your time every single day otherwise you'll be up until three in the morning trying to get everything done. Oh and DO NOT procrastinate under any circumstances.

    In three sentences

    Franklin College was the college I dreamed of going to as a elementary schooler. I had high hopes in going and when I was accepted, I expected to be given a high quality education. So far, my experience at Franklin College has been better than I expected.