Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Franklin & Marshall College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, Willing to try new things and engage themselves in the classroom, Active, Interested, Compelling.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has wonderful professors who care about their students and the grades they achieve. In many cases, professors will meet with you outside of class and become an active part of your education. There are thousands of clubs and activities to join, as many students like myself decide to do. You will receive a lot of homework, but it is only to better your mind on the lessons learned in class that day.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You see public safety everywhere on campus. I always feel safe on campus. Sometimes the surrounding city at night isn't great, especially for girls, but travel in packs, get dropped off somewhere, etc. You'll be fine, just be smart about it.

    Greek Life

    Growing on campus. I am not involved in Greek life and it doesn't affect me at all socially. But, if Greek life is for you then there are many options and great groups of people to get to know.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many, too many to list. You can make one if F&M doesn't already have it. =)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who worked at a college-level while still in high school. If not, its a big jump from one academic level to the next, but if you are earnest and hard-working, not a problem.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    F&M opened in 1787. There is so much history on campus and in Lancaster. Truly incredible.

    Bang for the buck

    F&M is very expensive, as most colleges are, however the education you will get is invaluable. Really, really stellar academics.

    What to do for fun

    Many students are close with their hall-mates and other people in their house community, however campus groups are always organizing events (ex. College Entertainment Committee). With all the studying you'll be doing, anything that doesn't involve a textbook will be fun!

    Food and Dining

    Again, I do not eat in the dining hall that often, as I can just go home, however the dining hall has a million different options. For example there is a KIVO - Kosher, International, Vegan and Organic station. Pandini's is another area in the student center that offers Mexican, Italian, etc dining options. There are also great places to eat in Lancaster City surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I actually commute from my home to campus, however F&M has a college housing system (much like Oxford or Harvard, and more importantly, like Hogwarts). There are four houses and each student is assigned to a house. This is namely significant during your freshman year, however you remain a part of your house throughout your time at F&M.

    Academic Rigor

    F&M deserves five stars for this. It was just rated to 4th most rigorous school in America (Harvard was 17th). Also, they do not inflate grades here. What you get is what you get, and you need to work for it. All the work is worth it though. You will feel very accomplished.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't apply if you are not ready to work for your grades and be expected to not only memorize academic information, but also apply it in more contexts than you will be able to imagine.

    In three sentences

    Franklin and Marshall is known for having students that are quite wealthy and intelligent. While not everyone conforms to that stereotype, namely the wealthy portion, I still find it to be relatively accurate. F&M is also really big on community: community within your house (explained later), throughout the campus and with the Lancaster community.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its well lit - there are blue lights everywhere and public safety patrolling constantly. I've never felt unsafe walking across campus or to my College Row Apt. Plus its so pretty at night. But as far as walking far distances to parties goes? Always walk with a group or take the bus when possible, and know where you're going. In regard to our campus safety officers? They NEVER used to check the substance free dorm; its actually where some of the roudiest dorm parties went down. But in general, they're not too strict....just don't be stupid. Don't get caught peeing on Ben, if you're not walking in a straight line - have a friend help you, and try not to get sick until you're safely into the bathrooms at the dorms (preferably at all - but no one's perfect). They're not there to ruin your night, they're there to make sure you're safe.

    Greek Life

    LOVE! If you're a guy - pledge freshman year or the party scene WILL BE ROUGH for awhile. Technically past first semester freshman year, guys are not allowed into parties unless they are a brother or on the brother's guest list. As far as sororities go, I have my bias - and I always will; but joining this group of girls was the best decision I've ever made and they still hold an amazing place in my heart.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list - and believe me the College Activities fair will be OVERWHELMING with enthusiastic students....but if you decide their isn't a club you're interested in - go to the dean, get the funding and make one! Make your tuition work for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I adored each minute - but its what you make of it. If you want to go see some woman lecturing on an obscure topic that sounds interesting to you - go! If you're friend forces you into taking salsa classes with her - why not? When she suggests trying the abs workout course next...Be prepared to hurt for a week, but go anyways! Never before or since have I had so many amazing things available to me at once. It'll be the best decision you've ever made - but you've got to be willing to make it that.

    What to do for fun

    Everything? Sure drink, party, have fun - thats what every campus has and trust me F&M is NO exception....we're hard workers but we can play harder. But if you're going to party - do it right. If there's a theme dress up, go all out - no one likes the guy who's too cool to care. BUT some of the most memorable things for me were the other activities. Going to DC with Hillel even though you're not Jewish because they were seeing an awesome exhibit and joining them for Shabbat dinners to learn something new. Hopping on a bus to NYC to see Avenue Q and laughing so hard your stomach hurt for two days. Going to see Vagina Monologues each year on Valentines Day (and learning that whatever bottle you put champagne in, if you seal up the carbonation it will always open with a POP). Go to the Dances! They're hokey sure, but they're fun. The fairs and carnivals in the Quad are amazing - Ben's Birthday will always be a blast and Spring Arts is something Alumni STILL come back for.

    Food and Dining

    KIVO hummus & salads were great Pandini's is always there for crap food As soon as you're 21 - invent in refillable growlers at Iron Hill Late Night Runs to SHEETZ during study sessions is totally trashy, but completely worth it

    Dorm Life

    Be nice to your hall - no hallcest. As a past resident & RA I can tell you that you will be taking your freshmen seminar with these students AND living with them for at least your first two years. Its convenient freshman year to think its a good idea to fall for the cute guy or girl across the hall...but when things go bad on Friday and you have to sit next to them in class Monday...then pass them everyday on the way to class or the bathroom for the next two years? No one wants that drama. They're your friends, your FAMILY...keep away from the hallcest and everyone is happy.

    Academic Rigor

    Go to office hours!!! Even if its just to say hello - teachers here THRIVE on interacting and talking with their students. The more you're around them, the more they know you care. Classes are usually fairly small, but regardless if your class is 5 people or 50 you NEVER want your professor to have to hesitate for a second when glancing at that gradebook - you want them to know your face, voice and handwriting instantly. They're great people and they're their to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    (1) Be prepared to READ (2) Be realistic & Prioritize...sometimes, like it or not - there aren't enough hours in the day. (3) Plan out your schedule: the parties are amazing from fraternities to sports to movie nights on the quad - whatever you'll be doing Thursday, Friday & Saturday nights....count on NOT having them available for work....find other times that do (4) ALWAYS plan meals with friends - no matter how busy you are or how crazy your schedule; the work will be hard, but pandinis will always make an amazing chicken caesar salad and Iron Hill's seafood bisque is out of this world. But, in a time crunch - d-hall will suffice.

    In three sentences

    Franklin & Marshall is about the liberal arts experience. You are not there to become a doctor, or a lawyer or a business professional; you are there to learn, to create, and to explore. This school emphasizes that this is the ONE CHANCE in your life where you will have all of these opportunities available to you so easily, so take advantage of it!

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Work hard!!! The classes and work are most definitely hard and very intimidating, but if you stay on top of things and go ask for help, you will succeed and enjoy your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure if you want to make F&M you're home, then come and visit! Most definitely! After you visit you will see how beautiful the campus is and how welcoming all the students here are. With just 2000 students, the students are so close and everyone knows one another. Being a small school also makes classes so much more beneficial because you have between 15 and 20 people in your classes and the teacher gives attention to every student he or she has. And please, never be afraid to ask the professor for help because I was, and once I approached my professors I could never stop asking for help and they were never tired of me. There are plenty of places to get help or even just find a friend like the library, tutoring and your house deans. The food is not that good, but this college is right for anyone who wants to achieve greatness.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college is truly the best college for me, and I'm sure for anyone else as well. The teachers here are from all around the world and have achieved such accomplishments that I feel privileged to be learning from them.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned more in one semester than in the last two years of high school!

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who actually want to learn. The coursework can get a little rigorous so, if you're not the kind to put in effort or work hard, F&M may not be the best place. You must stay strong through the years at F&M because it's college and it gets tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, it won't hurt to apply. F&M has a variety of students from all over the WORLD, literally. I think this school does a fantastic job of pulling in international students and still making them feel at home.

    Bang for the buck

    Best Financial Aid Package Ever! I'm not even low-income but I am satisfied with my package. If they want you as a student, they will show you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here. I enjoy the college life overall. It's an amazing experience. It's a diverse community and it's very easy to make friends especially after the first-year orientation.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot academically, culturally, and socially. Be selective when choosing courses and professors; there are some that are great and some that are not but it's like that with every college. The idea is to take matters into your own hands and do what's best for you.

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in a broad amount of studies. Especially if you are not sure of a major. You won't declare until the end of your second year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on tours, they tally tours into your admissions. It shows that you have a deep interest in attending.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish tuition was cheaper. But hey, a lot of things are built in with the prices. Printing, Meals, Furniture, Bathroom with janitors to clean for you, Laundry... its worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people who surround me are just as excited to be here as I am. They match you with an students with similar interest on the same hall. So it won't take long until you find someone you click with.

    Am learning a lot

    Although its just my first semester of college, you will learn so much in the first few weeks. You definitely will not waste you tuition money.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since we are part of the town/city community the campus security is very attentive and supportive.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities you can pledge. Many are community service oriented. You are never pressured to join anything and there is no hazing just fun activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Highly motivated students who can express themselves orally and through writing will find F&M to their liking.

    Bang for the buck

    F&M is very expensive. The education is excellent and the diploma carries weight but you pay for it compared to the average school tuition. If you can afford it or can obtain financial aid or scholarships then it is well worth the effort to do so.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of clubs and activities, sororities, fraternities and sports. There is something for everybody. The town of Lancaster PA is quaint and historic, there is a nearby mall and other venues.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent and varied. Plenty of options, but like most schools not as good as homecooking.

    Dorm Life

    The housing system is unique but a community based experience. Dorm quality varies but you can live on campus for most if not all of your 4 years. There are options.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging. You will work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to be challenged. The liberal arts program allows you to explore your interests. If you want to be surrounded by like minded academic students you will do well. If you want to party and go to big tailgating events try a bigger school with lower standards.

    In three sentences

    F&M is an excellent academic liberal arts school. It is rigorous but the small learning community is an advantage. Students and professors are very supportive.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Diligent, hardworking, confident

    Bang for the buck

    F&M is very expensive, but it offers pretty decent financial aid. I feel it is worth the money my family is spending in most regards.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Lancaster is really fun to explore! There are a lot of interesting restaurants and shops, and Central Market is amazing. You can get fresh, delicious produce for really cheap there, but it's also great to simply walk around. The Park City Mall is relatively close, as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is by no means amazing, but it's edible. Pack some Spaghetti O's if you can't afford to eat out a lot. It's a good thing most of the residence halls have their own kitchens for underclassmen.

    Dorm Life

    The house system is tad restraining, but dorm life isn't too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Fourth most rigorous school in the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be incredibly hardworking and determined.

    In three sentences

    F&M is a highly rigorous liberal arts school with a respected reputation. The professors are wonderful, the classes are challenging, and the campus if beautiful. F&M is a place where you can get involved in many different things and really make a name for yourself, especially if you are interested in doing research!

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is definitely a good deal of violent crime and muggings on and off campus. Students are mugged every so often, but keep in mind that Lancaster is a city, and people get mugged in every city regardless of whether it has a school campus or not. However, public safety is INCREDIBLE-- if you stick to their guidelines, you'll feel really safe on and right off-campus. During the day, walking around the city is no problem, but at night you should stay close to campus, drive, or walk with friends.

    Greek Life

    Be aware that Greek life takes up almost 50% of campus, with 4 sororities and 7 fraternities. Compare that to Penn State, for which Greek life only makes up about 10% of the student body. That said, members of Greek organizations don't live in houses (with 5-7 exceptions per house), so it doesn't really dominate campus as much as you would expect.

    Clubs and Activities

    F&M has great clubs and activities! But, like every other school/institution in the country, we have felt a lot of pressure to cut down budgets lately. One program I've been devoted to for 2 years just saw a huge slash in its budget, which really hurt us as a club. But, there are lots of great options for students to get involved on and off campus. I wish more students got involved-- it seems like students are either REALLY involved or not very involved at all (although the latter is part of the minority).

    Great for these types of students

    Determined, well-rounded, hardworking, work hard-play hard, positive, passionate

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Arts Weekend! It's a weekend that is basically a big carnival, with free food, games, music, and a block party on the Friday. This year it was sunny and GORGEOUS-- everyone was outside hanging out-- it was a ton of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    F&M NEEDS to cut down costs. I love this school, but it would be 10x better if more qualified students could afford to go here.

    What to do for fun

    We party a lot here, so expect to go out a lot on weekends. Other than that, Philadelphia is about an hour away, so you can go to lots of concerts and events there. Central Market was just rated in CNN (I think it was CNN) in the top 10 best fresh markets in the country, so that's a popular spot on Saturdays. Lancaster is actually pretty artsy, so you can find some cool galleries and local spots in the city.

    Food and Dining

    It's not as bad as some students make it out to be, but we need to see some serious improvements. There needs to be another coffee shop/something similar with better hours. There needs to be fresher food in d-hall, and more vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are seeing a lot of superficial improvements recently. F&M is known for its college house system-- yes it's like Harry Potter, and yes it's fantastic. It's a really great way to meet students and build pride instantly. Being a small school, you really get to know the kids in your house/dorm, which I personally love

    Academic Rigor

    We were recently rated #4 most rigorous school in the country. Expect tough work-- that being said, I am in the top 10% of my class and party 2-4 times a week. It can be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in a pre-orientation program. Be outgoing, even if you weren't in high school. Remember, nobody knows what you were like way back when. Take risks, and don't be scared of failure.

    In three sentences

    F&M is an extremely underrated school, with academic quality that I would argue rivals some of the best schools in the country of its kind (small, private liberal arts). It is pretty homogenous in terms of income, but students vary on political affiliation and interests. F&M is what you make of it-- if you join things on campus and make a concerted effort to explore your passion, you'll love it here.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lancaster city police work in conjunction with Franklin and Marshall's public safety officials, whose offices are located in one of the dorms.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is pretty small in size - about four sororities and seven fraternities - but for the small class size, it's perfect. If you're not involved in Greek Life, it's easy to avoid, but the students involved in Greek organizations only contribute to the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Franklin and Marshall may not boast as many clubs as larger schools, but there's still so many different options for everyone! There's specific clubs for international students, or students from specific backgrounds, as well as the Comic Book Club and Women's Rugby.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student looking for the perfect balance between work and play will enjoy the active nightlife on the weekends (and throughout the week, if you're so inclined) with the small classes where your professor will actually notice if you're not there!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Franklin & Marshall is located in Lancaster, which has First Friday at the beginning of every month, which is a great time to explore the downtown area. On top of that, each dorm house will have traditions and activities for the students - like a movie every Friday night, or Sunday Night Sundaes.

    Bang for the buck

    Franklin and Marshall is really doing everything for their students thats possible. Each house has a budget for bonding activities within the house, as well as all the clubs. The classes are small and discussion-based, so you'll never feel like you could learn just from reading the textbook.

    What to do for fun

    The list is endless! Lancaster is a great historical downtown with lots of interesting shopping, eating, and art galleries (that have fun open nights every first Friday of the month). On campus there's tons of sports, varsity and otherwise, as well as an active and friendly Greek life. Lancaster is a great town with lots of restaurants, malls, and movie theaters as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Franklin and Marshall is great. I transferred from a larger school where I was really disappointed in my bang for my buck when it came to food. F&M has a large kosher, international, vegetarian, and organic selection, especially since the fresh food available in Lancaster is great. Several different places on campus use your meal plan as well as the main dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at F&M were changed into a house system (like Harry Potter!) in the 2005/2006 academic year. There are currently five houses that provide guaranteed housing for freshmen and sophomore students. They're all located near each other and create a great community between the houses as well as within the houses, which each have their own government systems, which provides more places for politically-inclined students.

    Academic Rigor

    Franklin and Marshall will be as difficult as you want to be - and F&M will never run you ragged like other academically prestigious schools might do. The classes are rigorous, but not difficult if you are an active participant in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are trying your best academically and want to continue doing that, F&M is the place for you. Franklin and Marshall really wants to know who you are - absolutely come in for an in-person interview. It's not scary! Everyone on the staff is very personable and will answer all your questions.

    In three sentences

    The campus is integrated into the local community without losing the collegiate feel, which opens up local employment and service opportunities. The classes are small and discussion-based and will not leave you wanting. Franklin and Marshall is small, liberal arts college that does not disappoint.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Shoul I apply if I haven't visited?

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    truly work-hard-play-hard

    Tips for prospective students

    F&M is a beautiful campus with friendly people and EXCEPTIONAL professor accessibility. It has a STELLAR reputation in preparing students for graduate schools, especially law and medical schools through EXTREMELY intense workload and difficult grading system. A tip for chemistry students: ALWAYS do ALL the non-required homework and DO read the book! You'll definitely be grateful later. Yes, you're reading this right. F&M is a place for diligent and enthusiastic students who truly care about their learning. But don't be scared! Professors here are amazingly helpful. They do care about their students. They make you learn from the heart. I honestly think that the most wonderful thing about F&M is its professors. You'll be amazed at how knowledgeable, understanding, friendly, and caring they are! Additionally, F&M has MANY clubs about academics, cultures, arts, etc, and A LOT OF volunteer opportunities. There are also plenty of on-campus jobs for students. I LOVE F&M!

    Bang for the buck

    DEFINITELY YES!

    Am enjoying being here

    YES, very much so...everything....except the dinning hall.

    Am learning a lot

    I am ABSOLUTELY amazed at how much I have learned at F&M!

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I went to a college tour of the place, and I absolutely fell in love with it. This school incorporates it's academic with its large suburban atmosphere making a pleasant nature feel. When I saw the neuroscience lab illuminated with natural light I knew that attending this school with be amazing.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety helps out on campus whenever they can and respond quick to calls, even if they are someone locked out of their room.

    Greek Life

    They are not on campus and are not recognized by the college but they are an active part of campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from and you can create your own! Funding sometimes is tough though.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, yet have an active interest in getting involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hartman green is where students come to wind down and come together as a campus. Common hour on thursdays also help give the campus a sense of community, no body has classes and can attend a talk with food provided.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, that is more for the education than the facilities.

    What to do for fun

    There is downtown lancaster and there also is a wide variety of sporting events to g to and club sare always hosting events.

    Food and Dining

    Things are always different here and are circulated often which is good to break monotony.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are old and could use a renovation but there is air conditioning and comfortable beds.

    Academic Rigor

    Franklin and Marshall is academically more demanding than most colleges because it receives the 4th most rigorous college rating in the United States.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at major programs and the food on compus!

    In three sentences

    Franklin and Marshall is difficult but rewarding. There are plenty of opportunities. Choose a major wisely.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PSafe is wonderful!

    Greek Life

    Join if you're a guy, unless you're on a sports team. Otherwise, good luck getting into parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very legitimate. The activities fair in the beginning of the year is a good place to start, but beware, not many clubs follow through.

    Great for these types of students

    The preppy, east-coaster or the international student.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as academics go, I'm getting my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Drink. Drink with friends. Join a greek organization. There's not that many legitimate events and activities offered apart from the partying scene if you're a freshman.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining is the pits. It's not that healthy nor that tasty. They're trying to improve it, but improvements are far down on administration's to-do list, it seems.

    Dorm Life

    Brooks House has the smallest dorms. Whoo!

    Academic Rigor

    I spend pretty much all of my days in the library for at least some greater portion of the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you play a sport and are good enough to continue, at least try it. The teams offer a nice niche if you're in need of one.

    In three sentences

    F&M has a small but beautiful campus. Downtown Lancaster could be a bit more exciting, but the less-than-exciting social scene aside from drinking is made up for in academia. It's a love-hate relationship that changes constantly.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety does their best to keep us safe and they always do.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is huge on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    we have amazing clubs and there is always something going on, on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent individuals individuals who do not like to party

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Writing Center

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get the education you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Lancaster, Shopping, Central Market

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, but you learn to find the best out of it all

    Dorm Life

    It depends on what dorm you live in, but they are all pretty average

    Academic Rigor

    This college is not the place to go to slack off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a stroll around our lovely campus

    In three sentences

    1. F&M is a rigorous challenging school for students who want to stimulate their minds. 2. The professors at F&M are very helpful and interesting 3. The Writing Center is one of the most helpful attributes at F&M.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun in college? Who has time for that? ;)

    Food and Dining

    As an international student, I find the food repetitive and boring. Hopefully this will change when I return next semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're up for the high academic demand that this school poses. Also be careful if you are from a predominantly warm area, because the winters here seem to be 6-7 months long :O

    In three sentences

    F&M is a good school. The workload is a lot, but manageable if you time manage. The classes and professors here are awesome, and the students here are warm and accepting for the most part.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel absolutely safe on campus. Public safety works alongside the city police and you can always see security walking around through the day and through the night. I remember when I was stranded at the mall at night and needed a ride, I called public safety and within 10 minutes I was picked up by one of F&M's drivers. F&M is highly committed to our safety and the officers are there to help 24/7.

    Greek Life

    F&M offers several sororities and fraternities you can get involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of things to do on campus from athletics to volunteer activities. F&M offers intramural sports in case you just want to play for fun with you friends on campus. We also offer division III level sports for those who like competing against other schools. There are community service clubs, social clubs, academic clubs, and if there isn't a club you like you can always create your own club with the help of the college. The people you work with or play with basically turns into your extended family.

    Great for these types of students

    F&M is great for those who are willing to work had academically and desires a small, close knit atmosphere on campus. F&M is for students who want to build lasting relationships with the faculty and staff, and succeed after college. It's also for students who are able to put the books aside for a second and have fun with friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombies vs Humans started off with only 128 students but turned into a campus wide event of students dodging and chasing each other on the lawn. Every year we turn this game into a charitable event and have tons of fun doing it.

    Bang for the buck

    You can have fun all day with just $20 in your wallet. With a $3 all day bus pass or the school's free van service, the city of Lancaster is yours. Places like the skating rink or laser tag are all under $10 or you can enjoy watching our football or basketball team compete against other schools for free.

    What to do for fun

    People think of Lancaster and automatically think of Amish country but it's so much more than the occasional buggy rides I personally enjoy and surrounding farmland. Downtown is a thriving city and there are a bunch of shops, galleries, theaters, museums, and even a farmer's market. There are also festivals, a skating rink, laser tag and free events for the community. Hershey park isn't a far drive either and you can always expect to have loads of fun there. But becoming involved on campus with sports, clubs, or greek life will make your experience on campus all the more fun.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers several different meal plans which are all very accommodating to a person's individual needs. The dining hall serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner at certain times and sometimes have themed nights which turns to be the best nights in terms of the variety of food. For those who eat only eat Kosher food or need a gluten-free diet, d-hall has also got your back there. You will eventually get tired of the food at d-hall and will find yourself wandering off in the middle of the night to the on-campus bistro that serves lattes, flatbread and deli sandwiches. There's also a mexican grill and a panini junction whose food I never get tired of. Off-campus there are some really great restaurants that serves different ethnic style foods and some decently priced restaurants that serves great food and caters to F&M students.

    Dorm Life

    That great sense of community F&M is known for is especially evident in each house. The deans and the student government of each house goes out of their way to create events and promote a close-knit environment. The rooms are cozy and your floor mates may even become the people you are closest to. And you should expect to have movie nights, Tuesday morning bagels, or a campus wide game of Zombies vs Humans.

    Academic Rigor

    F&M was ranked at the 4th most rigorous college in the nation by Newsweek's Dailybeast and my experience thus far has affirmed this. I am currently on the pre-med track and the sciences here are no joke. But don't worry because if you manage your time correctly and get help when needed there's no reason not for you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever find yourself in academic trouble, never hesitate to get in contact with your professor because they are beyond willing to work through it with you. The bonds you create with your professor goes beyond just the classroom because they are truly here to make sure you succeed. Also, during your first year, don't be afraid to branch out and get involved on campus because that is where you meet the most amazing people.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my first year at F&M tremendously. From the small close-knit campus to the highly accessible and extremely helpful professors, F&M has it all. There's a great sense of community on campus and thousands of opportunities waiting to be taken.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Public Safety Department is top notch. The officers and security guards really do keep us safe and allow us to feel protected.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many options!

    Food and Dining

    There's a lot of options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    We have a house system, so you really do become a family. The dorms are fairly big, depending on what House you get placed into. Also, each House has numerous 3rd areas, that aren't dorm rooms or classrooms, designed to get students interacting.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but professors and interesting courses make it worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs! F&M isn't just a school, but a F&MILY, too. Every group you join is an additional family that you get the opportunity to be a part of and it's amazing.

    In three sentences

    Franklin & Marshall is an amazing college that offers students the opportunity to explore whatever they could possibly want. If F&M doesn't offer the major you want, you can just make it yourself. And we have houses, like Hogwarts, which is pretty sweet.